All

Iberostar Costa Dorada Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 103 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.1 out of 5
"The beach is not so great. It gets really windy in the afternoon. The hotel is okay, but is so hot in the buffet restaurant!" – tiberius
100 out of 125 (80%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Pool at night Perfect pools beach AT ONE OF THE RESTAURANT Pable - the best Pool at night. Room view AT THE POOL The end ..... in main lobby area huts on the beach Chilling at the beach. our building

All Iberostar Costa Dorada Customer Reviews

1-10 of 103 reviews. Sort by
June 22, 2015
H E A V E N

Iberostar Costa Dorado was a fantastic resort. My wife and I spent 10 nights at this marvelous resort - and cannot wait to return. The food was great - of course I ate too much - but it was plentiful and varied. And the Japanese restaurant was outstanding - compares well with Tepanyaki is US. The highlight was tennis with Pablo - every day - he is a delight. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the entertainment - and there is much to do throughout the day - if you are in the mood to leave your lounger around the pool or at the beautiful beach. The rooms are perfectly adequate - the reviews seemed to identify various issues - none of which we encountered. We asked to change the bed from 2 queens to a king - and two drinks later, it was done. Everything worked perfectly, and the room staff was hardworking - each day the room was cleaned perfectly. Every staff member was friendly. For those that complain (in their reviews about the staff, look inward - we encountered only friendly, helpful, kind and extremely warm people - from the servers to the entertainers to the staff at reception. And the price was just unbelievable ...... I could go on and on - suffice it to say - we will be back and with some luck, frequently ......

The end ..... Pable - the best
9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Scottsdale, Arizona
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 12, 2016
A great vacation

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time at iberostar _ Costa dorada. I could write a ton on how pleased we were with this resort but to keep it sweet and simple- the staff are very active and good at encouraging guests to partake in the tournament style activities they hold daily (if u win be ready to accept a certificate and t-shirt at the award ceremony at night). The beach was calm and clean with no seaweed. We rented snorkel equipment to check out the coral/fishes we were swimming with. There are huts that line the beach and a bar not too far from them :). There is food available to you at any hour of the day until about 2am. we have no complaints about the food - the best restaurants were the hibachi and the Mexican. (Reservations can be booked in advance at guest services). Take care of your waiters and they will definitely take care of you! We booked an ocean front room - well worth it. Nothing like waking up to the sight of the beach. Room service came late in the day - not sure if that is just due to our location. Oh and don't be late for ur pick up from the hotel to the airport because they will leave without you :).

Room view
8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 12, 2013
A great honeymoon in Dom Repub!

This was a truly great vacation and honeymoon and my husband and I got very comfortable at the Iberostar Costa Dorada. This was my first time at an all-inclusive and I specifically chose this resort for all of the good reviews I read prior to booking. The resort buildings and grounds were really lovely, the pool was fantastic, the beach was good, there were always lounge chairs and cushions available, and space aplenty (both if you wanted to be in the sun or in the shade), there was always food and drink options at any time of day, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Checking in was very easy, however, after being shown to our room on the second story of building #3, we realized that our balcony looked out on the rear side of a neighboring resort and there was a fairly loud whirring/machine noise constantly and the view was, well, the back of another building, so not very picturesque. We called Johancy at Reception and he moved us with no problem whatsoever and encouraged us to grab a beer from the mini fridge of the room we were vacating - thus introducing us to one of many El Presidentes during our stay. The room we ended up staying in was on the ground floor of building number 7 and looked out over palm trees and the orchid garden. There was a service road as well, but in general it was quite quiet and very close to the pool, pool house, and pool-side bar and restaurant/snack bar. I will say that I thought the rooms smelled quite musty, but my husband said that in his experience that's usually how tropical sea-side hotels smell so, could just come with the territory. The rooms were cleaned daily and mini-fridge (containing beer, coke, and water) was restocked daily as well. We found the resort restaurants to be quite good with a lot of variety in food options from night to night. The main buffet restaurant (El Mercado) had lots of options for a full hot breakfast and every night for dinner with lots of different grilled meat, a carvery station, lots of side dishes, ample bread, salad, cold-cut, pasta/pizza, and dessert stations - and TONS of fresh exotic fruit that was excellent. We only went there for lunch a couple of times, but the options then were great as well. We made separate reservations for the resort Mexican restaurant (La Hacienda) and the resort Brazilian Churrasqueria (El Rodizio). Both were quite good, having several seating time options you can reserve, and both include signature cocktails (margaritas and caipirinhas) and an AYCE appetizer and dessert buffet. The daily pool-side restaurant, bar, and snack-bar (El Bohio) turned into a seafood restaurant at night, but we never tried that one. Overall though, great variety, generally very good quality of food, and friendly and generally prompt service. We really really liked the lobby bar where there was classy comfy seating on sofas and cushy chairs, lovely red pillars, lots of open air, and it overlooks the pond with live flamingos and turtles. The pool-side and beach bars were also very good with very prompt attentive service and a large variety of alcoholic beverages with the all-inclusive pkg. We really really loved the pool. It was nice and large with plenty of lounge chair seating, either under palm frond pilapas in the shade, or in the sun. There was a separate kiddie pool but also a shallower end of the big pool where there was a water volleyball net. There was one end that also had a basketball hoop and water polo goals set up for daily organized games promoted by the "animation team". The beach also always had lounge chairs available and we always found a pilapa for shade when we wanted one. I will say that there was a lot of seaweed that washed up on the beach and in the shallows, and both my husband and I stumbled and slightly injured our feet on a reef shelf to the left side of the beach in the very shallow water which was really unexpected because everywhere else it was very sandy. There are a lot of people that approach you from the nearby flea market advertising for you to come and shop for souvenirs, but if you tell them no, they are not too persistent about it. There are also people circulating both the pool and beach regularly selling T-shirts or offering to take photos with a monkey or iguana. There are regular photographers that roam the resort snapping pictures that you can go to the photo shop in the resort to see and presumably buy any shots you want, but we never checked that out to see what the prices were like. In general though, if you're not interested and just say so, they'll leave you alone. And finally, I would like to leave a few comments about the Iberostar Animation Team. We thought that they were "very very good!" They really did work very hard (all day and night!) to make sure that the guests were having a good time, learning people's names, making small-talk, and generally getting people engaged in activities including water polo, beach volleyball, water volleyball, water aerobics, archery, mini golf, bingo, Spanish lessons, dancing lessons, and other "crazy games" that involved something different each day like kayak racing in the pool, or balancing on a surf board while "shaking it". Each evening they would put on a show starting at 9:30 that was a combination of dancing and singing and audience participation, and one night they ALSO had a beach party with performances, limbo, dancing, and a big bonfire. Again, we thought that the whole animation team was really excellent and worked very hard and were really engaged with the guests. Specific shout-outs from us to "Pepsi Cola", D.D., Jonathan, and G.G. Overall, this was a great vacation and I would thoroughly recommend the Iberostar Costa Dorada to anyone traveling to Puerto Plata, DR, and we will definitely look into staying at Iberostars in other countries we travel to on vacations in the future.

Chilling at the beach. Pool at night.
22 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Arlington, VA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 7, 2010
Very relaxing but probably not the best DR hotel

The hotel was nice and the service was relatively good, but it wasn't as good as other Caribbean vacations I have taken. The pool wasn't too impressive, the beach was too windy, and the food was just ok. But all of the staff was very nice and helpful, except for the people selling stuff who wouldn't leave us alone.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 8, 2012
Iberostar Costa Dorado

I like this resort overall. The employees were very engaging and enthusiastic. The pool was nice and clean. As for the beach, the water is not calm like other Caribbean beaches but pretty nonetheless. I thought the food was mediocre although there were a few dining options. You must book your meal reservations when you first arrive. I waited and only had one option. The rooms were clean with tile floors. I did not enjoy the beds, I never got a good night sleep and woke up stiff. The overall value for this resort was good if you are looking for a sun and beach kind of getaway.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 12, 2012
May have been 4 star 10 years ago but not now!

The room was OK except that the air conditioning was very noisy and they couldn't fix it. Luckily I had earplugs. The common areas are dated and worn out, rust, peeling paint, 70's Spanish hacienda decor. The flamingo pool and turtle pond are murky. The beach had a lot of seaweed, not a picturesque Caribbean white sand beach, there were aggressive vendors on the beach, even on resort property. Location was good if you want to get out and see the sights. 10 minutes to the Malecon, 45 minutes to Sosua and 1 hour to Carbette. You can walk 5 minutes to tour operators outside the resort and get better deals on tours. Leave a small deposit but don't pay in full. Food was good. 3 Al a cart restaurants, above average but not spectacular food. 2 years ago I booked a real 4 1/2 star resort for about the same price. The value was not good.


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: new york
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 12, 2011
BEST VACATION EVER

WE WERE PICKED UP AT AIRPORT DIRECTELY TO THE HOTEL, INTO OUR ROOM, THAT WAS AFTER THE WELCOM DRINK, AND CHECK IN. THERE WAS LOTS OF SMILE, EVERYONE WAS VERY HAPPY, THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT ALL THE TIME, THE STAFF TREATED US LIKE WE WERE VIP. EVERTHING WAS CLEAN, THE BEACH AREA , THE POOL.. WELL THE ENTIRE FACILITY WAS SUPER SHARP. THE SHOWS AT NIGHT WERE GREAT,.. WE REALY DID NOT WANT TO LEAVE. BUT WE HAD TO RETURN HOME.. WE WERE TAKEN BACK TO THE AIRPOR TRANSPORTATION WAS NO PROBLE... THANK YOU ALL AT IBEROSTAR COSTA DORADA AND CHEAP CARIBBEAN.

AT THE POOL AT ONE OF THE RESTAURANT
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: BRONX NEW YORK
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Three Generation Paradise

The Iberostar Costa Dorada provided a spectacular winter break for an extended family of a 2 year-old boy, his parents and his grandparents. The beach was beautiful, safe enough for a child to play and uncrowded enough for the adults to enjoy in relative privacy. The all-inclusive restaurant was perfect for the family: no need to wait for service, a huge variety of delicious food for every taste and a particularly attentive and pleasant waitstaff. The rooms were attractive and comfortable, but with so much to do, we spent very little time in our rooms. We are looking forward to a return visit..


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Barrington, RI
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Great service and value

All of our expectations were met and exceeded. 4 of us went in December of 2009 to celebrate our anniversaries. We had emailed the Resort and requested a ocean view on the same floor. We were accomodated perfectly and we both had a welcome fruit basket and complimentary bottle of rum. Things we liked: close to airport so the transfer time in minimal checkin was easy room was pleasant and deck was great (bed was very comfortable) food in the buffet was beyond excellent. Great variety and quality. grounds were beautiful drinks were good with premium brands available (not a fan of brugal rum however) Beach and beach chairs, shade, etc plentiful pool area beautiful and lounges easy to find location to city excellent service was very good and staff were very friendly Less than great: Entertaibment was poor (they did try hard) Brugal rum is not great amd variety of rum drinks was limited the buffet was better than the speciality restaurants The vacation was great and we would go back. We liked being close to the city and we thought the resort was a tremendous value.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: green bay wisconisn
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 16, 2011
Great vacation for families

We just came back from a trip in August to this resort. I would highly recommend this for families with kids of all ages. Price was extremely reasonable. Food was average to good, definitely better than you should expect for a resort in this price range. If you are hung up on fancy food, feel free to spend $500 or more per person to get it elsewhere. But I think that would be money wasted. One quick note to Cheap Carribean - the company that does the transfers, Turinter, does a nice job, but they pick you up way too early for the trip back to the airport. It only takes 15 minutes tops to get to the airport, and since this airport is so quiet you get through checkin within minutes. They picked us up at Noon for a 3:20pm flight, so we wound up sitting around for almost 3 hours. We could have easily spent an extra hour at the resort, and more importantly we could have ate lunch at the resort instead of spending a small fortune on lunch at the airport.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Connecticut
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year