All

Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 200 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.3 out of 5
"Jewel resort was awesome I had an amazing time. Staff was great I look forward to returning soon" – 4EVER21
209 out of 236 (89%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
small part of the rather nice beach Night time beach view from infinity pool to ocean Room with a view!!! Infinity pool and dive boat great view Dive trip 3 Dive trip 1 Sundown at Runaway Bay view from our room Photo of a lifetime morning at the infinity pool Long Beach Room view of infinity pool and ocean Fish Need Food!! Infinity Pool Fun Snorkeling the eef right off the beach Sunset over Jewel Beach amazing So FUN!!!

All Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 200 reviews. Sort by
July 26, 2014
Picturesque

Absolutely the best place !!!! Food, people, cleanliness,service excellent !! If you want to see the water from ur room , Book the ocean view instead of water view room .


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York ny
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 21, 2014
Great experience

Really good experience in Jamaica. This hotel was more then what I expected . Personnel were very people friendly and always giving their services with a smile. Keron & Jason left me very impress with the kind of service they gave everyone. Omar the photographer, Dwayne the life guard, Alshane & Kadron the bartenders, and let's not forget Egg Boy the cook. I could keep on and on, I will Definitely visit them next year.

Great experience Great experience
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Miami
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 17, 2014
My Carribean experience!

Yeh Mon!!! Jamaica all the way!! I want to first Thank the Cheapcarribean.com agency.I would highly recommend them.I was not ready to leave to return home, from my vacation!! I throughly enjoyed my trip.From the moment I arrived at my Hotel ...The Resort was excellent ,begining with the Hotel, porters...the concierge service,right down to the maids...and the excellent foods. I will certainly be returning to Jamaica, Yeh Mon" Jewels Runaway Bay, Is certainly one of the best!!!!.....So I want to say Thank you, Samantha,Cerius, Thank you ,Sangeria, Benjamin, and the rest of the staff of Jewels Runaway Bay Resort. This was my first experience in the Carribean, most certainly not my last!!! See you Next Year,Yeh Mon!!! Sincerely, Sunshine05


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Austin,Tx.
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 11, 2014
Not bad but not great

This resort was okay over all. The food options were great and the room was comfortable enough for my husband and I. I would not recommend this resort for people without kids. This is appropriate for families since they close the pools around 6 and one of the bars around 6. They don't want you on the beach past 6 either. So it felt like someone was always nagging at us. The trip was good because we did excursions and left the resort, otherwise it felt like someone was coming up to us every second wanting to sell us some sort of activity. I will not be returning to this trip, I would rather go to Mexico. Yes, the food was not great there but it was definitely party nightly and a lot more fun. The music played was really slow and made me want to go to sleep each time. We did have some romantic nights because of this, but never had a full on blast.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Grand Rapids, MI
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 8, 2014
Wonderful honeymoon spot

We loved this resort! The staff went above and beyond for service and to make our stay memorable. The food was amazing, the water clear, and you could take part in many different activities throughout the day. We loved this spot!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Orland Park, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 8, 2014
great facilities poor rooms

when we arrived we were transported to the hotel which took an hour in a half. Check in process was smooth. we settled in our room and went to dinner. å beaches/pool very nice beach with a good amount of shade. i enjoyed this part the most! very clean and well kept! the pools were also very nice. on our second day, a lady brought about 15 kids. i think they were local because there were all kids with one adult supervisor. the kids made so much noise that kind of ruined the mood and made the buffet lines for the grill extra long. from what i understand, people are able to buy day passes to the resort even if they dont stay there. didn't like this one bit as the pool was basically a day camp for the children. rooms the first night was horrible. we ended up waking up at 3am due to all the mosquitoes. both me and my friend ended up with about 15+ bites each. We requested to moved to a different room and they ended up moving us to a room with a king bed when we originally had 2 twin beds. they added a small double bed to the room. the tv remote in the room didnt work and the hot water didnt work in the room. we called. after 3 times the maintenance guy came at 9 pm on that day and worked on it for an hr to fix it. another person came to fix the remote control the day after. Unfortunately, that entire day, the AC in the room didn't work. at 10 pm, we got a phone call saying it was fixed. Ours wasn't fixed but we were both too tired to keep calling the front desk. At dinner that day, we told our waiter and notified management and they said they would fix it our last day there. they didn't. we had a 10 am flight and we had to leave at 6 am the next day arranged by the hotel so we requested for packed breakfasts. They didn't even have the request by the next day. food average buffet food. egg boy had a great attitude whereas the omelet girl had a horrible attitude. props for having different dining experiences each night. the italian and platinum dinner was the best. wish that there were more jamaican food though! there were a couple of guys who also got coconuts for ppl on the beach! activities most activities required extra cost with the exception of glass bottom boat, kayak, and archery.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: new york, ny
Age: 19-24
Travel: 7+ trips/year

July 8, 2014
Great Resort

Jewel Runaway Bay was a great pick for our first trip to Jamaica. Me, my husband, son (20), daughter (16) and daughter (7) stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed our time there. A couple of notes. The entire resort with the exception of one restaurant is open air. I am pretty sure it was mentioned somewhere but I didn't pick up on it until we got there. Also there is not a lot to do outside of the pool and beach and of course the bars. While for my husband and I this wasn't a big deal, my 16 and 20 year olds were bored at night. That being said, service was great, rooms were clean and food was good.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Tampa FL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 3, 2014
Love the Beach and Reef!!

I came to the Jewel the week of June 15th and did not want to leave. This place is the bomb, service with a smile. I would recommend upgrading to the Westside with a plunge pool. The bartenders (Ojay) always have a smile, friendly and have some puzzle they want you to solve. One of the few places with a nice reef. My room was always clean and with turndown service. Lots of outside activities everyday and night, from sailboat rides to a new waterslide coming soon. They truly appreciate everyone who visits the jewel. I will be back! A big shout out to Anthony at the hibachi grill, great night. signed silver wings..haha and Clive the art instructor who saved our vacay when my girlfriend got sunburned. She really had a great time creating art work with his help. She even continued to go to art class when she wasn't sunburned. Charmaine always cleaned our room great.

Fish Need Food!! Long Beach
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Hot Springs, AR
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 25, 2014
Fun resort, staff getting there

The property is fine, the AC was cold, so that worked out fine. The food was OK, not great. Standard fair for an all inclusive. The staff were friendly and really kid friendly. My daughter had a particular affinity to the "Egg Man". Snorkeling was Awesome right off the beach. Ton's off fish to feed all day. The beach was clean and had enough shade. We took the resort course from the scuba with two kids, 10 and 13 who were diving for the first time. The DM's were absolutely first rate and very safety conscience and very fussy about it. The really great thing was the ratio of DM's to divers was about 1 to 3. 45 minutes to about a depth of 30 feet. Water was clear, current nil, but as Jamaican waters go, not a lot of large fish. The area is now protected though, and there were many more fish than two years before. We did see a couple nurse sharks which was cool. Laser tag was a lot of fun. We don't have any little ones, but I ducked into the nursery for a second to cool off. That place was immaculate!! Your toddlers would have a ball in there and you should not have a moments worry about them. I saw a few people skyping so the lobby WiFi works. Dinner on the beach night was really awesome. They set up all the tables and you eat dinner right on the beach. The food that night was really good. They serverd a ton of local favorites. Try the ox tail. Bartenders were fast, and the drinks not very strong. They will always add rum if you like, and for the kids just about any frozen drink was available virgin. Small souvenir and sundry shop. Yes, this is the old Beaches resort. You may want to splurge for the private pool rooms. BTW, when I say the staff is getting there, I mean that this resort went from all adult to try to be family friendly. Take a little transitioning and they're getting there. Ya Mon, Every ting is Irie.

Photo of a lifetime
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Royse City TX
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 13, 2014
great value

Food was good , improved from last visit 2 years ago. Staff is top notch.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Lisle, N.Y.
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year