All

Iberostar Playa Mita Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Nayarit Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 155 Reviews
Value
 
4.7
Service
 
4.8
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.1
Room Comfort
 
4.6
4.6 out of 5
"The rooms were kept cleaned throughout the day. The food was delicious at all of the restaurants, my favorite was the steak house. All of the staff were very friendly." – LADYSIMS
161 out of 172 (94%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
The Decorated Bed Patio Deck upstairs our view from room Ocean front view Beach sunset Cocktails at sunset on the rooftop deck The Decorated Plate Beautiful open air lobby Ocean front view Sunset Hibiscus plant on the premises Pool sunset View from our balcony Quiet beach area View from deck view from our room The pool is perfect beach view to hotel Sunset View from the side elevator area standard ocean view View from our Oceanfront Suite

All Iberostar Playa Mita Customer Reviews

1-10 of 155 reviews. Sort by
May 15, 2014
Too good to pass up

I really did not know what to expect from a company with "cheap" in it's title.Everything went so smoothly, from the air travel to the shuttle to the resort, It felt first class all the way. The resort, Iberostar Playa Mita, is amazing. The vacation experience began right at the lobby where Andres offered to move us to a room with a better ocean view. perfect. Victor, our Bellman, "drove" us to our room explaining the layout and answering all our questions. We hit the buffet and then the pool and the relaxation began. The resort is beautiful....modern architecture, amazingly appointed with artwork and immaculately clean. And, the Pacific is right there, complete with gentle waves, warm sand, palm trees and beach umbrellas.( I wrote the names of many of the delightful staff but now can't find the list). Each one we encountered made us feel welcome; they were friendly and helpful, not at all intrusive. After too much sun and food one evening I went to bed early. This must have concerned the turn-down girl because I received a call from the concierge, April, asking if I was all right. The room was kept very clean and one day we were left a "turtle towel" as a thank you. The wait staff in the restaurants and bars were very professional while still being friendly. Even Josiah in the Market chatted freely with us as we took our time shopping....and the prices were surprisingly reasonable. For my first experience with an all-inclusive resort, this was a 5star vacation.

view from our room
28 of 28 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Ukaih, CA
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 13, 2014
Great value! Very relaxing!

If you're looking to just go and relax, this is the place. You can have all the activity if you want it, but I just wanted to wind down and do nothing but sit by the pool or ocean and just relax. Mission accomplished! The staff was extremely nice and accommodating to whatever your needs are. Even though it's a new resort, they were always willing to take your suggestions to make things better, even calling our room one day to ask. The outdoor massage was amazing! Thanks Luis! The restaurants are okay; the steak house could use some flavoring on all their meat. The Teppan style, Gourmet Express and Mexican restaurants were very good! Definitely will come back again!


23 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 29, 2016
Perfect first Mexico experience

The resort was perfect. I was worried about going to a "resort" in Mexico, because we had never been to a resort and this combined with the fact that we've heard people speak negatively and fearfully about going outside of the resort, we had a great deal of apprehension about going. But we were pleasantly surprised that the resort was well placed - great 5 star resort with many activities and drinks available continuously, great pool and great beach access. And we were pleasantly surprised about leaving the resort and going out......up to Saylita for surfing in a fantastic awesome village that is heavy in surfing gear, fishing, and awesome restaurants. And we were close enough to also go to Punta Mita - another awesome little village where we rented a service boat and went out to the islands for snorkeling. So it was a fantastic trip and affordable. We loved the Iberostar resort as well as the mexican people outside of the resort. Fantastic experience. Why would be build a wall? We should be building a bridge. Jeeeeze!

Perfect first Mexico experience
11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Seattle
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 9, 2017
Terrific vacation!,

What a great resort! Everyone was super helpful and friendly. Hans at the front desk was wonderful. The resort itself was beautiful and so clean. We loved the different restaurants to choose from. Even though the hotel was booked to capacity it didn't seem crowded at all. The pool was great and views and sunsets were spectacular. Wish we could have stayed longer.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Santa Barbara, Ca
Age: 35-44

June 18, 2014
New and Unspoiled

We stayed at the Playa Mita resort from June 2 through June 9 and had a wonderful stay. The facility was only about 40% full so there was never a concern for a beach chair or drink line! The weather was wonderful and the staff was all extremely considerate to any specific requests. I marked the food down to 4 stars as it was a bit of a walk for it compared to other all inclusives that we have stayed at, pending the time of the day that you were hungry. I would expect that this will be solved with greater hours of operation at the restaurants when the resort becomes full (which I would fully expect). As mentioned by others, it is a long and expensive trip in to Puerto Vallarta so don't come here if you want to go in to town multiple times but it is a great location for feeling safe and relaxing while being taken care of by great staff. We did excursions scheduled through Felipe and strongly recommend the guys from Rancho Vista Paraiso for zip lining and Marietas Island. Both were reasonably priced and a great time without having to spend whole day away from our resort. Would highly recommend!


11 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: North Carolina
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 3, 2016
Our experience was excellent

This is a gorgeous isolated resort; a perfect location for a relaxing beach vacation. As advertised, the location is quite remote so if you are looking for nightlife and clubbing this is not your resort. Large upscale rooms and luxurious accommodations; great air conditioning!! Our room was amazing. We had a spectacular view of the ocean, pool, and beautiful hotel landscape. Thank you to the bell hop, Ibistero, who gave us a great tour or the resort as he showed us to our room. Special thanks for telling us about the cool water treatment in the spa. I had hurt my back just prior to vacation and the water treatments each day were fantastic. We loved the entertainment team at this resort. During the day, the Star Team keeps thing lively by the pool with games, dance lessons, competitions etc.… Shout out to Fabiola, she is so fun and friendly keeping it hopping by the pool. The nightly entertainment team was also great. Of all the resort we have been to the nightly shows here were the best. Restaurants were fantastic. Best food of all the resorts we have been to. The staff was incredible, attentive and genuine everywhere we went. Service in the restaurants, by the pool, and the bar service was great! Service by the beach was also great - took longer than by the pool for drinks, but to be expected. The staff is hopping all day long, yet they stay so friendly and are always smiling. Shout out to Vincente, fantastic bartender at the poolside bar. If I have to think of negatives, the only downsides I can come up with would be the ocean was a bit rough for me, however my boyfriend loved the big waves and body surfing. There is only one pool; no hammock area, and the air rifles needed to be sited in. We were having such a nice time we wanted to extend our stay, however none of the contact phone numbers for Cheap Caribbean on our paper work would go through. We tried both our cell phones, from the room land line and from the front desk. No luck with any of the number from any of the lines so we gave up and left as scheduled Overall our experience was excellent I highly recommend the resort. We would absolutely return!

Our experience was excellent Our experience was excellent
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Denver, Colorado
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 14, 2017
Really enjoyed our time there

We stayed 4 nights at Iberostar Playa Mita and loved it. The resort is secluded, perched on beach without any other resorts to crowd it out (though there appears to be a half-open resort next door, it has no beach presence). It is beautiful, with craggy cliffs and mountains on either side of the bay. Be sure to catch the colorful sunsets from the terrace bar overlooking the ocean. Most of the other guests that we met during our stay were outgoing folks from Canada, Minnesota, Michigan, and Chicago--all fleeing the icy north. Service here is excellent. Shout outs to our concierge, Eddie, and our friend at the activities/towel hut, Ignacio. Much love to all of the bartenders at the pool bar. Overall, everyone was very friendly. Lots of poolside space, which is a plus. We were very happy with the drinks. You're not going to have a banana dolphin popping out of your cup (a la Lost Lake), but you'll find good quality liquor and well-mixed beverages. The bartenders at the pool and the ocean terrace can whip up a great mojito. The food was much better than the other all inclusives we've been to. The buffet is great. Get the made-to-order tacos and load up at the ceviche bar. The a la carte restaurants are fine. Nothing will blew us away, but that wasn't our expectation. We were satisfied with the quality every meal. The Mexican restaurant is good, the steakhouse is alright, and the Hibachi is fun. All in all, it's unlikely that you'll have a bad meal, but that don't expect Michelin quality. Overall, we enjoyed our trip and would stay at the resort again.


12 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 23, 2015
Hidden Paradise!!!! A Must Go!!!!

This resort is everything good and remarkable! The plane ride from NYC is a bit long--5 hours to Mexico City with a layover (which goes by very quickly) and 2 hours to Puerto Vallarta (you can change your money in Mexixo City) or at the hotel. The ride is 45 minutes and is smooth and stressfree. The hotel is hidden but when you see it--it is goregous. From the minute to arrive to the moment you leave, you will be awed at the architecture, art and how big the place is. There is activities for everyone--adults and children alike. If you'd love to take your elderly loved ones; there are sitting rooms, billard rooms, library, room for men to watch sports, spa, the restaurants are all large and spacious (you have your privacy), the food in the main restaurants are great, the pools are so beautiful especially at night. The beach is pretty rough; a surfer's delight (it is on the pacific side of mexico--not the atlantic like Cancun). There are many The rooms are great and spacicious--I stayed in the Oceanfront Suite---beautiful. You can sit on your balcony and enjoy your beverages if you would like privacy. They have everything in the rooms--even umbrellas. This will sound crazy but even the toilet tissue is scented baby lotion and I will be ordering it now that I am back home. The downside is the shower is so modern and impressive that it can leak onto the floor--be careful (that was solved by requesting more floor towels). The television works and shows lifetime movies--my bestie and I drank the liquor and cried to lifetime movies one night (best experience ever)....then we went dancing in the disco. The French restaurant-Pacific Express is the best and finest dining I have ever encountered; great way to propose or wow any person. It is truly a 5-star hotel; not a 4.7 as some websites try to give it. I cannot say how much I am recommending this to everyone!!!! I've never met a place that I'd take my grandmother, mother, I'd go (I'm 26), take my 17 year old little sister and if I had a child (they have babysitting services; I'd take my child)...it appeals to all age groups. 5 stars no doubt!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 12, 2015
A lovely spot

Very nice hotel with a lovely beach covered in white sand.Most open spaces are not air conditioned. Be sure to get ocean front view- it is well worth the extra money. Buffet is plentiful and attractive but not could use a little more seasonings. A la carte restaurants were fun and delicious. Activities were great- we did yoga, water aerobics and scuba discovery. Guests were nice, most were families, pool was not loud and beautifully kept with both sun and shade spots. Spa was also good.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Memphis, TN USA
Age: Over 65
Travel: 7+ trips/year

December 24, 2016
Honeymoon trip success

My new husband and I went to iberostar for our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. Our trip got cut a day short at the beginning because there was an ice storm the night of our wedding and our flight was cancelled the next day but cheapcareibbean took care of letting the resort know and making sure we knew when our flight would be. This is the first time either one of us has been to an all inclusive resort but I was pretty impressed with the grounds and how well everything was kept up by the staff. We were always greeted with a smile by the workers and they restocked our mini fridge with beer, water, and sodas daily along with tidying the room once if not twice a day. The pool area is wonderful because once you're there, there is no real reason to leave if you don't want to. They have a swim-up bar in the pool and the other half is above the pool along with a full time staff person coming around to the chairs asking for drink orders. There is the steakhouse "la bahía" that is open during lunch as a buffet option also in the pool area. Around 1 pm every day they have some sort of display in a tent next to the pool with different ethnic foods to try. The beach is of similar comfort with drink service and a snack bar/drink bar but there are some vendors walking around trying to sell jewelry and clothing. They do not push you into buying things so it really was not an issue for us but I know some people would be annoyed with this. We really enjoyed the Japanese restaurant and ate there two nights. It is shogun style and very entertaining as well as yummy! The Mexican restaurant was ok, basically all the normal buffet options for the "appetizers" and then a very small entree for the dinner. We didn't mind going to the buffet for lunch or dinner because they had mostly the same options but changed the main course so that you weren't getting sick of the same old stuff. We also ordered room service quite a bit for late night snacks and had decent success with that. (More convenience than quality) The nightly entertainment was pretty great, the staff dresses up and they do different themes in the lobby area for both kids and adults with a live band. The shows are done very well for being a resort staff, we enjoyed them and found them very entertaining. Overall, I would definitely choose to come back here again. The grounds are big enough to make you feel like there is hardly anyone here even when the resort is full and the staff is top notch.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dayton, OH
Age: 19-24