All

Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Resort Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 130 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.1
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.4 out of 5
"The wife and I stayed here in the Paraiso Lindo Resort. Nice place, lots of nice beach. Food was good. Not a bad place all around." – Victory
141 out of 160 (88%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Lobby Paella on the beach! One of many swimming areas. Just beauty everywhere Nice treat received after returning to room. The view from my beach lounger. Main pool swim up bar Great family resort, someday when we have grandkids we will bring them here!

All Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 130 reviews. Sort by
February 6, 2012
25th Anniversary

This is a wonderful well staffed resort. The grounds and rooms were beautiful. The pool and beach areas were kept very neat and clean. The water at the beach was a little rough, but you could still swim. We always saw someone cleaning. We arrived early and our room was not ready. We were handed a drink, a wristband was placed on our wrist and we were told to go get something to eat and drink. We were told to leave our luggage and someone would watch it at all times. We were also offered a place to change, if we wanted to use the pool or beach area. When we return from our lunch and drinks we were given an upgrade to Maya because it was our 25th anniversary. With the upgrade we were able to use the spa free and eat at 2 more restaurants, plus received a suite. The staff was very friendly, and helpful. They work very hard to make sure you have a wonderful time. My husband doesn't really like buffets, but he always found something good to eat. The dinners were wonderful. We loved the French restaurant! The nightly entertainment was wonderful. This would be a wonderful resort for a family vacation. There were lots of activities for children. Tips: 1. You have to ask for top shelf liquor. Try some of "The Drink of the Day" at the beach. 2. Book your transportation to and from the airport before you leave home. 3. Ignore all the time- share people or tell them no credit card! Nothing is free, no matter what they tell you. The 90 minutes breakfast/talk will turn into 4 hours! 4. Make dinner reservations the first night there for the whole week or time you are there. You can always make changes, otherwise you may have to eat at a buffet for dinner. There are many children at this resort, but we knew this was a family resort. Most of the time that wasn't a problem. There is only one restaurant children are not permitted and that was the French restaurant, which you do not have access to if you stay at LIndo, only Maya. If you want time away from your children and other you may want to pick an adult only resort.


38 of 39 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 1, 2015
Highly Recommended

Since I have spent a lot of time reading reviews posted here, I felt I should write one. We stayed at the Iberostar Paraiso Lindo resort at the end of August and we were both THRILLED with every aspect of the trip. I really don’t know where to start so I will just hit some of the highpoints: - Very impressed with the way the resort was run and the obvious training that all staff received. I would stay at another Iberostar resort just for this reason. There were people with clipboards inspecting everything and literally looking for dirt in the corners. There was a smile and a hello from everyone; front desk, restaurants/bars and staff walking on the path. - Check in was quick and courteous. Although we arrived early and the room wasn’t ready we felt taken care of and we loved the welcome cocktail. - There is a concierge in every building that was almost always there and available. They helped answer any and all questions and made our restaurant reservations. We also received phone calls asking if everything was OK and could they do anything to make our stay better. - We made all our reservations with the concierge on the day we arrived and had no trouble with times and choices. - The food was outstanding for an all inclusive.. This included the a la carte restaurants, the buffets and the restaurants in the shopping areas (a must btw). The gourmet restaurant was our favorite and the food quality, service and atmosphere was outstanding. Also food on the beach if you don’t want to leave the area. - 24 hour room service!!! - Waitress service on the beach was a great benefit - Bars and drinks were very good. Everyone talks about watered down drinks. I am not sure, but everything was good and it’s all inclusive so just order another one. - Cheap Caribbean rep on premises made good suggestions for excursions. - The place is beautiful. - The nightly shows are better than other resorts I have been too. It aint Broadway, but they were fun. As for negatives, I personally had none, however: - Although we spent most of our time on the beach, we did notice that there were not many empty seats at the pools. - We were a party of 2 and not in the high season. I cannot speak to what things would be like when busier or with a larger crowd. - The resort is really 4 resorts in 1 with different pools and restaurants in each. The 6 days we stayed was not enough time to become familiar with all it has to offer. - It’s big. There is a lot of walking. This was not an issue for us, but I can see others considering this a negative. We have been to several all inclusive resorts and have never written a review. I we loved our stay, we have recommended this resort to others and we can’t wait to return.


17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 17, 2013
Beautiful Resort, good food, a few disappointments

Overall, the resort was beautiful and had some beautiful amenities like lazy river, wave pool and lots of restaurants. Beach was well above average and very clean and wide with plenty of room and chairs to lay on. Landscaping and decor was exquisite. Food in Steakhouses, Mediterranean and Italian above average and unique with awesome service and attention to detail. I was dissappointed with difficulty in securing reservations in the nicer restaurants even though I tried to make reservations the day I got there for later in week. Buffets had lots of food, and overall good, but after awhile for breakfast and lunch, it was redundant and could have used some variety...same thing every day. Dinner buffets good, but I thought for international night and italian night there would be far more variety. Servers were all very nice in all restaurants though, including omelette makers, waiters, and sandwich and grill staff. French restaurant beautiful and good service but food a joke. Ordered lobster and got two quarter sized medalions of lobster....ridiculous. I understand the concept of french cuisine smaller portions prepared well but this was extreme and a waste of time. Concierges very nice and went out of their way...Carmen, Wendy, and Cinitra all kind and professional. Their managers, however, were very slow to respond to room problems and at first did little to try to make up for problems until Cheap Carribean got involved. We had several room issues , at least 8, like clogged toilet, stopped up tub/sink, garbage left in room, etc. Eventually got taken care of and expected some kind of accommodation and eventually they gave us some nice wine. Mattress was hard. Other big complaint was the huge rip off to charge $3 for every 15 minutes of Wi Fi for each device and you had to go to lobby to use it!! So for the 3 of us, it was almost $10 for 15 minutes...RIDICULOUS RIP OFF and at the price we paid of over $300 a night this was really price gouging to charge for something that should be free at such an expensive resort. Signal was even poor in lobby and wasnt worth a penny honestly. Our son had a good time as did we in the beautiful, extensive pools and on the gorgeous beach, so overall a good experience. Hope they take our suggestions to heart and we will be back.


17 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Illinois
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 17, 2012
Tidbits from Stay

The beach and ocean were perfect everyday. We stayed 7 days 6 nights. Mom, Dad and 7 year old boy. We were upgraded to Paraiso Maya. The room and building was very nice and clean. The maids did a great job and left towel animals each night. We all enjoyed the pools. The Maya has private pools for some buildings. They are the size of a normal pool but you were away from the crowds. There were alot of people there but we didn't have a problem finding places to sit by the pool or at the beach. The beach huts do fill up early in th morning. People would also lay their towels on chairs at the pool to save them early ( kinda rude). There is alot to do at the resort. There are activies at the beach all day. The beach area is for Maya, Lindo, Del Mar and Beach resorts all together so is it long but plenty of room and lots to do for all ages. You don't need to leave the resort to do things. My husband scuba dived throught the resort and loved it. Your lessons are at the Beach/Del Mar pool next door and your ocean dive is a 10 minute boat ride. They also had activies at the pool that were fun. Our son enjoyed the Kids club. They had several crafts, watched movies in Spanish, played games. In the evening at 8pm they would dance on the stage in the theater for 20 minutes very cute. The water park and playground that is mentioned is great for 4 - 5 year olds or not good swimmers but got boaring for a 7 year old. It has a couple slides and dumps water. My son is a great swimmer so he really wanted to be in the big pools. My son's favorite thing was the ice cream bar. He had at least 5-8 scoops a day. The food was average. We did find several things we liked but were not wowed. The breakfast and lunch buffets are the same where every they are offered only the dinners are themed. Things to know before you go. Clothes don't dry overnight weither inside or outside. You only have one dinner option if you don't make dinner reservations at the theme restuarants. The resort is spread out. Lots of walking. They don't have snacks by the pools you have to walk down to the beach snack hut (hot dogs, hamburgers, chips etc) and bring it back. They want to keep it cleaner at the pool and the animals away but a snack hut you could eat at out side would have been nice. If you plan on going on excersions most of them take all day. Bring small beach toys and pool toys. You can buy them there. We will go back but look into staying at the Del Mar/ Beach resort since the beach is the same and they also have a great pool and ice cream bar.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Ozark, MO
Age: 45-54

June 11, 2015
I would go back, maybe

We had a wonderful time (mom, dad and boys (22 & 17)). The ride from the airport took approximately 35 mins. I recommend you book your round trip transportation to/from the airport in advance. It was a bit chaotic at the airport with people trying to sale you things. I don't recommend trying to figure out transportation after you arrive. We arrived at the hotel around 1:30 and was promptly checked-in and given rooms beside each other. I sent the hotel an email one month in advance to request rooms in the same building and within close proximity. Although they could not guarantee my request via email, they honored my request upon arrival. By 2 pm we were at the pool and relaxing. Cons: 1. We stayed at Lindo which means we also had access to the restaurants/bars at Beach and Del Mar Resorts. Although we had a good dining experience at the specialty restaurants, I did not like the feel of inequality and lack of access to Maya Resort or Grand Resort. Maya and Lindo share the same pools yet, Lindo residents could not walk 50 feet to Maya's pool restaurant although Maya residents had access to Lindo's pool restaurant. The grand is so far away and a bit too relaxed for our adventurous taste so, it did not matter so much. The boys spent most of their time at the beach and walked up to the Maya's beach bar (bars are not clearly marked) and were denied service. A few feet away you can find the Lindo, Beach and Del Mar Resort beach bars. After the first day and self orientation to this very large resort, we finally got better situational awareness of the resort's boundaries by resort class. 2. Upon check-in we were given a very detailed map of the Lindo Resort. It would have been nice for them to give us an additional map of the entire Iberostar Resort property. This place is very large. My family and I are walkers and we had to feel our way around the entire property. If you are a morning walker I recommend walking around the entire Iberostar Resort. At a steady clip it took us about 50 mins to walk the entire resort. That is why an Iberostar Resort map would have helped. BTW: If walking for exercise make sure you get thirsty at Lindo, Del Mar or Beach. Remember you can go to Maya and Grand but you cannot use their restaurant nor bar facilities. 3) The bed was hard as a rock. My back hurt daily. Pros: 1) Lindo/Maya share the same pools & Beach/Del Mar share the same pools. We alternated days at both pools and enjoyed every moment. There were plenty of pool and beach chairs available. If you want one of the prime spots near the entertainment team, I recommend getting to the pool or beach around 9 am. There is plenty of shade for those that want limited sun. Although we did not go to the resort for the room experience, I was not disappointed with the room. 2) The a/c worked fine. Keep in mind when the sliding glass doors are open/unlocked or your room door is open, the a/c automatically shuts off. You cannot blame them for this feature as some people want to have the balcony door open with the a/c running. 3) At Lindo the wireless connection is free. You will pay for wireless access at Beach or Del Mar. Our connection worked fine with no problems. 4) The specialty restaurants were great. Booked your restaurants on the first day of your arrival. El Fago Steak restaurant (Lindo) was my favorite and the Japanese restaurant (Beach) was my second favorite. The boys like Jambalaya Restaurant (Lindo) second best. It is all about individual taste, right! 5) The electrical plugs were 110v. I did not realize they used the US standard for voltage although; we brought computer & phone chargers with us. I am glad we did. There are limited plugs in the room but you can bring your 110v accessories – especially a blow dryer. 6) Some complained about mosquitoes and we were bitten a few times. Luckily we brought bug spray with us. 7) The staff was attentive and supportive. I am sure there are circumstances and unique situations that have caused others to question the sincerity of the staff. We did not experience bad staff members. We did see a few bad-resident members. Face it; some people can never be pleased. 8) Ice cream at the pool was a hit. It was really good ice cream. 9) The bar drinks are not the best. If you tip and request more favor or something stronger, they are usually accommodating. The bar team seemed short staffed all the time. Often times I would only see 1 bar pool attendant; the 2nd attendant was in and out. Iberostar could improve the staffing situation at the pool bar. 10) Great gym and tennis courts. 11) Wild life (coati, peacocks, other birds and cats) 12) resorts does a great job with the Mayan jungle theme throughout the property. It is a beautiful place. It is well maintained. Neutral: This was our 12th return to Mexico and our first time at this resort. The nightly entertainment was not that great and I've seen much better at other resorts. They tried however, I was not impressed. Do not waste your time at the Pirate Show. It was horrible and lacked creativity. Overall this was a family trip and we enjoyed each other. So it would have been hard for the Resort to mess that up. With the exception of separating residents by class at the bar/restaurants & the nightly entertainment, I would go back. There are plenty of activities for all.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Huntsville, AL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 17, 2017
Very good with very few negatives

Here's my review.....I stayed in room 5276 and the 52 and 53 buildings are in great locations near the beach and pool. Room - Here is where I had a few negative feelings. Room could definitely use upgrading. Very few outlets and we had one that was totally not working. I had to call for them to come and at first they said they fixed the few issues we had but obviously no one did. Our concierge took care of it immediately after I called and was upset....bathroom is fine and our room had a nice large walk in shower. definitely good storage space and shelving. Food - the buffet was fine. The buffet by the pool for breakfast and lunch is not as extensive as the large one by the reception area. But it was fine and we never had to wait long for anything. Our experiences at all the restaurants for dinner were excellent. We went to all of them except the Italian Restaurant. The food at the Mexican restaurant was the only one that was just fair. French, Cajun, Steakhouse and Hibochi were all great.....service everywhere was attentive and friendly. Pool Pool was fine- very pretty just a little cold but they had loads of activities if that is what you were looking for. They only give you one thin towel so I would probably bring my own as well. The lazy river was pathetic...it hardly moved and had one place where it had a waterfall that you might possibly get wet....actually the water was freezing. Beach - the water was great and clean. Some areas do have rocks and several days the water was somewhat rough. Plenty of huts and beach chairs for all. my only complaint were the seagulls going in for the food. Its great that they have a food bar on the beach but thats what happens with food. They did have servers all over bringing drinks....people were trying to sell hats, bags, silver jewelry but no one really bothered you. Hope this info helped. Everyone at the resort really was nice and friendly. Bartenders were fun and we had a great time.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 11, 2012
Good times at Lindo

My wife and I vacationed to Paraiso Lindo in December 2012 and had one of the most relaxing weeks ever. Here are the things that I would say about Lindo that are hopefully helpful to others: - The place is huge, so prepare to walk to and from the beach, pools, dinner, and your room more than you would at other resorts. This was good for us as it was our excuse for exercise to work off all the food/drinks! - The beach was the highnote....absolutely stunning white sand and blue water with very little seaweed. Pools were a little chilly, but you get what you get in the off season. - The use of the other resorts next door was great, and the seemingly everlasting pool next at the other Iberostar resort is worth a trip. - Food is average. Make sure you eat at the Japanese Steakhouse, that was our favorite. We were underwhelmed at the Gourmet and wish we would have tried the restaurants at the neighboring Iberostar resorts, which you'll have access to. - Iberostar is a class act and has always treated us right (we've been to one of their places in Jamaica too). You can always feel like you're in capable hands with them and they will make sure you're enjoyment is of the utmost. Enjoy your trip!


17 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Kansas City, MO
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 2, 2011
Great Vacation!

We had a great vacation at the Iberostar Paraiso Lindo. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is working at all times to keep the resort beautiful. The staff at the pool during the day and then at the theater at night go out of their way to talk to all vistiors and make sure your visit is enjoyable. We will definitely be returning to the beautiful resort. Don't let the size deter you from visiting. The size was never an issue. We stayed in building 55 and were central to everything. A little walking was good for us, since we never missed a delicious meal. Can't wait to return.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Pataskala, OH
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 10, 2013

The hotel was very nice but stay away from the offsite tours. We took the tour of Tulum, Coba, Mayan Village, and Alkum beach. the tour took ~12 hours. We spent ~1 hour at each location. the rest of the time was travel and picking up guests at 3 other hotels. The Mayan Village as just one person's hut where the tour wanted you to purchase all their trinkets. It was not worth the time to travel to. The tour fed the group at Coba but there was a catch. The meal was free but you had to buy your drinks where bottled water was $2.50 and beer was ~$5. The Coba restaurant also had a guy at the door asking for additional donations. If you want to see the Mayan Ruins, rent a car and drive to Coba. You can spend the amount of time that fits your schedule. Tulum and other areas are not worth your time. Stay at the hotel and enjoy their beautiful beach and enjoy their hosptiality


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: cold country
Age: 25-34

August 14, 2014
Great Vacation! Ca't Wait to Go Back to the Lindo

This is my first review ever! I have read hours of reviews but never written one. WE LOVED THIS PLACE! I would have booked our return trip while I was still on vacation. We have never returned to the same place, but we will definitely be back to the Lindo. This place is worth the little extra you pay. Beach: all important to us....I mean, that's why we go, right? The beach was beautiful. Rocky in some places, but easy to go around the rocks when the water is not too rough. When the water is rough and stirs up the sand, you cant really tell where the rocks are. We always wear water shoes so even on a red flag day we still were able to enjoy the ocean without worrying about hurting ourselves on the rocks. The sand is soft and white on areas in between the rocks. Also, you can go just beyond the rocks and the sand is soft and white and still have a great beach experience. I didn't see very many people with water shoes. Most were bare feet. I did not see anyone complaining of hurting themselves on the rocks even with bare feet. Pools: Fabulous!!!!! I think we enjoyed these pools more than any other resort. Water was warm, atmosphere was everything you could ever want. There were quiet, peaceful areas, rowdy party areas, sports pool, wave pool was so much fun...even for my teenagers...they loved it. The lazy river was very enjoyable. We spent all our days going from the beach to the pool then the wave pool and then floating around the lazy river...repeat. The days flew by and we never got bored. Plenty of shade when you needed it. Food: We are not picky eaters. We found things we enjoyed and thought were really good every day. My husband did not like the required reservations to the al la cartes. Honestly it was never an issue. We made all our reservations within hours of arriving. We ate late. Reservations were at 9pm. A couple of nights we were allowed to eat earlier like 8 or 830. I thought the time worked out well because we stayed at the beach or pool until 630ish every evening. Air conditioner in all the common areas was the best we have ever encountered at any resort in the caribbean. It made eating more enjoyable because you weren't sweating like crazy. AND you could drink coffee or whatever hot drink....and not be miserable!!! Men only had to wear long pants to the fancy gourmet restaurant. Men can wear nice shorts to all the other places. My son very much enjoyed that!!!! . ***ONE BIG ISSUE WITH THE FOOD!!!! **** My teenage son coined this issue "dead spots". There were some times between meals that were difficult to get food (approx 1 hr). Breakfast buffet closed at 10am. The time may say 1030 but they will not let you in past 10. We missed breakfast the first day. There is room service 24/7 but no one wants to sit in the room during the day and wait for room service. We figured out the system quickly on the first day and made sure we ate around these "dead spots" , but it caught us by surprise the first day and it really has the potential to ruin an entire vacation if you do not plan around these times. Entertainment: Meh! We had plenty of things to do other than the 930 show. We went to the lobby bar and used the internet. It was cool and comfortable there. There were some families that played cards or a game or just sat around and laughed very hard and loudly and just overall enjoyed themselves and one another in the evenings there. The adult disco was fun. The teen club was deserted and MOLDY smelling. Yuck!!! They did not go there. The teen disco was decorated really cool. It was deserted but I could see that it would be fun if a group of teens were there. Kids club looked fabulous. They had the BEST WATERPARK in there. It looked really fun. We wanted to go in and play there. LOL! Room: Bed was fine, linen comfortable and clean...bring your own conditioner for sure. They had plentiful shampoo and body wash. Staff: All very, very nice. Helpful, smiling Lastly>>>> the coffee shop had frozen coffee and yummy stuff to eat that was included!!!! That frozen coffee made my vacation AWESOME!!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Topeka, KS
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year