All

Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Samana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 22 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.8
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.7
4.5 out of 5
"Beautiful resort and location. Alittle more expensive than expected." – notime
19 out of 22 (86%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Feelin' Alright! Doesn't get better than that! Sunset at Wavy Beach Absolutely breathtaking!

All Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Customer Reviews

1-10 of 22 reviews. Sort by
October 20, 2011
Gran Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado

Stayed at this resort for five nights. The resort was very beautiful and the staff was very attentive. The beach was one of the nicest i have been on and i have been to numerous islands in the carribean. The big draw back to this resort is the food. The food was not good at all ranging from bland to terrible. The Italian Restaurant (Portofino) was the worst. We went there on our second night thinking the food would be better than the buffets they have and it was worse. The Superior room we had was beautiful and very spacious but the bed was a little hard for our liking. If the food was atleast good i would recommend this resort to friends and it would be a five star resort. With the food being so bad i give it two stars.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 28, 2012
Gorgeous Place for our Honeymoon!!!

It was the first time we ever took a boat to get to a resort! It was very nice. The sun was intense while were there, wowee!!!! We hardly left the pool all week long. The rooms are very spacious, clean and modern. We had a hard time getting more than 1 face cloth per day. It was just my husband and I in the room. Each day we would get 1 face cloth, 2 bath towels, and either 1 or 2 handtowels. We stayed in a Villa and it was easy to get to anything from there. We were very close to the pool and really liked that. But, you could call for a taxi to come pick you up at your Villa if you preferred not to walk. Kind of cool!! The food in the buffet (breakfast, lunch and dinner) was mediocre. In the morning at breakfast, we always had to wait to get our coffee, juice and water. One of the restaurants we ate at we had steak (at least that's what it said it was). The meat was so chewy and stringy, I seriously think it was horse meat - no joke! The only beer available at the resort is Presidente. It would have been nice to have at least one American Beer there! For the most part, the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. A couple of the staff members really went out of their way to take care of a few requests we made. The island is absolutely gorgeous. We did not leave it the whole week we were there. The boat runs on a schedule so you can take it in to Samana and go to the shops and restaurants. I don't think anyone would be disappointed going to this resort. Weather was clear blue skies and the beaches are beautiful.

Absolutely breathtaking!
15 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Indianapolis, IN
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 3, 2013
Everything and Much Much More

I will keep this short and sweet, but we stayed at the Bahia Principe on November 15-22. Almost all of the reviews were very positive and that was one of the reasons for choosing this resort. Anyone that says they had a terrible time must be a stick in the mud. We had a great time and enjoyed every minute of our stay. We stayed in Villa 4 on the 2nd floor and could not of been more satisfied with the room and view. In fact, it was beyond our expectations. The only drawback was the food at the Mediterranean and Italian restaurant, but Don Pablo and the Buffet were great. Great service, great resort and I would recommend this resort to my family and friends in a heartbeat. If your considering this resort, do not over think it....Just Go!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Greensboro, NC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 7, 2011
Best resort ever!

Best resort ever! Very comfortable suites which was nice when the tropical storm blew across the island. Style of suite was modern yet Carribean. Very very clean. Property was immaculate! Beautiful architecture. Grounds lush and inviting, well planned layout so as never to feel crowded. This made the whole experience even more pleasant. Loved that there were two private beaches that no one could bother you at to purchase their goods. Two pools were clean and relaxing, just wish they didnt close at 6. Never felt we had to fight for an umbrella which is sometimes a problem at resorts. Food was great, always left buffet feeling full. Celebrated our birthdays at Don Pablo rest. where staff sang and presented us with a divine cake. Good choice of cocktails at bars. Only problem- Staff not friendly to us Americans (other than birthday dinner)- perhaps the language barrier? Very,very limited English proficency which was frustrating. Ex: we saw dolphins upon our arrival and told the concerige who just nodded and didnt understand our excitement! Transfer from Santa Domingo was 3 hours by car. However, it was a new highway and we really saw the DR. Palm tree plantations, rice fields, jungle mtns, villages... We stayed for 7 days. Mostly British and Europeans there for 2 weeks. We will definitely go back! Can't beat the value! Kept thinking we'd owe more money because it was too good to be true :)


11 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Atlanta GA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 22, 2011
Gran Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado is Paradise

We had a remarkable almost week at Gran Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado. The island, the resort and the people that staff it are just wonderful. We flew in to Santo Domingo and if the option were available, we'd try to fly into Punta Cana next time since the 2.5 hour drive from the airport to the Samana peninsula eats up a lot of the travel day. A shorter 45 min ride from a closer airport would have given us a quicker arrival to the resort and a longer last day to enjoy the final day. However, the drivers were very good and safe and it did provide a nice immersion into the D.R. landscape. As for the resort, it was fantastic. The rooms were spacious, well maintained, comfortable and quiet. Our room was in the main hotel and overlooked the buffet and show dinner area which we were concerned would be a problem noise wise. It wasn't. The shows all end around 10pm and then people don't linger much in the square past 11pm. The balcony view was gorgeous too. The property itself was lush and incredibly well maintained. There was plenty of seating at the restaurants, the pools and the beach. The upper pool cabanas did fill early but we had no problem staying at the lower pool and/or the private beach. Towels were easy to get and swap out and well as drinks were delivered consistently all day long. (The Very Well was a very tasty non-alcoholic drink too!) I can't say enough about the staff. They were all friendly and went out of their way to get you comfortable, seated or provided for graciously. It's nice to show the staff the courtesy of speaking some Spanish when you can, they appreciate it but speak English and other languages too. Our only complaint at ALL about the resort was the pools closing early - at 6pm. The weather and light this time of year would make it nice for later swims so that was the only disappointment. We're sure there are reasons for that as well but it would have been a great perk too. The restaurants were varied the best being Don Pablo, Portifino, the Buffet and then lastly the Mediterraneano which wasn't our cup of tea at all. A truly relaxing, quiet, beautiful resort we will return to :)


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 24, 2013
Luxury in the Dominican

Initially purchased a stay at this hotel due to it winning Best All Incluside from TripAdvisor.com, and soon found out why. It was the best hotel experience I have every had, and the food was amazing. Would highly recommend and will return. Do bring a few dollars to tip staff as they could use the extra money, and they deserve it they way they treat their guests is amazing. Fantastic resort!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 6, 2010
Couldn't have been better.

Everything about this resort is perfect. We had a wonderful time and the entire staff was very accommodating. I would recommend the resort to anyone who wants to get away to a private place with more than you could ask for.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 10, 2012
Great Trip

Our trip to Gran Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado was excellent. There was no wait to check in, our package including room keys were waiting for us when we got there. The views from the 15 min boat ride to the main hotel were breathtaking. The food options at the buffets were great. Guys make sure to bring some slacks or you will not be able to eat at the resturants that require reservations. There is a bar close to the pools but not actually inside, which would have been nice. The only down side was that the hotel was very quiet and didn't really have much night life/entertainment. Overall though definitely a great experience, amazing beaches/views. Would definitely go back again.

Doesn't get better than that!
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 22, 2012
Excellent Vacation

I have traveled to the Dominican Republic many times - must say that this hotel was one of the nicest one I have stayed at. Beautiful room. The beaches and pools were outstanding. Did not like the food at Don Pablo restaurant - other than that the food was excellent with a lvariety of choices. The staff at the hotel were very nice and serviceable. I would hightly recommend this hotel.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Queens, New York
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 26, 2012
BEST VACATION

BEST VACATION I HAVE EVER HAD, FORGET PUNTA CANA, PUNTA CANA IS JUST $ NO SERVICE AND NO STYLE, CAYO LEVANTAO IN SAMANA WAS A 5 STAR RESORT ALL THE WAY.


7 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: DALLAS TX
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year