All

Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 166 Reviews
Value
 
4.6
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.8
Dining Options
 
4.4
Room Comfort
 
4.7
4.8 out of 5
"Unforgettable experience,beautiful resort,loved it" – Mandarin
180 out of 189 (95%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
beautiful beach The Beach! The brochures don't exaggerate Awesome Beach Amazing view at Punta Cana 2015 View of the resort from the beach This is what it's all about . Some of the ever present seaweed! Pool Area Massage in Paradise view of lagoon Walking on the beach Relaxed Iberostar Grand 2016 The water is right there Grand Entrance Punta Cana 2015 center of resort Scallops

All Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro Customer Reviews

1-10 of 166 reviews. Sort by
January 26, 2012
Most Amazing and Relaxing Vacation Ever!!!

This place is worth the money - do not hesitate to book here. Disregard any negative reviews you have read. My girlfriend and I are in our 40s and we are so grateful that we paid a higher price to stay at this Iberostar. We didn't want to deal with any children issues (no offense). The grounds are gorgeous, the beach is clean and spectacular, the food is great, the rooms are very comfortable and clean, and the service is second to none! Butler service, 24-hour room service, beach/pool-side drink service. You can choose to not participate in any of the activities, such as volleyball, water aerobics, salsa dance lessons, egg toss, target shooting, artistic towel folding, etc. You can choose to not attend any of the nightly shows that are ranked the best in Punta Cana. You can choose to not tip any of your friendly, engaging servers who work their hardest to provide outstanding customer service. You can choose to hole up in your hotel room and not experience a fabulous walk on a beautiful ocean beach, or an excursion to Saona Island (photos of what calendars are made), or trip next door to the casino and disco (included in the Grand Hotel package), or hang out at the pools/hot tubs and swim up to bar for a few cocktails. We experienced it all and we were still blissfully relaxed. It is mostly an older clientele (those that typically have the $ to afford this place), but you can meet new friends your age and hang out and do things together. We befriended some really cool people and exchanged emails for future correspondence. We felt like we had the beach to ourselves, and there was never a shortage of towels and comfortable chaise lounges. We went to every restaurant - lots of fun and good eats. Highly recommend the French Onion soup and the veal or the lobster thermidor at the French restaurant. We were looking forward to limitless lobster, but we were slightly disappointed because they either bake or grill it, rendering the texture chewy and dry - boiled or steamed would have been more enjoyable (as we are New England transplants) . The lobster lasagna at the Italian restaurant was a good option. Special hellos to Butler Miguel, swim-up bartender Lely, lobby bartenders Julio Cesar and Marisol, buffet (Bella Vista) waiters Yahira and Ortiz (for the leche frio), Star Friends Boom-Boom and Margarita, and Japanese restaurant superstar - Kawasaki. Olympus Tours Kelly. Good times...can't wait to go back next year. Thank you Cheap Caribbean for the best vacation ever!


53 of 57 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Raleigh, NC
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 8, 2012
P is for Pardise

My husband and I came to Punta Cana for a wedding at the Iberostar Bavaro..but since we have stayed at the Grands before in Jamaica and Cancun we couldn't go backwards and decided to book the Grand. The only problem we have now is where do we stay next? Iberostar Grand Rose Hall or Ibersotar Grand Baravo. The Grand in Cancun is larger than the Grand in Punta Cana...and the Grand in Jamaica is smaller than Punta Cana. The service at all three are excellent but I think Punta Cana wins in this category. Both Jamaica and Cancun Grands have wellness pools which we enjoy...the Grand in Punta Cana does not but has hot whirlpools outside and also has free massages on the beach daily which the others don't..Golf is on property both in Cancun and Punta Cana..where you have to take a cab to golf which is included in Jamaica but you are also required to have a Caddy in Jamaica and not required in Punta Cana...the golf course is older in Jamaica but maybe more scenic .My husband took everything for golf except the clubs which he rented for $40 and said they were very good....As far as the food quality and preparation I think in our opinions you can not top Punta Cana...Also in Punta Cana you have the same two butlers for the week which we loved...Alexander and Andruly were excellent and could not be more attentive to us and we thank them for a wonderful week. We liked having the same butlers think this is a big plus for Punta Cana...Cancun we never even met our butler and in Jamaica we have our favorite butlers but they change daily...also the butlers were very visible during our trip greeting us in the morning walking in for breakfast and checking on us by the pool during the day..The Dominican people we found to be so respectful and caring and loved everyone of them we met. Mr. Dominguez the General Manager does such a great job with this property you can not find one speck of dirt or a paint chip anywhere on the property it is immaculate. Also every night someone brought in the cushions for the lounge chairs so they would not wear so fast little touches like this is an example of great leadership for this hotel.. We also were invited to a cocktail party for returning guests and got to meet him personally and really enjoyed talking to him. Also Mr. Dominguez was visible through out the week at the hotel which we never saw the other general managers that visible... Another plus for Jamaica and Cancun their ocean front rooms are ocean front in Punta Cana there are ocean front rooms but they are far from the water..After weighing everything we have decied to go back to the Grand in Punta Cana it can't really be topped and can't wait to return and get our coco loco's ..Thanks again to all the wonderful staff at the Ibeorstar Grand Bavaro we can't wait to see you all again!


53 of 59 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Willougjhby, Ohio
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 26, 2016
Love it!~

we visited the Iberostar 5 years ago to celebrate our 30th anniversary. just two weeks ago we returned to the Iberostar resort. It was fabulous! The room we had came with 2 butlers (one in a.m. and one p.m) their names are Melvin and Kelvin...they both were fabulous...they took care of us. The resort itself is beautiful and immaculate. The food was fabulous and there were tons of activities going all day. I would highly recommend this resort. We loved it and had a wonderful time. Thanks to all the servers there because they were so, so friendly and helpful!

Grand Entrance Pool Area
11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Reston, VA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 5, 2015
Simply Amazing!!

This was our first trip to the Dominican and this place is simply amazing!! The staff were as hospitable as anyone could ask for. And it started before even checking into the resort. When we arrived, the valets were waiting for us with cool, damp, cloth, towels that smelled wonderful. My wife couldn't get over it. Not to mention being greeted with a choice of a glass of champagne or pina colada. Wow!! We get to the room and within minutes there was a knock at the door...it was Francisco our butler! Very nice guy! He talked about what the resort had to offer and explained the room features. He even told us that he didn't want to see us carrying ice buckets to the room...it was THEIR job!!! He even booked the resort's restaurant reservations for us. Speaking of restaurants on the property, the food was good and there was plenty of it. The lobster thermidor at Le Tourbillion (French Gourmet) was incredible!!! It was our favorite restaurant of the property followed by El Galeon (Surf and Turf), La Tentazione (Italian) and Hashira (Japanese). Both buffet restaurants had plenty to choose from. The room in general was probably THE most quietist room we've ever slept in. The AC was cold, just the way we like it!! The view wasn't the greatest as it faced what we called a forest, but who cares!! The point is not to sit in the room anyway. As I mentioned before, the staff was extremely hospitable and very friendly. It wasn't unusual for them to ask when you were leaving, then to follow it up with why are you leaving? Even when we did check out, the clerk said he didn't do check outs, only check ins and smiled. He also asked when we'd be back. Our answer...next week if we could!!! One concierge, Hernan, became a friend to us. I've never really had too much interaction with any concierge at any hotel or resort, but this guy was tops! It helped too that he spoke fluent English. Actually all the concierges at the Grand were as nice as they could be. They were always sitting behind a desk, but you can bet they stood up to greet you when you approached and asked you to sit. Top notch!!! The staff as a whole are a great bunch of people. It seems like they became friends to us during our stay making us feel at home. The bottom line...the Iberostar Grand Bavarro is THE place to stay in Punta Cana!!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Columbia, SC
Age: 45-54

April 6, 2016
Second time and enjoyed it just as much!!

This was our second stay at the Iberostar Grand, which is THE adult place to go while staying in Punta Cana. You can't beat the staff who do everything they can to make you feel at home. Really great group of people. Just a few things the hotel may want to improve. The bedding probably needs to be replace. The bed wasn't very comfortable and was noisy. Also, a couple of the stools at the swim up bar are damaged. They were in the same condition last year. The Iberostar really needs to get them repaired. The food was good, although the service at the French restaurant was disappointing. We were the second couple to be seated and seemed to be forgotten as others seated after us were served first. We were seated at around 6:35 and didn't receive the appetizer until 7:15. Oh, and the Grand should enforce it's restaurant's dress code policy of men having to wear a collared shirt. There was a young couple who ate at the same seating's as us. Both nights, the 'young man' was wearing a hoodie and the 'young lady' was wearing short-shorts. Very disrespectful. They should have been politely told to dress properly or not return. We're guessing they were told nothing as the 'young man' wore the same hoodie, black jeans and tennis shoes three nights in a row!! Also, this is the second time we've used the transportation provided by Cheap Caribbean.com. We apparently can't mention the company's name in this review, but they are just awful. If you're familiar with the Punta Cana area, the Grand is probably the closest resort from the airport just off Road 3. Last year we should have been dropped off first as we drove right in front of the Grand, however, the driver drove to two other resorts first, then wasn't sure where we were staying. Maybe there was a language issue since we don't speak Spanish. Then there was the ride back to the airport. First, the transportation company would not allow us to leave the hotel as early as we wanted. They said there'd be plenty of time. We we're on a bus with about 50 other people and barely made it to the airport on time. This year, the same. We went to the company's counter and escorted to a van. That was fine. But, the driver crammed about 8 more people into the van and once again, we were the last couple in the van to be dropped off at their resort. It took us almost an hour. We decided to ditch the transportation back to the airport this year and paid $40 to catch a cab!! Don't waste your money dealing with the transportation company!! Still a great trip! Hats off to the Iberostar Grand!!


16 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Columbia, SC
Age: 45-54

February 22, 2011
Beautiful Property But Needs Better Dining System

My wife and I just returned from a week at the Iberostar Grand and I must say the property is beautiful and the service is excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our week and we were truly impressed by the quality of the staff and the service we received. The breakfast and lunch buffets were terrific, especially the grilled lobster and shrimp. Our only complaint was about the system in place for the specialty dining options. There are only 4 restaurants (other than the buffet) available for dinner and when trying to get reservations within an hour of checking in we were told that 3 of them were 'sold out' and our only choice for our first night was Japanese. We could, or course, have gone to the buffet but we don't enjoy dinner buffets and would rather enjoy a 'sit-down' meal. We were told the only restaurant available for the next 3 nights was the Italian. BTW - none of the restaurants were full when we ate our meals. There was definitely room in all of them for more guests. We were able to make reservations for the French and Steak restaurants for later in the week and while the food was very good in all the restaurants the hotel has to come up with a better system to accomodate all it's guests.


13 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 18, 2012
Awesome with a few things to know

So the actual Grand hotel really is Grand. Easy transfer from the airport. I believe that going in September was great as it was the low season and no hurricanes were coming at us for our 3 day honeymoon.. Everything was great. The staff were on top of their stuff, the pool was awesome, beach was seclusive, drinks well made, lunch changes everyday and always something special. Got a swim up room that we had to pay extra for but it was worth it. To be able to swim out of your back porch, skinny dip if you want and no one is looking in. Well worth the money. We have been to a lot of luxery hotels in the Caribbean and this one ranks up with the best. Didnt use the cheapcarribean.com person, or our butler. Didnt need them as some do. Great room service. Speedy. Food was excellent. Only negative of the entire trip was the access to the Grand Iberostar's restaurants. As we later find out, it was best to reserve your dinner spots BEFORE you got the place. We didnt know this and they reserved restaurants for us, one of the nights at another hotel (Iberostar as well but not close to the Grand). We really wanted to eat at the nice restaurant and even threw the staff some money for persuasion and it didnt help. Still had great food. Reason for 4/5 on Room comfort was that even with temp control, condensation was sooo bad. Not bad enough that we had problems, but made floor slippery it was hard to walk. Small problem but not worth caring too much about. Overall, this IS THE BEST hotel on the island. We spoke with many people about other places and they all said the same, walked to other places and really understood that for our first trip to Punta Cana, we chose the best. Will most definitely go back to this place and recommend too others to do as well.


12 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: North Carolina
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 31, 2012
Grand Vacation

Staff was excellent from start to finish. Most spoke really good English. Special props for Coronado for the dining room and Leyli at the pool bar. Beach was OK. Sand was good, but a lot of seaweed and somewhat rough ocean. No problem finding chairs at the beach. Cabanas around the pool were more of a challenge, but not impossible. Rooms were spacious. Mattresses were wonderful. Good night sleep every night. Casino was a golf cart ride to the neighboring Domincan resort. The show at night was too much bright lighting for me so we went to the casino nearly every night. Small casino, but really enjoyed it. Played $5 balckjack every night. I would go back here again because I felt safe, staff was out of this world, the swim up bar was wonderful, and the rooms were spacious and quiet. Spa services were also great. I received two deep tissue massages that were outstanding.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Lancaster, OH
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 15, 2013
Thoroughly Impressed

What a great vacation! The place is lovely, the people are great, the food was fantastic, the beach and pool were amazing, too. I couldn't have asked for anything more, but if I did I'm sure they would have delivered. I was never once told "no" during my stay. They aim to please and they hit their target! From the moment I arrived I knew it was going to be wonderful. They greeted me with a cold towel and asked if I wanted champagne or a pina colada, but I really wanted a cold beer, so they got me one. :) I checked in swiftly and smoothly and was taken to my room. My butler arrived moments later to acquaint me with my room and set up my dinner reservations for my stay. I asked for different pillows off of the pillow menu (great idea!) and also asked that they bring me more beers for the mini bar which they gave me very quickly. I consider myself a foodie and was never disappointed with the food selection. I enjoyed all of my meals very much. Omelets cooked to order @ breakfast. I had crab legs, crab claws, good stinky cheese and the most delicious Spanish ham for lunch. Filet mignon, lobster, Japanese Teppanyaki and MORE for dinner...and it was ALL DELICIOUS. I tortured myself reading review after review trying to decide where to go and I am glad I chose Iberostar Grand Bavaro. Stop looking and start booking this trip :) I CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK! (p.s. - Buy the airport transfer. Worry free, prompt & courteous.)

Thoroughly Impressed Thoroughly Impressed
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Akron, Ohio
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 17, 2015
Wedding Memory of a Lifetime

We were just blown away by the level of service and quality of the Iberostar Grand, and when we return will definitely stay there and no place else! Everything about the Iberostar Grand made us feel at home, in fact when we first arrived, we found out that our wedding coordinator and the hotel manager had upgraded our room as we were there to celebrate our wedding with a ceremonial service on the beach. As we were shown to our room, we were introduced to one of our two butlers and they took care of our every need by setting up all of our dinner reservations for the week, to include booking a romantic dinner for us, and leaving a bottle of champagne and rose petals in our room for afterwards! The food was beyond wonderful at the Iberostar Grand! We only had one bad moment, and that was when we went to another restaurant within the Iberostar complex, both the food and service was really not good, and it made us appreciate the restaurants at the Iberostar Grand that much more! My wife has a life threatening allergy, and the hotel manager sent a memo to all the department head alerting them to her condition, and the head chef personally introduced herself to us and advised my wife each day what she should avoid. Even with the language barrier, the hotel and staff were able to keep my wife safe, and provide an incredible food adventure for us! We scheduled several excursions (Deep Sea Fishing, Swimming with the Sharks, and the Santa Domingo tour) and enjoyed them all. Note: The trip to Santa Domingo is fascinating and rich with history, it is a very long day, so plan accordingly, and ask for tour guide Nacho! The wedding ceremony on the beach was truly magical, our coordinator took special care of my wife on her special day by setting up spa time, as well as hair and makeup, and a private escort to the beach ceremony area. We just cannot say enough about the attention to detail that everyone provided on our special day...we will never forget it! Final thoughts, Get your cash ahead of time, while you are in the US as the fees in DR are rather steep! Bring US dollars and avoid getting pesos, it is just easier. Speaking of money, make sure that you bring enough of singles and fives (US) for tip money, and ten dollars per person custom fee. Most important!!!!!! Avoid drinking the tap water (even ice cubes not given to you by the staff)!!!!!! In the end, it may seem that the Iberostar Grand in a bit more expensive than the other resorts, but you get every bit of money's worth!!!!!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Vernon, CT
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations