All

Majestic Mirage Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 13 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.8
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
3.8
4.1 out of 5
"My room was by far the nicest room we have ever had. The pools were fantastic and the beach was perfect plenty of cabanas. We are definitely going back next year" – billga
11 out of 13 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Beach front of Majestic.

All Majestic Mirage Customer Reviews

1-10 of 13 reviews. Sort by
February 2, 2017
Good First Experience

Majestic Mirage recently opened last month and there definitely was still much to do before opening. We heard hammers pounding, etc. during the day above us, so we knew they were still working on rooms. We were the first to stay in our room and the smell was pretty bad for the first three days. We were smelling some type of building material. We wanted to open the doors to let it air out, but could not because they did not have screens on the doors and the mosquitoes are really bad. They also came by faithfully every afternoon about 5 p.m. on the truck spraying for mosquitoes and we would have to run for cover. The rooms are actually pretty but there were still so many spots that had not been cleaned up from the workers.....tape on walls, writing on walls, paint that splashed on the glass closet door, grout that had not been sanded....etc. In spite of this, we liked the rooms and feel that once they get the place "done", it will be really lovely. We really liked having the two rooms and the very big private balcony with jacuzzi. There is a large shower, but inconvenient because there is no place to put soap shampoo, etc. except the floor. Hopefully, they will correct that flaw. The bed is nice and comfortable and there is plenty of closet space for those of us who travel with too much. Loved the double vanity in the bathroom and all the space to keep stuff out but not on the counter top. The restaurants are mixed. We liked the buffets both on the beach and upfront. I don't usually like buffets because I find most of them pretty unappetizing after so many hands have been handling the food. When you enter one of these buffets, however, they immediately put hand sanitizer on your hands and show you to your seat. This means everyone's hands have been sanitized which was a comfort to me. Also, there is a lot of food that you can get cooked right in front of you. Most of the meats were done such as well as grilled sandwiches, etc. They had an excellent array of foods and the grilled veggies are to die for.......very, very good. If you are concerned about healthy eating, you will find plenty of great choices. Tons of fresh fruit, grilled veggies and good protein choices. The French Restaurant, which requires a reservation, was really the only one I would say stay away from. It was pretty bad. Overcooked food (to the point of being burnt) as well as extremely small portions. My husband and I don't eat large portions, usually, but after swimming and diving all day and skipping lunch, we had larger appetites than normal and these portions were incredibly small even by our normal standards. We couldn't eat the food because it was so overcooked, so we wound up leaving and going to the buffet. Everyone we talked to had the same complaint. We noticed that the restaurant was usually less than half full each night. The Italian was not great either, but at least a couple stars above the French. Hopefully, they will get better with time. They also tended to overcook the meat. The Steak House was pretty good......great crab cakes and they did know how to cook a steak for medium rare lovers (although some other guests we talked to complained about theirs). Also had the great grilled veggies and many potato options. There are many, many bar choices around the complex and we had no complaints about the quality of the beverages sold. The house wines that come included are quite good, so we never opted to buy from the wine list. The vodkas, brandies, etc. were all good brand labels that I think most people would be happy with (I'm talking about labels that are included). Check-in and check out is good and will cause no headaches. They assign you a "Butler" when you check in who is suppose to help you with anything that you need. We saw our butler about three times over the 11 day stay and I never really understood the purpose of his visits. If we did need something, he is not there to help you and you take care of it yourself.....I think they still have to define this position a little more. The people you see to rent jet skis, boats, diving, etc. were really good. My husband got diving certification from them and I felt they were really professional. I did not feel concerned about his safety. You CANNOT SNORKEL on the beaches around this facility....in fact, you can't snorkel anyplace close by. You have to go on a snorkel trip for the day (at a cost). The reason for this is that you must stay within the buoys because of the boats that are outside the buoys and will "cream you" if you wonder over. When my husband complained to them about not being able to snorkel, they were adamant about staying within the swimming area. He loves snorkeling so this was a big blow to us. Fortunately, he decided to take up diving. We also found about half a mile down the beach a wonderful place to body surf where the waves were 4-6 feet. My husband loved that. So, in short, the beaches are great in spite of no snorkeling. There are a lot of activities to do during the day such as volleyball, Zumba, etc, and the staff does a good job of getting people up and participating. If you like to play volleyball, there will be a game going on you can join. Same for other activities. We really enjoyed the evening show at 8:45 every evening. One night it was a "Circus Show"; another it was "Michael Jackson Show" with a really good MJ impersonator/singer......it was a different theme each night. They were not Broadway but very, very good and good dancing and singing/voices. No problem finding good seats...very enjoyable. Also, I wanted to leave a word about smoking because it is such an issue for some people. I do not smoke, but my husband does (never indoors, of course). Finding a place to vacation where he can be comfortable in this day is hard because so many places don't even let you smoke on the balconies or outdoors anymore. This place was good for this. When you are out of doors, they do have ashtrays around to accommodate smokers so they don't have to feel like they have to hide behind a bush. And, you know what? There were no complainers because the wind and constant movement of air made it a non-issue. Since I come from both sides on this issue, I applaud the fact that they make it so that everyone can enjoy their vacation. You won't find a more friendly group of workers than at the Mirage. They are a very happy, friendly group of people that make you enjoy your vacation. Love the D.R. people. And if you go right on the beach and walk abut 30-40 minutes at a good walking pace, you will find a market where the locals sell their goods. Be prepared for bargaining, but we enjoyed and came back with a few goodies to remember the trip. Hope this review helps. Wish I had pictures to add, but I'm not good at doing this. Trust me, the beaches are beautiful and surroundings likewise.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Kentucky
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 30, 2017
Amazing Hotel

My husband and I just came back from the Majestic Mirage in the DR and it was awesome! The hotel obviously is brand new so they where still doing cosmetic touch ups, but it was luxurious and the rooms where so nice and the beds so comfortable. The staff are the NICEST people ever they always say hello and help with everything!!! The beaches are so clean and the beach entertainment is on point! If you are looking for a vacation with fun activities and lots of relaxation this is your place.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34

January 12, 2017
Beautiful but rush opening

My stay at Majestic mirage was ok. It wasn't great! First I'll start with the pros. I think the resort is very beautiful although the grounds were still being worked on. I loved that once you're checked it they provide you with a butler service who also comes each day throughout your stay to inquire if you need anything. Our butler did anything he could to make our stay comfortable. For instance upon arrival the room had a very dusty almost moldy smell and he came once or twice a day to light oils in an effort to eliminate the smell. He sets up our jacuzzi whenever we needed with bath oils etc. he was the best. The hotel pools were great and the beach very beautiful. They had numerous beach cabanas you didn't have to rush early to reserve one or pay extra money for one. They had many nice seating area around the grounds and servers comes asking if you want drinks. The cons The food was not the best the at all. Plus they needed to label the foods most times we had no clue what the food was and the staff could not communicate English well to explain. The steak house was the best food however we waited more than an hour for our food. I think they needed more staff that spoke English or other languages. It was very difficult at times to communicate to them. Overall I think they rushed the opening of majestic mirage. They still had countless construction which was still going on plus little things like the room smelling like dust or mold, properly educating the staff about the different foods and providing better service. If I would revisit I would in like 3 years hopefully everything would be done well and then I would give the hotel a five star. I still would recommend the hotel because I think it's beautiful and in time it may get better


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, ny
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 27, 2017
Most stressful vacation ever

We would like to offer some comments with respect to our stay at your resort, the Majestic Mirage. We completely understood that this was a brand new resort opening in December. We were expecting minor details that needed to be attended to; however, we did not expect several of the things that happened to us on a DAILY basis. January 14: Long check-in process. Wait for luggage excessive (it took so long to receive luggage, were not able to enjoy the beach that day). No hallway lights Toilet clogged in room; never fixed. TV not working properly, not all major channels. Spotty WIFI. Mosquitos and flies EVERYWHERE. January 15: Woke up at 7:00 a.m. to clogged overflowing toilet water everywhere with feces. Extremely slippery floors (my brother fell on a slippery floor). Toilet flooded room again at 5:30 p.m. It took over an hour and a half to get water cleaned up and water turned off. We were told not to use the bathroom at that time (which we did not, especially since we were under the impression that the water was shut off). Response time completely unacceptable for this type of situation. Elena offered us rooms at the Elegance, however, the Elegance has lost some of its elegance and aesthetically, was just too dark for us (wood coloring, etc.) We decided to stay in our room as Elena was guaranteed that the water was shut off and no further flooding would occur and that the plumbing personnel would be in in the morning to attend to the situation. But that was not to be. Terrible food and service at the steakhouse. No salad received. Steaks overcooked. Corn tasted like it was two days old. January 16: Water was turned on sometime after the workers told Elena it was shut off and we woke up at 7:00 a.m. to 1 inch of water flooding the entire room and out into the hallway. Concierge desk right there and not one person notified us that there was water pouring out of our room. It took six maintenance men to shut the water off, as other guests were walking by and into our room to see what was going on. Buffets in general need serious work. Precooked food left out and unappealing. Nothing labelled. Finally moved into an acceptable room. New room AC not working and shower knob missing. January 17-21: EVERY SINGLE DAY thereafter, there were problems. Problems with the AC and hot water in the room. No hot water in the hot tub. Locked out of room because key card battery was dead. The food left a lot to be desired. It was so bad we generally ate at the Elegance for breakfast and lunch. The Colonial was very similar in food to the Mirage. The Seafood Restaurant had extremely poor service and unappetizing food. Mosquitos and flies. Everywhere. I have never gone to the Dominican and come back with so many mosquito bites as I did this time. Standing water is a breeding ground for mosquitos and there was quite a bit of it to keep the resort full of them. Craftsmanship: Non existent. You are calling yourself a 5 Star Resort, but there are so many problems. Cracked tiles in the rooms, cracked tiles in the dining areas, cracked tiles at the hot tub, pool tiles coming off in strips. Sloppily painted walls. We could go on and on. We spent more time dealing with these issues that our vacation was not 100% ruined, but almost. We are not complaining about the wind, the water or anything else the resort has no control over. What we are complaining about are issues that should have been addressed prior to opening. Toilets not flushing in common bathrooms. Toilet seats not attached to toilets. Hand dryers in bathrooms not working anywhere. Toilet paper holders falling off the walls. Magnifying mirror had previously fallen off of wall and the old holes were not filled in. The door jamb to our second room looked like someone broke it.

Most stressful vacation ever Most stressful vacation ever
1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Lynn, mA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 8, 2017
First Timer to All inclusive

The Majestic Mirage and Majestic compound (Colonial and Elegance) were very nice. The beach front was beautiful and activities were very fun. The Mirage being new and only open a month still had some work going on. Our room had issues with water not draining properly in the shower (not bad enough to ruin our vacation). This being my first trip to an all-inclusive, I enjoyed the amenities provided, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the optional tour packages available were very nice. I would definitely return to the Majestic and recommend it for others.

Beach front of Majestic.
1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 13, 2017
Beautiful resort

My room was by far the nicest room we have ever had. The pools were fantastic and the beach was perfect plenty of cabanas. We are definitely going back next year


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: lakeville,ma
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 20, 2017
Majestic Mirage

I have to admit I was a little nervous when I read one of the reviews for this all-inclusive. Rain in October and November delayed the opening of this resort so it didn't open until late December. Our reservations were about a week after it opened and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised.Our rooms were gorgeous! Some of the resort wasn't open yet, but the restaurants were open, the pools were awesome, the activities that were offered were fun. Our concierge, Pedro, was excellent. When we needed something, whether it was a question or a reservation, Pedro got it done. We tried paddle boarding for the first time and Jenkins and Gregory were awesome. I also did water aerobics with Mark and learned Salsa. The sports bar was fun, we played pool and watched football. The coffee bar was good but I wouldn't recommend the food, the coffee drinks however, were delicious. There were shows at the theater that were great and live music nightly. There are also tennis courts a short walk from the resort that are clean and well maintained. The staff was professional and extremely friendly. We loved this place so much we are going back again on our next vacation.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Aurora, Colorado
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 24, 2017
A work in progress

They were literally opening buildings while we were there. Felt kind of like a guinea pig. Our butler/concierge, Fernando, was fantastic and made the experience far better than it would have been. I would recommend requesting him if you book. The resort will likely end up being fantastic by the time it gets rolling for awhile.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: South Bend, IN
Age: 25-34

January 28, 2017
Opened way too soon

Our experience. Room. Rooms are huge and nice. There are problems though. I heard them all week and Thank God we didn't have the major problems other had. We did not have flooded room or sewage backup. Our only thing was a little mold growing in bathrooms, which I posted a photo of and showed our butler. Our phone jacks weren't done yet, wires were hanging out of wall. Showed our butler. No biggie for me because we don't use the phone. Maid service was excellent. Hot tub was great. My impression is, too many guests were booked and there was no time to do inspections. I also,worry that some of the craftsmanship wasn't that great. Space though, wow, the rooms are huge. Yes, I will reiterate what you've read here, there is a mosquito problem and they know it. We have bites everywhere and spent a lot of time when in the room killing mosquitos. Food. Overall, I though the food was great. Steakhouse was awesome. Some criticisms I read on food I just didn't experience. Food was plentiful and tasty. Nice spreads at buffet. Steaks and meats were cooked excellently, season well, and better than some AI I have been too. Down side was service. I reiterate what others have said. Getting coffee at breakfast for a drink at lunch wasn't alway easy and sometimes our meal was done eaten before drinks arrived. Kind of odd, the workers seem to have specific jobs, so the guy that asks if you want coffee is not the one that brings it and there were times we simply didn't get it, despite being asked three times. They have service issues to work on. Pools. Awesome. Chilly but easily get used to when in. Pool bars had excellent service. Pools are a great feature at Mirage. Nice layouts. Beach. See above. Excellent. Difference from several Mexican resorts we stayed at is the Mirage and elegance beach had excellent soft sand and no rocks in water at all. Really sweet beach. There is a slant to it as you get closer to water. To bring out your chair, just dig a little and out ends of chair in holes you dug to even it out. Perfect. Just absolutely gorgeous beach. Grounds. It's new. Stuff needs to to grow up. No criticism at all on that. It's new. Some fountains are not functioning yet. Overall. Looks new but will eventually be very nice. Negatives were lots of mosquitos, on and off AC, service isn't that great yet. We did hear several guests with rather significant issues and having to change rooms because of real significant problems. Fortunately we did not have those. But, THEY DO EXIST, regardless what som here want to believe. My worries would be that some of the construction seem to be just done poorly. I hope as guests move out they do inspections and fix the issues. Overall, not a five star yet. I would give it a 3.5. It's an honest assessment. This was our first stay at Majestic resorts. In the past we've stayed at multiple Iberostars, RIU, Barcelo, and Palladium chains. They have a ways to go at Mirage to rise to the Iberostar level. Maybe they already have at Elegance. Never stayed there but looks outstanding. Oh forgot a shout out. Entertainment staff were awesome!


0 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 1, 2017

Excellent choice although construction was still ongoing. There were a few mechanical glitches and some shoddy workmanship. I would like a swim up room next year at this time hoping for a return visit discount.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Cromwell CT
Age: 45-54