All

Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 77 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4.2 out of 5
"Nice all inclusive resort. Staff where all friendly and helpful." – jdvdano
73 out of 91 (80%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Get to the beach early for the amazing views! Beach How the server cut our WEDDING cake So relaxing! immaculate grounds Sun rise on beach My dreadful descent down the aisle Bavaro Beach View from pool

All Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Customer Reviews

1-10 of 77 reviews. Sort by
November 9, 2016
Great resort - great value!

I have been to the D.R. six times now in various resorts. This time I traveled with my two sons in their 20's and one of their friends. We had a wonderful time! We stayed at the Esmeralda, which is close to the beach - I highly recommend this (or the Anbar Adults Only), because the other resorts are very far from the beach, requiring a shuttle ride. The shuttles do come frequently. This is the only negative about this resort as a whole - it's not just huge, it's MASSIVE. It is 5 or 6 different sub-resorts all stuck together. The Esmeralda is one of the smallest sections, right on the beach. All of the sections have similar amenities (pools, shops, etc.), but Esmeralda is perfect as it's like being in a small resort even though you are in a huge one! That said, it is hard to get around to the other resorts without the shuttle. This didn't bother us - being close to the beach was all we needed, and the little Esmerald had everything we wanted. Also, because Esmeralda is one of the upgraded resorts, you can use the facilities/amenities at any of the other Bahia resorts (restaurants, etc.), such as the Gourmet restaurant, which is in the Anbar - and was excellent. Food ranged from okay to quite delicious, just depending on which restaurant you chose. The buffet was good enough. Rodizio was just okay. Gourmet was excellent. On Tuesday nights, there is a seafood buffet at the buffet - skip the a la cartes that night and do the seafood buffet, which was absolutely fantastic (lobster, shrimp, you name it!). There are bars everywhere, and every resort has at least one swim-up bar (Esmeralda had two). Note: We did NOT get sick on this trip, from either the food or the drinks. We always used bottled water to drink and brush teeth, but had no problems, even eating things like lettuce, which is usually a culprit. Oh: Eat the ice cream - it's absolutely delicious, not the usual "ice milk" that you get at other resorts. Rooms are very large, spotless and comfortable. Great shower pressure, nice bathroom amenities (hair dryer, bath products, etc.). The maids came at a reasonable time every day and did a nice job cleaning. If you leave them a buck or two, they'll leave you extra towels. Not a lot of English spoken here, but with a few words of Spanish and a language app, we did just fine! Everyone was friendly and accommodating. The ocean and beach were gorgeous. There are many palapas (little hut shades) and beach chairs. You have to get there before 8am to get a great seat, but there's ALWAYS a seat available. The CheapCaribbean on-site rep was great. We always book through CheapCaribbean and plan to continue to do so. Best prices, best service. Kudos. I could go on, but you get the idea. Overall, after having stayed at numerous other resorts, we just loved the Bahia Principe Esmeralda,. GO AND ENJOY!


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 10, 2011
Overall Enjoyed G.B.P. Esmeralda

We stayed at the Esmeralda in early July 2011 and had a good time with few negative comments. I will try to keep this brief. The grounds are immaculate. Most of the staff is friendly but the expectance of tipping by the wait staff of the restaurants is very unprofessional. Since most of them work almost every day, if you don’t tip you receive very slow service. The food was good. Nothing to write home about but there was always something you could find to eat. The pool is very nice. Some do not like the temperature of the water, which is akin to a warm bath. The beach is average. The resort allows people to “reserve” (with towels, clothing, books, etc.) beach loungers. We saw shaded lounges go unused for hours because someone had put their stuff on them in the middle of the night/very early morning and did not use them. They really need to enforce the no reserving loungers rule they have. Also the amount of seaweed during our stay was at times overwhelming. The resort did a good job every morning of raking the beach but by late afternoon the seaweed returned. There was always seaweed floating on and of course on the bed of the water. Being part of the larger GBP resort has its advantages as well. There are plenty people to socialize with if you like. The shows are on par with what you find at most Caribbean resorts. The drinks are average.

Overall Enjoyed G.B.P. Esmeralda Overall Enjoyed G.B.P. Esmeralda
9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 29, 2013
Best Vacation Ever!

My wife and I just came back from Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda after spending 5 nights in the resort. In June of last year we had stayed at the Ambar section (adults only) of the Gran Bahia Principe complex and we thought that after a great experience there last year nothing would compare. Unfortunately, the resort was at full capacity this time around, so we had to decide between trying a different resort or staying at Esmeralda. We researched for days and after many hours we decided to stay at Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda and we are so glad we did! By booking this resort we had access to all of the hotels in the Gran Bahia Principe complex which gave us an opportunity to try a bit of everything. If we felt like relaxing we headed to the Ambar section for peace and quiet time at the pool and beach while sipping on some amazing drinks. If you are at the Ambar and you are at the swim up bar make sure to see Elvis and Desire who prepared us the best drinks and provided us with a service that we will never forget for the second consecutive year. If we wanted a bit more action we headed to the Punta Cana / Bavaro hotel where there are a ton of activities going on all day at the beach or in the pool area. We had a blast in this area and the fun seemed to be never-ending! When we wanted to keep things simple and yet fun we stayed at the Esmeralda hotel where everything exceeded our expectations. When it came to the food, we have zero complaints! The food was amazing and the variety of foods kept us coming back for more every time. We love to have fun after a long day at the pool and beach, so at night we headed to Pueblo Principe for live entertainment, Casino, Karaoke or our favorite the nightclub. We had some great times at the nightclub and it kept us going back every night. If you would like to step out of the complex to have some fun in the city and want to dance check out Mangu nightclub, which us open until the sun comes up. Overall we have zero complaints whatsoever about our stay and we are dying to go back already! The service, grounds, food, drinks, entertainment, weather and overall experience was excellent and as a result we are already planning our next trip to Punta Cana and our third stay at the Gran Bahia Principe Resorts.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 24, 2017
Best Resort So Far

Pros: - Amazingly clean. Staff was constantly cleaning, scrubbing, polishing, sweeping, mopping ...even the bathrooms everywhere were immaculate. - Staff was very friendly and happy to help with anything. - One of the prettiest beaches we've been to in the Caribbean. - Pools: There are three different pools: First, the one closest to the beach was the most active with louder music, aerobics in the pool, and the most crowded. Second, the middle pool and smallest was very quiet with shaded canopies. The bar was limited, but the bartender, Nestor, ran to another bar if you wanted anything he couldn't make. The back pool was more mellow, but big. Compared to the first pool, it didn’t allow ball play. All pools had cocktail service that brought out iced tea, mini sandwiches, and anything else you wanted to order from the bar. They provided a small wooden tray with a drink flag when thirsty. Nice touch. - Food: The meals were excellent for an all-inclusive. Usually when there’s an unlimited supply offered the quality suffers. Bahia, on the other hand, goes above and beyond to provide selection and quality. Beef is usually not the best quality, given import costs in the Caribbean, yet the Rodizio Arrecife restaurant had fillets, prime rib, and more that were excellent. We've also been to the Bahia Principe in Montego Bay with the kids and found the selection and quality good there as well compared to other resorts. Bonus: You can eat anywhere in the gigantic resort complex, so see the Concierge and book your reservations. - Room: Order your favorite kind of pillows! They’ll bring them right away. Also, my wife ordered coconut aroma for the room through the app they offer. The room was very clean and big compared to most resorts. Cons: - Finding a lounge chair: Make sure that you set your alarm for around 6 AM to get out and stake your claim to your preferred sun bathing location. By 7 AM there’s almost nothing left. Buy beach chair clips to fasten your towels to the chairs. In fairness to the resort, they made the best use out of the space for lounge chairs. - Noise from hallway in hotel room: Bring ear plugs (They worked great). Seriously. The rooms and buildings are beautiful, but the tile floors in the hallway make it very loud with any traffic. Suggestion for the resort: Install carpet and noise reducing ceiling tiles, wall hangings to reduce the noise. Also, install pads or some sort of sound reducing material to muffle the sound of opening and closing of doors. This is the only reason for the lower score. I can't end on a bad note, given that this place is great and we truly had an excellent vacation thanks to all of the staff! Thank you.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Rhode Island
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 29, 2013
Great Resort

This resort was great for families. There was not a huge amount of "adult" time pool side activities etc. and it was relaxing without younger persons or older persons wanting such activities. I would highly recommend this place for families with young and older children who want to just relax and enjoy time with simiilar people like them. Service was outstanding. They really enjoy there job and nothing was too much trouble.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Toronto, ON
Age: 35-44

November 30, 2015
Best Birthday/Vacation Ever

Let me start off by saying " I couldn't have dreamed of a better Birthday ". The rooms were clean and beautiful, along with an amazing landscape. The food was sooo delicious ( you have to try the seafood salad at the buffet ). All the amenities that this resort offers are unbelievable, and trust me they are alot more then what was listed when we made our reservations. The staff is amazing and there wasn't a day that they weren't smiling and singing as they worked. I would like to give a special thanks to Yenny for her wonderful service, it was almost like she was psychic. I kid you not, before I could even ask for something she was knocking at the door with it and more. Not to mention that when she found out it was my Birthday she went above and beyond to make it special. Here's a picture of what I came back to after a day of dune buggy on my birthday. I also would like to think Yuleyda for being my personal translator, lol. I will definitely be visiting this resort again. Next time I'll know a little more Spanish.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 3, 2017
Awesome Vacation

The resort was absolutely beautiful! Everything was clean, and well maintained, no detail seemed too small. The people at the hotel and beyond were very friendly, helpful and good at their jobs. The best advice I can give is if you want pool space, do get up early (7ish) and "reserve" your lounges with towels and/or books. It's easier to get space on the beach but you may want to claim a space early there too. Go with the flow, when they talk about "Dominican time" they mean it. As long as you remember you're on vacation and make plans with Dominican time in mind, then it just won't matter that some things take a little longer. The food was good, a huge variety and if you're into eating healthy, don't worry, you will have plenty of delicious choices. Make any reservations for dinners as soon as you get there. We gave our choices to the concierge and he made the reservations for us, spreading them out during the week. Please consider tipping generously, they all work so hard and are truly appreciative of your tips. One waiter on our second night could tell we were all upset (family squabble!) and he managed to have us all laughing and happy to be together in no time! All the people there are about having a good time and want you to enjoy your time in their country.

Get to the beach early for the amazing views!
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Maine
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 4, 2017
Wonderful

Service and cleanliness were exceptional. Some dining options/dishes were a bit hit or miss, but overall fantastic and plenty of variety. Free palapas on the beach, in room jacuzzis, and 24 hour butler service are a plus and can be rare at other all-Inclusives. Room decor is a bit dated, but clean. Fridge didn't get very cold. Be careful ordering top shelf specialty drinks, like cognac. They're not included and they tack on tax and tip and charge them to your room, even if you give a cash tip upon ordering them.


6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 35-44

May 14, 2015
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralde

Pros: Beautiful sprawling resort, nice rooms, good staff, great pools and beach (but always crowded, hard to find chairs), great bars with good spirits Cons: Awful food, feels like no effort is made in its preparation. This becomes a problem if you're staying there 5+ days and are basically dependent on their food. Dominican Food is not authentic and tasteless. No special meats and specialty foods like smoked salmon are quickly depleted and not replenished. Desserts are the worst part of the meal, in any restaurants and any buffet in the resort. Very poor quality and sometimes not edible (cheesecake like gelatin, dry chocolate cake, etc..) Also poor internet connection This is my 6th caribbean resort vacation in the last several years and it ranks in the the bottom two in respect to food. For the higher price I was hoping the quality of the food would be better. In my opinion, the resort needs to completely revamp its chef crew and menu otherwise I don't see myself returning.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34

March 15, 2017
Awesome place

I can't say anything bad about this place it was really nice, clean and friendly staff!!! I would definitely stay here again if I go back to Punta Cana or stay at one at other destinations. The only thing I wish would of happend is if the Butler would of introduced themselves to us. It sounds lijlike the other guests we met theirs did and they did special things for them. Yes we did tip in the room every day ranging from $4.00 - $8.00.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Elko New Market, MN
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year