All

Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 209 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.3 out of 5
"Serve some faster coffee please!!!! and have creamer!!!" – sully789
217 out of 247 (88%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Fish Need Food!! Long Beach Night time beach Sunset over Jewel Beach amazing great view Dive trip 1 Infinity pool and dive boat view from infinity pool to ocean Room view of infinity pool and ocean view from our room Dive trip 3 Infinity Pool Fun Sundown at Runaway Bay morning at the infinity pool Photo of a lifetime small part of the rather nice beach Snorkeling the eef right off the beach Room with a view!!! So FUN!!!

All Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 209 reviews. Sort by
August 19, 2014
Excellent vacation

We went to Jewel Runaway Beach and Golf Resort July 2014. Our party included 2 parents, our 21 yr old son and his 21 yr old friend, a 19 yr old son and 16 yr old son. We had a great time. The staff were wonderful. The food was fun and delicious. They had events day and night that you could join in if you wanted to play. Our 16 yr old son was able to participate in the tween activities that ran from 9am to 12 am. He was constantly on the go with them, playing pool games, lawn games. a break for lmeals with the group and back for more activities. He stepped away from the sun for brief times to play a video game in the game room with the group. Ash was the leader of the group and she was absolutely wonderful. Ever time I saw her she was upbeat, smiling and making sure all the kids were having fun. Our older sons went to some of the activities that were happening around the resort like trivia, dizzy izzy, lawn hockey, volleyball in the pool and so on. The overall experience was great because all of the staff made us feel like they were happy we came and chose their resort. We have booked a few trips with Cheap Carribbean and we have been very fortunate to have smooth trips each time.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Brockton,MA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 13, 2014
Great Resort for Everyone

Everything about this resort was impressive. The service is awesome- all lifeguards, bartenders, servers, cleaning service, etc- extremely helpful and polite. The beach is excellent, nice sand with the ability to snorkel right off the shore. Multiple pools, all clean, including a swim up bar. Dining options are diverse and all delicious- I am picky and found no trouble finding options. Also, only one restaurant required reservations. There is quick, casual dining at the buffet and more "elegant" dining at Platinum- and everything in between. There is certainly plenty of families here, but we visited as a couple and never felt annoyed or out of place in the resort. There is plenty to do if you are a family or a couple getting away for some relaxation. If I had to chose a negative, the water sports selection was slightly disappointing. They offered a few kayaks but two were missing seatbacks. Snorkeling trips out to deeper water cost $15 a person. There were also no banana boats or water bikes. They do however have the catamaran rides, glass bottom boats and provide snorkel equipment for swimming off the shore. Overall an excellent visit- absolutely would visit again. Facilities, staff and environment were all awesome- can't wait to go back!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 6, 2014
Just ok

Average resort. Nothing there stood out to us. The beach was very nice but so are all the beaches in Jamaica . The housekeeping service was awful. We called daily for towels, washcloths etc. the front desk was very nice but the ladies at the tour desk were rude. The food was ok the nightly entertainment was boring. I have stayed at other resorts in Jamaica this wouldn't be my first choice.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 6, 2014
Just O.K.

Just O.K. Stayed for 5 days, the resort grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The surroundings at the resort is pretty and relaxing, but the lack of enthusiasm on the staff's part was a downer. I did not find the staff friendly, most seemed indifferent to their guests. The friendliest, was the young man who served us at the Platinum Restaurant. I believe his name was Kelvin. My rooms and the hallways were filled with mosquitoes, more mosquitoes inside than outside. Myself and my son had so many bites. I had to start applying repellant at night before going to sleep. I worried the whole time about "chikungunya" I asked for the rooms to be sprayed and was told they did, but every night the mosquitoes were back. I think they sprayed the center of the room while the mosquitoes hid behind drapes or in the closets. Thankfully, 5 days home; we all seem to be fine. The food was just O.K, the jerk chicken--more like roasted then add jerk sauce. The teen activities did not happen on "Ash's day off. This was not as fun as our last vacay in Jamaica.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 6, 2014
Jewel Runaway Beach

Very good value overall. Beautiful location with great snorkeling right off the beach. Not too big or too small. Lots for the kids to do. Nice pools. Good dining options although food was only mediocre. Wonderful, helpful staff. Clean, comfortable rooms.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 45-54

August 4, 2014
Lots of Family Fun

Once we got into Jamaican time (slow paced) things were great. All of the workers we encountered were friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable though we only used them to shower before dinner and to sleep. We traveled with a group of 16, 10 of which were teenagers. The resort was small enough that everybody was always close by. We felt very safe at all times. The grounds, pools, and beach were well maintained. It truly felt like paradise! Our families participated in snorlkeling, glass bottom boat rides, catamaran rides, archery, and laser tag (we had a blast!) at no additional cost. The pizzeria took way too long for a plate sized pizza (1 hour) and the Platinum restaurant was 1 1/2 hours for breakfast and almost 3 hours for dinner. The hibachi restaurant was great! Purple and the entertainment staff kept our families involved every day and night. Overall, a lot of family fun!

Lots of Family Fun
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Southern New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 4, 2014
Not Impressed!

The towel situation was the worst I've ever experienced , they ran out of towels, they took our extra towels out of the room and all our washcloths our friends couldn't shower because they didn't have one towel to dry off with! Lost my jacket first day, but didn't realize it until the last day, they said really there was nothing they could do about it because we were leaving that day and they just couldn't do anything! Although we tip at every resort we go to even if it clearly says no tipping , this resort did expect you to tip and we certainly tipped a lot , except for the bars we received no special attention, and that was fine , but that is the mentality of this resort, no hurry, no worry! Just not to my liking! All the times of operation and times the bars and restaurants are open posted on the internet and advertising are incorrect, if it says your open you should be open! Just a careless attitude! Once your there they have you, does no good to voice your concerns, your not getting anywhere fast! Your stuck!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Ft, lauderdale , FL
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

July 28, 2014
Wonderful Trip

The people were so friendly. Made us really feel welcome. The restaurants were great. Everything was clean. Beach and pools were great. Drinks, well what can I say. Everything you could want. I would stay here again and if you struggling to book your trip, don't. You will not regret it.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 28, 2014
Very disappointed

I was very disappointed, when I arrived at runway bay. I had purchased an adult vacation package. It was far from it. There was kids running wild everywhere. No Adult supervision. There is not much you can do when you are far away from home but make the best of it. I'm very upset with cheap Caribbean. I will never purchase another vacation with them.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: North Carolina
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 26, 2014
Picturesque

Absolutely the best place !!!! Food, people, cleanliness,service excellent !! If you want to see the water from ur room , Book the ocean view instead of water view room .


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York ny
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year