All

Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 121 Reviews
Value
 
4.6
Service
 
4.8
Beaches & Pools
 
4.7
Dining Options
 
4.5
Room Comfort
 
4.8
4.8 out of 5
"I love this hotel. Alot of the same staff every time I go. Very nice people very accomidating. All the travel sites review this palce as new. It's not. It needs alittle paint & touch ups. Nice beach." – Granda
130 out of 139 (94%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from our room Chichen Itza View from our room Beach Carribean blue water Anniversary Bed Main Pool Area view from one of the resturants

All Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Customer Reviews

1-10 of 121 reviews. Sort by
April 25, 2016
Great hotel not so great restaurant situation

Overall our vacation was great. The grounds are beautiful. We had an ocean front room with a lovely balcony. The room was clean and the nighly turndown service was really nice. The room has a set temperature of 71. i was fine with this but my husband thought it was a little warm. You can contact your butler to have the temperature turned. The beach and pools are very nice. The service is excellent. All of the staff work really hard to make sure our needs were met and that we were having a good time. I thought the evening shows were better than anticipated. The only negative experience that we had was in regards to the dinning situation. We were told upon check-in that there are alacarte restaurants to choose from each day in addition to the main buffet. from night one we attempted to make reservations. On the first night everything was booked and we were told to try again the next day. When I tried to make reservations the next day we were told the same things. We then attempted to make reservations for any night the rest of the trip and we were told there were no restaurants with open reservations on nay night that entire week. The frustrating part in that when we were out in the evening we came to find out that each evening there was only one restaurant open the others were closed. For a 5 star resort I don't think this is appropriate. We have stayed at other resorts in the region and have never had this happen. This is not to say that the food or dining experience in the buffet was not good. Both the service and the food were good however, I would have prefered to not have to eat at the buffet for 3 meals a day for a week. We paid for a resort with 5 restaurants and I feel as though that is what we should have gotten.


25 of 27 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: USA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 11, 2011
#1 With A Bullet

The butler came to the door of our beachfront suite and said, "Excuse me Mr. "X", but are you the one who ordered a (no charge) bottle of champagne delivered every day at 5 p.m.?" No, "Charlie", but tell whoever it is that I admire his style. This pretty well sums up the Iberostar Grand Hotel. We were spoiled almost beyond description during our week there. From the food the the service to the included 50-bottle wine list to the facilities, the Grand Hotel is easily the best all-inclusive resort we have ever visited, and I can't believe the price we got through Cheap Caribbean. This resort is not to be missed by those seeking the ultimate adults-only experience. Long live decadence!


18 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Lancaster County PA
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 13, 2012
THE IBEROSTAR GRAND IS, TRULY, GRAND!

THE IBEROSTAR GRAND PARAISO IS SUPERB. WE HAVE VISITED THE GRAND SINCE IT OPENED (5 YEARS AGO) AND THE OTHER IBEROSTAR ESTABLISHMENTS IN CANCUN FOR MANY YEARS PRIOR. THE GRAND KEEPS GETTING BETTER AND BETTER EACH YEAR! EVERYONE AND EVERYTHING IN THE HOTEL ARE EXCELLENT....THE STAFF AND ITS SERVICES, THE ACCOMODATIONS (EVEN HAVE INTERNET HOOKUP IN THE SUITES NOW) , THE SERVICES, THE MEALS, THE BEVERAGES, THE SHOWS (EACH A BROADWAY PRODUCTION). THE GRAND DOESN'T MISS A TRICK. IT GOES BEYOND NORMALCY WITH A MULTITUDE OF NICETIES -- FRUIT BASKET, FLOWERS, CANDY, DRINKS AND CHAMPAGNE IN THE ROOMS....YOU NAME IT, THE GRAND HAS IT. IF YOU DON'T NAME IT, THEY PROVIDE IT.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLANIA
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 17, 2011
Not Quite a Star

We just completed an 8 day stay at the Iberostar Grand Paraiso in Riviera Maya. We had a great stay and I will first focus on all of the good things about the Iberostar. The grounds are lovely although the décor in the lobby area is a “bit over done.” There are many positive things about this resort. The rooms (suites) are great and probably one of the best rooms that we have ever had. They were spacious and clean and had a jacuzzi tub. The bed was very comfortable. The balcony was large and very private. The beach is nice with soft sand for walking and there were plently lounge chairs and areas of shade. The wine and alcoholic beverages were great and plentiful. The resort has beautiful outdoor pools and and a nice heated indoor pool. We had a great massage at the spa. Lunch and breakfast buffets were good although they should vary the menu a little more. Daniel was a great waiter. Our butler, Alberto, was also excellent. He was very friendly and helpful. The evening shows at the resort were generally quite good. We especially enjoyed the one on Big Band night. I can not give high marks to the dinner restaurants at this resort. They were okay but certainly not the best. The service and food were inconsistent. Definitely avoid the Japanese restaurant. The Italian and the Surf and Turf were the best among the restaurants. We did not try the Mexican buffets so I can’t comment on them. There are many small changes that the restaurants can make to improve. We stayed at the Valentin Maya previously and the food and service were consistently excellent. We definitely can not say that about the Iberostar Grande. They also are need to change their dinner menu. It seemed to be the same every night. Also, all of the restaurants have the same boring rolls that are dry and uninteresting. This is hard to understand since they have nice breads and rolls at breakfast. When we arrived, we tried to make dinner restaurants for all eight nights but were told that due to some large groups at the hotel, we either could not get the reservation that we wanted or we could only get very early or very late reservations. This was upsetting since we were reserving several days in advance. When we asked to speak to a manager, she suggested that we have dinner at the nearby Iberostar Maya. She told us that the food was just as good. Althought the food was okay at the Maya, it did not feel good to be referred to a less expensive Iberostar for dinner. We felt like we were paying the same amount as any large group and should be able to eat in the restaurant of our choice. We were disappointed in the music for dancing at the Grand. The only option was the disco where there was loud music but no live band. Again, we stayed at the Valentin the previous year where they had a fantastic live band and singer every night. We changed from the Valentin to the Iberostar because we thought we would have a better beach at the Ibeostar versus the Valentin. The beach was definitely better but the food, food service and evening entertainment were lacking. Another issue at this hotel is communication. You can ask the same question to 10 different people and get completely different answers. An example is that we could never find out whether there was music in the lobby bar. We were given various answers and no one seemed to know what time the music began or ended. It was frustrating because we would go to the bar lounge to hear music and sometimes there was no music. We found communication to be a big issue. I am not referring to lack of English speaking skills but rather that the staff does not always seem to know what is happening at the hotel. If you are looking for a beautiful resort with a nice beach, generally good service, beautiful pools , nice grounds, bulter service and average food, the Iberostar is a good choice. It really depends on your priorities.


39 of 48 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Silver Spring, Maryland
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 15, 2011
Simply Beautiful

The hotel decor is amazing, All hand made huge light fixtures though out all of the hotels. Food was supurb. We found the center hotel pool to be the best for shade, but the Grand pool was more relaxed. Everything Cheap Caribbean said they would do was spot on. From the transportation to the hotel to the room, Just beautiful. We are already saving for round two. If you like quiet then labor day week is excellent. The Gand was maybe 25% occupied.

Simply Beautiful Simply Beautiful
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 20, 2016
Outstandig

Over the past few years, we have stayed at six different resorts in the Rlviera Maya area and two different resorts in Costa Rica. This resort is by far the nicest out of all of them. The service is outstanding as are all the employees. The food in all the restaurants was exceptional . Only one small complaint. The showers are small and you can't get out from under the overhead shower to wash. We had family with children and they stayed at one of the other resorts next to us. It was a short walk on the beach to them. It worked out perfectly. We were able to have the evenings to ourselves. Would definitely recommend this resort. By the way, I don't do reviews, but I just felt I had to compliment this resort and its staff.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Penna.
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 8, 2014
poor management

management very poor. in offseason so closed restaurants and pools forgetting there were paying guests. always told restaurants full but were actually mostly empty. cut back on staffing. management very insensitive to requests and made workers go faster. beautiful facility but most closed to guests and services limited because of being off season. we paid a kings ransom and got very little. i have been there before and it was excellent. extremely disapointed


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: springfield, mo
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

April 12, 2015
Luxury and a Gorgeous Location

This was our first visit to the resort and we were really wowed. We've been to other all-inclusives in the Caribbean and really felt like we got way more for our money, in terms of food quality and luxuriousness of the hotel, here at the Iberostar Grand Paraiso. Right from the start, the place was wonderful. I emailed a week ahead of time to request restaurant reservations and heard back quickly. Even though they generally don't confirm reservations a few nights a week (when they have the big dinner buffets with entertainment) they told me via email they were happy to do so because it was what we requested. When we arrived, we were immediately taken to check-in, given a cold towel and offered a cocktail. The check-in process was a breeze and the people at the front desk were incredibly friendly. Our only complaint about the whole stay was that our first room (on the ground floor of the main building facing the indoor pool - try to avoid that hallway if possible) had a distinct smell of mildew when we walked in. We passed it off and stayed there one night, but it really aggravated my husband's sinuses, so we asked to move the next morning. They were super pleasant and quick to do so - we got a new room assignment by noon that day, and the new room didn't have any trace of that problem. That original room seemed a little bit like an overall reject - the air conditioning didn't go as low as in our new room and the TV remotes didn't work. Just a little odd. The rooms themselves are huge and have really pretty decks with places to lounge. A giant, spotlessly clean bathroom rounded it out. I always hear people say the food at all-inclusives isn't great, but we were really impressed by the variety and quality here. We had the buffet for breakfast and lunch each day, and I think my husband had about 10 different things each time. At both, there was a lot of food being prepared right in front of you (omelets and French toast at breakfast, chicken and various fish dishes at lunch) and even the stuff that was set out was constantly replenished so it was never stale or cold. We tried four different restaurants (Italian, Gourmet, Mexican and Surf & Turf) for dinner and loved our meals at all of them. The seafood was incredibly fresh and one night when I accidentally dropped my steak knife, I just continued on eating my filet mignon by cutting it with my table knife, it was so tender. There were tons of choices for drinks - I stuck to mostly wine, since I have a fairly sensitive stomach and was trying to avoid anything that might have water/ice in it (with mixed success). My husband had wine, beer and some mixed drinks and loved them all. The bartenders were quick and friendly. On one night of our stay we caught the NCAA championship in the sports bar, which had a bunch of big flat-screen TVs for optimal viewing. The beach was beautiful, though we spent most of our time by the pool, since the sea was a bit rough for swimming. We went out after breakfast to stake out a cabana and never had a problem, though by 10 a.m. they were filling up pretty quickly. We did lots of swimming in the refreshing main pool and enjoyed the hot tubs. The Star Friends team provided some hilarious entertainment and fun at the main pool. We participated in a few activities, including one that my husband won - and his prize was a free 30-minute massage at the spa. The Star Friend who had led the game, Eder, found us at our restaurant later that night with the prize certificate - and when we saw him (and others) around the resort during our stay they remembered us and asked us by name how we were doing. Excellent examples of good service! My husband actually gave his massage to me (long story, makes up for a time that he accepted some guy's first-class seat on a plane and left me in coach a la Seinfeld) and it was wonderful. Erika was my masseuse and it was both relaxing and actually useful - in other words, the pressure wasn't so light as to be useless, but it wasn't a deep tissue or sports massage where you want to jump off the table and howl in pain. If I had known how good it would be, I would have considered paying for a full hour massage when I first got there! Aside from the issue with our first room, my only wish would be that the resort web page would have menus for the restaurants, the spa, etc. I'm the kind of person who really likes to plan details ahead of time - I want to know whether to skip a restaurant if they don't have anything I care for on the menu or what kind of treatments the spa offers so I can see if I want to splurge - but I couldn't find that info anywhere ahead of time. Overall, we had a wonderful time and this was probably the most luxurious hotel all told that we've been to in our time of traveling together. We hope to return and will definitely recommend it to friends and family!


9 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Iberostar Grand Vacation

As a single woman in her 30's traveling solo, I did a lot of research on an affordable and safe vacation. After reading multiple reviews I decided on Iberostar Grand Paraiso and am so happy I did! From the moment I walked in and was greated with a damp towel and cold drink I knew they make customer service a priority but was still surprised by the luxuries of the pillow menu, personalized refrigerator refills, floor conceriege and amazing room, bathroom and view! The food was average and comparible to other all inclusives I have visited but the service and comfort was incomparable. I woke up early in the mornings so I never had any problem finding a lounge chair by either of the pool or on the beach. Since this is an adults only resort I had a fantastic relaxing time and would highly recommend this resort!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Louisville, kY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 1, 2010
Marvelous time at the Grand

My husband and I are in our thirties and this was our fourth trip to the Riviera Maya. We have previously stayed at the Occidental Grand Xcaret, Aventura Spa Palace, Excellence Riviera Cancun and Occidental Grand Cozumel. What stood out most about the Grand, when compared to the other resorts we've visited, were the rooms and the service. We enjoyed the little luxuries like the butler service, the customizable mini bar and free access to the facilities at the spa in the shopping center. The food was all very good, however, we found the breakfast to be a bit more European than we're used to. We always managed to find plenty to eat. The steakhouse was our least favorite meal. We found the steaks to be seriously underseasoned. The tepenyaki tables at the asian restaurant were our favorite place to eat dinner. We also enjoyed the dinner buffet, the few nights it was open during our stay. The entertainment staff were very friendly and seemed to really enjoy their jobs. Be aware that if you choose to sit by the main pool, they tend to get pushy when no one wants to participate in their activities. We appreciated having a quiet pool, in addition to the main activities pool. Unfortunately later in our stay a noisy group from France literally took over the quiet pool and ruined the atmosphere. We quickly relocated to the spa in the shopping center. All guests at the Grand have access to the spa facilities both at the Grand and at the shopping center. We much prefered the spa at the shopping center as their overall facilites were larger and almost always deserted. The indoor pool was great on the overcast days. All in all we had a wonderful time and wouldn't hesitate to return. If you can afford the Grand, it's worth the extra expense.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Seattle, WA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year