All

Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 214 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.3 out of 5
"Serve some faster coffee please!!!! and have creamer!!!" – sully789
220 out of 252 (87%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
view from our room Room view of infinity pool and ocean Room with a view!!! view from infinity pool to ocean morning at the infinity pool Long Beach Dive trip 1 Dive trip 3 So FUN!!! Fish Need Food!! small part of the rather nice beach Infinity Pool Fun Snorkeling the eef right off the beach Sunset over Jewel Beach amazing Photo of a lifetime Infinity pool and dive boat great view Sundown at Runaway Bay Night time beach

All Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 214 reviews. Sort by
August 29, 2014

We stayed as a family and from the very beginning things went from bad to worst...Mosquitoes were in every building and the quest rooms were the worst. We had difficuly sleeping because of mosquitoes and each morning found they feasted on us overnite. At least half the staff were unresponsive to our request or inquires. Many were just rude..mostly female staff. Many acted as if we were bothering them. The whole resort, with the exception of the quest rooms are open air, meaning no air conditioners. It might sound tropical BUT not when it's 90 degree plus weather on a humid day. Tho it is all-inclusive, the dining areas are all closed for extended periods except for a grill for hamburgers, chicken or wraps. Room refrig's weren't stocked regularly unless you repeatedly called. Phones in quest rooms didn't work nor did the clocks. Rooms weren't fully cleaned. Upon arrival had to fish out 'hairs' from tub drain just so shower would drain when I used for the first time. Hotel manager, Ann Marie, listed to our complaints tho I am sure she has heard them before and promised future action. CheapCarribean rated resort as a 4.0-4.5 I think. Manager said they are 3 star only. Kids were all over the place...appeared camps came in for the day which resort gave no regard to guest as it crowded pools, made food lines extremely long and generated noise


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: North Wilmington, DE
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 26, 2014
not happy camper,feel cheated out of a vacation.

where do I start,i feel mislead by other reviewer.the resort was not even close to others we have experienced.The golf course was the worst I've played on and I have played and worked at hundreds.the service without a smile was not good.The alcohol in the drinks was non-existent.the food was high school cafeteria quality.Misquintos were large and no matter how many we killed there were always more.Unless someone works in a tipping postion like waiter do not expect good service.i don't want to give specific examples because there are too many to mention. the trip too duns river and Bob Marley house were very good lots of fun and great people.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: florida
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 26, 2014
Great Value for the Cost!

Food was average. Great that only 1 restaurant required reservations. Most of the staff was friendly but slow which seems to be the culture. A big plus was the snorkeling right off the beach. Thought the pools closed too early. Rooms were comfortable. Great beds and showers. Beware of theft. We had some items including money taken from our rooms and at an excursion.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 26, 2014
Unforgettable

Unaccustomed to the resort setting/lifestyle, my family and I were overwhelmed by the service, amenities, and most of all hard-working staff at Jewel Runaway Bay Resort. We were treated to delicious meals and especially enjoyed local specialties served in the Coral Café. The beach was beautiful, the pools pristine, and the rooms sparkling. We enjoyed snorkeling, boat rides, photo session, and fitness classes too. Best of all was the ever-accommodating staff who seemed to be busy 24/7 - I only hope they are adequately compensated for their non-stop work. Bottom line: We highly recommend Jewel Runaway Bay for a magical, memorable getaway.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Arlington VA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 26, 2014
The people are very accommodating

Besides the beautiful grounds and beach, the people were the best part of the resort. Everyone seemed genuinely concerned that we were having a great experience. I went with my husband and 10 year old daughter. I chose this resort because of the reviews of the kid's club. It took a few days to figure out how the club even worked and then my daughter went there a few times but did not stay long. I was very disappointed that they didn't try very hard to include her. She is an outgoing child. Also, the entertainment at the Jewel was not as good as any other resort I have been to. All in all, the Caribbean never disappoints.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Mineral Ridge, Ohio
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 19, 2014
Excellent vacation

We went to Jewel Runaway Beach and Golf Resort July 2014. Our party included 2 parents, our 21 yr old son and his 21 yr old friend, a 19 yr old son and 16 yr old son. We had a great time. The staff were wonderful. The food was fun and delicious. They had events day and night that you could join in if you wanted to play. Our 16 yr old son was able to participate in the tween activities that ran from 9am to 12 am. He was constantly on the go with them, playing pool games, lawn games. a break for lmeals with the group and back for more activities. He stepped away from the sun for brief times to play a video game in the game room with the group. Ash was the leader of the group and she was absolutely wonderful. Ever time I saw her she was upbeat, smiling and making sure all the kids were having fun. Our older sons went to some of the activities that were happening around the resort like trivia, dizzy izzy, lawn hockey, volleyball in the pool and so on. The overall experience was great because all of the staff made us feel like they were happy we came and chose their resort. We have booked a few trips with Cheap Carribbean and we have been very fortunate to have smooth trips each time.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Brockton,MA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 13, 2014
Great Resort for Everyone

Everything about this resort was impressive. The service is awesome- all lifeguards, bartenders, servers, cleaning service, etc- extremely helpful and polite. The beach is excellent, nice sand with the ability to snorkel right off the shore. Multiple pools, all clean, including a swim up bar. Dining options are diverse and all delicious- I am picky and found no trouble finding options. Also, only one restaurant required reservations. There is quick, casual dining at the buffet and more "elegant" dining at Platinum- and everything in between. There is certainly plenty of families here, but we visited as a couple and never felt annoyed or out of place in the resort. There is plenty to do if you are a family or a couple getting away for some relaxation. If I had to chose a negative, the water sports selection was slightly disappointing. They offered a few kayaks but two were missing seatbacks. Snorkeling trips out to deeper water cost $15 a person. There were also no banana boats or water bikes. They do however have the catamaran rides, glass bottom boats and provide snorkel equipment for swimming off the shore. Overall an excellent visit- absolutely would visit again. Facilities, staff and environment were all awesome- can't wait to go back!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 6, 2014
Just ok

Average resort. Nothing there stood out to us. The beach was very nice but so are all the beaches in Jamaica . The housekeeping service was awful. We called daily for towels, washcloths etc. the front desk was very nice but the ladies at the tour desk were rude. The food was ok the nightly entertainment was boring. I have stayed at other resorts in Jamaica this wouldn't be my first choice.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 6, 2014
Just O.K.

Just O.K. Stayed for 5 days, the resort grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The surroundings at the resort is pretty and relaxing, but the lack of enthusiasm on the staff's part was a downer. I did not find the staff friendly, most seemed indifferent to their guests. The friendliest, was the young man who served us at the Platinum Restaurant. I believe his name was Kelvin. My rooms and the hallways were filled with mosquitoes, more mosquitoes inside than outside. Myself and my son had so many bites. I had to start applying repellant at night before going to sleep. I worried the whole time about "chikungunya" I asked for the rooms to be sprayed and was told they did, but every night the mosquitoes were back. I think they sprayed the center of the room while the mosquitoes hid behind drapes or in the closets. Thankfully, 5 days home; we all seem to be fine. The food was just O.K, the jerk chicken--more like roasted then add jerk sauce. The teen activities did not happen on "Ash's day off. This was not as fun as our last vacay in Jamaica.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 6, 2014
Jewel Runaway Beach

Very good value overall. Beautiful location with great snorkeling right off the beach. Not too big or too small. Lots for the kids to do. Nice pools. Good dining options although food was only mediocre. Wonderful, helpful staff. Clean, comfortable rooms.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 45-54