All

Iberostar Playa Mita Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Nayarit Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 95 Reviews
Value
 
4.7
Service
 
4.8
Beaches & Pools
 
4.7
Dining Options
 
4.2
Room Comfort
 
4.6
4.6 out of 5
"The food was some of the best we have ever had at an all inclusive. Beds were comfortable. Allow an hour to get there from the airport. Lovely beach. Lots of greenery. Attentive service." – Melo
100 out of 104 (96%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Ocean front view The Decorated Bed Ocean front view The pool is perfect Beautiful open air lobby Quiet beach area Cocktails at sunset on the rooftop deck The Decorated Plate Patio Deck upstairs our view from room View from our Oceanfront Suite View from deck beach view to hotel standard ocean view view from our room

All Iberostar Playa Mita Customer Reviews

1-10 of 95 reviews. Sort by
May 15, 2014
Too good to pass up

I really did not know what to expect from a company with "cheap" in it's title.Everything went so smoothly, from the air travel to the shuttle to the resort, It felt first class all the way. The resort, Iberostar Playa Mita, is amazing. The vacation experience began right at the lobby where Andres offered to move us to a room with a better ocean view. perfect. Victor, our Bellman, "drove" us to our room explaining the layout and answering all our questions. We hit the buffet and then the pool and the relaxation began. The resort is beautiful....modern architecture, amazingly appointed with artwork and immaculately clean. And, the Pacific is right there, complete with gentle waves, warm sand, palm trees and beach umbrellas.( I wrote the names of many of the delightful staff but now can't find the list). Each one we encountered made us feel welcome; they were friendly and helpful, not at all intrusive. After too much sun and food one evening I went to bed early. This must have concerned the turn-down girl because I received a call from the concierge, April, asking if I was all right. The room was kept very clean and one day we were left a "turtle towel" as a thank you. The wait staff in the restaurants and bars were very professional while still being friendly. Even Josiah in the Market chatted freely with us as we took our time shopping....and the prices were surprisingly reasonable. For my first experience with an all-inclusive resort, this was a 5star vacation.

view from our room
26 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Ukaih, CA
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 13, 2014
Great value! Very relaxing!

If you're looking to just go and relax, this is the place. You can have all the activity if you want it, but I just wanted to wind down and do nothing but sit by the pool or ocean and just relax. Mission accomplished! The staff was extremely nice and accommodating to whatever your needs are. Even though it's a new resort, they were always willing to take your suggestions to make things better, even calling our room one day to ask. The outdoor massage was amazing! Thanks Luis! The restaurants are okay; the steak house could use some flavoring on all their meat. The Teppan style, Gourmet Express and Mexican restaurants were very good! Definitely will come back again!


22 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 29, 2016
Perfect first Mexico experience

The resort was perfect. I was worried about going to a "resort" in Mexico, because we had never been to a resort and this combined with the fact that we've heard people speak negatively and fearfully about going outside of the resort, we had a great deal of apprehension about going. But we were pleasantly surprised that the resort was well placed - great 5 star resort with many activities and drinks available continuously, great pool and great beach access. And we were pleasantly surprised about leaving the resort and going out......up to Saylita for surfing in a fantastic awesome village that is heavy in surfing gear, fishing, and awesome restaurants. And we were close enough to also go to Punta Mita - another awesome little village where we rented a service boat and went out to the islands for snorkeling. So it was a fantastic trip and affordable. We loved the Iberostar resort as well as the mexican people outside of the resort. Fantastic experience. Why would be build a wall? We should be building a bridge. Jeeeeze!

Perfect first Mexico experience
8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Seattle
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 17, 2017
First Questionable Visit

This is our family's fourth visit to an Iberostar resort. This was one of the top two with one caveat. Both my wife and I, at separate times, got violently sick (i.e. - food poisoning?). We had each eaten individually at the pool side buffet restaurant during the day and became sick in the evening. All that I had was a bowl of lentil soup, bread and a glass of red wine, which would lead me to believe that it was the soup. I haven't been as sick in many years - fortunately it was two days before we left so I sent the last day in bed, sparingly drinking water and was able to comfortable make it home the second day. My son read online reviews of at least two other visitors from the same period that also got sick, so one could reasonable come to the conclusion that tainted food was served. While the above will not dissuade me from returning to an Iberostar resort, it will give me cause for thought. Other than that, pool and beach were great, staff very accommodating, etc. We were able to get a taxi across the street from the airport to the Playa Mita resort for $50 for the 4 of us, much more economical than the $120 per person round trip quoted us through CheapCaribbean.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Iowa
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 9, 2017
Wonderful Beach Vacation

We traveled to Iberostar Playa Mita in January 2017 and had a wonderful time. Although the waves on the beach were a little rough, the pool was a great place to relax. Food was great and varied quite a bit, provided you were willing to stray from hamburgers and hot dogs ! Chiliquiles and Churros were always top notch! We tried all the specialty restaurants, but really liked the Mexican and Gourmet. Take a day trip to Sayulita and eat lunch there and also walk 20 minutes up the beach to try Litibu Grill. Inexpensive and wonderful food with a great view of the ocean but don't forget to bring cash. The airport was really nice and easy to manage, but definitely go "left" when you get out of the airport to take the walking bridge over the highway to get a local cab and save almost nearly half what the local cabs cost. We paid 700 pesos from the airport to Iberostar and the airport cabs were charging 1200 pesos! Overall we had a great time, enjoyed the food and resort, and really enjoyed our ocean view which we upgraded to get. Everyone at the resort was really friendly, especially Edgar who served us almost every breakfast and lunch and very helpful. It was really nice being away from them the main drag of PV and allowed us to see Sayulita and Playa Mita as well. We'd return in a heartbeat! We got pesos in advance and got a great exchange rate. Otherwise, every location uses a different exchange rate and usually cannot make change.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Indianapolis, Indiana
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 6, 2014
Perfect place to get away and relax

My wife and I get away to various destinations within Mexico a couple times a year, same vacation different location, till now. The property felt like Hawaii visually, lush gardens, neat and clean in every way, the staff is impeccable,friendly,and went out of their way at every chance. Although the resort was very quiet and with low attendance, this was perfect as we just wanted to decompress, my guess is in season it will be a different story. We have started looking into going back for Christmas with our grown children, we look forward to it very much.


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 13, 2016
Good place for older crowd with no kids

I've done both sides of Mexico now: Riviera Maya -Playa del Carmen, and Riviera Nayarit - Punta de Mita. Riviera Nayarit is less developed around the cape, but that is what I was looking for - I didn't want to see strip after strip of resorts, and was able to go for nice beach walks (a couple miles roughly) w/my husband without another crowd of sunbathers to walk through. The food was decent, a bit oversalted, and we took advantage of the restaurants 4 of the 5 nights we were there. The Japanese restaurant was by far the family's favorite - we brought our 3 teens with us - they went on their own, but we got together at dinner time. We spent most our time on the beach (some excursions are available- I was tempted to do the Marietas island snorkel trip but opted to cherish as much sun time as possible, as we live up north and don't get much sunlight in winter. The wait staff by far was more attentive on this side of the country and we never had to flag the bar staff down, drinks were brought to us on the beach, and they come with another round every 20 min. (we do tip a lot- so bring a wad of singles for the bar and some larger bills if you eat in the restaurants instead of the buffet). Our room was always fully stocked, beds made and turned down. Here's where they need to improve - the vendors on the beach pace back and forth CONTINUOUSLY (cheap sunglasses, jewelry, sarongs) and they are kind of pesky, but they are not part of the resort. The beach is not safe for young children - THE TIDE/RIP CURRENT IS WAY TOO STRONG FOR YOUNG CHILDREN (or drunk people for that matter), and there is no beach at high tide (the water literally goes to the base of the resort and the beach lounges aren't pulled out until the tide goes out a bit). There is a kid's club for small kids with a separate water park, so there's not a bunch of little screamers doing cherry bombs and splashing water on the pool sunbathers. The ocean water is warm (82-84F) and the pools are around that temperature too - the water polo pool is a few degrees cooler, but not so cold you cringe. One of the nights was very fun for kids (a carnival with a piñata, games, cotton candy, and a mariachi band) other nights were very low key - we're not the type to go to the disco. We shot a couple rounds of pool. The WiFi worked surprisingly well. It was relaxing, and quiet for a resort - we were on the 3rd floor which may have helped. The beach is wheelchair accessible, and the buffet has gluten free options. Every room has an ocean view which was nice. We go to these resorts to swim in the ocean, and for that reason I don't recommend this place for small children, unless your kids are happy enough to hang out at the pool. - My teens are all certified lifeguards (and one a decent surfer as well) and were all a little squirrelly going out too far.


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Bellingham, WA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 18, 2014
New and Unspoiled

We stayed at the Playa Mita resort from June 2 through June 9 and had a wonderful stay. The facility was only about 40% full so there was never a concern for a beach chair or drink line! The weather was wonderful and the staff was all extremely considerate to any specific requests. I marked the food down to 4 stars as it was a bit of a walk for it compared to other all inclusives that we have stayed at, pending the time of the day that you were hungry. I would expect that this will be solved with greater hours of operation at the restaurants when the resort becomes full (which I would fully expect). As mentioned by others, it is a long and expensive trip in to Puerto Vallarta so don't come here if you want to go in to town multiple times but it is a great location for feeling safe and relaxing while being taken care of by great staff. We did excursions scheduled through Felipe and strongly recommend the guys from Rancho Vista Paraiso for zip lining and Marietas Island. Both were reasonably priced and a great time without having to spend whole day away from our resort. Would highly recommend!


11 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: North Carolina
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 3, 2016
Our experience was excellent

This is a gorgeous isolated resort; a perfect location for a relaxing beach vacation. As advertised, the location is quite remote so if you are looking for nightlife and clubbing this is not your resort. Large upscale rooms and luxurious accommodations; great air conditioning!! Our room was amazing. We had a spectacular view of the ocean, pool, and beautiful hotel landscape. Thank you to the bell hop, Ibistero, who gave us a great tour or the resort as he showed us to our room. Special thanks for telling us about the cool water treatment in the spa. I had hurt my back just prior to vacation and the water treatments each day were fantastic. We loved the entertainment team at this resort. During the day, the Star Team keeps thing lively by the pool with games, dance lessons, competitions etc.… Shout out to Fabiola, she is so fun and friendly keeping it hopping by the pool. The nightly entertainment team was also great. Of all the resort we have been to the nightly shows here were the best. Restaurants were fantastic. Best food of all the resorts we have been to. The staff was incredible, attentive and genuine everywhere we went. Service in the restaurants, by the pool, and the bar service was great! Service by the beach was also great - took longer than by the pool for drinks, but to be expected. The staff is hopping all day long, yet they stay so friendly and are always smiling. Shout out to Vincente, fantastic bartender at the poolside bar. If I have to think of negatives, the only downsides I can come up with would be the ocean was a bit rough for me, however my boyfriend loved the big waves and body surfing. There is only one pool; no hammock area, and the air rifles needed to be sited in. We were having such a nice time we wanted to extend our stay, however none of the contact phone numbers for Cheap Caribbean on our paper work would go through. We tried both our cell phones, from the room land line and from the front desk. No luck with any of the number from any of the lines so we gave up and left as scheduled Overall our experience was excellent I highly recommend the resort. We would absolutely return!

Our experience was excellent Our experience was excellent
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Denver, Colorado
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 14, 2017
Really enjoyed our time there

We stayed 4 nights at Iberostar Playa Mita and loved it. The resort is secluded, perched on beach without any other resorts to crowd it out (though there appears to be a half-open resort next door, it has no beach presence). It is beautiful, with craggy cliffs and mountains on either side of the bay. Be sure to catch the colorful sunsets from the terrace bar overlooking the ocean. Most of the other guests that we met during our stay were outgoing folks from Canada, Minnesota, Michigan, and Chicago--all fleeing the icy north. Service here is excellent. Shout outs to our concierge, Eddie, and our friend at the activities/towel hut, Ignacio. Much love to all of the bartenders at the pool bar. Overall, everyone was very friendly. Lots of poolside space, which is a plus. We were very happy with the drinks. You're not going to have a banana dolphin popping out of your cup (a la Lost Lake), but you'll find good quality liquor and well-mixed beverages. The bartenders at the pool and the ocean terrace can whip up a great mojito. The food was much better than the other all inclusives we've been to. The buffet is great. Get the made-to-order tacos and load up at the ceviche bar. The a la carte restaurants are fine. Nothing will blew us away, but that wasn't our expectation. We were satisfied with the quality every meal. The Mexican restaurant is good, the steakhouse is alright, and the Hibachi is fun. All in all, it's unlikely that you'll have a bad meal, but that don't expect Michelin quality. Overall, we enjoyed our trip and would stay at the resort again.


12 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year