All

Jewel Paradise Cove Beach Resort & Spa Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 265 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
4.1
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.5 out of 5
"The service in the restaurants were exceptional. We had a spectacular time. Pool Bars were fun. The people in charge of activities did a great job. The entertainment in the evenings were also awesome." – KDice
281 out of 303 (93%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
My morning view every day beautiful sunset behind my hubby Delicious tiramisu dessert at Moonstone swim up bar outside room Patio overlooking pool the whole resort my view...BEAUTIFUL Pool bar outside room Sunset at Jewel Paradis Cove Could you ask for a better view each day?!? Dinner night @ platinum shade Pool outside our room Nite time in main pool area. Beach view. pool by ocean (jerk Chicken) Outside our room Early morning view Room patio steps from pool, hot tub, and swim up bar Main pool from the swim-up bar side Honeymoon Cocktail party View from the top of the slide View from 'Large' Beach goat races Main lobby bar with my favorite drink the Jamaican Smile (to the left) Breathtaking view of sunset Relax! You're in Jamaica! Sunset Cruise Main beach Sunset at Moonstone White sand and shade . at the poolbar Emerald bar Great Jerk Chicken! We heard frogs everynight! room view

All Jewel Paradise Cove Beach Resort & Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 265 reviews. Sort by
February 28, 2014
Excellent All inclusive! Truly a "jewel"!!!

Service: Check in a bit slow, but provided us with a cool tropical drink, which is nice after the 1.5 hour shuttle ride form the airport. Lifeguard, Choy, and server, Remona (at the snack bar by the ocean) were amazing! Their level of friendliness, service and hospitality is top notch. On many occasions, they both went to great lengths to wait on us and make our stay as enjoyable as possible. They deserve special recognition by the resort! One of the resort photographers, known as Paparazzi, was also very nice and took time to explain some cultural things to us after taking our pictures on the beach. Accomodations: We had a standard, ground floor room in the 300 building. Great for me, because it was near the morning coffee station! Nothing fancy, schmancy, but met all our needs. excellent cleanliness. huge walk in closet, adequate stocked mini fridge (no alcohol, but water, juice and pop), amazingly comfortable bed and pillows. Beautiful, spacious bathroom. Only downfall to ground level was 2nd and 3rd level balconies, at certain angles, could see us in our bathroom, especially during the night with lights on. Some rooms had stuck plastic bags in window to cover, which seemed to work. The advantage to being ground floor was that it was nice to open sliding glass door and be right there at the pool and to come and go from our room to pool, and swim up bar, quickly and easily. Housekeeping came late in the day, every day (probably unavoidable). I would've been okay with this, but the most frustrating part about this was that most of the time they had ran out of some, if not all, clean bath linens by that point in the day. In fact towels, overall, is the only major, consistent problem here at the Jewel. I don't know if its that they don't have enough, or if they are laundered off site. But we never had fully stocked bathroom towels, and had a hard time getting pool towels. Staff tried to make it better, but I think they had little control over what the real source of this problem was. Word of advice to the Jewel: just buy more towels :) Restaurants/Food: Excellent quality and options! Is the buffet a gourmet, five star restaurant...no, but what buffet is? the variety offered along with the quality made it exceptional for an all inclusive resort. Fruit/veggie smoothie section, made to order eggs and omlets, and wonderful salad, fruit and vegetable options was pleasing and delicious at the buffet. They are spot on with giving healthy options. Not to fear, there are options for the more indulgent as well :) Plentiful desserts, ice cream machine and the snack bar over by the ocean (burgers, dogs, nachos and HIGHLY addictive jerk chicken wraps.....if you like spicy, get one.....you'll be eating a couple a day, guaranteed!). Jade Samuri Restaurant (hibachi): very hard to get into. Make reservation as soon as you check in. We were there 4 nights, first night got in late (after conceirge was gone) tried to make reservation first thing next morning, and was already booked. Thankfully, staff figured out a way to accomodate us (our group of 2 couples) by giving us a 9pm reservation on our last night. I think the place stayed open later to get us and another 2 couples in. Thank you for that, because it was well worth it and highly entertaining! Platinum Restaurant: small portions, but excellent food! Nice formal dinner. If you're still hungry afterwards you can always snag a jerk wrap! Moonlight (italian at night, pizza in day): first off the views and location of this place is breathtaking! Pizza was average.Nice variety of toppings....not just the boring old pepperoni. We had to wait 1.5 hours for our pizza at about 3 pm one afternoon. This was mostly because our tour group came back form Dunns River falls, and literally every person off that bus (about 18 people) headed over there for pizza. Even with only one server, and i think 2 pizza cooks, It still was a little disappointing to see they couldn't call upon more staff to handle it in a little better timely manner. Italian restaurant at night was very good and romantic. Second level bar was a nice quiet place to get a drink and listen to the ocean. Seating was limited there, which doesn't make sense because the area is huge! Maybe add some upholstered patio furniture for more relaxing seating? Pools and Beach: 3 Pools. Never once were these pools overcrowded, even though we were told the resort was at full capacity. Great variety in atmosphere. Pool by our room (300 bldg.) seemed quieter and more intimate, main pool had more activity, and there is also a smaller pool by ocean that we never frequented, but looked equally as nice as the others. all had swim up bars and tables in the water. Beach offered a lot of sun or shade options. very pleased by the design and layout of them all. Extracurriculars: Awesome that all resort activities are included in price!!!!! One night a beachfront, kind of luau themed dinner, was planned for entire resort, paddleboats, sunset cruise, snorkel lessons, glass bottom boat, dunns river falls tour.....all included!! game area with ping pong, pool table, air hockey. Water slide looked fun, but never tried it out. Piano Bar was hopping at night, and fun to be a part of, even though that really isn't my thing. There is a "club" called Bling, but we never went. Honestly, if you're looking for a clubbing atmosphere, this resort is not for you anyways! wish we would've been there longer to take advantage of so many things to do! If you want a good balance between sun soaking relaxation and activities, I would recommend staying no less than a full week! You wont regret it! Overall: This resort has beautiful grounds, wonderful staff and endless possibilities of little nooks and crannies of paradise to relax and soak up the Jamaican love and hospitality.The few glitches were minor in the grand scheme of things, and only mentioned to make the management aware, and hopefully better improve the resort. Would most definitely return and most definitely recommend to others! Thank you for a wonderful (yet not long enough!) vacation, Jewel Paradise Cove!


46 of 46 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Detroit, MI
Age: 25-34

November 12, 2013

The staff at the resort went out of their way to make us happy. They are fun, cheerful and professional. The food was amazing. This resort has 4 major restaurants with two grills. The Platinum restaurant was 5 star cuisine! The Italian restaurant, Moonstone was excellent! The Japanese restaurant was entertaining as the Chef cooked and performed right in front of you. The pastry chef should have his/her own television show! The presentation and taste was exquisite at all of the restaurants. We highly recommend Dunn River Falls excursion and Dolphin Cove (ultimate experience). Scuba Diving lessons are free (extremely well done) as well as daily dives through out the week to the coral reef. If you don't want to dive; they provide services to snorkel off a boat over the coral reef. The concierge services are outstanding. Ask for Erol and he will make your world right in every way. Tell him the Simpson's say Hi!


108 of 114 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Maryland
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 26, 2013
Great vacation - We will be going back!

The Jewel Paradise Cove is a very nice place and we enjoyed our stay there. The service was excellent, most notably: Collin (Reception), Patrick/Orval/Leo/Stephanie/Penn-Lee (servers). The beach is clean and kept. The activities are fun (Sunset Cruise, Glass Bottom Boat, Snorkeling, and all other water sport activities - kudos to Kettle) but you have to be opportunistic because of scheduling and water conditions, we especially liked the Dunn's River Falls excursion which was included with our package. Dining is fine but with limited choices, be sure to check the dining schedules. The fitness center equipment (2 treadmills, weights - small room) is a little antiquated but serviceable - we were fortunate that no one else was using the gym for the 7 days we were there which did not make availability an issue. We stayed in a standard room which for the most part was comfortable and kept clean by the staff. One day while surf paddling my wife lost her sun glasses in the water, she asked to use the snorkeling equipment to try and find them. I don't remember his name, but the someone from the water staff said that is his job and he proceeded to look for the glasses which he was able to find after about 45 minutes of searching. Now that's service! Finally, we usually go to Mexico for our December vacation and this was our first visit to Jamaica. After this experience Mexico is out and Jamaica is in.


46 of 47 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 19, 2013
Great honeymoon!!

My husband and I were married November 16 and decided to take our trip to the Jewel Paradise Cove and resort adults only all-inclusive from December 12 to December 16 we had a blast! The staff there is so friendly this resort well go out of their way to help you with anything, we never heard the word no come out of any staff all the five days we were there. it was great we fly into the airport in Montego Bay and they have transportation a bus to drive us to Runaway Bay for free which is great. Check in was easy and great experience with the welcoming drink:) We had an absolutely fabulous time our room was great the food was great so many options, drink whatever you want. We made new friends. The excursions are absolutely great we did the Dunns Riverfalls and also a catamaran ride @ the resort. They have fun entertainment nights at the main stage where the evening buffet as they do dancing in Jamaican singing. They have a piano bar we can go up and sing-along and have drinks they also have a dance club bling and another bar right above the Moonstone Café you can see a great view from there, great bartenders. favorite bartenders were of course Howard at the main bar and we also love Ryan helped us out:) One evening I did not have my contact solution the resort did not have any in the gift shop but they were more than happy to run out to the pharmacy and get me contact solution and bring it back:) Only complaint I would have is I wish the pools were warmer( i'm from Florida and picky about pool temperature) and that the ATM did not work it was out for the first two days of our trip. But they did get it working eventually. Not that you need any money everything is all-inclusive we just like to give our bartenders and the staff a few dollars for doing their job great!! Great five days four nights can't wait to come back missing Jamaica already

Dinner night @ platinum View from the top of the slide
37 of 41 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Fort Myers, Florida
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 23, 2013
Awesome Resort

Vacationed there 12/8/13-12/13/13. We had the most wonderful time at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort. The rooms were great and very clean. The beach was perfect. The food was great, with lots of choices. The drinks were very good, and not weak. Great entertainment. The staff were the most gracious, kind, helpful, and always had a smile. Will definitely go back!!!!!!!


25 of 27 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Oklahoma
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 21, 2015
Perfect Getaway!

I had a great time at the Jewel Paradise Cove Beach Resort & Spa! The facility is well-kept, very clean, and just lovely. It's smaller than other resorts I've stayed at, but I liked that because you could move around the whole resort without it taking lots of time. The staff were all extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for you - they completely understand service and excel at it. The pools were beautiful and it was nice to have three of them so tat there was always one right close by! There is even a water slide! The beach area was wonderful with plenty of chaise lounges available, some covered by umbrellas. The available water sports options were good - paddle boats, paddle boards, kayaks, catamaran, and glass bottom boat all included. The dining options were plentiful, and the food was very good. All in all, it was wonderful, I have already recommended the Jewel to friends, and I would go back there most definitely.

Breathtaking view of sunset Main pool from the swim-up bar side
12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Bedford, NH
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 9, 2016
One of the best places we've stayed...

First let me say that the folks at Cheap Caribbean and at this resort are awesome. Our trip was scheduled from January 24th thru the 28th, but thanks to 24 inches of snow, our trip was delayed by 2 days. After a few days of restless anticipation, Cheap Caribbean and the resort informed us that our stay had been changed, at no cost, to now be from the 26th thru the 30th.We had an oceanfront room in building 9, where you could see and hear the waves crashing, it was quite tranquil. The check in process was quick and painless and within a short time we had explored a good bit of the grounds. My wife and I are seasoned Jamericans, this being our fifth trip to this beautiful island, where the people could not be nicer or more pleasant. The Jewel Paradise Cove is exactly what we were looking for, with a crowd that was a bit more relaxed, not the same club music blaring in your ears all day. The pools are well maintained and the bartenders are keeping your drink glasses full, Carlyle at the smaller beachside pool bar was the best, ask him for a Jamaican smile while you pet the bees!! The food was good everyday, and we basically ate the buffet most days. The pizza station at the Italian restaurant was awesome for a quick snack as were the burgers at the smaller pool bar. The room was comfortable and our deck, albeit small, was nice to relax on in the morning with coffee or in the evening with a cocktail. We did a concierge room so we were never without fresh drinks and delicious Red Stripe. All in all, our experience at the jewel Paradise Cove was awesome, the only issue that I could say was with the big beach, as with most of the beaches, it is man made and a bit rocky, but still very nice to take a dip or catch some rays, the smaller beach offered a bit of a protected cove and a nice bit of seclusion from the main beach area. I would certainly come back to this resort as I am sure that my wife and I will be back to our favorite vacation getaway, Jamaica!! P.S., the resort is about an hour and 25 minute ride from the airport, so grab some cold Red Stripes and hit the restroom before you head out!!


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boothwyn,Pa
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 23, 2017
Jewel is the place to be!!

My husband and I celebrated 6 years of marriage at Jewel Paradise Cove last month from June 20-27th. It was an amazing vacation! We really enjoyed ourselves. First of all the food is the best that we have had at any all inclusive we have been too! Sushi, Hibachi, Pizza, Breakfast, Italian and even the Steakhouse (although there was small potions here) was great! We never did the buffet other than breakfast cause the restaurants were so good! Ms. Evette our cleaning lady was everything you want for a week! She kept our room looking great! I felt comfortable leaving my personal items out as well. This truly is a laid back resort. At times felt a little too quiet but that is what we were looking for. We wanted time away...together alone! We met some incredible folks along the way. Samantha the entertainment queen made sure that you had just the right amount of fun! We only encountered the most friendly and lovely people working there! The beaches are small but clean and a lot of fun! The private beach is lovely and romantic! An area that they could improve would be the music selection in Bling which is the dance club but the night before we left, we danced til 2 am! We made the best of it. It would be cool if they mixed up the music. It was mostly hardcore rap. Once it was just 4 of us in there, he kinda played what we were asking him to play all night. The nightly shows were also nice. I wanted to know more about the Jamaican culture and they gave you just that. Not a Michael Jackson show which I love MJ but I wanted to feel some Jamaican vibes! The drinks are well made. The main swim up bar could use a bartender just for that area. Instead they are tending to both the swim up and walk up so it can take a little longer to get a drink there. The slide is so much fun! It's open from 11 am til 5 pm daily. The swim up bars close at 6 pm but they let you swim all night if you want. You just have to get out of the pool to get a drink if you choose. Everyday they are cleaning, maintaining the grounds, cutting grass, etc. The gym and spa were nice and we used the gym 3 times when we were there. My husband played tennis also. He loved it. Good workout indeed!! They truly try to keep it looking nice. Oshaine from the sushi bar was amazing!! He was so much fun and even made us some special rolls that we can get back in New Orleans! Poboy and Who Dat Roll we called it! Now the free transportation was ok but what do you expect?? It's free and your on the bus with other folks from other resorts. Pay for the private transfer if you don't want to be on the bus for 2 hours. Jewel gives you so many freebies too...Glass Bottom Boat Tour, Snorkeling and Konoko Falls!! They really know how to treat their guest! Lastly we recommend Club Mobay when your leaving at the airport! $30 per person gets you pass customs quicker, food, drinks, bathroom, spa, quiet room, business room, etc. It's sooooooo worth it!! Go out in style!! The only complaint we have is that the jets did not work in our jucuzzi tub and when we asked for them to be fixed, we were told all the pumps were out...found out later a friend's was working. Oh well if that's the only complaint we have, we are doing pretty good! We are fans of Jewel Paradise Cove and would return given the opportunity.

Jewel is the place to be!! Jewel is the place to be!!
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New Orleans, LA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 26, 2014
Great Vacation Experience

Paradise Cove was the best vacation we have had. First, the only negatives we found. Food was pretty great for an all inclusive resort, just couldn't give the full 5! Since the beach is a cove, the water leaves something to be desired, not quite as clear as the caribbean we have seen before. However, this resort was phenomenal overall. Very nice staff, great entertainment, and a very personal experience. The water slide was awesome, piano bar. There were activities at the resort everyday. The snorkeling was fun although it caused a little sea-sickness. Paddle-boarding, kayaking, wind-surfing is all free at the resort. Snorkeling and they even certify you to scuba dive! Raul, George, J-Smooth, and Ryan were all amazing staff that kept the drinks flowing and the party going! Collin even hooked us up with a great trip to Luminous Lagoon and the Blue Hole! The two MUSTS outside of the resort are these! They are one of a kind experiences and worth every penny spent! If you are trying to decide, PARADISE COVE IS THE CHOICE!! This is the second trip we have used through CheapCaribbean and they always provide a excellent vacation!

Great Vacation Experience
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Charlotte, NC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 3, 2015
So fun and relaxing

I loved my stay at Jewel Paradise Cove! My husband and I and my sister and her husband all went together May 2015. This is an adults only resort, and we were so glad we chose it! No kids running around! This was the perfect choice for a relaxing vacation. I haven't done very much traveling, so I don't have a lot to compare it to, but it exceeded my expectations. The first thing to do when you get there is make reservations! (excursions, restaurant, water excursions) It rained once, which was a bummer, but the rest of the time was perfect weather! First I will talk about the food. There were plenty of restaurant choices. Jade Samurai is the only one that requires a reservation. The food was great and our cook Rodney made it a very fun and interactive experience! The breakfast buffet at Coral Cafe was really good and had different options every day. The service was good at all restaurants. The swim up bars closed at 6 which was kind of a bummer, but the main bar stays open. I don't have much to complain about as far as food goes, all of it was good, I was never disappointed! Beaches and pools: They have two beaches. One small one for people who want to relax, and a bigger one, still relaxing! Both are nice, but small. More than likely man made, but they work hard to keep it clean and nice. If you are looking for miles and miles of sandy beach, this isn't it. But it was still beautiful! And it was never too crowded which was nice! It is secluded, which I liked better than miles of beach, because I could leave my stuff by my chair all day and it would still be there when I returned. There are three pools, and a fun water slide. The only reason I gave 4 stars is because of the size. The only reason I gave service 4 stars is because on the beach they will offer drinks but then never bring them. But the service everywhere else is great! Entertainment: The nightly entertainment wasn't always fantastic, but some nights were really fun. They had trapeze, aerial, fire dancers, and a contortionist. Some nights they do fun games with the audience. They have quite a few daily activities. Overall we had plenty to do and see. The resort offers so many free excursions/water sports. The trip to Konoko Falls being one of them. This is a MUST! Most people to Dunn's River Falls, but we skipped that and just did Konoko Falls and were not disappointed. They offer snorkeling, sunset cruise, hobie cat ride, paddle boards, and so much more! This alone makes this resort stand out from the others! The Ocho Rios shopping trip was not very exciting. If you want to pay for other excursions, do so through the resort, or find a private company. We did the Luminous Lagoon. If you have never done this before, definitely do it! It is so fascinating. They'll take pictures for you that you can buy for $30. We stayed for 6 nights, and wish we could've stayed a few more! Everyone is so friendly and welcoming and willing to do whatever you need! They always ask "how many months are you staying?" Yeah I wish... I would definitely go back to this resort! It's small enough that you can get to know the workers there which makes it so fun! This was my first out-of-country vacation, and they definitely spoiled us in Jamaica! I would recommend this resort to anyone needing a nice relaxing beach getaway. You can choose to just relax on the beach the whole trip, or you can have a more adventurous trip as many of the fun off-resort excursions are within an hour of runaway bay! Thanks Jewel for a wonderful stay, and thanks Cheap Caribbean for putting it all together for us!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: UT
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations