All

Iberostar Punta Cana Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 92 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.1 out of 5
"everything was great except free access to the internet even in lobby area. Wifi cost $7/hr and in room $10/hr." – pravdorub
94 out of 111 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
This never gets old looking at Pool Building with bedrooms Our room Beach

All Iberostar Punta Cana Customer Reviews

1-10 of 92 reviews. Sort by
January 7, 2012
Had A Nice Time

This was our first time to the Domician and to an Iberostar resort. The hotel was clean, it was right on the beach, and they had very nice pools. The Punta Cana was a "lower end" of the 4 resorts that are all sort of connected. Next time . I think we will go for the Bavaro resort- not as many little kids and slighlty better alcohol It was very family friendly, the food was good and always available somewhere and there was adequate entertainment. They did a good job of not allowing our youngest ( under 18) to drink or sneak into the casino or nightclub with her older siblings. We did not try any of the exursions since we were there for a short time- although the parasailing - which is right there on the beach-looked like a lot of fun!! We had a little difficulty with the internet connections- so dont plan on doing too much work there.( not always a bad thing) Overall , a nice place for the money and we would definitely go back


24 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 24, 2012

First of all it was great!! Lets start with we are easy to please,,i was a little scared reading reviews, but once there i realized that if you think your more worthy than almost perfect, than pay for PERFECT! Beautiful, clean, food was good ,,,I will not lie it wasn't the best we've ever had ,but then again we do not go some where for the food..There was plenty to choose from and we never went hungry.. Henry at the buffet was great,,and also all the young men at the pool where awesome. The only thing that i can think of is there was not a lot for teenagers to do , but we told our kids they where not there to stay busy,,,its called a vacation! They made their own fun and also had a great time,,,Thank you to Iberostar it was great and we would love to go back,,,also weather was perfect,,no complaints from us in VERMONT...Then again why complain its a vacation !!! Shows where ok but disco was a blast...DRINKS are not watered down at all,,,more games at pool would be fun but all in all it was amazing !! Please say hello to EDWIN at the pool ,,,Great kid !!


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Orleans ,Vermont
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 17, 2012
Reviews are too generous

My family and I have been to other all-inclusives in the Dominican Republic more affordable than this one and I have to say way better than this one. Many hotels in Puerto Plata, Bayahibe, and Juan Dolio offer better food, nicer accomodations, and more professional service. I would never visit this hotel again or recommend it to any one. The one shinning star were the maids and waiters/waitresses, they treated us as valued guest. Too bad we can't say the same of the desk positions.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Allentown, Pa
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 7, 2012
Great family trip

My family and I traveled from 03/30/12 -04/04/12 .. the grounds are absolutely beautiful and clean. The staff were all very friendly always greeted you with a "Hola".. I Loved the entertainment group always so much fun. The disco and theater show were also great. The food was average after a while it gets boring,but I did enjoy fresh fruit and desserts. One thing is for sure you will never go hungry. They have multiple buffets that are shared with Iberostar Dominican you can eat at any and use there premises also. I did NOT like the drinks , it seemed like i could not get a buzz . They were very watered down. Everything you might need is withing the hotel they have many souvenir shops but they are very expensive $$$. Bring sunblock other wise you will end up paying $15 to $30 American dollars. No need to exchange money since USD $$ is widely accepted every where. Carrying singles is also a great idea since they can be used for tipping, in which for the staff there would highly appreciate it. A 10 $$ fee will be charged at the entrance of the Punta Cana airport so just be prepared for that . Other then that I had an amazing time in this beautiful place.

Great family trip Great family trip
11 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Fantastic Vacation

My mother and I spent six wonderful days in Punta Cana at the Iberostar. Beautiful, flawless beaches, wonderful staff, fantastic spotless grounds - we could not have made a better choice. We walked up and down the beach and were by far the most impressed with the Iberostar Punta Cana. I'd recommend it to anyone and can't wait to go back!


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 15, 2011
First Out of the Country Vacation Ever!

The grounds are beautiful!!!!! Flamingos, roosters, turtles!!!! The rooms were average. It was very humid outside and the rooms were air conditioned really well but I think they needed dehumidifiers in the rooms because our sheets always felt damp in the evenings even though they had been changed daily by housekeeping. The Pool was nice but it was SO CROWDED. If you want a chair at the pool then you need to get up early to snag one. Same with the beach. If you want an umbrella, then you need to get up extra early (which we didn't so we never got one). The food was good. They have a lot of options. It wasn't five star or anything but we liked it. We took an excursion to a natural pool on a booze cruise kind of thing which was really fun. Excursions are a must! We only had a couple issues with this place..... - There were a lot of kids!!!! I don't know if Europeans and South Americans have different school schedules but there were a ton of school age children. Next time we will probably find a resort with no children - There was some kind of misunderstanding about what time we were going to be picked up to be taken to the airport for our departure. We were given a form that said 1:20pm so we got down there early at 1pm. When 1:30 came and went I started to get nervous. The fact that a lot of the staff doesn't speak English very well didn't help our cause. Someone was finally able to get the person responsible for our pick up on the phone. That person said he had sent a note to our room that said we were going to be picked up at 12:30 instead of 1:20. We never received that note and the man on the phone wasn't helping. He just kept saying that he sent a note to the room. All we wanted was a ride to the airport. After all we had payed extra for transportation to an from the airport. After the front desk was no help at all and I began to cry, a stranger helped us get a taxi which cost $50 and we got to the airport in the nick of time.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 4, 2016
Wonderful Vacation

The flight to Dominican Republic was not a joy, but once we arrived the vacation became a great getaway. Cheap Caribbean representatives meet us after customs we were escorted to our transportation and off we went. The Iberostar Punta Cana was everything we expected. We meet our Cheap Caribbean representative (Perla) and she gave us a briefing about conditions, what to avoid and what to do to stay healthy and safe. We took several excursions that Perla set up for us. Perla was a joy to work with, she even meet us after our excursions to make sure all went well. The food was great, with a different specific Country cuisine highlighted each night. We met Magnola, our server, and became good friends. She anticipated our wants and needs with a smile each day. The specialty restaurants were good and I had one of the best steaks I have ever had. There were many daily activities around the pool area, to many to highlight. I will say the activities staff was full of energy and happy in their work. The grounds were well maintained. The nightlife at our resort were minimal(which I am happy about) , but across the way was another resort for a more active nightlife. At the end of our stay we were once again met by a Cheap Caribbean representative who escorted us back to the airport, directed us to a knowledgeable porter who expertly directed us through the airport confusion. I am grateful to Cheap Caribbean for a wonderful, affordable vacation.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Cincinnati Ohio
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 12, 2011
Good resort

Good location, room and service Good the water sports and bufets Good the beach and pool intertainement Downsides: 1( An additional restarants (asian, italian, grill) could be better, We liked the buffets more than any of those restarants, 2) the internet is not free. I've bought the 5 days for $40m but it was down about 20% of time. 3) Also, we get the 2 hours horseback riding, but it took about an 1 hour to get to the place and another 1 hour to get back. One more downside expirience, people in the bur expecting tips like it was in Mexico. I used to tp at the end of the seadon.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NY/NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 24, 2011

This was an outstanding resort and Cheap Carribbean.com was a pleasure to deal with. Every detail was taken care of in advance. Thank you


6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Catskill Mountains NY
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 25, 2011
Good Vacation with some bad experiences.

Overall it was good but some sour experiences spoilt the trip. First we got an internet code which we entered in our computer. There no instructions that we are to keep it always. So when I lost, the hotel refused to give me the same code again although the hotel had noted donw the code they had given me and it was in the book right infront of me. They just issued me a new code (by front desk official Mateo) and double charged me for the same day! Next, you are harrased repeatedly by parasailing staff of the hotel on the beach and one of them actually insulted my wife on the beach. It was unacceptable and we could not enjoy rest of our stay. I left comments and hopefully the hotel will take some action against such behaviour. Other than that we enjoyed the stay. The beach was good - although it would be nice to have some wifi connectivity for some people. The food was OK, fair bit of variety for my family although choices decrease drastically for the vegetarians. The fact that they had food by the side of the beach was really helpful and we enjoyed the deserts and ice-creams too. Room was clean and the lady who cleaned our room (Loana) was excellent, did a great job, gave us plenty of water and was always pleasant to us. My 3 y.o son would miss her the most! The hotel run excursions were not as good (and more expensive!) as external excursions such as the Soana VIP run by seavis tours. The sad part was to see captured animals being carried around by photographers as 'props' for photos. They charged $10 per phot with the animal. The people around were nice except some spring break kids who were quire roudy... but most of them did not wake up in the first half of the day and mornings were excellent at the beach. Our son had a great time at the lovely pools as well, althought at night you should see the thin sheen of oil/sunscreen on the water. Can not be avided, but they should filter the water better. Their (Lucy's) Mini-club was great too for the kids. If your kid is 4 ot above, you could just leave the kid with them for the whole day (or part of it) for free. For younger, either 1 of the parent should be with the kid or you have to pay $15 per hr for them to babysit. Their miniclub has slides, game tables, big trucks, TV with children programs etc. We also enjoyed dancing and tons of activities through the day as well as step aerobics which is at 5 every evening. One of the sad parts is that people book beach chairs in the morning fairly early and sometimes, remove things from your chair when you are in the ocean and then book your chair by placing a towel on it and go back to their room. It happened to me when it started raining and to save my camera I went about 25 m away. Another guy came, moved my dry clothes out of the shade and put his book and towel on my chair and left my things to get drenched in rain. Very upsetting - but it is best to ignore such horrible people. Do carry about 3 bottles of sunscreen per week for a family of 3 as the prices of sunscreens are about 3 times of what you find here in US. The inflatables for kids are cheaper there than in US - so no need to buy upfront from here. They also have games such as scrabble, chess, monopoly etc that you can borrow as well as a small library of books in all languages - just take and return when you are done.


11 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Maryland, USA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year