All

Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 181 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4.2 out of 5
"Everything shuts down at 7 pm. Restaurants hard to get in to. Buffet was just ok. Pool bar closes too early" – Debbieg
145 out of 191 (76%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Partial ocean view Blood Views from our balcony Great View Restaurant near beach View from my room All white Bday Dinner The sushi Boat Mikado Decorated for our honeymoon jamaican sunset breath taking The view from the beach View From Building 26 floor 6 Beach Handprints One of the many bars our room view omg Too much Fun! Sunset Lovin Beach Beautiful

All Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Customer Reviews

1-10 of 181 reviews. Sort by
January 26, 2017
Restaraunt options are very poor

Although there are many restaurants on site, they require reservations. During our 5 night stay most of them were rarely open. The day of our arrival we went to make reservations for the week and were told that there weren't any available. Not a single reservation for our entire stay. Very disappointing!!!!


16 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Missouri
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 27, 2014
Good ,but could be better

Just home from 5 night stay at Bahia principe Don Pablo, Let me start by saying the staff is GREAT these people are some of the friendliest and most helpful persons that I have met in an all inclusive resort. The food at every meal is excellent.If you can't find something you like you are just hard to please. I have stayed in many all inclusive resorts and this was the best food I have had anywhere. Top shelf booze?..not so much..no grey goose or crown royal to be found anywhere.The wine is mostly Berringers. The beer is Red Stripe and served on tap in a small wearm cup. being DonPablo only gets you some medium quality booze at two places that you hve to seek out. all others it is behind the bar but you have to charge it to your room just like everyone else.The rooms are ok but more 3 or 4 star quality..think vegas casino..the mini bar is lousy and luke warm and you have to ask for more washcloths. If you are not very good on your feet be advised every surface here is Very slippery,wear rubber soled shoes, the tile floors are beautiful but allways wet form humidity,pool water and rain. My friend;s wife took a spill and I heard of several others also. The pools and beach areas are both very nice and very large plenty of places to relax,it was nice to not have to play the 7 am towel game. We really are not late night party people anymore so I can't comment on that other than to say it is available and the walls are kinda thin..,some folks had a real good time.Overall I would say this is a really good place for a family trip or destination wedding,witch there is about 3 a day, because there is something for every age group and different price levels,As for adults only all inclusive there are better options out there.


34 of 38 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Iowa
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 22, 2015
One of the Best Resorts in Runaway Bay Jamaica!!!

My husband and I just stayed here Sept 13 - 20, 2015. This was our second time in Jamaica. When you stay here you MUST pay for the area called the Luxury Don Pablo Collection which gives you exclusive reservations to Member only restaurants, a beautiful luxury suite and an adult only pool, plus amenities such as Robes and slippers for two in the room. Guests who stayed on the other side that is just called Grand Bahia area only have access to a scumy "Spring Break" pool, unlimited Buffet and I heard the rooms were not as nice and clean as the Don Pablo Collection's side. When you arrive, they welcome you with a fresh beverage in the Lobby, check in was not until 3 p.m. and we arrived at 12, but in our section (Don Pablo) we got to enjoy a relaxing Lounge with free wifi and drinks and you may also go eat at restaurants if you choose to. The elevator is terribly slow might as well take the stairs, you could be waiting there 5 minutes for the doors to open just to get up to your room. The scenery is beautiful in our area with marble floors in our suite, king size clean bed and pool view balcony was beautiful. Awesome Jacuzzi bath tub and separate shower stall, water pressure was strong and relaxing! Which I know most people do not mention, but is important! The food at the Buffet which you mostly go to for your meals everyday unless you have a reservation somewhere else for a special night has great food! Every night was a different culture of food such as, Mexican night, Italian etc.. but they also will serve Jamaican food was is delicious! Large Buffet selection with fancy cheese selections, huge array of salad bar options and plenty of entrees. Desserts are just alright! .. One night there was all you can eat Lobster! Coming from USA that is a delicacy for most people. We made reservations one night at the Japanese Hibachi restaurant, which was fun and entertaining.. definitely a must try! The other restaurants we did not try but you wont go hungry, there's 5 or 6 total in the resort, plus room service 24 hours a day! A side of the resort is closed off because they are expanding so rates may be cheaper now, but it wasn't a disturbance as you barely heard the noise. There are a few poolside bars, one swim up bar in the pool and one next to the pool in the (Don Pablo) area, you have to specifically tell them exactly how you like your drinks because they like all places use cheap alcohol and little of it. BUT they have top quality liquors on shelf just make sure to ask for it instead! The resort's beach is small, we did not go to it because it is far walking distance from everything else, that we chose to go straight to the pool every afternoon instead of the beach. The staff is nice, they have waiters for drinks poolside which was nice, gifts shops, jewelry stores. Unless your into wasting half a day sitting through a Time share presentation avoid the sales representatives in the lobby, they caught us on Day 1 there and told us it was a Welcome breakfast they invited us too, instead we ended up being stuck in a 2 hour presentation trying to convince to buy a timeshare, they end up giving you a beach bag with random Jamaica gifts inside and a bottle of rum. If that's your type of thing to do for free stuff Go for it!! I rather spend my vacation the way I choose to. At night after dinner, one thing that was a down fall was the lack of entertainment, you may see a singer or some karaoke up until 10 p.m. but after that its boring. We wished there was more options, but we enjoyed our stay anyway! Overall, I would come back here again if I vacation in Jamaica again!


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Staten Island, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 4, 2016
Great Hotel .. but read on

MANAGEMENT CANNOT BE THIS CLUELESS AND INEPT ...... We took a Girls Only trip here to Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection. We purposely selected very early morning flights so to get to the hotel early in the day. We arrived at the hotel about 3:00 thinking that we'd get checked in have a good part of the day to explore and enjoy the hotel WRONG- WRONG- AND WRONG. We DID NOT GET ASSIGNED OUR HOTEL ROOM UNTIL AFTER 8:00 PM THAT EVENING. In almost all of the reviews that I've read it mentions that the check in process is horrible. I believe that someone in management should look into this process. They make sure that you are checked OUT of the hotel on time, so can't they get you checked in on time. They clearly post that check in is at 3:00 PM. I emailed the hotel 2 weeks in advance asking that we be assigned a room with 2 double beds. This was not an unusual request because the hotel has both rooms with double and king rooms. I cannot understand why it was so difficult for them to assign our rooms. We weren't asking for anything that out of the ordinary. I called again 2 days before our arrival and asked again about room assignment, and even called the morning of our arrival. When we got tot he hotel the clerk said, Ms. Hill I remember talking to you. At that point I assumed we would be assigned our rooms very shortly. Not so, more than FIVE HOURS LATER. I believe the hotel does this purposely. I say this because I cannot believe that 1) something so simple is still a problem. Hotel check ins is what hotels do 2) after all of the reviews nothing has been done. The process of getting dining reservations also needs to be looked at. It is almost impossible to get reservations unless you're there 5-7evenings. During different evenings we walked past different restaurants and the room would be only half filled. Again, I believe this is ploy that the hotel is using to get you to eat at the buffet versus one of the nicer restaurants.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: MD
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

May 25, 2016
Love this resort!

This resort is amazing! Check in was amazing, we were greeting with cool towels and champagne. We arrived about an hour and a half before check in time, so we were escorted to have lunch and by the time we were finished, our rooms were ready and we were escorted quickly by the butlers. The luxury side has amazing service, views and food! Make sure you make your dinner reservations (via the app) on your first night, or you will have to go to guest services to request reservations. The snack bar was a great lunch option for the days you didn't want to leave the pool or beach area. The rooms were great and comfortable. Never had to wait too long for towels or room service (this seems to be hit or miss, but it was all hits for us!) and despite it being May in Jamaica, the hotel was very cool on the luxury side. The beach is obviously man made and shallow, and has sharp rocks so it's wise to wear water shoes to avoid getting hurt, but there are always available chairs by both the beach and pool. In order to get a cabana by the pool, it seems that the strategy is to get up and mark it with a towel between 7 and 8 am and then return at your leisure. You do have to walk a fair distance to shops and nightly entertainment after 11pm, but if you go to the luxury lobby, someone will call a golf cart to take you if you don't want to walk. Setting up tours and excursions was easy as well! We got our 10 person group an excursion to Dunn's River Falls and a local jerk restaurant as well as a trip to a casino in Ocho Rios. There were no pushy salespeople or timeshare pitches made to me or my boyfriend the entire trip, even though I saw them walking around. No one except the shopkeepers were overly pushy/aggressive. The staff was friendly and courteous and the grounds were kept IMMACULATELY. The swim up bar and the lobby bar are the popular hangouts as well as the basketball hoop in the pool. We met a lot of fun people at the resort and can't wait to go back again!


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Athens, GA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 14, 2017
Great Time

My wife and I stayed here from 02/05-02/11/17 on the adults only side (Luxury Bahia), and we had a wonderful time. First of all, the resort is gorgeous, clean and well maintained. The staff was very friendly and attentive throughout our stay. They really aim to please! They have a fun pool, an outside bar with music and barbecue, a quiet pool as well as a private beach. There are different entertainment options every night including live music and dance performances. There are multiple restaurants to choose from in addition to the cafeteria. The food was good and the two excursions we went on were lots of fun. We felt safe and well taken care of every day. Of course, we booked our transportation from the airport to the resort and back prior to getting there, and we went on guided tours. We did not attempt to take a cab and go anywhere on our own. The only negatives are a result of being in a warm, tropical climate: whenever we turned the air conditioner on in our room there was a musty smell and if you left the balcony door open for too long mosquitoes would find their way in. We were, however, able to sleep with just the overhead fan on, and we had brought bug spray with us so we were prepared there. Overall, it was a great vacation and we came back tan and happy!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: CT
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2017
Wanted to come home early...

Just to give you an insight: I am a mid-age, single, female who travels a lot. I go on vacation once a month and this was the worst trip I have ever taken. I went on this trip with my sister and I would NOT recommend this resort to anyone who is going without a spouse. This is not a place for a girls trip, a family trip, or even unfortunately if you are gay. The amount of cat-calling and harassment we faced at this resort was ridiculous and that alone was a turn off for the trip. Forget the nightclub and bars, even on the beach, the lifeguards would only leave us alone if we pretended we were sleeping. We even had a terrible incident where another guest followed us to our bedroom and would not leave. The security laughed at the incident when we told them, and had to handle it on our own. The food and bars were terrible. Food: The resort requires reservations for the restaurants (even though when you go there they are all empty). We tried to make a reservation the first day we came, and there was only 1 spot available and it wasn't even for the restaurant we wanted to dine in. We were forced to eat the terrible buffet for our entire stay. Then we decided to try room service: another terrible experience; the food took 2 hours to come to our room and it was cold. Bars: Frozen drinks are not available at all the bars. Bartenders are fun and willing to serve but don't know how to make the best drinks, although there are a few good bartenders - good luck finding them. Bars close relatively early, so it is not all inclusive all day long. Bars are not very clean but once you get really drunk you won't notice the stench. The pools and beach are decent and they have a good variety of activities going on daily. The only good thing about this resort is that there is a spot for people who want to chill, but also a place for people who want to turn up. The pools are clean, but close early. The beach does have rocky parts, but it is a beautiful view. Water is not deep so it is not swimmable. The rooms are nice, and comfortable. The sheets and pillows do give off a wet smell which eventually you get used to. If you are a person that needs lots of outlets, these rooms will disappoint. There was 1 outlet in the room that was available to use without you having to unplug something else. The WiFi was decent in the rooms for the most part. There were times during our stay where we lost WiFi in the bedroom for about 30 minute chunks. The Cheap Caribbean representatives at this resort were lazy and rude. You can tell they are just there for a paycheck and try to sell you on the excursions so hard because they want that commission. It was terrible to see that because I have never experienced that with Cheap Caribbean before.


16 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 19-24
Travel: 7+ trips/year

April 26, 2016
Lots of frustration and disappointments

Let me start by saying my boyfriend and I chose this resort because we had stayed at their resort in La Romana, Dominican Republic and absolutely loved it. So when we talked about going to Jamaica, we were very excited to see that the same resort was in Jamaica. Upon arriving we understood that heck in time was not until 3pm. So, we went and got something to eat and walk around for an hour and a half. At about 330pm, we went back to the front desk to check if our room was ready and was told it was. We were advised that a Butler will be taking us to our room, which was fine. After waiting 10 minutes, we advised the lady at the front desk that we could go ahead and go to our room; however, she was adamant that A Butler would be taking us. We waited 25 minutes for the Butler to show and when he finally takes us to our room, right as he was getting ready to open the door, housekeeping came over and told him that the room was not ready. At this point we just wanted to get out of our clothes and get on with our vacation. So we hung out on the balcony until they were done getting the room ready. Although, the process to get in our room was not a pleasant one, we went on with our day. Later on that evening, we go to take a shower and saw that there was not a shower curtain or anything. We just had a hand held shower hose. So my boyfriend and I took turns holding the shower head so the other could shower. Water ran out of the bathroom and into the hallway, making it dangerous to walk. We tell front desk and was advised that we were put in a handicap room and in order to change rooms, we needed to speak to management; however, manager was not available and we were told to come back. Needless to say a manager was never available. The first full night there we realized our phone didn't not work and our refrigerator was not keeping out drinks cold, we told the front desk and was advised that it would be fixed. We stayed from April 20th through April 25th, none of these issues were fixed. During our stay we were asked to attend a 90 min presentation, like a time share. We went and we're really thinking about buying a time share with them, but we advised the representative that with all the issues we have had here, we would decline to invest our money with Bahia. The icing on the cake for us was when we went to pay our room balance the night before and was told everything was taken care of. However the next morning when trying to check out, we were told we still owed a balance. We told the lady at the front desk that it was paid a d she basically looked at us as if we were lying. As I told her, a $20 balance is nothing, we had already spent a couple hundred dollars tipping their staff. But it was the principal of it all. We finally spoke to a manager, Andre Smith, who said he spoke to the receptionist and she advised that she made change for us and we never paid.. We ended up paying the balance again, as our shuttle arrived to take us to the airport. My boyfriend and I travel our of the country every 6 months. And we have never experienced such horrible customer service. I would never return the the Bahia Prinipe in Jamaica. We paid extra money for the luxury side and was treated poorly from the time we arrived all the way until the end. I would never recommend this Bahia location. I have included pictures of out room.

Lots of frustration and disappointments Lots of frustration and disappointments
11 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Columbus Ohio
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 14, 2017
Positive and Negatives

I rarely write reviews but I figured I would based on the service received. The moment we arrived the man at the front desk wasn't very optimistic and slightly rude which set the mood for the service there. We ran into many workers who were very rude and would give false infortmation. There were often times where they would promise a service and never come around to it. As for food, some of it was decent so you wouldn't go hungry but it wasn't the best. The highlight of the trip was the gorgeous beach and nice pool area, along with the cute cats that hang around the resort. Would overall rate the resort 3.5.


11 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 23, 2016
Amazing Resort

I would like to start this review by thanking cheap Caribbean for a wonderful service. I surprise my wife with from December 16 through December 20 at the luxury Bahia Principe in Jamaica. This was her 40th birthday gift from me. My wife and I will lead very busy schedules and it's very difficult to get away for close to a week as we have two small children ages almost 9 and six. This was a welcomed get away for us both and a great way to let my wife know how much I appreciate her. In booking a trip it was very important for me to speak to the hotel to my wife's allergies. My wife has a dairy, gluten, not allergies. This makes traveling and eating and difficult. I was placed in touch with their public relations person who was going to have the chef of the resort walk around with Jennifer two different restaurants on the resort showing her what she can and cannot have. As it turns out Jennifer was easily able to navigate her way without a problem. The buffet Jasmine had a wonderful selection as did Picasso and Garden Grille. We had reservations for Mikado but skipped it to have our last dinner at Jasmine. Look for Joseph the waiter, tip him once and he goes out of his way to make you feel at home. The pool the beach are in immaculate condition. The staff is constantly cleaning them. The staff is warm and welcoming always with a smile and a hello. The front staff is absolutely fantastic and arranged excursions for us. Overall it was such an enjoyable vacation that next year we are going to go ahead and book this trip for the two of us again along with our kids and stay there for a week. People that are on AIP diet should feel safe in this resort. This resort was absolutely wonderful I cannot wait to return.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: North Carolina
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year