All

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Reviews

Mexico | Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 109 Reviews
Value
 
4.6
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
4.4
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4.6 out of 5
"4th time there and all was good. Jesus, Daniel, Laydi, and Alejandro were great. 1st time there was no bacon for breakfast."
109 out of 121 (90%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sian Ka'an beach The Jacuzzi One of the Beautiful pools! Enjoyed Margarita with our greeting to Sian Ka'an private beach Bahia principe beaches Jacuzzi on deck of Penthouse Suite SK Beach Bahia principe beaches

All Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Customer Reviews

1-10 of 109 reviews. Sort by
January 15, 2012
Best Vacation Ever!

This resort is the most beautiful thing we've ever experienced! Fairly new when we went in January 2012, the service was impeccable. The buffets featured bite sized gourmet morsels of everything you've ever dreamed of, as well as things you've never heard of. There was a vast array of fresh options....fresh squeezed and blended fruit juices(papaya, pineapple, melon). Fresh baked foccaccia breads with flavored oils. Pasta stations, omelettes for breakfast, the freshest fish, sushi. Believe it or not, cappuccino that was outstanding. That is just the buffet at sian ka'an, the other resorts were good also but we were biased to our resort. There are also many restaurants that are a la carte. We found them to be very good, stunning decor and again, impeccable service. We were very surprised that we found ourselves gravitating towards the buffets. Not for the reason everyone would assume, lots of food to engorge yourself on, but because the food was made to order and so, so, so fresh and delicious. Also, Sian Ka'an has a few areas that are 24/7. One of them is the Cenote snack bar at one of the pools. Unbelievable! Gazpacho with fresh veggie fixins. Desserts, ice cream, salad bar, hamburgers right off the grill and hot dogs, surprisingly good pizza. Chicken wings, roast chicken and bbq ribs, oh yeah...Really good authentic mexican food. They make the masa and the empanadas right in front of you! Now, to be very clear, because I do believe there was obvious communication barrier and misconceptions.....when you stay at sian ka'an you have access unlimited to bahia tulum, bahia akumal and bahia coba, but they have no acces to your resort. Thus was nice for the peace and quiet at the end of the day. Also, you need to make reservations at the a la carte restaurants with the information people at the front desk and they stop taking reservations at 4;00 pm NO EXCEPTIONS! so make your reservations as soon aas you get there to be assured of getting what you want. We stayed in the penthouse suite with rooftop jacuzzi and it was amazing! We did notice that ALL your penthouse neighbors can see you so either learn to live with it or curtail your activities. We would sneak up when we saw that no one else was out there and we hung towels between us and our neighbor(because we noticed them sitting in the dark watching us one night...eeew), but for the most part, it didnt bother us. We found out later in our stay that our room was lacking an "information booklet" so we found a lot out on our own. Sian ka'an has its own area on the beach that they take you to. So you just need to take the golf cart labeled "la playa" and you will be escorted to your own paradise. private beach bar with a waitress that comes to every lounge chair to take drink orders. It is also located just a few steps(literally) from Delphinus where you can swim with(for a fee) and observe the dolphins(free). Delphinus is technically housed in bahia tulum so you can do some exxploring of that resort while you are enjoying your own private beach area...or if you're up for the hustle and bustle you can go to the beach that's attached to bahia tulum or bahia akumal. Both resorts also have lovely pool and activity areas. Bahia Coba does not sit directly on the beach but has a great night life vibe. Seriously.....the only CON......lots and lots of cigarette smoke! My husband and I are NOT smokers and certainly not used to being so inundated with it at every turn. You can not smoke in any of the restaurants but EVERYWHERE else is fair game.....on your patio, at the pool, riding in the golf carts to transport you between resorts, in the lobby, at the beach. Also, for die hard Dunkin Donuts coffee drinkers, there was not a cup of coffee to compare to that. I was great with the cappuccino, but my husband was jonesing for DD. This was really the best vacation we both have ever had. We left the kids home and were set on relaxing and the staff at Sian Ka'an definitely accomodated that.


36 of 36 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Hartford, CT
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 17, 2012
Perfect Vacation

Hubby and I just got back from celebrating our 12th anniversary at Sian Ka'an and honestly, it was better than our honey moon in Cozumel in 2000! This place is near perfect and any small changes we might have made were slight in comparison to all the things they did right. The only annoyance was having NO dresser in the room, which means that non-hanging items stayed in the suitcase. I don’t like feeling that I’m living out of a suitcase, and this property is too nice for that. But…let’s move on to the good stuff. The food was wonderful; we dined at Maiko and Alux (at Sian Ka’an). Other nights were spent at restaurants on the other properties: Mikado, Gran Tortuga and Don Pablo. The other two nights were at the Sian Ka’an buffet. Gran Tortuga was a disappointment but all other meals were excellent. The best part about this place is the people. The members of the Animation Team became fast friends and we looked forward to spending time with them every day. It’s because of them that we only left the property one time, because all the fun was right there! Oscar, Claudia, Luis, Brisa, Jocelyn and Angel…we miss you! The bartenders, servers, public relations people (Vanessa) and our reps through Olympus Tours (Brenda and Alex) were always helpful and extremely friendly as well. I should also mention that Denise (through CheapCaribbean) was great in helping me to book this - we would have never found this gem without her. When you stay at Sian Ka’an, you have access to the three other resorts (Tulum, Coba and Akumal) but I liked our property the best. I loved the private beach and all the beach games that the animation team organized. There was always something to do, but it was just as easy to spend hours at the beach reading a book. Each property has their own area of expertise (families, nightlife, etc.) and Sian Ka’an is there for upscale relaxation. It got pretty quiet after sundown but for those who want to go to a party or a show will easily find those things just a quick shuttle ride away. That being said, this place was a LOT of fun. We woke up every morning, meandered to the buffet, met a bunch of new friends and let the day happen to us, rather than planning out our day in advance. This was the perfect trip and I hope no one reads this so that it will always be our little secret. Don’t go! :-)


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 25, 2012
great experience

I recently stayed at the Sian Ka'an Grand Bahia Principe resort. It was a beautiful resort. We were getting slightly concerned driving down from cancun because the shuttle was stopping at some really unappealing resorts, but then we got to the Sian Ka'an and it was beautiful. the Grand Bahia Principe has 4 sub-resorts, and the Sian Ka'an was across the highway from the beach, set apart from the other 3 sub-resorts. The other 3 were nice, but i did think the Sian Ka'an was the best. We found out it had just stopped construction in December, 2011, so it really was brand new. The grounds were really lush, the landscaping was beautiful. And the indifidual building units were much nicer from the outside than the other 3 sub-resorts. To get to the beach (because we were across the highway from the rest of the resort and beach) we took a quick 2 minute trolley ride over the resort's private bridge over the highway and got dropped off to the Sian Ka'an's private beach area. The wait staff everywhere (lobby bar, beach bar, pool bar, dinner restaurants, buffets) were very attentive and would ask you quickly if you'd like anything and return quickly with your request. I think the only downside (and not that it was even that bad) were the buffets. we would eat at a buffet for breakfast and lunch. The breakfast buffet was GREAT!, but the lunch buffet was ok (but again, that's not even that bad of a complaint!). Dinner's were amazing. There's about 12 gourmet restaurants all over the resort. We had to schedule our dining the first night because reservations would fill up quick. They have everything from classic mexican to a japanese steakhouse to french/mediterranean/italian. Overall, i would definitely stay at a Grand Bahia Principe resort again. it was a wonderful experience and we'd recommend this resort to anyone. Oh, and we used Olympus Tours via Cheap Carribean to get to the resort from the airport and it worked perfectly, driving down, and back again.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: USA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 8, 2012
Xmas in Akumal

Overall not bad. Newer of the four properties but lacking some touches. Housekeeping is a little scattered at times. Stayed 6 nights and the room mini bar (all inclusive) was only replenished twice. Calling only resulted in the famously overused phrase "we will send someone right over" but no one ever came. After a while, I just gave up. The rooms were nice, but the all concrete structure echoed every footstep made by any guest in the building. The mattress was the stiffest I had ever seen. The pillows were at least a foot thick without any give. Stayed in a jr penthouse suite with a jacuzzi on the upstair patio. Had to fill the tub myslef which took over 30 minutes due to the low flow of the faucet, only to find out that the jacuzzi did not work. The electrical outlet was tripped and would not re-set. The property grounds were well maintained. The pools were nice as well. The shuttles to the beach and the other properties were excellent. Spent most of our time at the other properties across the road since our location was limited on entertainment. I was surprised at the number of children staying there. I would not recommend for couples seeking a quite vacation. Too many strollers and children screaming at the pool. I would give this property a 3 star rating at best.


25 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Atlanta
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 26, 2012
gran bahia sian ka'an

2nd time at this resort (and not the last time) with the same results: extremely satisfied. Of the 4 Bahia resorts, this is the quietest, has great rooms/suites and offers the best buffet and gourmet restaurants (Alux and Maiko), while allowing full access to the other 3. The resort is on the other side of the highway (not by the beach) but we never had to wait more than 5 minutes to get the shuttles/trams, which run continuously to the other three resorts, including the Sian Ka'an's private beach which is wright by the Tulum Delphinarium (where you can watch free shows) and La Tortuga restaurant where we had our lunch most of the days. My favorite drink on the beach was Agua de coco con ron served directly from the coconut. Everybody is doing their best to satisfy their guests, the front desk, hospitality desk, house keeping, and of course bar tenders and waiting staff.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: West Chester, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 25, 2012
Land Cruiser

This is a good vacation resort for those who enjoy cruises and all inclusive land vacations. As is expected in these circumstances, there is very little interaction with the local community and culture. The price is very affordable and the resort is comfortable. The pools were beautiful and the dining options were excellent. The beach is located at a sister complex and available via a shuttle service. While we enjoyed our stay, I feel the purpose of these reviews is to give the resort honest feedback on possible improvement areas. Here aer my suggestions: 1. Our room was not available when we arrived or at the applicable check in time. We spent about 4 hours in the lobby waiting for our room when we could otherwise have enjoyed the resort features. The reason is the front desk kept telling us our room would be available in "15 minutes". We understand problems occurred preventing them from living up to this commitment. Nevertheless, the explanation that American minutes and Mexican minutes differ wears very thin under the circumstances. Consider providing an air conditioned hospitality room for all travelers in limbo allowing them to change into resort wear and start enjoying their vacation as an alternative. 2. Security personnel patrol the perimeter of the resort all night long. We were not aware of this and our first night was very scary as flashlights from the patrol appeared from the woods while we were out on the patio and caught us in their beams. We were honestly relieved to learn it was security the next day and got used to the flash lights and walkie talkies all night long. Consider alerting guests in advance. 3. All room service requests are politely answered and you are told "will be there in 15 minutes". It took repeated calls over several days to get a simple request fulfilled. It is meaningless to give someone a time frame that you have no plans of living up to...nor that you ever check to see if it is fulfilled. Adopt a follow up call process to confirm requests are answered. 4. Invest in some luggage stands for the rooms. The luggage is too big for the closets, there are no drawers, so you "live out of your suitcase on the floor". Luggage racks are inexpensive and would significantly improve day to day life and use of the living quarters. 5. Our experience with the tours available from Olympus were mediocre at best. Your vacation packet includes a recommendation to use them as reliable and essentially not a rip off. If they are an independent company, consider getting some candid comments (not the forms you fill out in their presence with your name on them). I checked I would recommend this resort to a friend, but only with certain caveats. One caveat will most definately be to avoid Olympus entirely. You are linking your reputation to their performance, not so sure this is good for your future business or the quality operations you are striving to achieve as a differentiating feature. 6. I don't golf but I do use spa services. The complaints on the resort shuttles were consistent on the unexpected golf cart fees. I elected not to use the spa services after reviewing the fee schedule. As this was one of the reasons I selected the resort, it will also be one of my caveats when asked for a recommendation. Not sure whether you offer golf or spa packages, but I would have much preferred knowing this situation in advance and electing an alternative matched to my activity choices...at a reasonable add on fee. Well, there you have it. I've tried to be constructive and want to end with a compliment. The staff in the dining, pool, cleaning, transportation, and grounds areas are excellent. They represent the resort well and take pride in their jobs. Kudos to them and to those involved in hiring and training.


22 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Planet Earth
Age: 45-54

March 15, 2012
5 Star All the Way

Great resort. Great attention to detail. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Grounds maintained very well. Extremely clean. Beds were so comfortable. Premium brand booze. Food was outstanding!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: London, Ontario Canada
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 1, 2014
Still an amazing experience

My girlfriend and I returned to Sian Kaan July 3-15. We had been there before and knew what to expect but the service and attention to detail still managed to amaze us. Gracy and Claudia were able to fulfill our anniversary and birthday celebrations requests, as well as giving us the perfect room and location. Both of them talked to us at various times during our stay, making sure everything was satisfactory; which it was. Both women are a true asset to the Sian Kaan organization. Our room was in villa 8, which was near the Alux pool but not too near the lobby and Cenote snack bar. Senor Eddy did a great job of keeping our room in top shape, entertaining us with his amazing towel art, incorporating colorful flowers into the designs. The buffet was as great as last year, with Aurora continuing to make the best omelets. She will put anything you want as a filler, so make sure you check out the full buffet for items you want for your omelet. (The Iberian Choriso and Dutch cheese are excellent). We found a great waiter, Manuel and his team Jose and Miriam; who took great care of us at breakfast and lunch. We had several different waitstaff for dinner including Eglady, Luis among others. I wish I could remember all their names. My only complaints about the buffet are minor; The spoons do not fit in some of the desserts, Gala night was not as elaborate as I remember (though it was great food.) and some different dressings for the salads would be appreciated. The crew working the Cenote Snack Bar are wonderful and the food and drinks are great. We enjoyed relaxing on the terrace for drinks before and after dinner. We were well taken care of by a waitress named Citlali (I hope I spelled her name right.) who makes a mean Mayan Coffee and went out of her way to make my girlfriend's birthday more special by bringing her her a special dessert with happy birthday and her name written in Spanish, using chocolate. A very nice touch. The entertainment held in the lobby area in the evening was a little cheesy at time but overall very good. Taking the trolley to the beautiful private beach was never an issue and if you got there before 10 you could usually find a shady palapa. The beach waitress Rosa was very quick to bring us a tray containing iced tea, 2 hand towels, a cup of nuts, a chilled mister to cool off if needed and the flag, which you put up to get service, though we were always asked if we needed anything before we had a chance to put the flag up. I must admit that there were some issues with the trolleys in the evening, particularly later at night. It was very easy getting to the other resorts and the Hacienda shopping ares but getting back was more difficult at times. An example of this was we were at Coba, checking out the new casino, which was small but fun and trying to get back to Sian Kaan, there were 4 trolleys in a row going to Akumal and another time at Akumal 3 trolleys in a row were going to Tulum. Go figure. On the other hand, we had a dinner reservation at Le Gourmet and we were the only people on the trolley, so the driver took us right to the door of the restaurant. We took full advantage of booking the ala carte' restaurants, going to 5 of them Oasis was a disappointment, as it was self service for you salads and desserts and the we noticed the main courses were all on the buffet! The Don Pablo, Arlequin and Le Gourmet were all excellent waitstaff, wonderful food with beautiful presentation and nice atmosphere. We celebrated our anniversary at Alux with 2 friends who came to join us. Our table was decorated with rose petals and the beautiful presentation of the delicious food and wonderful waitstaff making the evening an occasion to remember. We celebrated my girlfriend's birthday at Miako which was a great experience with art like excellent food and attentive waitstaff. The staff at Sian Kaan is what makes this place truly special and a great value. We are already planning our return for next year.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Charlottesville, Va.
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 24, 2012
Loved it!!!

This was my second visit to the Mayan Riviera and my second visit to the Bahia Principe Resorts. The first time I stayed at the Coba and after reading many reviews on trip advisor, I was hesitant to stay at any other resorts, I didn't want to be disappointed after the Coba. The jacuzzi suites are larger ones with a table & chairs in them, they have a real pull out sofa and a sliding partition that closes off the bedroom. There is one bathroom with a door to the bedroom and a door to the main room. These are ideal for more than two people in a room. The sofa beds in the regular suites are the kind that flip out, they are low to the floor and are definitely not as comfortable as the sofa beds in the jacuzzi suites. The landscaping is very immature right now, so the majority of the suites look toward the patios of each other. Once the shrubs and plants have time to mature it will be great, but right now there is not much privacy. That being said not many people were hanging around their patios. If you wait to upgrade at the hotel they charge you $20.00 per night per person for the garden view jacuzzi room, I am not sure about the penthouse. If you are planning on an upgrade do it before you go, there are not very many of the jacuzzi suites so they do not sit empty often. There was a waiting list when we were there for people wanting to upgrade. I have heard others rave about the king beds in this resort, but I have to say if you do not like a hard bed you most likely will not like these ones. I finally asked them if they could bring me a foam topper or something to soften it up. They brought me one that I guess was meant for a queen so didn't quite reach the top or bottom of the bed but it did the trick. I do agree with the last poster.....it would have been nice if there was a hot tub at this resort for the people who don't have a jacuzzi on their patio. It rained one of the days we were there and a hot tub would have been great! The customer service at this resort is above and beyond, Claudia is exceptional! It is definitely the quietest of the four resorts, but they are only a tram ride away. The buffet was great! No long line ups for the specially cooked items, always fresh, no complaints, we tried the other buffets but they did not compare. We actually preferred the buffet to the a la cartes. I would recommend this resort to anyone! The only reason I rated this resort 4 stars is because I know it will improve with age and I need to leave room to rate it a 5 next time!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Hope, BC
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 7, 2012
A great 5 days in paradise!

My husband and I had 5 lazy days at the Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an. The resort is quite new and modern, and we had a lot of fun with the flexibility of using the sister resorts. The grounds are lovely, and the foliage and trees abundant. The downside is that because the resort is far from the beach, there is less breeze and more insects. The resort sprays nightly for mosquitoes, but even with spray on I ended up with lots of bites. I think I will stay on the beach next time - and what a beach it is! As explained, the Sian Kaan has its own area of beautiful beach. The water was warm and turquoise. We went to the beach on the tram every day - that was a bit of an inconvenience, but well worth it for what was at the end of the trip! We dined at many of the options of all the resorts - just made reservations for the a la carte places, which was easy. We especially enjoyed the Mediterraneo restaurant at the Bahia Principe Coba resort. We also ate atTequilas at Tulum resort and Fuitto del Mar at Akumal resort, which was our least favorite. We enjoyed the lovely Japanese restaurant at Sian Kaan. The buffet there is extremely good - lots of variety and everything pretty to look at. Our room was just so so. Third floor, with a balcony that we never went on because there was no view. There was some noise that I think was construction noise that started as early as 5 am...woke me up. The room had no dresser and surprisingly, no shelf in the closet, so storage of clothing was a problem. The small chairs and table in the slightly separated "living room" were not comfortable. The bed was hard, but ok - not luxurious, though. We went to the driving range which is a great deal - even with renting clubs. The practice area is great! We also played the par 3 course with rented clubs, and lost MANY balls to the jungle and water. Nevertheless, it was fun! Our transport to and from the airport was fine, although we were not prepared for how long it took to get to Sian Ka-an. next time, I think we will find a good resort on the beach and a little closer to the Cancun airport.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Southeast US
Age: 55-64