All

Iberostar Bavaro Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 150 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.3 out of 5
"Beautiful resort. Had a wonderful time. The beach is amazing. Would recommend." – JenniF
151 out of 183 (83%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View for all 7 days! Iberostar Bavaro - Beach Balcony view Playa Bavaro..ahhhh One of the pools at this resort. Pool bar to the left. Iberostar Bavaro Beach Pile of sea weed on beach Water was cloudy and murkey

All Iberostar Bavaro Customer Reviews

1-10 of 150 reviews. Sort by
November 18, 2012
Iberostar Bavaro did not disappoint!

My girlfriend and I went to Iberostar Bavaro from 11/8/12 to 11/11/12. We booked our vacation package on cheapcaribbean.com and added on transport from olympic tours. Overall, getting to and from the airport and the whole boarding process couldn't have gone more smoothly. I'll just try to make this review as thorough and organized as possible, but I apologize as it will be lengthy. Aesthetics - Driving into the resort is an amazing sight. You get a glimpse of their beautiful golf course and eventually you get an idea of how big this resort actually is. The lobby is very clean and well kept. There is always a maid around to is keep it clean. The grounds are unbelievably well kept and colorful. You are surrounded by cana, coconut, tamarind, and banana trees to name a few. There is also an abundance of birds: flamingos, storks, ducks, and we even got to see peacocks make their way to the lobby and hope on stage! Food/Drinks - There are certain a la carte restaurants to choose from (fancy), but the buffet is always open to everyone. The dining area is big so there's never trouble finding seating. The food covers a very broad spectrum, so there will be some you will definitely like, some you will not so much. My favorite was their paella and roast pig! There is a dress code (no trunks at lunch, trousers and shoes at dinner) but it didn't seem like anyone was really enforcing it. Wide variety of fruits and desserts as well. There is 24 hour room service perfect for after hours/late night snacks, and they just come and deliver you anything you want from their menu, it's great! There's always a beachside bar and they'll serve snacks like hot dogs, popcorn, nachos, and ice cream. The frozen drinks can be a little sugary, but there is no limit to selection. Although Presidente is their only beer, all inclusive also means you can get your share of Johnny Walker. Rooms - Iberostar Bavaro does a great job with the rooms. If I had to nitpick, there was a tiny spider in the corner of our room that I took care of but the maids are more than thorough with their cleaning. Beds are comfortable, the safe is free, and the fridge is stocked with plenty of drinks. It seemed like there was a very small leak whenever I showered but that wasn't a big deal at all, they'll give you more than enough towels and if you don't have enough then just call room service, no big deal. Wifi is supposedly $35/night but we were able to use it without a login/password for a couple days. Beach/Pool - Very nice. Light sand perfect for walking along the waves. They provide you with towel cards so getting/replacing a towel was never a problem. There is some seaweed that can wash up to shore but groundskeepers are constantly working to clear it up. There are some people who decide to go topless, but hey, whatever floats your boat. There is always a bar within a short distance of the beach and pools, and though there may be plenty of people, there are more than enough seats on the beach to accomodate. Volleyball, soccer, and spa on the beach are available too. The pools are great. The animacion team always has lots going on to keep you busy (dancing, bowling, even beer chugging contests for adults). It did rain for a little bit during one of our days - don't run because it can get slippery on the walkways - but we hung out outside our room chillin' and watching coconuts fall in our bath robes. Service - These are some of the nicest people I have ever met. I wanted to buy a cake and flowers for my girlfriend during our a la carte dinner and they arranged everything flawlessly. They even had a musicians serenade us during dinner and they sang happy birthday for her no problem! Though tipping is not expected, the workers are so kind and gracious and go out of their way for us (they seem to work very long hours too), so we just tipped anyway. It does help to know some basic Spanish as some of the servers may not speak English very well. Communication wasn't very difficult overall. A few of the workers that stood out to me were Miguel, the bartender by the sports bar/discoteca and Javier, the server at the late night snack area and Iris, the receptionist at the lobby. Very personable, friendly, and helpful! Amenities - This place is huge! It took us at least a day to be able to navigate the area without a map. The great part about this resort is that it is connected with Iberostar Punta Cana and Iberostar Dominicana, so you'll have access to all their pools, bars, etc. Spa services, stores, and a gym are there for those interested. There is also a casino, a karaoke bar, and a discotheque. Clay and hard tennis courts are available upon reservation as well as golf. Not to mention foosball, table tennis, and their huge chess board by the pool. They even had archery! The only thing I wasn't fond of were the vendors. I don't have a problem looking at merchandise but a lot of these guys were more aggressive than I was comfortable with. I just wanted to relax and have an uninterrupted walk to lunch and dinner without being bothered and asked questions as we passed each table of merchandise. I'll admit I ended up taking different routes back and forth just to avoid these guys. Having to explain myself to each vendor each time we walked past the main area was annoying. There is already a jewelry shop and plenty of stores, so having them around wasn't necessary. However the trip overall was a great success. Iberostar Bavaro is probably the coolest, best-kept resort I have ever been to. It's a clean, friendly, beautiful place that will definitely impress you. Great workers, great food, and a whole lot of fun stuff to do. A+! Just beware of the vendors.


78 of 82 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 24, 2012
Best Vacation

I give this vacation 5+ stars!! Definitely coming back in 6 months. From the moment we landed it was a smooth process of locating our driver to the resort. Once at the resort the check in was smooth and quick while providing us all the details we needed. We checked out our room for 3 people. There were 2 queen beds and the couch turned into a very comfortable twin bed. The room was very clean. The resort was beautiful and full of life from 7a to 11p. There was plenty of food to eat at the buffet for breakfast and lunch. At lunch time I was very surprised to the see the large sized steaks grilling. There are also 5 restaurants located on the premises that you need to make reservations for dinner. I highly recommend that you make those reservations ASAP. Very large pool and plenty of activities to keep you busy. The swim up bar was the best. I suggest you bring an insulated mug/cup so that your drink stays cold or just drink quickly. The beach is fabulous! It was white sands and turquoise clear water, sunny with only a few clouds. The staff is very friendly. There is sometimes a language barrier but overall there are no problems. Outside excursion that I recommend is the sailboat or catamaran trip that includes snorkeling and fun, dancing and drinking. There were shows put on every night for entertainment and a disco to attend after 11p. Absolute bliss and stress free!! Kid friendly and many diversified vacationers. Definitely coming back in 6 months.


15 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 19, 2011
Great Vacation

We have visited an Iberostar chain before and were very pleased with it. That is why we choose to return to an Iberostar again. Every bit of this resort is beautiful and well worth the visit. The beaches are out of this world. You can walk for miles and miles. The service is outstanding. The staff is always willing to get you whatever you want. We had no issues with out room except that the air could have been a little cooler, but we dealt with it. Our bed, I thought was very comfortable and the room itself was VERY roomy. No complaints about the bathroom either. The food was great. There was always something to eat that you like and we often got brave and tried things we have never tried before. We mostly ate at the buffets because there was such a variety of foods. Overall this was a fantastic resort and well worth the money we spent. Can't wait to go back.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Maine
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 5, 2014
Great place, would definiltely go back

I've traveled quite a bit and have seen my share of resorts and can say that this was a very good one. The Iberostar Bavaro is all suites so the rooms are huge for 2 people. They were perfectly clean and neat and comfortable to stay in. The cleaning crew did a good job and we trusted them in our rooms. The waitstaff and bartenders were amazing. Not only did they provide great service but they were friendly and did a great job on remembering us even after just the first time meeting them. I always feel that you can tell the quality of the staff by they way they are trained (and it's part natural I'm sure) to remember each and every individual guest. Not all places/people do that for you. I thought it really set this place apart. Danilo and Wilbon in the main bar were our bartenders every night and they were great. The food was great and the options were endless. I know I've seen some people complain about food at this or other resorts and yes, I'm certainly not as picky as other people, but really, if you come to a place like this and you're not happy with what they offer you in the restaurants or buffet, then I don't think you're going to be happy anywhere in the world - except at 5 star $100 an entree type of restaurants. It is true that it is somewhat difficult to make reservations at the fine dinning restaurant options on site but as long as you plan ahead and make reservations for a few nights when you first arrive you won't have any trouble. if you try to make reservations the day to want to go to a restaurant, you'll probably be dissapointed. The one thing I could MAYBE complain about is the alcohol - don't expect top shelf. They don't have Grey Goose or Petron or other high end brands. They mostly use mid-level brands at best and often times they use local brands which I'm sure are cheaper and not as high in alcohol content as we felt the drinks were somewhat weak. As a tip, I would suggest only have 1 or 2 of the frozen sweet drinks because they ARE sweet and the sugar will wear you out. If you want to get drunk, stick to shots or mixed drinks using juice, soda or tonic. The resort in general was gorgeous. The beach was great. The activities staff were superfriendly and really got people involved in the fun stuff they had planned. There were no people bothering you to buy stuff or buy tours (although they did have tour vendors on site offereing options). Definitely a great place to stay and I would go back there again. I think next time I would stay at the Dominicana or Punta Cana though to try it because it felt like the crowd there was a little bit younger and more fun and less families with children. So...if you're going as singles or a fun young couple without kids, maybe stay at the Punta Cana or Dominicana. If you're going as an older couple or family with kids, Bavaro might be the better option. I wish someone had come right out and said to us when we were deciding between the three. Although we did choose the Bavaro since it was a bit more... 'refined' then the other two. But there's certainly no difference in quality of food or service at any of the three. It depends on what atmosphere you're looking for.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 1, 2016
Great Experience except for Timeshare Offer

I really liked the Iberostar Bavaro, it was quiet, clean, the service was good, it felt safe and overall met all of my expectations. I used the pools which tended to have a lot of kids, so I opted to go to the beach most of the time. Which was so comfortable under the sun or under the shady huts. The dining was good, although by the 3rd day at the buffet it got a little boring. We wanted to make reservations at the al la carte restaurants but they were completely booked, so that was frustrating. But the service and staff were very attentive and helpful. The evening entertainment was good, we especially loved the sunset dinner and entertainment on the beach. Iberostar really went to alot of effort to do this and it made for a very memorable night. The spa and gym are new buildings and really nice. The rooms are a little dated, but we are on vacation - we dont spend time in the rooms!! The only down side to the experience was the breakfast to learn about the Iberostar membership/time-share, the representatives took 2 hours of our vacation to end the offer very rudely. The representatives, really upset me and made us feel very uncomortable. DO NOT fall for the free offer associated for sitting though a time share offer. The representatives are extremely rude, and really ruined by R & R state of mind. I am on vacation, not interested in disrespectful, rude people with attitude. All in all, it was good a experience.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 29, 2012
Worth Every Penny - most relaxing vacation ever

Stayed for a week in late November. Beautiful weather and amazing beach. Clear calm turquoise water. Best organized all-inclusive I've ever been to. Impeccable hotel grounds, with palms, pools, flamengos, peacocks, turtles, tropical fish. Impeccably clean rooms, all with balconies. Great and plentiful food: lobster, shrimp, fish, calamari every day! Something like 6 restaurants to choose from. Fantastic entertainment team - great singers and dancers and hysterical skits. There are may be cheaper hotels in Punta Cana, but I feel like we got every penny's worth at Iberostar! Oh, also sailing, scuba, snorkeling and tennis available. There are babysitting and activities for children. Can't imagine anyone being unhappy at this resort! One advice - do not book airport transfers. We went with Olympus tours, the pick up was smooth, but on the way back, they insisted on picking us up at the hotel almost 4 hours before our flight!! (the airport is only 30 min away). Was a huge waste of the time we could otheriwse spend on the beach. If you have 2 or more travelers, just take a cab, the price is comparable.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Connecticut
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 25, 2013
We Already Want to Go Back

From start to finish: Cheap Caribbean did an excellent job organizing a great package at a great price. They provided us with all the info we needed in a timely manner. Olympus Tours is who Cheap Caribbean set us up with for transfers to and from the airport. All of our dealings with them far exceeded my expectations--helpful, friendly, spoke and understood English, punctual, concerned about our stay. They also were able to set us up on excursions. The resort itself is outstanding. We were almost exactly half way between the main buffet and the pool. Everything was beautiful, clean, well-maintained, and was better than I expected. I have an 8 year old boy and an 11 year old girl, and I was afraid the kids pool area would be too "babyish" for them. I could barely get them to leave it! When they did, it was to go to the bar to get a Shirley Temple or a Pina Colada. The beach is a stone's throw from the pool, so we had everything we wanted right there. The resort is really big, but everything is easily in walking distance. Some resorts require a tram or shuttle to get to the beach. Meals were in general very good, and the staff in general were very nice. The one exception was the Jambalaya restaurant, where the service was slow and the food very plain. Cajun should be spicy! The Japanese restaurant was great, and the steakhouse was pretty good too. All buffets were really good. I read about someone complaining that the chips for the nachos were stale, but hey, you're next to the ocean. They're going to absorb moisture. Don't eat them if you don't like them. The bartenders were not afraid to give you an honest shot and then some in mixed drinks. Make sure you try the Mama Juana; you'll be the Champion of the night! I had the opportunity to talk with several people--drivers, tour operators, etc.--that were not affiliated with the resort, and all of them said the Iberostar Bavaro is one of the very best resorts in the Punta Cana area. In summary, this was about the best vacation my family has ever taken together. We're ready to go back, and may just do that at Christmas.


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Las Vegas, NV
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Iberostar Braveo from March 4 to March 11, 2013. We had a most enjoyable stay and were treated very well. I think the the things that stood out the most to us was the fantastic staff and the food. The staff must go through a good training program because their service is fantastic and they bend over backwards to make sure you are pleased. After we went to the buffet restaurant we found no need to make reservations for the speciality restaurants. The buffet had everything that the speciality restaurants had and was very good quality. We have been to other resorts in the Dominican and none of them had the selection and the quality as Iberstar's nor were as fast to get seated and served. There were only two small things that we found to be annoying. On the first day of our stay at check in they treat you like royalty with a formal welcome and a drink. After you arrive to your room a beautiful fruit salad is delevered and they set out silverware.After we completed the salad I checked out the wet bar to grab a beer. I found that there were only 4 beers. I called service to have the fridge restocked and they told me be that we only get 4 beers a day. I couldn't believe it that after being treated like royalty they tell me that we are limited to 4 beers a day in the fridge.. I found this to be very much in contrast to what they had already had demonstrated to us. Last year we stayed at the Excellence and they were there twice a day filling it completely. The other concern was that on our first full day we had a written appointment to meet with the Olympus tour represenative in the lobby by the bar.at 11:00am. We left our place at the pool and was at the designated location at 10:45. We waited until 11;20 and finally left because they didn"t show up. We had seen other represenatives from other tour companies there that advertised their presence with Placards.We returned to the pool where found that we lost our seats and spent the rest of the afternoon sitting on the cement next to the pool. Be advised this is a family friendly resort so there are children but it was never too loud or annoying. If you are a golfer this looks like a great place to go because there is an 18 hole golf course right on the property. Last year we had to hire a cab and travel about an hour to get to a course. Overall I would have to say Iberostar is an excellant value and we would go back.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Eaton Rapids Mi
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 6, 2010
Terrific experience!

My husband and I had never vacationed in the Caribbean before, nor had we ever stayed at an all-inclusive resort. We were not sure what to expect, but now are fans of both and would definitely vacation in the Caribbean again and would definitely stay at an Iberostar again. The resort was immaculate and all of our cares were attended to. We were there for a destination wedding, so the needs and interests of the attendees varied greatly. But everyone seemed to find activities that suited them. Some friends spent the whole day at the beach or pool. My husband and I took walks on the beach and around the resort between breakfast and lunch, and spent the late afternoons at the beach. Other friends took advantage of day trips. It was nice to be able to catch up with friends and socialize at meal time, yet "do our own thing" the rest of the day. We're thinking this would be a perfect venue for a family reunion. In the evening, my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the variety show while sipping mojitos and enjoying the nighttime cool breezes. The food at both the buffets and restaurants was diverse and delicious - since we are not red meat eaters, we were very happy to see the variety of seafood and vegetarian dishes. And at all meals, we were able to enjoy unique tropical fruits. My husband and I can't wait to take advantage of another 3-4 day trip to an Iberostar!

Terrific experience! Terrific experience!
7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 16, 2010
Best Purchase Ever

Awesome resort. This was the first time I was out of the country. The resort is absoutely georgus. The people were extremely friendly...one was nicer than the next. The beach is breath taking. The grounds are beautiful along with the peacocks . The rooms are very spacious. I love the fact of the seperate living room. I have been back 3 times since first going in 2006. This was a great place to spend my birthday.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: West Haven, CT
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations