All

Lodge Kura Hulanda Reviews

Caribbean | Curacao Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 25 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.1
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.5 out of 5
"The hotel was absolutely beautiful. very good snorkeling and diving. it is kind of far from town, I would advise renting a car." – jjjstarsandstripes
25 out of 27 (93%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Beautiful beach Patio in garden view Beach view to the left Oceanfront room

All Lodge Kura Hulanda Customer Reviews

1-10 of 25 reviews. Sort by
December 14, 2011
Curacao Jewel

We had a great time at Lodge Kura Hulanda. This is our second trip there, and our first time in the Garden View Room (the first time we stayed oceanfront). I really loved the atmosphere and we enjoyed eating breakfast and lunch out on the balcony listening and watching the birds and seeing the iguanas lounging up in the trees. The mosquitos are quite bad this time of year, so I was glad that a previous reviewer had recommended bringing bug spray. We enjoyed casual dining several nights at the Christoffel Terrace, and our final night we ate at Watamula. Although a bit pricey, we found the food to be very good. What we really came back for was the excellent diving. We had done many of the boat dives on our previous trip, so this time we took the more relaxed approach and dove the reef in front of the dive shop every day. We did a night dive which was really cool as well, I definitely recommend it. The dive shop is very accomodating to your needs. I definitely recommend renting a car so that you can drive around the island. It is not much more expensive than you pay for the shuttle and well worth it. Keep in mind that if you have an early flight when returning home, there is rush hour traffic between 6:30am-8:30am on the way back to the airport so give yourself plenty of time. We chose to buy groceries the day we got there, and stopped at the Centrum Supermarket and gas station which is located a few miles from the airport (shortly past the traffic circle going towards Willemstad). There is not a supermarket or gasoline station near the resort, so keep this in mind. Lodge Kura Hulanda is relaxation in a very natural environment. It is my opinion that older kids/teenagers may not find many activities to keep them busy, and could be bored at the resort after a couple of days. If you are planning a family trip, consider doing the Hotel Kura Hulanda for a couple days, followed by the Lodge for some variety.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 25, 2014
Different Experience Under New Ownership

I recently stayed at the Lodge Kura Hulanda in Westpunt (June 2014), and here is an overview of our experience. After doing extensive research and reading many positive reviews, we were convinced this would be a homerun for our inaugural visit to the island. It was beautiful, secluded, quiet and luxurious. Exactly what we were looking for. Upon arrival, I have to say I was a little bit confused about the discrepancy between what our research told us and what we were experiencing. It was only after a day trip into town that someone told us the resort had recently come under new ownership and upon our return that I learned the extent of the bankruptcy, closure and possible looting of the properties that had occurred. First the good: The front desk staff were helpful. The property is located on some seriously beautiful scenery and amazing natural landscape. Our room had an incredible view and patio for viewing sunsets and listening to the ocean at night. The snorkeling was fantastic. Exploring the natural caves and walking down the side of the cliff to overlook the rocky ocean were especially unexpected and cool surprises. The beach is as described and as the pictures show. Crystal waters, white sands, tiki umbrella shaded lounges. You can forget any problems looking out on that. Then the bad: There was no information in the room of resort accommodations, so you kind of have to find your own way around. That was fine, but restaurant hours and a map might have been nice to have on hand. While doing landscaping, the groundskeepers cut our WiFi and cable for the last 2 days. But, the landscaping was well kept. The rooms were fine, but a little outdated. Some things around the property could use a little TLC. Both ice machines on the property were broken, for example. Now the ugly: The resort website is misleading, showing images of the Willemstad property but describing the beach property at Westpunt and vice versa. For a first time visitor to the island and the resort, it was difficult to discern what to expect. Suffice it to say, the spa does not exist – not at the Lodge at least. The Sundries shop is also closed… indefinitely apparently. Which was unfortunate for us since our sunscreen leaked in the checked bags and there are no markets or shops nearby. The general accommodations listed for the rooms on the website are inaccurate. There were no radios and no DVD players. No iron, which was a little odd. Also, not that this is a huge deal, but those were not 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets on my sunburn, lol. Nice try. There aren’t 4 restaurant/bars – there is one restaurant and one “bar and grill” that serves the same 5 sandwiches that the main restaurant serves. Believe the previous reviewers when they say the food is mediocre and overpriced (but do order the catch of the day specials). And I’m pretty sure the Oceanside cocktails were non-alcoholic. But tasty, I guess. I think the worst part of it all, I’m sorry to say, was the service. With the exception of a few kind employees, the wait staff acted like we were a great imposition by coming to the restaurant or ordering a drink. One day they’d be friendly and the next day they wouldn’t even greet us or ask us what we’d like. They’d just walk up to our table and look at us expectantly after smacking down some laminated menus in front of us. It was strange and uncomfortable. They didn’t seem to know anything about the offerings or specials. Wine comes in 2 options: red or white and it’s a crapshoot what you’ll get if you order either. The bartender was borderline hostile on our first day, so we only had the one drink there. I didn’t see any other patrons that weren’t employed at the resort getting drinks at the bar the entire time we were there. But that could also be because the resort in general was eerily empty. I counted maybe 20 other guests during our weeklong stay there. They also made us wear stupid paper bracelets all week (like we were 21 year olds going to a club) to demarcate that breakfast was included in our stay, but then tried to charge us for breakfasts at checkout anyway (it was remedied by the front desk before we departed). And now that I mention it, the breakfast buffet was nonexistent. While there were tables set up in the restaurant for a buffet, there was never a buffet actually put out. Which I imagine was probably a good thing in the end, since there weren’t really other guests around to eat it. So overall, while it might not seem so from this review, we had a great vacation. Curacao is indescribably beautiful, and we weren’t going to let less than ideal accommodations get in the way of the scenery and a chance to unwind. But, I felt a responsibility to update the reviews on this site with an accurate reflection of what your experience might be now vs. what other reviewers had in 2011. The Lodge is prime real estate and a resort with real potential, but it is apparently in a slump right now. I’d proceed with caution before scheduling your dream getaway anytime in the near future until they either fold or work through their problems.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 6, 2010
Beautiful, but out of the way

This was a beautiful hotel, but it is on the opposite end of the island from all of the attractions. We intentionally booked it for this, but it was kind of a hassel to get into town every day for our excursions. It's perfect if you plan to hang around the hotel your whole stay and go to the beach, but we are more active vacationers. We rented a car and drove the 45 minutes to the other end of the island, but there is a shuttle if you're not pressed for time. The beach was nice, but small. The snorkeling was great right off the beach and we did beginners scuba diving with the dive center next door. We found chocolate on our pillows a few times during our stay, but we never figured out how they decided when to give it to us. We ate 2 meals at the restaurant, 1 breakfast and 1 dinner. The dinner was very expensive for the tiny amount of food they give you, but this is true for any hotel restaurant. There is a little local place at the end of the road that we ate at once, which was decent and cheaper. We only had breakfast at the hotel once because it started too late and it wasn't free. We went to the grocery store and got cereal, drinks and sunscreen because it's so much cheaper than buying from the hotel gift shop. Overall, a good hotel, but if we went again we would probably stay in the city just because it's closer to the excursions.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 19-24

November 9, 2011
Quiet, Clean with awesome beaches and snorkeling

Located on the west end of the island, Kura Hulanda is quiet and peaceful. The snorkeling is top notch. I appreciated that there was a dive shop right on sight. Not found that the diving schedule was set and non-changeable. If you plan on diving contact Ocean Encounters West and see if their dive schedule matches yours. If not you will need to look to another location for diving. The accomdations were clean and met our needs. Bring your insect repellant since mosquitos are prevalent and plentiful. There are three restaurants on site that are spendy but most restaurants on the west side were more spendy that I expected. A few restaurants outside the resort are a long walk or short car drive away.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: El Dorado Hills, CA
Age: 35-44

September 14, 2012
Paradise!

We enjoyed the resort, the beach and the grounds. It is a good idea to have a rental car when staying here so you can go to other beaches, sightseeing and a day in town. Definitely bring water shoes. Snorkeling was great. Saw tons of fish, a ray and some eels. Another tip is to bring an insulated grocery bag (in carry on) and hit Centrum grocery store on your way to the resort. The other stores are more mini-mart like. We picked up cereal, milk, yogurt, snacks, beer and sandwich items. We avoided the breakfast buffet and lunches which were overpriced. Went to beach bar once for dinner and had grilled skewers of meat which were good. Went to restaurants outside of the resort the rest of our trip. The pool is small but nice. Rooms could use some updating and a radio or a way to play music would've been nice. We also would've liked a map of the property at check-in and a listing of hours and activities available. We felt somewhat "on our own" to figure stuff out, which we did. We were Ocean Front 1 BR Suite which I highly recommend.

Beach view to the left Oceanfront room
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Phila, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 26, 2011
Beautiful and relaxing

Just returned from Lodge Kura Hulanda and Beach Club. The resort is a gem! Pro: The grounds are amazing and very well kept. The resort is extremely clean. Beyond the beautiful grounds, what impressed me the most was the friendliness of the staff. EVERYONE was gracious and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Although there aren't a lot of restaurant choices,the menu choices were varied and the food was delicious. We had an amazing snorkeling experience right off of the beach--better than trips we've paid for with excursion companies. We had read that the prices were high on the island. We disagree and found it to be one of the more economical places we have been. Con: Wear bug spray--even if you don't think you are being bit. Our room was a little dates, but it was comfortable and certainly served our needs for as much time as we spent in the room.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Cedar Rapids, IA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 17, 2011
Lodge was great!

We stayed four nights at the Lodge Kura Hulanda and fully enjoyed it. Our garden view room was on the small side, but clean and comfortable. The walk to our room was beautiful with blooming plants and shrubs lining well-maintained brick paths. The pool was clean and offered plenty of shady spots. The beach was beautiful, though up close it could have used a good cleaning to remove cocktail napkins and cigarette butts. Snorkeling to the left of the pier was quite pretty and great for beginners. Finding a beach chair was never a problem, but shady spots get taken up pretty quickly. The buffet breakfast was decent at a reasonable price, as was the lunch menu at the beach snack bar. The dinner was a bit pricier, but worth it for the evening views of the ocean. I would rate the food as good, but not anything exceptional. We had two great meals in Westpunt- at Janchee's and Lanhuis Misjei. Neither had the ocean views, but the authentic Caribbean cuisine was fabulous! Both are within 2 miles of the lodge. Disregard travelers who describe the Kura Hulanda restaurants as expensive- all were priced about what you would expect for similar restaurants around New England. I found Curacao lovely, but not packed with tourist action. If you want rest and relaxation with nice beaches and coral this is the place for you.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Connecticut
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Great Dive site

Excellent on premise PADI certified dive shop. Resort is cool but isolated. Not a lot of food options. Pool area is good, but beach is almost non-existent. if you're a diver, highly recommend - includes instructors that are excellent, well equipped shop, boat diving, and some spectacular reefs just off shore that are easily accessible. Staff was very friendly, Rooms are pretty cool.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Jacksonville, FL
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

July 18, 2011
Perfect Getaway!!

This was amazing getaway. It was everything you could have wanted. The views from the Beach Club were wonderful. It was a very relaxing and enjoyable setting. The meals were delicious, the service was excellent. Sydney made my boyfriend's Birthday very special. I would recommend this trip to Lodge Kura Hulanda and Beach Club.

Perfect Getaway!! Perfect Getaway!!
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Ft, Lauderdale, Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 9, 2012

overall was good however the food was average...very small portions for the price....as for the service at the resteraunts, i felt like we were in their way...they were more concerned with resetting a table then servicing the customer who was still eating..... Beach was very pretty but u need to wear shoes in the water due to all the coral pieces on the beach.......


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: new york
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year