All

Iberostar Quetzal Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 44 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
3.8
4.2 out of 5
"Price was good, Beach access was perfect, service was flawless, food quality was okay, pool was perfect, drinks were good, overall I would rate this place an 8 out of 10." – BeachFan2017
46 out of 55 (84%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sunrise from the lifeuguard stand on the beach pano from the water Beach The view on our last day at the beach Room The awesome sunrise

All Iberostar Quetzal Customer Reviews

1-10 of 44 reviews. Sort by
August 2, 2010
2008 Women's Tropical Get-Away Iberostar Quetzal

Each summer, my women friends and I go away to the caribbean for an 8-day/7-night stay at an all-inclusive resort. I have been to three different Iberostar Resorts. All I have to say is...you cannot beat an Iberostar Resort. In 2008 us women went on our annual Women's Tropical Get-Away to the Iberostar Quetzal in the Mayan Riviera in MEXICO and had a wonderful time. The food & drinks, the accommodations, the buffet restaurants, the staff, the organized activities, and the well-kept beautiful grounds are great...we had no complaints there. The only odd thing I noticed about this particular resort was the beach area. Due to what the past hurricanes have done to their beaches in the past, they have placed these HUGE whale-size, sand-packed, burlap-looking bags out in front of their beaches in the ocean waters to prevent beach erosion from future hurricanes. If you like "the jungle feel"...with live animals....this is the place to be. I picked this place because of the abundance amount of foliage...plus, I heard about the monkeys that are seen in the trees as I knew my friend liked monkeys and she had never been to an Iberostar Resort. You also saw iguana, large rodent-looking animals (sorry..don't remember what they were called), peacocks, and other wildlife. The grounds are constantly kept immaculate. The beautiful flowers that are used to decorate our rooms each day with the towel animals. I would highly recommend going to the Iberostar Quetzal as well as any Iberostar Resort. I have been to other resorts at different locations and have found that all the Iberostar Resort's staff are always friendly and helpful...compared to some other resorts I've been to. You will not be disappointed when you book at an Iberostar Resort.


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Emmaus, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 16, 2012
Iberostar Qutzal eta Muy Bueno

I have stayed all over the caribean with some of the higher end all-inclusives and I can say without a doubt that this property is my favorite. The grounds are absolutle beautiful and very well maintained. The property is established, so it feels like you are in the middle of the jungle and not at some newly built hotel with spotty vegitation. The staff were extreamly helpful and freindly. The facility was very clean, there was always someone trimming or mopping or brooming. The food quality and variety was great, even at the buffetts. The beaches are groomed daily and were also very clean. The pool decks were powerwashed nightly and were always prestine in the morning. My only complaint of this property was the Internet policy. In this day and age wireless should be in every room and free to it's' guests. You simply can not go wrong with this destination..especially forthe price.

pano from the water Iberostar Qutzal eta Muy Bueno
9 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Cape Cod, MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 20, 2016
Beautiful resort.

Fourth time at this resort. Love the jungle feel. The size is perfect, not too large, The beach is amazing!!! Lots of variety for food. The only drawbacks: Entertainment could start earlier and more entertainment in the bar area. Have it every night. Check in still needs improvement. It could have been our check in agent as our friends had excellent checkin. The staff was very friendly and helpful as my husband needed the cart to get around the site because of a bad back. they were promp and very helpful. We will definitely return again.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Denver Co
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 22, 2016
Fantastic Beach Getaway

We really enjoyed our time at this property! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were colorful, spacious and comfortable. We really enjoyed the wildlife! It was a lot of fun to watch the monkeys jumping from tree to tree. The beach was beautiful with gorgeous clear water and pure white sand. We easily got reservations at the specialty restaurants but the food overall was just o.k. The Japanese style restaurant was our favorite. We stuck to the omelette station for breakfast and the chicken for lunch. Loved all the ice cream, especially the soft serve! The bar in the lobby was very good and had the best liquor selection. The drinks were a little too sweet and fruity for me but the bartenders were happy to follow my instructions to get it just right. This is a great resort for families.The walking paths are dark and on the rustic side so bring flats. Dangerous to wear for high heels. We hope to return!


4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston, Ma
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 1, 2010
Wish I could be there now!

We were set to go to Cozumel when a co-worker suggested Iberostar Quetzal. They had just returned a week earlier from their vacation there. She told me it was not as "touristy" and crowded as Cozumel- great for relaxing, etc. I followed her advice and we couldn't have been more pleased! We did the 4 night all-inclusive stay- excellent value- the atmosphere and food were great! The rainforest surroundings were a bonus. Beach was beautiful and not too crowded. Pools were very refreshing and again- not too crowded. Next time I will get the ocean front room with balcony- and stay for 7-10 days!!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Glen Rose, Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 30, 2016
Great Spring Vacation

We have stayed at the Iberostar in the past and have come back because of the hotel staff, quality of service, food and friendly entertainment staff. From the time we arrived to the time we departed, their goal was to make our vacation excellent and problem free. They succeeded! The buffets always had something which suited me. The special restaurants were very good. My only concern is that you have to stand in a line early in the morning to make reservations. We have stayed at other properties that welcomed you without reservations. We have visited Mexico three times in the past year and a half and found that that a lot of seaweed had blown into the beach. I was happy to see a seaweed free beach! A person can always find fault no matter where you go but if you go on vacation with a positive attitude (remember, you are not at home) and willingness to meet people from all over the world I highly recommend the Iberostar. See you next year!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: North Dakota
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 28, 2011
Nice place, horrible food

The hotel has lovely grounds, full of wildlife. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and all of the staff we encountered were friendly and working hard. However, the food nearly ruined the experience. I did not have high expectations as I understand the resort has hundreds of people to feed on a limited budget... but that is no excuse for undercooking and overcooking what is served. It was always possible to find something that wasn't bad, but only after sampling most of the buffet. Perhaps the hotel should offer a narrower selection of food and concentrate on making it better. The bartenders at the pool/beach bar never failed to be efficient and friendly despite having a constant queue of half-drunk, sweaty people demanding frozen drinks. However, with only two bartenders and 1 or 2 servers, I can't help thinking the resort makes it challenging to get a drink on purpose to save money. Still, the drinks were good when you finally got one -- not watered down. (The wine, however, was horrible). The spa prices were the most expensive I have ever seen, with the exception of the Four Seasons!


3 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 20, 2016
Would not recommend

I was really excited to go on this trip because it was my first time going to an all inclusive resort, as well as my first time to Mexico. Upon arriving we got our room assignment and we didn't realize that the resort was set up so the areas where the rooms are are set up in a line. So there was rooms right by the lobby and it led all the way down to the beach. We were placed right in the middle, which I wish I had known ahead of time that it was set up like this. To get closer to the beach, we had to upgrade and that cost extra money. I was not impressed with the buffet food at all. Breakfast was probably my favorite part, but I ate the same pancakes everyday. The food was pretty bland and the flavors weren't there. The same went for the dessert. I thought it would be great because of all the variety, but it didn't meet my expectations. The best part of the buffet probably had to be the fruit. If i ever found a food I did like, it was frustrating because by the time I would finish eating and wanted to get more it was either all gone and they didn't replace it, or it was never available again on a different day. Setting up reservations for dinner was such a hassle. It was nearly impossible to set up a reservation, which forced us to eat at the buffet everyday. The two restaurants we did get into were Mediterranean and the Japanese Hibachi. The Mediterranean was not good and the hibachi was great, but took forever. I tried to make a reservation for our last day, Saturday, on a Thursday and was told that if I made the reservation it would not save in the system and I would need to come back and make a reservation on Saturday. I came back the next day and the same woman working the desk was able to get me in for a Saturday reservation, but it was only at one restaurant that they had available. I thought this was strange and was also frustrated because if I had made the reservation Thursday, I probably could have gotten into another restaurant I wanted. Not only that, but it was frustrating to pass by the restaurants in the evening and see that there were always at least 3 or 4 tables empty, but they said they never had any open reservations. The pool area is always severely packed and we had to go and reserve spots at 6:30am by leaving our towels just to have a good spot at the pool. But then if you do that, they tell you that it is forbidden to do and your stuff will be removed (none of our stuff ever was). If you don't get there early, you'll be left with a random one or two seats around the pool or going to chairs on the beach. We came with a group that had little kids and babies and they didn't have much for them. They had a little pool area that was small and no activities geared toward them like the adults. The rooms were okay. The double beds were small, barely fit two people on one. There was nothing special about them. I was super excited for the unlimited drinks, but they were awful. The alcohol you could tell was cheap and tasted terrible. I couldn't find an alcoholic drink I liked and having only one type of beer draft was disappointing. The drinks in the bar lobby's were better, but still not as great as you would find in the states. The night entertainment was lacking. There was only one show. I was hoping for more of a variety of different things because it could be boring at times, but maybe a bigger resort would be more suited for this. The only amazing part was the beach because of how beautiful it was. The pool itself was also good too, very very warm, almost like hot water though, but I'm not sure if thats common for the area. As well as the service. People were very nice and always willing to help. Unfortunately, we had an instance where a person in our group had a large sum of money stolen from them and that put our distrust into the people there a little bit, which is why I only gave them a 3. Overall, I wouldn't recommend going here. We went as a big group and part of the group already made the reservation for this place, so we went along with it. I would have rather gone to the other Iberostar that was more up the road because it seems better overall, but in general would have liked another resort. I wouldn't come back, don't waste your time or money.


4 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 2, 2014
Iberostar Quetzal

We loved the hotel and staff. Everyone was amazing. The food was really good. We have been to many all inclusive resorts and found this one to be the best. We definitely are planning a trip back. The jungle and pools were so much fun. The shows were amazing. Our spa experience and visit was wonderful. One of the biggest pluses was on our way back to airport other vacationeers were talking about how their hotel constantly trying to sell condos and they would call for towels and they never came. Our service was great! We needed a light bulb replaced and they were there in five minutes. Great place!!!


7 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Houston
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 28, 2016
Excellent stay

Pros: The resort looks much better than on photographs. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. Staff is amazing. I love that we could walk to the town and felt so safe. Pool activities were so much fun. Food was great-there were options for all. Cons: Cocktails were inconsistent. Not much shade on the beach. We went there to celebrate my 50th birthday and I was a bit disappointed that no one acknowledged it. Overall, excellent resort and we will definitely be back.


3 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year