All

Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - La Romana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 98 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.4 out of 5
"I stay from may 9 -13 . The hotel is very nice. The beach is little rocky and not enough beach chairs . The buffet for us was not that great.Rooms are clean & comfort oveall 4 star hotel." – Tequizzi
108 out of 123 (88%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Beach Bar Pool bar, my favorite spot Postcard worthy beach! 6:00 am beautiful morning! beautiful beach! Love the pool bar Day trip on the boat The lovely grounds Sunset The beach! Pools at the Spa Enjoying the beach Decorated for Christmas. Iberostar beach

All Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Customer Reviews

1-10 of 98 reviews. Sort by
November 14, 2012
Loved it but some adivce

We just came back from 6 days at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus on Nov 9th. I'll start off by saying it was an amazing vacation but I'll offer some advice. We booked through CheapCaribbean.com and got transfers from Santo Domingo. I've read all the reviews from the past 6 months, and they were pretty spot on, the transfer takes about 2 1/2 hours. Honestly, it was a long day after flight and transfer but it wasn't too bad. If you can, fly into La Romana airport, but not sure which US airline flies there. Check-in went smoothly and every member of the staff wore a smile on their face. Our room was in Bldg 5, closest to lobby, restaurants, food, and furthest from beach, but we really liked our location. It wasn't noisy and was close to everything. The rooms were nice, big shower, good furniture, and cozy little balcony. FYI, because I couldn't find this info from past reviews, they have 110V outlets. NOTICE: The food is different! It isn't bad, but its not what you would typically find in US resorts (first time traveling international so I can't compare to other international resorts) However, the buffet was decent and there was always something to find to eat. My wife, who is a bit picky, did take a day or two to get accustomed to the food. Breakfast was one of the best meals, with an omelet station, fresh fruit, cereal, etc. We had 3 reservations and ate at the Geisha (hibachi), Steakhouse, and Colonial (upscale dining). We thoroughly enjoyed every single one! No complaints. Ok now to the best part of the resort... the entertainment team or Star Friends... by far these people do an amazing job, morning till night, nonstop, with a smile on their faces! We loved Nicolas SOS, he speaks so many languages, and we loved taking Spanish class with him. He always welcomed us and really connected with people. The rest of the group were amazing, also. I can't remember all of their names, which I apologize, but of course their is Lady Gaga, very funny character. They were not pushy, but would try to get people to do activities if they wanted, and let your guard down a little. My wife and I not only took Spanish class, but water aerobics, snorkeling, dancing lessons, ping pong, beach volleyball, and took part in their fiestas. We also went to the shows at night, which were a little repetitive but entertaining nonetheless. Great singers and dancers every night. I do want to make note that every single member of the staff do their best with English, but they don't understand everything. Keep in mind, American tourists were definitely the minority here, as there were many Germans, Russians, Italians, you name it, but I found everybody to be very nice and accommodating. The pool was nice and big and the beach was beautiful. The pool and beach bar were very nice, my wife fell in love with the Pina Coladas, also try the Mama Juana (lol). The beach seemed to fill up the fastest, but we were able to get a hut (forget what they're called) before 10am. The huts at the pool seemed be open much later. The water at the beach was beautiful, a little wavy, but not rocky at all! There are some little rocks and shells at spots, and like 2 big rocks but compare this to the Jersey shore and this is nothing! There is also a man-made reef not too far off the beach, where I was able to snorkel and find several different kinds of fish, just not very colorful. Overall we loved it, and would love to go back in the future! Feel free to contact me with any questions.


84 of 87 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 25-34

November 10, 2011
Best girls vacation ever!

Before I begin telling you what a wonderful time we had at the Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, please let me say we will never again travel Spirit Airlines to get there! If we had known about their service before we booked our vacation, Iwe would have chosen just about any other option to get there! We were almost hysterical when the flight leaving home was cancelled at the last minute for maintenance issues without any forthought about what to do with an entire airplance full of customers trying to leave town! Four hours later we were on our round about way via Delta Airline but we lost an entire day at the resort and had to spend a night in Ft. Lauderdale under a tornado watch! As horrible our experience with Spirit, the Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus completely justified the vacation! From the inviting cold fruity drinks given to the three of us at the front desk as we checked in a day late, to the efficient staff wisking us away to a room within minutes despite not knowing we were on our way and helping us set up an extra bed immediately so we could finally rest our travel weary selfs - we knew we had made the right choice of where to stay. The grounds are lovely and impeccably maintained. The pools are clean, warm and inviting. The beach was absolutely lovely. The restaurants are well stocked and the food available to us constantly was delicious and fresh with a good variety of tastes daily and lots of fresh international as well as local cuisines. There were tons of resort activities for everyone to participate in if they chose, excursions to book if you wanted to go off sight (totally enjoyed the catamaran excursion!), lounge chairs all around the pool and beach for those of us who wanted to relax in the sun, drinks available at every turn (don't miss the mamajuana!), tons of evening entertainment and a fun little discoteque... The only advice I have would be - bring SPF100 (the sun is seriously hot to midwestern skin), either speak a little Spanish or bring a pocket translator (as the resort staff often speak languages other than English but not good English although they try their best), be careful taking any children to the evening performances as they tend to be a bit risque, and be tolerant of smoking as the resort has many European clientel who are not restricted as to where they can smoke. Overall, we enjoyed it all immensely. We appreciated the attentive staff and were sorry to have lost that extra day we were supposed to have been there when we had to leave!

The lovely grounds Postcard worthy beach!
19 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 22, 2012
Made my first vacation with my gf an amazing one

It is my first time using CheapCaribbean. It was a great experience. Booking was easy and when I had questions the CheapCaribbean staff provided adequate answers. I could not believe how cheap the price was. No problem with the airline. We used American Airlines, but I would prefer to use Jet Blue. Jet Blue provides food and free internet. Tip: Try to book a nonstop flight. We had to make a stopover in Miami which was ok, but I'd prefer to just get to my destination. The pick up by Oympus Tour Group at the airport in DR was on time and thorough. For example, in the van they picked us up in we had 3 other couples. After we dropped off the first couple at the first resort, the driver had us look in the trunk to make sure our bags were still in the trunk, that the couple we dropped off did not take our bags by mistake. I thought that was a nice gesture. I highly suggest when booking this trip to add the pick up by Olympus Tour Group. The drive from the airport in Santo Domingo to the resort in Punta Cana is 1.5hrs. The roads are a big tricky so a driver is needed. The Iberostar Resort was beautiful. The beach had calm clear blue water and white sand soft and easy to walk on. The beach depth was pleasant, allowing me, 5ft 4in, to be able to walk in the water for 100ft into the ocean and still be able to touch the floor of the beach. It seems the resort placed sand their to control the depth of the water. The pool was relaxing, which had a bar within the pool. The room was spacious and always clean. The beds were comfortable. All the drinks within the room and room service was free, meaning it was included in All-Inclusive Deal. Now lets talk about the All-Inclusive: everything was included: 1hr of snorkeling daily, 1hr of kayaking, buffet, speciality restaurants (for the specialty restaurants you just needed to make a reservation which is simple to make. At your Hacienda there is a main hall were a resort representative is located. He will make the reservation for you), alcoholic drinks, all drinks. And the staff did not expect a tip, but I tipped a dollar here and there. The staff was also very nice! Helpful and always cheerful. They always encouraged the people at the resort to get involved in the activities which turned out to be very fun. We attended the beach aerobics and the fiesta on the beach which were very entertaining. Book with cheapcarribean and go to iberostar. you will be very happy and have wonderful memories. I know i did with my gf.

Made my first vacation with my gf an amazing one
24 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 4, 2015
Iberostar Dominican Republic

I am a European who lives in the Dominican Republic. Oddly enough, we do vacation on the same island too every summer for 10 to 14 days. Mostly at ALL-Inclusive resorts and preferably at Iberostar's resorts on the island. Iberostar stands out by two main things: consistency of quality and service and food diversity and quality. There are 4 or 5 Iberostar resorts in the DR. This one, out of 3 different ones we have visited is probably the more upscale one... and it's not just the hotel itself, but the clientele it seems to attract, and thus the entertainment is more refined (has it's own house band (and WHAT a band!)) with superb singers and professional dancers and a show rotation of over 14 days! The architecture is stunning and welcoming! "Neo-Mexican-Hacienda"-style. The landscaping and pool layout is lovely and manicured. There are Flamingos, Ducks and other exotic birds parading around and the kids love to observe the turtles. The location is all you expect as "Caribbean Paradise"... clean blue water beach with palm trees bent over it. Excursions available to nearby reservation island (Saona) and Punta Cana. NOT much shopping around, La Romana has not progressed over the 10 years I have known it. Nearby Bayahibe is nice, offers some quaint little French, Italian and other native restaurants on a picturesque little Marina from where the excursions to the island of Saona take off. Very safe and welcoming. Kids: We brought our 2 kids... they quickly made friends as usual. The pools are not very deep and they have many, many programs for Kids to be entertained all day long. For parents who want to stretch out and don't mind to be left along a few hours a day... PARADISE. Kids ought to be safe swimmers thou! There is water all around and there are no dedicated pool guards (they do keep an eye on it, and pools are filled with people from 07:00 thru 19:00 but during the evenings and night time, there is NO supervision (which given the extensive pool arena is not a critique to the hotel, but more of calling for consciousness of parents).


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Puerto Plata, Dom Rep and Palm Beach, FL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 9, 2010
are you kidding me??? JUST GO !

Never been there before but will certainly go again. Went for beach and diving. What fun / mutiple dining areas. Liquor included. Fantastic staff. Don't miss the breakfast buffet and specialties made to order. The food was out of this world. So much--so many varieties. Talk about a great room/ nice, clean, comfortable AND COOL ! What a great clean island and nice people.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas Texas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

October 15, 2012
Nice place

I will start out by saying the hotel was great. The landscaping and appearence are awesome. The staff keep the grounds in pristine condition. You see someone always cleaning, cutting, mowing or adjusting. My only complaint was the drive from the airport. Punta Cana is only 45 minutes away but we had to fly to Santo Damingo 90 minutes away. You spend 8 hrs flying only to get in a cab for another hour and 40 minutes. Then the driver spoke no english so he could not tell us about the local land marks. He did point out a few landmarks but it was still a long ride. I was very impressed with the personal transportsation though. Another thing was CheapCaribbean had a representative meet us at both ends of the airport and took care of all our needs. We walked into the airport on the return flight and he got everything we needed. I was apprehensive when he took our passports and was logging us on and getting our seats but he gave them back as soon as he had us all taken care of. At first he refused a tip but finally accepted. The food was as expected the same at any all inclusive pretty much boring. Thin steaks, eggs and bacon for breakfast, over cooked veggies. I'm a steak and patato guy so will eat most anything. I was satisfied every meal. The beach was again pristine. 9/10 days the beach was awesome. We always got a palapa but were way in back most of the time. I like to sit right on the beach but this never happenned. We like to sleep into 8-9 am. I like to walk the beach but this is very hard. The sand is so soft and wears you out quickly. I did get my mile walk in everyday. One day the red tide came in and caused mass itiching but this can happen anywhere. We always move up to the pool after 2 pm and sit by it until 4-6 pm. We'll jump in the pool which is so refreshing and comfortable. We will spen over a hour in the pool then the palapa and repeat this until we head back to the room. The room was always cool and comfortable. We did bring three damp rid devices and they really help with the humidity. One thing I would strongly reccomend is an extension cord. with multiple outlets. They only have two electrical outlets in the room and these are inbedded in the wall. Things like camera rechargers don't fit. 2nd helpful hint bring a Bubba mug. The glasses are so small on all drinks. They filled my Bubba mug and it would last all day long. Ask for the mudslide yum yum. We would go back to this lovely hotel anytime. Hope this helps.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Minnesotas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 23, 2013
Best vacation ever at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus

Holy cow, my husband and I just spent a week here and came back this weekend. It was great! The beach and the view was great, the pools were awesome, the food was crazy. We had to be rolled out of there. They really do a good job of keeping the place very picturesque. The staff, especially the STAR Friends do a good job at entertaining people. We never wanted to leave. This is definitely a place we will return and recommend to many. Thank you Iberostar!

Best vacation ever at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 6, 2013
Hacienda Dominicus Dominican Republic

I wish I had known in advance that the resort was almost 2 hour drive from the Santo Domingo airport,though. I probably would have chosen one of the other Iberostars in the Dominican Republic. The ground transportation that was arranged for us, was very good though. I am always very happy with the level courtesy and professionalism of the staff , and the beauty of the Iberostar Resorts! I am always very satisfied with my vacations that I have booked though CheapCarribean!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Bernville PA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 6, 2014
Nice escape for a week

I had an amazing time! I went for a week with my friend and we had a blast. The food, the service, the cleanliness and the beauty of the beach is incredible. Iberostar is the best hotel chain in my opinion. I previously went to an Iberostar hotel in Mexico and completely spoiled my tastes for hotels. All their hotels are 5 stars. The staff is always friendly and always smiles at you. They are extremely talented and professional. The only problem we had was that there was no water in the toilet and it didn't work. We asked to change the room and the staff was very accommodating. In 15 minutes we were settled into a different room and they even gave us a free bottle of Rum for the hassle. I really liked the animals roaming the territory, it makes the place feel so serene. We traveled to Santo Domingo on a tour and had a great time learning about the first city in America. I did not feel like it was dangerous as most people say. I feel that there is a big misconception about the Dominican Republic. This was my first visit and anyone I asked in NY told me I should not leave the resort because it is incredibly dangerous. I found this to be completely untrue. I feel like in any country there are certain areas that are dangerous and others completely fine. So you are perfectly safe to leave the resort and explore. We met a very friendly tour salesman name Pauly who was really nice and even took us to see La Romana. We saw how locals live instead of just the tourist places. The beach was mesmerizing. The water was clear and beautiful. It rained a bit but it did not stop us from tanning in the sun as much as we wanted, I had one of the best massages that I have ever had from a masseuse named Iris. The drinks and food were great, you can pretty much eat anything and everything you want at any time. There are many options available, 4 restaurants and pretty entertaining shows every night. The club wasn't bad either. I would recommend this place to anyone. If you are considering going to this place, you will have a great time and definitely never regret it. I can't wait to go back!

beautiful beach! Pools at the Spa
8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: brooklyn, NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 16, 2015
great resort

This resort is first class , but note most people are from europe not america and language can be a barrier . We are scuba divers and the dressels divers is a good operation note they limit dives to 50 min! And they have a small number of reefs to dive. With out a doubt the divers day excersion to Somona island is well worth it ! NOTE the Airport security in Santo Domingo was bad,, the girl tried to tell me scuba regulators are prohibited item Well I got the airline rep from UNITED to come over and set her straight !!!! THANK YOU UNITED ... Note the road from santo domingo to Punta Cana is now all new 4 lane exellent highway just as in US! You need to land in Punta Cana it's 30 min closed comute to Bayahiabe ... than from Santo Domingo !!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: penna
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year