All

Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 58 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4.3 out of 5
"Had a wonderful time at resort. Our butler Julio was awesome!! Whole place was very clean and well kept." – grandma3
56 out of 69 (81%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
So relaxing! How the server cut our WEDDING cake Get to the beach early for the amazing views! View from pool Sun rise on beach Bavaro Beach My dreadful descent down the aisle Beach immaculate grounds

All Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Customer Reviews

1-10 of 58 reviews. Sort by
August 10, 2011
Overall Enjoyed G.B.P. Esmeralda

We stayed at the Esmeralda in early July 2011 and had a good time with few negative comments. I will try to keep this brief. The grounds are immaculate. Most of the staff is friendly but the expectance of tipping by the wait staff of the restaurants is very unprofessional. Since most of them work almost every day, if you don’t tip you receive very slow service. The food was good. Nothing to write home about but there was always something you could find to eat. The pool is very nice. Some do not like the temperature of the water, which is akin to a warm bath. The beach is average. The resort allows people to “reserve” (with towels, clothing, books, etc.) beach loungers. We saw shaded lounges go unused for hours because someone had put their stuff on them in the middle of the night/very early morning and did not use them. They really need to enforce the no reserving loungers rule they have. Also the amount of seaweed during our stay was at times overwhelming. The resort did a good job every morning of raking the beach but by late afternoon the seaweed returned. There was always seaweed floating on and of course on the bed of the water. Being part of the larger GBP resort has its advantages as well. There are plenty people to socialize with if you like. The shows are on par with what you find at most Caribbean resorts. The drinks are average.

Overall Enjoyed G.B.P. Esmeralda Overall Enjoyed G.B.P. Esmeralda
9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 29, 2013
Best Vacation Ever!

My wife and I just came back from Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda after spending 5 nights in the resort. In June of last year we had stayed at the Ambar section (adults only) of the Gran Bahia Principe complex and we thought that after a great experience there last year nothing would compare. Unfortunately, the resort was at full capacity this time around, so we had to decide between trying a different resort or staying at Esmeralda. We researched for days and after many hours we decided to stay at Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda and we are so glad we did! By booking this resort we had access to all of the hotels in the Gran Bahia Principe complex which gave us an opportunity to try a bit of everything. If we felt like relaxing we headed to the Ambar section for peace and quiet time at the pool and beach while sipping on some amazing drinks. If you are at the Ambar and you are at the swim up bar make sure to see Elvis and Desire who prepared us the best drinks and provided us with a service that we will never forget for the second consecutive year. If we wanted a bit more action we headed to the Punta Cana / Bavaro hotel where there are a ton of activities going on all day at the beach or in the pool area. We had a blast in this area and the fun seemed to be never-ending! When we wanted to keep things simple and yet fun we stayed at the Esmeralda hotel where everything exceeded our expectations. When it came to the food, we have zero complaints! The food was amazing and the variety of foods kept us coming back for more every time. We love to have fun after a long day at the pool and beach, so at night we headed to Pueblo Principe for live entertainment, Casino, Karaoke or our favorite the nightclub. We had some great times at the nightclub and it kept us going back every night. If you would like to step out of the complex to have some fun in the city and want to dance check out Mangu nightclub, which us open until the sun comes up. Overall we have zero complaints whatsoever about our stay and we are dying to go back already! The service, grounds, food, drinks, entertainment, weather and overall experience was excellent and as a result we are already planning our next trip to Punta Cana and our third stay at the Gran Bahia Principe Resorts.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 29, 2013
Great Resort

This resort was great for families. There was not a huge amount of "adult" time pool side activities etc. and it was relaxing without younger persons or older persons wanting such activities. I would highly recommend this place for families with young and older children who want to just relax and enjoy time with simiilar people like them. Service was outstanding. They really enjoy there job and nothing was too much trouble.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Toronto, ON
Age: 35-44

June 21, 2016
June Vacation

We very much enjoyed our stay in Punt Canna. The resort was beautiful, the people were friendly and the amenities were great. Our room was clean and comfortable. We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary, and our butler decorated our room and brought a beautiful and delicious cake on our last evening. The scented pillows brought fresh each evening were a nice touch. The beach was beautiful, plenty of chairs with shaded huts. There were beach activities throughout the day and easy access to rental equipment that did not interfere with those who wished to swim. We spent most of our time at the beach. The pool was too warm for my taste, and it was clean and also had fun activities like underwater spinning and a DJ. If we waited too long to exchange our beach towels, they ran out of fresh towels at about 6PM each evening, we just exchanged in the morning, but it would have been great if they had more. Many folks complain that the drink cups are small, so you may want to bring your own, we did not have a problem with the sizes. The housekeeping was hit or miss, the room was always clean, and some things were not restocked and when we called the items were brought up quickly. We were there for four days and ate most meals at the buffet. We found the food at the buffet to be well prepared and that there were a few items that were constant, the menu changed every day offering nice variety. We ate one meal at the Brazilian restaurant by the beach and the food and service was amazing. We also appreciated the little coffee bar that was set up for most of the day in the lobby. While tips are included we brought American cash and exchanged for small bills at the front desk to tip our servers and that was appreciated.Most of the employees can help you in English. Each night there was entertainment in the common areas that was fun. Be sure to pack your sunscreen and essentials as the prices on the resort for last minute items were very high. If you take the little tram to the front of the resort the prices are much better in the little shops in the "square." The property is enormous and guests are welcome to try new restaurants or pool areas around the property which is connected by little golf cart paths with shuttles that run every five minutes. We had a great vacation and were very happy with our stay.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Cleveland, Ohio
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 14, 2015
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralde

Pros: Beautiful sprawling resort, nice rooms, good staff, great pools and beach (but always crowded, hard to find chairs), great bars with good spirits Cons: Awful food, feels like no effort is made in its preparation. This becomes a problem if you're staying there 5+ days and are basically dependent on their food. Dominican Food is not authentic and tasteless. No special meats and specialty foods like smoked salmon are quickly depleted and not replenished. Desserts are the worst part of the meal, in any restaurants and any buffet in the resort. Very poor quality and sometimes not edible (cheesecake like gelatin, dry chocolate cake, etc..) Also poor internet connection This is my 6th caribbean resort vacation in the last several years and it ranks in the the bottom two in respect to food. For the higher price I was hoping the quality of the food would be better. In my opinion, the resort needs to completely revamp its chef crew and menu otherwise I don't see myself returning.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34

November 30, 2015
Best Birthday/Vacation Ever

Let me start off by saying " I couldn't have dreamed of a better Birthday ". The rooms were clean and beautiful, along with an amazing landscape. The food was sooo delicious ( you have to try the seafood salad at the buffet ). All the amenities that this resort offers are unbelievable, and trust me they are alot more then what was listed when we made our reservations. The staff is amazing and there wasn't a day that they weren't smiling and singing as they worked. I would like to give a special thanks to Yenny for her wonderful service, it was almost like she was psychic. I kid you not, before I could even ask for something she was knocking at the door with it and more. Not to mention that when she found out it was my Birthday she went above and beyond to make it special. Here's a picture of what I came back to after a day of dune buggy on my birthday. I also would like to think Yuleyda for being my personal translator, lol. I will definitely be visiting this resort again. Next time I'll know a little more Spanish.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 26, 2011
Everything was Wonderful!!!

I read tons of reviews but was not disappointed in any way with the Esmerelda. The rooms were very spacious, clean and nicely appointed. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was sometimes good other times excellent. The Japanese restaurant Maiko was the best! The gounds and pool areas were lovely. And the beach was great! I travelled with 2 girlfriends and all of us would return in a heartbeat!


5 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 24, 2012
Not so great...

The Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda was probably the nicest of the four properties. Having said that, the trip was just okay. The service was not very friendly nor did anyone go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. In fact, the staff does not seem too happy to be there. The all-inclusive was a good experience for me and there was less to worry about. The room was the best part of the trip. It was spacious for two people. Nice bed, balcony and separate shower and jacuzzi area. The restaurants required reservations. We were able to get 4 reservations for our 6 nights at the Esmeralda, but some of the restaurants that we really wanted were sold out unfortunately. The food was just okay - same food every day for breakfast and lunch. The restaurant food was not much better. The Japanese hibachi restaurant was the best, followed by the Mediterranean one. Other than that the Mexican was the worst!! My boyfriend actually got sick from that one, and the Italian isn't much better. For an Italian restaurant it was surprising that they didn't have standard items like spaghetti and meatballs. The Gran Bahia Esmeralda does not seem to appreciate Americans. I think we found about 2 employees that actually spoke English. It catered much more to Europeans and Canadians. The beaches are topless and so this can be a very different experience for an American. Not what I had hoped for, but we did manage to still have a fabulous time. Also, there is a lot of seaweed and I was used to the crystal clear waters of Mexico. In addition, there is a marketplace wtih very pushy sellers (feels like just got off of a cruise ship), not to mention the actual Gran Bahia Principe staff who are constantly pushing the upgraded Priviledge Club which is not worth it at all!! Lastly, I will close with some good news that my boyfriend and I got a day pass to the Hard Rock Punta Cana and it was one of the best days of my life!! The beaches are much cleaner and there are no topless people running around getting drunk. None of the restaurants at the Hard Rock required reservations and so we actually ate at the Toro Steakhouse on our one day pass. It was fantastic!! The servers are funny and engaging, and they all speak English. The food was fresh and delicious. They use top shelf liquor and everything (not catches) is included!. There were numerous pools and even an adult pool if sunbathing in the nude is your thing! The casino was awesome and we won $40 bucks. The shops and nighlife is everything that you could ask for. I would highly recommend paying the higher price to stay at the Hard Rock Punta Cana and forget about the Gran Bahia Principe. Just my honest opinion. I hope it helps!


8 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 15, 2011
Mixed bag

Nice resort with great pool and beach area. The food options are good. Take time to try the ala carte restaurants. Service is very inconsistent. If this is the kind of issue that drives you crazy, this is not the place for you. Also, Bahia allows very high pressure sales pitches to be allowed on their property, primarily for a vacation club that works like a timeshare. Beware!


4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Georgia
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 24, 2013
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda

Not sure about what was 'Luxury' at this resort. Food choices are plenty; but did not like dinner at any of the three we visited, real disappointment. Lunch buffet choice was plentiful; a typical buffet.....don't expect a lot. Service at all the dining establishments was bad. You have to hunt for the waiter to get water and drinks. In three days, saw only two of them smile. Overall OK experience.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year