All

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 1,214 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.7
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4.4 out of 5
"The Majestic Colonial is an amazing experience in all aspects, we highly recommend it!" – strapusa
1,222 out of 1,395 (88%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sunset on the Beach Resort beach Beach at Sunset! COUSINS!!!! Chairs by the water our favorite area..swim up pool bar! Snorkeling on the beach Beautiful grounds and beach Christmas Decorations Waiting for the show! Yasel, Me, and Vince at the pool bar The Theater awesome sunrise On our last day...Carlos. Club pool a perfect place for a wedding BEACH VIEW Form party the beach A view from the lobby evening at the hotel... Wonder staff Beautiful beach Chef Rudy. Amazing Beautiful sunrise Beautiful beaches Beautiful beach Pool and Room Morning on Private Beach Your level of service Nice pool Beautiful beach! Loved the bali beds by pool Gazebo for many weddings Our room view Beautiful sunsets Beach Room view Saona island excursion Looking out into the ocean View from the Adults Only Pool Bar Relaxing in the cabanas by the pool Frozen margarita & pina colada--delicious! The resorts beach at sunset No Soap in bathrooms Hotel beach The main lobby! Photo of the pool at night! View from our room in colonial club Beautiful Beach Lovely beach The lower main lobby Best Time ever !! Good morning after the best sleep ever!!! Poolside View from 2nd floor room balcony Relaxing at the pool:) The amazing beach A huge PAELLA at the beach steak grill speechless bite-sized dessert heaven Beach on the resort 1/2 of our breakfast staff Best room at the resort! Michael Jackson Show Swimming w/sharks BBQ on beach Water Aerobics at the pool Evening bar before dining Beach Day! ROOM ACCOMMADATION hanging out on the beach Majestic Colonial The Wedding Gazebo beach view Gazebo by the beach used for weddings pool Jacuzzi in the room Nice beach the beautiful beach Bar by French restaurant view from our balcony Majestic Colonial Beach Beach Colonial pool area Room view Reef Explorer Lunch at the beach! Paradise .... View from Room Early morning snorkle Bavaro beach Just one section of the Pool From our room view from the beach part of the lower lobby beach Beach Beach Vendor Majestic gazebo Fountain at Majestic The room! Delicious dinner on the beach!!! Pool was Excellent! first surprise of the trip It doesn't get any better than this - elevaton 0, population 2. Sunset from our balcony The Beach Every Monday! Fine dinning and great photo opps! The Pool The beginning of the biggest pool ever Morning that we left! I'm going to miss that pool! 3 pools, 2 adults only Sunrise on a cloudy day Very nice beach from our deck Beach front room Our romantic anniversary dinner on the beach Beach Party Breakfast room service Majestic pool at night Majestic Colonial at night Love wins View from our ocean front room

All Majestic Colonial Punta Cana Customer Reviews

1-10 of 1,214 reviews. Sort by
June 22, 2013
Well-run resort

Very pleased with cleanliness and friendliness of staff and their attention to detail. The room was well-appointed, clean and the bed was very comfortable for us (firm). The mini bar was well-stocked daily and bottled water was always available. There are signs in the bathroom indicating not to drink the tap water. This means don't rinse your toothbrush in it or wash your mouth out with it! We stayed four nights and never had any stomach/intestinal problems. The food was good. For those who complained in other reviews, I would say that they have not traveled much to other countries. Basically, you are not going to get standard good ol' USofA fare. You are going to eat the way they eat prepared the way they prepare it! The buffet had a large variety of items and guests should be able to find something to their liking. If you are traveling without minors, upgrading the the Colonial Club is a bargain. The private club room had snacks from 6am to midnight You can also have breakfast and lunch in the LeGormet dining room if you are staying in the club section. The food basically was the same food that is in the buffet but served in a nice quiet setting by very attentive staff. I had an omelette prepared with the ingredients I requested. For lunch, we had a small beef tenderloin steak and grilled fresh vegetables. Very Good! Also, with the Colonial Club rooms you have a private check-in area and are assigned a butler. Our butler, DeLeon, saw to our every need and explained every detail of the resort upon check-in. The adult pool area was great and the swim-up bar and bartenders Nolberto and Santa Franco were fantastic. It was also nice to have a roped off beach area for adults only. The only short -coming we found was the internet service. WiFi basically didn't work in the room and the club room computer area was slow to connect. However, for a carribbean island it was manageable. I would highly recommend this resort. As a side note, even though this is an all-inclusive resort, take some single bills and tip the staff. Consider that they make only about $7 A DAY. A few dollars a day in tips from someone who can afford this vacation is not a big expense.


500 of 509 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 10 Contributor
From: Pine Island, Florida
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 29, 2011
“Mamajuanna go again!!”

We had the most amazing time! From the moment we arrived we were greeted with a drink and a smile. The front desk attendant upgraded us to a swim-up room thanks to our booking agent - it was well worth everything! The room was GORGEOUS! Clean, cool, large - our backyard had a jacuzzi, lounge chairs and the pool was RIGHT THERE! We were a mere minute swim away from the wet bar in the pool..great location! If you didn't want to spend all of your time at the pool, fear not! The beach was in sight and a simple 2 minute walk. There are only 2 towel stands to get your beach/pool towels and we happened to be around the corner from one...perfect location yet again. And possibly the best part...the Steakhouse/Seafood restaurant was directly across the pool from our room...glorious! The food was excellent! We enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning - the staff was kind and courteous, the food was declicious with so many options and the coffee boys were great! The lunch at the beach restaurant was delicious also - you definitely can't go hungry here! We ate dinner at the seafood restaurant, steak house, hibachi and the french restaurant - The Hibachi was well worth making the reservation for - they were so much fun! The French restaurant (Le Cuisine) was recommended by another couple and we were so happy they made the recommendation! Pack pants gentlemen! That's the only restaurant with a dress code and it is well worth packing them in the suitcase - the food was amazing! The steak was divine as was everything else :) The staff is quite possibly the hardest working staff I have ever seen. They see you at breakfast with a smile and then again you see them at a dinner wearing another hat, and still with a smile. Jose Luis & Pablo at the Seafood Restaurant were the best! They made us feel comfortable and made sure we were happy every night - They never forgot us, even if we saw them at lunch or out walking around. Our favorite part was the pool bar - the bartenders became our friends - It wasn't hard to do since they were genuine, nice and serving us delicious cold drinks every day - Nolberto and all of his fellow bartenders are a big part of why we will be back next year! The Animation Team was another reason we had so much fun on our trip! Daily they were at the pool early talking to everyone, getting the games and activities set up for the day and showing off their dance moves...excellente!! They provided entertainment during the day and then again at night - they too, were hard working and still showed us fun and their big smiles! We had an amazing trip and can't wait to go back!! Don't worry if it rains...it lasts 5 minutes and the sun is back and shining the rest of the day! Just a few tips...your American dollars work well there - there's no need to exchange money - Although it's all-inclusive, feel free to throw a few dollars down at each meal - we tipped a few dollars at breakfast and lunch and a bit more at dinner - depending on the service (which again, was phenomenal!) They truly appreciate it and it's well worth your money :) Pack a beach towel in case you're not as lucky to have a towel station close to you. We went on 2 excursions while there - the Reef Explorer (a half day spa trip) which, for the price, we would not recommend. It wasn't as good as we thought it could be. The Super Truck Compay Safari Tour is a MUST! It is a full day tour on an open-air truck with stops at a local school, a church, sugar cane fields, a home where they make fresh cocoa, sugar cane and mamajuanna (delicious!) and also a ranch where you get a delicious true Dominican meal, watch cigars being made and get to go horse back riding - The trip ends on a beach that is so blue and beautiful - It was awesome!! We hope this has helped you and maybe we'll see you there next year!


240 of 245 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Queens, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 25, 2014
Solid Bang For Your Buck

Ok, I am in my mid 40's. I travelled with my two children -in their early 20's, and my parents-in their 70's. We were there for 8 days thanks to an amazing deal from Cheap Caribbean. We are all reasonably healthy and walking is not an issue for us. First, the hotel was lovely. At the most-- it only took about 5-7 minutes to get anywhere...from the beach to the pool to the dining areas. The food was not cruise worthy, however, it was tasty, varied, and plentiful. The rooms were clean and very nice. We had the junior suites, the least expensive type room. My only issue with the room was that there was no privacy for the bathroom area at all. The doors to the tiny water closet and the shower stall were frosted glass and did not reach the floor nor ceiling...there was no place to change privately or go the bathroom. However, we just stepped out or looked away, and it was absolutely do-able. I think this was more to do with air conditioning flow than design. The pool and beach area's were fantastic! Entertainment was just so so...night life wasn't great but wasn't awful. We are pool and beach people so after dinner, we listened to the band at the plaza, watched the show in the theater, and then my adult children went to the club and I went to bed. We were all happy. Now, we asked, and the table water and ice cubes were absolutely fine to drink, and we all did. We used bottled water to brush our teeth, rinse our toothbrush, and rinse our mouths...We brought double walled large cups for beverages (highly suggest this) and we rinsed them out nightly with bottled water. Keep your mouth shut tight in the shower....really. We all ate about the same things. Everyone except me did have stomach issues at one point or another. The only thing we could figure I did differently was I ate a container of the local 'Yogurt with Cereal' with my breakfast every morning. I ate cooked fish, pineapple, cantaloupe, goat, just like everyone else...so I don't know... Tips: -Use their beach towels, they are worn, but you can exchange them as often as you like for a dry ones. -Bring a double walled plastic cup, the bartenders are happy to fill these with what ever you like-less work for them, otherwise you'll go through a ton of tiny plastic cups...plus you'll spend a little less in tips if you decide to tip. -Bring 1 and 5 dollar bills and use them. While tipping is not required, doing so will get you extra good service and not one of us had a complaint. Give your house keeper a tip each morning (I gave her $5/day). We had plenty of towels and our cleaning needs were all met. You really do need to tip daily, do not wait until the end, otherwise you won't see the benefit of the tip...There is a separate person who fills up your mini-bar...leave them a dollar or two literally in the fridge-my parents did that and each day got 4 beers instead of two, and refills of the chocolate bars we all enjoyed on day one. (I didn't do that and only got 2 beers and no additional chocolate each day) -We gave our pool & beach servers, bartenders, and wait staff in both the buffet and restaurants a $1 to $5 each time, and we had great service all around. I ended up spending under $100 for me and my two adult children for all of these tips combined over the 8 days....I don't think that is bad at all! -BRING YOUR OWN SUNSCREEN AND LOTS OF IT!!! I ran out and had to purchase some-one bottle of the squirt-on cream kind, spf 50, was $33...and I got a deal...the spray bottle kind was $45....I bought the cream and it lasted a lot longer. It is what it is...it's worth bringing your own, but frankly, it is worth buying it there if you need it as the sun is really strong...fyi-there is plenty of shade all over if you want it. -while I'm sure the more expensive rooms are also great, we spent very little time in our rooms-to change our clothes and sleep...so I'm not sure the added expense would actually be worth it-at least not for us. -Do bring some kind of anti-diahrrea medicine, and what ever else you generally might need because these items are very expensive if you need to buy them. ***When you get off the plane in the Punta Cana Airport, be aware that there is a $10/per person fee. Don't know why, but I was warned to bring exact change for the people in my party...I did and had no problems. We were not charged the $10 fee for the return home trip. At the end of our 8 day trip, all spent at the resort, each and everyone of us said we loved it and want to return next year -if not sooner! Just remember it is not a fancy cruise...the rooms are clean and very nice. Keep the sink and shower water away from your insides, a dollar means a lot to these people so do show your appreciation and they will give you extra good service. Bring a double walled plastic cup. The food, although not cruise worthy, is tasty, varied, and plentiful. We all agreed that this resort gives a big bang for your buck!


72 of 74 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Central Massachusetts
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 12, 2014
Just Booked it again for 2015!

I took my two adult children on a one week trip to the Majestic Colonial. We all thought it was a great value for your dollar and have decided to return in 2015. Here is what you should know: we stayed in the standard junior suite with jacuzzi...the bathroom is open to the bed area. The toilet is literally in a small stall similar to public restrooms, the short door is frosted glass. The shower area is much larger but also separated by frosted glass. The jacuzzi is as in the picture, open in front of the beds. I believe this is to air condition the whole space. We made due by having people sit on the balcony while people changed. We did not use the jacuzzi. It was fine. Just know there is no privacy with in the room. Everything here is included, including gratuity. However, let me just say that I found a few dollars goes a long way. We found that if we left a buck with our server/wait staff, our service was exceptional. A buck or two with the bartender and we rarely waited for our beverage. We left $5 each morning for the cleaning staff and everything was just perfect. A buck or two in the fridge (yes, it was a different person stocking the fridge each day) and our requests were always met. (Don't wait until the end as you will miss out on the exceptional service) Please keep in mind I spent under $100 on all gratuities for an 8 day drip with 3 adults, and the difference in service was extraordinary...well worth it! I brought beach towels, and never used them...we just used theirs..you can exchange them when they get wet so we always had dry towels! We really didn't care that they were a bit worn...they did what we needed them to do..dry us I did bring large insulated cups and those worked out great! Fewer trips to the bar, ...The staff is very happy to use them. Just remember to rinse them each night with bottled water only. (not tap water!) When showering, remember to keep your mouth shut and not allow water in! Very important! Suck on a mint or something if your or your child has trouble with it. The nightly entertainment was ok. My kids loved the club at night. The beach and pool areas are awesome! Bring a hat!!! and sunglasses! AND TONS OF SUNSCREEN! I ran out of sunscreen and paid $30 for a bottle I paid $8 for at home....bring it! The sun will burn you there.. I don't care if you don't get burned at home...if I had a nickel for every person that said, 'I don't get it! I never burn at home!' I probably would have had enough to stay another week! Finally, there is a Cheap Caribbean Rep located in the hotel lobby. We found him to be very helpful when we had questions and what not. I did attend the little seminar thing...some of the info was indeed helpful, but mostly, if you are interested in going off property ...excursion or on your own, he is a great resource. This is a solid bang for your buck! It's not luxury at it's finest, but it is luxury and it is a great vacation.


48 of 49 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts, USA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 3, 2013
Great Resort!!

My wife and I had a great time at this resort for our honeymoon. It looked exactly like it did in the pictures. The service from beginning to end was excellent. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It seemed that everyone time you passed by a staff member, from management to housekeeping, you were greeted with a smile and an "hola". The Colonial Club was very nice and provided some extra perks we really enjoyed. Being on our honeymoon we enjoyed being on the adults-only side of the resort. It had the private pools with the swim-up bars that were never overcrowded (except you had to be down there early to snag a bali bed). It also provided a private area on the beach. The Colonial Club house was very nice. It had the free wifi access, and refreshments and snacks. The private check in was a nice perk and they really made you feel welcome. Our butler, "Tiger Woods", was great. We didn't have to use him much, but was very helpful when needed, and if we needed anything I know he would have taken care of it. He really makes sure your needs are met and are having a great time. My only critisism, albiet minor, was the food was hit or miss, but ultimitely there are plenty of options and you can always find something good to eat. Overall I feel this resort really delivered on what was advertised and we had a great time. I would definitely recommend this resort and would go back again!


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Louisiana
Age: 25-34

May 30, 2013
Majestic Colonial Great Place

I was there from May 20 to May 25 2013. First of all the place is beautiful and a lot of fun. Even though there are some areas that need minor repairs, the place overall was in great shape. The staff for the most part are very friendly and bring some great energy to the resort. The pool and the beach are some of the best I have ever seen. The pool is big and plenty of areas to find alone time. If you are looking for fun everyday at 3:30 there is a party at the pool bar. The beach is fantastic, and seems to go on forever. I thought the rooms were great and very spacious. I had a corner fourth floor room that had a balcony and a patio area with a big jetted tub. Which we could not use because the stopper would not hold water. Very private!!! I thought the food was very good for a All Inclusive. If you want gourmet, this is not the place. But overall I was very happy with all of the places to eat. There were a few issues. Check in was slow and took over an hour to get our bags. The front desk was not overall friendly, and I dealt with them quite a few times. Check in they did very little to welcome and give us any info about the place. WIFI is a joke, and was a waste of time on my IPAD. I could barely get messages and was not able to send much out. Plus I had to wait so long just for them to give me the receipt with the codes on it. The Pool Bar 2 bartenders are the worst and rudest I have been around. They were not friendly and were slow to get you a drink. Especially during the Pool parties. I even tipped them and they still ignored me. Everyone was complaining about them. I thought maid service was very good and they always had the room clean and ready. Ask for more towels, they only give you two. The casino watch out for the dealers. They make a lot of mistakes and it is stacked in their favor. I played blackjack and I caught almost every dealer trying to take my money when they shouldn't. Here is a tip bring your own cup. The cups at the pool and the beach are very small. We did the canopy zip line and it was awesome. Olympus travel people were great at the air port and at the resort. They were terrific. Overall I loved this place and outside of the Pool bar and the front desk the staff was outstanding. I would strongly suggest this place and will go back.


27 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Maryland
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 15, 2013

This was my first Caribbean trip for myself and my new bride. This trip was our honeymoon and we stayed 7 days at the Majestic Colonial Punta Cana.. The staff were very friendly and always helpful. Our room was spacious (Junior Suite with swim out room) and nicely furnished. The resort was very clean. The beach was one of the most beautiful I've ever visited. The only criticism I have is the food with the exception of the Japanese and French restrauants, which were very good. The most meat I ate in the other restrauants was very tough. Pork and steak in particular. I never drank the water and must say it took several days after getting back to the USA for my bowels to get back to normal. Sorry if that was to much info. But you need to know. If you're from the USA don't expect the same quality of meat you are used to as far as the steak, beef in general or even hot dogs. Swim up bar in our area was great as was the other bars. If you like to drink alcohol you won't be disappointed for sure. We took a day trip to sight see in the capital Santo Demingo. The level of poverty we observed traveling to and from the capital was unbeliveable. It is totally unsafe to travel outside the grounds of any resort in this country without a professional guide. I work in law enforcement and I wouldn't even consider it.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Ohio
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 23, 2014
Great Resort

I just returned from a week at Majestic Punta Cana. It was a wonderful resort. The only drawback was the beach had a lot of seaweed, but they worked hard to keep it clear. The food was good, especially the steak house. The buffet had a great selection for every meal. Upgrade to the Colonial Club if you can. It is well worth it. Adults only, very quiet, private pools, etc. The prices in their gift shops arre very high, but there is a large shopping complex just outside the property gate where you can haggle and get much better deals. The one bedroom suite I had was huge and very comfortable. Never had a bit of trouble with the Wifi. The casino is small, with mostly older machines. The grounds and buildings are always immaculate. All in all, a great value for what I paid.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Oregon
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

May 26, 2015
Great resort!

We just returned from a short, 4 night-5 day stay at the Majestic Colonial. Our overall opinion is basically the same as the majority of reviews we read prior to booking our trip.......the resort, itself, was awesome! Beautiful grounds and beaches. Our room was wonderful.....we were upgraded to the club-level lodging, so we can't compare it to the regular level. The staff and customer service was very good. The food was what we expected from the reviews we had read.....the buffets were good, not great. The two restaurants that required reservations,(the Japanese and French), were much better than the buffets.....wish we had gone to those more often! Just a note if this may be your first all-inclusive resort.....pack your own thermal mugs or cups. The beverages provided at the bars are served in small plastic cups......the drinks don't stay cold very long and they're really little. Another note.....bring your own sunscreen! They cost a fortune if you buy them on site. If you plan on doing excursions or activities, purchase them through the resort, not from random people trying to sell things on the beach. During your stay, do not drink the tap water or brush your teeth w/ it. ...only use bottled water. The ice and water from the bars/restaurants is fine. One last suggestion.....take chewable Pepto w/ you.....take them a day prior to leaving and every morning you are there.....just to help w/ the potential "tummy" problems :)


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 45-54

September 5, 2015
NIGHTMARE STAY AWAY THEY ROBBED US

When we checked in at the hotel , Victor asked us if we wanted to upgrade to the Adult resort club. We asked him what was included and he said better food and top shelf drinks, we found out later all the bars and restaurants are available to all guest. Victor asked for cash only $250.00, we told him if we can charge on our credit card , and he said the upgrade is for cash only. He asked us to place the money inside a brochure. Total scam, we researched and the total is $125.00 and we could of used our credit cards. Unfortunately this was not the end of this horrible experience, the 2nd night our room was broken into. They came in by the balcony and they stole 2 cameras, 2 Iphone, purse, all of our cash, and jewelry. I reported the incident they took a few days to let us know that they will credit us 2 of the 5 nights. They also told us this situation has never occurred at the hotel and they know they have honest employees. I later met several people at the pool and they also had the same experience. in addition, there are several incidents such as mine on this website. Extremely disappointed , I work very hard for my things and work even harder for time off. Stay away from this hotel, and if the website lures you in, just make sure to leave nothing of valuable in the room.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: FT LAUDERDALE FL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year