All

Iberostar Paraiso Maya Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 104 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.4 out of 5
"First time we took our kids to Mexico. Great time and plenty of things to do.Beach and pool area were great. Just plan to walk a lot - this place is huge!" – seamarbles
102 out of 118 (86%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
feeding the swans great time on the beach dead roach on balcony consumed in mins by all the ants there as well. all the ponds at iberostar maya looked like this one, why are they not taken care of? Great Pools

All Iberostar Paraiso Maya Customer Reviews

1-10 of 104 reviews. Sort by
July 1, 2011
My first all-inclusive

This was my first all-inclusive vacation so I relied heavily on reviews like this to form my decisions. With that said I am going to attempt to be as thorough as I can with my impression of this resort so hopefully it helps others make their decisions. Lets start broad and then get specific. I LOVED this resort, with one major caveat, it was perfect or at least better than I expected (and I had high expectations). Immaculate grounds, clean rooms and great service made my and my son's vacation one we will always remember. Hotel: The hotel sits with 4 other sister hotels, this is a big benefit in and of itself as there are sharing privilages across all. This means instead of having 5 restaurants to choose from you have 20, instead of 6 or 7 bars open you'll find 30 (if you're willing to walk) The grounds are very well maintained and they use a lot of natural vegetation though out the resort to make it feel like this hotel just sprang out from the jungle. They Maya portion of the resort is comprised of 5 buildings with accommodations, each is connected by covered walkways and in the center courtyard of each building has a unique artistic feature, one has a small tree garden, others use pillars, bamboo arches, large vases and sculptures to really make for a pleasant walk through the resort. And to top everything else off, there are animals, While there I saw a variety of raccoons, lemurs and iguana's all living in the natural vegetation. People actually sat on the bridge leading out to the beach feeding the lemurs during the day. I heard that there was an area that had deer and other animals over at the Maya Beach end of the resort but I never got around to searching them out. Room: Our room was excellent, and very clean. There was a bit of a musty smell in the room when we first arrived but it didn't take much to clear that out. And given the unstoppable humidity down there I'm pretty sure there is nothing that can be done about. The cleaning staff that came in every day did an excellent job of maintaining the cleanliness of the room even if we didn't. No matter how much sand we tracked in each day they managed to mop it all up. On the second day of our stay I made a request to have extra water and beer in our minibar and for the rest of the stay we had double portions dropped off without another mention. The staff was always very accommodating. There are usually two things I use to judge a good hotel room... a hard shower and a soft bed. They did hit one mark, the shower was always good and hard and always enough hot water. The bed on the other hand was a bit on the hard side, ok, it was one step above sleeping on the floor but from what I've heard, that could be said of every resort in Mexico. Beach: What can I say here, the beach was awesome, soft white sand, plenty of chaise lounges (I never had a problem finding a seat), great sunrises and beautiful moonlight nights. The bridge path down to the beaches were always exceptionally pretty to go down at night as well. I just wish they had utilized the beach more in the evenings by throwing beach parties or something. Seemed to me a big waste of an opportunity. I heard from other guests that had been there multiple times over the last several years that they put a lot of effort into cleaning up the beach by having teams of people out picking up rocks and clearing the seaweed. It has really paid off. Service: Short of having my own personal butler following me around, I don't think the service could have been any better. There was always someone around willing to get me whatever I needed when I was at the beach or poolside or even in my room. As stated earlier there are five buildings with rooms, each of these buildings has its own concierge who is there to make sure everything you need is available, whether its a cart ride to a restaurant for dinner or to handle your dry cleaning or make dinner reservations etc. And if you get the midnight munchies there's always room service. I am a tipper by nature. And while tips are included in your "all-inclusive" package I highly recommend taking an extra $100 in ones and spreading them out as you go. They will always give you service with a smile but that little extra bit can make all the difference if you run into some difficulty. I also noticed that by the end of my stay, my room service got to me a little faster and my drinks were just a little better. Food: The food was about what I expected, sometimes a little worse, and sometimes a lot better. The buffets left much to be desired. Then again I don't eat at buffets when I'm home. On the few occassions when I did have to rely on the buffets for a meal I was able to find something to each, that's about as much as could be said about that. The difference comes in with the ala carte restaurants. These meals tended to be much better, mind you, you're not going to get 5 star dining but the food is good in most cases. And while some may make a big deal about the reservation situation, we never had any problems getting into the restaurant we wanted. We just took care to make reservations the day before, which I kind of balked at before I went saying I didn't want anyone or anything to put me on a schedule but in reality it was the way they operated and it was never an issue. Things at the pools and beaches started slowing down around 5-6 pm and everyone went back to their rooms to clean up and dress for dinner, it was actually a nice routine that me and my son shared every evening whether we went our separate ways before or after dinner. It guaranteed me a few hours to spend with him every evening. The best restaurants where the Japanese Steak House, El Ranchero Steak House and the Brazillian Steak House (we like steak, can you tell) We were less impressed with the French and Italian restaurants although the food was still good. The Japanese was by far our favorite, the food and company was exceptional. By far the highlight of our eating experiences on this trip. Bar: Now for the one caveat I mentioned early on in this review. The bars themselves were great, there was always a room available for whatever mood you are in, small and intimate or large and loud, there's even a late night dance club if you are into that sort of thing. The bartenders were also exceptional in their service and willingness to make you whatever you wanted. The problem though was the alcohol itself. Iberostar has a policy of refilling name brand liquor bottles with less than name brand liquors and in my case not even the right kind of liquor. And I say its a policy because while no one would ever admit to me that what they were serving was less than authentic, the problem occured at every bar on the premise, it wasn't an isolated one bar situation where something accidentally got mixed up. See, I am a rum drinker, there are guys that know bourbons or scotches but I know rum and I drink very top shelf rum when I am home and I went into the bar knowing that I was not going to get Ron Zacapa or Eldorado 23 or any really good rums, I would have been happy with Bacardi Select or Havana Club. So on my first night I ordered a rum and coke, simple enough right. What they brought me tasted terrible and my initial thought was, must be the ice. So I switched to some more fruity drinks to try and mask the taste I was getting. The next morning I woke up with a terrible hangover and I knew something wasn't right so that night I went back to the bar and ordered my rum and coke in 3 parts so I could isolate what was wrong, My son is sitting there next to me getting all embarrassed going, aw dad really??? Well I tasted the coke, it was find, then the ice, it too was perfect then I picked up the shot of rum that I just watched him pour from the Bacardi Select botttle. It was Tequila, there was no mistaking the smell. My son who had become intimately familiar with Don Julio the night before took one sniff of the glass and said, yep thats Julio alright. So I called the bartender over and after a brief discussion and a sniff of the shot he had just poured me he finally went to the back and pulled out a brand new bottle of Bacardi and opened it in front of me and I drank out of that bottle the rest of the night. This scene repeated itself every night I was there particularly if I went to new bar. About half way through my vacation I let this really aggrivate me. If they had offered a "top shelf" bracelet at an additional cost I would have gladly paid it. This was the only real misstep the hotel made all week but for me it was a big one. I know most people aren't as particular about their alcohol as I am and thats what lets them get away with these kinds of things. In summary, unless top shelf alcohol is really important to you, I could not say enough nice things about this resort. We had a wonderful time. I hope this review helps. Monnolyth


109 of 110 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Kansas City, MO
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 10, 2011
Best vacation ever

My wife and I stayed at the Iberostar Paraiso Maya September 27th thru October 4th, 2011 for our tenth anniversary. It was great. To start off the weather was amazing and eventhough the weather said a 60% chance of rain everyday it only rained once. The resort itself was amazing. Very clean and beautiful landscaping. Each Hallway has it's own concierge person to help with anything you may need and to make reservations to the specialty restaurants. Our room was just Okay. Kind of dark and could have used some updating but we spent very little time in the room so it was no big deal. The buffet restaurants were great and had a huge selection. I consider myself the pickiest person on the planet and even I was able to find something to eat. They always have pizza, french fries, and a million other things. The buffets were huge and very expansive. The service was amazing. As soon as you finished your plate they cleaned it off the table and filled your drinks on a regular basis. The specialty restaraunts at the maya were great and also had a huge variety on their buffets which was great for me since I am so picky. Here is the only problems I saw with the restaurants. On some days certain specialty restaurants are closed. We decided that since we can use the specialty restaurants at the other resorts we would try the steak house at the del mar. Big mistake! I realized quickly why it cost less to stay at the other resorts in the complex. The Menu was the same but the buffet was tiny and basically had nothing on it. Pay a little extra and stay at the maya or at least the lindo. The grounds at the beach and the Del Mar were beautiful and maybe prettier than the Maya and Lindo with tons of wildlife. Being late semptember the resort was fairly quiet and dead and I was told that in spring and summer that it often takes 10 minutes to get a drink. We never had a line or even to wait for one person. The beach was awesome and the free snorkling and kayaking were fun. One hour is more than enough for kayaking and was told that no-one all year made it more than 45 minutes as it can be very tiring. The snorkling was great also with beautiful fish everywhere especially near the areas with rocks. This was the first time my wife and I had ever snorkeled at it was easy and fun and the gear was top notch. Although the website doesn't get very specific there is archery, pellet gun shooting, water polo, ping pong, volleyball, soccer, bocce ball, pool, bingo, foosball and water basketball and many other activities going on each day. The Star friends made it fun all the time! Go with the maya and walk to the other resorts to see the wildlife. FYI, the resort uses pesos but with take US dollars but the exchange rate in the gift shops is 10 pesos to every dollar instead of the 13-14 pesos for the real rate. The main lobby uses a 12 peso to one dollar rate. Prices at the resort are crazy high. 65 pesos for a can of pringles or $6.50 USD for pringles that you can buy anywhere for $1.29. Candy Bars were $4.50. Crazy high prices when you consider the average non professional mexican worker earns around $5-$10 per day.


19 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Lawrenceburg, IN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 6, 2010 Featured Review
Most Romantic Vacation EVER!

This resorts was the most relaxing, romantic vacation EVER! We paid the upcharge to be oceanfront (I highly recommend it). We had our own butler who catered to our every need! He knew I enjoyed taking baths - so every night when we would get home the jacuzzi tub would be filled, surrounded by candles and filled with rose petals. The food was the best I have ever had at an all inclusive. The service was spectacular - everything about this resort was great! You WILL NOT BE DISSAPPOINTED.


18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: St. Charles, IL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 13, 2011
I'll Be Back!!!!!

The vacation started off as though it was going to be the trip from down below, because of the airlines leaving late missing our connecting flight. We were suppose to arrive at 11:30 am, but did not arrive until 11:15 pm. The Iberostar staff greeted us with a drink and a smile. We proceeded to check in and was offered an upgrade at their Paraiso Grand Hotel Adults only resort which we took for a very reasonable fee. Once we checked in, all I can say is WOW OMG. The decor, atmosphere was beautiful, but most of all the staff and service was superb along with the food. We did not want to leave the grounds, it was so peaceful and relaxing with no kids around. Don't get me wrong, my wife and I love kids, we have eleven grands, but in an adult only atmosphere it makes a difference. We did go by the Paraiso Maya, which we originally booked, to experience the lazy river and wave pool which were very nice also, the service their was above and beyond. The Iberostar resort is tops compared to all the other all-inclusive resorts we have vacationed at. The Olympus tours reps were also very nice and helpful. We went parasailing, then on a catamaran cruise and to Xcaret park. All in all it was our best vacation to date and we have been on a lot. We will be back. Thanks Iberostar and CheapCaribbean.com.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, Pa
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 9, 2013
Disappointed

Very disappointed. The sinage was terrible. Food was yuck. Same food at every buffet. The restaurants were buffet style for appys and dessert. Service was horrible except in Mexican and Japanese. After served entree they never came back. Drinks were watered down. Room was spacious but dark and dingy. Shower head had green lime scale 2 inches thick as well jets in jacuzzi tub. Absolutely disgusting. There was also garbage left in from previous guests. Bedding had stains and holes in it. Maids rarely replaced soap and wash cloths were hard to come by. If u called housekeeping u rarely got delivered what u asked for. And the phones in our rooms were broken and cob webs on the walls. The beach and pools were beautiful. Excursions to xel-ha, tulum and riding Atvs in jungle were phenomenal. Would not go back.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: new jersey
Age: 35-44

January 27, 2012
This Place is the best

Best Time Ever. This was our second trip here, when you find something good you should stick with it as we did. We are afraid to go any where else. The service, staff, food, events were excellent. The grounds perfect, the beach was beautiful. Can't wait to go back next January

Great Pools
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Grand Lake Stream, Maine
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 27, 2015
Great vacation - highly recommend !

We truly loved this resort. We have stayed at the Del Mar numerous times but feel this is definitely an upgrade. All restaurants including the buffets are air conditioned. Even at buffets - there is a menu you can also order from. Best air in room we have had in any past resort stays (Mexico, Punta Cana and Jamaica). Rooms very large with spacious bathrooms Only thing negative is the over abundance of seaweed (7/16 - 7/23/15). Not resorts fault but still too much. We have stayed numerous times at Iberostar and aways had the clear blue water The seaweed is the only thing that may make us reconsider another place next time -- so hope Mother Nature corrects. Overall we loved this resort and would return. We also are extremely pleased with Cheap Caribbean that we now have used for a few years. Thank you Iberostar and Cheap Caribbean for another great vacation!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Scranton, pa
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 23, 2014
Nice beach, pool and room Terrible Food & Service

15 th trip to Mexico a few of the Places we have stayed Viva Maya Viva Azteca Valantine, Now Sapphire, Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, 10 years ago we stayed at The Iberostar Lindo and Parisio Del Mar Beach, this is why we returned to Iberostar. It was great 10 years ago. Now it is terrible, we were greeted as we arrived, room wasn't ready, not a big problem was told to come back at 2 room would be ready. We came back at 230 only to be told come back at 3 came back at 330 room was finally ready at 345. We were given an I omers check in package, no towel cards or Internet usernames. Went to the Buffet that had 1 carving station with the worst piece of beef we have ever had. Found the Buffett at lunch the following day to be just as bad. Visited the Seafood Restaurant one evening and was told the recommended dish was Steak and Lobster. I ordered that, my wife chose 2 other plates each time the waiter talked her out of it until she finally gave up and got a The Steak and Lobster. Had a good meal at the Steak House. I will not return as the place is just not polished, there is a lack of fine service that you get at other resorts. Check the Riou Palace Mexico or Riu Palace Rivera Mays if you want superior food and service for the same price. This place is stuck in the 1990s and again the worst food we have had in 15 trips to Mexico.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Salem NH
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 17, 2016
MOST BANG FOR YOUR BUCK

Fantastic and tropical. Many food options. Awesome spa and pool. Great beach with no seaweed or rocks. Loved the jungle atmosphere with lots of natural wildlife and birds. Highly recommend it. Acess to four resorts, so you never run out of places to eat...I could go on and on.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: MA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 14, 2016
You will love this property

We just got back from Iberostar Paraiso Maya and booked the trip thru Cheep Caribbean. Everything was just perfect. I spoke with Nikki at CC and she was perfect. Everything that they told me happened perfectly. It was an outstanding trip. As far as the Maya it was great and my wife and they all helped meant I loved it. I am writing because I read all the reviews and questions before I left and they really helped us understand what was happening before we got to the Maya. The Iberostar is an outstanding resort who knows how to treat their guests. They take great care of your check in, your Hotel room is always perfect, they wait on you hand and foot at the restaurants and the bar service is outstanding. This was my first trip to Mexico and we are going back. Our weather was warm but it did rain everyday however we still loved this place. I would like a little more freedom with the selection of the formal restaurants, once you made an appointment was made they would not change it, there was no flexibility. We paid a little extra to stay at the Maya which really shares everything with the Lindo. Not really sure what we got for paying the extra money, they did tell us our rooms were bigger. You really do not spend much time in the room. My wife liked the food better than I did. I wish they had Coors light or miller lite, as a beer to drink. If you were to compare the food to a cruise, there is no comparison the cruise food is much better. My problem is that I am not a fish eater. The hamburgers are not good the lobster in the seafood restraint was dried out. There are plenty of place to eat all the time. We had fun at the shows, some are good others are better. We had so much fun with Israel and Mayren, they were so much fun and really help make your trip very special. The staff across the board is very friendly. If you go to this resort you will have a great time. Thank you Iberstar. We will be back.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Outside Philadelphia
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year