All

Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 233 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.3 out of 5
"great place to stay for 3-4 nights. Simple rooms, friendly staff and decent food. not the best beach but very clean" – March23
239 out of 273 (88%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
small part of the rather nice beach Snorkeling the eef right off the beach Fish Need Food!! view from infinity pool to ocean Sundown at Runaway Bay Night time beach Room view of infinity pool and ocean morning at the infinity pool Long Beach Dive trip 3 view from our room Room with a view!!! Infinity Pool Fun Sunset over Jewel Beach amazing So FUN!!! Photo of a lifetime Infinity pool and dive boat Dive trip 1 great view

All Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 233 reviews. Sort by
March 15, 2013
Amazing Resort

We stayed at Jewel Runaway in late February and it was amazing!!! Service was spectacular. We got a free upgrade to oceanfront rooms with plunge pools! All restaurants, including the buffet, were great. Rooms were cleaned daily and everything felt very safe. Can't think of one complaint. Clayton and Lenford were great bartenders, they kept us very entertained. We are 30 something couples and the resort was great. We could party or find places for quiet as well. Late night Jerk Sandwiches were to die for! We will definitely be returning. Thank you for an amazing vacation. Also important to note, treat others as you wish to be treated, in reference to the staff. Be nice to them, they're working people just like you are!!!!!


41 of 42 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Fall Creek, WI
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Great Vacation!

Until our recent Breezes vacation my husband & I (both early 40s) were die-hard cruisers. This year we did more of a last-minute vacation and we could not find a cruise that would meet our budget, so we started looking at all-inclusives. Between the two of us, I am the acting travel agent , and I did find a number of deals that met our budget, but it was only after extensive additional research of customer reviews that I felt good about going forward with making a reservation for a package at Breezes Runaway Bay. This was also my first time using CheapCaribbean.com and they had the best overall deal by far. We LOVED this resort!! Realistically however, I liken this vacation to our first cruise in that we have nothing to compare it to as far as all-inclusives go (the first time IS always the best, after all :) Also, we are not complainers--any opportunity to be in the Caribbean and away from work is good enough for us--things would have to be pretty bad to make us say we had an awful vacation. What we loved most about the all-inclusive vs a cruise was not getting that bill at the end for tips & drinks! Since we are not heavy into sight-seeing or activities when on vacation (especially in the Caribbean), the laid back atmosphere of this resort was perfect for us. We were there the week of Memorial Day, and I would venture to say they were probably at well under 50% of capacity (which is probably why we got such a fantastic deal for a 6-night stay). For us, this was great--no lines at the buffet or bars and no real problems getting a shaded cabana or lounge chair. This resort also appealed to us because it is pretty small (under 300 rooms) compared to some of the mega-resorts (1,000+ rooms) we looked into. We spent most of our time by the infinity pool, which also has the swim-up bar. The only real "negative" as far as the pools go is that if you don't get a cabana (main & infinity pools only), there is not too much else available with shade. There are plenty of palm trees offering shade on the beach. We were in a standard room and it was just that--standard. Nothing fancy or luxurious, but it was clean & comfortable. The biggest downer about the room is that we seemed to have a colony of mosquitos breeding in our bathroom! Even though May is part of Jamaica's rainy season, and we expected to encounter mosquitos, I don't think we ever really saw any or got bit while in the outside public areas. We didn't really think of it at the time, but I bet if we would have asked, we could have had housekeeping spray our bathroom with a repellant. A heads up to women--the standard room bathroom had a good amount of counter space, but did not have a medicine cabinet or any kind of shelving. If you like to have your cosmetics & toiletries within reach, you might want to bring some kind of organizer. I ended up using drinking glasses for my smaller cosmetics. Also, the lighting in both the bathroom & the main room is VERY poor. The one drawback of being there when it was so slow is that the alternative dining options were limited. The dining schedule for Munasn (Japanese) & Starlight Grill, to us, seemed kind of random. As far as we could find, there didn't seem to be a set schedule. Since the Starlight is totally open-air, it was dependent on the weather, and we also got the sense that with a low occupancy, it was probably not worth it for them to have both open every night (or whatever the schedule was) anyway. If we had been more intent on wanting to eat somewhere other than the buffet, we probably would have made more of an effort to find out for sure when the alternatives would be open and/or make a reservation, but we were perfectly happy with the buffet restaurant. For the most part, I eat vegetarian and there were always plenty of yummy salads, vegetables & fruits. The made-to-order breakfast omelette or lunch&dinner pasta station was also very good. Like the room, the buffet was not extraordinary or extremely elegant, but it had plenty of variety and the food was tasty. We are not big Italian food fans, so we never even checked out Martino's menu or dining schedule. (Martino's is the only indoor, air-conditioned alternative restaurant.) The best thing about Breezes Runaway Bay for us was the staff! Not only was everyone very friendly, but for the most part, they seemed genuinely friendly--like they were really glad you had chosen to vacation there, and they really did want to help make your vacation enjoyable. Also the resort was very well maintained & extremely CLEAN. Almost every time I went to the main restrooms for the buffet/pool/beach area there was a housekeeper either entering to clean, in the process of cleaning, or just finishing up cleaning them. A couple of tips 1) Bring your own insulated mug...not only will you have to go to the bar less often, but you can help cut down on the amount of plastic cups going into the garbage. (Don't worry--the bartenders won't think twice about your asking them to pour you a beer or mix a drink in your own mug!) 2) If you can, avoid an early morning flight home at all costs. Our flight out of Montego Bay was at 7:30am, but our shuttle left the resort at 3:30am!! The drive to/from Montego Bay is probably 45min-1hr, but you might also have to stop at other Breezes resorts to pick up additional passengers. It is not an actual "Breezes" shuttle, it is a contracted taxi, so I suppose they want to allow plenty of time in case of any unforeseen delays that could result in you missing your flight and blaming the resort. No chance of that in our case--we arrived at the airport before the airline counters were even open. Needless to say, it was a LONG day for us--we didn't get home until around 8:00 pm :( If you expect luxurious accommodations and to be waited on hand and foot, then this is not going to be for you. If you are looking for a gorgeous place to relax with clean, comfortable accommodations & a friendly staff then I think you will LOVE Breezes Runaway Bay!

Great Vacation! Great Vacation!
32 of 33 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Madison, WI
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 3, 2011
Like a Decorated Motel 6

I have stayed at this resort a number of times over the years, and the property deteriorates a little more with each stay. The SuperClubs chain is clearly a hotel management company trying to survive, as they have lost two hotels in Jamaica and one in South America in the last six months. In addition, AAA has not be kind to them, with their resorts dropping in ratings. Unfortunately, instead of trying to improve, management is running these hotels into the ground, and then dropping their lease agreements with the owners. The rooms are very basic with no pictures on the walls and empty spaces where furniture used to be, but was removed. The hotel sells day passes to locals, so weekends can be a bit crowded. The employees clearly give priority to the locals in the restaurants, and service for the rest of us suffer. They cut back on activities such as the glass bottom boat rides and the trapeze. The best part of the resort is the dive shop. These guys do a fantastic job. The restaurants are descent, but the food at the buffet can be repetitive. There are far nicer and better run hotels in Jamaica, and I only tend to frequent Breezes for last minute trips when other hotels are full. This hotels markets heavily to Americans who are somewhat unfamiliar with all inclusive resorts, so be prepared for some obnoxious individuals who drink to excess and ruin it for everyone in their vicinity. Finally, security on the beach has declined, as we were approached a number of times by outsiders trying to sell us anything and everything.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

December 30, 2012
Jewel vacation

I had a great time at Jewel Runaway Bay! The staff was awesome and they made my engagement extra special. We are from Wisconsin and love the drink called a lunch box, i think by the time we left every employee at the resort knew how to make it. The only thing we didn't like was the dress requirement for men at the restaurants, our friend that came with didn't have close toed shoes because hello we were stating at a beach resort so they wouldn't let him in to eat. But an awesome night manager found him some to wear. I would most definitely go back to this resort, I enjoyed it more than Beaches Negril


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Green Bay, WI
Age: 25-34

June 21, 2013
Great Trip

The service at this location is exceptional and tips are appreciated, but never required. The room was average, however the plunge pool was a nice upgrade. Housekeeping does a great job of keeping the facilities clean. The food on the buffet is average, however the serving staff, chefs and the view of the beach more than make up for the short comings. The hibachi restaurant was fantastic and books quickly - make your reservations when you arrive. The beach is gorgeous and is never crowded. The spa offers excellent services at reasonable prices - the couples massage is a must! Signing up for water activities is a breeze. Entertainment is always available for dinner. Overall, this is an excellent choice for the couple looking to get away for some romance.

Great Trip Great Trip
10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Dallas,TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 10, 2012
Our honeymoon

This resort was pretty good. One of the downfalls was that we were promised a bottle of champagne upon our arrival and was told that we would more than likely get an upgrade (which we got neither). We finally said something a couple days before we left after we overheard another honeymoon couple say that they had received both. They ended up moving us to a much better room and brought us a bottle of wine. The last 2 days was also the switch on the resort from adults only to family friendly. I personally think that will prevent me from ever going back to the resort because it really isn't a kid place to be. The parents were walking around with bad attitudes because people were having a great time at the bar, and the only thing that they really have for the kids is a lot of food, the beach, and the pools. I am sure that they will add more things to accommodate their needs, but I really don't think it is the right resort for them. The final downfall that we experienced were the HUNDREDS of crabs that were all over the beach. It is somewhat possible that it was that way because of the hurricane, but they did nothing about it but once a week (from what I was told because I never personally saw them remove the crabs). It ruined my experience walking on the beach at night because I was petrified that I was going to step on one....it was also very frustrating for my husband to hear me freak out on a very regular basis. When it came to adventures, tours, rides to town, etc. it did make us feel like extreme tourists. The prices were outrageous and it felt like they were trying to rob us. We wanted to go to town for a day and the guy wanted to charge us $80 round trip (and that is just dropping off and picking up). Maybe if they would do a "package deal" like pick 2 things get this discount, pick 3 things get this discount etc. THE SERVICE IS GREAT!!!!!!!! It made up for all of the above. All staff was very friendly and truly wanted us to have a great time. The package includes tips/gratuities, but they all expect to get tipped on the side. If you tip more then you will get not necessarily "better" service, but they will definitely come to you first in a bar full of people. The room service was also fantastic. Every time they visited our room it was like walking into it the first time. The best part was that they mopped the floors every day so that the sand was removed. The food was also excellent. We were never hungry or dissatisfied with the offerings. One thing that could use major improvements is the Japanese steakhouse. The food wasn't bad, but the chefs could use a training class or two on how to cook the food appropriately such as cooking the meat to the appropriate temperature. They were very fun and entertaining and we did have an excellent time especially after a couple saki's. Our overall experience was actually very good. We are definitely going back and we cannot wait to have another wonderful/beautiful experience. We may stay at the other resort though because the kids is a complete turn off when we are trying to relax.


57 of 69 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Kansas
Age: 25-34

October 23, 2012

The first room had a mildew smell, but the front desk moved us right away with no question. The second room was great and we were very happy with the room and service. The beach is beautiful with plenty of chairs available all day long. The snorkeling right from the beach was just out of this world, plenty of fish and beautiful coral reef to enjoy. The service was wonderful and everyone that works there soon knew our names and ready to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The food was not the best we have had at other all inclusive resorts but the service and friendly staff made up for the food. The drinks were strong and flowing all day long. This was a very good resort for us and we will go back again. The only thing that would change this is the fact it is going family in the near future which we think is a bad decision. Kirk was so very kind and so helpful all the time and he made our trip much more enjoyable.


27 of 31 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Indiana
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 13, 2013
Great vacation! Highly recommend

We just returned from our 3 night stay on May 5th, and are very pleased with the resort. When we arrived via the shuttle from the airport, the staff took our bags and let us know they were there to help us relax. During check-in, Christina had us sit down on one of the sofas in the open-air lobby, while someone quickly brought us the drink of the day to sip on as we waited. Check-in was quick and easy, and someone showed us to our room. The rooms are nothing special, but sufficient. The cleaning staff came thru twice a day-once in the morning to clean our room and again in the evening to do turn-down service. What we noticed was that as we went on our early morning walks on the beach and around the property, the staff was out cleaning everything, hand raking the beach, preparing the breakfast buffet.. The grounds are beautifully maintained. The staff works very hard. It truly is a beautiful resort. The beach is about 350 yards long, and there are plenty of lounge chairs available. Never a problem there! The pools are nice. We hung out at the infinity pool, which has a swim up bar. It overlooks the ocean, and is very nice. The only suggestion I would have for the manager would be to designate that pool as an adults only pool, as some people were bringing smaller children there because it's only about 31/2 ft deep. They need a children's area, but I hear they are working on a water park nearby. The food was good. The buffet breakfast had a great selection, including fresh local fruit. Overall, I would say the food is acceptable. Some may expect a higher quality, but we were both pleased with the food. All of the eating areas, other than the Italian restaurant, are open-air. Very nice to eat your breakfast overlooking the ocean! One thing I would like to note was that we had a photographer take pictures of us on the beach at sunset. They have photographers taking pictures of patrons throughout the day, and you can go see them later if you wish. I asked if they would take some of us at a specified time, and they told us to come at 6pm and the photographer would be ready. There was no charge to have him take these photos of us. He spent about 15 minutes taking pictures, and after dinner we went and looked at them. Very beautifully done! We bought a CD with pictures, which I felt were reasonably priced considering what you would pay in the States to have a sitting and receive pictures! Overall, I would highly recommend this resort. Wonderful staff, beautiful grounds, food is decent, and it's all inclusive. And if you're wondering, we didn't pay a cent over what we paid upon booking this. Drinks offered left and right by the staff, never charged for anything unless we went to the gift shop or bought pictures. No hidden charges. They even have snorkeling gear you can use (no charge), a trip out on the glass bottom boat, kayaks, sailboats-all free to use. So if you've been looking at other resorts, stop now and just book the Jewel Runaway Beach and Golf Resort! I will be returning again for sure!

Room view of infinity pool and ocean
14 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 35-44

May 4, 2013
Excellent Value, low key property, friendly staff

Having never done an all-inclusive package through cheapcarribbean, I was hesitant about what we would encounter. My group of companions had no reason to worry! This is a very low key property. It is not the typical huge resort with thousands of other patrons. Some of the decor is outdated, however it's very clean and well-kept. The pools are in great condition and you can always find a chair or hammock to lounge on. In terms of being all-inclusive, everything truly is included. You are able to eat at any restaurant, any number of times with no limits. Drinks are generous and available all day and night. There is also a 24 hour grill. The only thing that costs extra is room service, depending on what room type you have, but the items range in cost from $2-6 (fish, chicken, pizza, etc). Overall we felt this was a great property with good food and drinks, and friendly staff. Because it is generally quiet and low key, we also got to know many other guests and met some great people.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 21, 2013
Perfect get away!

We went on this trip with 4 other couples and we all had an amazing trip! The facility was clean and the perfect size resort. Not too big but with plenty to do. What really stands out is the AMAZING service from all the staff. We were greeted when we came to the resort by Shurine who we all loved immediately. You definitely want to spend some time with Swim up bar with Lenford, he will take GREAT care of you. Try the Jamaican Smile! Be sure to enjoy Omar's workout in the pool, what a blast, he has a way of making it feel like a party! You will also find Miguel at the pool serving some fresh fruit and a smile. This was seriously one of the very best trips ever! .


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Dubuque,IA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year