All

Jewel Paradise Cove Beach Resort & Spa Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 223 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
4.1
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.5 out of 5
"It was one of our favorite vacation. Everything was taken care of and stress free. Great place to be." – Setlik
239 out of 258 (93%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Main pool from the swim-up bar side Honeymoon Cocktail party White sand and shade . Outside our room Relax! You're in Jamaica! Nite time in main pool area. Beach view. Emerald bar Great Jerk Chicken! Could you ask for a better view each day?!? Pool bar outside room room view Early morning view Sunset at Moonstone the whole resort Pool outside our room Sunset Cruise View from 'Large' Beach swim up bar outside room pool by ocean (jerk Chicken) Patio overlooking pool We heard frogs everynight! Breathtaking view of sunset Delicious tiramisu dessert at Moonstone Main beach My morning view every day my view...BEAUTIFUL View from the top of the slide goat races Dinner night @ platinum at the poolbar beautiful sunset behind my hubby shade

All Jewel Paradise Cove Beach Resort & Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 223 reviews. Sort by
February 28, 2014
Excellent All inclusive! Truly a "jewel"!!!

Service: Check in a bit slow, but provided us with a cool tropical drink, which is nice after the 1.5 hour shuttle ride form the airport. Lifeguard, Choy, and server, Remona (at the snack bar by the ocean) were amazing! Their level of friendliness, service and hospitality is top notch. On many occasions, they both went to great lengths to wait on us and make our stay as enjoyable as possible. They deserve special recognition by the resort! One of the resort photographers, known as Paparazzi, was also very nice and took time to explain some cultural things to us after taking our pictures on the beach. Accomodations: We had a standard, ground floor room in the 300 building. Great for me, because it was near the morning coffee station! Nothing fancy, schmancy, but met all our needs. excellent cleanliness. huge walk in closet, adequate stocked mini fridge (no alcohol, but water, juice and pop), amazingly comfortable bed and pillows. Beautiful, spacious bathroom. Only downfall to ground level was 2nd and 3rd level balconies, at certain angles, could see us in our bathroom, especially during the night with lights on. Some rooms had stuck plastic bags in window to cover, which seemed to work. The advantage to being ground floor was that it was nice to open sliding glass door and be right there at the pool and to come and go from our room to pool, and swim up bar, quickly and easily. Housekeeping came late in the day, every day (probably unavoidable). I would've been okay with this, but the most frustrating part about this was that most of the time they had ran out of some, if not all, clean bath linens by that point in the day. In fact towels, overall, is the only major, consistent problem here at the Jewel. I don't know if its that they don't have enough, or if they are laundered off site. But we never had fully stocked bathroom towels, and had a hard time getting pool towels. Staff tried to make it better, but I think they had little control over what the real source of this problem was. Word of advice to the Jewel: just buy more towels :) Restaurants/Food: Excellent quality and options! Is the buffet a gourmet, five star restaurant...no, but what buffet is? the variety offered along with the quality made it exceptional for an all inclusive resort. Fruit/veggie smoothie section, made to order eggs and omlets, and wonderful salad, fruit and vegetable options was pleasing and delicious at the buffet. They are spot on with giving healthy options. Not to fear, there are options for the more indulgent as well :) Plentiful desserts, ice cream machine and the snack bar over by the ocean (burgers, dogs, nachos and HIGHLY addictive jerk chicken wraps.....if you like spicy, get one.....you'll be eating a couple a day, guaranteed!). Jade Samuri Restaurant (hibachi): very hard to get into. Make reservation as soon as you check in. We were there 4 nights, first night got in late (after conceirge was gone) tried to make reservation first thing next morning, and was already booked. Thankfully, staff figured out a way to accomodate us (our group of 2 couples) by giving us a 9pm reservation on our last night. I think the place stayed open later to get us and another 2 couples in. Thank you for that, because it was well worth it and highly entertaining! Platinum Restaurant: small portions, but excellent food! Nice formal dinner. If you're still hungry afterwards you can always snag a jerk wrap! Moonlight (italian at night, pizza in day): first off the views and location of this place is breathtaking! Pizza was average.Nice variety of toppings....not just the boring old pepperoni. We had to wait 1.5 hours for our pizza at about 3 pm one afternoon. This was mostly because our tour group came back form Dunns River falls, and literally every person off that bus (about 18 people) headed over there for pizza. Even with only one server, and i think 2 pizza cooks, It still was a little disappointing to see they couldn't call upon more staff to handle it in a little better timely manner. Italian restaurant at night was very good and romantic. Second level bar was a nice quiet place to get a drink and listen to the ocean. Seating was limited there, which doesn't make sense because the area is huge! Maybe add some upholstered patio furniture for more relaxing seating? Pools and Beach: 3 Pools. Never once were these pools overcrowded, even though we were told the resort was at full capacity. Great variety in atmosphere. Pool by our room (300 bldg.) seemed quieter and more intimate, main pool had more activity, and there is also a smaller pool by ocean that we never frequented, but looked equally as nice as the others. all had swim up bars and tables in the water. Beach offered a lot of sun or shade options. very pleased by the design and layout of them all. Extracurriculars: Awesome that all resort activities are included in price!!!!! One night a beachfront, kind of luau themed dinner, was planned for entire resort, paddleboats, sunset cruise, snorkel lessons, glass bottom boat, dunns river falls tour.....all included!! game area with ping pong, pool table, air hockey. Water slide looked fun, but never tried it out. Piano Bar was hopping at night, and fun to be a part of, even though that really isn't my thing. There is a "club" called Bling, but we never went. Honestly, if you're looking for a clubbing atmosphere, this resort is not for you anyways! wish we would've been there longer to take advantage of so many things to do! If you want a good balance between sun soaking relaxation and activities, I would recommend staying no less than a full week! You wont regret it! Overall: This resort has beautiful grounds, wonderful staff and endless possibilities of little nooks and crannies of paradise to relax and soak up the Jamaican love and hospitality.The few glitches were minor in the grand scheme of things, and only mentioned to make the management aware, and hopefully better improve the resort. Would most definitely return and most definitely recommend to others! Thank you for a wonderful (yet not long enough!) vacation, Jewel Paradise Cove!


43 of 43 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Detroit, MI
Age: 25-34

December 26, 2013
Great vacation - We will be going back!

The Jewel Paradise Cove is a very nice place and we enjoyed our stay there. The service was excellent, most notably: Collin (Reception), Patrick/Orval/Leo/Stephanie/Penn-Lee (servers). The beach is clean and kept. The activities are fun (Sunset Cruise, Glass Bottom Boat, Snorkeling, and all other water sport activities - kudos to Kettle) but you have to be opportunistic because of scheduling and water conditions, we especially liked the Dunn's River Falls excursion which was included with our package. Dining is fine but with limited choices, be sure to check the dining schedules. The fitness center equipment (2 treadmills, weights - small room) is a little antiquated but serviceable - we were fortunate that no one else was using the gym for the 7 days we were there which did not make availability an issue. We stayed in a standard room which for the most part was comfortable and kept clean by the staff. One day while surf paddling my wife lost her sun glasses in the water, she asked to use the snorkeling equipment to try and find them. I don't remember his name, but the someone from the water staff said that is his job and he proceeded to look for the glasses which he was able to find after about 45 minutes of searching. Now that's service! Finally, we usually go to Mexico for our December vacation and this was our first visit to Jamaica. After this experience Mexico is out and Jamaica is in.


46 of 47 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 12, 2013

The staff at the resort went out of their way to make us happy. They are fun, cheerful and professional. The food was amazing. This resort has 4 major restaurants with two grills. The Platinum restaurant was 5 star cuisine! The Italian restaurant, Moonstone was excellent! The Japanese restaurant was entertaining as the Chef cooked and performed right in front of you. The pastry chef should have his/her own television show! The presentation and taste was exquisite at all of the restaurants. We highly recommend Dunn River Falls excursion and Dolphin Cove (ultimate experience). Scuba Diving lessons are free (extremely well done) as well as daily dives through out the week to the coral reef. If you don't want to dive; they provide services to snorkel off a boat over the coral reef. The concierge services are outstanding. Ask for Erol and he will make your world right in every way. Tell him the Simpson's say Hi!


105 of 111 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Maryland
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 19, 2013
Great honeymoon!!

My husband and I were married November 16 and decided to take our trip to the Jewel Paradise Cove and resort adults only all-inclusive from December 12 to December 16 we had a blast! The staff there is so friendly this resort well go out of their way to help you with anything, we never heard the word no come out of any staff all the five days we were there. it was great we fly into the airport in Montego Bay and they have transportation a bus to drive us to Runaway Bay for free which is great. Check in was easy and great experience with the welcoming drink:) We had an absolutely fabulous time our room was great the food was great so many options, drink whatever you want. We made new friends. The excursions are absolutely great we did the Dunns Riverfalls and also a catamaran ride @ the resort. They have fun entertainment nights at the main stage where the evening buffet as they do dancing in Jamaican singing. They have a piano bar we can go up and sing-along and have drinks they also have a dance club bling and another bar right above the Moonstone Café you can see a great view from there, great bartenders. favorite bartenders were of course Howard at the main bar and we also love Ryan helped us out:) One evening I did not have my contact solution the resort did not have any in the gift shop but they were more than happy to run out to the pharmacy and get me contact solution and bring it back:) Only complaint I would have is I wish the pools were warmer( i'm from Florida and picky about pool temperature) and that the ATM did not work it was out for the first two days of our trip. But they did get it working eventually. Not that you need any money everything is all-inclusive we just like to give our bartenders and the staff a few dollars for doing their job great!! Great five days four nights can't wait to come back missing Jamaica already

Dinner night @ platinum View from the top of the slide
35 of 38 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Fort Myers, Florida
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 23, 2013
Awesome Resort

Vacationed there 12/8/13-12/13/13. We had the most wonderful time at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort. The rooms were great and very clean. The beach was perfect. The food was great, with lots of choices. The drinks were very good, and not weak. Great entertainment. The staff were the most gracious, kind, helpful, and always had a smile. Will definitely go back!!!!!!!


23 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Oklahoma
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 21, 2015
Perfect Getaway!

I had a great time at the Jewel Paradise Cove Beach Resort & Spa! The facility is well-kept, very clean, and just lovely. It's smaller than other resorts I've stayed at, but I liked that because you could move around the whole resort without it taking lots of time. The staff were all extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for you - they completely understand service and excel at it. The pools were beautiful and it was nice to have three of them so tat there was always one right close by! There is even a water slide! The beach area was wonderful with plenty of chaise lounges available, some covered by umbrellas. The available water sports options were good - paddle boats, paddle boards, kayaks, catamaran, and glass bottom boat all included. The dining options were plentiful, and the food was very good. All in all, it was wonderful, I have already recommended the Jewel to friends, and I would go back there most definitely.

Breathtaking view of sunset Main pool from the swim-up bar side
11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Bedford, NH
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 9, 2016
One of the best places we've stayed...

First let me say that the folks at Cheap Caribbean and at this resort are awesome. Our trip was scheduled from January 24th thru the 28th, but thanks to 24 inches of snow, our trip was delayed by 2 days. After a few days of restless anticipation, Cheap Caribbean and the resort informed us that our stay had been changed, at no cost, to now be from the 26th thru the 30th.We had an oceanfront room in building 9, where you could see and hear the waves crashing, it was quite tranquil. The check in process was quick and painless and within a short time we had explored a good bit of the grounds. My wife and I are seasoned Jamericans, this being our fifth trip to this beautiful island, where the people could not be nicer or more pleasant. The Jewel Paradise Cove is exactly what we were looking for, with a crowd that was a bit more relaxed, not the same club music blaring in your ears all day. The pools are well maintained and the bartenders are keeping your drink glasses full, Carlyle at the smaller beachside pool bar was the best, ask him for a Jamaican smile while you pet the bees!! The food was good everyday, and we basically ate the buffet most days. The pizza station at the Italian restaurant was awesome for a quick snack as were the burgers at the smaller pool bar. The room was comfortable and our deck, albeit small, was nice to relax on in the morning with coffee or in the evening with a cocktail. We did a concierge room so we were never without fresh drinks and delicious Red Stripe. All in all, our experience at the jewel Paradise Cove was awesome, the only issue that I could say was with the big beach, as with most of the beaches, it is man made and a bit rocky, but still very nice to take a dip or catch some rays, the smaller beach offered a bit of a protected cove and a nice bit of seclusion from the main beach area. I would certainly come back to this resort as I am sure that my wife and I will be back to our favorite vacation getaway, Jamaica!! P.S., the resort is about an hour and 25 minute ride from the airport, so grab some cold Red Stripes and hit the restroom before you head out!!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boothwyn,Pa
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 13, 2014
Fantastic resort!!

My husband and I stayed at the resort from Feb. 1 - 8th and had a wonderful time! The rooms were spacious the water pressure in the shower was better than we have at home and the beds were very comfortable. The staff is beyond friendly and the dining options are very nice. I like that you don't have to make reservations (only for 1 restaurant you'll need a reservation). The best part of the hotel is the activities that are included. We went to the falls, went scuba diving, snorkeling, on the glass bottom boat, used the kayaks, went to Ocho Rios for shopping, got picked up at the airport and it was all included in the package. They had a beach party, Super Bowl party, dining under the stars and more. One thing for sure you will not be bored in this hotel. The grounds were spotless and the three pools were clean. We liked the fact that the grill was open late and had some late night food after having a few drinks. Loved the drink of the day. It changed every day and it was fun to see what new concoction they would come up with. The alcohol was name brand and the red stripe was very good. Service at the bars was excellent. The staff really go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. We had a wonderful time thanks to all the staff at the resort. The location is great with many trips fairly close by that you can book for an extra cost. We went zip lining, river tubing, and went to the luminous lake (i'd highly recommend a trip to the lake it was out of this world). I just can't say enough about the hotel, staff and they people of Jamaica. We just had a wonderful time!!!!


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 22, 2017
Awesome first trip to Jamaica- We will be back!

We Stayed at Jewel Paradise Cove for six nights in the middle of February, and we loved every second of it. This was our first time in Jamaica. The property is beautifully maintained. Very clean from the beach to the dining areas. We stayed in a pool side room and had a deck with a few chairs and towel racks and the pool was about 10 feet from our door. We tried all the dining options while we were there. The food far exceeded any other all-inclusive we’ve stayed at and we had zero complaints about the food or service. Only one of the restaurants (hibachi) required a reservation, and only one of them had a strict dress code (the contemporary caribbean). They were all VERY good. One night they offered a beach BBQ instead of the buffet, where they grilled different meats and moved tables and entertainment to the beach- it was very fun! The term ‘fitness resort’ was interesting to us. I can’t say it was much different than any other nice resort other than there were healthy food options (smoothies available most of the day, fruit and vegetables with meals) and there was a trail around the resort with pull up bars and different activities to do along the way. We did see some tennis courts where they offered lessons and a yoga expert was there the whole week offering classes throughout the day. There are 2 beaches at the resort, one is quite small, but the other is a decent size. We got out to the bigger beach by 10-11 each morning and had no issues finding a few lounge chairs. There were TONS of options for pools. 2 swim up bars. And at least 3 large pools to swim in and a fun water slide in the middle. The resort doesn’t have a lifeguard on at night, but you can still use the hot tub without getting into any trouble. They have kayaks and paddle boats available to go out in the water, and free glass-bottom boat tours that go out multiple times per day- it was to wavy the days we tried to go so they cancelled our tours. We did 2 excursions while we were there; Dunn River Falls and the Blue Hole/River Tubing/Zip Line tour. We booked both through the desk in the lobby (the same company that provides your ride to and from the airport). We loved both. Dunn River Falls was about a 3 hour excursion and the Blue Hole with river tubing and zip line was 7am-3pm, but well worth it! All of the tour guides were very friendly and eager to answer any questions we had. Although this resort is about an hour from the Montego Bay airport, we loved that it was only 30-40 minutes from the excursions, it didn’t consume our whole day to leave the resort and have some fun. Definitely a great resort with lots of amenities, we definitely recommend!

View from 'Large' Beach Pool outside our room
10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Rochester, MN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 26, 2014
Great Vacation Experience

Paradise Cove was the best vacation we have had. First, the only negatives we found. Food was pretty great for an all inclusive resort, just couldn't give the full 5! Since the beach is a cove, the water leaves something to be desired, not quite as clear as the caribbean we have seen before. However, this resort was phenomenal overall. Very nice staff, great entertainment, and a very personal experience. The water slide was awesome, piano bar. There were activities at the resort everyday. The snorkeling was fun although it caused a little sea-sickness. Paddle-boarding, kayaking, wind-surfing is all free at the resort. Snorkeling and they even certify you to scuba dive! Raul, George, J-Smooth, and Ryan were all amazing staff that kept the drinks flowing and the party going! Collin even hooked us up with a great trip to Luminous Lagoon and the Blue Hole! The two MUSTS outside of the resort are these! They are one of a kind experiences and worth every penny spent! If you are trying to decide, PARADISE COVE IS THE CHOICE!! This is the second trip we have used through CheapCaribbean and they always provide a excellent vacation!

Great Vacation Experience
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Charlotte, NC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year