All

Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - La Romana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 141 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.1 out of 5
"Make your dinner reservations early!! They book up fast, especially on weekends or busy days. We saw some of the same staff members multiple times and received great service." – Sixtwo
116 out of 154 (75%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
The Saona Island Being happy Beautiful spot for two Watching the Storms off shore One of many pools Room with a sunset view!

All Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Customer Reviews

1-10 of 141 reviews. Sort by
March 18, 2014
We'd totally go back!!

My husband and I just got back from five nights at this resort, and it was a great experience. Really beautiful and clean. There were plenty of chairs available at the beach and pool areas. The management team was always present and available for any questions/comments/feedback. The staff was really attentive as well. Some stand-outs include: Ysibel and Gloria in the lobby bar, America in guest services, and Eduardo at the swim-up bar. I gave a four for dining only because it was tough to get into any restaurant you wanted at a reasonable time. But since all the food options were really good, it wasn't a huge deal. The only negative came, not from the resort, but from Amstar/Apple for our airport transit. We had to meet a representative in the lobby to arrange our pick-up to head back home; however, the person we were supposed to meet was never there when he said he would be. We got stood up about four times. He was really hard to reach on the phone as well. Several other people were waiting for him and were trying to track him down too. We eventually got in touch with their main office, with the help of America in guest services. The resort might want to think about having airport transit available, so guests can avoid Amstar. Amstar picked us up from the airport and dropped us off perfectly fine, but it was just tracking down the representative during the week that seemed to be the difficult part. Overall, this was a GREAT resort, and we intend to go back next winter.


70 of 71 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Staten Island, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 3, 2016
7 Days of Sun, Fun and Peace and Quiet!

My girlfriend (now fiancé) and I were looking for a nice relaxing trip, we wanted to just plop ourselves on a beach somewhere and not have to worry about anything. This is exactly what we found when we arrived. The resort and the facilities are in excellent shape. From the moment we arrived we were pleasantly greeted by Jesus at the front desk who gave us a temporary room to change in and keep our luggage in while we waited for our room to be ready. This little bit of extra hospitality made the day! We were able to jump right into the pool and beach and start the relaxation before our "check in" time. Our Butler Francisco was awesome, made sure we had everything we needed and booked us reservations at each of the restaurants available to us for the remainder of our stay. The rooms were very well kept and in beautiful condition. We did however have only one complaint, the bed. The mattresses here are extremely firm, almost to the point of being unbearable. (Get some new mattresses and we'll never book a vacation anywhere else ever again!) The bars, the buffets, the restaurants were all excellent Shout out to Ramon in the lobby bar for hooking us up and always remembering our drink preferences. Different themes every night kept the main buffet a pleasant surprise. Our favorite night was Saturday when they had a Dominican Theme. This was the best night, we actually cancelled our restaurant reservations due to the fact that the food they put out was amazing! I get it, it's a resort and they're trying to keep people happy from all around the globe, but they could've served this menu every night and we would've been completely content! Seafood was fresh and delicious! Loved the different paella's every da, all in all this was a major highlight for us. It seemed bizarre to us that everyone seemed to crowd around the pool during the day, the pool was beautiful, with a nice swim up bar and different party themes every day, but when I'm traveling to the Caribbean, I'm going for the beaches, not the pool. The beach was well kept and very relaxing. The water is cloudier on some days than others due to it being a man made bay, but they're doing an excellent job at cleaning it daily and keeping the beach in top shape. We had our own little spot every day and felt like we were on the island by ourselves for the most part. Something we found out by ourselves, not really sure what the deal is, but if you're sitting on the beach looking out at the water you'll notice that if you look to the left, down the coast line there is a beach club. You can walk down to it and there's a really nice infinity pool as well as more cabanas and chairs you can lay out on. If you're looking for an even more remote spot to camp out and enjoy the sun, take the walk down the beach. It looks like they're building condos there and eventually you may not be able to access that beach club, however we walked down and hung out there for a couple days with no issues at all. If you're looking for party central, this might not be the resort for you. There are options with dancing, daily shows, etc. However this is the perfect resort if you're looking to just go spend some time on the beach and relax. We had a wonderful time and created a lot of lasting memories here. Looking forward to returning again!

Watching the Storms off shore Beautiful spot for two
17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 13, 2014
Very nice, but not a 5 Star

My husband and I enjoyed the resort very much and if I didn’t have other all-inclusive resorts to compare too, I would have probably rated it higher. Most of the staff was very friendly and was very accommodating to anything that we needed. The grounds were kept up very nicely and everything seemed very clean. Most of the comments that people have posted are for the most part true…the water is murky, but since I’m more of a pool person, that didn’t really bother me….still loved looking at the beach and watching the sunsets. The food was mediocre…it was mostly at room temperature and I really didn’t think it was that great. I only found (1) dessert that I really liked and that was the first night…never saw it again after that. Water was supposed to be put in our mini-frig each day, but my husband usually had to track down the beverage cart to get those…they never restocked the room. Room Service experience was bad....housekeeping doesn't pick up the dishes, you have to call room service to come back up for them and you have to be there for them to get the dishes. They said they would be right up and we had to wait 1 hour and 10 minutes before they showed up.... Honestly, I really enjoyed myself except for the food….It didn’t seem like there was a lot of options and if you did go to the ala carte restaurants, your appetizers, side dishes and desserts were still buffet style…only your main entrée was brought out to you. Overall…I enjoyed my stay very much…I would not rate this as a 5 Star Resort, but more of a 3.5 Star….I don’t think this has anything to do with the staff, but more driven by the corporation… Honestly, I would love to take my parents to this resort just because of the relaxation factor and I know they would really enjoy it, however, knowing that the food isn’t at the same level from other resorts I’ve experienced…. If I am looking to go other places within the DR, I would probably try and stay away from Bahia Principe Resorts, assuming that the food is probably the same across all of their resorts.


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Missouri
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 22, 2015
Exactly what we were looking for

Upon arrival you're immediately greeted by beautiful landscaping and architecture. The property is clean and well maintained. We ventured around the beach and adjoining properties and nothing was out of place. The staff was eager to please and always in the best of spirits. We loved all of the staff; however, a few stood out. Adolfina (pool bar) was always very welcoming and patient (with guests as well as the various trainees). Leddy (VIP bar) was equally welcoming and pleasant. While the a la carte dinning was a nice option, we found that the food was on par with what was available in the buffet. The service was a bit slower (considering that we were spoiled by the 'on demand' service of the buffet) than what we were looking for. The room was clean and inviting. As others have noted, the refrigerators do not get exceptionally cold. In addition, (assuming due to local water quality concerns) ice must be obtained by calling guest services and/or visiting the lounge area. While there were a multitude of excursion options, we did not participate in any. The daily activities/amenities immediately available on site were plenty.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: West New York, NJ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 14, 2014
Awesone Place!!!

As long as you go not expecting to see clear blue water and white sand on the beach, you will love this place. We had read some of the reviews and knew the water was not crystal clear before hand, totally did not matter. Beach was still beautiful and pools even better!!! Staff were super friendly and super accommodating. Never waited for drinks, always right there as soon as you were ready. All four restaurants were delicious, highly recommend you try to eat at them all if you can. Grounds are landscaped to perfection and so beautiful. Rooms extremely large and very clean and comfortable. Please don't listen to the negative reviews, some people must just be very hard to please. Husband and wife that stayed 4 might from New York!!! Enjoy your vacation!!!


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Long Island, New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 27, 2016
Nicest Place and Nicest People

This was the first time in the DR for my wife and I, so wasn't sure what to except. Well, form the time we were pickup at the airport until the time they dropped us off, everyone was so nice and helpful. The resort was so clean and everything was explained to us from the dining options to pool times from when we got there. We were pampered. I will definitely be making plans to go back.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston, Ma
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 10, 2014
Very Good resort and friendly staff!

We visited this resort in October of 2014, we had a very good time thanks to the wonderful staff! These folks are very friendly,nice, and approachable. If you are visiting to shop, you won't find much on the property. If you stay at the Bouganville part of the resort, you have access to the sister property just across the way. Our side was for Adults only, the other side is geared more for families. The food was great, with a different theme each night. The bars were fair in my opinion, some drinks were not available. There is not an elevator n the property , we had a 3rd floor room. I am disabled and found it hard to go up and down the stairs each day. What made this resort stand out from the rest is the people that work there. I give a shout out to my boy Jo'el at the front desk.....:Larry"!....he knows what I mean. Florence was another one that stood out in her service, she was a beautiful person and so sweet to me. Then in the restaurant there was Clemente, he was a great guy and shared stories of the area with us and his family. I would recommend going to this resort for the sun & fun, food, and exemplary service! One note it is a 45 minute ride from the air port to the resort so be prepared for that.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Hickory NC
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 5, 2017
Excellent!

I usually stick with the Riu Hotels when I travel so I was a little hesitant to go out of my comfort zone, so happy I did though! We loved staying at the Luxury Bahia Principe! I went here with my boyfriend and it was our first time in D.R. We had a blast playing games by the pool and Louis was very entertaining and always said hello and made sure we were having fun. I looove Dominican food, which is why I was a little disappointed that they didn't offer much of it. However, the food that they did offer was really good. We ate at the buffet by the pool mostly. And we took advantage of the room service.. We ordered sandwiches, and on our last night we ordered desserts and bought a delicious bottle of red wine for our room. The best food we ate was the bbq that was grilled on the beach around noon-- soon good! The staff goes above and beyond to truly make this a luxurious experience. We loved that it was peaceful yet still offered entertainment and fun. Roaming the large property was great since we got to walk off all the food we had. The room was GORGEOUS. It was very clean and well-kept. In the morning, we ordered room service-- a beautiful array of fresh fruit and ate on our balcony. And the coffee was amazing! Definitely try to take time out to go kayaking to the little island nearby-- we loved it! The waters were beautiful and easy to kayak through. Grabbing a pina colada and then floating around in the pool was great. We would definitely go back to this resort!!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Long Island, NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 9, 2017
Good? For Young Family's and Retiree's perhaps...

I have been to the DR many times and have stayed at more than one all-inclusive resort. The Bahia Principe Don Pablo resort itself is visually on-par with other resorts of its kind. Unfortunately there are several detractors that really make it a poor choice unless you are a retiree or a young family. As others have mentioned, the water is murky (look behind the island in the pictures) not quite inland muddy water, but definitely not the clear blue that you can enjoy just a few miles away. The problem, apparently, is the beaches proximity to a river that flows out, but I did not personally confirm this. What I did confirm was the rather sorry snorkeling, again compared to other locations in the DR. The beach itself, not counting the water is quite nice. However, at night, there is a industrial sugar plant with a large sodium arc-lamp glow on the horizon (looking out over the water) that is less than romantic. There was nobody on the beach at night (except us). They have several beautiful pools, with swim-up bars. But all the pools close @ 6pm sharp. The bars all close @ 11pm and with the exception of one or two bartenders, the service is poor. The disco, which does stay open late, is small and there are probably only 10-20 people there on any given night. The people were mostly young families (on the family side) and older couples. This place literally shuts down at night and is not a social/party scene at all. The food at every place we ate was pretty average, reservations and formal-dress were required, and the service in general was average. I would not have minded the dress code so much (I do like to dress up) but the dining experience itself did not make it seem worth the effort. Housekeeping did a good job of keeping everything neat and tidy. Staff were always courteous and friendly, however getting anything done seemed to take forever. I would also note that there were no vent-fans in the bathrooms and there was always a faint sewage odor coming from the drains (it was not intolerable, but it was unpleasant). There is also a sales-pitch to buy into a long-term vacation agreement with the Bahibe Principe which we could have done without. IF you are a couple in your 20's through your 40's or college kids looking to socialize and meet people, this is definitely not the place for you. IF you are a young family or retired couple and plan to be up early and to bed early, you don't care too much about the blue water, then maybe... but there are better places than this. One last comment, Cheap Caribbean did an excellent job with our booking and I would not hesitate to book through them again.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Virginia Beach
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 7, 2017
Best Last Min Trip

I decided to surprise my husband with a last minute vacation due to having a large amount of paid vacation time off from my work. I was informed that I had to take my vacation days within 2 weeks or I would loose them all. So I started looking for CHEAP all inclusive options since it was a last minute decision and didn't have a lot of money put aside. I came across cheap Caribbean and found the most amazing RESORT! I honestly thought it was to good to be true. So before buying it I cross referenced with a few other travel websites. I figured it would be ok since it was so cheap as long as there isn't "mold" in the bathrooms. After a few hours of research I went ahead and bought the trip. When we got to the airport there was someone waiting for us with a sign and was very professional, helpful and super nice! He got us to our hotel and even provided us with wifi for the 45 min drive tot he resort. When we checked into our room we were greated with welcome beverages and our butler! Butler..... THANK YOU! As we got a tour of the resort on our way to our suite we shared some info and informed our butler how we actually never got a honeymoon due to some last min job changes right before we got married in Oct 2016 and this was a last min trip. Little did we know she had our room decorated daily weather it was a romantic bubble bath, rose petals, champagne or hundreds of candles burning for us as suprises to make our trip as if it was our honeymoon. In the past knowing that you normally have to for all those extras we were blown away. The room was beautiful, marble floors huge canopy bed, perfect size balcony, lounge area with couch, breakfast table/ chairs and even a small working des. The bathroom was impeccably CLEAN! ( my biggest peppiv) And the resort still smelled of new construction, this resort seemed to be building a few new buildings and even options for you to buy a home/town house/ condo. I did read some of the reviews that ppl were pushed into taking a tour about buying land but we were not bothered once. There was a option if "YOU WANTED TO TAKE A TOUR" you could at your your choice. We skipped went to the pool! The food was great! Made reservations every night at one of the private dinning locations and had the buffet for breakfast every morning, which was to die for! Literally anything and everything you can think of to eat. The adult pools were perfect we really enjoyed the swim up bars and the employees who had adult games/dancing and live entertainment all day long. The only small down fall is the beach water is not as clear as other parts of the island but we knew this going into the trip! There is a river just north of the resort that opens up to the ocean and runs down past the resort so the water is slightly murky. But the pools and if you do a catamaran day cruise to any of the islands you will get to experience the amazing clear ocean water. We also bought 2 excursions thru the resort and loved them! Great price for the couple and had fun and awesome tour guides! Felt completely safe off the resort everytime we left (with our hotel guides) Overall the trip EXCEEDED OUR EXPATIONS and we are thinking about returning next year since we LOVED IT! Everyone was extremely nice and helpful! If you are wavering on weather or not to pick this location.... don't be nervous at all it is a great resort!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations