All

Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 719 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
4.2
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.6 out of 5
"My wife and I decided last minute to take a vacation. After checking many resorts we chose this one and were extremely pleased with our stay and would return." – FromMichigan
773 out of 822 (94%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Beach life Catamaran to Dunn's River! Our spot on the deck. on balcony Beautiful resort the waterfall From the beach Hobie Cruisin' view from balcony KITE FESTIVAL View from our room the jewel's beach Awesome veiw from our room chilling poolside BEST BEACH!!! Loving the Pool Enrica posing with one of the beautiful attractions Jamaican me fall in love! great way to beat the heat Jewel Dun River Resort beach at night Horseback riding King n Queen View from our room the Jewel DR View from the Hot Tub love it Some of the beach at sunset! the courtyard when you come out of the lobby View from our room Easter celebration Sunrise on the beach Feeding Peacock Room view Massage hut on beach Balcony view great pools Enjoying the Bob Marley Cocktail. Pool Bar Picture from one side of the hotel. beats the snow Breakfast on the balcony (diamond building) From an ocean view room. so romantic & not crowded at all Our Sapphire Guest Room (Premiere) The Main Pool Lovely Jewel pool View from our room. Beach View Friends at the Jewel Sunrise at the Jewel our view from the room HOTEL POOL View from Diamond building balcony view from room horseback riding tour Chillin Morris...outstanding Bartender Balcony view from the room The Pool pool Beautiful beach view out our balcony View from the beach looking toward the western edge of the resort's beach. Amazing! Raft reading in the pool View of Resort from Sailing The Beach Picture of the resort from the pier Our view from our private dinner Honeymoon Suprise Heaven on earth! Volleyball and beach Tree Bar - April '14 Date night in Jamaica! our view from our balcony the boys Waterfall At Main Pool Pool area one of the pools View from our Balcony chillin poolside on beach MOMS & DAUGHTER Purple Rain Drink! Balcony view Entrance to Resort Mountain view from Sapphire Room - 5th Floor Room View from 4th Floor Diamond Building Our Dunn's River Resort Room View Just a bit of vaca action Found this on the beach in the morning!! Dining Under The Stars From the beach chair our view for breakfast Court Yard - April '14 view from Catamaran bob sledding E Main pool and swim-up bar The pier at sunset! beach We loved the beach!

All Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 719 reviews. Sort by
October 5, 2010
Outstanding Service!

I am here right now. All I can say is, this place is awesome! We lucked out and had sunshine instead of rain. It isn't crowded because it's rainy season. The staff could not be friendlier, nicer, or more accommodating. The Diamond King Concierge room we have is well-appointed. The food is exceptional. We have been here for two days and have thoroughly enjoyed our visit so far. The Radiant Spa couples massage was fabulous. The beach service is impeccable. There are activities day and night. There is excellent security here. We felt very safe. They have an open-air fitness area. Very nice. Two swim-up bars. Two hot tubs that are piping hot. Tea that is served piping hot. Fresh fruit kabobs served beachside and poolside. Jamaica jerk chicken seasoned to perfection and falling off the bone. There are several wonderful restaurants, but because they have just reopened under new management, the days/times are not known right away. They are working out the kinks of being new, although the exquisite staff have been here from before. They definitely need literature for guests. A map of the property, list of services, days and hours of operation for various things (we went to restaurants, gift shop, etc., and they were closed), etc., will all be helpful. They have bent over backwards to make our stay incredible. We could not ask for a more efficient and pleasant staff. The beach is beautiful. The vendors are kept at bay by two walls (one is barbed-wired) and a full-time security staff. Best food selections so far (in my humble opinion): the jerk chicken and roasted plaintain (Gregory, the chef at the beach grill, made it for us); the pumpkin soup and shrimp appetizer at Platinum; the eggplant parm appetizer and panna cotta dessert at Moonstone; and the lychee creme brulee with extra side of lychee fruit at Jade Samurai. Maurice kept us in good spirits (pun intended) by bringing us homemade pina coladas and strawberry margaritas laced with local white rum and dark rum while we lazed about at the ocean's edge on our cushioned lounge chairs. Sooo delicious! We only have one more day before we must leave. It's our first trip to Jamaica, but we are looking forward to coming back to the Jewel Dunn's River Resort again. Daine, the front desk manager, was extremely helpful, as have all of the staff been. They are happy, and it enriches the entire experience. Junior climbed a coconut tree, dropped a couple down for us, and then whacked the tops off with a long machete. Jason got us straws for the coconuts to drink the juice from and explained to us about the local customs and foods, like special rice and peas that are made with coconut milk, saw fish, and aocke (probably spelled that incorrectly). Maxwell told us about the unique harson (harmon?) trees, the fruit that falls from them, and how they are prepared to be eaten. Vidal offers us daily to go out on a catamaran for free. They also have foot pedal boats and kayaks available at no charge. Each day, they have a handmade rum drink made (the gem of the day, they call it). Once a week they have movies by the pool with special jerk popcorn. Once a week they have a complimentary eight-course meal on the pier (weather permitting). They have satellite TV in the rooms for TV junkies. :-) Volleyball on the beach. Live music in their night club, Bling. I could go on and on and on, and we've only been here for two days. We have already been telling our friends about our experience and are perusing cheapcaribbean.com looking for dates for a return visit, and we haven't even left yet! I am using the comlimentary computer in the hotel lobby. Oh, and I should tell you that we ran into travel agents, world travelers, and travel writers, and they all say that the food here is better than almost all of the other resorts they've visited on the island. Way to go, Jewel Dunn's Beach Resort & Spa!!! I would highly recommend this fine all-inclusive, oceanfront resort to anybody looking to be pampered and escape the stresses of daily life. This is the life! Aaaaaaah! :-) I hope to upload some photos soon.


607 of 622 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
0.0
Service
 
0.0
Beaches & Pools
 
0.0
Dining Options
 
0.0
Room Comfort
 
0.0
User Image

From: San Diego, CA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 18, 2014
Amazing Amazing Vacation!!!

I'd like to give a detailed review because I know that I relied heavily upon the user reviews to choose my hotel. And since I had an amazing time at the Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort I'd like to pay it forward. First, a little about my girlfriend and I: We are 26 and we are very easy going people. In other words: While many other reviews on here you'll see people nit picking many things, her and I are not bothered in the least bit if a minor detail isn't perfect. In fact when you travel, no matter how much money you spend, inconvenience is to be expected. Anyways with that out of the way, let's get to the review of the hotel: Getting There The airport and staff are pretty efficient at getting the passengers off the airplane and get through customs pretty quickly and then get on the shuttle bus to take the 1 hour and 20 minute ride to the hotel. Yes, everyone staying at the hotel wishes they could get to the beach after landing on the runway, but in this case it is worth the wait. The Grounds Just a beautiful setting that will make you forget the shuttle ride you took to get there. You pull into the lobby where they give you the drink of the day and a cold towel. Great customer service. Touring the grounds they have pretty much anything you would want in a beach resort: Two pools, one quiet, one where the party and music is at, but both with swim up bars. A beach that is pretty quiet for the most part and bigger then expected with lots of chairs. A pitch and putt golf course that I actually found to be a lot of fun and seemed no one else at the resort knew about (they have a bag full of rental clubs that you can just take and be on your way). A beautiful workout facility. Tennis courts. This place really has it all. Rooms We loved our room. We booked the cheapest room but we were pleasantly surprised when we got an ocean view as opposed to the mountain view (or more like the parking lot view). The bathroom was huge and the bed was comfortable. Overall I was very impressed with our room. Food The food was better then I imagined it would be. We loved the Italian Restaurant "Moonstone". You can sit outside on the patio which is right next to the ocean. It is one of the most romantic settings for a dinner I have ever experienced and to top it off on our last night the waiter sang us a song about love at our table! He had a really good voice too, just an amazing touch on at an already great place. The food there is equally as good at the ambiance. Try the lasagna and thank me later. I saw many reviews rave about the pizza place. I thought it was a cool concept, but perhaps it is because I'm from Chicago, but I didn't think the pizza was anything special at all. The only place that requires formal dress is nice because it was never crowded when we went. The food is pretty good there and definitely worth a try. We did not try Jade Samurai because it was the only place where you needed a reservation and we just never decided to make one. The Coral Cafe was the go to place for Breakfast and Lunch. Great food during those times, but we found their dinner lackluster in comparison. The grill that was open right by the beach that is open until 3 am is great. Good jerk chicken and fries. Overall the food is a positive for the Jewel. Staff There's not much to be said here that hasn't already been said. This is an amazing amazing staff that goes above and beyond to make your experience great. You will not be disappointed in their service at all. But if you are it's probably because you are really nitpicking. Those same people nitpicking also are probably the one's stiffing the bar tenders and not giving them something. Throw $1 their way with each round and you'll get in their good graces and they'll keep them coming. Excursions We did two: The walk up the Jewel Dunns River Falls and Mystic Mountain for bobsledding and zip lining. Mystic Mountain was expensive to book, but it was cheaper to book it at our hotel then it was to book it on this site. Keep that in mind when booking excursions. Anyways, Mystic Mountain is absolutely breath taking and worth the extra price of admission. The bobsled I didn't expect to be much, but it really was fun. The zip lining was great and the guides made it awesome. Everyone kept talking about how great the "blue hole" excursion was, but we didn't have time for it. Next time! Conclusion: If you are reading this and want to go to Jamaica for an adults only vacation you should book this hotel. It has everything you want in an all inclusive place with great food, staff, and variety. There are lots of excursions nearby if you are looking to get out of the resort, or if you want to just sit peacefully in a beach chair all week you can do that too.


138 of 139 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 15, 2013
Very Romantic Anniversary Trip

We stayed at this resort for 4 nights in March 2013 to celebrate our 25th Anniversary. Our trip was delayed for several hours due to inclement weather (we live in NH), and we ended up checking in 8 hours later than anticipated, exhausted and starving. The staff made our check in quick and easy. They served us a welcome drink and brought us a chilled towel, very nice touches. Our stay was amazing. The room was great, the food was delicious, we never waited long to be seated, and the staff was friendly, happy and helpful. The bars and drinks were all great, and the bar staff was very entertaining and hard working. Room service surprised us by delivering a complimentary heart shaped anniversary cake to our room. In short, we had a wonderful time at the Jewel Dunn's River and would definitely return or recommend this resort to friends. The only drawback to this resort is that there is about a 90 minute bus trip from the airport in Montego Bay. It's actually a very scenic ride during the day, and the bus stops at a bar for a bathroom break and a quick drink. We didn't mind this at all. However, on the return bus ride to the airport, the tour company forces you to leave the resort 5 to 6 hours prior to your return flight. We were extremely annoyed by this, it basically deprived us from a half day of our all-inclusive rate, not to mention, forced us to get up much earlier than we would have. We ended up hanging around the airport for about 4 unnecessary hours. This would not have been so bad if there was an outdoor lounge of some sort to wait in, but there is not. The sun was shining, and we were forced to sit inside, knowing we were heading back to snowy, cold NH. It was torture! I would recommend spending the extra money to take your own taxi back to the airport on the day you are scheduled to check out.


70 of 70 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: New Hampshire
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 30, 2012
Changed My Mind About All-Inclusives

I've been to a bunch of Caribbean destinations (PR, DR, Turks, St. Thomas, Caymans, St. Kitt's, Cozumel) but never chose an all-inclusive before because I thought I wouldn't get enough local cuisine and would feel trapped in one venue to get my money's worth. Thought it would be too claustrophobic--everyone hanging around together so they don't miss out on a single beer or drink or meal. I do prefer to have some privacy as well as ... But, there was a great deal of variety in the meal options, both at the buffet and the restaurants (in terms of location, ambiance and cuisine). The restaurants were a step up over the (very good) cuisine offered in the buffet setting, but only a small step. The wait staff, including the beach and poolside servers, were absolutely gracious, cordial, friendly and accommodating. The only exceptions out of 10-15 servers who charmed and pampered us were two surly individuals who really stood out amongst the crowd for the wrong reasons. The beach was constrained between another resort and a fence separating the public beach but it was not crowded and was beautiful conditions. I found it annoying that the spa people kept coming up to us, several times a day, to ask if we'd want to try services. It really was intrusive and became a detraction to our enjoyment. The drinking games by the main pool seemed to be enjoyable to the participants, but if you want peace and quiet, that was not the place to be. If you were on the beach, away from it, it was not bothersome. They provide plenty of towels and lots of lounging options (sun and shade) with food, snacks available (of one kind or another) at any time of day. The ocean water was calm and refreshing. They had kayaks and little sailboats right there on the beach for free to take out at any time. Snorkeling (and SCUBA) cost a little extra but was definitely worth it -- 10-min boat ride out to a reef, 45 min in the water at two locations, saw plenty of fish and got pleasantly tired out and ready to head back for refreshments and relaxation. The resort was very clean and beautiful. The room was charming, with good AC and wonderful shower/tub, luxurious layout for bath, separate sink and dressing room spaces--great for a couple. The bed was beautiful and elegant, but a bit on the tired side and the towels were kinda rough. Our room (Emerald Tower, mountain side) was very quiet and the view off the balcony was pretty but not picture-postcard (could see some parking lots and rooftops). I did not feel deprived by the view and enjoyed time on the balcony (others might trade quiet and price for an ocean view if that is important). Free computer access. Only one kind of beer so by day three I was definitely wishing to have something different. Maybe they did have other beer options but I never found it. The tropical drinks were fabulous and unlimited. The buffet food was very good and they always had local dish options that were unique and, if you were adventurous, fun to try (fish for breakfast!). There was a nice cross-section of guests (not kids under 18) from their 20s to their 80s with a mix of nationalities including, it appeared, some locals which is nice to see and experience. Lots of activities from beach volleyball to ping pong, pool and outdoor lawn chess. I would not think twice about going back there next time I want to visit Jamaica. I think it would be hard to improve on our experience for the price and all that came with it. I would definitely consider another Jewel resort as well as a return to this particular resort. And I will keep an open mind to other all-inclusives, if they measure up to the Jewel standard.


138 of 141 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 4, 2012
Nice resort, missing our favorite activities

We had a relaxing stay at the Jewel. Getting there from the airport was a little tiring. We were seated on the shuttle and then had to wait 1 1/2 hours before it left for the resort! The staff was very nice and the resort immaculate. The pool is nice and the food is great. We were surprised that there wasn't a buffet option for dinner most nights. We stayed 4 nights and Dinner on the Beach was the only buffet night. The breakfast and lunch buffet were great. Our disappointment was with the beach and snorkeling opportunities. We love to take beach walks and the Jewel's beach is blocked at both ends, preventing guests from taking leisurely walks. There was a Riu resort to the west and a small public beach to the east. Both ends were blocked by security. Our other stay in Jamaica was not like that. We love to snorkel and were disappointed that it was posted "no snorkeling in swimming area" and they didn't allow it outside of the marked swimming area, either. Under the listed amenities there is no "$" next to snorkeling and I had even confirmed this with a C.C. phone rep for on-site snorkeling. The only excursion they offered was $25 for an hour, going out on their small glass bottom boat. The time we watched it leave it seemed to only go into the cove next door, right off the shore. Had the fence not been there, we could have swam there ourselves. If you like just laying around at the pool or the beach it's a great place, but if you want to walk or snorkel, we suggest someplace else.


49 of 52 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Parkton, MD
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 2, 2017
The Jewel of resorts!

Our free bus transportation stopped at a few other resorts to drop folks off on our way to Jewel Dunns River. Our resort was the last stop and worth the wait. It was the prettiest. Check in was amazing! I mean it was seriously fun and awesome. The room was perfect. Large balcony and view of the ocean from the second floor! The staff was the best part, so friendly and fun. Went kayaking, paddling boarding, and on a guided hobie cat ride for free! Food was excellent. Drinks were really strong! This resort is the best location by far, closest to ochi and attractions. We recommend asking the front desk to call Michael Butler to drive you to the blue hole. This is a must see! You cannot go wrong with this resort.

View from our room
29 of 30 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Grand Ledge, MI
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 1, 2012
Nice anniversary trip

Had a wonderful time. Nice people, room and grounds. Beautiful lobby & loved being pampered at check-in! Property was smaller than I had pictured it, but very well kept. Sometimes a little uncomfortable being constantly "beckoned" by the locals on the adjacent public beach, and the guys on the jet-skis, but security is good, and you get used to it fast. (Never felt unsafe) Hard to find a "hot tub" at times--water was same temperature as the pool in all the tubs, including spa (but it smelled great...was that lemongrass?). Food and drink was excellent. Would recommend making reservation for "Japanese" restaurant in advance or ASAP, as we were turned away several times--they were "booked up" beyond the day of our stay. Came close to being disappointed, and staff could have made more effort to make sure we had a reservation. By luck, we did get in at the last minute, when an extra seating was added, but not announced. It was one of the highlights of our stay, and no one should miss it! Someone really did wade up to me with fresh fruit while I was floating in the pool--it's not just a promotional gimmick! (what a treat!) Thanks to Steven on the Hobie cat, Jason, Marvin (wow, he sure can dance!), and many, many more whose names I can't remember thanks to the "Jamaican Smile". Nice being in an all-adult environment, but now wish I could return for a family vacation so they could also enjoy Jamaica's beauty and hospitality. How bout opening a family resort that's as well-run as the Jewel?


17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Illinois
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 22, 2013
Amazing Vacation - want to go back already!

This was the perfect resort...not too big and not too small. The adults-only and all inclusive is the way to go! Everything about the resort was fantastic. We went to a Sandals in Jamaica last year and this far exceeded that one in so many ways. Every part of the staff was courteous and would help you out in any way, all the way from checking in, checking out, maid service, conceirge service and of course every single one of the bartenders! There was always a drink of the day and if you don't know what you wanted, the bartender would make you his specialty. The entertainers kept you entertained all day/night long and they all knew your name within a few days. If you didn't want to be included in the daytime fun at the one pool, there was always the other quieter pool. Don't believe any of the bad reviews on this site. There's nothing I could say that was negative at this resort. The food was of good quality and the Jade restaurant was the best! There is enough places to get food pretty much 24/7. Theres a pizzeria, outside area to get grilled food including grilled cheese, popcorn, hamburgers, jamaican jerk food, etc. There is ping-pong, a pool table, chess tables, Wii tournaments, etc. There's always something to do. Yes, there are the ladies that come around from the spa, but if you don't want anything done, they leave you alone. We both had 50 minute massages that were awesome! The spa is absolutely gorgeous. If you can afford it, upgrade to the Diamond rooms. They have 24/7 conceirge service plus the building is closest to the water with all rooms oceanview. There's nothing like having breakfast brought to you and eating it on your balcony. Next time we are booking 10 days at this resort instead of just one week. We didn't want the vacation to end. Again, this resort is awesome! The grounds are meticulous and someone is always cleaning them. We didn't even want to go on any excursions because we were just enjoying the resort all day. There IS plenty of excursions to go on if you want. In fact, there was a free trip to Margaritaville on one night. Another night at the resort was a beach theme with a full bullet right on the beach. That was the best! The ONLY downside is that it is a 1-1/2 hour ride to Ochos Rios. Not a problem at all because you load up on beers/drinks before the drive and at the halfway mark, they stop and you load up again on beer/drinks! As soon as you enter the resort, you are greeted by the staff with cold towels for your face and a drink. Plus the ride is neat as you get to see different parts of the island.


25 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Buffalo, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 26, 2012
Wonderful all around

Our experience from beginning to end was painless and exceeded all expectations. Cheap Caribbean was wonderful through which to book, offered great deals, and The Jewel was top notch. What is especially outstanding is the staff, food, accommodations, and facilities. The Jewel offers the benefits of an all-inclusive while eliminating the hectic craziness of the typical 600 room resort. With only 250 guest rooms, The Jewel provides guests with individualized attention when needed and pool side/ beach side chaises at all times! (There is no "scouting" for towels and lounges at 5a.m.) There is never a problem finding a seat for a meal and the walk-up food locations are always convenient and plentiful. The beach is gorgeous and well maintained. The staff working on the beach and in entertainment are always helpful, attentive, and fun. We met so many wonderful couples with whom we participated in contests, games, talent shows, volleyball, and dining. Another feature that greatly appealed to us was that the resort was the perfect size; no matter where some one's room is located, it is only a short jaunt to food, entertainment, bars, and the beach. It is just so carefree and easy to schedule outings, get a drink, sit for dinner, watch a show etc. ( We participated in an excursion while we were there and this process was simple and pain free also.) There is never any "push back." All of the bar tenders, wait staff, and cooks are always happy to see us and willing to accommodate our wishes (one example: I wanted a drink that was tropical but I didn't really know what to ask for so I just asked the bar tender to make me something "good" -- OMG the drink that he created blew my mind with banana, chocolate, coconut, rum etc.) When further discussing the wait staff, we just cannot say enough kind words. The people are unforgettable;so grateful, kind, and made of all things beautiful. By getting to know the people for who they really are and what their life consists of on a daily basis, we are forever changed for the better. It made us realize that true happiness means loving all your "brothers" and leading with kindness/ and an open mind( as is the philosophy of the people whom we met, "No problems Mon" "Don't worry, be happy"). To elaborate on the food options, the best word to use is exquisite. The Moonstone (Italian) is always delicious offering seafood, pasta, and an amazing antipasti salad bar! The Platinum offers amazing choices and service. The Samurai Hibachi is delicious and provides more food than anyone could imagine (all seated are given shrimp, chicken, tuna, and beef!) In the Coral Cafe there is an amazing array of buffet options for breakfast and lunch (and the best part is you can go up for seconds!) And during the day while lying pool/ beach side, the pizza oven and grille are AMAZING. The Jerk chicken wraps, French fries, nachos, strombolis, and personal pizzas are delicious. We cannot say enough to compliment the management and the staff at The Jewel. We feel like we were part of a larger family. My fiancé, who is a bit apprehensive about travelling, is so impressed with The Jewel and the people of Jamaica that he wants to return next year! (This is a huge compliment to The Jewel as he never wants to travel!) Thank you to the Jewel, Ocho Rios and Cheap Caribbean.com for making our engagement celebration one we will never ever forget.

Wonderful all around Wonderful all around
22 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 11, 2011
The Jewel - Great Resort

This was our first trip to Jamaica, and The Jewel was a fantastic choice. The other reviewers were correct saying that the private beach area is small, but for me, small means that it's too short to run on. If you want to take a walk, it's long enough for that, but I'd have to run back and forth a hundred times to get in a good run. The resort also has Hobie Kat windsail catamarans, which you can either sail yourself, or have a captain sail you around. We had a captain, and he sailed us along the beach to a cove that had a separate waterfall from the Dunn's Rivers falls, and we got some amazing photos (so make sure to take your camera if you go on one of the Hobies.) There's one other thing to keep in mind about the beach. One side of the beach is the Riu hotel, but the other side is a chain link fence that has 24-7 security monitoring, and houses a ram shack the locals refer to as the ghetto Wal Mart. I didn't shop there, but it's where you can go if you are looking to sample the local vegetation. My only judgment is that it's an eye sore. Beyond that, the resort is fabulous. It's small enough that you don't need a map to figure out where you're trying to go, and a smaller resort means a quieter resort. The staffers were incredibly friendly, and we noticed them joking around with guests the entire time, so there's definitely an element of knowing people. Throughout the week, we had staffers ask to join us for breakfast and lunch, and it gave us a chance to get to know some of them better, which made us participate in the activities (my guess is that's the plan.) However, when we checked out, there were personal goodbyes, and that type of service goes a long way. The food is outstanding, and my only complaint is that I was tired of the breakfast choices by the end of the week (but that's purely my qualm, and doesn't speak to the quality of the food.) The restaurants were awesome, and Platinum has this outstanding steak and lobster entree that I ordered both times we went! They also do a fun meal on the pier on Friday nights that we thoroughly enjoyed. They also had dinner on the beach one night, and another night had live music on the beach with a bonfire to roast marshmallows for S'mores. Good times! We've taken one trip each of the past three years, and I can honestly say that this is the first trip where I'd consider going back to the same resort. Warning though - it's a LONG drive from Montego Bay to Ocho Rios (about 1.5 - 2 hours) so make sure you've got a few Red Stripes in your hands.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year