All

Majestic Mirage Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 28 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.7
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.2 out of 5
"My wife and I love Majestic Mirage! The resort was good overall. It wasn't too crowded which was nice. The room was great. Food was good enough; nothing too spectacular. We would definitely return." – Nickipedia
27 out of 31 (87%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Beach front of Majestic. As our friends from home were shoveling feet of new snow, we were barfing rainbows! Center walkway Lobby

All Majestic Mirage Customer Reviews

1-10 of 28 reviews. Sort by
April 14, 2017
Third time at Majestic Resorts

My hubby and I have visited the Majestic resorts 3 years in a row for our vacation. The first two years we spent at the Majestic Elegance. We loved it so much that we decided to try the brand new facility The Majestic Mirage. Both of the Majestic properties are beyond excellent. We found that with the Mirage, the rooms were much bigger. We stayed in a one room suite which has a private bedroom, 2 bathrooms, double sinks, a sitting room with television, a kitchen table with two chairs, a stocked mini-bar, refrigerator stocked with soft drinks, water, beer, candy, snacks, etc. Also a microwave oven, coffee and nepresso machines. There is also a balcony that overlooked the gorgeous pool with a table/chairs, sofa and outdoor jacuzzi. What is nice about these resorts are they are all inclusive, all of your meals, snacks, drinks, alcohol are included. There is a family section and an adults only section. We opted for the adults only section which is within the property but the way it is designed, you'd never know that the family and adult sections are separate. (which is a good thing). The adult section has private pool areas, private bars,private dining at the restaurants and a private area on the beach. The pool areas were gorgeous, super clean, plenty of bali beds, clean towels or lounge chairs with umbrellas over them. The pools also had jacuzzi's in them which is awesome. The swim up bars are great. Our bartender, Juanvcy was the very BEST. He knew how to make whatever drink you wanted.He also had a very good sense of humor, made us feel right at home. There were private bars (no families) wherever you wanted one. The beach is beyond beautiful. Omg!!! The sand is white and soft to your feet, There are more than enough bali beds, chairs, loungers, etc that you won't have a problem finding a space to camp out for the day if you wish. Just remember to bring plenty of sunscreen as it is very hot, but definitely not humid. The water is crystal clear and turquoise in color. The waves are perfect and you can see the bottom of the ocean. As far as the dining goes, some restaurants have a dress code for Men. They are to wear long pants and a polo or button down dress shirt. There is no dress code for women, but I would dress accordingly. Now one of the best parts of the vacation is our Butler service. You see, we have had the same butler twice when we stayed at the Majestic Elegance. His name is Dario, he is the very best. He will go out of his way to make sure everything is perfect for you. We thought Dario was with the Mirage but he was actually still with the Elegance. We spoke with him and he arranged for us to have a Butler named Diego at the Mirage. Diego was awesome. When we arrived, he met us, gave us a tour of the Mirage, and even made reservations for us for dinner that night and the next evening. Anything we needed, Diego was there for us. Thanks Diego, you too are the Best. He came to us mid stay and told us that he wouldn't be with us for the remainder of our vacation as it was his time off. He arranged for us to be with a different Butler named Junior. Well same to be said for Junior, Awesome guy. Every night when we returned to our room, there would be some kind of snack waiting for us, whether it be cheese and crackers or fresh fruit. Onto the entertainment, You will never ever be bored. In the plaza every night there is a live band, the music is great. After the band is finished, there is always a live entertainment show. It is different every night. The entertainment committee is extremely talented. The shows they put on are beyond awesome and you will be glued to your seat watching them. A few of them to mention are: Michael Jackson show, Big Band Era, Circus, Disco, etc. Finally when we were leaving, our butler Junior met us and drove us to the front check in/out desk via golf cart. Reason being, he knew that I have bad knees and it is a bit difficult for me to walk a great distance. The only negative thing we have to say is that we didn't stay long enough. Next year we are planning on going for 10 days to 2 weeks.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: USA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 11, 2017
dont miss this place

An excellent experience from effortless travel, transfer, and arrival. The resort is new and they are really working to make the experience top notch. All activities were as described and more. Beach was great, food was great, all of the staff was helpful and wanted to make sure you were happy. I would put this place on top for couples, family or just a group of friends on a get away. If you wanted group fun this is it, if you want to read a book and be alone this is it, if you want to bake yourself on the beach this is it, if you want to drink all day this is it with 16 bars and staffed to serve. We will definitely book again and appreciate the fine time..


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: chicago
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 2, 2017
Good First Experience

Majestic Mirage recently opened last month and there definitely was still much to do before opening. We heard hammers pounding, etc. during the day above us, so we knew they were still working on rooms. We were the first to stay in our room and the smell was pretty bad for the first three days. We were smelling some type of building material. We wanted to open the doors to let it air out, but could not because they did not have screens on the doors and the mosquitoes are really bad. They also came by faithfully every afternoon about 5 p.m. on the truck spraying for mosquitoes and we would have to run for cover. The rooms are actually pretty but there were still so many spots that had not been cleaned up from the workers.....tape on walls, writing on walls, paint that splashed on the glass closet door, grout that had not been sanded....etc. In spite of this, we liked the rooms and feel that once they get the place "done", it will be really lovely. We really liked having the two rooms and the very big private balcony with jacuzzi. There is a large shower, but inconvenient because there is no place to put soap shampoo, etc. except the floor. Hopefully, they will correct that flaw. The bed is nice and comfortable and there is plenty of closet space for those of us who travel with too much. Loved the double vanity in the bathroom and all the space to keep stuff out but not on the counter top. The restaurants are mixed. We liked the buffets both on the beach and upfront. I don't usually like buffets because I find most of them pretty unappetizing after so many hands have been handling the food. When you enter one of these buffets, however, they immediately put hand sanitizer on your hands and show you to your seat. This means everyone's hands have been sanitized which was a comfort to me. Also, there is a lot of food that you can get cooked right in front of you. Most of the meats were done such as well as grilled sandwiches, etc. They had an excellent array of foods and the grilled veggies are to die for.......very, very good. If you are concerned about healthy eating, you will find plenty of great choices. Tons of fresh fruit, grilled veggies and good protein choices. The French Restaurant, which requires a reservation, was really the only one I would say stay away from. It was pretty bad. Overcooked food (to the point of being burnt) as well as extremely small portions. My husband and I don't eat large portions, usually, but after swimming and diving all day and skipping lunch, we had larger appetites than normal and these portions were incredibly small even by our normal standards. We couldn't eat the food because it was so overcooked, so we wound up leaving and going to the buffet. Everyone we talked to had the same complaint. We noticed that the restaurant was usually less than half full each night. The Italian was not great either, but at least a couple stars above the French. Hopefully, they will get better with time. They also tended to overcook the meat. The Steak House was pretty good......great crab cakes and they did know how to cook a steak for medium rare lovers (although some other guests we talked to complained about theirs). Also had the great grilled veggies and many potato options. There are many, many bar choices around the complex and we had no complaints about the quality of the beverages sold. The house wines that come included are quite good, so we never opted to buy from the wine list. The vodkas, brandies, etc. were all good brand labels that I think most people would be happy with (I'm talking about labels that are included). Check-in and check out is good and will cause no headaches. They assign you a "Butler" when you check in who is suppose to help you with anything that you need. We saw our butler about three times over the 11 day stay and I never really understood the purpose of his visits. If we did need something, he is not there to help you and you take care of it yourself.....I think they still have to define this position a little more. The people you see to rent jet skis, boats, diving, etc. were really good. My husband got diving certification from them and I felt they were really professional. I did not feel concerned about his safety. You CANNOT SNORKEL on the beaches around this facility....in fact, you can't snorkel anyplace close by. You have to go on a snorkel trip for the day (at a cost). The reason for this is that you must stay within the buoys because of the boats that are outside the buoys and will "cream you" if you wonder over. When my husband complained to them about not being able to snorkel, they were adamant about staying within the swimming area. He loves snorkeling so this was a big blow to us. Fortunately, he decided to take up diving. We also found about half a mile down the beach a wonderful place to body surf where the waves were 4-6 feet. My husband loved that. So, in short, the beaches are great in spite of no snorkeling. There are a lot of activities to do during the day such as volleyball, Zumba, etc, and the staff does a good job of getting people up and participating. If you like to play volleyball, there will be a game going on you can join. Same for other activities. We really enjoyed the evening show at 8:45 every evening. One night it was a "Circus Show"; another it was "Michael Jackson Show" with a really good MJ impersonator/singer......it was a different theme each night. They were not Broadway but very, very good and good dancing and singing/voices. No problem finding good seats...very enjoyable. Also, I wanted to leave a word about smoking because it is such an issue for some people. I do not smoke, but my husband does (never indoors, of course). Finding a place to vacation where he can be comfortable in this day is hard because so many places don't even let you smoke on the balconies or outdoors anymore. This place was good for this. When you are out of doors, they do have ashtrays around to accommodate smokers so they don't have to feel like they have to hide behind a bush. And, you know what? There were no complainers because the wind and constant movement of air made it a non-issue. Since I come from both sides on this issue, I applaud the fact that they make it so that everyone can enjoy their vacation. You won't find a more friendly group of workers than at the Mirage. They are a very happy, friendly group of people that make you enjoy your vacation. Love the D.R. people. And if you go right on the beach and walk abut 30-40 minutes at a good walking pace, you will find a market where the locals sell their goods. Be prepared for bargaining, but we enjoyed and came back with a few goodies to remember the trip. Hope this review helps. Wish I had pictures to add, but I'm not good at doing this. Trust me, the beaches are beautiful and surroundings likewise.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Kentucky
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 13, 2017
Majestic Mirage

I thought overall the resort was great. I read the reviews before booking the trip and often read that the resort was still under construction. Yes this was true, but had no affect on our vacation. The construction was mainly to the shops and little to the buildings which housed the rooms. Our suite was absolutely beautiful. Very comfortable and had a great view of the ocean. The service was great overall. Yeah there were some workers where you got the impression they did not want to be there, but more of them were more than happy to assist. I read some reviews that the mosquitoes were bad, however I didn't think they were too bad and I am allergic to same. The resort did fog for the mosquitoes nightly and if you didn't see it you sure did smell it. The smell was very potent, but it worked so I'm not going to complain. We tried most of the restaurants with the food and service being excellent. The breakfast food was quite greasy. We did have dinner at the steakhouse with horrible service. When we sat down there were only about 10 tables seated so we expected to have quick service. Our waiter didn't come to our table for about 15 minutes. We ordered our food and waited about an hour. While waiting we had to ask another waiter for drinks. While waiting we saw our waiter deliver some soup to the table next to us, which I found weird since he was not their waiter. About 15 minutes later we saw that table's waiter bring them their soup to which they replied "we got our soups already" I kindly told that waiter that those soups were probably ours since our waiter gave them ours. After a quick check sure enough they were our soups. We continued to wait for our food and nothing from our waiter. So once again we asked someone else and sure enough our food was delivered by some else. The food was excellent, but our salads and steaks came at the same time since it had probably been sitting back there for awhile. Well we went back the next night to give it a try again and sure enough we got the same waiter. This time his service was great and the food was as well. I guess everyone has a bad night. All in All great vacation........


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Newark, Delaware
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 15, 2017
Maject Mirage Review

Resort, Hotel, Food, Bars, Beach, Activities and the Butler we had PEDRO!!!! 100% amazing location, food, luxury. We did the Adults Only. Was So worth it. This was our Empty Nest Vacation! Was SOSOSOSOSO awesome. Service was amazing, clean and never had one complaint! Majestic Mirage!!!!!!!

Maject Mirage Review
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Braunfels, Tx
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 9, 2017
Great Vacation Spot

The resort was beautiful and the staff works hard to make your stay enjoyable. The rooms had a musty type of smell but the staff put an incense burner in the room to help. The rooms themselves were very nice though and the beds were comfortable. The food was very good at the buffet with plenty of choices. The restaurant food was average nothing spectacular but good. The nightly entertainment was excellent with a different theme every night. Top of the shelf liquor was served at every bar. Mostly families and older couples which was nice as we were there over spring break and did not have to deal with a rowdy spring break clientele. The animation team works hard to get people to play pool games, join group activities, take dance lessons. They were exceptional! The beach is beautiful with plenty of lounge chairs and beach beds. Same goes for the pool. We never had to get to the pool early to save chairs. Would totally recommend and return.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 28, 2017
20TH WEDDING ANNIVERSITY

This was our first time ever going on a trip like this so we were a little nervous. We had a great time. The pools, bars and food was the best. There are excursions you can take too. The staff was more then willing to bend over backwards for us. They waited on us hand and foot. There was a time we went back to the room for a nap before dinner. When we returned later that night our bed was remade for us. We are already looking forward to the next trip.


5 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: detroit michigan
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 30, 2017
Amazing Hotel

My husband and I just came back from the Majestic Mirage in the DR and it was awesome! The hotel obviously is brand new so they where still doing cosmetic touch ups, but it was luxurious and the rooms where so nice and the beds so comfortable. The staff are the NICEST people ever they always say hello and help with everything!!! The beaches are so clean and the beach entertainment is on point! If you are looking for a vacation with fun activities and lots of relaxation this is your place.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34

February 25, 2017
Just what we needed

The resort is beautiful and while there are still a few things that will take time to get to perfection, they certainly are working hard on making it that way. The staff is incredibly sweet although being a bartender and owning s bar the staff could have a little more fire when their bars are busy. Beach is stunning, water is warm, Bali beds for all! If you have questions, check out the Facebook page guest forum for the magestic mirage. Lots of help there to make my stress about a brand new resort subside. Enjoy your time and leave your stress at home!

As our friends from home were shoveling feet of new snow, we were barfing rainbows!
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Portland Maine
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 21, 2017
Got some kinks, but otherwise wonderful!

My wife and I stayed at Majestic Mirage from March 6 – March 13. The first thing I would like to say is that if you can afford to spend thousands on this vacation you can definitely bring some singles to tip. You don’t have to go crazy, but even a dollar here and there goes a long way for the employees. It is evident every day that all the employees from the landscaping crews, housekeepers, butlers, pool/beach concierge, and restaurant staff are working very hard to make sure that you have a great vacation. I could tell that they take pride in what they do. We were there for 8 days and 7 nights and I brought $150 in singles which was more than enough to get us through the vacation. Daily tipping was like this: $2 for the housekeeper left on the pillows, $1 in the mini fridge for the person that restocked, $1 per round for a bartender or concierge person if they got me a drink, $2 if we ate at the buffet, around $4 if we ate at one of the restaurants, and I think I gave our butler around $20 total for the entire trip. Plus the staff definitely remembers tippers and will almost fight over having you in their sections at restaurants. I understand that gratuity is included in the price, but these people work hard for what I am sure is little pay by the resort. Feel free to also go up and give the tips to the actual server, I am not sure if they pool them together, but they appreciate it when you hand it to them. The resort definitely has the feel of luxury. Our check in was painless, a little paper work, get your wristbands, and you’ll be taken around the property on a tour by someone. The beach is incredible as you would expect, white sand and blue clear water. Get down to the beach around 9 if you want a prime spot in the sun. Around 2:30 -3 the beach really dies down. You can even have a beach concierge set up your chairs and towels in a spot when you get down there. The beach concierges will sometimes walk around and take drink orders, but they are very slow (15-20 minutes) and you are better off going to the bar yourself. There are no towel cards or anything like that. They have stands with the towels on them and you just grab what you need and put them in one of the numerous bins when you are done. We are very low maintenance and hardly used our butler at all. His name was Franklin and he made himself available for us and asked if we needed him to do anything. He did take care of some room issues for us and made dinner reservations. The only thing that I wasn’t a fan of was other butlers we would see on the beach daily checking in with their guests. That only happened once and usually we got a phone call around 6 at night to see if we needed anything. It would have been nice to actually see him daily, but he tried. The food and drinks are good. All top shelf liquor and they have Presidente as well as Heineken and Coors Light. The food quality was better than other resorts we have stayed at (Majestic Colonial and Ocean Blue and Sands) and we didn’t find ourselves craving Mcdonalds by the end of the trip like in the past. We ate at the buffet for breakfasts and lunches, nothing mind blowing, but you’ll be able to find something you like. We also at the sports bar, sea side, steak house, and the hibachi. Sports bar was good and everything tasted as it should. Steak house was our favorite and we ate there multiple times. The nice thing is it has a relaxed dress code and doesn’t require a reservation. The hibachi was somewhat of a letdown. It had a weird menu and all the food was drenched in sauces. We also had a very annoying server who was trying too hard to be entertaining (Jhonny). The sea side restaurant which is seafood at dinner was a letdown. We got the grilled lobster entrees and mine was under cooked and smelled fishy. My wife’s was very overcooked. We actually left and went to the buffet. As far as reservations are concerned for the restaurants that require them expect to get them 2-3 days out. We flew in on Monday and didn’t get a reservation until Wednesday. Play it safe at the restaurants and get whatever chocolate desert they have. Do not get cheesecake, we got the cheesecake from the steak house and hibachi, and it’s not what you would expect. I had heard that this resort was built and opened in less than a year and it shows. In the rooms there are lots of quality issues like grout and caulk, but don’t let that spoil your trip. The rooms are huge, the beds and pillows comfortable, the AC is adjustable and blows cold, and the Jacuzzi on the balcony is great for days you don’t have great weather. Our AC in the living room wasn’t working when we got there, but our butler got someone to fix it. The only issue we had and it seems like most others had as well was the shower. The slope of the floor in the shower makes the water want to run out and under the door, so our bathroom would flood. We ended up rolling up a towel to stuff next to the door. I think that really shows how rushed they were to complete the resort, but some people we met said they had no problems at all. Hopefully in the future they go through all the rooms and fix stuff. Overall a great trip, we got to do exactly what we wanted, sit on the beach for a week. I would say the service was definitely a shining star for this resort. I expect in another year the resort will improve even more and me and my wife both said we would come back.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: St. Paul, MN
Age: 25-34