All

Los Suenos Marriott Ocean and Golf Resort Reviews

Central America | Costa Rica-Puntarenas/Jaco/Manuel Antonio Areas Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 7 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.1
Room Comfort
 
4.5
4.4 out of 5
"Beautiful resort, near the marina, has a beach and beautiful pool with a swim up bar. Food was excellent. We really enjoyed s[our stay." – LaurieR
8 out of 10 (80%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

All Los Suenos Marriott Ocean and Golf Resort Customer Reviews

1-7 of 7 reviews. Sort by
July 11, 2011
Fantastic trip!

Los Suenos was amazing! We got the all inclusive package and we were expecting an underrated American buffet or something...But the cuisine was outstanding; it was Costa Rican and delicious. Even room service and tip were included in the package! The hotel was beautiful and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The only downside of this hotel was the beach. It was warm and you could get it, but it's a bit rocky. You wouldn't want to lay out on the beach. And there's no chairs or umbrellas out there anyway, even if you did want to lay out.

Fantastic trip! Fantastic trip!
28 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Colorado
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 13, 2012
Best vacation ever!

My husband and I stayed at Los Suenos the week of 12/5/2011 and used the all inclusive escape package. We had an absolutely fabulous time. The accomodations were beautiful and wonderful. Although they were repainting part of the hotel and lighthouse it was all done during the daytime and usually ended at 5 pm. Luckily our room was on the opposite side of the hotel so that we were not bothered by the painters nor the paint fumes. Our room was spotless and I loved the fact that they offered a refresher in the pm...I mostly liked the yummy chocolates that they would leave for us every night!! The food was amazing and the service was awesome. The managers at the front desk were very helpful with information. We did learn the hard way about making international calls and not utilizing a calling card that was purchased at the hotel. After a lengthy discussion the front desk manager Royer forgave the connection charge and instructed us to use their service instead. Lesson learned! Make sure you ask the wait staff if certain items are included in your all incluse package. Generally they are very helpful and usually know that you are using the all incluse but just to make sure don't be afraid to ask. Also it would have been nice to have free wifi available or at least offer it at a reduced price ..But otherwise it was wonderful and hope to go back some day!!!


33 of 36 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Grand Rapids Michigan
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 21, 2011
Aug.7-14 Vacation for couple

We went to CR to enjoy the rain forest and wanted to be on the beach with a pool at an all inclusive resort. The location was important so we could get to various parks for tours. We used the Swiss Travel agency located in the hotel for all of our tours and were very pleased with their service. It was pricey, but the tour guides were very informative and able to point out the animals & attractions we wanted to see. We really enjoyed tour guides knowledge & enthusiasm of the history and environment of CR. The Marriott property was as gorgeous as we expected. The only dissapointment was the beach had no clear water. The pool was really nice, clean, with a swim up bar. The drinks at the pool bar were quite heavy on the alcohol and frozen drinks not frozen. Maybe it was because of a trainee bartender, because the same drinks were great at all the other bars. There was no lifeguard at the pool. We didn't have any problems with lounge chairs and finding umbrellas to get some shade. During our stay we used Marriott points for two nights and didn't get the all inclusive package during those 2 nights. We found the restaurant menu prices to be expensive and were careful about what we ordered at each meal. We took a cab to the local grocery store to get extra water, drinks, & snacks so we weren't charged 3 times as much for the same brand bottled water in the hotel. The other 5 nights we switched to the all inclusive plan. Because we had to check out & back in, the hotel was accomodating and able to keep us in the same room.


24 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Northern Virginia
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 20, 2012
Huge Disappointment

This resort was the Spirit Airlines of resorts! They charge you for EVERYTHING! Their ALL Inclusive package, referred to as the Escape Inclusive Package, had many EXCLUSIONS! These EXCLUSIONS came with a surcharge of course! I was afraid to fully take advantage of this pricey to begin with package because I was uncertain of whether I would receive a bill upon checkout, eventhough I paid for the package upfront! The resort also leaves you to fend for yourself in trying to find ground transportation from the airport to the resort. Only PRIVATE shuttle or taxi service is offered; the cheapest rate I could find was $100 ONE-WAY through Costa Rica Holiday Rentals! The only other way to get to the resort is by renting a car and driving there yourself. This is the cheapest option, however, I did not feel comfortable renting a car in a country I had never traveled to and did not speak the language very well. The resort also was rather small; it looked bigger online. There was no evening entertainment of any sort. Thus, it was boring! You could take the hotel shuttle, which was $8 round trip, to the nearest town, Jaco, to search for entertainment, but you won't find much. The bottom line is that I will NEVER return to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean and Golf resort!


30 of 35 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 7, 2011
Good Times!!

Great view from our room. Clean rooms and Lobby. Super fresh food at the restaurants. Great service,friendly staff. Had dinner here every night at the outlets. Food was great as well as the drinks. Loved it, the staff makes the place special. Thanks to the following staff for going above and beyond and making this the best birthday I've ever had. Thank you: Rodrigo, Carlos,Jason, Marcos/Andres and Luis.


6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Age: 35-44

February 13, 2014
Fun Trip

Beautiful resort, near the marina, has a beach and beautiful pool with a swim up bar. Food was excellent. We really enjoyed s[our stay.


4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York and Florida
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 21, 2013
best babymoon you could hope for!

This place was amazing! The food, room, hotel, service... all of it was some of the best I have experienced !. We went during the end of my second trimester and not only was this hotel great, but the Costa Rica was so kind to my belly and I, I was treated like a queen! I recommend this place to everyone! We went in October, the slow season and it was like we had the place to ourselves, I loved it. DO NOT miss out on the all inclusive package, the food will be as high as your room bill if you try to do it separate. The food was amazing, every morning I enjoyed fresh baked goods, an entire table of fresh fruits and juices, and so much more.. dinner was amazing too, really not your typical, mass produced all inclusive stuff. You ordered off the menu like any other person paying full price. The staff was some of the nicest I have come across. The pool was awesome! The only reason I didn't give this 5 "palm trees" for everything was because the beach was only soso (very clean though!) and there weren't a lot of dining choices, though the menu was varied enough I think everyone will be happy!!


2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: new mexico
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year