All

Iberostar Quetzal Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 40 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
3.6
Room Comfort
 
3.8
4.2 out of 5
"I have been to Iberostar Tucan/Quelzal several times. Each time the experience has been good." – travlrjim
40 out of 49 (82%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
The awesome sunrise pano from the water Room Beach

All Iberostar Quetzal Customer Reviews

1-10 of 40 reviews. Sort by
November 16, 2012
Iberostar Qutzal eta Muy Bueno

I have stayed all over the caribean with some of the higher end all-inclusives and I can say without a doubt that this property is my favorite. The grounds are absolutle beautiful and very well maintained. The property is established, so it feels like you are in the middle of the jungle and not at some newly built hotel with spotty vegitation. The staff were extreamly helpful and freindly. The facility was very clean, there was always someone trimming or mopping or brooming. The food quality and variety was great, even at the buffetts. The beaches are groomed daily and were also very clean. The pool decks were powerwashed nightly and were always prestine in the morning. My only complaint of this property was the Internet policy. In this day and age wireless should be in every room and free to it's' guests. You simply can not go wrong with this destination..especially forthe price.

pano from the water Iberostar Qutzal eta Muy Bueno
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Cape Cod, MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 2, 2010
2008 Women's Tropical Get-Away Iberostar Quetzal

Each summer, my women friends and I go away to the caribbean for an 8-day/7-night stay at an all-inclusive resort. I have been to three different Iberostar Resorts. All I have to say is...you cannot beat an Iberostar Resort. In 2008 us women went on our annual Women's Tropical Get-Away to the Iberostar Quetzal in the Mayan Riviera in MEXICO and had a wonderful time. The food & drinks, the accommodations, the buffet restaurants, the staff, the organized activities, and the well-kept beautiful grounds are great...we had no complaints there. The only odd thing I noticed about this particular resort was the beach area. Due to what the past hurricanes have done to their beaches in the past, they have placed these HUGE whale-size, sand-packed, burlap-looking bags out in front of their beaches in the ocean waters to prevent beach erosion from future hurricanes. If you like "the jungle feel"...with live animals....this is the place to be. I picked this place because of the abundance amount of foliage...plus, I heard about the monkeys that are seen in the trees as I knew my friend liked monkeys and she had never been to an Iberostar Resort. You also saw iguana, large rodent-looking animals (sorry..don't remember what they were called), peacocks, and other wildlife. The grounds are constantly kept immaculate. The beautiful flowers that are used to decorate our rooms each day with the towel animals. I would highly recommend going to the Iberostar Quetzal as well as any Iberostar Resort. I have been to other resorts at different locations and have found that all the Iberostar Resort's staff are always friendly and helpful...compared to some other resorts I've been to. You will not be disappointed when you book at an Iberostar Resort.


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Emmaus, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 28, 2011
Nice place, horrible food

The hotel has lovely grounds, full of wildlife. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and all of the staff we encountered were friendly and working hard. However, the food nearly ruined the experience. I did not have high expectations as I understand the resort has hundreds of people to feed on a limited budget... but that is no excuse for undercooking and overcooking what is served. It was always possible to find something that wasn't bad, but only after sampling most of the buffet. Perhaps the hotel should offer a narrower selection of food and concentrate on making it better. The bartenders at the pool/beach bar never failed to be efficient and friendly despite having a constant queue of half-drunk, sweaty people demanding frozen drinks. However, with only two bartenders and 1 or 2 servers, I can't help thinking the resort makes it challenging to get a drink on purpose to save money. Still, the drinks were good when you finally got one -- not watered down. (The wine, however, was horrible). The spa prices were the most expensive I have ever seen, with the exception of the Four Seasons!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 2, 2014
Iberostar Quetzal

We loved the hotel and staff. Everyone was amazing. The food was really good. We have been to many all inclusive resorts and found this one to be the best. We definitely are planning a trip back. The jungle and pools were so much fun. The shows were amazing. Our spa experience and visit was wonderful. One of the biggest pluses was on our way back to airport other vacationeers were talking about how their hotel constantly trying to sell condos and they would call for towels and they never came. Our service was great! We needed a light bulb replaced and they were there in five minutes. Great place!!!


5 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Houston
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 1, 2010
Wish I could be there now!

We were set to go to Cozumel when a co-worker suggested Iberostar Quetzal. They had just returned a week earlier from their vacation there. She told me it was not as "touristy" and crowded as Cozumel- great for relaxing, etc. I followed her advice and we couldn't have been more pleased! We did the 4 night all-inclusive stay- excellent value- the atmosphere and food were great! The rainforest surroundings were a bonus. Beach was beautiful and not too crowded. Pools were very refreshing and again- not too crowded. Next time I will get the ocean front room with balcony- and stay for 7-10 days!!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Glen Rose, Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 8, 2013
We love Iberostar!

This was my 4th time at Iberostar and it was my husband's 10th time there. We highly recommend it and will definitely return again and again!! This time it was actually our honeymoon. What we love about Iberostar Quetzal and Tucan is that everything is so close by. We don't have to walk far to get anywhere. The beach and pool were beautiful and the service is always tremendous. The servers and bartenders remember us and what we like and are so personable. The food was delicious and there was always plenty of it! The rooms are always nice with all the marble. We had a nice king size bed but the only thing even somewhat negative was that the mattress was so firm. Everyone's preference is different. We did call down to the front desk and let them know and we had a soft mattress pad applied a little while later. So they did make us more comfortable. We absolutely love all the interesting animals everywhere. We had a crazy looking bird pecking at our door and a beautiful peacock sleeping on our balcony! We love that there are animals everywhere. They are beautiful to look at and don't bother anybody. The excursions that we chose were fun and exciting and the staff was so helpful giving us all the options. We have been to Iberostar with our family and alone and will always go back!!!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 30, 2016
Great Spring Vacation

We have stayed at the Iberostar in the past and have come back because of the hotel staff, quality of service, food and friendly entertainment staff. From the time we arrived to the time we departed, their goal was to make our vacation excellent and problem free. They succeeded! The buffets always had something which suited me. The special restaurants were very good. My only concern is that you have to stand in a line early in the morning to make reservations. We have stayed at other properties that welcomed you without reservations. We have visited Mexico three times in the past year and a half and found that that a lot of seaweed had blown into the beach. I was happy to see a seaweed free beach! A person can always find fault no matter where you go but if you go on vacation with a positive attitude (remember, you are not at home) and willingness to meet people from all over the world I highly recommend the Iberostar. See you next year!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: North Dakota
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 20, 2016
Would not recommend

I was really excited to go on this trip because it was my first time going to an all inclusive resort, as well as my first time to Mexico. Upon arriving we got our room assignment and we didn't realize that the resort was set up so the areas where the rooms are are set up in a line. So there was rooms right by the lobby and it led all the way down to the beach. We were placed right in the middle, which I wish I had known ahead of time that it was set up like this. To get closer to the beach, we had to upgrade and that cost extra money. I was not impressed with the buffet food at all. Breakfast was probably my favorite part, but I ate the same pancakes everyday. The food was pretty bland and the flavors weren't there. The same went for the dessert. I thought it would be great because of all the variety, but it didn't meet my expectations. The best part of the buffet probably had to be the fruit. If i ever found a food I did like, it was frustrating because by the time I would finish eating and wanted to get more it was either all gone and they didn't replace it, or it was never available again on a different day. Setting up reservations for dinner was such a hassle. It was nearly impossible to set up a reservation, which forced us to eat at the buffet everyday. The two restaurants we did get into were Mediterranean and the Japanese Hibachi. The Mediterranean was not good and the hibachi was great, but took forever. I tried to make a reservation for our last day, Saturday, on a Thursday and was told that if I made the reservation it would not save in the system and I would need to come back and make a reservation on Saturday. I came back the next day and the same woman working the desk was able to get me in for a Saturday reservation, but it was only at one restaurant that they had available. I thought this was strange and was also frustrated because if I had made the reservation Thursday, I probably could have gotten into another restaurant I wanted. Not only that, but it was frustrating to pass by the restaurants in the evening and see that there were always at least 3 or 4 tables empty, but they said they never had any open reservations. The pool area is always severely packed and we had to go and reserve spots at 6:30am by leaving our towels just to have a good spot at the pool. But then if you do that, they tell you that it is forbidden to do and your stuff will be removed (none of our stuff ever was). If you don't get there early, you'll be left with a random one or two seats around the pool or going to chairs on the beach. We came with a group that had little kids and babies and they didn't have much for them. They had a little pool area that was small and no activities geared toward them like the adults. The rooms were okay. The double beds were small, barely fit two people on one. There was nothing special about them. I was super excited for the unlimited drinks, but they were awful. The alcohol you could tell was cheap and tasted terrible. I couldn't find an alcoholic drink I liked and having only one type of beer draft was disappointing. The drinks in the bar lobby's were better, but still not as great as you would find in the states. The night entertainment was lacking. There was only one show. I was hoping for more of a variety of different things because it could be boring at times, but maybe a bigger resort would be more suited for this. The only amazing part was the beach because of how beautiful it was. The pool itself was also good too, very very warm, almost like hot water though, but I'm not sure if thats common for the area. As well as the service. People were very nice and always willing to help. Unfortunately, we had an instance where a person in our group had a large sum of money stolen from them and that put our distrust into the people there a little bit, which is why I only gave them a 3. Overall, I wouldn't recommend going here. We went as a big group and part of the group already made the reservation for this place, so we went along with it. I would have rather gone to the other Iberostar that was more up the road because it seems better overall, but in general would have liked another resort. I wouldn't come back, don't waste your time or money.


3 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 29, 2010
Could have been much better...

My wife and I stayed at the Iberostar Quetzal in Oct 2008. We had requested a non-smoking room because I have respiratory issues and need to sleep with a CPAP machine. When we arrived at 5pm, our room was not ready and it was a regular smoking room. When I brought this up to the clerk she was neither sympathetic nor helpful. I asked to speak to the manager. When I explained to him that I needed a non-smoking room and that I had booked one, he said that even though we had booked one, there was no guarantee that we would get one. Finally after going back and forth with him for fifteen minutes he agreed to get us a non-smoking room in another building. The catch was it was only available for two nights and then we would have to move to another non-smoking room. We agreed and were finally able to get to our room after having been on the road and in the air for the better part of 12 hours. Two days later, we were supposed to relocate to another room. We were told to pack our bags and someone would move them for us. We spent the day snorkeling and sight seeing and were told everything would be ready when we returned. When we got back a 4pm, we found our bags outside of our original room and our new room was not ready. In fact, no one was aware that we were supposed to move. It was assumed that we had checked out and left our bags! It took an hour to get the second room sorted out... The food at the resort is terrible. The buffet food was overcooked and tasteless. We made reservation at three of the restaurants on the premises. The first one we went to was the Mexican restaurant. You would think that being in Mexico, the food would be good if not great. I've had better food at Chi-Chi's. The steak restaurant server very small portions of very well done steak. It didn't matter if you asked for rare or otherwise. What you got was akin to shoe leather. Finally we dined at the Japanese restaurant. Once again, the food, which was served hibachi style, was overcooked. Being hibachi style it was prepared in front of a group of about ten diners. At several points during the prep the chef had to be asked to set aside portions of meat because otherwise he was going to cook everything into oblivion. Also, they served sushi - all of it cooked - badly. Later in the week my wife and I took a trip to Xcaret. Great eco-park. If you go, snorkel in the underground river. While there we ate at the buffet, which was part of our package. It was fantastic. Afterwards we stayed for the Mayan history show. We did go into Playa Del Carmen one day and took the ferry over to Cozumel. Would have like to have seen more of Cozumel. It's a shame the resort was sub-par because Mexico is beautiful. Outside of the resort, there are sights and food to experience aplenty. I'm looking forward to going back someday, just not to the Iberostar Quetzal.


4 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 13, 2011
Great Escape

The Quetzel is my favorite hotel and always offers a quality experience. Customer service continues to exceed all expectations. It is a real treat to walk through the rain forest and view a variety of interesting animals on the way to the beach. A tropical paradise offering gourmet food, activities and service that will keep you coming back time and time again. The natural setting offers a chance to enjoy the present, reflect on the past and look forward to the future. The Quetzel is truly a great escape!


3 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: GA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year