All

L'Hoste Hotel St. Martin Reviews

Caribbean | St. Maarten/St. Martin Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 18 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
3.5
4.3 out of 5
21 out of 22 (95%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Cheese/apple/bread app Cheeseburger A good start to the new year New Year's Dinner across the street at Le P'tit Bistro

All L'Hoste Hotel St. Martin Customer Reviews

1-10 of 18 reviews. Sort by
April 1, 2014
Adequate and Clean

We like to spend as little time as possible in our room on vacation but of course require clean and comfortable for the few hours we are in-room. This hotel definitely fit the bill. The proximity to the beach was incredible as well as the village where there is lots of dining choices. The included breakfast was not great and the few mornings we ordered additional items took longer than expected to receive. Bottled water is critical so they sell it for a ridiculous price so we had to finagle a trip to the grocery to buy some. The "in-room" wireless stopped on day 2 and although promised to be restored by the next day, we didn't have for the rest of our stay. Front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. In the end, this is a 3-star hotel, and as such, it was adequate and clean. For a no frills, fairly affordable and highly convenient hotel, this is a great choice. Orient Bay is beyond gorgeous and this had great access to this pristine beach.

Adequate and Clean Adequate and Clean
9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New Hampshire
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 9, 2016
Best Location, Awesome Value

My boyfriend and I stayed here the last week of March 2016 and we agreed that coming here is all of what you make of it. The things that mattered were here: great location, easy access to grocery stores, did I mention location? This is not a 5 star resort and it doesn't pretend to be one either. We wanted an affordable hotel to serve as a home base because most of the day was spent outside. The room had a mildew smell but the essentials were good: clean sheets and daily towels, a handy mini fridge and kitchenette (sometimes we did cook our own food). The grounds were always being maintained by staff and everyone was super friendly (but not overbearing). No one dotes on you and that's the way we liked it. Renting a car is critical to explore the island. Its super cheap through the hotel ($40/day) but make sure you request automatic if you cannot drive manual. We went snorkeling and zip lining and it was awesome. Orient beach is the best beach we saw and it was amazing that it was steps away from our room. We ventured onto the nudist beach which was fun too. If you're easy going, go with the flow and don't mind the occasional dinner of bread, brie and lox (because everything shuts down at 4p), then you'll have an awesome and affordable vacation.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Rochester, NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 13, 2014
Great small beach hotel

L'Hoste Hotel on Orient Beach is an ideal beach getaway for those looking for a smaller, more intimate beach getaway. The property was very nice, the service very good and the location fantastic. The staff all spoke English and were very helpful. The beach was fantastic and contrary to what we had heard, Orient Beach was not crowded except for the one day 2 cruise ship were in port and bussed hundreds of guests to beach. We had been to St Martin a couple of times before but had spent little time in this area. The area is quiet at night, has several restaurants within walking distance, along with a grocery store, beach bars of course and a ice cream parlor. We would highly recommend this property to anyone that doesn't want the 1000 room hotel experience.


11 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: St Petersburg, FL
Age: 45-54

December 13, 2013
L'Hoste is the best

This was our third stay at L'Hoste. The beach is the best, located in the center of Orient Bay beach. Plenty to see and do, but also very quiet. There are 5-6 restaurants within a 2 minute walk The rooms are clean and quiet, with pleasant views. We would select same hotel if we make a 5th visit to the island.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: CT
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 15, 2013
Very relaxing vacation

The staff at this resort are wonderful. Very nice and helpful, I never had to ask twice for anything. The garden views are less than wonderful though. The view from our room was of a truck container in the parking lot of the resort next door. The garden was a strip of grass dug up with power lines running along the ground to a 2x6 wood pole sticking up from the dirt. Less than tropical and beautiful! But other than that the room was ok. The little kitchenette was helpful but it would have been nice to have some sort of table and chairs to eat at instead of perching on the side of the bed to eat. All in all it was a functional room but nothing to write home about! The beach makes this hotel great. Direct access to the beach and a great staff making sure your chairs are set up where you want and attending your every need. The water is perfect, no rocks in the water and a nice sandy bottom. We won't hesitate to return to L'Hoste. It's within walking distance to some terrific beachside restaurants and to the town square where there are also restaurants, though pricey. There are two good grocery stores in a short driving distance away, just learn a little French before you go so shopping is easier!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pelham, Georgia
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 3, 2016
Nice place, excellent stay

We were here for a night following our honeymoon in Saba. Katy was incredibly friendly and accommodating considering we showed up before noon to check in - fairly certain we got an upgrade, as well! The room was cleaned and ready in a very short period of time, after which she walked us through everything we needed to know with a smile. Overall, the resort was very clean. The beach, food, drink, and resort staff were all excellent, and there's plenty to do, see, eat, and drink within a very short walking distance. The room smelled a bit musty after the smell of the cleaners went away, but it's to be expected considering the heat, humidity, and constant A/C. The room was nice, clean, and comfortable. We will definitely go back if we find ourselves staying on the French side of the island again.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 26, 2016
Relaxing La Playa

If you want to get away to St Martin but do not want to be close to the hustle and bustle of the airport, commercialization and cruise ships, La Playa on the French side is the place to go. Nestled in a quaint gated community is a gem. The rooms could be modified a little bit and kept a bit cleaner but for the most part it was amazing. WiFi in the hotel is VERY weak and you cannot keep a good connection if you are in need of electronic devices. The pristine beach is just a short 30 second walk away. Also a short walk away you will find an amazing bakery with fresh pastries (perfect with coffee in the morning next to the beach). There are also a few restaurants right next door with great service and food. I will return for sure.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Gilbert, AZ
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 21, 2013
Wonderful Location

This hotel is right on the beach and there is so much to do there. Great that the chairs and umbrella fee are included The restaurant is good; they should serve dinner there, too. The room is spacious and comfortable, although they should put screens on the windows, so the bugs don't get in. Most of the staff were friendly and courteous. It is definitely worth the price.


4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

May 23, 2016
Great time and value

This resort was great not a 5 star but does not pretend to be. It had everything that my wife and wanted. Very short walk to the beach, easy access to food options for lunch. The beakfast was great, but simple with the option to pay for extras like bacon and eggs. Our room was clean, comfortable, and had a little kitchen if you wanted make some of your own meals. The beach was great and clean, what they don't tell you is that the loungers and umbrellas to the left are the only ones available to resort gest. The beach is topless, if that's your thing and an all nude beach further down. The pool and pool are we very nice and clean. If you want to take a side trip you can rent a car from the front desk for $35 US. There is a little plaza a short walk from the resort that has great dinner and lunch options, as well as a nice grocery store. Over all this was a great place to stay, would return in a heart beat.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Colorado
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 23, 2016
Great Place to Stay

Really like this hotel and the staff. Pool is great, service at the hotel is great, and we consider a lot of the staff friends because we've stayed with them so many times in the past and know them so well. It's a great location, pretty much right in the middle of Orient Beach, and the walk to the beach from the hotel can be made in 2-3 minutes, down a walkway just for that purpose. We do have a much lesser opinion o the beach bar and it's service. There was trash laying around the beach bar every morning and no one seemed to care. The beach boy was surly and very discourteous. They push all the motel guests to one area for beach chairs and umbrellas (provided at no extra cost) and leave the chairs at least 75 feet from the water's edge. In other words, the first line of beach chairs for the motel guests are about even with the third line of chairs for all the other establishments on the beach. Appears they don't want us there at all.... For these reasons we gave our business to another beach bar. The chairs and umbrella cost us extra, but at least we were treated with respect. Shame on you LaPlaya Beach Bar. You've certainly gone downhill in the last 3-4 years.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Kentucky. USA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year