All

Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Resort Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 137 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.1
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.4 out of 5
"The wife and I stayed here in the Paraiso Lindo Resort. Nice place, lots of nice beach. Food was good. Not a bad place all around." – Victory
149 out of 168 (89%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
The view from my beach lounger. Nice treat received after returning to room. Main pool swim up bar Lobby Great family resort, someday when we have grandkids we will bring them here! Just beauty everywhere Paella on the beach! One of many swimming areas.

All Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 137 reviews. Sort by
February 6, 2012
25th Anniversary

This is a wonderful well staffed resort. The grounds and rooms were beautiful. The pool and beach areas were kept very neat and clean. The water at the beach was a little rough, but you could still swim. We always saw someone cleaning. We arrived early and our room was not ready. We were handed a drink, a wristband was placed on our wrist and we were told to go get something to eat and drink. We were told to leave our luggage and someone would watch it at all times. We were also offered a place to change, if we wanted to use the pool or beach area. When we return from our lunch and drinks we were given an upgrade to Maya because it was our 25th anniversary. With the upgrade we were able to use the spa free and eat at 2 more restaurants, plus received a suite. The staff was very friendly, and helpful. They work very hard to make sure you have a wonderful time. My husband doesn't really like buffets, but he always found something good to eat. The dinners were wonderful. We loved the French restaurant! The nightly entertainment was wonderful. This would be a wonderful resort for a family vacation. There were lots of activities for children. Tips: 1. You have to ask for top shelf liquor. Try some of "The Drink of the Day" at the beach. 2. Book your transportation to and from the airport before you leave home. 3. Ignore all the time- share people or tell them no credit card! Nothing is free, no matter what they tell you. The 90 minutes breakfast/talk will turn into 4 hours! 4. Make dinner reservations the first night there for the whole week or time you are there. You can always make changes, otherwise you may have to eat at a buffet for dinner. There are many children at this resort, but we knew this was a family resort. Most of the time that wasn't a problem. There is only one restaurant children are not permitted and that was the French restaurant, which you do not have access to if you stay at LIndo, only Maya. If you want time away from your children and other you may want to pick an adult only resort.


38 of 39 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 1, 2015
Highly Recommended

Since I have spent a lot of time reading reviews posted here, I felt I should write one. We stayed at the Iberostar Paraiso Lindo resort at the end of August and we were both THRILLED with every aspect of the trip. I really don’t know where to start so I will just hit some of the highpoints: - Very impressed with the way the resort was run and the obvious training that all staff received. I would stay at another Iberostar resort just for this reason. There were people with clipboards inspecting everything and literally looking for dirt in the corners. There was a smile and a hello from everyone; front desk, restaurants/bars and staff walking on the path. - Check in was quick and courteous. Although we arrived early and the room wasn’t ready we felt taken care of and we loved the welcome cocktail. - There is a concierge in every building that was almost always there and available. They helped answer any and all questions and made our restaurant reservations. We also received phone calls asking if everything was OK and could they do anything to make our stay better. - We made all our reservations with the concierge on the day we arrived and had no trouble with times and choices. - The food was outstanding for an all inclusive.. This included the a la carte restaurants, the buffets and the restaurants in the shopping areas (a must btw). The gourmet restaurant was our favorite and the food quality, service and atmosphere was outstanding. Also food on the beach if you don’t want to leave the area. - 24 hour room service!!! - Waitress service on the beach was a great benefit - Bars and drinks were very good. Everyone talks about watered down drinks. I am not sure, but everything was good and it’s all inclusive so just order another one. - Cheap Caribbean rep on premises made good suggestions for excursions. - The place is beautiful. - The nightly shows are better than other resorts I have been too. It aint Broadway, but they were fun. As for negatives, I personally had none, however: - Although we spent most of our time on the beach, we did notice that there were not many empty seats at the pools. - We were a party of 2 and not in the high season. I cannot speak to what things would be like when busier or with a larger crowd. - The resort is really 4 resorts in 1 with different pools and restaurants in each. The 6 days we stayed was not enough time to become familiar with all it has to offer. - It’s big. There is a lot of walking. This was not an issue for us, but I can see others considering this a negative. We have been to several all inclusive resorts and have never written a review. I we loved our stay, we have recommended this resort to others and we can’t wait to return.


17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 17, 2013
Beautiful Resort, good food, a few disappointments

Overall, the resort was beautiful and had some beautiful amenities like lazy river, wave pool and lots of restaurants. Beach was well above average and very clean and wide with plenty of room and chairs to lay on. Landscaping and decor was exquisite. Food in Steakhouses, Mediterranean and Italian above average and unique with awesome service and attention to detail. I was dissappointed with difficulty in securing reservations in the nicer restaurants even though I tried to make reservations the day I got there for later in week. Buffets had lots of food, and overall good, but after awhile for breakfast and lunch, it was redundant and could have used some variety...same thing every day. Dinner buffets good, but I thought for international night and italian night there would be far more variety. Servers were all very nice in all restaurants though, including omelette makers, waiters, and sandwich and grill staff. French restaurant beautiful and good service but food a joke. Ordered lobster and got two quarter sized medalions of lobster....ridiculous. I understand the concept of french cuisine smaller portions prepared well but this was extreme and a waste of time. Concierges very nice and went out of their way...Carmen, Wendy, and Cinitra all kind and professional. Their managers, however, were very slow to respond to room problems and at first did little to try to make up for problems until Cheap Carribean got involved. We had several room issues , at least 8, like clogged toilet, stopped up tub/sink, garbage left in room, etc. Eventually got taken care of and expected some kind of accommodation and eventually they gave us some nice wine. Mattress was hard. Other big complaint was the huge rip off to charge $3 for every 15 minutes of Wi Fi for each device and you had to go to lobby to use it!! So for the 3 of us, it was almost $10 for 15 minutes...RIDICULOUS RIP OFF and at the price we paid of over $300 a night this was really price gouging to charge for something that should be free at such an expensive resort. Signal was even poor in lobby and wasnt worth a penny honestly. Our son had a good time as did we in the beautiful, extensive pools and on the gorgeous beach, so overall a good experience. Hope they take our suggestions to heart and we will be back.


18 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Illinois
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 11, 2012
Good times at Lindo

My wife and I vacationed to Paraiso Lindo in December 2012 and had one of the most relaxing weeks ever. Here are the things that I would say about Lindo that are hopefully helpful to others: - The place is huge, so prepare to walk to and from the beach, pools, dinner, and your room more than you would at other resorts. This was good for us as it was our excuse for exercise to work off all the food/drinks! - The beach was the highnote....absolutely stunning white sand and blue water with very little seaweed. Pools were a little chilly, but you get what you get in the off season. - The use of the other resorts next door was great, and the seemingly everlasting pool next at the other Iberostar resort is worth a trip. - Food is average. Make sure you eat at the Japanese Steakhouse, that was our favorite. We were underwhelmed at the Gourmet and wish we would have tried the restaurants at the neighboring Iberostar resorts, which you'll have access to. - Iberostar is a class act and has always treated us right (we've been to one of their places in Jamaica too). You can always feel like you're in capable hands with them and they will make sure you're enjoyment is of the utmost. Enjoy your trip!


18 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Kansas City, MO
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 11, 2015
I would go back, maybe

We had a wonderful time (mom, dad and boys (22 & 17)). The ride from the airport took approximately 35 mins. I recommend you book your round trip transportation to/from the airport in advance. It was a bit chaotic at the airport with people trying to sale you things. I don't recommend trying to figure out transportation after you arrive. We arrived at the hotel around 1:30 and was promptly checked-in and given rooms beside each other. I sent the hotel an email one month in advance to request rooms in the same building and within close proximity. Although they could not guarantee my request via email, they honored my request upon arrival. By 2 pm we were at the pool and relaxing. Cons: 1. We stayed at Lindo which means we also had access to the restaurants/bars at Beach and Del Mar Resorts. Although we had a good dining experience at the specialty restaurants, I did not like the feel of inequality and lack of access to Maya Resort or Grand Resort. Maya and Lindo share the same pools yet, Lindo residents could not walk 50 feet to Maya's pool restaurant although Maya residents had access to Lindo's pool restaurant. The grand is so far away and a bit too relaxed for our adventurous taste so, it did not matter so much. The boys spent most of their time at the beach and walked up to the Maya's beach bar (bars are not clearly marked) and were denied service. A few feet away you can find the Lindo, Beach and Del Mar Resort beach bars. After the first day and self orientation to this very large resort, we finally got better situational awareness of the resort's boundaries by resort class. 2. Upon check-in we were given a very detailed map of the Lindo Resort. It would have been nice for them to give us an additional map of the entire Iberostar Resort property. This place is very large. My family and I are walkers and we had to feel our way around the entire property. If you are a morning walker I recommend walking around the entire Iberostar Resort. At a steady clip it took us about 50 mins to walk the entire resort. That is why an Iberostar Resort map would have helped. BTW: If walking for exercise make sure you get thirsty at Lindo, Del Mar or Beach. Remember you can go to Maya and Grand but you cannot use their restaurant nor bar facilities. 3) The bed was hard as a rock. My back hurt daily. Pros: 1) Lindo/Maya share the same pools & Beach/Del Mar share the same pools. We alternated days at both pools and enjoyed every moment. There were plenty of pool and beach chairs available. If you want one of the prime spots near the entertainment team, I recommend getting to the pool or beach around 9 am. There is plenty of shade for those that want limited sun. Although we did not go to the resort for the room experience, I was not disappointed with the room. 2) The a/c worked fine. Keep in mind when the sliding glass doors are open/unlocked or your room door is open, the a/c automatically shuts off. You cannot blame them for this feature as some people want to have the balcony door open with the a/c running. 3) At Lindo the wireless connection is free. You will pay for wireless access at Beach or Del Mar. Our connection worked fine with no problems. 4) The specialty restaurants were great. Booked your restaurants on the first day of your arrival. El Fago Steak restaurant (Lindo) was my favorite and the Japanese restaurant (Beach) was my second favorite. The boys like Jambalaya Restaurant (Lindo) second best. It is all about individual taste, right! 5) The electrical plugs were 110v. I did not realize they used the US standard for voltage although; we brought computer & phone chargers with us. I am glad we did. There are limited plugs in the room but you can bring your 110v accessories – especially a blow dryer. 6) Some complained about mosquitoes and we were bitten a few times. Luckily we brought bug spray with us. 7) The staff was attentive and supportive. I am sure there are circumstances and unique situations that have caused others to question the sincerity of the staff. We did not experience bad staff members. We did see a few bad-resident members. Face it; some people can never be pleased. 8) Ice cream at the pool was a hit. It was really good ice cream. 9) The bar drinks are not the best. If you tip and request more favor or something stronger, they are usually accommodating. The bar team seemed short staffed all the time. Often times I would only see 1 bar pool attendant; the 2nd attendant was in and out. Iberostar could improve the staffing situation at the pool bar. 10) Great gym and tennis courts. 11) Wild life (coati, peacocks, other birds and cats) 12) resorts does a great job with the Mayan jungle theme throughout the property. It is a beautiful place. It is well maintained. Neutral: This was our 12th return to Mexico and our first time at this resort. The nightly entertainment was not that great and I've seen much better at other resorts. They tried however, I was not impressed. Do not waste your time at the Pirate Show. It was horrible and lacked creativity. Overall this was a family trip and we enjoyed each other. So it would have been hard for the Resort to mess that up. With the exception of separating residents by class at the bar/restaurants & the nightly entertainment, I would go back. There are plenty of activities for all.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Huntsville, AL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 17, 2017
Very good with very few negatives

Here's my review.....I stayed in room 5276 and the 52 and 53 buildings are in great locations near the beach and pool. Room - Here is where I had a few negative feelings. Room could definitely use upgrading. Very few outlets and we had one that was totally not working. I had to call for them to come and at first they said they fixed the few issues we had but obviously no one did. Our concierge took care of it immediately after I called and was upset....bathroom is fine and our room had a nice large walk in shower. definitely good storage space and shelving. Food - the buffet was fine. The buffet by the pool for breakfast and lunch is not as extensive as the large one by the reception area. But it was fine and we never had to wait long for anything. Our experiences at all the restaurants for dinner were excellent. We went to all of them except the Italian Restaurant. The food at the Mexican restaurant was the only one that was just fair. French, Cajun, Steakhouse and Hibochi were all great.....service everywhere was attentive and friendly. Pool Pool was fine- very pretty just a little cold but they had loads of activities if that is what you were looking for. They only give you one thin towel so I would probably bring my own as well. The lazy river was pathetic...it hardly moved and had one place where it had a waterfall that you might possibly get wet....actually the water was freezing. Beach - the water was great and clean. Some areas do have rocks and several days the water was somewhat rough. Plenty of huts and beach chairs for all. my only complaint were the seagulls going in for the food. Its great that they have a food bar on the beach but thats what happens with food. They did have servers all over bringing drinks....people were trying to sell hats, bags, silver jewelry but no one really bothered you. Hope this info helped. Everyone at the resort really was nice and friendly. Bartenders were fun and we had a great time.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 2, 2011
Great Vacation!

We had a great vacation at the Iberostar Paraiso Lindo. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is working at all times to keep the resort beautiful. The staff at the pool during the day and then at the theater at night go out of their way to talk to all vistiors and make sure your visit is enjoyable. We will definitely be returning to the beautiful resort. Don't let the size deter you from visiting. The size was never an issue. We stayed in building 55 and were central to everything. A little walking was good for us, since we never missed a delicious meal. Can't wait to return.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Pataskala, OH
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 10, 2013

The hotel was very nice but stay away from the offsite tours. We took the tour of Tulum, Coba, Mayan Village, and Alkum beach. the tour took ~12 hours. We spent ~1 hour at each location. the rest of the time was travel and picking up guests at 3 other hotels. The Mayan Village as just one person's hut where the tour wanted you to purchase all their trinkets. It was not worth the time to travel to. The tour fed the group at Coba but there was a catch. The meal was free but you had to buy your drinks where bottled water was $2.50 and beer was ~$5. The Coba restaurant also had a guy at the door asking for additional donations. If you want to see the Mayan Ruins, rent a car and drive to Coba. You can spend the amount of time that fits your schedule. Tulum and other areas are not worth your time. Stay at the hotel and enjoy their beautiful beach and enjoy their hosptiality


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: cold country
Age: 25-34

August 24, 2015
Best Purchase Ever

We would return in a heart beat. We went with our teenage boys the second week in August 2015 and stayed at the Lindo. CheapCaribbean did a fantastic job from booking the trip to getting us back to the airport on our return. We chose the Lindo b/c of a great recommendation by our travel agent, Blaise. He helped us make the right choice. The Iberostars are all adjacent to each other and the Lindo is the newest building with a new Theatre which was gorgeous and huge! The Lindo is also well located so that you are near the lazy river and a pools. We had our two teenage boys with us and we all enjoyed it. The restaurants are fantastic especially the Japanese which had great food and entertainment. We had Aaron at the Dive Shop dive with us us on two purchased dives. That was great too. The staff at the Iberostar are all nice and accommodating. There is nothing that we were unhappy about. We heard the Maya was higher ranked than the Lindo but we still don't know what restaurant was at the Maya that we missed out on and could not eat at. If the Maya was more expensive we are glad we missed paying the higher price since we stayed at the Lindo. The beach was good too. There are rocks on the bottom of the beach when you go into the water so you should bring water shoes. We would also recommend that you bring with you cans of sunscreen since the gift store is stocked with them but the cans are three times what you can buy them for in the US. We also had a photoshoot with their photographer on the property and bought 6 photos which turned out great. The transport to and from the airport was also excellent. It arrived on time when we were to depart and was there when we arrived at the airport. You must walk through the airport to find the AMSTAR transport since they cannot come into the airport. They are there to find you with a smile. You will be approached by many taxi drivers or other companies so be careful to avoid them and find AMSTAR staff with the blue shirts. All in all, we were very happy with the vacation and with CheapCaribbean.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 14, 2013
Great Overall Experience

Our 4 days in Iberostar Paraiso Lindo resort was wonderful. If you like water there is a pool for everyone! They have a small lazy river, but it was still fun. The wave pool and two giant pools to go for a dip. The giant thatched roofs were awesome. The grounds here are so beautiful, clean, well maintained as well as the pools and beach. Everything is presented so well. The lobby bar is our favorite and the staff there is superior! We enjoyed the whole experience and will come back again. The buffets are good not great but that shouldn't make you not want to go. The specialty restaurants are well done, good selection and good tasting food. The nightly shows are fun and they make a great effort to produce a show for all family members. The room was clean, cleaned every day very well - not a grain of sand in sight. We recommend this place - it was true paradise.

Main pool swim up bar Just beauty everywhere
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Sugar Land, Tx
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year