All

Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 71 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
4.1
Room Comfort
 
4.0
4.4 out of 5
"Overall a good stay. Room AC was terrible. Beds were not comfortable. Pool and beach made up for it." – Stephk2013
74 out of 88 (84%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Swim Up Bar View from our room My son at the swim up bar

All Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Customer Reviews

1-10 of 71 reviews. Sort by
June 19, 2013
Awesome Resort

We stayed at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal from June 2nd to June 11th and had an amazing time. This resort is beautiful. We really enjoyed ourselves. I’m putting a lot of tips in here, so read on for tips to help you on your stay. The resort: Extremely clean and well-manicured. The staff was very friendly. They all speak English just enough to help us with most our needs, but if we had more detailed questions, we would talk to the Public Relations desk. They speak really good English. Plan for a 1.5 hour trip from the airport. Well worth it though. Like people have mentioned, the resort is really 3 resorts combined. They have shuttles to take you around. This worked great. The water at the resort is perfectly safe to drink. They use a reverse osmosis purification system. Bring bug spray for the mosquitos at night. Also, bring bio-degradable sunscreen if you go on excursions where you’ll be swimming in a Cenote. They require bio-degradable sunscreen. Our cell phone provider has really high rates for calling internationally. So I tried using skype with the free wifi in the lobby. It worked once, but then I couldn’t get it to work anymore. A really nice lady, that was also a guest, we met gave us a Global Link international calling card. This worked great. We would call from one of the lobby phones, because apparently you’re charged for using your room phone even if it’s local or 1-800. So we would call the operator from the lobby phone, and she would transfer us to Global Link. We could then enter the calling card number. The card had $13 left on it and that was good for 80 minutes. They sold calling cards from a vending machine by the lobby phones, but the rates were not good either. $20 for 20 minutes. So I recommended finding out how to buy a Global Link calling card. We were able to use our Visa credit card to pay for our excursions. If you want or need pesos, the resort can exchange. You don’t really need pesos though if you have USD. If you go to Playa Del Carmen to shop, it’s actually better to use USD. They charge more for items when using pesos. We took a collectivo to Playa Del Carmen one of the days. We had a nice time. The collectivo is their public transportation. It was only $3 each to go to Playa Del Carmen. They will pick you up right outside of the resort and take you to the shopping district at 5th ave. Then when you are done shopping, just go back to where they dropped you off to get another one back to the resort. Just make sure you have the exact amount for the ride if you’re using USD, because they don’t have change in USD. So just make sure you have $5s and $1s. Beach: We love the beach, so this is where we spent most of our time. We liked the Akumal beach. It has nice soft white sand. If you like to snorkel, I highly recommend bringing your own snorkel gear. I really enjoyed the snorkeling right off the beach. Lots of pretty fish to see. Also, on our second to last day, I saw a sea turtle and a sting ray. It was amazing. They have the swim area roped off, but I would swim out past the rope. I wasn’t that far out from the Akumal beach when I saw the sea turtle and sting ray. The akumal beach is very popular, so if you don’t like a crowded beach, you can also head to the south end of akumal, or go more north to the Tulum side. If you like to walk the beach, the resort beach is really long, so it’s really nice for that. Rooms: The rooms were really nice. We stayed in the Junior Suite Club Golden. Some reviewers have said that the rooms are dated. I don’t know what they are talking about. The A/C worked great. No complaints with the room at all. Pools: There are many pools to choose from between the 3 resorts. We didn’t spend much time at the pool at all because we are beach people. The pool by the Royal Club Golden area seemed pretty crowded most of the time though. We were a bit disappointed that there were no hot tubs as far as we know. The pools have “Jacuzzis” with jets, but they are not heated. My wife and I enjoy sitting in the hot tub at night, so a little disappointed but we got over it pretty quick. Food/Drink: I would recommend emailing the resort to book your a la carte dinners a couple weeks prior to arriving. We are really glad that we did this. Don Pablo was our favorite restaurant. The buffets are pretty good. They can get tiring day after day, but they change the theme, i.e., French, Italian, etc. every night, so that helps. Also, go to different buffets at each of the resorts to find the one you like best as each is a little different. My wife and I don’t drink alcohol, but at the various bars and restaurants, the bartenders would make us one of many different non-alcoholic cocktails. We really enjoyed those. At the bars that have a drink list, they even have a list of non-alcoholic cocktails. Entertainment: My wife and I really enjoyed going to the live music at night. There is a 3 person band (female singer with a guy on guitar and guy on drums), that played several nights at the Akumal bar, that we really liked. Some nights they played at the Akumal Premiere bar. The shows had some really good numbers and some that were okay. There is a man, I think his name is DJ, that sings in some of the shows. He’s really good. We wish there was more live singing in the shows and less lip-syncing. So it would be better if they had a few people that would sing live as well. However, they do perform some great acrobatics and dancing.


34 of 35 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 35-44

September 10, 2011
Great Value

Greatly enjoyed our time at Gran Bahia Principe Akumal..would definately return! Here are some "raves". Note that this resort is very large. It consists of three separate areas/mid-sized resorts (Akumal, Coba & Tulum), which combine to form Gran Bahia Principe. Guests are free to roam, dine or spend beach time at all of these resorts, no matter which resort your room is at. Travel between the resorts is accomplished by hopping on go-carts/trollies that shuttle guests from one resort to another. This shuttle service is offered 24 hours a day & cycles about every 10-15 minutes. *Grounds, buildings and rooms were very well maintained. Beach debris brought to the shoreline by the ocean waves, is cleaned up daily. Note that this property is part of an active Eco Preserve. *Food was well prepared/Food choices were diverse. Three large buffets (one at each resort area) are available for each meal. In addition, there are theme restaurants available (ie: French or Italian) & a 24 hour Snack Bar as well. The snack bar offers a small buffet spread for each meal and will prepare menu items for guests, at any time of the day. *Nice, white sand, beachfront property. We traveled as a couple, and found that we preferred the pace & calmness of the Akumal beach. Explore each beach area & pick the one that suites you best. *Staff was friendly and helpful. At some times, staff seemed to be overworked/tired (food service & bar service areas only), but never rude. For example, we often waited for a fairly long period of time at the buffet to be greeted & served a beverage/coffee, if we dined at peak times. Not-So-Raves: *Most alcoholic beverages were watered down. *If you are a party animal, please keep in mind that this resort is family friendly. Beachfront bars close at 6pm. Indoor bars close at 11pm. Partiers have the option to have late night fun at the Hacienda Disco & bar. A trolly will transport to/from the Hacienda.


33 of 34 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 12, 2014
An interestinteresting experience

It was a good time at an inclusive resort, but I will do it differently next time I go to Mexico. The service was really good upon check-in and everyone was really friendly and willing to help. My arrival was a little bumpy. My room they had me in was the wrong room at first and then when they moved me, the key wasn't working properly. So I had to wait outside for about 20min until they returned with the right key card. Kind of embarrassing on their part but I'm patient. Then some of my appliances weren't working. My mini fridge wasn't cold, the internet password, which I had to purchase for the week, wasn't working throughout the resort. So I filed a claim and had to argue my reason for my money back, which was resolved. Things that I wasn't really expecting on vacation. After settled we rented jetskis. 2 of them weren't working and they didn't tell us that when we booked a resv. After we returned with them they tried to say we broke the one that was working by getting water in the gas line. I immediately took off the seat, pulled the line out, and showed them they were crazy and had to refund us for the time we lost. That one we rented broke down on us while we were on the ocean. Overall, I will not be going back to that resort nor recommending it to others.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Colorado
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 25, 2011
Great Caribbean

We truly enjoyed our stay at GBPAkumal. The name is too long, however, everything else was great. The staff was extremely friendly, and enjoyable. They encouraged you to use your broken Spanish and seemed genuinely pleased with you for trying. The hotel(s)- there are actually three- are beautiful. If you want to be within a short walk to the beach, stay at Akumal or Tulum. From Coba, you have to take a shuttle, though they run very frequently and it is not a big deal. The rooms and bathrooms are large. The beds are very hard and so are the pillows. The pool areas, grounds and beach are gorgeous!! We have been to the Caribbean numerous times as well as several cruises. My wife informed me that the rest of our vacations will be to GBPAkumal. We also booked our transportation to and from the airport through Cheap Caribbean. Olympus Tours was there at the airport with a sign and calling my name as we came out of the airport. They made it very easy and stress free.


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Austin, TX
Age: 45-54

June 27, 2011
Great Family Vacation

The resort was nothing short of sensational. All the staff, from the transportation from the airport to the hotel management, hotel service personnel, restaurant service, excursion staff... everyone treated us very well. Location and ocean views were spectacular. Great excursions. One of the most satisfying vacations I've had in many, many years.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Denver, CO
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 2, 2012
I would go back in a minute!

This was a honeymoon trip for my wife and I. Our first time to Mexico as a well. We upgraded to the Royal Golden suite and couldn't be happier we did! The room was nice! We were on what I would call the southeastern portion of the resort. It was very quiet. This place is huge but the way to get around was by their transit system. The name of the lobby it was going to is above the cart. The entire staff was very friendly! I was I had more time to brush up on my Spanish. I will learn more before we return. The food was decent. We actually enjoyed the 24 snack bar closest to our room most of the time but enjoyed the breakfast buffet at the Tulum resort the best! When you get there make your reservations for the nice restaurants right away. They book quickly! We had to return from our trip because of an emergency so we didnt get to enjoy the Tulum ruins or zipline like we wanted. I highly recommend adding the shuttle package to and from the airport. They even accommodated our quick return back with no issues. Brenda was awesome! She can book your site seeing while you're there. They recommend you stay in groups if you leave the resort. We took a cab one day but only use what the hotel uses. They have security checkpoints at various stops along the highway. We felt very safe there. Tourists are a major sourse of income there and your safety is their priority. They do carry machine guns but don't be alarmed. We will return to Mexico as soon as possible using this resort! Very awesome experience!

View from our room
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Detroit, MI
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 14, 2013
Amazing trip

We do not have a single complaint about the Gran Bahia Principe and intend to spend our next vacation at another one of their resorts.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 22, 2016
Best vacation ever

This is our 4th trip to Mexico. We stayed at the Grand Bahia Akumal his time and I can truly say this is the best resort I've ever been too. The food is great, service is excellent, beach doesn't get any better, entertaient is fun, rooms are super clean, friendly staff, and beautiful surroundings. Every meal offers high quality options. For example, not only eggs and bacon for breakfast but every morning we had caviar, specialty omelette and huge variety of everything you can possibly want to eat. Kids enjoyed snorkeling right there in front of our resort or they could enjoy the water park at the Coba. We had a group of 11 people both kids and adults ages 2-63 and all of us had something to do. Best vacation ever!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Columbus Ohio
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 29, 2015
Not Luxury at Bahia Principe

This was definitely not a luxury experience. The room was not ready when we arrived, all the appliances were unplugged and the minibar was empty. Nice way to arrive at 11 PM on your birthday and not able to have a cocktail. Called the front desk for water and soda, got it the next day. The next day was Sunday and help was short. On Monday construction started at 8 am and was still going on at 11 PM at a building next door. Called the desk and they said construction would not go past 11 PM. The next day I went to the desk and they said construction would not go past 6 PM. Bulls__t!! The next day construction was in the room next to us and below us. I called your website and talked to a rep and she set up a meeting with me and the manager of the resort. He didn't show up, sent a 20 year old who couldn't do a thing. Wanted to offer me a room 15 minutes from the beach and I had paid a premium for a beach view. The next day I talked to customer service, they gave me a $100 credit off our services used at the resort and offered a free bottle of champagne but it never arrived. Minibar was empty three of six days and room was not made up twice. The resort's shuttle system was very confusing and not identified. The resort was understaffed except for guards guarding construction. The snack bar people were very hospitable. I would not recommend the resort or the company which is building a new resort in Aruba and was constantly trying to sell it.


5 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 16, 2011
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal vs Grand Palladium

I have stayed several times at the Grand Palladium (all lobbies) and decided that we wanted to try something new. I have more negatives then positives POSITIVES: The beach area for calm swimming is beautiful! The food at some restaurants was far superior from the Palladium. The lobbies are beautiful. Beach Bar swings were a plus. NEGATIVES: We had to walk very far from our room to the swimming beach. (The swimming beach is on the Tulum side...I think) ONLY ONE BEACH BAR AND IT IS ON THE TULUM SIDE. Not enough activity on the Akumal side. Not many restaurants on the Akumal side (smaller than the Tulum side) Service was HORRIBLE! They treated hubby and I like we did not even exist. I didn't really mind because I was on vacation, but I love the service at the Palladium. Pools are so small and the bar tenders do not seem to enjoy their job. If you stay on the Akumal side, you can't even walk to the other lobbies, you need to take transportation. We had a rental car and used it between the lobbies.


6 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Bucks County, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year