All

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 218 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
4.0
4.2 out of 5
"The resort was great. Beach was great!. The food could be better!" – Trini2DBONE
217 out of 256 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
our pet stinray who was seen swimming along the beach daily The beach Ocean at the resort Our room Respect, mon! Amazing beach Beach Pool (10am) Ocean on the party cruise Fire eater at Pirate night on the beach pool view from the balcony Our balcony view Iberostar Pools Buffet (lunch) Welcome to Jamaica

All Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Customer Reviews

1-10 of 218 reviews. Sort by
August 13, 2010
The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

My newly married wife and I went to the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach property for our honeymoon back in the end of June 2010. There was some good things, some bad things, and some ugly things. Here we go. The Good 1. The property was a great value. Our price included flight, hotel, and of course was ALL-INCLUSIVE! 2. Atmosphere- Depending on what type of vacation you want will decide if this property is right for you. Rose Hall Beach is more driven towards a party atmosphere. The staff does morning and afternoon aerobics with music playing and dancing. They also have music and events throughout the day. The first day we were there a staff member asked us if we liked beer. Of course we said yes, then next things we know we are entered into a Red Stripe chugging contest. Unfortunately I didn't win the competition however I was happy to keep the jerk chicken I just ate in my stomach where it belongs. 3. Entertainment- Each night they had live entertainment from a Reggae band, Mardi Gra Night, and a very nice production of various popular plays. I didn’t get to check out the entertainment every night but from what I saw it seems pretty good. Drinking Red Stripe and Miami Vices by the barrel at 9 AM usually isn't the recipe for an all day fiesta. 4. Drinks- The drinks at this resort were very good. The drinks weren't watered down. They had plenty of alcohol but they also tasted good. There is a wide selection and I definitely recommend trying them all. A couple days I hit it pretty hard and it turned into Dicefest 2010. The Bad 1. The Buffet- I won’t be as bold to say the food was terrible, but it definitely got old. The buffet has very little variation. The first couple days the jerk chicken was very good. However after staring at the same jerk chicken in front of me on my plate everyday, I was beginning to feel like Bill Murray in Groundhog Day. My routine: Wake up, brush my teeth with Red Stripe, wait in line for 15 minutes to get an omelet, get out to the pool at 10AM, drink a Red Stripe, go to the buffet for lunch, eat jerk chicken, rice, and some sort of stew, go up to my room (with a Red Stripe in hand), take a nap, wake up and either go back to the buffet, or go to one of the specialty restaurants. 2. Room Service- Even though I ordered room service quite a bit, the food was mediocre at best. What can I say, if you put enough ketchup on a dog nugget it will taste good too. I usually went for the chicken nuggets but also got the bland pizza a couple times as well. 3. The Beach- Even though the beach itself is pretty overall it isn’t the atmosphere I was expecting. The water is about half filled with seaweed and half of the ocean floor is seaweed. There is a reef off of the beach, however the water is pretty murky. The fish you can see are small but colorful. The Ugly 1. The Steakhouse Specialty Restaurant- This property has access to 3 specialty restaurants. A Cajun, Japanese, and a steakhouse. The Cajun was decent while the Japanese was quite enjoyable. The Steakhouse is another story. The meat is always overcooked. The appetizer bar is filled with all kinds of madness that only has disaster written all over it. I was a little dehydrated from my day so I was drinking water pretty quickly. I had about 3 glasses of water and then I started feeling sick. I felt like I was so full but I really didn’t eat anything. I went around the corner of the building and all I should say was it wasn't pretty. It was all liquid, after the incident I came back and was ready for round two. Must have been something in the water. I ate the majority of my steak, but I was disappointed in it. So I just finished up my meal with some Chicken Nugget and ketchup soup in my room. Overall it was a great vacation for the price. The locals selling trinkets and other stuff in the canoes floating in the water off the beach is cool. Walking up Dunns River Falls is something everyone should experience at least one time in their life. Getting diced on the booze cruise after Dunns River Falls was a great time. There is also a market next to the property where locals sell some stuff them supposedly made. Be aware they are aggressive sales people, but they respect you when you say “No Mon” a couple of times. I would recommend this property, however next time I go to Jamaica I will shell out a few more greenbacks to ensure the food has more variety.


87 of 93 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Alexandria, KY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 22, 2013
Amazing trip & wedding!!!

Just got back from our AMAZING week and wedding at the Iberostar Beach resort! This resort is absolutely gorgeous and the staff is so great! We are already thinking about when our next trip back will be!!! Airport: TIP: DO NOT WEAR CAMO! You are not allowed to wear camo in Jamaica, which we didn't know. My husband was wearing camo shorts and they pulled him aside but wouldn't tell me why and wouldn't let me wait for him. I had to wait for about 30 minutes with no clue of where he was or if he was coming! That was awful. Other than that, the airport was fine. Weather: The weather was great! It was mid-80's every day but very low humidity. It did rain (a lot!) one day, but other than that it was perfect! The pool area was much hotter than the beach. At night it was very comfortable. I thought my hair would be a nightmare, LOL, but not at all! Check In: Smooth and easy and very quick. My hubby and I even got an upgrade because my mom mentioned we were there to get married :) We have a 1 1/2 year old and had no trouble getting a crib in our room as well as my parents room. Room: The rooms are nice but not fabulous. We had an ocean front which had a private balcony which was great. Our view was amazing! Rooms have good AC. The bed wasn't comfortable though, the middle of our mattress was kind of sunken in, but we got over it! Also, the fridge never seemed very cold, but that wasn't a big deal. Two of my friends somehow managed to get a 5th floor ocean front room that was gorgeous! I was so jealous! Ask for a 5th floor ocean front if you can!! Everyone else'ss room, ocean view, pool view, etc, were all nice as well. Pool: I usually prefer beach over the pool but we did go to the pool a few times. It's an infiniti pool and there's a swim up bar, which I love :) But the drinks aren't as good as the other bars around the resort. Also, they play the music VERY loudly by the pool. It didn't bother me, and the music was awesome, but I can see how some people might be turned off by it. They also have the "star friends" (resort staff) by the pool doing activities everyday...which I personally am not a fan of...but they were very friendly and other people seemed to love it. All and all, for those who like the pool-scene, it was great! Beach: The beach was gorgeous. Plently of shade if you needed it and also plenty of beach chairs. There was some seaweed but it wasn't too bad. There was a bar right on the beach and bathrooms too. i lived on the beach everyday! Food: Breakfast was really good, made-to-order omelets, bacon, french toast, cereal, yogurt, fruit etc etc. They had everything and the coffee is delish! I had an omelet everyday. For lunch every day we went to Uncle Tony's which is the only outdoor restaurant they have. It's a buffet for lunch and not the greatest selection but I made do with the jerk chicken and rive and beans pretty much every day. The servers there are great and will bring you whatever you need. Lots of red stripes at our table every day! :) For dinner there are 4 options - The Little River buffet, Uncle Tony's Steakhouse, Sumarai (Japanese) and Jambalaya (Cajun). You need a reservation for all except the buffet, and the reservations are kind of a pain to make. You are only gauranteed 2 for a 7 day stay, but with the help of the wedding planner I managed to book our entire party (16 people) for a reservation for every night except the first night. We had the buffet the first night and I'm glad we didn't have to have it again! They had a lot of options but it just wasn't that appealing. I'm picky but others agreed as well. The other 3 restaurants, on the other hand, are amazing!! We had our rehersal dinner at Samurai and it was awesome. They cook in front of you and the food was so fresh and delicious. We had our wedding dinner/reception at Uncle Tony's and the steak was amazing! The Cajun restaurant was awesome as well. Both times we went I got the ribeye and it was delicious! Everyone loved the food and as I mentioned before the service is really on point. You will want to tip!! Wedding: Our wedding was perfect!! I highly recommend getting married here! Santena, the wedding coordinator, and her assistant Vanassa are AMAZING. We got married right on the beach. The staff set everything up and I didn't have to worry about a thing. I could see them setting it up from our room which was nice. They put a lot of time and effort into making sure chair sashes are perfect, the beach is perfect, etc. Our ceremony was at 5:15pm. It was hot but not too bad at all. It was gorgeous, I wish I could relive it again! There were lots of people watching (so I was told) but I honestly didn't even notice. After the ceremony and pictures, we had our reception at the steakhouse. They set it up beautifully! The food was delicious, the service was great, and the cake was so pretty! Everything was perfect!! After dinner we met at the lobby bar (great bar) and had drinks then headed to the disco which opens at 11pm. The disco was a blast!! Great music, we had so much fun! They close at 3am. Nightlife: As I mentioned above, the disco is a lot of fun. Wealso enjoyed the lobby bar and the music bar. The lobby bar is gorgeous, very large and open. The music bar is small but the bartenders over there made great drinks. Make sure you get a Bob Marley shot! There was also a pool table in the music bar. The bars close at 1 or 2am. There's also a show every night in the theater. I'm not a big fan of shows, but the one we did go to was really good! It was a "Grammy's" show with musical performances by Beyonce, Queen, Michael Jackson and a few others (look alikes). It was really good! If you want to party, head to the disco. But if you just wanna have some drinks and hang out, the lobby bar is great. Spa: I visited the spa twice, once to get my hair done for the wedding and once for a massage. Mitzie did my hair and she was great! My wedding party and my mom got their hair done as well and everyone was very pleased! They really listen to what you want and don't let you leave unless it's perfect. I was really nervous because I'm so picky about my hair, but it looked great! $88 though, so definitely a bit pricey. My husband and I also got a couples massage which was amaaazing. That was included in our wedding package, but another couple I was with got one as well and said it was around $110 per person for an hour. Worth it though!! In conclusion, I would highly, highly recommend staying at this resort! We loved it and will most definitely go back! Whether you go with children, with a group, or just as a couple, I think this resort is perfect. I honestly had an amazing, unforgettable time!~


19 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 22, 2012
Great Jamaican locale

Great resort. Beach was very nice for swimming especially at the Rose Hall Beach area where it is more natural than over at the Suites or Grand. Buffett was excellent. The restaurants were good. The Cajun was the most disappointing since the spicing really was not Cajun at all; very bland. Rooms were a disappointment but the remaining resort made up for that. Rooms smelled musty and old. Iberostar should address this issue. While a hotel on the beach is exposed to high humidity, these rooms smelled awful, especially at first. Something about the bedding or mattresses.... perhaps it is better not to know exactly what the issue is. Other guests we talked to had similar complaints so it may be an issue in general with this area/hotel. Entertainment staff was very engaging... sometimes too much so. Buffett was excellent with a wide variety of choices and well prepared food. Dishes were rotated. Housewines were very good. Red Stripe is the only beer choice despite a bar menu listing several others. Staff indicated they have never had these other selections... why they are listed remains a Jamaican mystery. Serving staff and bartenders were all generally excellent. Would definitely consider a repeat visit at some point.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 30, 2012
Great Family Trip

Just returned from a fantastic vacation at Iberostar Rose Hall (Beaches). We thought we were getting the Suites but glad it turned out as well as it did. Food and drinks were great as well as accomodations. The room was cleaned and floors mopped daily. They were constantly cleaning dishes from tables, cups from pool area and even wiping down the handrails. I was really impressed with the staff at this hotel. They treated my granddaughters like "Princesses", which is what they called them. Everyone was friendly and they even waited on us for drinks at the beach. We did one tour, the luminous lagoon which I highly recommend! Everyone, young and old enjoyed the boat ride and swimming in the glowing lagoon! For the money - this was a great value and the food was also good. Be sure and get your reservations to the different restaurants as soon as you arrive. I would suggest taking a taxi to and from the airport as we were not happy with the bus service (no a/c) and waited for over an hr on the bus. We did take a taxi to the airport when leaving and it was airconditioned and only took 15 minutes from the hotel. It was well worth the 9.00 per person in comfort and saving time. All in all this was a great vacation and we can't wait to go back!


22 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Houston, Texas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 14, 2016
Not Happy

The Iberostar Beach Resort promised much but delivered very little. When I got there I was given a room that reeked of mold and mildew, no AC and the fan was wobbling, It was so bad that I had to run out of the room just to catch my breath. Then I was given another room the AC wasn’t working and the room was freshly painted and upon opening the door with guest services walked back out. I was given another room on the other side which was tolerable (sink was cracked). Don’t be fooled, I was scheduled to attend a wedding and when I called prior to booking was told it was a part of Iberostar. When I went to the wedding at the Iberostar Grand was told that the Iberostar beach resort was considered an OUTSIDE HOTEL and was charged just to enter the wedding. The service was subpar and had to flag down the wait staff just to get a refill on coffee or juice and everyone expected to be tipped. Not happy with the service and not impressed with the hotel the first two rooms reminded me of a seedy rundown motel.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: USA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 24, 2012
Iberostar Montego Bay

I just returned from my week stay at Iberostar Montego Bay (8/12-8/17). The resort is about a 20 minute drive (without stops) from the airport. I would recommend buying the airport transport with your package. We did and we used Jamaican Tours Limited - they were great. Make sure you bring $1 bills for tipping. It is customary to tip your drivers and your servers at the resort - even though it says 'all inclusive'. There are actually 3 resorts on the Iberostar property - all Iberostar but you have the Grand, Suites and Beaches (this resort is the Beaches). Speaking to other guests at the grand and suites, they paid a higher price for not that much more amenities. Aaron at the bar and Travis in the dining room are wonderful. The resort itself is clean and well kept up with. The beach is okay, not the prettiest I have seen. The sand is not white, instead a yellowish. The water was clean, (no seaweed, trash, etc.). The water towards the airport is crystal clear blue, and the water at the resort is like that in some spots, not all. The rooms are in good condition, beds were comfortable. They have flat screen TVS. Linen changed everyday as long as you put the linen on the floor, they know to change it. My only complaint was the max AC was 22 celsius and it wasn't as cool as I would have it at home. They have wifi, only used in the lobby. If you have your own device it is $2 for 30 minutes. They have computers you can use but the price was ridiculous - so bring your ipad, etc. if you want to use wifi. The bars were great. The drinks are hit or miss, you learn to just ask for the bar tender speciality - which was always a hit to me. The only beer I saw was Red Stripe and light R.S. We ate at 2 speciality restaurants - Cajun (do not recommend - appetizers and desserts served buffet and menu was so so) and the Japanese (good and chef was entertaining). The buffet was good. Wide variety of foods. Breakfast was the best meal in my opinion - lunch and dinner with house wines. They have free shuttles (which no one told us about until the last day) that go to downtown montego bay for local shopping and another bus for higher end shopping. We went on the party cruise which included snorkeling and margaritaville one day and zip lining the other day. Book these when you get to the resort at the Jamaican Tour Limited desk as they are cheaper. I highly recommend both excursions. The check in and out seems to be a problem as there are not specific lines for each and they only had 2-3 people working the desk at 3pm (check in time). When we arrived our room was NOT ready which was okay because it was only 2pm. But at 3pm our room was still not ready ... was not ready until 3:30pm. The front desk and receptionist people were the only people who were not as friendly as everyone else on the resort. The Star Friends are so fun and awesome - such a variety of activities everyday that are excellent for all ages.

Ocean at the resort Ocean on the party cruise
17 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Mechanicsville, VA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 1, 2011
Awesome Vacation

Our group went to the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach March 23-29, 2011. We are a group of 4 couples (ages range between upper 40's - low 50's) who take a couple trips a year together - always a winter/spring vacation to the caribbean and always an all-inclusive. We've been to Jamaica, Mexico and Punta Cana several times, so we are able to make comparisons with other resorts. We all absolutely loved the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach and all agreed we would recommend to friends. The rooms were very nice - all of us had decent views, some better than others. But we don't spend a lot of time in our rooms anyway! Food and drinks were awesome. We tried the Japanese restaurant which was fantastic and a lot of fun and also the Cajun, which was also good. We all felt the food in the buffet was probably the best we've had at any of the all-inclusives we've been to. The pool was great. We usually travel in Feb. or March and sometimes the water is so cold but this wasn't too bad. Refreshing. The swim up bar is a fun and happening place, if you like that kind of thing - and we do. :) I had read some negative reviews on this resort and I have to say I just think some people are very hard to please. The people were friendly, the service was good and we had a great time. If I had to find a "negative" (and it wasn't that bad), it would be the beach. It wasn't a bad beach, just not as nice as some of the others we've been to. My husband (and all of the guys) love snorkeling and they went everyday and saw lots of stuff. Take some bread from the buffet after breakfast and you'll have all kinds of fish around you. And the beach bbq was really good, lots of fun, steel band was very good. We liked this resort so much that I think my son and his fiance are going to go for their honeymoon - maybe updgrade and stay at the Suites. But I actually heard many people saying that they liked the Beach better! Guess it's a personal preference. Bottom line, if you're going here,don't worry mon! Go and have fun!


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: La Plata, MD
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 14, 2013
Totally worth it

We stayed at the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach in Jamaica beginning of February 2013. It was great! The Rose Hall Beach is part of three Iberostar hotels. The first (and most expensive) is the Grand, then the suites and then of course the beach. I didn't see any major reason to choose the suites or grand over the beach but I don't know what their rooms are like. We did get an ocean front junior suite. It was a great room with a picturesque view of the water and beach. The room was clean and nice, pretty standard. The food was very good, better than any other all inclusive that I have been to. The entertainment was also... very very good! The entertainment staff were awesome. They would try to get people involved and if you didn't want to, then no problem! For those that do, they will find you and you will have a great time. The top shelf liquor is only available at a couple of the bars though and not outside. However, having to walk a little to get stohli is worth it to me. At the end of the Rose Hall Beach there are some locals who set up shop right next to the chain link fence. They come out early in the morning and in the evening, only walking on the waterline because they are not allowed on the beach. They are fine though, if we told them no, we are good.. they would stop. We did venture over and were a bit bombarded at first but again, we told them to wait or give me a minute, etc and they were respectful. I would absolutely go back


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 1, 2012
Overall - Great Experience

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in February and overall, we had a wonderful time! We've stayed in a few all-inclusive resorts in the Caribbean, and the staff here was beyond friendly and helpful. Although the pool area was left to be desired, the beach was very nice, and it was never hard to get chairs. There were always waitresses ready to take your drink order as well. We were supposed to get a King size bed, but when we got there they said they didn't have any (not sure why this happened since that's what we booked...), but they offered us an amazing ocean view room instead, which we hadn't paid for. If you want 2 double (although they were a little bit bigger I think than a normal double) and an Ocean View, Room 2330 was awesome. Food was definitely on the better side as far as an all-inclusive resort goes. I would probably skip the Cajun restaurant, but the Japanese Habachi place was delicious and fun. We were disappointed to not be able to get reservations at the Steak Restaurant, so make sure to make your reservations asap when you get there! The buffet always had something for everyone..lots of options and quality was surprisingly good. The 3 Iberostar hotels are connected, (Beach, Grand, and Suites) and I only went to the Grand to check it out, and it definitely seemed a bit nicer with a lazy river, in the pool area. I wanted to originally stay there but there was no availability. If I had to do it over again, I'd probably stay at the Grand but the Beach was definitely a great time with very few complaints.


13 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 23, 2012
Stress Free Hotel

This was my first trip to Jamaica and I'm happy I chose to stay at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach. What a beautiful hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful in every way. I recommend taking the shuttle (book online before you go) run by Jamaica Tours. It took about 15-20 minutes from the airport to the hotel. Check in was fast and easy. The pools are beautiful and of course what could be more fun than a swim up bar. The entertainment crew were amazing (hey to Smiley) and so much fun. Exercise on the beach was great. The snorkeling right off the beach was amazing too. I saw lion fish, live conch, skates, starfish and hundreds of beautiful fish. Took a tour to Black River & YS Falls - I loved it. Did not do any more tours because the hotel had everything I needed - I was quite content. The buffet was the best I have had at an all inclusive. Huge variety every day. The chefs were great and waiters so helpful. Overall, one of the most fun relaxing trips I've had in a long time. Can't wait to go back.

Iberostar Pools Welcome to Jamaica
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Pennington, NJ
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year