All

Iberostar Paraiso Beach Del Mar Resort Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 449 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.3 out of 5
"Beautiful location, spots for activities or quiet, attentive service, good food. We had a great time. No stress, met lots of nice people and just relaxed. Excellent value." – HappyTraveler877778
448 out of 522 (86%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from the Room Lobby Daily Surprise One view of the main pool Buffet staff is awesome. Front staff rude Pool View serenity Beautiful beach view Riviera Maya at Iberostar Buffet View Us in the ocean while on the Catamaran! Beautifully kept grounds with lots of animals to admire. Part of the pool at night. The main pool Main Pool After dinner drinks Mixologist Coatis abound! Beach.. Lobby Pretty complex it good luck getting a reservation to any restaurant. Had to eat in the heat at the buffet for 4 days. Our Room Wildlife on property The buffet Nice Colonial style buildings A True Paradise! Mexico, Iberostar Parasail Kayaking view Pink Flamingos near the Lounge area

All Iberostar Paraiso Beach Del Mar Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 449 reviews. Sort by
April 29, 2013
It's a Heaven

I’ll skip the repetition about the territory, rooms , refrigerator etc. and start with food places. The specialty restaurants were fantastic, buffets good too. There is more food than you can possibly imagine at the buffet. Fruit was all local and fresh. We are surprised at some negative reviews about food. There was always a choice to satisfy everyone. We visited Brazilian, Japanese and Mediterranean restaurants. We liked all of them. Beach and pools were amazing! We enjoyed waterfalls, Jacuzzi and wave pool at Lindo resort. By the way, you can visit all 4 resorts, just remember that Lindo and Maya have their own exclusive restaurants which you cannot visit, if you stay in Del Mar or Paraiso Beach but they can visit any of them. Not fair! Don’t believe in bad Staff. They are all great and try to serve you the best way they can, fulfilling all your wishes and ready to bent over backgrounds to meet all of our needs I can’t believe that somebody could complain. Did they ever look at themselves in the mirror? May be they are rude, mean and behave like spoiled children? Be more thankful and patient, the staff works hard to please everyone 365 days a year. Somebody complained that the walkways are hard to walk on! I agree with Deana from Cleveland “It was a bit of a hike, but the grounds were so beautiful and well maintained that I enjoyed the walk.” There are other ways to make your walking easier. No problem to stop a little shuttle, if you have a problem walking. I saw people with disabilities and they didn’t complain. By the way, you eat a lot there, so why not to walk a little at least during your vacation. By the way, there are always alternative routes to the Lobby. They are shorter. Use the map they give you. To make a long story short, we liked our stay and will recommend it to everyone we know.


102 of 105 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: New York, NY
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 16, 2013
Dont Think, Just Go!

Our first All-Inclusive will definitely not be our last. What an amazing experience!! Lets start with the good: 1. The STAFF! Maybe its the water in Mexico, but every single person we encountered in Iberostar and in Mexico were by far the friendliest and helpful people we've seen in the Hospitality industry. They will help you with everything! 2. THE RESORT!- Walking around the resort, you'll feel like your in a tropical jungle, with all the animals to go with it. The pool is HUGE with lots of things to do. 3. THE AMENITIES- Everything is included, everything. Although we couldnt go snorkeling/kayaking because of the wind, the activities were awesome and very fun. Theres always something to do in Iberostar! You wont get bored. 4. THE FOOD- The buffets werent that great, but the speciality restaurants are to die for. As well as the Beach Grill, the Taqueria, and the Burger place. Super good. And the drinks!? They dont cheat you out, you'll definitely get drunk. Ask for the illegal (in the US) Havana Club rum. What you might not like 1. The resort is massive. Lots of walking, but there are shuttles that run 24/7 and most of the time we took them everywhere. If you cant find them, youll have to walk.. which can be a lot . 2. The room wasnt cold enough! If you like your A/C, be prepared to sweat in the room for 30 min before you feel comfortable. The AC turns off when you arent there, so the room is always hot when you come in. 3. The beach- A bit rocky and not as blue as other parts of Riviera Maya. The surf was also rough, which makes for difficult water activities The beach at Playa de Carmen is much much better. Tips. 1. Bring Floaties! They charge $19 just for one. Buy your own in the States and Bring it in the luggage. 2. Depending how long you stay, bring lots of singles! We had $100 for the entire trip (5 nights) and not enough singles for tip. You should tip every time you got to a restaurant, bar, and luggage. The workers live off tips and often times people wouldn't even at the speciality restaurants. 3, Go to the Club!! Everyone of all ages and great music. Have fun!! We are already planning our next trip on CheapCaribbean in a few months!

Dont Think, Just Go! Dont Think, Just Go!
22 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 3, 2015
AWESOME !!! FIRST TIMERS THERE

GREAT RESORT !! GREAT PEOPLE !!! WE HAD A BLAST ! FROM THE AIR TRAVEL LEAVING ATLANTA TO ARRIVING..CHEAP CARIBBEAN WAS THERE ON THE AIR CONDITIONED LUXRY VAN AND AWAY WE WENT TO RESORT IN 30 - 45 MIN. CHECK IN ABOUT 15 MIN. SWIM UP BAR IN 10 MIN. ( AWESOME POOLS BY THE WAY) WE WERE IN BUILDING 23 RIGHT BEHIND THE WATERFALL WHICH IS THE START OF THE LARGE POOL.SOME PEOPLE SAY GET THIS BUILDING OR THAT BUILDING,,,NAW1 JUST GET THERE!!! ITS ALL GOOD ! FOOD WAS GREAT WE ATE AT ALL THE RESTAURANTS ...JAPANEESE FAVORITE OF OURS ...ALL OF EM GREAT FOOD ! FUN FACT: AND A MUST DO! GO TO POOL ,DO THE free free SCUBA LESSON HERE IS THE FUN FACT : YOU CAN GO TO IBEROSTAR IN COSUMEL AND SNORKEL,VOLLEYBALL,EAT....ECT. TAKE THE FERRY OVER 13.00 BUCKS EA. ROUND TRIP 5.00 EA TAXI TO RESORT. STAY ALL DAY YOU ARE TREATED THE SAME WITH ALL INCLUSIVE IMMENTIES . HECK YOU CAN EVEN SPLIT YOUR WEEK UP NO EXTRA CHARGE. 3 DAYS CANCUN - 4 DAYS COSUMEL ASK EM AT DESK. THAT WAS A GREAT DAY !!!!!!! ( O YOU DONT HAVE TO DO THE SUBA LESSON TO DO THIS BY WAY ) WHAT ELSE? HMM... O HAD A FRIEND JUST CAME BACK ..THEY NOW HAVE A CASNIO ON PROPERTY !!! GO WIN YOUR TRIP BACK LOL .. GREAT PLACE TO STAY !!

AWESOME !!! FIRST TIMERS THERE AWESOME !!! FIRST TIMERS THERE
14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: ENGLEWOOD,TN.
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 13, 2015
Had a GREAT time!!

We went last Sept 5-13, 2014 and had an absolute blast!! We were a little concerned with it being the beginning of hurricane season, but it was fine. When/If it rained it was only for a short period of time, with the exception of one day when we went into town. We just bought ponchos and walked around all the stores. We went with our neighbors and can't praise this place enough. The resort is huge, has multiple swim up bars, the pools are great, as is the ocean. It was a little rocky/corally in some spots and sometimes the waves would take you down, but it was great regardless! You never have to hunt for a lounge chair, they are everywhere! The staff is fantastic and the food was really good. My favorite place was the Japanese. I love the entertaining dinner they give you--and the food was excellent!! Drinks are good---cups not a bad size, but if bring your own larger cups they have no problem filling them for you. Bring dollar bills to tip---they will remember you and treat you well! Beds were comfy and room was definitely spacious, not that we spent too much time in it! Entertainment was good too...if you have plans to go here or even contemplating--just book it, you won't be disappointed!!


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Hampshire
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 16, 2011
Good trip - pros & cons

This was our first booking through Cheap Carribean, and also our first stay with an Iberostar resort. Overall it was pretty good. The beach and pool are the nicest I've come across yet in either Mexico or Hawaii. They are pretty amazing. If you're a pool or beach-hound, this place might be for you. PROS: -VERY friendly people at the resort. These people work like dogs and you'd never know it from their attitude. Always friendly...you will not be able to pass an employee without them saying "hola." The "Star Friends" are costantly roaming the grounds, beach, and pools and adding a playful spin on most interactions with staff. Most seemed to speak passable to good English, French, and Spanish. I've never met a better trained group of wait-staff, help-staff, and entertainers on a Mexican vacation. Top Notch. -Location is great if you want to spend a day in Puerto Morelos, Playa Del Carmen, or Cozumel. Short cab rides to each. -The pool bars, beach, and dining facilities ALL feature well-stocked shelves for drinks. I was very happy with the "drinks" facet of the all-inclusive. - The grounds are beautiful. This place is IMMENSE, and it's pretty spectacular in terms of pseudo-natural habitat throughout the complex. It's like walking throgh a zoo and a hotel in one. Pretty darn cool. - "Reservation" restaurants: The restaurants for which reservations are required are quite good...no complaints there. Just be prepared to get to the concierge EARLY in your stay to get dinner reservations. they fill up fast. CONS: -The rooms are nice, but not "impressive" in the way a nice Vegas hotel room is. Although very clean, the rooms are kind of boring and ours didn't have a view at all. The beds are also quite stiff. - The minibar is a joke. I was expecting hard liquor and lots of cold beer in the room. There was no Hard A, and there was a tiny fridge with 3 beers and a few sodas in it. And they weren't very cold. Bummed on that one. - The complex advertises a "Lazy River." If by Lazy they mean "Without current", then I guess they're right. You have to rent inflatables for the pool which I thought was silly. - The Ala Carte buffets (that do not require reservations) and pool area buffets are not very good. I wouldn't say "terrible" but they were not great. Seemed to me the chefs were trying to appease a wide range of preferences, but that leaves much of the food kind of bland and disinteresting. If I could tell Iberostar to do one thing with their food, it would be to have some authentic "street style" tacos available at most buffets. It would go a long way to appeasing a wide range of appetites. I could live on street tacos for a week and be happy. Oh yeah, and get a bunch of hot-sauces. Tapatio! Summary: Overall we liked the place a lot. Not sure we'd go back, but for the right price I'm sure we would. If we could do it again, we might do the Iberostar resort on Cozumel. We stopped by that place and it's another level of cool. Lots of diving right off the resort, food seemed better, a little more laid-back atmosphere. Only drawback would be less entertainment and "night life" which this resort has plenty of. We might do that place sometime in the future.


21 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Seattle, WA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 6, 2015
Fun in Mexico

Very pretty hotel. Very large complex. Golf carts give you a ride but all is walkable-took a day to get our bearings. The room was nice and clean! The dinners were fantastic. I ate at the Mexican, Mediterranean and Brazilian. Bring dress up clothes for these (men bring button up shirts). Sign up for dinners early & if you don't have a reservation never hurts to ask for last minute availability. There is s shopping center and that is where you can get free wi-fi. My favorites were laying on the beach-plenty of chairs and there is a bar right there to get drinks and a snack bar on the beach too-you can help yourself to a soft serve ice cream! We loved the pool and it was so big we didn't get to see all of it. It has 2 swim up bars! I felt bad-always forgot to take $ to tip pool bartender. It isn't required but really nice to do and they will go out of their way for you if you tip big! Our cleaning lady went above and beyond since my husband gave her a big tip to keep the fridge in our room stocked with his favorite beer (not many beer choices). People were friendly and the shows at night were good-pirate show was the best. We had friends at another iberostar resort and took a taxi there & we were able to get a day pass and eat/drink there. Seems like they all have a similar set up. We were at iberostar beach. Our friend was at tucan which was nice but smaller. We don't speak Spanish but made out fine. Also people walk on the beach and sell items. I bought a beach cover up, blanket and license plate. You can negotiate prices. I didn't leave the resort but my husband left to go fishing & caught a 52" wahoo!! There is a spa at the resort.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 30, 2015
first trip to mexico with kids

We had an absolutely amazing trip at this resort. We were not entirely sure what to expect with this all inclusive. I have broken down the trip in a few areas.... Food: My wife is a professional athlete, and we as a family try and eat well. I was expecting a cheap buffet with tons of fried food. what we found was a really good variety of local cuisine, fresh fruits and vegetables and standard buffet items. I could not believe the variety of food. For example at breakfast you can certainly chow down on bacon and eggs, but I was surprised to see a staffed smoothie station where you could pick fresh fruits and vegetables, including things I have not tried like cactus fruits. you can get espresso at the buffet, and there is a coffee shop and crepe shop which were both very good. The reservation dinners were also mostly good. We loved the Japanese restaurant as well as the Brazilian restaurant. We did not like the Mediterranean as much in terms of setting, and food. Service: This is where I was really impressed. The amount of staff was impressive, as was their attention to detail and hard work ethic. We wanted to tip as I think it is well warranted, but we met some couples who didn't. I never got the impression that they were working for tips and expecting them. They were friendly and I enjoyed talking to them and learning some of their stories. Our house keeper made wonderful little animals characters out of the fresh towels which were different every day and placed on our kids beds. Facilities: the resort has a nice open feel and seems to intertwine with the lush forest. The area is big, but we didn't mind walking around and you can flag down rides in carts. The lobby has a nice open feel with bright colors and the rooms also had a colorful Mexican design. The resort is very clean and well maintained. Our room had no issues. the room fridge is restocked daily with fresh bottle water soda and beer. Bars: you can get alcohol at almost every turn which I appreciated. swim up bars in the pool, drinks at dinner, bar at the beach etc.... In terms of top shelf liquor I heard that the lobby bar has this, but I was mostly drinking beer. I did order some cocktails which I can attest had plenty of booze in them. Beach: the beach had nice white sand with plenty of chairs and shaded bed things. There was some seaweed, and a few rocks out in the water. Also there was an undertow when we were there so the water was a little more unpredictable than we were expecting. The waves were small. I loved it. and we will be going back.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Denver, co
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 2, 2012
Iberostar Paraiso Beach - Del Mar Resort

Our stay consisted of 6 nights with two rooms over the holiday season. The beach and pool were absolutely stunning. The staff was extremely friendly, prompt and helpful from check-in to check-out. With that being said, it is important to manage your expectations for this resorts room comfort and dining options remembering you are in a jungle. Don't expect your rooms to be cooler than 72 humid degrees or your beds to be soft. Now on to the all-inclusive meals, be prepared to eat the buffet a lot because the resort limits a la carte dining. For two rooms we had a total of two reservations in the restaurants, and yes, you do need reservations. There are no walk ins, no waiting in lines- strictly reservations. Our Gourmet a la carte restaurant had 20 empty tables with four seated tables for our 6:30 reservation. Our second reservation at the Japanese hibachi grill restaurant had empty tables as well with one chef per twenty people seated around the grill! Bottom line, empty tables were at all restaurants, every evening. It would appear that Iberostar prefers guests to eat the buffet which leaves much to be desired by your palate. The food was not good. The lunch and dinner buffets were very limited in variety/selections and, very high in carbs, processed meats, breads and cheese. We did not have a quality dining experience and cannot recommend this resort.

Iberostar Paraiso Beach - Del Mar Resort
34 of 40 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

May 28, 2012
Pick another!

The place is beautiful, the rooms are nice, the beach is good but honestly that is about all the good things I can say for this location. Other than the dive shop was amazing and the dive staff exceptional (ask for Olaf, he is the best). The property is huge and the beach is far from the restaurants. They have a "train" but out of the 10 days we were there I think I saw it working for maybe 4 days at the most. They have several golf carts but I can't tell you how many times they would pass right by without stopping. We upgraded to an ocean front room so although the view was nice it was very far from the restaurants. But that probably isn't such a bad thing considering that the food was absolutely HORRIBLE. I'm not a picky eater. My other review of Dreams La Romana in the Dominican Republic gives great props to the food there even though some other's didn't think it all that good. But I'm telling you that the food at the Iberostar Paraiso Beach Resort was so bad. I mean so, so bad! The only restaurant out of the 7 or 8 available that was half way decent was the Japanese because they cooked the food right in front of you. The rest were unbelievably bad. It is as if they bought the cheapest, oldest, worst ingredients to make everything so nothing was good. NOTHING! It wouldn't be so bad if there were one or two other places we didn't care for, but it was all of them. And the buffet was a joke. When you pay for an all inclusive you are pretty much stuck eating their food (especially when it's so far away from anything else) so you expect them to have a decent variety and at least some good food. All I can say is that you will be very disappointed no matter how low your expectations are. The pool looked nice but everyday there was such a horrible noise coming from their DJ that I barely used it. The beach was clean and lots of lounges but the ocean was unprotected so it was choppy and windy almost every day making it impossible to snorkle. The only saving grace to this place was the dive shop and it's staff. They were knowledgeable, helpful, nice and made us feel very comfortable diving with them. Other than that it was a very disappointing experience. I may go back to that part of Mexico in a future vacation but I will never stay at another Iberstar property again.


89 of 113 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 25 Contributor
From: Southern California
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 23, 2013
Iberostar Paraiso Resort

I have read the reviews before I went, and the vast majority were positive. I have to agree. It was a nice resort. Clean,with a really nice and huge pool, nice beach and friendly workers at the resort. The beach was a bit crowded with chairs, but it was a very large beach. The water was clean, a bit rocky, but warm as bath water. The food was pretty good. Not gourmet, but if you couldn't find anything that you liked at the buffets then you are too picky and won't be happy with anything. The gourmet restaurant offerings were decent. Not great and the Italian restaurant was just poor, but for the most part I enjoyed most of the food options. Drinks offered were top shelf liqueur, which did surprise me. Entertainment was very bad and cheesy to say the least, but I did not go their to watch cheesy Mexican shows put on by the waiters. If you want a nice place to relax and enjoy the sun, the wildlife, no stress then this is a good vacation bargain for the price. If you want entertainment, get a cab and go to Cancun for the night. One thing- the resort is huge and if you are elderly or have trouble walking, it might not be the place for you as there was close to a 1/2 mile walk from the front of the hotel lobby and dining rooms to the beach. It was a pretty resort, but large and nice winding paths around, but I like to walk so it was great, but if I had a disability it would have been a problem. Overall it was a great relaxing week at a nice resort. I would go back.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Northeast PA, USA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year