All

Marriott CasaMagna Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Puerto Vallarta Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 10 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
4.5
Room Comfort
 
4.6
4.5 out of 5
"We loved the facility. Great staff, clean rooms, prompt service. We are booking again for next year with possibly a longer stay as the area is just pristine. Thank you for recommending this facility." – DanC01
13 out of 13 (100%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from our room

All Marriott CasaMagna Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 10 reviews. Sort by
June 14, 2011
Great service!

I enjoyed staying at this hotel mainly because of it's people and its food. The hotel needs a to be updated soon!!!! the pool looks damaged and the rest of the hotel doesn't look its best. Not what I used to see in a Marriott, but I do have to say that it was very clean, you can tell that that quality is good. The food is to die for. The flavors and the presentation are there. The employees treat you like a king or a queen. They will go the extra mile to make you feel comfortable. I like quality and comfort and even if this hotel needs renovation, I would stay here again.


17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 13, 2012
good accomodations

Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful- from the Bellman, Waiters, Room Service Delivery, Housekeeping - All were very courteous and helpful except for the front desk person. It seems like she needed some more training or maybe she was just having a bad day. The only time I had to deal with the front desk was to check out at the end of our stay. To begin with, the line was so slow. We waited for more than half an hour just to do a simple check out. It was faster to get through immigration and customs in the US when I got back compared to checking out of the Marriott. There was no greeting, wont even look you in the eye, no smile. Usually, a good hotel would ask how everything was or at least say something to alleviate the frustration of the long wait in line. The lady just stared at the computer monitor like she was processing some product at a factory. Not what I expect from a Marriott. The long slow line and the unfriendly front desk docks one star to the otherwise very good overall experience at this hotel. Food seemed pricey at first glance but after the current exchange rates are applied, they are actually very reasonable. Portions are fairly large and overall excellent. The La Estancia was being repaired so we did not get to try the Mexican cuisine they had to offer. Part of Casitas Restaurant also under construction/repair but was open for service. The seafood was really good there. The beach is nice but not suitable for swimming. The good thing is that it is right on the beach so if you hire a boat for the day, they can pick you up from the Marriott Beach. (no need to take a cab to the Marina or Malecon.) The nice "swimmable" beaches are further down south. The rooms were very nice and clean and the beds were so comfortable. The ocean views are also very nice. The balconies are designed so you do not really see the people adjacent to you. It was still very private. Overall it was a very pleasant stay. Every one else other than the front desk person was nice so that was probably just an odd employee that didn't want to be there that day. If given the chance, we would come back and also recommend this hotel.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: California
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 28, 2014
Family Vacation

My family and I truly enjoyed our stay at this magnificent hotel! The hotel was beautiful, service was great by everyone there and the value was excellent. All of us were blown away by the beautiful view from the hotel to the ocean. My two girls enjoyed the pool and we all enjoyed the activities on the beach. I affirmatively recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have the best stay and enjoyment of their vacations in this beautiful resort and hotel. I will definitely be back to this hotel!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Brookfield, IL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 2, 2010
Great deal on a relaxing vacation

The Marriott was great. I went to Playa Del Carmen a month earlier to an all-inclusive resort and didn't feel I got my money's worth. This trip was definitely a better deal. There is such great food in Puerto Vallarta, I wouldn't want to be limited by one hotel.


10 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Seattle, WA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 28, 2010

Loved the location. Easy bus or cab service to town. A short walk to Marina boardwalk for shops and restaurants. Fabulous hotel. Magnificent pool. Ocean swimming not accessible so that was disappointing. Restaurant food delicious, large portions and reasonable pricing. Pool and restaurant service excellent with smiling, friendly and helpful servers.


6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Vancouver Canada
Age: 45-54

April 22, 2014
A little disappointed.

We just returned from a week at the Marriott and while the hotel is nice, I wouldn't give it 4 stars or consider it luxury. The staff is amazing and the food was very good, but the rooms were just OK, even a little smelly. The pool area is nice and big, but think it could offer a little more since the hotel is so large. The beach is OK but there were so many jelly fish that you didn't want to go in the water, plus it is very rocky and not huge so not the best beach to hang out on. Our biggest complaint was that the Marriott this year was a site for the Passover, Celebration of the Sun, vacation. So, on Monday of Passover about 500 people checked into the hotel. They were all very loud, rude, dis-respectful, demanding and overall annoying. This made the rest of our trip a little less enjoyable, having to contend with screaming kids, rude adults, slamming doors, extra security, messy common areas and dining facilities that were closed for their events. It would have been very nice if we had been informed that this group was taking over the hotel, before we booked our vacation, because we would have chosen an alternative hotel. I complained the the hotel and in their defense, they were doing the best they could, but they could have offered us a free meal or two, additional marriott points or something to make us feel a little better. Next year, I will be sure to check the events at the hotels prior to booking!


4 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Ashburn, VA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 13, 2017
Spring Break 2017

We loved the CasaMagna Marriott. It was a step up for us compared to our typical vacation destinations, so it was met with a lot of positive comments from my family of four when we arrived. The restaurants were great but a little expensive, especially given the current favorable exchange rate. However, we took the bus system often to other locales for meals, which were typically much less expensive. The Farmer's Market on Thursdays was only a 10-minute walk and very fun, with lots of restaurant options there at the Marina. Fun to see my teenagers negotiate prices for the first time with their own money! As far as the Marriott, we liked being able to charge to the room for all meals, beverages, and even market/deli purchases. Our invoice at the end of the visit contained no errors. We liked the flooring in the room, it appeared to be marble throughout the room and was gorgeous. We especially liked the porch, since we had an Oceanview room and could look out on the ocean from there at any time, and we could even hear the waves as we went to sleep at night with the door closed. I wish they didn't charge for small things like coffee in the room - many hotels we stay in do not, and I was surprised to see this at a Marriott. The vendors on the beach were a constant nuisance though - not sure what could be done about it, but we were there to relax and not continuously engage with strangers selling trinkets. Overall, we loved the hotel and would consider returning if we can afford it.

View from our room
1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Columbia Falls, MT
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 29, 2014
Pretty good

Big wow factor when walking up to the entrance, then into the lobby, which is open so that you can see straight threw to the pool and the ocean with a nice back ground of mountains! The was very nice but a bit small for a family of 5 (but they allow that without getting an extra room!) The service was fair to very good at times. The staff didn't always give you very warm feelings like I have experienced at other resorts. The best unique factor was the family being able to release baby sea turtles that was hatched next to our resort! The kids will never forget it.


1 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Shreveport, LA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 6, 2016
Great Place to stay

We loved the facility. Great staff, clean rooms, prompt service. We are booking again for next year with possibly a longer stay as the area is just pristine. Thank you for recommending this facility.


1 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Hampshire - USA
Age: Over 65
Travel: 7+ trips/year

August 1, 2016
Amazing

Amazing service, beautiful facility, amazing value throughout. Bed was a little bit hard. My new wife was the best of all.


1 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Colorado
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year