All

Iberostar Cancun Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 152 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.8
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.6 out of 5
"lack of amenities, better than average food for all inclusive yet lack of dining options. awesome beach! ok pool areas." – Gunit
164 out of 179 (92%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sea turtles water volleyball every day Beautiful view from the room Jorge you are the best!!! View from our room Our seats for the week Pool area Happy Hour on the balcony From the airplane leaving. view from the infinity pool Kids pool The lobby Favorite place to hang out View of hotel from room View of hotel from room Junior Suite Balcony Looking toward the resort from the beach View from our room View from beach Window view View from the room

All Iberostar Cancun Customer Reviews

1-10 of 152 reviews. Sort by
December 18, 2012
First and wont be the last!

Flights were late but thats not Cheap Caribbeans fault. Customs were seriously amazingly fast for the amount of people on our flight for a wednesday. We got suckered into some timeshare stuff but our driver from the airport then told us to stay away from them as much as we could from then on The pickup service bought as an add on was flawless. Worked out perfect right out of the airport and did not have to wait long to start the short trek to Iberostar. ( everyone we came into contact with said it was an excellent choice) Got to the hotel, bags were out of the car waiting for us! While checking in, our gal was so sweet and turned a 3rd floor room into a 9th floor room (without having a neighbor on both sides. which we totally tipped her for, thank you!) she said it wasnt totally finished getting ready so we should go look at the grounds and have a drink so we did. After finding out we got on the top floor we were excited to also find out she hooked us up with an ocean view room! Making reservations via email prior to our arrival was the best plan we had. We had no problem getting seated or trying to get a table. Just make sure you get your dinner tickets from guest services. The pool is AMAZING as well as the ocean beach! We were SO happy for both waters as we are addicted to the aqua life! During December seats are NOT scarce out at either spot. Restaurants: Mexican is decent, and the Steakhouse is a step above that and would dine there again if had the need to stay on property. The French/ Gourmet lacks quality. You either like it or you don't. We only liked one plate, and we disliked the other. Never tried the Hibachi but heard though other guests that it was good an bad. The buffet was good, breakfast was what we thought the best option to take and it serves until 11am (Rafael was our favorite waiter, knew exactly what we wanted to drink before we got seated with plates, most impressive!) We decided to eat off-property 3 nights and were blown away at what Cancun has to offer if you want to pay out of pocket. Harrys steakhouse is the HANDS DOWN BEST STEAKHOUSE i have EVER been. The atmosphere, service and food are just top notch. Limonchellos trattoria is a fabulous italian restaurant in the middle of the hotel zone we found driving to and from shopping and bar "experiencing". They can actually MAKE the mozzarella cheese table side! Lastly, we took Fred's Seafood Steakhouse for a whirl and the service was even better than Harrys Steakhouse and the food selections were definitely for the seafood fan at heart. We will be back to all three restaurants when we visit again. The pool as well as the beach were even better than pictures could describe. The service at the swim-up pool bar was fantastic by Adolfo and Hugo as well as the beach service by Theresa! We will be sure to return to Cancun as well as coming back to stay at the Iberostar Cancun without a doubt.


67 of 70 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Las Vegas, NV
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 25, 2013
Fan of Iberostar

This was our second time vacationing with Iberostar, and we are so thankful to have chosen such an amazing resort. The people are so friendly, the service is impecable, the resort is always in prestine condition, there were so many different sizable pools, plenty of activities, excellent drinks, and the rooms were very spacious. We traveled with 6 families which equated to 12 adults and 10 kids (under the age of 4). All of our rooms had beutiful views of the resort & ocean. We did not find that the resort was very kid friendly to the younger kids; for kids ages 4 and above there was plenty to do, but the kids club would close at 5pm. After 5pm, we had to rely on baby sitting services at $15/hr. The more kid friendly resorts offer activities for kids (not just a play room), and are open much later (up to 10pm). There kids under 4 years old were not permitted in the kids room. The main dining buffet food is excellent for breakfast, and on some days for lunch. The dinner selection isn't the best. We tried 3/5 restaurants- the Mexican & Hibachi were the best. The Steak house was our least favorite. All in all, the trip was amazing. We did Riu Jamaica six months ago and we will NEVER frequent that RIU chain again after having 2 very positive experiences with Iberostar. Happy Fun in the Sun if you choose to come here!


16 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Central NJ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 6, 2012
Wonderful last minute vacation

The property was beautiful. The staff was absolutely wonderful and exceeded our expectations. They all worked very hard to make sure we enjoyed ourselves. We booked this trip very last minute and I feel got a wonderful deal. The food was only average and the ala cart restaurants were difficult to get into. I was not sure why this was because the resort was not nearly full. The only other item that was somewhat a mystery was why it was so difficult to get the passcode for the free wireless in the lobby. Hotel staff would only tell you there was no free WiFi and that it was a $15 per day charge. Another vacationer shared the password. This made my 19 and 25 year old daughers extremely happy that they could post their status. We would definitely visit this resort again.


20 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: St. Louis, MO
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 10, 2014
Unless you are a Diva you won't be disappointed

We arrived at the airport and after clearing customs spent about 40 minutes getting to the transportation staging area and waiting with 20-30 other people to depart via our shuttle ride to the hotel. You can purchase a cervesa or other beverage while waiting for transportation - word to the wise – steer clear of anybody not from AMSTAR or Apple travel (they are probably attempting to offer you a timeshare or other deal). The hotel is about 20-25 minutes from the airport and upon arrival we had an easy check-in and went straight to our room. We booked a standard sea view that comes with a small balcony that you can stand outside on but does not accommodate chairs or furniture. The room was nice with tile throughout and two queen beds and a small frig stocked with complimentary soft drinks, water and beer. The room had a small flat panel TV with satellite, however, most of the channels were in Spanish (including CNN) with only a handful of movie channels in English (but who goes to Cancun to watch movies – right?). The bathroom was adequate with a small separate shower and toilet and the room was equipped with a standard air conditioner that if set low enough would run almost constantly providing both cooling and a good source white noise. The hotel has several specialty restaurants and I would recommend that you book your reservation for them as soon as you arrive. They are a cut above the regular buffet fare but reservations fill up fast and you need to plan at least two days in advance for availability. The food was above average with a wide variety of choices that are typically available at this type of resort. Everything from eggs cooked to order and a complete juice bar to the more European styled ham and cheese selections. Salad selection was always fresh and plentiful with a wide variety of breads and soups as well. Night life was good but is somewhat typical of the hotel scene - average. If you are looking for late night or all night head up the strip to one of the local night clubs - there are plenty. The hotel has excellent facilities for all ages including children. An excellent gym and a pirate themed children’s pool with several very neat water slides and features located conveniently near the adult pool (with an infinity ledge overlooking the beach) and swim up bar. The beach is very nice and approximately 75 yards deep and very wide (one of the best on the Cancun strip). The sand is clean and the waves are 2-3 foot breakers and although shallow it does have a fairly strong undertow. Small children and poor swimmers will not do well even in the shallow water. Even though the water and beach is one of the nicest we have seen and enjoyed in the Caribbean it demands respect. You should plan to stake your claim (leave a towel draped over the chair) to a set lounge chairs on the beach or by the pool no later than about 0730 in the morning or the choices will be few. Lastly, the hotel and transportation service really went the extra mile and are to be COMMENDED. Upon departure I forgot my back pack that contained passports, my cell phone and tablet at the hotel. After getting in touch with an AMSTAR rep at the airport and making a few quick phone calls and waiting a few anxious moments it was delivered via taxi – securely. After paying and tipping the taxi and all parties involved we were on our way – averting what could have been a disaster. Go now! What are you waiting for?

Unless you are a Diva you won't be disappointed Unless you are a Diva you won't be disappointed
9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: National Capital Region
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 30, 2012
Great for family and couples!!

I went for 7 nights solo,just to get away.I loved everything there from amazing rooms and views to the pools and very nice size beach.Staff was top notch from front desk to housekeeping.I absolutely loved Hugo n Luis at the pool bar.Restaurants are great,buffet was great.Milk wasnt cold,but thats my only complaint about food service.Highly recommend for families and couples not looking to leave the resort to party.I was looking to go out and enjoy the cancun nightlife,but didnt need to.Everything is there and if you do want to leave just go with Iberostar staff after the night shows for VIP treatment at whatever club they choose.Im going back in March but stay at RIU,but my trip next December will most definitely be Iberostar.


11 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Ohio
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 1, 2015
Best family vacation

This hotel is by far the most beautiful I have stayed in Cancun. When you first enter the hotel lobby, there is this wonderful smell that puts you into "vacation mode"! I think it comes out of the air vents, a mixture of magnolias, white tea and I don't know what else but very enjoyable! Our rooms were so nice and our mini bar was stocked everyday and the best part was the 24 hour room service (try the cheese burger). The drinks were watered down but I think they do that to control the guest and not let them get too hammered. The wet bar at the infinity pool was the best and we spent alot of time there. Juan Carlos hooked us up and was always keeping an eye out for all 9 of us. A wonderful experience over all, you definitely will enjoy this hotel. Oh, the beach was amazing, chairs and umbrellas for everyone and waitresses came to you all the way down to the edge of the water. Five stars! Thanks Cheap Caribbean!


11 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Los Angeles
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 31, 2015
Great Vacation!

My wife and I had a great vacation with my 19 year old daughter and my 17 year old son. We had a short 3 night stay from August 16-19, and really enjoyed the resort. What we liked: The resort is clean, beautiful, and fragrant. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our balcony rooms were nice, with beautiful views. There are plenty of dining options, even if there aren't reservations available at some of the restaurants. We were able to get reservations at the Mexican and the Gourmet, but not the Asian, or the Steakhouse. We dined at the Buffet on our first night and really enjoyed it. That was also our breakfast stop each morning. During the day, the Mexican restaurant becomes a casual buffet, or just walk barefoot over to the Pool Bar and order a burger and fries. The best part of this resort, hands down, is the pool and beach area. Huge beach that provides plenty of room to relax, and always chairs and umbrellas available any time of day. The pool is equally impressive and big! The curved infinity edge was a favorite spot for cooling off with our drinks, and staring out at the beach and blue water. Again, there always seemed to be room for us to relax, without feeling crowded. The kid's water park area seemed to keep the little one's away from the swim up bar and infinity pool area. My wife said it best regarding the kid's at this resort. "You see the kid's, but you don't hear them." The expansive area allowed for everyone to enjoy their own space. FYI, even though it's a nice big area, you don't have any long walks. It's a clever layout that works extremely well. What we didn't like: The amazing pool area closes down at 7:00. It just didn't seem fair to shut things down at that time of day, especially when it's 92 degrees outside. Also, it would be nice if they would set up some outdoor speakers around the beach area, and play some music throughout the day. There's absolutely zero activity outside the resort in the evening. It seems like a tragic waste to have this amazing pool area with no outdoor bars open in the evening. If there were, it would be an incredibly popular spot. There missing the mark on this one. The Lobby Bar is open at night, but there's not much seating, and it always filled up quickly. There were nightly shows that we enjoyed very much. They really try hard and we appreciated their efforts, but there wasn't much else to do in the evening. The Sports Bar is really small, and kind of a waste. I'd rather see them get something going outside at the Pool Bar in the evening. At least you could get outside and spread out. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would like to return. If they changed a few things, we'd go back every year. Cheap Caribbean did a great job, and our trip went exactly according to plan.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 28, 2016
Choose a Villa!

Let me start by saying we WILL stay at the Iberostar Cancun again, but there are a few things I would recommend. When we booked our room there was not an upgrade option available. Your best option is to upgrade to a villa if at all possible. The standard rooms are at best standard. The room we were put into badly needed updating. If you like to stay in an "average" room then you are fine with the economic package of a standard room. If you like things a little more top end then I would pay extra for the villa. If I am going to pay thousands of dollars, I want luxury. The atmosphere is much more "paradise" in a villa than in the standard room where I was very disappointed. During our stay the resort had a pipe burst sending 100 of gallons of hot water everywhere and flooding our bathroom. After several attempts to inform the front desk of the emergency, my husband went and found the leak himself. He informed the front desk and finally they came to take care of the situation. Antonio went out of his way to make things right after this situation. He moved us to a villa which pretty much turned our vacation around for the better. Besides the standard room disappointment the rest of the resort is top notch. The pools, beach, and grounds are well maintained, clean, and very enjoyable. The sports and entertainment team or "Star Friends" do such a great job involving the guests in everything from beach volleyball to archery. They are fun and very likable people. They work very hard, but are NEVER pushy. They ask and if you say no they move on. They are there from "open to close" and when I mean close they are there until after the nightly show. I have stayed in Cancun before and the sports and entertainment team beats out the competition hands down. They are always happy, fun, and eager to get people involved. The nightly entertainment is also great. I think the resort needs to market this more because I did not even know they had a nightly show until I heard the group practicing during the day and I asked where the music was coming from and a "Star Friend" told me about the show. Again, I have stayed elsewhere in Cancun and I can say Iberostar does this right. The dancers are trained and very talented. The themes of the shows are entertaining. "Boogie Nights" was exciting and a fun way to spend the evening. You can tell the resort invests in this area. The building in which they perform is very neat and a great atmosphere as well. The different restaurants are nice too. Be sure to make reservations where they are needed when you arrive. Some of the restaurants require a collared shirt and closed toe shoes for the guys but don't think that means dressed up. People looked very casual. We were very overdressed a couple of the nights we were there. I hope I haven't turned you off to the resort. Like I said in the beginning, we will return to the resort, but we will always pay a little more to have the upgrade. The villa and the resorts grounds really made us feel like we were in a sunshine paradise!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: USA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 3, 2012
very average

this was my third visit to cancun in 2 years and iberostar was very disappointing. most of the staffs at the front desk were very rude. they did not even have free complimentary internet in the lobby like they claim they do when we talked to guest services about this they very rudely said we had the wrong information about the internet and did not verify the information even when we requested them to. dinner reservations were very hard to get and we never got reservation for the restaurant we wanted to try that day. room service has only few options and is very tasteless. the buffet is alright nothing special. and one more thing about food the only chicken dish they had was chicken nuggets, they didnt even have chicken taco in the mexican restaurant which was very disappointing. the waiters and bartenders were really nice and provided really good service. the drinks were watered down but they will make it stronger if you ask them. the star friends work very hard to keep you entertained. we had the best time with the star friends. we took part in activities like water aerobics. water balloon fight. ping pong and more. the nightly entertainment is fun as well. the beach and the pool is absolutely beautiful. the hotel and its surroundings are very beautiful as well. but at the end of the day when the front desk and guest services treat you bad every time you approach them its hard to have a good time. i would not go back to this place at all.


28 of 38 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: new york
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 9, 2012
Absolutely Loved My Trip!!!

I have so many wonderful things to say about Iberostar Cancun. This was my first trip to Mexico and I was traveling alone with my teenage daughter to celebrate her birthday. They must have done something right, neither of us wanted to leave. The staff at the front desk were accommodating and extremely friendly. The room was clean, comfortable, and the view was amazing. The food was non-stop and they had a variety of options from fish to pasta, hot dogs, steak, chicken, pizza, etc. The waiters were always pleasant, especially Israel who was always there to greet us with a smile and we decided to sit in his section for every breakfast and lunch. The specialty dinners at the restaurants were good as well, the best was the Japanese Steak House, it was very easy to make the reservations the first day we arrived and we had no problems getting in any of the times we wanted. The Star Friends amaze me! I don't know when they ever sleep. Arturo, Jesus, Sunday, I can't remember them all, are great at their jobs and keep you entertained throughout the day with beach volleyball, bingo by the pool, pool football, archery, etc. The activities never end. If you don't want to participate it's okay too, you can just enjoy relaxing and listening to the music next to the many beautiful pools they have. I truly can't wait to return, I had a wonderful experience at Iberostar.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Prince Frederick, MD
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year