All

Iberostar Rose Hall Suites Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 100 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.7
Dining Options
 
4.3
Room Comfort
 
4.5
4.5 out of 5
"Just missed Sandy both ways, very nice resort. Staff was great!!" – JackDan
108 out of 117 (92%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from my poolside bed The beautiful infinity pool and bar A view of the lazy river from our room sun set view from balcaony lobby beach Main lobby balcony Sunsets are fantastic! The room Yeah mon!

All Iberostar Rose Hall Suites Customer Reviews

1-10 of 100 reviews. Sort by
August 18, 2011
great resort, great time

First off make sure you take a cab and do not utilize transfers. Cab is easier and cheaper;. Transfers with vouchers took forever Once at resort, try to get a room on the same floor as the lobby. The rooms have great view and you are central location. Restaurants were great. The best was gourmet. followed by steakhouse, mediterrean and mexican. The buffet was good for breakfast. I loved the buffet bbq on the beach. The star friends are fantastic. Make sure you get involved and do some type of activity. Pools and beach are amazing. very relaxing...water warm. I would recommend taking water shoes as there is some rocks in the water. Rooms are so nice. THere is lots of closet space and double sinks in the bathroom. THere is a huge balcony and most rooms have a ocean view so don't spend extra for one. Had a wonderful time at IBRHS and would definitely recommend anyone going here


15 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: nj
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 15, 2010
Anniversary vacation

My husband and I went to the Iberostar Rose Hall Suites. We had the best time. We have three children and are not able to go away too often but this was truly wonderful. The entire grounds were very clean and updated. The landscaping was beautiful. When we got there we were greeted with drinks. We were given our number which happened to be on the bottom floor. We asked for a different room with the view of the ocean and they said no problem mon! There was a good selection of food. We ended up going to 3 restaurants while we were there. The food was ok at them but we cannot stop raving about the JERK chicken at the beach BBQ. It is a must. The bars had large selection of drinks at them and the bar in the lobby was the most popular with us because they had any drinks you could want with top shelf liquor. We went on two excursions. The first one was zip linning. What a blast. The second one was to Ocho Rios on a catamaran cruise to Dunns and snorkeling. We had a great time on both trips that were planned through Iberostar while we were there. The guides that had gone along were pleasant and very informative about the culture and the area were we in. We had such a great time and would go back in a heartbeat. We can't wait to plan our next trip away again with no kids! ENJOY!

Main lobby balcony The beautiful infinity pool and bar
22 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Claverack,NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 23, 2011
Fun and Relaxing

The Rose Hall Suites was lovely and comfortable. Every room is an ocean view. The grounds are gorgeous. The pool is amazing and beach is well maintained. The next door Iberostar Beach Hotel also appears nice, from a walk through, but bigger and more rowdy. (The snorkeling over at the Beach hotel was pretty good, though I hear you can take a boat out to a better coral reef.) The Grand seemed very quiet from what we could see... not too busy. One one of our rainy days, we checked out the indoor sauna and wellness pool, which was very nice. It's nice that if there's bad weather you still have some pool options. My only complaint about the Rose Hall Suites room was that the in room minibar was pretty pathetic. Too limited. No snacks at all, not even a bag of chips. Only a couple sodas and a couple of beers in the fridge. It was not easy to get the beer in the fridge restocked either since they say they only refill every other day. We tipped and managed to get service a little more often. And you're not supposed to take glasses to the room, so if you want a drink, you're stuck in the bars. And sometimes on say an anniversary trip or a honeymoon, you might want to spend some time relaxing in the room ;-) The dining options were fine, we loved the Gourmet best. My only complaint about dining options is that I would have loved more local food options. Curried goat... jerk chicken and pork.... The Jamaican buffet on the beach on Thursday was the best! How about offering something like that every day!? We grabbed a cab to go up the road to Scotchies, which looks like a shack from the road, but it's really a pretty cool place to grab some authentic local food, and it was delicious. We had a friend with us who insisted on going into the city to see Montego Bay and see the historic sites. Not worth it. One was a tiny museum, the other site (an old jail) was turned into a gift shop.... so while the experience was interesting, I do not recommend it. Just stay at the resort and relax on the beach... trust me. Oh and we grabbed a quick bite at a local place which I am certain charged us more than double what they would charge anyone else. Rip off. For excursions, we went to Dunn River Falls... and is it touristy? Yes. But it was very fun and worth it. Just be careful because we heard about a lot of people who hurt themselves... it's NOT as easy as they say it is, but it's not difficult... just treacherous. We booked through the Jamaician Tours place there at the hotel, and it was a fine tour, but the lunch at the Ruins in Ocho Rios was HORRIBLE. They say it's legit Jamaician, but it's just a resort buffet, and our rice was cold and crunchy and the curried goat was all bones and no meat and the jerk chicken was tough. And it costs you 15 bucks. You can book the tour without the lunch, but then you don't get the shopping, and the pottery shop was really a highlight for me... such beautiful artwork. So I guess you can decide what your priority is. Finally... we also went on an excursion to the luminous lagoon. We booked it through the place where you get the snorkeling gear (at the end of the beach, just past the Beach resort) and you take a boat ride out there and back, and it's all you can drink. It was a fun adventure. We jumped in the water in the dark and our hands literally glowed as we moved around in the water... it was really amazing. I highly recommend that trip. Hope that helps!! Have a great trip!

Fun and Relaxing Fun and Relaxing
28 of 31 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Kansas City
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 4, 2013

Unreal! Best vacation ever! So much fun (considering this was a girls trip - but would have been just as great if it were a family / couples trip), yet at the same time serene, tranquil, and a total paradise. Everyone was so helpful and everything was SO clean. Pool/beach was beautiful, room was great, food was delicious - loved that there was TONS of fresh fruit and seafood. Loved the breakfast juice bar!! Completely exceeded my expectations. Took a day trip to Negril and cliff jumped at Rick's Cafe. It was beautiful in Negril, but boy am I glad we stayed at Iberostar in Montego Bay. On our Negril trip, we stopped at 4 or 5 other hotels to pick people up (many of the hotels were much more expensive), and just from the outside of them, Iberostar looked so much more beautiful (in my opinion). The pictures you see don't come close to doing this place justice. We stayed for 5 nights, and I definitely could have used another night. Will definitely be coming back ASAP!


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 20, 2011
Iberostar Suites

I would recommend this hotel for families with small children. If you're traveling without children--I do not recommend it! We felt like we were on a Disney cruise. There were a lot of little ones. If you want quiet and relaxing--this is NOT the place to go. Eg. kids screaming in the hallways waking us up, the pool closed for 6 hours because a child threw up in it, parents letting them hang out at the pool bar- no room if you wanted to get a drink, etc... If you want to stay there-upgrade to the Grand! We feel that we've stayed at a lot nicer places for a lot less money.


15 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 25, 2011
Better Off Somewhere Else

We were excited to be going to Jamaica to celebrate our anniversary, unfortunately we chose the wrong resort. Customers should be treated special and feel welcome when they arrive at a resort--- we felt as if we were intruding and even when put in the wrong room category, the front desk felt no obligation to correct the situation or even show any care. We arrived on a Friday and then made reservations for The Steakhouse for Tuesday to celebrate our anniversary. Upon arriving back to the resort from a late afternoon excursion, we found a slip of paper under our door canceling our reservation due to a newly booked wedding party dinner. Once again we called the from desk and were told that there is nothing they can do but give a dinner time the next night. YES! Everyone wants to celebrate their wedding anniversary the night after!!! Other than that the pools and the beach are great and The Star Friends who keep all the activities going, are the best.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 13, 2011
Great trip, great hotel, one small issue...

I would definately recommend for any couple or family to stay at the Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, Montego Bay. The hotel was very clean, the staff very courteous, and the outside activites a lot of fun. I have no complaints about the hotel, or either of it's neighboring hotels (which you may also visit for a larger food selection). HOWEVER, do NOT forget for the MEN in your group to bring a pair of slacks or kahki pants!! We were not "verbally" advised, and did not read all of the FINE print. They mention "loaner" pants, but good luck..they go fast. They mention a gift shop purchase, but we had 2 size choices and 5 men in our party. All restaurants, excluding the buffet, require pants. This small issue, in the beginning, was as the "IRIE" saying goes... Then, after 5 days of the same food....Ugh!! Don't make our same mistake! We personally enjoyed the Catamaran Boat trip, hiking in the water fall, atv ride, zip lines and horseback riding. Have a fun and safe trip--let a Jamaican Smile be your first drink of choice! :)


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Magnolia, Texas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 20, 2016
Awesome resort experience!

I will be completely honest so you can put things into perspective. This was our family’s first experience at an all-inclusive resort. We have a family of 5, including my wife, a 14 year old, 12 year old and an 8 year old (that is tepid about swimming). We all enjoyed it! I did lots of research before booking this trip, so had a good idea of what to expect.., and I can honestly say if was our best vacation ever! We had great weather so the resort looked just like the pics on the website. The food was pretty good, plentiful, and very diverse. -But keep in mind this is the family-friendly resort so (for example) don't expect top-shelf liquor. It was recommended that we make reservations for the restaurants (there are several), but none were very crowded. There was pretty much always a buffet open to guests (breakfast/lunch/dinner). With an activity pool, lazy river, large infinity pool, gorgeous beach with plenty of chairs, daily entertainment put on by staff, we were not bored staying at the resort all-day. Even for our 8 year-old that doesn’t enjoy the pools as much.., the beach, kids activity center, and games were enough to keep him busy. The rooms were also plenty big), though we opted for two because our kids are not little toddlers). One negative was the fact that ongoing construction in the resort can be loud and annoying…but only if you are in a certain section of the resort and plan to stay in your room all day. Truth be known, we did do some excursions on some days, and so we did not stay at the resort for our entire 5-day vacation.., which I could not imagine why anyone would.., when Montego bay and surrounding areas has so much to offer. All in all, a very very wonderful experience.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 24, 2011
Paradise Found!

Great resort. Great staff. Great food. Great layout! We had an awesome time. Been to a lot of all inclusives in the Caribbean. Rose Hall is by far the best with Majestic Elegance in the D.R. a close second. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The pool and beach are spectacular. The food is simply out of this world, with plenty of choices and loads of Jamaican spices..yum, yum, and YUM! I could have jerk chicken everyday for the rest of my life! Oh and fresh sweet mango and pineapple. YEAH MON! The fresh salsa and homemade chips at the lunch buffet were one of my faves too. You cant go wrong with this resort...book it and ENJOY!

Yeah mon! Sunsets are fantastic!
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Buffalo, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 29, 2011
Great Resort

This resort is beautiful and all of the amenities are top notch. The people working there are amazing and are always there to do whatever you need. This was my first time in Jamaica and I would definitely like to return.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Hershey, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year