All

Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 133 Reviews
Value
 
4.6
Service
 
4.8
Beaches & Pools
 
4.7
Dining Options
 
4.5
Room Comfort
 
4.8
4.8 out of 5
"I love this hotel. Alot of the same staff every time I go. Very nice people very accomidating. All the travel sites review this palce as new. It's not. It needs alittle paint & touch ups. Nice beach." – Granda
146 out of 156 (94%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Main Pool Area View from our room view from one of the resturants View from our room Beach Anniversary Bed Carribean blue water Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Beach Roof top Japanese Restaurant Chichen Itza

All Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Customer Reviews

1-10 of 133 reviews. Sort by
December 11, 2011
#1 With A Bullet

The butler came to the door of our beachfront suite and said, "Excuse me Mr. "X", but are you the one who ordered a (no charge) bottle of champagne delivered every day at 5 p.m.?" No, "Charlie", but tell whoever it is that I admire his style. This pretty well sums up the Iberostar Grand Hotel. We were spoiled almost beyond description during our week there. From the food the the service to the included 50-bottle wine list to the facilities, the Grand Hotel is easily the best all-inclusive resort we have ever visited, and I can't believe the price we got through Cheap Caribbean. This resort is not to be missed by those seeking the ultimate adults-only experience. Long live decadence!


18 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Lancaster County PA
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 25, 2016
Great hotel not so great restaurant situation

Overall our vacation was great. The grounds are beautiful. We had an ocean front room with a lovely balcony. The room was clean and the nighly turndown service was really nice. The room has a set temperature of 71. i was fine with this but my husband thought it was a little warm. You can contact your butler to have the temperature turned. The beach and pools are very nice. The service is excellent. All of the staff work really hard to make sure our needs were met and that we were having a good time. I thought the evening shows were better than anticipated. The only negative experience that we had was in regards to the dinning situation. We were told upon check-in that there are alacarte restaurants to choose from each day in addition to the main buffet. from night one we attempted to make reservations. On the first night everything was booked and we were told to try again the next day. When I tried to make reservations the next day we were told the same things. We then attempted to make reservations for any night the rest of the trip and we were told there were no restaurants with open reservations on nay night that entire week. The frustrating part in that when we were out in the evening we came to find out that each evening there was only one restaurant open the others were closed. For a 5 star resort I don't think this is appropriate. We have stayed at other resorts in the region and have never had this happen. This is not to say that the food or dining experience in the buffet was not good. Both the service and the food were good however, I would have prefered to not have to eat at the buffet for 3 meals a day for a week. We paid for a resort with 5 restaurants and I feel as though that is what we should have gotten.


28 of 33 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: USA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 17, 2011
Not Quite a Star

We just completed an 8 day stay at the Iberostar Grand Paraiso in Riviera Maya. We had a great stay and I will first focus on all of the good things about the Iberostar. The grounds are lovely although the décor in the lobby area is a “bit over done.” There are many positive things about this resort. The rooms (suites) are great and probably one of the best rooms that we have ever had. They were spacious and clean and had a jacuzzi tub. The bed was very comfortable. The balcony was large and very private. The beach is nice with soft sand for walking and there were plently lounge chairs and areas of shade. The wine and alcoholic beverages were great and plentiful. The resort has beautiful outdoor pools and and a nice heated indoor pool. We had a great massage at the spa. Lunch and breakfast buffets were good although they should vary the menu a little more. Daniel was a great waiter. Our butler, Alberto, was also excellent. He was very friendly and helpful. The evening shows at the resort were generally quite good. We especially enjoyed the one on Big Band night. I can not give high marks to the dinner restaurants at this resort. They were okay but certainly not the best. The service and food were inconsistent. Definitely avoid the Japanese restaurant. The Italian and the Surf and Turf were the best among the restaurants. We did not try the Mexican buffets so I can’t comment on them. There are many small changes that the restaurants can make to improve. We stayed at the Valentin Maya previously and the food and service were consistently excellent. We definitely can not say that about the Iberostar Grande. They also are need to change their dinner menu. It seemed to be the same every night. Also, all of the restaurants have the same boring rolls that are dry and uninteresting. This is hard to understand since they have nice breads and rolls at breakfast. When we arrived, we tried to make dinner restaurants for all eight nights but were told that due to some large groups at the hotel, we either could not get the reservation that we wanted or we could only get very early or very late reservations. This was upsetting since we were reserving several days in advance. When we asked to speak to a manager, she suggested that we have dinner at the nearby Iberostar Maya. She told us that the food was just as good. Althought the food was okay at the Maya, it did not feel good to be referred to a less expensive Iberostar for dinner. We felt like we were paying the same amount as any large group and should be able to eat in the restaurant of our choice. We were disappointed in the music for dancing at the Grand. The only option was the disco where there was loud music but no live band. Again, we stayed at the Valentin the previous year where they had a fantastic live band and singer every night. We changed from the Valentin to the Iberostar because we thought we would have a better beach at the Ibeostar versus the Valentin. The beach was definitely better but the food, food service and evening entertainment were lacking. Another issue at this hotel is communication. You can ask the same question to 10 different people and get completely different answers. An example is that we could never find out whether there was music in the lobby bar. We were given various answers and no one seemed to know what time the music began or ended. It was frustrating because we would go to the bar lounge to hear music and sometimes there was no music. We found communication to be a big issue. I am not referring to lack of English speaking skills but rather that the staff does not always seem to know what is happening at the hotel. If you are looking for a beautiful resort with a nice beach, generally good service, beautiful pools , nice grounds, bulter service and average food, the Iberostar is a good choice. It really depends on your priorities.


39 of 49 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Silver Spring, Maryland
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 8, 2014
poor management

management very poor. in offseason so closed restaurants and pools forgetting there were paying guests. always told restaurants full but were actually mostly empty. cut back on staffing. management very insensitive to requests and made workers go faster. beautiful facility but most closed to guests and services limited because of being off season. we paid a kings ransom and got very little. i have been there before and it was excellent. extremely disapointed


11 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: springfield, mo
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

September 15, 2011
Simply Beautiful

The hotel decor is amazing, All hand made huge light fixtures though out all of the hotels. Food was supurb. We found the center hotel pool to be the best for shade, but the Grand pool was more relaxed. Everything Cheap Caribbean said they would do was spot on. From the transportation to the hotel to the room, Just beautiful. We are already saving for round two. If you like quiet then labor day week is excellent. The Gand was maybe 25% occupied.

Simply Beautiful Simply Beautiful
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 20, 2016
Outstandig

Over the past few years, we have stayed at six different resorts in the Rlviera Maya area and two different resorts in Costa Rica. This resort is by far the nicest out of all of them. The service is outstanding as are all the employees. The food in all the restaurants was exceptional . Only one small complaint. The showers are small and you can't get out from under the overhead shower to wash. We had family with children and they stayed at one of the other resorts next to us. It was a short walk on the beach to them. It worked out perfectly. We were able to have the evenings to ourselves. Would definitely recommend this resort. By the way, I don't do reviews, but I just felt I had to compliment this resort and its staff.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Penna.
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 13, 2012
THE IBEROSTAR GRAND IS, TRULY, GRAND!

THE IBEROSTAR GRAND PARAISO IS SUPERB. WE HAVE VISITED THE GRAND SINCE IT OPENED (5 YEARS AGO) AND THE OTHER IBEROSTAR ESTABLISHMENTS IN CANCUN FOR MANY YEARS PRIOR. THE GRAND KEEPS GETTING BETTER AND BETTER EACH YEAR! EVERYONE AND EVERYTHING IN THE HOTEL ARE EXCELLENT....THE STAFF AND ITS SERVICES, THE ACCOMODATIONS (EVEN HAVE INTERNET HOOKUP IN THE SUITES NOW) , THE SERVICES, THE MEALS, THE BEVERAGES, THE SHOWS (EACH A BROADWAY PRODUCTION). THE GRAND DOESN'T MISS A TRICK. IT GOES BEYOND NORMALCY WITH A MULTITUDE OF NICETIES -- FRUIT BASKET, FLOWERS, CANDY, DRINKS AND CHAMPAGNE IN THE ROOMS....YOU NAME IT, THE GRAND HAS IT. IF YOU DON'T NAME IT, THEY PROVIDE IT.


10 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLANIA
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 1, 2010
Marvelous time at the Grand

My husband and I are in our thirties and this was our fourth trip to the Riviera Maya. We have previously stayed at the Occidental Grand Xcaret, Aventura Spa Palace, Excellence Riviera Cancun and Occidental Grand Cozumel. What stood out most about the Grand, when compared to the other resorts we've visited, were the rooms and the service. We enjoyed the little luxuries like the butler service, the customizable mini bar and free access to the facilities at the spa in the shopping center. The food was all very good, however, we found the breakfast to be a bit more European than we're used to. We always managed to find plenty to eat. The steakhouse was our least favorite meal. We found the steaks to be seriously underseasoned. The tepenyaki tables at the asian restaurant were our favorite place to eat dinner. We also enjoyed the dinner buffet, the few nights it was open during our stay. The entertainment staff were very friendly and seemed to really enjoy their jobs. Be aware that if you choose to sit by the main pool, they tend to get pushy when no one wants to participate in their activities. We appreciated having a quiet pool, in addition to the main activities pool. Unfortunately later in our stay a noisy group from France literally took over the quiet pool and ruined the atmosphere. We quickly relocated to the spa in the shopping center. All guests at the Grand have access to the spa facilities both at the Grand and at the shopping center. We much prefered the spa at the shopping center as their overall facilites were larger and almost always deserted. The indoor pool was great on the overcast days. All in all we had a wonderful time and wouldn't hesitate to return. If you can afford the Grand, it's worth the extra expense.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Seattle, WA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 18, 2015
A fabulous resort

We had a fabulous vacation at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso. Can't say enough about the place. The hotel was gorgeous. The staff was very friendly. The food choices were great. Pools were beautiful. One salt water (main pool) and two fresh water. The nightly entertainment was very entertaining. Drinks were very good - everything you could think of. No obnoxious guests (from drinking too much). We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend this resort. Would love to go back again.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Hamden, CT
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 26, 2015
A magical experience!

The Grand Paraiso was the absolute BEST resort we've ever been to...hands down! The hotel and other facilities (especially the spa) were top-notch and regularly maintained. The pool and beaches are absolutely picturesque. Plenty of food and drink options, of course. Most importantly, however, was the extremely wonderful customer service. The staff, from the cleaning crews to the restaurant personnel were insanely polite, helpful, and just plain friendly. Businesses in the US could learn a LOT from this place. Would go back without a second thought.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations