All

Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort Reviews

Caribbean | USVI St. Thomas Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 265 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.2 out of 5
"we enjoyed our stay the people were so friendly and helpful. The food and drinks were VERY VERY expensive but we had a great time anyway we just ate out a lot." – Bets77
288 out of 327 (88%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from the beach The beautiful & secluded beach! Our beach Exquiste view-6th floor-facing West Beautiful from every view! view from room A friend at the pool Breathtaking views Sisters on Vaycay Walking down towards the beach Beautiful view! The Beach View of resort from the ocean Havana Blue restaurant Morningstar Beach Pool side Beach at Morning Star Daily view Looking off balcony at Morning Star. Peaceful the views from the room were breathtaking 6th floor-poolside view-West-Sunset Reef pool Love those sunsets View of the resort from the water taxii. Room view View from room Harbor view from our room. Our room was immaculate daily! :) The resort view from coco joes Pool with ship at night Large pool with bar. Sunset on Morningstar Beach Infinity pool at Frenchmans Reef View from our room great sunsets

All Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 265 reviews. Sort by
July 31, 2010 Featured Review
Wonderful Honeymoon!

We went here for our honeymoon and it was so perfect! We didn't book our trip until 2 days before our wedding because we really didn't think we could afford to go on a trip- but I stumbled across cheapcaribbean.com and the great deals you offer made it possible for us to spend our first week as husband & wife in PARADISE! I truly mean it, the Marriott Frenchman's Reef is situated on the most beautiful cove in St. Thomas and feels like a sanctuary. The staff was very accommodating and everything was just wonderful. Our room was cleaned promptly every day after we left and they have 'green' options to have your sheets and towels cleaned only when you want them to. We never were woken up by noisy neighbors or early housekeeping visits. Everything looked newly renovated and we felt like we were in our own brand new little world. Sure our heads might have been in the clouds because we were newlyweds!!- but I assure you this resort IS the only option for staying on St. Thomas. And you'll be so glad you did! They even have a FREE shuttle around the resort and even a little ferry to take you into Downtown. (It's only a couple dollars round trip.) The food was so yummy- be sure to check out Coco Joe's (a beach front cafe) and order their Coconut Shrimp! Or Windows (a fancy dinner option overlooking the cove) for their Shrimp and Sausage Fettucini! All in all, this is a great resort and a fantastic deal for the price you'll pay with Cheapcaribbean.com.

The beautiful & secluded beach! Our room was immaculate daily! :)
129 of 140 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Salt Lake City, UT
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 30, 2012
Very nice resort

No need to leave to see the rest of St. Thomas, if you didn't want to! We stayed at the Frenchman's Reef part of the resort - which has some awesome pools. The Morning Star resort with the beach and a couple other restaurants is a short walk away (or take the shuttle if you didn't want to walk). Our room requested was water view, king bed, high floor. Only the view was guaranteed and we did not get the king bed until the last night of our 4 night stay, but then thanks to Lisa at the front desk we were upgraded to a suite, which was on the 8th floor (top floor). Both rooms were very similar (comfortable beds. small balcony with two chairs and a table, facing the Charlotte Amalie harbor). Though very nice, rooms and common areas did not seem "brand new" renovated. (Some of the details like caulking, stickers still on the porcelain, wimpy closet doors, made it less than a 5 but, overall, very nice). The suite had two levels with a spiral staircase going up to the loft which had the king bed and a huge bathroom with a jacuzzi bath tub and separate shower. Downstairs was another full bath and a sofa / living room. We loved the view of the harbor - watching the ships come in and out. The resort had several dining options, including casual beach front dining at Coca Joe's and also the Sand Bar, so you did not have to spend a fortune eating each meal. (Meals are expensive on St. Thomas).


33 of 34 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Northern NJ
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 6, 2013
One of the niceset resorts we've been to

The landscape of St Thomas around this resort is absolutely breathtaking. The rooms and beach were nice, and there were several restaurants and bars on the property. You could easily get by for a week without leaving the hotel.


18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Cary, NC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 21, 2012
Totally awesome!

From the time we arrived till we left one class act! The check in process was flawless with a room upgrade. I've read mixed reviews about this resort and after 47 countries and all 50 states this is probably #1 for relaxation, #5 for expense, excellent views, weather and service. The cons would be the cost of course, the ride to and from the airport even gave this old sailor a bit of motion sickness. If you are looking to buy into the Marriott's Vacation Club listen to the presentation take the money and buy one on the aftermarket. We went to St. John's as well with a simple $6.00 trip and more good food and shopping. Class act again. I did find that I saved about 250.00 using cheapcaribbean.com vice booking straight through Marriott its self.

Daily view Peaceful
17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Silver Spring, MD
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 3, 2012
Beautiful beaches

My daughter and I stayed at Morning Star which is apart of Frenchman's Reef a Marriott property. The hotel itself is nothing spectacular but the rooms were nice and the beach and the infinity pools were beautiful. The restaurants were very expensive, lunch was $50.00 and dinner $80.00-$100.00 per night for two people and that is no alcohol. I wouldn't recommend renting a car as the roads are very narrow, steep and there are a lot of hairpin turns, then add to the fact that they drive on the opposite side of the road. We took cabs everywhere, so in addition to the food expense add in $6-$12. per person each way. The shopping is great, lots of jewelry, perfume and watches all duty free. I would recommend Banana Tree Restaurant @ Bluebeards Castle and Mim's Restaurant. Not too much to do at night after dinner unless you drink. My daughter and I both don't drink so we were kind of bored at night. There was no music at this property not even by the pool or beach. The best feature of this property in my opinion is the beach and the view.

Beautiful beaches
58 of 64 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Loveland, OH
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 6, 2012
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Res

Room is not bad. Many pools to play. Not in town either you need to rent a car or take a cab. Cab is pretty expensive($6 or $8 each way for a 12 mins ride)to go in town and it is by the number of people so it doesn't save you money for sharing a cab. they have a few restaurant on site but expensive. Beach is not that great compare to other St Thomas beaches. Magan Bay and Coki Beach is way better. If you have time go over to St John , it has the best beach at Trunk Bay.


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: northern new jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 31, 2011
Marriott Frenchem's Reef

Just returned from an 8 day stay at the Frenchmen's Reef and had an excellent time. Some members of our party stayed at the Morningstar Beach Resort (part of the same complex) which was a little more expensive but right on the beach. The facility was top notch and in excellent shape. However, since the main hotel is 30 years old, they are shutting it down for 6 months starting this May for a major renovation of the lobby and all the guest rooms. We found our room to be quite nice so I can only imagine what it will be like next year when it's totally redone. There were plenty of dining options on-site but the town of Charlotte Amaile is only a 10 minute drive and has tons of restaurants. We would recommend Coco-Jo's (on the beach), the Sunset Grille and Havana Blue (pricey) for on-site dining. The location is to die for and the views from the balconies and pools are awesome. We will definitely go back again.

Marriott Frenchem's Reef
10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Allentown, PA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 19, 2012
Awesome vacation

When we arrived the airport shuttle took us straight to hotel and was friendly. Only problem was we had to wait over 2 hours for a room, but they upgraded our room to ocean veiw and it was well worth the wait. The room was awesome, the staff were great. Food was pricey but excellent. Would definalty do this Vacation again. Best vacation yet thanks cheapCaribbean.com.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: new jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 22, 2012
My 10 Yr Anniversary trip to St thomas

My entire experience @ Marriott Frenchman's Reef was amazing. My husband and I were so impressed with the resort views. The rooms were all new and comfortable as well as the entire resort is completely new and elegant. I was unsure of where to go to celebrate my 10 yr, but after my stay, I couldn't have chosen any better place and resort. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I had a wonderful time at the resort and would love to do it again with the family. Also, the private beach is so gorgeous and very clean.

the views from the room were breathtaking
10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: south ozone park, ny
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 15, 2013
Nice resort

Beautiful resort, but bring plenty of money because food and drinks are pricey! If you're one that likes to kick back with a nice alcoholic beverage then be prpared to complain about the alcohol (or the lack there of). I've sent my drink back a few times. It was like I was ordering these drinks "virgin". They're pricey and very cheap on the alcohol. The staff was not all that friendly and very anti-social. A smile every now and then would have been nice. The rooms were clean and the pool area was nice. They did not accept cash, i thought that was kinda odd. They put a hold on my credit card for 100 dollars per day. That kinda threw me for a loop because I was not expecting that. Other than that, you should have a nice relaxing time if you're planning on visiting this resort for the 1st time. Just be prepared to shell out some dough! I just want to add that you're better off going into town and shopping at K-mart if you're looking for alcohol.


15 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year