All

Le Flamboyant Suites - Le Village Reviews

Caribbean | St. Maarten/St. Martin Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 13 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
2.7
Beaches & Pools
 
3.5
Dining Options
 
3.1
Room Comfort
 
3.3
3.5 out of 5
13 out of 15 (87%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

All Le Flamboyant Suites - Le Village Customer Reviews

1-10 of 13 reviews. Sort by
July 31, 2010
FOR THE RIGHT PEOPLE IT IS EXCELLENT

When we first got there I was a little worried about how it was going to be. but by the time we left, we thought it was the best vacation we had ever had. Le Flamboyant itself has some so- so qualities like no wireless in the rooms (which eventually we really did not mind), no DVD player in an essentially French environment, and very few utensils in the kitchen area (but the restaurants at La Flamboyant and in the towns are unbelievably good ), but it also has some terrific aspects. Besides the food, lagoon view rooms are great places to awaken in the morning, the pools are spacious and quiet, and the resort itself is nicely located if you have a car and want to explore the island. I agree with the reviewers who say it is best for couples who want a quiet vacation, but if we still had young children, I would love to be there with them as well. If you want a lot of action! , go Dutch (but no thanks ).


29 of 30 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: chicago area
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
La Flamboyant

This was a good stay for the money. Friendly service and the breakfast was included and was very good. Nice open area seating and the beach was right outside your door. No elevator for heavy luggage though. A definite return location.


19 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Connecticut
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 19, 2014
Incredible Island, TERRIBLE PLACE TO STAY

To begin, the island is absolutely incredible. So much culture, great food, awesome beaches, and SO much to do. We stayed on the French side, however we found ourselves mostly taking taxi's to the Dutch side for almost everything we did. It seemed as though the Dutch part of the island had most of the tourist things to do-bars, shopping, sight-seeing, etc. We are young travelers (19 & 22) and we were extremely impressed with our overall experience... Minus the hotel!!!!! When we first arrived to Le Flamboyant, we waited for at least thirty minutes for someone to even show up to the front desk. After feeling as though we were a HASSLE to the front desk, we were given our key to our room which was very easy to find but VERY hard to open! We had to ask someone to unlock our door for us and ended up taking twenty minutes of trial and error to learn how to do it ourselves. When we entered the room, it felt like we just moved into a run-down dirty apartment. The beds we hard as a rock and we were hesitant to sleep on the sheets. There were HOLES IN THE DOORS AND WALLS as if someone punched them in... and my worst nightmare... COCKROACHES!! With myself almost in tears, I realized that with my package deal I didn't have a choice- I had to stay here. My boyfriend and I ended up making the best of the overall trip as we didn't find ourselves in our room much except to sleep. We had to take short showers each day because the hot water ran out after about ten minutes of bathing. The worst part was the morning that we woke up for our flight. It was about 5 AM, and we were exhausted and ready to go back home. My boyfriend walks into the bathroom to brush his teeth, and sure enough, a COCKROACH the size of my thumb on the head of his toothbrush!!! He couldn't even brush his teeth!!! It is very disappointing and devastating that our trip would have been perfect if it weren't for this terrible hotel... and I haven't even gotten to the SERVICE! My boyfriend and I had a great experience with a taxi driver who we asked for frequently throughout our trip. TWICE we asked the front desk to call him (because our own phones didn't have any service on the island) and each time the rude lady at the front desk ROLLED HER EYES, AND TOLD US WE WERE WASTING HER TIME AND MINUTES ON HER CELLPHONE!!! I was amazed at the impolite, inconsiderate, and INSULTING service. There was one particular man, (Claud or Claus) who was very helpful but he only worked two days out of five that we were there. Every other time we were serviced by this discourteous woman who's assistance was obscene, unhelpful, and UNFRIENDLY. All in all, go to St. Martin! DONT STAY AT THE LE FLAMBOYANT!!!! :(


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Tampa, FL
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 1, 2013
Relaxing option

Flamboyant condominiums are clean and well kept. For the price we paid it was a good value. Be advised that it appears to be a timeshare facility with extra space to sell. Thus, there is no daily room service and guests are expected to pick up after themselves. This is not a problem but then don't expect to be pampered. As a condo, the rooms all have a full kitchen set up on the veranda- refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishes, pots & pans, etc. So if you want to do some cooking on your own to save a few bucks, that is readily available to you. It is low key and relaxing, located on the Simpson Bay Lagoon (i.e.- no ocean waves). For American travelers be advised to take an electric converter as the outlets are all 220 volt European style. That is, no place to charge your phone, laptop, iPad, etc. There is free WiFi but it is limited to the lobby or the restaurant area- not in your room. The service can be spotty (satellite maybe?) but when it works its fine. The single restaurant/bar serves good meals (we had one dinner and one breakfast there) but your best bet is to test out the many excellent restaurants on St. Martins. Use the hotel restaurant if you don't feel like going out or cooking your own meal in the room. There are water toys- skidoo, kayak, etc.and other recreational activities available. They also have a nice pool but no hot tubs. Don't expect much from TV unless you speak French. CNN, HBO (with French subtitles) and a sports channel were the only ones in English. Its weird watching the Disney Channel dubbed in full French! In all, it was a comfortable stay but we mostly used the hotel to freshen up before heading elsewhere and for sleeping. So it met our needs quite well. The primary irritation was not being able to charge our electronics but fortunately we didn't run out of juice over our 4 day stay.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Long Island, NY
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 4, 2014
Ok for the money

When we arrived it was dark and no one to greet us but security He gave my husband the key. We walked around to where the Room was located just So my husband could carry the bags up 4 flights of steps. You only get housekeeping once a week and they don't provide Wash clothes. We had a great time but we were on our own. The place Is no longer a hotel it is a condo development that rent rooms that haven't Been sold yet.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 45-54

October 8, 2014
great place to vacation

beautiful view, best location, to anywhere on the island, wonderful weather, to do whatever activities you want, or for the best relaxation, and rest, with quiet and serene surroundings.The room was very nice, and from the third floor we had the best view.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: houston,tx
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 23, 2014
Great for the price

We found this hotel for hundreds less than anything else offered in St. Martin. Staying on the French side of the island was great! It kept us away from the main tourist areas and the most busy beaches. The hotel is on a decent beach on a very nice lagoon but there are also 2 other beaches on the ocean within walking distance that became our favorites. The hotel rooms were very simple but kept clean and offered everything you need. I would stay at this hotel again and St. Martin is a must go!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Madison, WI
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 18, 2014
Lower your expectations and maybe you'll like it.

Look. This place is "OK". It's pretty inexpensive, it's primarily clean, it's well cooled in the rooms, the people are largely civil, some are even modestly friendly... BUT: If you are looking for SERVICE ala: Hotel style amenities... GO ELSEWHERE. This place is a condo that rents some of it's rooms. The location is in decent shape cosmetically as far as the buildings and exteriors go... But our room was well past it's prime and everything was kinda "worn out". We had dodgy and discolored water for 3 of our 8 days, NO water for 16 hours. Mediocre beds, dreadful pillows. TV from 1983 with 8 working channels and no ability to get anything better, even if it meant paying for it. The kitchen is OUTDOORS, which might have been cool if it hadn't been poorly designed and maintained and, BTW, you are required to clean it yourself. Any kind of cleaning for the non-kitchen area is bi-weekly and just a tad short of hostile upon delivery. Fridge worked. Toaster oven. No microwave. Badly designed dual hot plate which were really hard to cook on. Pretty undewhelming/useless cookwear and about 30% of the utensils you really need to stay around the ranch and make meals happen with any degree of persistency. Moving right along:


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New York NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 16, 2013
Flamboyant Le Village French St. Martin

Very pleased. Room is basic, kitchen is basic. Clean, Good deal for the money! Good location for getting around the island. Wonderful patisserie on grounds! French baguettes and croissants. Pool is A+. Surely would recommend it if you weren't looking for hi-rise luxury.

Flamboyant Le Village French St. Martin Flamboyant Le Village French St. Martin
1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Northeast US
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 28, 2014
Good value

The Flamboyant was a great value. To us, the important thing about a vacation is a clean place, and having fun. The Flamboyant provides that at a great value. The outside kitchen is really cool, and the size and cleanliness of the room was good. The pool was decent, restaurant and bar good, and location I liked. There is a gas station/convenience store which had lots to choose from, and very reasonable prices, and a french bakery in front that had great treats. The overall staff was mediocre, not exceptionally friendly or helpful, but not rude. Like with most things, you get what you pay for, we payed for a clean place, on a great island, and had an amazing time, and were satisfied with the accommodations.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Wilmot, NH
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year