All

Majestic Mirage Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 24 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.7
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.1 out of 5
"My wife and I love Majestic Mirage! The resort was good overall. It wasn't too crowded which was nice. The room was great. Food was good enough; nothing too spectacular. We would definitely return." – Nickipedia
23 out of 27 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Lobby Beach front of Majestic. Center walkway As our friends from home were shoveling feet of new snow, we were barfing rainbows!

All Majestic Mirage Customer Reviews

1-10 of 24 reviews. Sort by
March 11, 2017
dont miss this place

An excellent experience from effortless travel, transfer, and arrival. The resort is new and they are really working to make the experience top notch. All activities were as described and more. Beach was great, food was great, all of the staff was helpful and wanted to make sure you were happy. I would put this place on top for couples, family or just a group of friends on a get away. If you wanted group fun this is it, if you want to read a book and be alone this is it, if you want to bake yourself on the beach this is it, if you want to drink all day this is it with 16 bars and staffed to serve. We will definitely book again and appreciate the fine time..


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: chicago
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 2, 2017
Good First Experience

Majestic Mirage recently opened last month and there definitely was still much to do before opening. We heard hammers pounding, etc. during the day above us, so we knew they were still working on rooms. We were the first to stay in our room and the smell was pretty bad for the first three days. We were smelling some type of building material. We wanted to open the doors to let it air out, but could not because they did not have screens on the doors and the mosquitoes are really bad. They also came by faithfully every afternoon about 5 p.m. on the truck spraying for mosquitoes and we would have to run for cover. The rooms are actually pretty but there were still so many spots that had not been cleaned up from the workers.....tape on walls, writing on walls, paint that splashed on the glass closet door, grout that had not been sanded....etc. In spite of this, we liked the rooms and feel that once they get the place "done", it will be really lovely. We really liked having the two rooms and the very big private balcony with jacuzzi. There is a large shower, but inconvenient because there is no place to put soap shampoo, etc. except the floor. Hopefully, they will correct that flaw. The bed is nice and comfortable and there is plenty of closet space for those of us who travel with too much. Loved the double vanity in the bathroom and all the space to keep stuff out but not on the counter top. The restaurants are mixed. We liked the buffets both on the beach and upfront. I don't usually like buffets because I find most of them pretty unappetizing after so many hands have been handling the food. When you enter one of these buffets, however, they immediately put hand sanitizer on your hands and show you to your seat. This means everyone's hands have been sanitized which was a comfort to me. Also, there is a lot of food that you can get cooked right in front of you. Most of the meats were done such as well as grilled sandwiches, etc. They had an excellent array of foods and the grilled veggies are to die for.......very, very good. If you are concerned about healthy eating, you will find plenty of great choices. Tons of fresh fruit, grilled veggies and good protein choices. The French Restaurant, which requires a reservation, was really the only one I would say stay away from. It was pretty bad. Overcooked food (to the point of being burnt) as well as extremely small portions. My husband and I don't eat large portions, usually, but after swimming and diving all day and skipping lunch, we had larger appetites than normal and these portions were incredibly small even by our normal standards. We couldn't eat the food because it was so overcooked, so we wound up leaving and going to the buffet. Everyone we talked to had the same complaint. We noticed that the restaurant was usually less than half full each night. The Italian was not great either, but at least a couple stars above the French. Hopefully, they will get better with time. They also tended to overcook the meat. The Steak House was pretty good......great crab cakes and they did know how to cook a steak for medium rare lovers (although some other guests we talked to complained about theirs). Also had the great grilled veggies and many potato options. There are many, many bar choices around the complex and we had no complaints about the quality of the beverages sold. The house wines that come included are quite good, so we never opted to buy from the wine list. The vodkas, brandies, etc. were all good brand labels that I think most people would be happy with (I'm talking about labels that are included). Check-in and check out is good and will cause no headaches. They assign you a "Butler" when you check in who is suppose to help you with anything that you need. We saw our butler about three times over the 11 day stay and I never really understood the purpose of his visits. If we did need something, he is not there to help you and you take care of it yourself.....I think they still have to define this position a little more. The people you see to rent jet skis, boats, diving, etc. were really good. My husband got diving certification from them and I felt they were really professional. I did not feel concerned about his safety. You CANNOT SNORKEL on the beaches around this facility....in fact, you can't snorkel anyplace close by. You have to go on a snorkel trip for the day (at a cost). The reason for this is that you must stay within the buoys because of the boats that are outside the buoys and will "cream you" if you wonder over. When my husband complained to them about not being able to snorkel, they were adamant about staying within the swimming area. He loves snorkeling so this was a big blow to us. Fortunately, he decided to take up diving. We also found about half a mile down the beach a wonderful place to body surf where the waves were 4-6 feet. My husband loved that. So, in short, the beaches are great in spite of no snorkeling. There are a lot of activities to do during the day such as volleyball, Zumba, etc, and the staff does a good job of getting people up and participating. If you like to play volleyball, there will be a game going on you can join. Same for other activities. We really enjoyed the evening show at 8:45 every evening. One night it was a "Circus Show"; another it was "Michael Jackson Show" with a really good MJ impersonator/singer......it was a different theme each night. They were not Broadway but very, very good and good dancing and singing/voices. No problem finding good seats...very enjoyable. Also, I wanted to leave a word about smoking because it is such an issue for some people. I do not smoke, but my husband does (never indoors, of course). Finding a place to vacation where he can be comfortable in this day is hard because so many places don't even let you smoke on the balconies or outdoors anymore. This place was good for this. When you are out of doors, they do have ashtrays around to accommodate smokers so they don't have to feel like they have to hide behind a bush. And, you know what? There were no complainers because the wind and constant movement of air made it a non-issue. Since I come from both sides on this issue, I applaud the fact that they make it so that everyone can enjoy their vacation. You won't find a more friendly group of workers than at the Mirage. They are a very happy, friendly group of people that make you enjoy your vacation. Love the D.R. people. And if you go right on the beach and walk abut 30-40 minutes at a good walking pace, you will find a market where the locals sell their goods. Be prepared for bargaining, but we enjoyed and came back with a few goodies to remember the trip. Hope this review helps. Wish I had pictures to add, but I'm not good at doing this. Trust me, the beaches are beautiful and surroundings likewise.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Kentucky
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 13, 2017
Majestic Mirage

I thought overall the resort was great. I read the reviews before booking the trip and often read that the resort was still under construction. Yes this was true, but had no affect on our vacation. The construction was mainly to the shops and little to the buildings which housed the rooms. Our suite was absolutely beautiful. Very comfortable and had a great view of the ocean. The service was great overall. Yeah there were some workers where you got the impression they did not want to be there, but more of them were more than happy to assist. I read some reviews that the mosquitoes were bad, however I didn't think they were too bad and I am allergic to same. The resort did fog for the mosquitoes nightly and if you didn't see it you sure did smell it. The smell was very potent, but it worked so I'm not going to complain. We tried most of the restaurants with the food and service being excellent. The breakfast food was quite greasy. We did have dinner at the steakhouse with horrible service. When we sat down there were only about 10 tables seated so we expected to have quick service. Our waiter didn't come to our table for about 15 minutes. We ordered our food and waited about an hour. While waiting we had to ask another waiter for drinks. While waiting we saw our waiter deliver some soup to the table next to us, which I found weird since he was not their waiter. About 15 minutes later we saw that table's waiter bring them their soup to which they replied "we got our soups already" I kindly told that waiter that those soups were probably ours since our waiter gave them ours. After a quick check sure enough they were our soups. We continued to wait for our food and nothing from our waiter. So once again we asked someone else and sure enough our food was delivered by some else. The food was excellent, but our salads and steaks came at the same time since it had probably been sitting back there for awhile. Well we went back the next night to give it a try again and sure enough we got the same waiter. This time his service was great and the food was as well. I guess everyone has a bad night. All in All great vacation........


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Newark, Delaware
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 15, 2017
Maject Mirage Review

Resort, Hotel, Food, Bars, Beach, Activities and the Butler we had PEDRO!!!! 100% amazing location, food, luxury. We did the Adults Only. Was So worth it. This was our Empty Nest Vacation! Was SOSOSOSOSO awesome. Service was amazing, clean and never had one complaint! Majestic Mirage!!!!!!!

Maject Mirage Review
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Braunfels, Tx
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 30, 2017
Amazing Hotel

My husband and I just came back from the Majestic Mirage in the DR and it was awesome! The hotel obviously is brand new so they where still doing cosmetic touch ups, but it was luxurious and the rooms where so nice and the beds so comfortable. The staff are the NICEST people ever they always say hello and help with everything!!! The beaches are so clean and the beach entertainment is on point! If you are looking for a vacation with fun activities and lots of relaxation this is your place.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34

February 25, 2017
Just what we needed

The resort is beautiful and while there are still a few things that will take time to get to perfection, they certainly are working hard on making it that way. The staff is incredibly sweet although being a bartender and owning s bar the staff could have a little more fire when their bars are busy. Beach is stunning, water is warm, Bali beds for all! If you have questions, check out the Facebook page guest forum for the magestic mirage. Lots of help there to make my stress about a brand new resort subside. Enjoy your time and leave your stress at home!

As our friends from home were shoveling feet of new snow, we were barfing rainbows!
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Portland Maine
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 28, 2017
20TH WEDDING ANNIVERSITY

This was our first time ever going on a trip like this so we were a little nervous. We had a great time. The pools, bars and food was the best. There are excursions you can take too. The staff was more then willing to bend over backwards for us. They waited on us hand and foot. There was a time we went back to the room for a nap before dinner. When we returned later that night our bed was remade for us. We are already looking forward to the next trip.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: detroit michigan
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 9, 2017
Great Vacation Spot

The resort was beautiful and the staff works hard to make your stay enjoyable. The rooms had a musty type of smell but the staff put an incense burner in the room to help. The rooms themselves were very nice though and the beds were comfortable. The food was very good at the buffet with plenty of choices. The restaurant food was average nothing spectacular but good. The nightly entertainment was excellent with a different theme every night. Top of the shelf liquor was served at every bar. Mostly families and older couples which was nice as we were there over spring break and did not have to deal with a rowdy spring break clientele. The animation team works hard to get people to play pool games, join group activities, take dance lessons. They were exceptional! The beach is beautiful with plenty of lounge chairs and beach beds. Same goes for the pool. We never had to get to the pool early to save chairs. Would totally recommend and return.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 14, 2017
Third time at Majestic Resorts

My hubby and I have visited the Majestic resorts 3 years in a row for our vacation. The first two years we spent at the Majestic Elegance. We loved it so much that we decided to try the brand new facility The Majestic Mirage. Both of the Majestic properties are beyond excellent. We found that with the Mirage, the rooms were much bigger. We stayed in a one room suite which has a private bedroom, 2 bathrooms, double sinks, a sitting room with television, a kitchen table with two chairs, a stocked mini-bar, refrigerator stocked with soft drinks, water, beer, candy, snacks, etc. Also a microwave oven, coffee and nepresso machines. There is also a balcony that overlooked the gorgeous pool with a table/chairs, sofa and outdoor jacuzzi. What is nice about these resorts are they are all inclusive, all of your meals, snacks, drinks, alcohol are included. There is a family section and an adults only section. We opted for the adults only section which is within the property but the way it is designed, you'd never know that the family and adult sections are separate. (which is a good thing). The adult section has private pool areas, private bars,private dining at the restaurants and a private area on the beach. The pool areas were gorgeous, super clean, plenty of bali beds, clean towels or lounge chairs with umbrellas over them. The pools also had jacuzzi's in them which is awesome. The swim up bars are great. Our bartender, Juanvcy was the very BEST. He knew how to make whatever drink you wanted.He also had a very good sense of humor, made us feel right at home. There were private bars (no families) wherever you wanted one. The beach is beyond beautiful. Omg!!! The sand is white and soft to your feet, There are more than enough bali beds, chairs, loungers, etc that you won't have a problem finding a space to camp out for the day if you wish. Just remember to bring plenty of sunscreen as it is very hot, but definitely not humid. The water is crystal clear and turquoise in color. The waves are perfect and you can see the bottom of the ocean. As far as the dining goes, some restaurants have a dress code for Men. They are to wear long pants and a polo or button down dress shirt. There is no dress code for women, but I would dress accordingly. Now one of the best parts of the vacation is our Butler service. You see, we have had the same butler twice when we stayed at the Majestic Elegance. His name is Dario, he is the very best. He will go out of his way to make sure everything is perfect for you. We thought Dario was with the Mirage but he was actually still with the Elegance. We spoke with him and he arranged for us to have a Butler named Diego at the Mirage. Diego was awesome. When we arrived, he met us, gave us a tour of the Mirage, and even made reservations for us for dinner that night and the next evening. Anything we needed, Diego was there for us. Thanks Diego, you too are the Best. He came to us mid stay and told us that he wouldn't be with us for the remainder of our vacation as it was his time off. He arranged for us to be with a different Butler named Junior. Well same to be said for Junior, Awesome guy. Every night when we returned to our room, there would be some kind of snack waiting for us, whether it be cheese and crackers or fresh fruit. Onto the entertainment, You will never ever be bored. In the plaza every night there is a live band, the music is great. After the band is finished, there is always a live entertainment show. It is different every night. The entertainment committee is extremely talented. The shows they put on are beyond awesome and you will be glued to your seat watching them. A few of them to mention are: Michael Jackson show, Big Band Era, Circus, Disco, etc. Finally when we were leaving, our butler Junior met us and drove us to the front check in/out desk via golf cart. Reason being, he knew that I have bad knees and it is a bit difficult for me to walk a great distance. The only negative thing we have to say is that we didn't stay long enough. Next year we are planning on going for 10 days to 2 weeks.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: USA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 27, 2017
Most stressful vacation ever

We would like to offer some comments with respect to our stay at your resort, the Majestic Mirage. We completely understood that this was a brand new resort opening in December. We were expecting minor details that needed to be attended to; however, we did not expect several of the things that happened to us on a DAILY basis. January 14: Long check-in process. Wait for luggage excessive (it took so long to receive luggage, were not able to enjoy the beach that day). No hallway lights Toilet clogged in room; never fixed. TV not working properly, not all major channels. Spotty WIFI. Mosquitos and flies EVERYWHERE. January 15: Woke up at 7:00 a.m. to clogged overflowing toilet water everywhere with feces. Extremely slippery floors (my brother fell on a slippery floor). Toilet flooded room again at 5:30 p.m. It took over an hour and a half to get water cleaned up and water turned off. We were told not to use the bathroom at that time (which we did not, especially since we were under the impression that the water was shut off). Response time completely unacceptable for this type of situation. Elena offered us rooms at the Elegance, however, the Elegance has lost some of its elegance and aesthetically, was just too dark for us (wood coloring, etc.) We decided to stay in our room as Elena was guaranteed that the water was shut off and no further flooding would occur and that the plumbing personnel would be in in the morning to attend to the situation. But that was not to be. Terrible food and service at the steakhouse. No salad received. Steaks overcooked. Corn tasted like it was two days old. January 16: Water was turned on sometime after the workers told Elena it was shut off and we woke up at 7:00 a.m. to 1 inch of water flooding the entire room and out into the hallway. Concierge desk right there and not one person notified us that there was water pouring out of our room. It took six maintenance men to shut the water off, as other guests were walking by and into our room to see what was going on. Buffets in general need serious work. Precooked food left out and unappealing. Nothing labelled. Finally moved into an acceptable room. New room AC not working and shower knob missing. January 17-21: EVERY SINGLE DAY thereafter, there were problems. Problems with the AC and hot water in the room. No hot water in the hot tub. Locked out of room because key card battery was dead. The food left a lot to be desired. It was so bad we generally ate at the Elegance for breakfast and lunch. The Colonial was very similar in food to the Mirage. The Seafood Restaurant had extremely poor service and unappetizing food. Mosquitos and flies. Everywhere. I have never gone to the Dominican and come back with so many mosquito bites as I did this time. Standing water is a breeding ground for mosquitos and there was quite a bit of it to keep the resort full of them. Craftsmanship: Non existent. You are calling yourself a 5 Star Resort, but there are so many problems. Cracked tiles in the rooms, cracked tiles in the dining areas, cracked tiles at the hot tub, pool tiles coming off in strips. Sloppily painted walls. We could go on and on. We spent more time dealing with these issues that our vacation was not 100% ruined, but almost. We are not complaining about the wind, the water or anything else the resort has no control over. What we are complaining about are issues that should have been addressed prior to opening. Toilets not flushing in common bathrooms. Toilet seats not attached to toilets. Hand dryers in bathrooms not working anywhere. Toilet paper holders falling off the walls. Magnifying mirror had previously fallen off of wall and the old holes were not filled in. The door jamb to our second room looked like someone broke it.

Most stressful vacation ever Most stressful vacation ever
3 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Lynn, mA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year