All

InterContinental San Juan Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Puerto Rico Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 323 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.7
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4.4 out of 5
"Great stay. Beautiful pool and beach. Rooms are very nice. Food on site is ridiculously expensive." – Moe1
364 out of 393 (93%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Having a blast in Isles Verde View from my room View from room Loquillo Beach San Juan Intercontinental Beach Bar View from the plane. SURPRISE DELIVERY ON MY BIRTHDAY! Construction outside near the pool area. Tropical delight! Hotel Front View The waterfall in the pool is so cool! from room balcony Lunch at ciao The beach at the Intercontinental Old San Juan Beautiful Atlantic Ocean pool at night Family friendly resort Wonderful pool! day trip to thr rain forest, wow watch ravens steelers game in this pool go ravens Me on the balcony of our room...What a view! we had the pool to ourselves! mom & kid view from beach bar At sunset outside our resort Pool 7th floor room. room view from the 10th fl Beach Toys in PR from room balcony Very dirty bathtub. View from our room Room sand flea bites Beautiful waterfall in the pool El Morro Fortress in Old San Juan Best Honeymoon Ever! The beach View from the deck in the morning Tub in new room

All InterContinental San Juan Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 323 reviews. Sort by
February 20, 2011
Great Deal & Amazing Time!!!

This is a winner! We traveled here in January 2011. This is our first experience using Cheap Caribbean and we couldn't have been happier. The site was great and we were able to get a $200 resort credit towards our stay. Now for the hotel... The Intercontinental is a great hotel in a great location. When you first arrive, visit Nestor the concierge to find out about things to do and places to eat. The room was very nice. We had a king size bed, a little couch, desk, and small refrigerator as well as safe. The bed was very comfortable and our room was always made up nicely when we returned. The pool was very nice. The pool has plenty of seating with a waterfall and hot tub. The beach is just off of the pool and the staff will bring you lounge chairs to wherever you want to sit. There is a bar on the beach that offers the VOODOO. This is the GO TO DRINK ($16 for 6 shots, and delicious!) This is the way to go as the bar drinks are very high priced as well. The bar offers some similar drinks and , in my opinion, you should go with the most bang for your buck. The Walgreens does not have alcohol, contrary to other reviews that I read on this site prior to our trip. However, Publix is right down the street and we stocked up on snacks and booze. What to do: The BIOBAY kayak tours are a must! Try either Farjardo or Vieques, but check to make sure you are traveling during the right time (not good during a full moon). YOU MUST visit Luquillo beach! This is a beautiful beach about 40 minutes away. It is called the Riviera of the Caribbean. Pristine white sand beaches and calm crystal clear water. Also, check out the 60 or so KIOSKS for amazing food. They have everything you can imagine. Many places have deck seating right on the beach and serve wonderful food and drinks. Try: La Parilla #2 and Los Congas (our favorite) somewhere towards the middle of the kiosks. El Yunque Rainforest: We traveled here on our last day and we're glad we did! Just 40 minutes or so from the resort. Just drive up the mountain (no need to stop at the visitor center unless you want to read about the rainforest or buy souvenirs). As you drive up the mountain there are plenty of places to stop and park in order to check out the surroundings. You'll first come up to an amazing waterfall right by the road. Next there is a look out tower that looks down upon the rainforest. As you keep traveling you can hike to other waterfalls as well. Places to eat outside of resort: Marmalade - Old San Juan -- Best Meal Ever! (3, 4, 5 course and a la carte). Lupis sports bar - outside seating w/ PR beer Medalla Mi Casita (Breakfast, lunch, or dinner) across the street. LUQUILLO BEACH KIOSKS Hotel Splash bar - had good food, but expensive. We used our $200 credit here for food and drinks. The bartender will also whip you up his famous "drink of the day" upon request. Book this trip! You will not be sorry. We would definitely go back.

Beach Bar Loquillo Beach
101 of 103 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 28, 2012
An Adventure to Remember

This was my first trip booked with Cheap Caribbean. My girlfriend and I made our way to San Juan Puerto Rico to the InterContinental San Juan. The taxi ride to the hotel was $12 and an additional $1 for every piece of luggage carried with you. The service was great, bell hoppers were very helpful and our concierge Nester was extremely helpful. Our goal was to do as much as possible within our time limit on the island. Nester advised us to go sight seeing in Old San Juan where we took a Ferry for $.50 to the Bacardi Tour factory where we received free drinks and a free tour of the factory. We also visited the historical site of Castillo San Cristóbal Fort. Bus rides were available for $.75 to Old San Juan from Isla Verde, but they took at least an hour to arrive. Down the street were different restaurants including Wendy''s, Burger King, Subway and Pizza Hut. Our favorite restaurant was the Mi Casa restaurant located across the street from the hotel and local bar called Taquito with great burritos. Charlie Car Rental had cars as low as $39 per day for rental which we used to drive to the city of Fajardo where we caught a 9am $4 ferry ride to Flamenco beach on the Island of Culebra where the sand was white and the water was crystal clear. (Be sure to have your own insurance). We also drove the car up the mountain of El Yunque Rainforest where we swam in the pool of La Mina Falls. We also scheduled a ATV Adventure tour with Elegant Steering for a 2 hour ATV ride on the outskirts of the Rainforest, we drove through mud puddles and jumped in the river along the trail. Ask for the 2 Pedro's to be your guide. All in all our trip was a success! The only negative experience we encountered was a series a sand flea bites on my girlfriend that might have originated from the beach or from the sheets of the hotel rooms. Also make sure to negotiate taxi prices with the cab drivers, do not let them over charge your fair. Other than that misfortune, our trip was one to remember! Thank you everyone at the InterContinental !!


47 of 47 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Miami
Age: 19-24

September 16, 2015
Incredible Stay

Ok I'm going to start off by saying I read a million reviews before my trip and I know they play a big role in your decision making so I will try to be as informative as possible. When I first arrived to PR I decided to get a rental car instead of taking taxis everywhere because the cab fees add up quick. We were there 4 days and I think we roughly paid 200$. When I arrived at Intercontinental I was told valet was 25$ nightly or you can pay 22$ and park across the street. Of course we chose valet, and also there will be a 100$ hold on your card per night. Alright now that we have that out the way the resort was breathtaking. They open up your doors when you walk in and out, security is present (which makes you feel safe), front desk staff were amazing and I mentioned it was me and my husbands first year anniversary the front desk attendant sent us choc covered strawberries and champagne on the house! I was so grateful of the warm gesture! Also there are bars everywhere for the drinkers and a nice casino. They have bingo night, salsa night, etc to keep you busy. The food in the resort are pricey, but no worries there are so many resturants in walking distance such as outback, chillis, ponderoso, subway, burger king etc. The hotel is on a strip so you can really walk to alot of places without using cabs. The pools were nothing short of amazing and the beach was Godsent. It was very spacious with plenty of seats. We got massages on the beach (the best) for a cheap price. They will also serve you drinks on the beach which is seriously about 10 steps from the pool. The staff were very pleasent and will all around the resort. The only reason I didnt give 5 stars is because our shower barely reached the hot water tempature. It was difficult bathing in lukewarm water, and also there are no microwaves in the entire resort. So you have no choice but to throw away your doggy bags because you cannot reheat anything. Beyond that you will LOVE this location! PS go to Third Base around the corner and get the best coconut drink of your life! Hope this was helpful.


39 of 39 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Jackson, MS
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 2, 2011
Great Stay

We were pleased when we arrived at the Intercontinental Hotel. We were going to self park our rental car, but chose to use the Valet for only $5 additional dollars per day. It was extremely nice when we wanted to leave and it was raining. The valet staff was always nice and quick to get our car. The hotel staff was pleasant and seemed eager to please. We were informed about all of the hotel amenities upon check in. The restaurants were overpriced, which we learned after eating at the breakfast buffet. While the food and service was very good, it wasn't worth the $54 bill we received. There is a nice little diner across the street where the food is good and reasonably priced. The pool and the beach area were beautiful and well maintained. We could have spent our entire vacation there. The drinks at the poolside bar were pricey as well, but the waitress on the beach was worth the added cost. Overall, we greatly enjoyed our stay. Be sure to review your bill carefully, as I was charged for a drink on a day that we were out of the hotel for the majority of the day. It was quickly rectified during check out. I will definitely return to the Intercontinental.

The beach at the Intercontinental
35 of 37 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Middletown, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 16, 2012
FABULOUS! FABULOUS!!

This was a perfect getaway! Direct flight from Boston-- we were on the beach in under 5 hours! Intercontinental staff is very accommodating and service was great. We spent our whole time on the beach, though the pool was beautiful. Many staff to bring your heart's desire to your lounge chair. Great beach for walking, water was a perfect temp and lots of waves to body surf. We took the bus, right outside the hotel, to Old San Juan for 75 cents each! Ate at a fabulous bistro, Cafe Berlin. Also, Lupis Bar had the best margaritas, and the Metropole was authentic Cuban. Both within walking distance to the hotel. We also elected the katamaran snorkling trip one day which was terrific. We are in love with Cheap Caribbean... where to go next???


24 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 24, 2010
I love this place!

The Intercontinental sits on one of the nicest beaches in Puerto Rico. The view is fabulous - light blue sky, fluffy white clouds, meeting a turquoise ocean and white sand. The staff is friendly and helpful and the Concierge, Jossell, goes out of his way for the guests. There is a restaurant in between the beach and the pool, and there is waiter service for both food and beverage on the beach. There is also a swim-up bar in the pool area, and cabanas and large hot tub. Other restaurants include Italian, Asian, and Ruth's Chris Steak. You can also order food at the lobby bar. During the holiday season, the hotel is decorated beautifully, and there is a tree lighting ceremony, which is lovely. This year, there was also a menorah lighting ceremony, also lovely. If you are flying home late in the day, the hotel will let you stay at the beach or pool, and leave your luggage with the bellmen. There is also a courtesy room where you can change from beach wear to your traveling clothes. The casino is not huge, and it has a friendly atmosphere for the most part, and has slots from $.01 and up, all table games, and even Texas no limit hold'em poker tables (2). I have never been disappointed with my visits to this hotel, which date back to decades ago, when i lived a few buildings away down the beach. It is great for singles, couples, and families, however, every once in awhile, the children of some of the families seem to have not been taught to respect the other guests. This is not frequent, and you can pretty much select your travel dates to suit your preferences. Did i mention I Love This Place!?!

View from my room
35 of 38 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Ft Lauderdale, FL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 6, 2012
LOVED it!

My family rarely travels, but I wanted an adventure for my daughter and so I booked this trip on short notice. I was nervous because I didn't have time for the research I thought I should have done. No problem!! The hotel was beautiful - everything we hoped for and more as a picturesque place. Staff was very nice. The only reason I didn't give 5 palms as a rating was that the concierge gave us a bum steer twice. Dining was good, just very expensive on site. We had great side adventures - kayaking to the Bio Bay, ziplining in Orocovis, snorkeling on a catamaran day trip, poking around the forts (San Cristobal is more interesting and informative). I'm sooo grateful that, as a travel neophyte, all went really well. Do note that when you leave PR, allow extra time at the airport to do the agriculture bag check in addition to the security check. We cut it too close!


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Lewisburg, PA
Age: 45-54

March 19, 2013
Lovely Pool & Beach

The pool has a lovely tropical feel and the beach is gorgeous. We enjoyed the Isla Verde location - it was a five minute drive from the airport (do not purchase airport transfers, the taxi is about $15). We booked city view Laguna rooms, but when we arrived to check in at 5:30, the rooms were not ready yet. We opted to upgrade to pool view Laguna rooms, with two queen beds. Nice beds and bedding, average size, tiny balcony that you cannot sit in. We travelled with our three sons, ranging from 13 - 20, and they enjoyed the hotel and beach. The only two drawbacks for us were that the restaurants were VERY high priced and VERY average, did not think the Japanese steak house was good at all, Ruth's Chris was great, and $30 for a buffet breakfast with good but not great food was too high. And, the front desk service was agonizingly slow...we had to go down every day because somehow our keys would stop working and it took at least half an hour in line. There are a variety of restaurants within five minutes walk, we like Mi Casita for breakfast, and Metropol for dinner. We went to either Walgreens or Mi Pueblo (grocery store) and stocked up on soft drinks, snacks, beer and wine. It was a fifteen minute drive into Old San Juan, which was beautiful, very picturesque and great shopping. We loved Puerto Rico, the beaches are beautiful, teh climate was wonderful, the water was warm, the people very friendly and we felt safe everywhere.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: memphis, tn
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 20, 2011
San Juan InterContinental Resort & Casino

We really enjoyed our stay in this Hotel in San Juan. The Mini Suite that we reserved was very modern & spacious. We were also able to get a connecting room for our daughters. Even though we arrived after the Hurricane and it was rainy & humid we were very comfortable in the hotel & the casino. We were able to enjoy a couple of sunny days in the pool & beach. The pools are beautiful & the ocean is within walking distance!! The hotel is very elegant & the casino was fun.The staff was very accomodating & the housekeeper was excellent. We wished we would've been there longer to enjoy the island's historic sites. We did tour Old San Juan & The Morro one evening but didn't go anywhere else due to the floods & power outages. The Puerto Rican lunches & dinners in the hotel were very good for $10. I wished there would've been breakfast for that price. There is complementary coffee & herbal tea that we fixed in the room every day. We had room service the last night which was good, pizza & beer for $15, There are other restaurants, which are pretty good, within walking distance from the hotel. The staff was very helpful in giving us directions & information about the island. The Agency's Representative was very patient with all the questions we had & extremely helpful with all the arrangements. This was a last minute vacation & we got a great deal!!


18 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, Illinois
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 28, 2011
Puerto Rico

I had Lori plan my vacation. She did an absolute perfect plan!!!! We stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel, I looked at all the comments they were all true, so read them!!!!! The hotel is great, beautiful, pool beach, they have it all. But as the comments were the drinks were outrageously expensive, I don't drink and had virgins and they were only $2.less than a drink with liguor!!!! Ridiculous!!! The restaurants were way above what one would want to spend, only good for convenience. But there are places across the street as comments recommended and Old San Juan is a quick taxi ride. Taxi's are expensive, but so is the gas. DO GO FOR DINNER AND FLAMENCO DANCING SHOW, JUST AS GOOD AS IN SPAIN!!! Go also to see the illuminated waters, what an experience!!! Tour includes dinner. Nothing fancy buy an experience, there are only 11 places in the world with these planktons that light up. Enjoy and read comments they help!!! Beele


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year