All

Krystal Cancun Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 77 Reviews
Value
 
3.6
Service
 
3.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.1
3.5 out of 5
"WERE GIVEN THE RUNAROUND FOR FOUR DAYS WHEN THE AC WENT OUT. HEAT AT NIGHT UNBEARABLE WOULD NOT GO BACK TO THIS HOTEL OR RECOMEND IT." – gabbie
52 out of 88 (59%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Ocean view from krystal cancun room View Ocean view from night View from the balcony mold on our sheets! View from the balcony

All Krystal Cancun Customer Reviews

1-10 of 77 reviews. Sort by
August 2, 2010
Most Relaxing Vacation Ever!

Trip could not have been any better! Fantastic time! At the price paid, I would have been satisfied with way less! The NH Krystal was top shelf all the way! My pillows were still in plastic! Everything was spotless! So many dining options. The food might have been better than the beach and the beach was amazing! The service was amazing! CheapCaribbean took care of everything! Can't wait to book my next vacation with the site! The customer service was amazing and they mean 24 hour service!


107 of 114 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year

March 26, 2011
Krystal Cancun

I had the best time! The hotel was beautiful, the weather gorgeous , and I would recommend this to everyone-it was my first trip to Mexico and I can't wait to get back. I took a day trip to Isla Mujeres-beautiful sail boat ride over and white beach,nice people.can't say enough--I didn't want to leave.


59 of 66 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Ct.
Age: 55-64

August 1, 2012
Good hotel..but .....

This hotel is good..I really dont have anything to say bad about it...It is close to the clubs so you can walk.. Check in was really easy. Food was good nothing major. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean,and ac worked well..(thats major for me) But.... If you use a tshirt in the pool the securty will make a scene and tell you that you can not be in the pool with a tshirt on. I am not a "thin" person and have always worn one. The staff didnt care the bartender loved taking our tips as we sat at the pool bar. When I was told to get out of the pool it was the 3rd day in. I was having a skin issue looked at when I got back to the states so had to keep it covered..I asked to speak to the manager and waited by the pool for about a 1/2 hr..no one came. I went to the front desk and explained. They said it would not be an issue to keep it on...When leaving a review elsewhere I was told that its a rule that was suggested by the patrons..hmm.. so If you use a tshirt in the pool.. this is not the place for you. other than that it is a good hotel,but that spoiled it for us..


17 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: boston ma
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 2, 2014
Krystal Cancun, Mexico

I loved my hotel room so much because it was nice and clean, it had free beverages, my room had a front view ocean with a private balcony so I was able to sleep with my huge sliding door/window open to hear the sound of the waives all night. I highly recommend this hotel. Unlimited food, drinks and alcohol was the best part!! The service was outstanding!!!

Krystal Cancun, Mexico Krystal Cancun, Mexico
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Salt Lake City, Utah
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 19, 2015
Good Experience

The beach was amazing!!!! The water and view was absolutely gorgeous. We (my boyfriend and I) weren't huge fans of the resort but the outside atmosphere pretty much made up for it. Our room had a "run-down" look to it. There were several scuffs on some of the walls and not many decorations that just made the room look very cheap. Also the bathroom had water stains all over the ceiling that added to this look and feel. Most of the time is spent outside so this wasn't a huge deal but not the feeling we wanted to feel after spending the money to stay somewhere "nice". Some of the food was just mediocre while some was really good. If we returned to Cancun, we would not stay at Krystal Cancun again. However, it wasn't a bad experience, it just could have been better.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Indianapolis, IN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 6, 2016
Would not recommend

A friend and I booked this resort despite seeing a few bad reviews it had several good ones so we gave it a chance. First let me say the process with Cheap Caribbean was amazing! I would recommend it to anyone and will be using it again. Krystal Cancun was a different story. I could write a very detailed book about all of our experiences with this resort...but here are the facts. We stood in line for 30 minutes to check in and were told our room would be ready at 3:30 so we needed to wait even longer (another 45 minutes). At 3:30 we were told 20 more minutes, after that 20 minutes passed we went ahead and went up to the room only to find the maids still cleaning and we stood outside of the room for ANOTHER half our. We were told our bags would be brought up to the room, after calling the front desk to see where they were several times and being told someone would bring them up I went back down to the lobby and there they sat-in the exact same place they had always been. Our room had smudges on the mirrors, sand on the floor, stains on the sheets and pillows, the toilet leaked, one of the beds was sunken in and very uncomfortable and the fridge hadn't been restocked from the previous guests. The battery in the safe was almost dead so it wouldn't function properly. The main buffet is hit or miss on the food choices/quality and is very small. The "sushi bar" was the lowest quality sushi I've ever had and extremely unsanitary. Throughout our trip we needed washcloths, bottles of water, towels and such so we would call down to the desk to have them brought up, several times no one ever showed up to bring anything at all, other times they would bring the wrong items. Nearly every interaction we had with personnel at the resort was poor. From maids, check in, bartenders, servers-we were met with rude attitudes and poor service. (Victor at the front desk was very nice!) All of the public bathrooms at the resort were very dirty, most toilets were clogged, the stench was unbearable and could be smelled from the lobby. Our overall view of the resort was dirty---very dirty in almost all aspects. The (few) pros of the resort are...the beach-although it had a lot of trash(which i think is each resorts responsibility to clean) it is close and beautiful! The pool was large and clean, the snack bar out by the pool was clean and the food was great! The Mexican restaurant was the best part-all of the staff was friendly, it was very clean and the food was amazing. As two females in our mid twenties we weren't looking for much other than laying on the beach, having drinks and relaxing--for the most part we had a great time but had to keep telling ourselves "this is better than winter in Missouri" to keep from being completely disappointed (and mad) about how terrible the resort is. Anyone looking to book this place should heed my warning----I honestly believe the positive reviews arent from real guests who experienced this place.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Clinton, MO
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 9, 2016
So Glad We Looked Over the Bad reviews!

My Fiancé and I were so hesitant in purchasing this deal on Cheap Caribbean when I came across a price steal solely because of the few bad reviews about the resort, ones that would really not be worth the trip if it happened to us, but it didn't (at least not until our last day, but who cares at the point?!) Krystal Resort's front desk clerk men were really wonderful, always helped us when we needed anything, very attentive and answer all of your questions, negative, you almost always had to wait to be helped (easily 30 minutes not hours like other reviewers said). We were surprised with a bottle of wine and a beautiful piece of chocolate cake with congratulations written on it (as I had mentioned when booking I would be taking my fiancé here for his big 25th birthday) It was such a small and sweet gesture-really loved that! There are not 20 restaurants, just two on site, and then the buffets. We weren't expecting amazing food because of the price we paid and because its not a five star resort, but the food options and the restaurants (that you need reservations for-especially the Italian one) were actually quite tasty and some authentic things, we had nothing to complain on the food service at all, we were very satisfied! If you bring a ton of $1 bills, your mixed drinks won't be all juice, and just pure kindness as these people work their butt's off for all of us "all inclusive people"....we tipped $1-$2 for every round of drinks and $5-$10 on every meal, and we were treated like kings and queens-so its that simple, add $100 into your expense of the trip and just tip away! The water on the first three days was CRYSTAL CLEAR literally gorgeous. They are constantly cleaning the seaweed off of the beach so its truly all beautiful and worth it. On the fourth day the ocean had brought in a ton of seaweed, and was no long crystal clear, couldn't even go in, you'd be covered in seaweed and it was soon dark. We lucked out and got a completely updated room with an amazing balcony, other friends that we made there had standard rooms that paid the same as we did and our room was steps above them. Again we must have lucked out, not until the last day did our AC unit seem to stop working (so we just opened our sliding glass doors and slept with the sound of the ocean) and no hot water in our shower...but it was all the last day and I am sure if we would have let them know they would have rectified the problem immediately! The pools are just pools, nothing crazy wonderful could use some TLC, but the beach beds if you get out early enough are just so wonderful to lay on all day! Oh and there is a guy by the name of Leon, if he confronts you on the beach he is not a scam, we paid $80 for both of us to drive our own mini boat and go snorkeling on some reef, total three hour thing and we just took the public bus right down the rode for $1 each-so worth it! If we had found him sooner we would have done more activities through him as he was a lot cheaper than others! Ahhh I am sure I am missing so many things but it was really worth the $1,100 we paid for two people, all inclusive and flights! Would we go back is we traveled to the same places each time-YES!

So Glad We Looked Over the Bad reviews! So Glad We Looked Over the Bad reviews!
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: DC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 16, 2015
Great Vacation

Just returned from a great stay at the Krystal Resort. Booking this trip was a breeze. Everything went as planned. Beautiful hotel. Staff went out of there way to make sure our visit was all it could be. A little noisy from club activity the first night, but all we had to do was mention it at the front desk and they quickly moved us to a very nice room that was quiet. They even moved our luggage. We were not bothered by time share presentations because we were not interested. I would definitely recommend Cheap Caribbean and the Krystal Resort. Within walking distance to everything, even the Ferry Terminal. Never used a taxi entire visit. Hope to return next year.


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texarkana, TX
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 5, 2012
Trip was Okay

The service at the Krystal Cancun was very good. The waiters were very helpful. Our view was amazing. Book the ocean view. The beach was very nice. I booked my trip in July for a late November stay and asked the Cheap Caribbean advisor to see if we could be in the new tower. She could not book it but sent a note to the hotel. Upon my arrival, I was not staying in the new tower and in order to move into the new tower, we would have been charged $45 per night. Oh well. The room was clean. There was only one electrical outlet in the room and one in the bathroom. That was a bit inconvenient. I was extremely surprised that hair conditioner was not supplied. I was also surprised that bottled water is not included in the all inclusive package. The food selection was not very good. It was the same thing over and over again. I would not choose the all inclusive package at this hotel. Our best meals were at the El Mortero restaurant next door. We were happy with the Olympus tours transfer to and from the airport but would not advise folks to book tours with them. We overpaid for our excursions. I do not recommend the Tulum/Xel Ha excursion. You will be on the bus more than at the locations. Chichen Itza has become so commercialized with street vendors lining every path in the archaelogical site. I was disappointed.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 45-54

December 29, 2012
Great place

The vacation was simply great. The Hotel has a good location and the beach is breath taking. All restaurants and bars are great and we had a really good time. We had a club room on the 8th floor and I can only recommend this to others. The room was always clean and the service was great.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Colorado
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year