All

Iberostar Tucan Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 197 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.7
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.5 out of 5
"Really enjoyed the Rock&Roll show and Disco Night in the theater. This was a good resort for the cost. The staff is friendly and helpful, beach and pool are very clean. I do recommend" – Phillyfan21
204 out of 219 (93%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Monkeys! Howler Monkey w/baby Peacock by room Poolside One of the buffets Awesome animals always walking around your resort. Lobby Entering the path into the jungle The pool at night The Beach Breakfast Mimosa! Beach in front of Hotel starbucks just down from the resort in front of our room The outside Peacocks outside our building Beautiful Beach! Tucan Heaven our room

All Iberostar Tucan Customer Reviews

1-10 of 197 reviews. Sort by
December 20, 2013
Great Resort!!

My wife and I just returned from a trip to Iberostar Tucan/Quetzal. The resort is laid out length wise, split evenly down the middle with Tucan on one side and Quetzal on the other side. Each side has it's own lobby. However, despite 2 lobbies, the entire resort can be thought of as 1 resort since everything is shared (pools, restaurants, etc). In the middle of the resort, they have a paved/rock path (can be slippery) that weaves through a beautiful jungle full of animal (coatis, peacocks, monkeys, agoutis, chickens, tucan bird). If you love animals, then this is the resort for you. My wife is an animal lover, and she absolutely loved this resort. It's like walking through a zoo. However, if you don't like animals, you can always take the smoother/paved path on either end of the resort bypassing the jungle area. Overall, the resort is on the smaller side. My wife and I took a vacation to Grand Palladium in Mexico (miles down from this resort), and this resort felt smaller in comparison. However, my wife and I loved the smaller aspect of the resort. For example, if you forget something in your room or want to get to a show, you are within minutes instead of the hassle of taking trains or walking forever. We were able to explore the entire resort in 20-25 minutes. We felt that the food at this resort was much better than many of the all inclusive resorts we have visited. Of course, you get what you pay for. This is not 5-star quality food, so if you are a foodie look elsewhere. However, with that said, the food was great for the value. We were also pleasantly surprised that the "booked" restaurants were actually pretty good (we tried the steak house, Japanese, and Mexican). Just be aware that the Japanese restaurants experience takes over 2 hours. The food was great, but wish it would have been quicker. The beach was great. Lots of little huts for shade. Just be aware that the shaded huts get claimed pretty early, so they can be hard to come by. You aren't supposed to claim them and leave, but people are people, and they do. The pool was large and clean. However, during our visit (in December) the pool was pretty cold, and not many people were enjoying the pool because of this. Therefore, I can only assume the pool is not heated, which was a shame. This is probably not a problem in the summer with hotter temps. The "kid" population was moderate. There were enough kids to notice them. My wife and I do not have kids yet, and we would like to remain kid free for the time being, so having screaming kids is slightly annoying. We didn't have too much of a problem. If you have kids, this is probably not the best resort for them. They do have a small kid pool and playground stuff. However, my wife and I also visited Iberostar Parisio which is 25 minutes away, and it was a kids paradise...and it had tons of kids with a dedicated waterpark. If you have kids, check it out. Interesting things. This resort is within (less than) 2 miles from Playa Del Carmen. You can walk from the resort to Playa, it takes around 20-25 mins moderate walking. There is a paved side walk from the resort directly to Playa. The sidewalk is very safe, as you pass resort after resort until you get to Playa. The area seemed to be patrolled frequently by police (for safety). My wife and I walked it 4-5x. If you get tired, or you don't want to walk, you can also take a taxi for $7USD. The taxis are quick, safe, and plentiful. Having Playa Del Carmen so close to the resort was a huge bonus, as my wife and I enjoyed walking around at night and enjoying the weather. The shows at the resort are very well done. You can tell they put a lot of work into them. However, it's not broadway or vegas, but there's always something special about the smaller resort shows. The "nightlife" (and "daytime" activity's) at this resort is minimal. My wife and I are not really "nightlife" people, but we did notice that this resort is much lower key than previous resorts. However, we didn't mind. If you are someone who needs constant excitement, then you might be bored. Lastly, the service at the resort was excellent. Everyone was friendly and very attentive to your needs or requests. If you asked for something, they would followup quickly. Couldn't have asked for better service. We have visited Jamaica multiple times (which we love), however we both agreed, Mexico's service/friendliness is much much better. In Jamaica if you ask for something, you will wait and wait and wait (the "No problem man" mentality or be told 25 minutes for everything), whereas in Mexico they just get it done with a smile. Overall, we had a great time. I would recommend this resort to others. In fact, we are planning on going back in the future!


42 of 42 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Cleveland, OH
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 15, 2011
Great Family Vacation!

We stayed at the Iberostar Tucan in Playa del Carmen the end of July 2011. It was a wonderful resort...big, but not too big. There were lots of options for adults and kids. The pool was gorgeous, huge and clean with plenty of loungers. The beach went on forever, with dozens of loungers. Yes, the best spots were taken early in the morning, but we were always able to find a spot any time of day. The free umbrellas you could check out were great if you wanted to be down near the water to keep an eye on your children. Most days were Yellow Flag days. A baby or toddler would have trouble keeping their feet at the shoreline, but for any child older than 3, the waves make it that much more fun. Take your own float rings though--they were $18 USD in the gift shop! Sunscreen was $35 USD, so be sure to take plenty! The in-room amenities were shower gel and shampoo only, so bring some conditioner. After a few days of sun, sand, and saltwater your hair will thank you! Our room was lovely but I had to give it an average rating only because of the beds---the mattresses were absolutely rockhard! I have traveled extensively and I have never in my life slept on a mattress that hard. Having read this on TripAdvisor, I crammed an egg-crate foam pad in my suitcase and the minute we arrived in our room, we called housekeeping and had them deliver one to our room for each bed. So, my bed had 2 pads and it was still not enough! I have one of the world's pickiest eaters and she always managed to find something to eat. The food was always hot and fresh. The burgers and fries in the snack shack on the beach were delicious. We were able to book 3 specialty restaurants--Japanese, Seafood, and Italian. We enjoyed them all. There are parasailing and jet skis for hire on the beach--they will approach you and are allowed by the resort. There is a manmade reef to the right down the beach where my husband and girls found large shells and colorful fish. If you have teenage boys, be prepared for the topless sunbathers on the beach. My husband went on several dives with the diveshop onsite and said they were very organized and professional dives. We went to Tulum one day. Our onsite "travel agent" was with Olympus Tours..he was very pushy and kept hounding us to book tours only through him. Tulum for our family of 4 would have been $200. Based on reviews we'd read, we asked the front desk to call us a cab...he took us to the ruins (30 min. trip), showed us where to get our tickets, and then parked in the shade across the street. We found him as promised 2 hours later for the return to our resort where we paid him his $100 fee. Total trip expense, $128. We also took a cab into the shopping district of Playa for $7 one way. All four of us got a fabulous 1 hour massage at the Sabai Massage Parlor for $120 (that included the tip!) One hour in the resort's Spa started at $119! I would never have done it if I hadn't read so many great reviews on TripAdvisor! They have a little kiosk on 5th Avenue between 6th and 8th streets (once you pass Haagan Das, start looking on the right side of the street). A receptionist is there and you can make your appointment with her but the spa is down a gorgeous little sidestreet---you have the choice of indoors or out in the back garden. All in all, it was a fabulous trip and I would recommend it to anyone.


65 of 71 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Kansas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 7, 2010
Great Value at a great location - highly reccomend

We have been to the Tucan on 4 occasions so far and looking forward to our 5th. Although this resort is smaller than most we found it to be much more intimate than the larger resorts. We loved this resort so much we choose it as the location for our wedding in 2008. All of the staff we encountered during our visits were top notch and they always go above and beyond to ensure their guests enjoy their stay. If you are a nature lover there is a jungle where you can encounter monkeys, agoti, conti and many varieties of birds and reptiles. The food is great and we would highly recommend the Japanese restaurant as it was the best Japanese food we ever had. The activity/entertainment staff is awesome and a lot of fun to get to know; they always encourage all to participate throughout the day to enhance your stay and the shows at night are very entertaining and fun. The resort is centrally located and only a 5 minute/$5.00 to Playa, which is a big plus because you can ferry over to Cozumel for the day or any other activities you choose to do. If this is you first time to the area we would highly recommend the resort/area. The Tucan is a 5 star resort in our book.


19 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Reading, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 16, 2016
Great Experience

The Iberostar Tucan is an excellent all-inclusive resort with only a 20-30 minute walk into Playa. The room was comfortable with excellent air conditioning and outstanding service, Attention to detail was awesome, example: The large bottle of water they leave for the coffee maker was not replaced the second day so I left a short note to please replace and later that day there were 2 large bottles for the coffee maker, tiny details but they matter. We do the all-inclusive 2 times a year so here are some detailed reviews. Food: Buffet was okay but with plenty of options for all diet types. I say okay but it was what I expect for an all-inclusive. Compared to other brands we have stayed at like Dreams, Bahia Principe and RIU they are all very much the same. That being said I was satisfied and never left hungry. We also ate at the Japanese (Bonsai) and new Mediterranean restaurant and they were excellent. I say new because the website lists a tropical restaurant but it was nowhere to be found but the Mediterranean was awesome. Beach: Amazing beach that you can walk on in either direction for as long as you desire. Pool: Decent size but get there early if you want a good selection, especially if you want a position with shade and sun options. Towel Pickup/Drop off: Wish they had more then the 1 location. Bars: Very limited but the service at the pool bar was excellent and the Tucan lobby bar was sensational with the servers remembering day after day what drinks you had ordered the day/night before. Concierge: Bugged me once about the presentation but once we expressed that we were not interested we were never bugged again. Guest Services: Dinner reservations took no more then 3 minutes for both restaurants at the same time. Overall: The tropical jungle setting between the main area and the pool/beach is so relaxing and unique and is beautiful, an awesome design feature that I have never witnessed in an all-inclusive resort. Take some time to explore the various paths, there is even a place (or 2) within this area to get a massage. Overall: One of the best vacations to Mexico we have had the pleasure of experiencing... FYI: If you can get direct flights with Aeromexico DO IT, the greatest. Last but not least, if ou can get to Ibrerostar Tucan it is absolutely worth it!!


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Milwaukee
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 30, 2011

After reading through all the reviews for this resort, I have to admit there were a lot of negative comments. If you are planning on staying at this resort you have nothing to worry about. Yes the food is almost the same every night in the buffet restraunts BUT they have MANY great selections and best of all its free. There is nothing like not worrying about paying for food or drinks!! All inclusive is the only way to go..... The customer service is EXCELLENT, felt like I was somebody important. Rooms were excellent, clean, and have a well stocked mini fridge. Pool is big enough that it never seems crowded, beach is beautiful and we never had a problem finding a tiki hut to sit under. Be sure to book your specialty restraunts as early as possible. They ARE guarenteed until there are no more seats, then you have to choose another choice.. I never understood why anyone gave this resort one bad review..I would stay here every vist to the area.....


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Winston Salem, NC
Age: 25-34

February 20, 2013
This anxious traveler was pleasantly surpised!

I was nervous since we had a tighter budget this time than our last trip to Cancun in '08 & so I was trying to choose a cheaper but still all-inclusive resort. We stayed in the pricier Moon Palace last time, but I was pleasantly surprised that I enjoyed Iberostar Tucan more! The StarFriends entertainment group was my favorite part of this trip! There was an activities board posted in 3 places (that I saw) on sight & also in a printed program in our room w/ fun activities scheduled almost every hour of the day from 8 am til 4 pm daily for guests to do if they want. My husband & I are not sit by the pool kind of people. Also, this time we could only afford to do an excursion one day of our trip. We usually look forward to the water sports like wind surfing & sailing when we go on vacation since this isnt something we get to do back home. We were bummed at first b/c the wind & sea current were too rough & the watersports werent allowed all but the last day of our trip. However, thanks to the Star Friends' activities we never got bored. I did yoga by the pool & zumba in the pool & on the beach multiple times with super fun Mauricio (a young Hispanic Richard Simmons). My husband did American football in the pool w/ them also. Together throughout our stay we participated in the silly pool runway walk, rode the mecahincal bull at the beach party, joined the silly olympic games, water vollyball, archery, bocci ball, & bike tour. All of this coordinated fun was at no extra charge! They also had entertainment shows every night. We were in a 3rd floor room & monkeys visited our balcony every morning. The buffets & speciality restaurants are just average, like most resorts we've stayed at. The ice cream by the beach is great! The bed was the firmest bed I have ever slept on, but I was pleasantly surprised I slept well every night. You can request a mattress pillow topper at no charge too though. It would have been nicer if the swim up bar was located in the main pool & not a separate one. The grounds & wildlife were great & the service on every level was super too! Never a dull moment! Just the kind of trip I needed & more fun than I anticipated! I would definitely recommend this resort to others.


15 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Colorado Springs, CO
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 10, 2015

When we left the airport for our transfer to the hotel, we had people from other hotels with us. So we dropped off the first couple and we in awe at the entry to their hotel. Next was our turn. We were even more in awe when we entered our hotel! We did t know what to expect going there but we were very happy. The Steakhouse was the very best! Good food and attentive waitstaff. The Japanese restaurant was just ok. We didn't have a very lively chef, so we were kind of disappointed with that. The food was average. The buffets were average, a few things different, but mostly the same things each time. Pools were terrific! We had our grand daughter with us and there was plenty of space to splash around without disturbing others. The staff, be it waiters, cleaners, show people, game leaders,we're just the best! Nightly shows were awesome! The group of singers, dancers etc. did a fantastic job. We were pleasantly surprised when Il Divo did a show one night.. They were fabulous!!! Nice to have big names once in a while... Rooms were lovely and very comfortable.. The only thing to think about is if you are an early to bed person, make sure you get a room as far away from the show hall as possible. They play music after the show until after midnight, so you can hear the base a lot. Don't need an alarm cause the peacocks and monkeys will wake you up! Some mornings are louder than others, but it was neat having the animal right at your feet. All in all the only thing that was horrible was coming home landing in Philadelphia. Going through customs etc took so long that half the people on the plane missed connecting flights, we just made ours. Going down with connecting flights was fine but next time we will make sure we have a direct flight home to avoid the rushing to catch your plane!!!! So if you can get a direct flight it might be worth it!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 55-64

February 26, 2012
Awesome experience

We just arrived back to the states from Iberostar Tucan. We had a great time. Positives: We were welcomed with a COLD drink, a Congo. Check in was flawless. I could not have asked for more from the housekeepers. Our room was always very clean . She went above and beyond to make sure we had a good stock of refreshments...sprite, coke, beer, and lots of water. There were always little characters made out of towels. Hospitality was the best. We never wanted for anything. no matter where we were at on the resort. We were always asked if we needed anything and service was quick. The jungle and wildlife was beyond our expectations. The peacocks sure were proud. Walking the path to the beach was a new experience each and every time. I just wished we had stayed in building 13 or 14 to get a better monkey experience. The Star team was incredible. Very good shows, and very friendly team. One dancer in particular, Heather was extremely nice and friendly not to mention an awesome dancer. They work so hard day and night to please the guests. The pool bar is a little secluded but wasn't really an issue. We met a lot of nice people I will keep in touch with forever. Only 2 negatives: The food on the buffet was repetitious, partly our fault...we only made reservations for one night at the Tropicale, which was really tasty. The only other negative is I thought there would have been more ocean view rooms. There is only one one ocean view building. I would definitely return to this resort, it was just an awesome experience.

Awesome experience
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: South Carolina
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 5, 2016
Amazing Vacation

Had a wonderful stay at the Iberostar Toucan! It definitely has the Most amazing beach in all of the Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen/Cancun area. Very wide, shallow bay, sandy, absolutely no rocks or reef. Lots of fun activities are offered on the beach and the pool! Do not miss the foam party at the pool! So much fun! Rooms were clean and offered plenty of space. Good water pressure. Air worked great. Balcony was nice to have too. Staff was friendly and made you feel like family. We were able to book two restaurants without a problem and at decent times the third one we couldn't get anything until 9:30p the night before we left, so we ended up canceling. I would not recommend the Mexican Restaurant, oddly enough! I wasn't great. We really enjoyed the Japenese Steakhouse. Not only entertaining, but delicious food. Definitely get the shrimp and chicken. We heard the Mediterranean restaurant was good too and were bummed that we weren't able to try it out. Buffet is typical resort buffet food. Some of it was fantastic! I personally looked forward to all the fresh and juicy tropical fruit. And, there peanut butter is extraordinary!! The only complaints I have are 1) we were very disappointed with the front desk staff. It would have been nice to have been greeted with a smile at the checkin counter. We were so excited to be there and she was just not customer friendly at all. 2) it also would have been nice to know that there are no elevators. The bell hop was not attentive at all and we don't mind taking our own luggage to our room, so didn't bother inquiring, but we found it to be very challenging hauling our heavy large suitcases as well as all the other bags we had up three floors. 3) the peacocks and wild animals are beautiful to see during the day, but very frustrating to be awakened to their screeching at 3&4 in the morning. Loved the location. Super safe. Can easily walk the sidewalks behind the resort. It's a gated resort community. Super close to Playa Del Carmen. Only a 10 minute cab ride. Could prolly walk it if you have time. In all we had a great stay. My favorite thing about the resort was the beautiful beach!

Amazing Vacation Amazing Vacation
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chelsea, MI
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 21, 2017
Best Hotel in Playa Del Carmen

We did extensive review on all of the resorts from Cancun to Riviera Maya and came to the conclusion that the Iberostar Tucan/ Quetzal was the best resort. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left this place was everything we could've imagined. The service was Amazing! Simply put our flight got changed which means we arrived early like 5am and the hotel gave us a room right away and told us to go rest. We were always taken care of, super nice accommodations, cleanest beaches, service service service. A plate never sat on the table for longer than 30 seconds and someone was there to take it away. Beautiful cultural shows, close to Xcaret and other adventures. Immaculate grounds, fantastic themed areas, and vibrant casitas (rooms). The staff was fun, always motivating guests to get involved with activities, or they would allow you to just sit back and relax quietly. Water sports including the sail boats were fun to take out daily for free and wifi is all free as well. Don't waste your time looking for something else. This place is it. Enjoy and make some memories. Family friendly but not annoyingly such. 90% adults but if you have kids there's a kids club and fun stuff for them too!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: San Diego, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations