All

Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort Reviews

Caribbean | USVI St. Thomas Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 248 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.2 out of 5
"great hotel, best on the island. and with new renovations, can only be better" – speedr1023
273 out of 307 (89%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Morningstar Beach Pool side Breathtaking views View from our room Sisters on Vaycay Our beach View of resort from the ocean View from the beach Exquiste view-6th floor-facing West 6th floor-poolside view-West-Sunset View from room Room view The beautiful & secluded beach! Looking off balcony at Morning Star. Beach at Morning Star Daily view the views from the room were breathtaking Infinity pool at Frenchmans Reef Reef pool View of the resort from the water taxii. The Beach view from coco joes Large pool with bar. Beautiful view! Havana Blue restaurant A friend at the pool Love those sunsets Walking down towards the beach great sunsets Harbor view from our room. The resort Our room was immaculate daily! :) Pool with ship at night Sunset on Morningstar Beach Peaceful Beautiful from every view! view from room

All Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 248 reviews. Sort by
July 31, 2010 Featured Review
Wonderful Honeymoon!

We went here for our honeymoon and it was so perfect! We didn't book our trip until 2 days before our wedding because we really didn't think we could afford to go on a trip- but I stumbled across cheapcaribbean.com and the great deals you offer made it possible for us to spend our first week as husband & wife in PARADISE! I truly mean it, the Marriott Frenchman's Reef is situated on the most beautiful cove in St. Thomas and feels like a sanctuary. The staff was very accommodating and everything was just wonderful. Our room was cleaned promptly every day after we left and they have 'green' options to have your sheets and towels cleaned only when you want them to. We never were woken up by noisy neighbors or early housekeeping visits. Everything looked newly renovated and we felt like we were in our own brand new little world. Sure our heads might have been in the clouds because we were newlyweds!!- but I assure you this resort IS the only option for staying on St. Thomas. And you'll be so glad you did! They even have a FREE shuttle around the resort and even a little ferry to take you into Downtown. (It's only a couple dollars round trip.) The food was so yummy- be sure to check out Coco Joe's (a beach front cafe) and order their Coconut Shrimp! Or Windows (a fancy dinner option overlooking the cove) for their Shrimp and Sausage Fettucini! All in all, this is a great resort and a fantastic deal for the price you'll pay with Cheapcaribbean.com.

The beautiful & secluded beach! Our room was immaculate daily! :)
128 of 134 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Salt Lake City, UT
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 3, 2012
Beautiful beaches

My daughter and I stayed at Morning Star which is apart of Frenchman's Reef a Marriott property. The hotel itself is nothing spectacular but the rooms were nice and the beach and the infinity pools were beautiful. The restaurants were very expensive, lunch was $50.00 and dinner $80.00-$100.00 per night for two people and that is no alcohol. I wouldn't recommend renting a car as the roads are very narrow, steep and there are a lot of hairpin turns, then add to the fact that they drive on the opposite side of the road. We took cabs everywhere, so in addition to the food expense add in $6-$12. per person each way. The shopping is great, lots of jewelry, perfume and watches all duty free. I would recommend Banana Tree Restaurant @ Bluebeards Castle and Mim's Restaurant. Not too much to do at night after dinner unless you drink. My daughter and I both don't drink so we were kind of bored at night. There was no music at this property not even by the pool or beach. The best feature of this property in my opinion is the beach and the view.

Beautiful beaches
53 of 54 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Loveland, OH
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 30, 2012
Very nice resort

No need to leave to see the rest of St. Thomas, if you didn't want to! We stayed at the Frenchman's Reef part of the resort - which has some awesome pools. The Morning Star resort with the beach and a couple other restaurants is a short walk away (or take the shuttle if you didn't want to walk). Our room requested was water view, king bed, high floor. Only the view was guaranteed and we did not get the king bed until the last night of our 4 night stay, but then thanks to Lisa at the front desk we were upgraded to a suite, which was on the 8th floor (top floor). Both rooms were very similar (comfortable beds. small balcony with two chairs and a table, facing the Charlotte Amalie harbor). Though very nice, rooms and common areas did not seem "brand new" renovated. (Some of the details like caulking, stickers still on the porcelain, wimpy closet doors, made it less than a 5 but, overall, very nice). The suite had two levels with a spiral staircase going up to the loft which had the king bed and a huge bathroom with a jacuzzi bath tub and separate shower. Downstairs was another full bath and a sofa / living room. We loved the view of the harbor - watching the ships come in and out. The resort had several dining options, including casual beach front dining at Coca Joe's and also the Sand Bar, so you did not have to spend a fortune eating each meal. (Meals are expensive on St. Thomas).


30 of 31 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Northern NJ
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 21, 2012
Totally awesome!

From the time we arrived till we left one class act! The check in process was flawless with a room upgrade. I've read mixed reviews about this resort and after 47 countries and all 50 states this is probably #1 for relaxation, #5 for expense, excellent views, weather and service. The cons would be the cost of course, the ride to and from the airport even gave this old sailor a bit of motion sickness. If you are looking to buy into the Marriott's Vacation Club listen to the presentation take the money and buy one on the aftermarket. We went to St. John's as well with a simple $6.00 trip and more good food and shopping. Class act again. I did find that I saved about 250.00 using cheapcaribbean.com vice booking straight through Marriott its self.

Daily view Peaceful
16 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Silver Spring, MD
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 6, 2013
One of the niceset resorts we've been to

The landscape of St Thomas around this resort is absolutely breathtaking. The rooms and beach were nice, and there were several restaurants and bars on the property. You could easily get by for a week without leaving the hotel.


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Cary, NC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 30, 2010
Marriott Frenchman's Reef - USVI

A beautiful location on what's almost a cliffside in St. T, with great pools and a nice, though not deep, white-sand beach that's better for swimming and even bodysurfing than snorkeling (as the water isn't placid enough). There are two lighted clay (HarTrue, I think) tennis courts that are so close to the beach that occasionally, when there's a strong breeze, one can even feel some salt spray. The rooms are well-sized and comfortable but in a rather unvaried and unimaginative corporate (Marriott, of course) style, albeit with resort v. big city tweaks. Some of the rooms have breathtaking water views, including glimpses of the cruise ships that go right by on their way to Charlotte Amalia, which is about a 10-minute car ride away absent traffic. There's a lovely place to have lunch (the Sunset Terrace), with nice salads and sandwiches and very pleasant service, but the other restaurants are disappointing, as the food is mediocre as well as expensive. Marriott really should try to improve this aspect of the resort. It's a nice place just the same, but with some imagination it could be even better.


21 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Washington DC
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 16, 2012
A re-visit to the Reef

Hotel looked the same even with alleged extensive renovations. Staff was passive-aggressive when help was sought but excited if they wanted to sell you something (a time share at $23000). Foodstuffs at the hotel stores were expensive; restaurants served barely adequate food at high prices. When confronted with billing errors front desk comped clients. It seemed that hotel tried to get its return on renovations through excessive charges ($25/day for spa; buffet breakfast $23/person). Hotel is far from downtown and cabs are necessary to get there or to beaches. Car rentals possible but driving is on the left side. Be sure to get discount card--ask for it as it's not offered. Hotel changed policy without notification or reason regarding paying at restaurants--cash not accepted and must charge meals.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: NYC
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 31, 2011
Marriott Frenchem's Reef

Just returned from an 8 day stay at the Frenchmen's Reef and had an excellent time. Some members of our party stayed at the Morningstar Beach Resort (part of the same complex) which was a little more expensive but right on the beach. The facility was top notch and in excellent shape. However, since the main hotel is 30 years old, they are shutting it down for 6 months starting this May for a major renovation of the lobby and all the guest rooms. We found our room to be quite nice so I can only imagine what it will be like next year when it's totally redone. There were plenty of dining options on-site but the town of Charlotte Amaile is only a 10 minute drive and has tons of restaurants. We would recommend Coco-Jo's (on the beach), the Sunset Grille and Havana Blue (pricey) for on-site dining. The location is to die for and the views from the balconies and pools are awesome. We will definitely go back again.

Marriott Frenchem's Reef
10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Allentown, PA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 19, 2012
Awesome vacation

When we arrived the airport shuttle took us straight to hotel and was friendly. Only problem was we had to wait over 2 hours for a room, but they upgraded our room to ocean veiw and it was well worth the wait. The room was awesome, the staff were great. Food was pricey but excellent. Would definalty do this Vacation again. Best vacation yet thanks cheapCaribbean.com.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: new jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 6, 2012
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Res

Room is not bad. Many pools to play. Not in town either you need to rent a car or take a cab. Cab is pretty expensive($6 or $8 each way for a 12 mins ride)to go in town and it is by the number of people so it doesn't save you money for sharing a cab. they have a few restaurant on site but expensive. Beach is not that great compare to other St Thomas beaches. Magan Bay and Coki Beach is way better. If you have time go over to St John , it has the best beach at Trunk Bay.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: northern new jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year