All

Iberostar Dominicana Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 261 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
3.8
4 out of 5
"the service was wonderful, but the speciality restaurants wasn't up to par.The buffet was better.over all the experience was nice.would come again, but next time stay in the Grande" – Biggie
249 out of 310 (80%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from our patio. One of the pools Resort At the beach Great day for a family pic Glad that's not me in #3 greenside bunker Beach view Towel Sculpture A morning to remember! Adult pool fun!!! Resort grounds On the beach view from outside our room Beach Beautiful beach ! our bungalow

All Iberostar Dominicana Customer Reviews

1-10 of 261 reviews. Sort by
January 31, 2013

This was our first time vacationing in the Dominican Republic, we had stayed at several all inclusive resorts in different Caribbean countries, but the Iberostar Dominicana was by far superior to anything we have ever stayed at. The hotel itself is only about 5years old and is clean and modern, marble floors in the foyer and a open space concept design.Our room was modern,spacious and clean, the AC was cool and quiet with a ceiling fan in the room. The shower had excellent water pressure and the water was always warm. Our maid cleaned the room every morning and supplies us with clean towels, and the mini bar was replenished every second day. .The food was excellent, two main buffets to choose from and five different ale cart restaurants .There was food available 24/7 . Several bars and a night club, entertainment in the form of salsa and line dancing , two wonderful swimming pools, an array of shops, and a beach to die for maybe 3min walk from hotel room. This place was a vacation paradise, you never needed of wanted to leave the hotel complex, everything was a short walk away from the sauna to water sports, to shopping to entertainment. , I cannot say enough about the staff, I have never being treated with such genuine friendliness, and excellent costumer service. Overall great valve for the money , we had a relaxed wonderful vacation and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.


57 of 58 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: cleveland Ohio
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Iberstar Experience

First let me say I would stay at an Iberstar again. We took our vacation in December and the weather was perfect. The beach area at the Iberstar was plentiful and a 10 minute walk took you to the outfloor flea market on the beach. We never had to wait for a chair. When we arrived check in was pretty quick we were on the third floor,with a garden view. We were traveling with a 15 year old son, 19 year old daughter, 21 year old son. The rooms were a little dated with Rattan furniture but they were roomy enough. So were to start, the grounds were well maintained and beautiful. On Friday evenings they would have a locals come in and sell their wares in the lobby. The staff was unbelievable very friendly and very helpful and there are tons of activities for everyone to do. The kids were always busy playing beach volleyball or archery. We were there for a five night vaca. They had the buffet restuarant, pool restuarant, a beach steakhouse. All of the food does get repetitious but it does save you money. The fruits and vegetables were wonderful the desserts lacking. Ok the location was a bit out there but it seemed like the whole area of Punta Cana was spread out with no central location to hang with the kids for a day. Ok I have to say something about the entertainment I almost forgot my 16 year old loved it. There usually was something going on at night to keep everyone occupied. The bar/disco needs updating really bad. On a whole this resort was very kid/teenager friendly. It was clean, the staff wonderful, and the beach spectacular.

Iberstar Experience Iberstar Experience
21 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Capecod, MA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 29, 2016
do it

i read a lot of reviews before i booked ,, so ill save you a lot of research,,just use cheapcaribbean to book your trip ,they take care of everything at lower cost than other travel companies ....... this is first time away since honey moon 20 years ago and using iberostar was the best ..i stayed at dominicana had a great vacation......with NO problems at all !!!!!!


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: philly
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Excellent All-Inclusive Packages

I travel a lot but this was my first international trip in years. Cheap Carribean made sure that is was amazing. The description was great, the service was awesome and everyone was very helpful and friendly. It was a relazing trip when it needed to be and it was a great time to party when needed as well.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 8, 2015
Honeymoon in Punta Cana Iberostar Dominicana

When you are booking your all inclusive trip make sure you specifically request to sit next to the person you are traveling with. If you forget to do so wait until you get to the airport and ask the person at the counter to sit you next to each other. You should not be charged extra. When you arrive at the airport DO NOT buy an excursion from a person there, wait until you at the hotel and purchase an excursion from a cheapcarribean representative if you haven't already purchased one online. The hotel room I stayed in had an outlet that allowed me to plug in my cell phone, we did NOT need a universal outlet. I suggest that you pay to have WiFi in your room so that if anything happens with your returning flight you will be notified right away. When you purchase the WiFi make sure that you are connected for the hotel/resort you are staying at because all the Iberostar resorts are connect. The hotel gives you cards to use to get towels to use for the beach/pool, when you return the towels make sure that you get the cards back. If you are there for a long weekend I suggest relaxing outdoors with a drink. If you are there for longer you have more time for excursions. Make sure you find out the times for when everything opens and closes. All inclusive is the way to go. If you are going to make reservations for anything do that asap because every where needs to be reserved 24 in advance. Enjoy your vacation!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Billerica, Ma
Age: 25-34

August 19, 2013
Cockroaches, No AC, and pools close at 7pm!

Let's start from the beginning. Check in time was 3pm and our room wasn't ready until 5pm. We were to have adjoining rooms with the other couple and their daughter. We were told there would be two double beds in each room. There was not. We had two double beds in one room and a king size bed in another. They ended up giving us a rollaway bed. Went to the customer service desk to make reservations for the many restaurants at the resort. We were told that since we were only there for six days, we could only make two dinner reservations. After that, we had to eat at the buffets. Why offer all those restaurants if we can only eat at two of them? The food at the restaurants and the buffets were all the same....bland! It didn't matter what buffet or restaurant you ate at, the food was the same. If I had to rate the food from one to five, one being the worst and five being the best, I would give it about 1.5. We decided we wanted to take the kids for a night swim and was told to get out of the pool because it closed at 7pm! All these pools and all of them closed at 7pm every night. We met the next morning with a world wide excursion/tour chain. We picked out three different excursion for three different days. Between our family and the other family with us, we spent more than some people spend on their mortgages. The dolphin excursion was nice, the girls really enjoyed it. The Jeep Safari excursion, not so much. We were told we would get picked up at 8am and be back by 4pm. This excursion was to include zip line, horseback riding, and an exotic beach for all six of us. We had two jeeps each. Three in one car and three in another. When we got there, they put four of us in one vehicle and two of us with total strangers in another. We drove for eight hours in a jeep, spent 30 minutes between training on the zip line and actually using the zip line, TWO MINUTES ON THE HORSES (this was the one thing our daughters wanted to do), and about 30 minutes at the beach. We didn't get back until 6:15 in the evening and missed one of our two dinner reservations. We were up pretty early to do the dolphin excursion. My friend screamed from her room and kept asking her husband to kill it. There was a live cockroach in the baggie with all of their toothbrushes. We were in a hurry and didn't contact the front desk until we came back from the excursion. We brought the cockroach down to the front desk and asked them if we could get a different room. They eventually said they would give us different rooms on a higher floor. They said the cockroach must have come in through our door. They put us in a junior suite and was told several times that we had adjoining rooms with two double beds. Again, one king and two doubles. One of our rooms had no AC and being on a higher floor, it was miserable. We came back from dinner in the evening and this time we found the mother of all cockroaches in our new room. I will upload a picture of it and see it meets the guidelines to be in this review. The cockroach was easily two inches (more like three) long and about an inch wide. We caught it and brought it to the front desk. The night manager said she was so embarrassed. They couldn't get us in a new room that night, but promised us we would be in a new room the next day. We came back to the room and had the other couple and their daughter stay in our room We had all these little bugs everywhere. They looked like little fleas, but I can't be sure. We couldn't get any photos of them because they were too quick. We all slept on top of the covers that night. We all have these red bumps that are leaking some type of oil from them on our arms, legs, and stomach. One of the girls has them on her face! After getting back from our 10+ hour excursion, we were told they were moving us to another junior suite. We did not get adjoining rooms, but had an ocean view. The ocean view would have been great, but we had to keep our curtains closed to keep more heat from coming into our rooms. You see, this room had no AC either. I was done complaining at this point. Each room they put us in just kept getting worse and worse. The next morning, we were headed out for a snorkeling excursion. I asked the front desk if they could just ask housekeeping to leave the blinds closed to keep the heat from coming in. He asked why and I told him. He asked why we didn't say anything and I told him we were done moving. We waited in the lobby for the snorkel bus to pick us up. That never happened. They forgot about us and we missed the boat. We did go on another snorkel excursion later in the day. We were told that we were getting a private boat with only two other people on the boat. That was not true! We had about 40 people. This boat did have drinks on it, but it was a bit much. All-inclusive to me is that you eat and drink whenever and whatever you want. Pool bars close at 6pm. We asked for a bottle of wine and was told it would cost us $70. This was to drink with our dinner. That is not all-inclusive to me. The front desk was so dismissive when it came to any issues. You had to sit around and wait for anything to get done. When you are on vacation, you want to be enjoying your time, not waiting for issues to be taken care of. I have more pictures to post, but I am only allowed two. This was the first time we took our daughters out of the country. All they wanted to do was go home. We work hard for our money and we were really looking forward to this trip. This was the worst trip that we have ever taken. I would never recommend this resort to anyone!!!

Cockroaches, No AC, and pools close at 7pm! Cockroaches, No AC, and pools close at 7pm!
11 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Kankakee, IL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 3, 2012
Great Resort!

The Iberostar Dominicana is a beautiful, tropical resort. The grounds are lush, extremely clean and feels like paradise. The pools are huge, there is plenty of shady places to sit at the pool or on the beach. The beach has white sand, clear, crystal, warm water and tons of palm trees. The staff are so friendly and eager to serve. Plenty of activities to do and daily events. There is a nightly show (average, but entertaining - some nights better than others). Rooms are spacious and air conditioned. Clean towels every day. Frig stocked with water and beer. Resort itself is not air conditioned, but plenty of ceiling fans. You feel extremely safe walking the grounds at night. Food - not excellent and the buffet gets a bit tiring, but you will find something you like to eat. It was our first visit and we are extremely happy with our choice.

Great Resort! Great Resort!
10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Oakland, NJ
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 1, 2013
Spectacular except...

The beach and pool was one of the best I've ever been too. The hotel was great for the price except, there is NO ROOM SERVICE, and Wi-Fi was horrible to say the least. Internet worked best outdoors near the pool and never in our room the entire time we were there. The food was the bomb, my favorite being La Cana and the buffet at any time it was available. My picky kids really enjoyed the options available. The servers are really hospitable and entertaining. Most of the shows were above what I've seen previously especially Michael Jackson and the International one, however some of the other ones were a little risqué. There were a few instances that we left or sent the little ones out with the teenagers that were in our group. The rooms were a little stuffy at times and it was difficult to find a happy medium with the a/c. The bathrooms could use working vents! Overall it was great.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 19, 2011
Great Value

I had the best time here. My girlfriends and I were looking for a place to go on spring break, but didn't want that "spring break" experience. For what we paid, the drinks were great and service was wonderful. Though I had a few issues with guest services trying to locate my lost luggage, the service staff and wait staff was amazing. One night our typical waiter in the buffet area set our table with candles and flowers. I had a massage which was amazing, and right on the beach. We went Parasailing and Banana boating through the resort. It was a great time and fairly priced. I would suggest going through the resort for these things because others that offer lower prices may be pirates. The food was great and always available. Even at 3am outside the Disco. The drinks were also great and not watered down. Overall amazing vacation!

Great Value
15 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Doylestown, PA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 5, 2013
Worst experience I could imagine.

Dear Iberostar, Hello, my name is Derek and I recently spent 5 days at Iberostar Dominicana. I wanted to say that I have traveled all around this world including all over Thailand, US, Canada, Australia, Japan, Mexico, and the Caribbean islands, and the Iberostar Dominicana was by far the worst experience I couldn't even have imagined. I feel it would be best that you know about what I experienced on my vacation. When I first walked into my room I was surprised to find a couple small cockroaches hiding just under one of the best, and some ants right inside the glass sliding doors. I disposed of all the bugs I could find, and tried to ignore them by thinking since my room was on the ground floor they must have just found a way in. I checked the mini-fridge for something to drink where I found a couple of drinks that were warm. I figured that the drinks must have just been put in and haven't had time to cool. I then walked to the sliding glass door to see if there was a secondary lock or bar since I was on the ground floor. I was relieved to find the door had a secondary lock, but did not work. There was a pamphlet on the desk that mentioned high speed internet in your room for a small fee. Since I had brought my laptop I decided to purchase the internet service. I went to the front desk to see about purchasing the service and the man at the reception desk seemed irritated that I was asking questions. There was no one else at the counter, and yet it seemed as though I was bothering him. He then told me that the have internet packages started at 5 days for $35. He then walked away so I followed him, and said "the service is a minimum of 5 days for $35?" He responded with "YES, do you want it or not?!" I then purchased the internet package from this unhappy employee. I went to the guest services representative to inform her of his conduct and her English wasn't sufficient, so she kept saying "internet, go to the front desk". I decided to let it go and get something to eat. I went to the buffet and ate a basic buffet meal. Later that night I woke up sweating because the power was out, so the a/c and ceiling fan were off. I got up feeling sick and experiencing intestinal distress. I used the light from my cell phone to get to the bathroom where I proceeded to vomit and have other intestinal issues. The next day I walked out of my room and saw the maid, and she asked if I would like my room cleaned. I said yes and closed the door exposing the sign on the door handle indicating the room needed a cleaning. I went to the pharmacy, and it was closed. So I went to the store and purchased some items for my intestinal distress. I went back to my room to set up my internet to contact my family. I found the receipt the front desk had given me except the slip that said the username and password had been ripped off. I immediately took the receipt to the front desk to inform them of the situation. He informed me that if I did have the slip that had been ripped off he might be able to give me a refund. I then asked to speak to the manager, and was informed the manager was in a meeting. The man working the desk asked if I would like to purchase another internet package, and that they had 1,3, and 5 day packages I could choose from. I was surprised and told him I was previously informed that the minimum was a 5 day. He stated "No we have 1,3, and 5 day packages." At dinner time I figured I should try and eat something and so I made a reservation for the Mexican restaurant. I went to my room and disposed of a couple more little cockroaches, and changed to go to the restaurant. I arrived at the restaurant and took my seat. I was approached by a waiter and he inquired if I was dining alone. I replied yes, and he then inquired if I was on vacation alone. I informed him that yes I was by myself. He immediately started laughing, then he called to another waiter and said something in Spanish at which they both laughed at. He still laughing turned to me and said "What you have no friends?" After being mocked for a few more seconds he asked if I wanted something to drink. I feeling very dejected asked for a Sprite. After about 10 minutes I had ordered and asked a different waiter if I can have a Sprite because I hadn't received my first drink. My food arrived about 10 minutes later and asked the waitress if I could have my drink because I never received it. I then took my first bite of my food when this woman walked up and started trying to talk to me about buying some sort of Iberostar real estate. After about 5 minutes I politely asked the woman if I could finish my meal and she can leave the reading material for me. Then I finished my food and they took my plate away. I waited about 10 more minutes and started heading to the door. I was almost made it to the door, but the original waiter who mocked me tried to hand me a glass of Sprite. I declined and left. That night I woke up with the power off and sweating profusely. My phone had died even though it was plugged in which tells me that the power must have been out for some time. The next day I went to the front desk and informed them about the bugs and the power being out. The man was very apologetic and took my information down and said they would work to resolve the situation. That night I went to the discotheque to find a sign saying it was closed for renovations. I asked a few employees and I was told the disco was closed for renovations and won't be available for awhile. This was upsetting to me because I felt I should have been informed of the situation instead of being told it would be open. The next day I informed the front desk again about the bugs and the power outages. The apologized again and took down my name and room number assuring me it would be addressed. That night my intestinal issues had not been resolved coupled with the waiters mocking me, so I decided just to stay in. The next night was my last night at the resort, and I decided to go to the casino. The casino was pleasant enough, and no complaints about that experience. It thankfully was now the day I was leaving the resort. While packing up I found that I had not cashed out one of my $100 casino chips. I figured when I checked out they must be able to help me. The people at the front desk told me to bad there was nothing they could do. I asked to speak with the manager and was informed "he's in a meeting". After talking with guest services they told people I tried to sell it to that it would not be accepted. At this time one of the guest services representatives was very insistent that I give him the chip as a gift because I was going home and there was nothing I could do with it. After arguing with this man for a few minutes he finally gave up his pursuit of the chip. I then left the casino disheartened and miserable. I have been around the world and never been treated so poorly, disrespected, mocked anywhere in this world. I have never made a complaint about any hotel I have ever stayed at before, but I am going to make it my relentless mission to tell as many people in any forum my experiences at the Iberostar. Sincerely your guest of room 4024, Derek P.S. I am seeing my physician about the ongoing intestinal distress.


38 of 57 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Cleveland Ohio
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year