All

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Reviews

Mexico | Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 100 Reviews
Value
 
4.6
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
4.4
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4.6 out of 5
"Thank goodness for frenchfries. Food was awful awful, but the Service was excellent." – Chinita64
101 out of 112 (90%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sian Ka'an private beach Bahia principe beaches Jacuzzi on deck of Penthouse Suite Enjoyed Margarita with our greeting to Bahia principe beaches One of the Beautiful pools! The Jacuzzi SK Beach Sian Ka'an beach

All Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Customer Reviews

1-10 of 100 reviews. Sort by
June 19, 2014
Everything was excellent except the food

Thank goodness for frenchfries. Food was awful awful, but the Service was excellent.

Bahia principe beaches Bahia principe beaches
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Connecticut
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 17, 2014
Rough check-in process, but nice resort

As many have said, the food here is excellent for an all-inclusive. My traveling companions and I are admitted food snobs... but everyone was happy! Pastas and shellfish were not overcooked. There was also a large selection, and plenty of fresh choices. Drinks were watered down, but tasty. Overall, we had a very nice time and would probably go back. Two complaints: 1) Check-in staff. They were just totally incompetent. The guy checking us in seemed to not know anything about the resort. Then we were brought around to rooms (traipsing up and down stairs with our luggage) that were filled with previous guests' garbage and dirty linens, rooms with the wrong number of beds, and even a room that was filled with visible and very smelly black mold. Then the check-in manager blamed us for all the trouble, saying we hadn't specified the number of beds we needed (but of course we had.) It took three hours for us to finally get our two rooms. We were hot and tired from traveling. It was a very bad first impression, and we initially regretted our decision to stay in this hotel. Luckily, the rest of the staff was fantastic -- warm, friendly, and quick to make a joke. 2) The resort is just too huge. There are pools and food that you can easily walk to from Sian Kaan, but every other amenity (beach, most of the restaurants, tennis courts, gym) requires hopping on one of their shuttle buses. (The beach, for example, would be a one-hour walk if you decided to skip the shuttle.)


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York City
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 23, 2014
Relaxing!

My boyfriend and I stayed at Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an last June for a week. It was very relaxing. We stayed in the regular room which was located behind the furthest pool. The room location was great! We were far enough from the noise of the reception area and it was a nice walk after eating. The food was wonderful. We ate mostly at the buffet and enjoyed every meal there. Two nights we ate at the Japanese Restaurant and both meals were spectacular. We had no issues with waiting for the shuttle to take us to the beach or other resorts. It was nice to see the other resorts and all that they had to offer but at the end of the day we enjoyed being able to go back across the highway to our secluded "adults only" resort. Overall it was the most relaxing vacation we have been on and if given the opportunity to go to Mexico again I wouldn't hesitate to stay here! Thank you Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Connecticut
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 22, 2014

Excellent and classy, the other resorts on the complex were complete chaos full of screaming kids and at least twice as many people than necessary (similar to being in a Wal Mart). Sian Kaan was quiet and full of quality people. The only advice we have is never accept any meetings with anyone (whether hotel employee or outside excursion) and unplug your room phone as soon as you walk in. The hotel is NOT giving away free trips while they are selling time shares :(


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Bay City, MI
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 15, 2014
Excellent staff!

Not only is this resort beautiful, the staff are amazing! All 4 of the bahia principe resorts had friendly staff but the sian ka'an took customer service to the next level. The resort does not sit on the beach but with the shuttle service that is constantly providing transportation to the beach and other resorts, it was not a problem for us. The food and rooms were the highest quality at sian ka'an compared to the other 3 resorts. Pools are beautiful and drinks are never watered down. Great resort in all!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Illinois
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 27, 2014
Anniversary Trip

we were very upset about our room accomdations - the room was not ready when we were told - we walked into a dirty room the extra money we spent to have a suite that included a hot tub was a waste of money - we would like to talk to someone about receiving a refund the hot tub took over an hour to fill we called to the front desk adn they said they would fix - but they did not compete waste of money


0 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh P
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 4, 2014
great trip

the resort is very clean and very well groomed. the staff was great! if you need anything "Erica" is the person to go to she is very helpful! the food was fabulous!! our resort had the top of the line a la cart restaurants .the golf course was nice. very difficult, I recommend the executive par three for enjoyable round and to leave more time for fun in the sun!!! the bars were all great with premium liquors, I suggest the mango tango!!! highly recommend this resort!!!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: canada
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 25, 2014
Amazing vacation

I have been in Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an for 4 full days. There are total 4 hotels that combined into one big resort, and one of them is Sian Ka'an where I stayed. The hotel was very clean and nicely located. But its very far from the airport; by the shuttle I purchase it is about 1.5 hours from the airport. (But keep it in mind - its worth it). Food was very good. There are 2 good restaurants to make reservations in and one buffet. I felt like the only buffet was enough :)) Rooms are very big, but no music. Even no docking station to listen to my iPhone. One huge plus - jacuzzi. Beech was very good too! Overall - I want to come back!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Washington DC
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 2, 2014
Overpriced and Underperformed

This was not your typical Mexican hospitality. I was very disappointed. I have been to Mexico several times and have not had such a bad experience. I think the people at Sian Ka'an were not very helpful or friendly. The service was bad. We made reservations for dinner and they didn't schedule it. No apologies. We asked simple questions about towels and were treated badly. There was a complete lack of communication and total indifference to whether we were satisfied. The hot water heater went out on Saturday night and we were forced to take cold showers Saturday night, Sunday morning and Sunday night. No explanations. No apologies. The food was average. There was not enough chairs for the beach. I will not return to this hotel. On the other hand, when we visited the other Bahia Principe properties, it was a much different experience. For instance, the people at Bahia Coba were fabulous. I think the people at Sian Ka'an need to learn some lessons at the other Bahia locations.


2 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: St. Louis, MO
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 24, 2013
Perfection

I stayed here with 3 friends from Dec. 15 to Dec. 22, 2013, and it beat my expectations even after reading all the great reviews! The staff was SUPER friendly, helpful, and genuine. They always tried their best to accommodate our requests and were very happy of doing so. I have never experienced such perfect service! I could keep on writing forever about how perfect everything was, but instead will give a few tips: - Book the A la Carte restaurants at Sian Ka'an only! Do not try the ones at the neighboring sites as they are not of same quality. I also recommend booking before you even depart, just send them an email and they will reserve the restaurants for you. And their red wine is very very good (like everything else). - Tip. The service was so good that we felt bad if we didn't tip, especially at the restaurants. I know some people think that it's all-inclusive and therefore they shouldn't tip, but bring along some cash because you will change your mind. We usually tipped the room maid, room service (late at night), anyone who went out of their way, restaurant waiters, beach waitress, and taxi driver. And tip as much as you feel is necessary, they wont judge. - Get up early. We always set our alarms for 6:30am, but woke up before it went off because we were so excited, and maybe because the mattress wasn't that comfortable. The breakfast buffet opens at 7:00am, and we would be at the Sian Ka'an beach area by 7:45am. - Pack more clothing. Laundry can get expensive, especially if your luggage gets lost and you might have to share some clothes with friends or buy them. - Try some excursion, they are worth the money. We went on the Coba Maya Encounter excursion and really enjoyed it. Our tour guide was Sebastian and he made sure we had a great time. The only negative I can think of was the free wifi at Sian Ka'an. We liked to used it only for viber and to skype with relatives back home, but it was next to impossible to connect. I think they should provide good quality free wifi, as it is expected from a 5 star resort. And don't even think of calling Canada from the room phone as the first minute costs $41 CDN, and $4 CDN for the next minutes! Overall, we had an amazing trip mostly thanks to the exemplary service at Sian Ka'an. Will definitely go back!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Toronto, ON
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year