All

Iberostar Playa Mita Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Nayarit Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 82 Reviews
Value
 
4.7
Service
 
4.9
Beaches & Pools
 
4.7
Dining Options
 
4.2
Room Comfort
 
4.7
4.6 out of 5
"Great resort. Very comfortable rooms. Very friendly staff. Our family enjoyed every minute and can't wait to go back! Kids club a plus!" – Gnin
86 out of 90 (96%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
The Decorated Plate Cocktails at sunset on the rooftop deck view from our room The Decorated Bed The pool is perfect our view from room Ocean front view Patio Deck upstairs beach view to hotel View from deck Ocean front view standard ocean view View from our Oceanfront Suite

All Iberostar Playa Mita Customer Reviews

1-10 of 82 reviews. Sort by
May 15, 2014
Too good to pass up

I really did not know what to expect from a company with "cheap" in it's title.Everything went so smoothly, from the air travel to the shuttle to the resort, It felt first class all the way. The resort, Iberostar Playa Mita, is amazing. The vacation experience began right at the lobby where Andres offered to move us to a room with a better ocean view. perfect. Victor, our Bellman, "drove" us to our room explaining the layout and answering all our questions. We hit the buffet and then the pool and the relaxation began. The resort is beautiful....modern architecture, amazingly appointed with artwork and immaculately clean. And, the Pacific is right there, complete with gentle waves, warm sand, palm trees and beach umbrellas.( I wrote the names of many of the delightful staff but now can't find the list). Each one we encountered made us feel welcome; they were friendly and helpful, not at all intrusive. After too much sun and food one evening I went to bed early. This must have concerned the turn-down girl because I received a call from the concierge, April, asking if I was all right. The room was kept very clean and one day we were left a "turtle towel" as a thank you. The wait staff in the restaurants and bars were very professional while still being friendly. Even Josiah in the Market chatted freely with us as we took our time shopping....and the prices were surprisingly reasonable. For my first experience with an all-inclusive resort, this was a 5star vacation.

view from our room
26 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Ukaih, CA
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 13, 2014
Great value! Very relaxing!

If you're looking to just go and relax, this is the place. You can have all the activity if you want it, but I just wanted to wind down and do nothing but sit by the pool or ocean and just relax. Mission accomplished! The staff was extremely nice and accommodating to whatever your needs are. Even though it's a new resort, they were always willing to take your suggestions to make things better, even calling our room one day to ask. The outdoor massage was amazing! Thanks Luis! The restaurants are okay; the steak house could use some flavoring on all their meat. The Teppan style, Gourmet Express and Mexican restaurants were very good! Definitely will come back again!


22 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 6, 2014
Perfect place to get away and relax

My wife and I get away to various destinations within Mexico a couple times a year, same vacation different location, till now. The property felt like Hawaii visually, lush gardens, neat and clean in every way, the staff is impeccable,friendly,and went out of their way at every chance. Although the resort was very quiet and with low attendance, this was perfect as we just wanted to decompress, my guess is in season it will be a different story. We have started looking into going back for Christmas with our grown children, we look forward to it very much.


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 29, 2016
Perfect first Mexico experience

The resort was perfect. I was worried about going to a "resort" in Mexico, because we had never been to a resort and this combined with the fact that we've heard people speak negatively and fearfully about going outside of the resort, we had a great deal of apprehension about going. But we were pleasantly surprised that the resort was well placed - great 5 star resort with many activities and drinks available continuously, great pool and great beach access. And we were pleasantly surprised about leaving the resort and going out......up to Saylita for surfing in a fantastic awesome village that is heavy in surfing gear, fishing, and awesome restaurants. And we were close enough to also go to Punta Mita - another awesome little village where we rented a service boat and went out to the islands for snorkeling. So it was a fantastic trip and affordable. We loved the Iberostar resort as well as the mexican people outside of the resort. Fantastic experience. Why would be build a wall? We should be building a bridge. Jeeeeze!

Perfect first Mexico experience
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Seattle
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 13, 2016
Good place for older crowd with no kids

I've done both sides of Mexico now: Riviera Maya -Playa del Carmen, and Riviera Nayarit - Punta de Mita. Riviera Nayarit is less developed around the cape, but that is what I was looking for - I didn't want to see strip after strip of resorts, and was able to go for nice beach walks (a couple miles roughly) w/my husband without another crowd of sunbathers to walk through. The food was decent, a bit oversalted, and we took advantage of the restaurants 4 of the 5 nights we were there. The Japanese restaurant was by far the family's favorite - we brought our 3 teens with us - they went on their own, but we got together at dinner time. We spent most our time on the beach (some excursions are available- I was tempted to do the Marietas island snorkel trip but opted to cherish as much sun time as possible, as we live up north and don't get much sunlight in winter. The wait staff by far was more attentive on this side of the country and we never had to flag the bar staff down, drinks were brought to us on the beach, and they come with another round every 20 min. (we do tip a lot- so bring a wad of singles for the bar and some larger bills if you eat in the restaurants instead of the buffet). Our room was always fully stocked, beds made and turned down. Here's where they need to improve - the vendors on the beach pace back and forth CONTINUOUSLY (cheap sunglasses, jewelry, sarongs) and they are kind of pesky, but they are not part of the resort. The beach is not safe for young children - THE TIDE/RIP CURRENT IS WAY TOO STRONG FOR YOUNG CHILDREN (or drunk people for that matter), and there is no beach at high tide (the water literally goes to the base of the resort and the beach lounges aren't pulled out until the tide goes out a bit). There is a kid's club for small kids with a separate water park, so there's not a bunch of little screamers doing cherry bombs and splashing water on the pool sunbathers. The ocean water is warm (82-84F) and the pools are around that temperature too - the water polo pool is a few degrees cooler, but not so cold you cringe. One of the nights was very fun for kids (a carnival with a piñata, games, cotton candy, and a mariachi band) other nights were very low key - we're not the type to go to the disco. We shot a couple rounds of pool. The WiFi worked surprisingly well. It was relaxing, and quiet for a resort - we were on the 3rd floor which may have helped. The beach is wheelchair accessible, and the buffet has gluten free options. Every room has an ocean view which was nice. We go to these resorts to swim in the ocean, and for that reason I don't recommend this place for small children, unless your kids are happy enough to hang out at the pool. - My teens are all certified lifeguards (and one a decent surfer as well) and were all a little squirrelly going out too far.


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Bellingham, WA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 18, 2014
New and Unspoiled

We stayed at the Playa Mita resort from June 2 through June 9 and had a wonderful stay. The facility was only about 40% full so there was never a concern for a beach chair or drink line! The weather was wonderful and the staff was all extremely considerate to any specific requests. I marked the food down to 4 stars as it was a bit of a walk for it compared to other all inclusives that we have stayed at, pending the time of the day that you were hungry. I would expect that this will be solved with greater hours of operation at the restaurants when the resort becomes full (which I would fully expect). As mentioned by others, it is a long and expensive trip in to Puerto Vallarta so don't come here if you want to go in to town multiple times but it is a great location for feeling safe and relaxing while being taken care of by great staff. We did excursions scheduled through Felipe and strongly recommend the guys from Rancho Vista Paraiso for zip lining and Marietas Island. Both were reasonably priced and a great time without having to spend whole day away from our resort. Would highly recommend!


11 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: North Carolina
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 3, 2016
Our experience was excellent

This is a gorgeous isolated resort; a perfect location for a relaxing beach vacation. As advertised, the location is quite remote so if you are looking for nightlife and clubbing this is not your resort. Large upscale rooms and luxurious accommodations; great air conditioning!! Our room was amazing. We had a spectacular view of the ocean, pool, and beautiful hotel landscape. Thank you to the bell hop, Ibistero, who gave us a great tour or the resort as he showed us to our room. Special thanks for telling us about the cool water treatment in the spa. I had hurt my back just prior to vacation and the water treatments each day were fantastic. We loved the entertainment team at this resort. During the day, the Star Team keeps thing lively by the pool with games, dance lessons, competitions etc.… Shout out to Fabiola, she is so fun and friendly keeping it hopping by the pool. The nightly entertainment team was also great. Of all the resort we have been to the nightly shows here were the best. Restaurants were fantastic. Best food of all the resorts we have been to. The staff was incredible, attentive and genuine everywhere we went. Service in the restaurants, by the pool, and the bar service was great! Service by the beach was also great - took longer than by the pool for drinks, but to be expected. The staff is hopping all day long, yet they stay so friendly and are always smiling. Shout out to Vincente, fantastic bartender at the poolside bar. If I have to think of negatives, the only downsides I can come up with would be the ocean was a bit rough for me, however my boyfriend loved the big waves and body surfing. There is only one pool; no hammock area, and the air rifles needed to be sited in. We were having such a nice time we wanted to extend our stay, however none of the contact phone numbers for Cheap Caribbean on our paper work would go through. We tried both our cell phones, from the room land line and from the front desk. No luck with any of the number from any of the lines so we gave up and left as scheduled Overall our experience was excellent I highly recommend the resort. We would absolutely return!

Our experience was excellent Our experience was excellent
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Denver, Colorado
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 23, 2015
Hidden Paradise!!!! A Must Go!!!!

This resort is everything good and remarkable! The plane ride from NYC is a bit long--5 hours to Mexico City with a layover (which goes by very quickly) and 2 hours to Puerto Vallarta (you can change your money in Mexixo City) or at the hotel. The ride is 45 minutes and is smooth and stressfree. The hotel is hidden but when you see it--it is goregous. From the minute to arrive to the moment you leave, you will be awed at the architecture, art and how big the place is. There is activities for everyone--adults and children alike. If you'd love to take your elderly loved ones; there are sitting rooms, billard rooms, library, room for men to watch sports, spa, the restaurants are all large and spacious (you have your privacy), the food in the main restaurants are great, the pools are so beautiful especially at night. The beach is pretty rough; a surfer's delight (it is on the pacific side of mexico--not the atlantic like Cancun). There are many The rooms are great and spacicious--I stayed in the Oceanfront Suite---beautiful. You can sit on your balcony and enjoy your beverages if you would like privacy. They have everything in the rooms--even umbrellas. This will sound crazy but even the toilet tissue is scented baby lotion and I will be ordering it now that I am back home. The downside is the shower is so modern and impressive that it can leak onto the floor--be careful (that was solved by requesting more floor towels). The television works and shows lifetime movies--my bestie and I drank the liquor and cried to lifetime movies one night (best experience ever)....then we went dancing in the disco. The French restaurant-Pacific Express is the best and finest dining I have ever encountered; great way to propose or wow any person. It is truly a 5-star hotel; not a 4.7 as some websites try to give it. I cannot say how much I am recommending this to everyone!!!! I've never met a place that I'd take my grandmother, mother, I'd go (I'm 26), take my 17 year old little sister and if I had a child (they have babysitting services; I'd take my child)...it appeals to all age groups. 5 stars no doubt!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 12, 2015
A lovely spot

Very nice hotel with a lovely beach covered in white sand.Most open spaces are not air conditioned. Be sure to get ocean front view- it is well worth the extra money. Buffet is plentiful and attractive but not could use a little more seasonings. A la carte restaurants were fun and delicious. Activities were great- we did yoga, water aerobics and scuba discovery. Guests were nice, most were families, pool was not loud and beautifully kept with both sun and shade spots. Spa was also good.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Memphis, TN USA
Age: Over 65
Travel: 7+ trips/year

July 1, 2015
Great Trip

Found the resort to be very clean and comfortable! It is an hour away from the airport, but was worth the wait. The rooms were very comfortable, and had all amenities we needed. The turn down service with fresh towels was also a plus. The beach was clean, with soft sand. We did not need beach shoes in the ocean because there were no rocks. We did leave the beach before it got late in the afternoon due to jellyfish. Very much enjoyed drinks and hamburgers at the beach bar. The pool is very large, and clean. The staff plays games throughout the day and are very friendly. Our kids also loved the water park to break up the day. Favorite meal of the day was breakfast with so many things to choose from. All meals were very good. Only complaint with the food was the meat at the Japanese restaurant tasted "wild" or not flavorful, but everything else served there was great. The Mexican restaurant was amazing. We made all reservations as soon as we arrived. The shows in the evening were very entertaining. We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation, and will return one day.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 25-34