All

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 248 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
4.0
4.2 out of 5
"Not so good as before. Its second time for us. Beach chairs and tables not cleaned anymore. Food has less options in buffet. Overall not bad but not 4 stars anymore." – Gregsh
242 out of 286 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
The beach pool view from the balcony Our balcony view Ocean at the resort our pet stinray who was seen swimming along the beach daily Welcome to Jamaica Amazing beach Iberostar Pools Buffet (lunch) Beach Ocean on the party cruise Fire eater at Pirate night on the beach Pool (10am) Respect, mon! Our room

All Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Customer Reviews

1-10 of 248 reviews. Sort by
August 13, 2010
The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

My newly married wife and I went to the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach property for our honeymoon back in the end of June 2010. There was some good things, some bad things, and some ugly things. Here we go. The Good 1. The property was a great value. Our price included flight, hotel, and of course was ALL-INCLUSIVE! 2. Atmosphere- Depending on what type of vacation you want will decide if this property is right for you. Rose Hall Beach is more driven towards a party atmosphere. The staff does morning and afternoon aerobics with music playing and dancing. They also have music and events throughout the day. The first day we were there a staff member asked us if we liked beer. Of course we said yes, then next things we know we are entered into a Red Stripe chugging contest. Unfortunately I didn't win the competition however I was happy to keep the jerk chicken I just ate in my stomach where it belongs. 3. Entertainment- Each night they had live entertainment from a Reggae band, Mardi Gra Night, and a very nice production of various popular plays. I didn’t get to check out the entertainment every night but from what I saw it seems pretty good. Drinking Red Stripe and Miami Vices by the barrel at 9 AM usually isn't the recipe for an all day fiesta. 4. Drinks- The drinks at this resort were very good. The drinks weren't watered down. They had plenty of alcohol but they also tasted good. There is a wide selection and I definitely recommend trying them all. A couple days I hit it pretty hard and it turned into Dicefest 2010. The Bad 1. The Buffet- I won’t be as bold to say the food was terrible, but it definitely got old. The buffet has very little variation. The first couple days the jerk chicken was very good. However after staring at the same jerk chicken in front of me on my plate everyday, I was beginning to feel like Bill Murray in Groundhog Day. My routine: Wake up, brush my teeth with Red Stripe, wait in line for 15 minutes to get an omelet, get out to the pool at 10AM, drink a Red Stripe, go to the buffet for lunch, eat jerk chicken, rice, and some sort of stew, go up to my room (with a Red Stripe in hand), take a nap, wake up and either go back to the buffet, or go to one of the specialty restaurants. 2. Room Service- Even though I ordered room service quite a bit, the food was mediocre at best. What can I say, if you put enough ketchup on a dog nugget it will taste good too. I usually went for the chicken nuggets but also got the bland pizza a couple times as well. 3. The Beach- Even though the beach itself is pretty overall it isn’t the atmosphere I was expecting. The water is about half filled with seaweed and half of the ocean floor is seaweed. There is a reef off of the beach, however the water is pretty murky. The fish you can see are small but colorful. The Ugly 1. The Steakhouse Specialty Restaurant- This property has access to 3 specialty restaurants. A Cajun, Japanese, and a steakhouse. The Cajun was decent while the Japanese was quite enjoyable. The Steakhouse is another story. The meat is always overcooked. The appetizer bar is filled with all kinds of madness that only has disaster written all over it. I was a little dehydrated from my day so I was drinking water pretty quickly. I had about 3 glasses of water and then I started feeling sick. I felt like I was so full but I really didn’t eat anything. I went around the corner of the building and all I should say was it wasn't pretty. It was all liquid, after the incident I came back and was ready for round two. Must have been something in the water. I ate the majority of my steak, but I was disappointed in it. So I just finished up my meal with some Chicken Nugget and ketchup soup in my room. Overall it was a great vacation for the price. The locals selling trinkets and other stuff in the canoes floating in the water off the beach is cool. Walking up Dunns River Falls is something everyone should experience at least one time in their life. Getting diced on the booze cruise after Dunns River Falls was a great time. There is also a market next to the property where locals sell some stuff them supposedly made. Be aware they are aggressive sales people, but they respect you when you say “No Mon” a couple of times. I would recommend this property, however next time I go to Jamaica I will shell out a few more greenbacks to ensure the food has more variety.


87 of 93 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Alexandria, KY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 22, 2013
Amazing trip & wedding!!!

Just got back from our AMAZING week and wedding at the Iberostar Beach resort! This resort is absolutely gorgeous and the staff is so great! We are already thinking about when our next trip back will be!!! Airport: TIP: DO NOT WEAR CAMO! You are not allowed to wear camo in Jamaica, which we didn't know. My husband was wearing camo shorts and they pulled him aside but wouldn't tell me why and wouldn't let me wait for him. I had to wait for about 30 minutes with no clue of where he was or if he was coming! That was awful. Other than that, the airport was fine. Weather: The weather was great! It was mid-80's every day but very low humidity. It did rain (a lot!) one day, but other than that it was perfect! The pool area was much hotter than the beach. At night it was very comfortable. I thought my hair would be a nightmare, LOL, but not at all! Check In: Smooth and easy and very quick. My hubby and I even got an upgrade because my mom mentioned we were there to get married :) We have a 1 1/2 year old and had no trouble getting a crib in our room as well as my parents room. Room: The rooms are nice but not fabulous. We had an ocean front which had a private balcony which was great. Our view was amazing! Rooms have good AC. The bed wasn't comfortable though, the middle of our mattress was kind of sunken in, but we got over it! Also, the fridge never seemed very cold, but that wasn't a big deal. Two of my friends somehow managed to get a 5th floor ocean front room that was gorgeous! I was so jealous! Ask for a 5th floor ocean front if you can!! Everyone else'ss room, ocean view, pool view, etc, were all nice as well. Pool: I usually prefer beach over the pool but we did go to the pool a few times. It's an infiniti pool and there's a swim up bar, which I love :) But the drinks aren't as good as the other bars around the resort. Also, they play the music VERY loudly by the pool. It didn't bother me, and the music was awesome, but I can see how some people might be turned off by it. They also have the "star friends" (resort staff) by the pool doing activities everyday...which I personally am not a fan of...but they were very friendly and other people seemed to love it. All and all, for those who like the pool-scene, it was great! Beach: The beach was gorgeous. Plently of shade if you needed it and also plenty of beach chairs. There was some seaweed but it wasn't too bad. There was a bar right on the beach and bathrooms too. i lived on the beach everyday! Food: Breakfast was really good, made-to-order omelets, bacon, french toast, cereal, yogurt, fruit etc etc. They had everything and the coffee is delish! I had an omelet everyday. For lunch every day we went to Uncle Tony's which is the only outdoor restaurant they have. It's a buffet for lunch and not the greatest selection but I made do with the jerk chicken and rive and beans pretty much every day. The servers there are great and will bring you whatever you need. Lots of red stripes at our table every day! :) For dinner there are 4 options - The Little River buffet, Uncle Tony's Steakhouse, Sumarai (Japanese) and Jambalaya (Cajun). You need a reservation for all except the buffet, and the reservations are kind of a pain to make. You are only gauranteed 2 for a 7 day stay, but with the help of the wedding planner I managed to book our entire party (16 people) for a reservation for every night except the first night. We had the buffet the first night and I'm glad we didn't have to have it again! They had a lot of options but it just wasn't that appealing. I'm picky but others agreed as well. The other 3 restaurants, on the other hand, are amazing!! We had our rehersal dinner at Samurai and it was awesome. They cook in front of you and the food was so fresh and delicious. We had our wedding dinner/reception at Uncle Tony's and the steak was amazing! The Cajun restaurant was awesome as well. Both times we went I got the ribeye and it was delicious! Everyone loved the food and as I mentioned before the service is really on point. You will want to tip!! Wedding: Our wedding was perfect!! I highly recommend getting married here! Santena, the wedding coordinator, and her assistant Vanassa are AMAZING. We got married right on the beach. The staff set everything up and I didn't have to worry about a thing. I could see them setting it up from our room which was nice. They put a lot of time and effort into making sure chair sashes are perfect, the beach is perfect, etc. Our ceremony was at 5:15pm. It was hot but not too bad at all. It was gorgeous, I wish I could relive it again! There were lots of people watching (so I was told) but I honestly didn't even notice. After the ceremony and pictures, we had our reception at the steakhouse. They set it up beautifully! The food was delicious, the service was great, and the cake was so pretty! Everything was perfect!! After dinner we met at the lobby bar (great bar) and had drinks then headed to the disco which opens at 11pm. The disco was a blast!! Great music, we had so much fun! They close at 3am. Nightlife: As I mentioned above, the disco is a lot of fun. Wealso enjoyed the lobby bar and the music bar. The lobby bar is gorgeous, very large and open. The music bar is small but the bartenders over there made great drinks. Make sure you get a Bob Marley shot! There was also a pool table in the music bar. The bars close at 1 or 2am. There's also a show every night in the theater. I'm not a big fan of shows, but the one we did go to was really good! It was a "Grammy's" show with musical performances by Beyonce, Queen, Michael Jackson and a few others (look alikes). It was really good! If you want to party, head to the disco. But if you just wanna have some drinks and hang out, the lobby bar is great. Spa: I visited the spa twice, once to get my hair done for the wedding and once for a massage. Mitzie did my hair and she was great! My wedding party and my mom got their hair done as well and everyone was very pleased! They really listen to what you want and don't let you leave unless it's perfect. I was really nervous because I'm so picky about my hair, but it looked great! $88 though, so definitely a bit pricey. My husband and I also got a couples massage which was amaaazing. That was included in our wedding package, but another couple I was with got one as well and said it was around $110 per person for an hour. Worth it though!! In conclusion, I would highly, highly recommend staying at this resort! We loved it and will most definitely go back! Whether you go with children, with a group, or just as a couple, I think this resort is perfect. I honestly had an amazing, unforgettable time!~


23 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 22, 2012
Great Jamaican locale

Great resort. Beach was very nice for swimming especially at the Rose Hall Beach area where it is more natural than over at the Suites or Grand. Buffett was excellent. The restaurants were good. The Cajun was the most disappointing since the spicing really was not Cajun at all; very bland. Rooms were a disappointment but the remaining resort made up for that. Rooms smelled musty and old. Iberostar should address this issue. While a hotel on the beach is exposed to high humidity, these rooms smelled awful, especially at first. Something about the bedding or mattresses.... perhaps it is better not to know exactly what the issue is. Other guests we talked to had similar complaints so it may be an issue in general with this area/hotel. Entertainment staff was very engaging... sometimes too much so. Buffett was excellent with a wide variety of choices and well prepared food. Dishes were rotated. Housewines were very good. Red Stripe is the only beer choice despite a bar menu listing several others. Staff indicated they have never had these other selections... why they are listed remains a Jamaican mystery. Serving staff and bartenders were all generally excellent. Would definitely consider a repeat visit at some point.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 14, 2016
Not Happy

The Iberostar Beach Resort promised much but delivered very little. When I got there I was given a room that reeked of mold and mildew, no AC and the fan was wobbling, It was so bad that I had to run out of the room just to catch my breath. Then I was given another room the AC wasn’t working and the room was freshly painted and upon opening the door with guest services walked back out. I was given another room on the other side which was tolerable (sink was cracked). Don’t be fooled, I was scheduled to attend a wedding and when I called prior to booking was told it was a part of Iberostar. When I went to the wedding at the Iberostar Grand was told that the Iberostar beach resort was considered an OUTSIDE HOTEL and was charged just to enter the wedding. The service was subpar and had to flag down the wait staff just to get a refill on coffee or juice and everyone expected to be tipped. Not happy with the service and not impressed with the hotel the first two rooms reminded me of a seedy rundown motel.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: USA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 30, 2012
Great Family Trip

Just returned from a fantastic vacation at Iberostar Rose Hall (Beaches). We thought we were getting the Suites but glad it turned out as well as it did. Food and drinks were great as well as accomodations. The room was cleaned and floors mopped daily. They were constantly cleaning dishes from tables, cups from pool area and even wiping down the handrails. I was really impressed with the staff at this hotel. They treated my granddaughters like "Princesses", which is what they called them. Everyone was friendly and they even waited on us for drinks at the beach. We did one tour, the luminous lagoon which I highly recommend! Everyone, young and old enjoyed the boat ride and swimming in the glowing lagoon! For the money - this was a great value and the food was also good. Be sure and get your reservations to the different restaurants as soon as you arrive. I would suggest taking a taxi to and from the airport as we were not happy with the bus service (no a/c) and waited for over an hr on the bus. We did take a taxi to the airport when leaving and it was airconditioned and only took 15 minutes from the hotel. It was well worth the 9.00 per person in comfort and saving time. All in all this was a great vacation and we can't wait to go back!


22 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Houston, Texas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 1, 2012
Overall - Great Experience

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in February and overall, we had a wonderful time! We've stayed in a few all-inclusive resorts in the Caribbean, and the staff here was beyond friendly and helpful. Although the pool area was left to be desired, the beach was very nice, and it was never hard to get chairs. There were always waitresses ready to take your drink order as well. We were supposed to get a King size bed, but when we got there they said they didn't have any (not sure why this happened since that's what we booked...), but they offered us an amazing ocean view room instead, which we hadn't paid for. If you want 2 double (although they were a little bit bigger I think than a normal double) and an Ocean View, Room 2330 was awesome. Food was definitely on the better side as far as an all-inclusive resort goes. I would probably skip the Cajun restaurant, but the Japanese Habachi place was delicious and fun. We were disappointed to not be able to get reservations at the Steak Restaurant, so make sure to make your reservations asap when you get there! The buffet always had something for everyone..lots of options and quality was surprisingly good. The 3 Iberostar hotels are connected, (Beach, Grand, and Suites) and I only went to the Grand to check it out, and it definitely seemed a bit nicer with a lazy river, in the pool area. I wanted to originally stay there but there was no availability. If I had to do it over again, I'd probably stay at the Grand but the Beach was definitely a great time with very few complaints.


15 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 24, 2012
Iberostar Montego Bay

I just returned from my week stay at Iberostar Montego Bay (8/12-8/17). The resort is about a 20 minute drive (without stops) from the airport. I would recommend buying the airport transport with your package. We did and we used Jamaican Tours Limited - they were great. Make sure you bring $1 bills for tipping. It is customary to tip your drivers and your servers at the resort - even though it says 'all inclusive'. There are actually 3 resorts on the Iberostar property - all Iberostar but you have the Grand, Suites and Beaches (this resort is the Beaches). Speaking to other guests at the grand and suites, they paid a higher price for not that much more amenities. Aaron at the bar and Travis in the dining room are wonderful. The resort itself is clean and well kept up with. The beach is okay, not the prettiest I have seen. The sand is not white, instead a yellowish. The water was clean, (no seaweed, trash, etc.). The water towards the airport is crystal clear blue, and the water at the resort is like that in some spots, not all. The rooms are in good condition, beds were comfortable. They have flat screen TVS. Linen changed everyday as long as you put the linen on the floor, they know to change it. My only complaint was the max AC was 22 celsius and it wasn't as cool as I would have it at home. They have wifi, only used in the lobby. If you have your own device it is $2 for 30 minutes. They have computers you can use but the price was ridiculous - so bring your ipad, etc. if you want to use wifi. The bars were great. The drinks are hit or miss, you learn to just ask for the bar tender speciality - which was always a hit to me. The only beer I saw was Red Stripe and light R.S. We ate at 2 speciality restaurants - Cajun (do not recommend - appetizers and desserts served buffet and menu was so so) and the Japanese (good and chef was entertaining). The buffet was good. Wide variety of foods. Breakfast was the best meal in my opinion - lunch and dinner with house wines. They have free shuttles (which no one told us about until the last day) that go to downtown montego bay for local shopping and another bus for higher end shopping. We went on the party cruise which included snorkeling and margaritaville one day and zip lining the other day. Book these when you get to the resort at the Jamaican Tour Limited desk as they are cheaper. I highly recommend both excursions. The check in and out seems to be a problem as there are not specific lines for each and they only had 2-3 people working the desk at 3pm (check in time). When we arrived our room was NOT ready which was okay because it was only 2pm. But at 3pm our room was still not ready ... was not ready until 3:30pm. The front desk and receptionist people were the only people who were not as friendly as everyone else on the resort. The Star Friends are so fun and awesome - such a variety of activities everyday that are excellent for all ages.

Ocean at the resort Ocean on the party cruise
17 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Mechanicsville, VA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 30, 2011
Great location but not much else

6 of us traveled to Jamaica (3 couples ages from 37 – 50) and we were not happy with the overall hotel experience. Jamaica is a lovely destination and the trips & tours that we took around the island were fantastic. The location of the hotel is great and the accommodations were very good (we had an ocean view mini suite) except for the musty smell that never left our rooms (all 3 of them). HOWEVER, The hotel is run like a cruise ship and the entertainment was very disappointing. There are 3 Iberostar hotels on their property and each hotel provides a wristband for their guests to wear (The wristbands are different for each hotel). You are only allowed to enjoy the amenities provided in your hotel (except for the spa (which is in another hotel but very nice) or anything were you are SPENDING $$ like the tiny casino or shops). For example, you are not allowed to enjoy the music bar in the other 2 hotels. Entertainment staff performs bad dance numbers around the pool and almost forces the guests to participate in outdoor games that felt like were made for children. The night-time entertainment was similar. We were disappointed to find no live music entertainment... only mediocre DJ music by the pool;. The alcoholic beverages served by the pool were not great and they do not allow food to be eaten or served by the pool. Also, the pool closes by 8pm and there is no hot Jacuzzi at the pool... only at the spa. Good luck getting a bottle of water anywhere besides the 2 a day you get in your room. There is one main buffet, one for lunch near the beach and 3 restaurants: Steak House, Cajun and Japanese Hibachi (we couldn’t get a reservation at the steak house and the other two were mediocre and slow). HOWEVER, the food at the buffet is really good with lots of variety. But you are only allowed to eat at each restaurant one time (by reservation only) and they only accept reservations during certain times scheduled by the hotel. I noticed that they only book up about half of the restaurant's capacity and thus will deny reservations even when they are not at capacity when clearly, there are plenty of empty tables available. WARNING: Do not have their house wine that comes complimentary with your meal. I saw them pouring the leftover wine from each bottle into one bottle and serving that the next day! The service provided by most of their staff was decent to sometimes very good; however, when we escalated to two levels of management our request to get a dinner reservation before 9PM we were told absolutely not, and there was no inclination to offer any help and no "above and beyond" attitude to ensure the return of guests to their property. They made it clear that they serve over 800 guests and they do not care if a few random guests were not happy with certain situations and not willing to come back. After traveling to many different locations around the world and staying at many different star levels of hotels, the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel is a 2 star hotel (at best) trying to be a 5 star hotel. They are clearly on a tight budget by upper management and they try to cut corners wherever possible to save cost... even at the expense of their guests. I will definitely not be going back or recommending this hotel to other friends.


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Orange County, CA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 18, 2011
Wonderful snorkeling

This was about about our 10th all inclusive Caribbean vacation, the second in Jamaica, and the first at any Iberostar property. It was just my spouse and I. We arrived at the resort late on March 28 and checked out very early on the 4th of April. Our arrival was later than expected due to plane problems before taking off on our last leg. Jamaican transportation was aware of the problem and had us going as soon as possible. Our hotel check in was very painless. The resort was filled to around 90% capacity, according to officials. The resort is nice, actually very compact. We were on the ground floor with a garden view, away from any of the “noise”. We were not far from anything. Our room had double beds. There are movement sensors that will periodically “kill” the power which includes the AC; leave the ceiling fan on. We found our room generally comfortable with a setting of around 20.5 C. The safe worked well and was large enough. The hotel power plugs are the same as we use in the states. The hair blow dryer was inadequate; if you really need one, bring your own. Although bottled water was provided n the room mini-refrigerator, we drank the tap water and had no problems. Hint 1: If you want washcloths in your room, tell the front desk at the start of your visit. Washcloths are not standard furnishings. We also arranged for scheduled housekeeping because this was lacking the first three days. We ate most meals at the buffet. Some of our lunches we took right from the beach at the Steak House which offers a late buffet breakfast and a buffet lunch. At both buffets, meals always had plenty of options, (red meat, white meat, fish, and vegetarian) for entree and many salads and desserts. Because our visit was for a week, we could get a reservation for one dinner at each of the specialty restaurants. The Japanese restaurant was good food and fun with lots of interaction. We didn’t find the Cajun restaurant anything special. If you are expecting New Orleans style jambalaya, don’t order that at the Cajun. Their version has chicken patties, a small slice of sausage, and tomato-sauce flavored rice. The dinner was very disappointing. Hint 2: Make your reservations for the specialty restaurants early the first morning after your arrival. Hint 3: The buffet is not “escorted” seating where the staff takes you to a table as we are accustomed. You are expected to seat yourself. Of all the resorts we have visited, this one had the “friendliest” beach, and we spent a significant amount of time on it every day. It is not a “peace and quiet” type of beach because of the large number of people and ongoing activities. If you want a lounge, you must put something on one early in the morning in order to reserve this at the pool or beach. Even though it is posted, the “no reserving” rule is not enforced. You won’t find lounges after 9:00 a.m. There are 3 rock formations right off the beach inside the marked safety area which made for convenient snorkeling. You will see many fish there. In fact, we liked the beach and ocean so well that we never bothered with the pool. Hint 4: Take bread items from the buffet to feed the fish; put the bread inside a plastic bag to take snorkeling. The fish will come to you. Our flight left at 7:00 so we had a very early check out. Checkout took about 5 minutes. Our scheduled transportation was actually at the door 10 minutes early. Overall, it was a nice trip, although it wasn’t quite what we prefer. Will we go to this Iberostar again? Probably not. (In all fairness, we have never been to the same all-inclusive resort in the same area twice). Would we recommend it to our friends? Yes. We loved the beach, the workout facility (very well equipped), and the buffet food choices. Dislikes were few, although the beds were a bit softer than we prefer, and the line for guest services was unexpected. There was not much to do off the resort without taking a taxi at a great price. We did no tours.


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Norfolk, Va area
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 9, 2017
GREAT RESORT - BUT WATCH OUT FOR SALE PITCH

We just returned from the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort and it was wonderful - well, except for one thing: The Iberostar Club Offer. As soon as we arrived and checked in, we were ushered over to the Concierge Desk to make dining reservations, ask about excursions and get general information about the resort. Once we had covered that, the desk attendant then began to present us with an option to learn more about the resort, at a special breakfast and presentation, the next day. When we asked about the nature of the meeting, she was very nice but evasive as to its purpose, only saying that we would get information about future discounts etc. That evening, my husband and I decided that this type of club membership wasn't for us and decided not to attend. At 8:30 am, next morning, we received a phone call at the designated meeting time, waking our family from sleep. Knowing it was the hotel, I opted not to answer the call. They called another 3 times over the next 10 minutes until I had to take the phone off the hook. Within 3-5 minutes, the concierge person came to our room and knocked on the door, nicely chastising us for not coming. My husband (who is too nice), told them that we would have to reschedule the meeting at another time and they insisted that we attend the next 10:00am meeting. We hurriedly dressed, ate breakfast and made our way to the Iberostar Club where we spent the next 2 hours being told all the benefits of joining this Club. We would get special treatment over other guests, discounted hotel rates, etc. At no time, would the salesperson give us discount rates, joining fees etc. Finally, after walking all over the three resorts at Iberostar/Montego Bay, we met the club sales manager. He initially made small talk, and finally presented us with the fees. Even with all the discounts on hotel stays, etc., it was a large sum of money to invest - and they wanted a down payment, right then and there! My husband and I said that we'd have to think it over. I also asked for a business card, a website and who to contact if we decided to join. The sale manager told me that it was a one-time, offer only - for that day only. When we told him we couldn't give him a decision until we discussed it, he abruptly got up in a huff and walked away. The pitch man was finished with us without even a "thank you very much", handshake - anything. Nor did he give us any information or materials to look over - When the sales manager realized we weren't going to plop down a down payment and sign up, right and there, he couldn't get us out of the Club fast enough! My husband and I have had our own business for 20 years and have never treated anyone in this manner. It was the most unprofessional business attitude I've ever been involved with. The man was just rude and callious. And to think, that they called us over and over again that morning, and knocked on our hotel room door to make us attend the presentation. We were humiliated and angered. It ruined our first full day at the resort. My advice to anyone reading this review is: DO NOT fall for this scheme, just enjoy the beautiful beach, the staff and what the resort has to offer. Stay away from the Iberostar Club, unless you intend to pay a hefty membership fee, that day -


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Charlotte North Carolina
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year