All

Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 193 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.3 out of 5
"Went for 4 days and it was great. I'll do it again." – Tr4525
202 out of 228 (89%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Night time beach Photo of a lifetime morning at the infinity pool Long Beach view from our room So FUN!!! Dive trip 1 view from infinity pool to ocean Room view of infinity pool and ocean Fish Need Food!! Snorkeling the eef right off the beach Room with a view!!! Infinity pool and dive boat Dive trip 3 great view Infinity Pool Fun Sunset over Jewel Beach amazing Sundown at Runaway Bay small part of the rather nice beach

All Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 193 reviews. Sort by
July 3, 2014
Love the Beach and Reef!!

I came to the Jewel the week of June 15th and did not want to leave. This place is the bomb, service with a smile. I would recommend upgrading to the Westside with a plunge pool. The bartenders (Ojay) always have a smile, friendly and have some puzzle they want you to solve. One of the few places with a nice reef. My room was always clean and with turndown service. Lots of outside activities everyday and night, from sailboat rides to a new waterslide coming soon. They truly appreciate everyone who visits the jewel. I will be back! A big shout out to Anthony at the hibachi grill, great night. signed silver wings..haha and Clive the art instructor who saved our vacay when my girlfriend got sunburned. She really had a great time creating art work with his help. She even continued to go to art class when she wasn't sunburned. Charmaine always cleaned our room great.

Fish Need Food!! Long Beach
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Hot Springs, AR
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 25, 2014
Fun resort, staff getting there

The property is fine, the AC was cold, so that worked out fine. The food was OK, not great. Standard fair for an all inclusive. The staff were friendly and really kid friendly. My daughter had a particular affinity to the "Egg Man". Snorkeling was Awesome right off the beach. Ton's off fish to feed all day. The beach was clean and had enough shade. We took the resort course from the scuba with two kids, 10 and 13 who were diving for the first time. The DM's were absolutely first rate and very safety conscience and very fussy about it. The really great thing was the ratio of DM's to divers was about 1 to 3. 45 minutes to about a depth of 30 feet. Water was clear, current nil, but as Jamaican waters go, not a lot of large fish. The area is now protected though, and there were many more fish than two years before. We did see a couple nurse sharks which was cool. Laser tag was a lot of fun. We don't have any little ones, but I ducked into the nursery for a second to cool off. That place was immaculate!! Your toddlers would have a ball in there and you should not have a moments worry about them. I saw a few people skyping so the lobby WiFi works. Dinner on the beach night was really awesome. They set up all the tables and you eat dinner right on the beach. The food that night was really good. They serverd a ton of local favorites. Try the ox tail. Bartenders were fast, and the drinks not very strong. They will always add rum if you like, and for the kids just about any frozen drink was available virgin. Small souvenir and sundry shop. Yes, this is the old Beaches resort. You may want to splurge for the private pool rooms. BTW, when I say the staff is getting there, I mean that this resort went from all adult to try to be family friendly. Take a little transitioning and they're getting there. Ya Mon, Every ting is Irie.

Photo of a lifetime
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Royse City TX
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 13, 2014
great value

Food was good , improved from last visit 2 years ago. Staff is top notch.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Lisle, N.Y.
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 27, 2014
great trip

We absolutely loved the Jewel Runaway Beach resort.. We were traveling with a party of 12 with 6 kids ranging from 17 to 12. They had an awesome time with the water sports, snorkeling, laser tag and capture the flag on the beach late at night. They loved the pools too. We enjoyed the Hibachi the most and the Italian restarant as well. Kids loved the fresh pizza at the brick oven. They would have like Chicken tenders at the grill though. The outdoor dining under the stars and bbque were so nice but could have used a bit less spicy food. The morning buffet was always great from omelets to fresh fruit smoothies. We loved Egg Boy :) The outdoor shows were fun. The drinks and staff that served them were amazing! Garnett and Energy along with all the others were just great!! We took a trip to Dunn's river falls and loved it. The rooms were fine but we would get one facing the pool instead of garden next time. Also the rooms could use hooks and a mirror in them. The fridge in room was always stocked. The only drawback was that we never were really able to get wifi anywhere in the lobby etc. Overall fantastic trip, beach and resort!! We'll be back. We were the last ones on the beach everynight watching the sunset. We live at the Jersey shore and never had a sunset like that!!

Sunset over Jewel Beach amazing
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 21, 2014
jewel runaway bay

Jewel resort was great. Resort very clean and staff were very nice. Food was very good...hibachi restaurant was very entertaining and food was good. Beach party and entertainment was enjoyable. Did have 2 days with cold shower which was not pleasant after being sun burned. Overall great place and will go back. Loved the jerk pizza!!!! Excursion staff helpful when choosing zip lining which was a highlight of the trip!!

great view
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: ct
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 17, 2014
We will be back

People, beach, food, were all great. The rooms might be getting a little dated but who cares. We spent a lot of time on the beach, we like to swim and snorkel which you can do right there, lots of fish, saw four octopuses. All the food is good, I was gaining a pound a day, unlike Mexico where I was loosing a pound a day, lol. It is about an hour ride from the airport, but we had a cool driver and we made a beer run to a local roadside bar, yes you can drink on the bus. The entire staff was awesome, everyone was helpful and glad we were there, I did not see anybody with an attitude not even a guest. We will be back, all eleven of us. Go Here, Relax, Have Fun,


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: IOWA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 16, 2014
Paradise vacation

This resort seems to be doing everything right. The hotel is wonderful, the beach beautiful, swimming is fantastic. The water was gorgeous and you can borrow snorkel and mask to see the fish in the reef close to the beach. The glass bottom boat is free and there are other water sports as well - windsurfing, sailing, kayaking, snorkeling further out. The food was sumptuous with a huge variety and a lot of local delights. There are several restaurants: the Coral restaurant on the beach, Italian, Japanese, Sushi, Pizza and snack grill - all of them excellent quality. The staff was amazing, friendly and helpful despite long hours, often working 6 days a week. There are activities and games. We enjoyed archery and there is tennis and golf exercise class in the pool or gym and much more. And the dancing to the band in the evening was fun. Sitting on the beach soaking up the beautiful view, the gorgeous sunset, the palm trees, the stars and full moon was a special treat.

Paradise vacation Paradise vacation
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Canada
Age: 45-54

April 14, 2014
A Very Nice Resort!

This was my 2nd stay at the Jewel Runaway Bay and I was just as pleased with this trip as I was during my 1st visit. The people are the absolute best part of this place and I can't say enough about how wonderful they are. The food wasn't very good (except on Friday nights) and the rooms need updating, but the Jewel makes up for it with cleanliness and their fantastic drinks. The beach is fabulous along with the pools. I would go again!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Climax, Michigan
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 13, 2014
Amazing vacation

We just returned from our second trip to the Jewel Runaway Bay resort. We took our first trip in February, we loved it so much that we booked again and took our kids for spring break. Both trips were wonderful relaxing vacations. The service is impeccable. All the staff go above and beyond. Huge shout out to Javan, he made sure we always had what we needed and took extra time to get know us. Also thank you to Fredrick, he works all day everyday, cooking great meals. Macho, the tennis pro is amazing he worked everyday with our son, lots of fun. So many good things about this resort, we will definitely be back soon.

Room with a view!!!
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Georgia, USA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 5, 2014
Can't wait to go back

Had a great time! Can't say anything bad about our experience at this resort! This was advertised as a 5 day trip and it was really only 3 1/2 days of resort and the rest was travel so would have liked some more time there. Since our trip was short we just stayed at the resort and didn't do any excersions which was fine with us. Food options were wonderful! You should try Japanese steak house! So good and fun! Workers were all so nice.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year