All

Hotel Cozumel and Resort Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cozumel Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 79 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
3.8
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.5
3.9 out of 5
"Resort was well kept and clean. Service was excellent with plenty of activities to participate in if you choose. Staff was more than friendly and attentive." – AndreandAmberly
72 out of 86 (84%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Pool View From Room 1126 Beach club at Hotel Cozumel From the sea side....beautiful!! V Hotel Cozumel sunset Feb. 2014 Beach View Pool Area Beach Area View of the pool from my room Nice areas to dive or snorkel right from the Beach Club

All Hotel Cozumel and Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 79 reviews. Sort by
April 24, 2011
A great value - better than expected

Staying for 6 nights during April 2011 for scuba diving I felt this resort, especially since I got it with all inclusive for $90/night was a great value. The resort attracts a lot of divers has a nice large pool area with more than enough loungers and for the rocky/coral shoreline of Cozumel has a nice, we furnished but sparsely used beach area with several very nice, safe, easy ocean entrances offering excellent free snorkeling along the coral bank shoreline, that drops about 15 feet to the bottom. There is a large variety of fish, but not huge schools of fish and coral along the shoreline - I have paid for much worse snorkeling - the snorkeling here is pretty good and of course free. This is not a resort for large stretches of sandy beach - as far as that goes Cozumel is not the place for that. This is also not a party atmosphere resort - there is an entertainment/activities crew that keeps things going in the main pool area all day, but no loud commentary or music baring our and the night entertainment seemed to be provided by groups that travel the resorts of the area and that usually started around 8:45 and was over by 9:30. I got the all inclusive at such a low rate - I calculate it $20 that it was well worth it. You might also find the all-inclusive a decent value at up to $35 per person. Like any resort if you want strong drinks order double - everyone knows what that is - or drink tequila shots which they will gladly pour until you shout stop. If you are expecting special, unique top shelf liquor brands or wine you won't get that here. The bartenders are few but efficient for this small resort and you rarely have to wait long for service, or for an attendant to come by offering drink service - order two of each if you want to have a drink at hand all the time. The food is always buffet and as good or better than what you would expect at an inexpensive all-inclusive. I especially liked several of the soups that I found during the week. Fresh grilled tacos were available each day for lunch - varying from fish one day to pork the nest and there was always a nice fish preparation on the food line. At night there was always a special meat - turkey one night - fish another, pork roast another......if you don't want the all inclusive, this resort is at the edge of town, and 10 minutes of easy walking along the shoreline highway you can be at a variety if shopping and eating, and party bars. It seemed a lot of people preferred to walk out from the evening and Cozumel is very safe for tourists both night and day, especially in this area. This resort is popular with divers - both for instruction and going on dive excursions. The on site dive shop has competitive prices for large boats or small fast boat groups plus the resort allows other dive shops to use their dock to pick you up and drop you off. My favorite dive shop, Scuba Mau, small groups of 6 divers or less, is off site - about a mile away but they picked me up and dropped me off at Hotel Cozumel dock each day. Great for divers, relaxation, base of operations to see and do Cozumel stuff - nice accommodations, good service and decent food and drinks if you get this resort at what you feel is a good price compared to others in the area. If ll you want is a nice fancy new resort and beach to hang out with a lot of other loungers this(and probably Cozumel) is probably not the place for you. I enjoyed using and relaxing by the pool and the beach front, frequently almost on my own - just enjoying the weather , scenery and comings and goings. I stayed here solo while my wife was on another trip that I didn't want to join in on. If you have specific questions or would like more details feel free to contact me and I'll see if I can assist you in deciding if this resort fits for you.


59 of 60 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Utah
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 4, 2013
Location on a budget

Hotel Cozumel & Resort is a budget minded hotel. I would place it in the category of an upgraded Motel 6 or Holiday Inn. If you are looking for a clean, safe, hotel close to town with basic amenities, this is your hotel, especially if you are into diving. Pros: Price. The rooms are clean with free WIFI and offer your basic hotel amenities (shampoo, soaps, and lotions). Location. Hotel Coz is located about a ¼ mile from a grocery store and an approximate mile from downtown. It is a safe and easy walk, saving money on the cabs (appx $6 each way for 2 to 4 people). Beach area. Adequate and clean beach area with plenty of beach chairs (note: no direct beach entry into water due to coral/rocks). Bar(s). Three bars, plus restaurant, which serve alcohol. Good selection of free general hard alcohol and beer with top shelf having a slight fee. Staff. Did not run into any issues and was always met with a smile and sincere greeting. Pool area. Very large pool with hot tub. Neutral (to good): Food. All inclusive is great, especially since you don’t have to worry about walking to town after diving. However the selection is limited and after three days, does get kind of monotonous. Breakfast is great and includes an omelet bar and fresh fruit and dinner usually having some type of primary meal (roast beef, turkey, ect...). Cons: Entertainment. If anything could need improving was the entertainment. Not everyone wants to take a cab or walk into town every night, especially if you have things to do in the early morning. Bingo, a small stage show which include audience members didn’t quite cut it. But I guess for the price, you can’t complain too much. Overall, this is my second time staying at the hotel. I would go back. However, for new customers, if you are looking for gold plated soap dishes, exclusive boutiques, Las Vegas style entertainment and fancy five star meals served on fine china you might be disappointed. Hope this helps.


26 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 2, 2013
Wonderful Stay at a beautiful place

Very nice, very clean, friendly staff, beautiful pool, comfortable room. Tunnel to private beach. Service was excellent. This is a very small thing, but the only suggestion I have is replace the beach chairs. they are fine, but the recline adjustments are broken on almost all of them, so all you can do is lie down, not sit up and look at the beautiful water. Yes a very small thing. Everything else was PERFECT.

Beach View
10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Indianapolis, IN
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 7, 2011
Hotel Cozumel Resort

5th stay at Hotel Cozumel Resort in 4 years. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, the drinks are decent, the food is typical buffet in Mexico. The food is plentiful, hot food is hot & cold food is cold, but it doesn't vary much through the course of the week. We are divers and not food critics, so the place works for us. The majority of dive shops pick you up at the hotel pier, but check with your specific operator to confirm that they will. Location is a short walk to town, about 15 minutes, or short cab ride, about $5 U.S. We walk almost everywhere we go in Cozumel and do not fear for our safety. Restaurants are plentiful and vary from $6 U.S. for lunch to $30 or more for dinner, if you want to try other dining options. The view is wonderful without the cruise ships directly in front of you at sunset. The hotel is about 1/2 way between the 2 primary cruise ship piers. We did not see it being used yet, but a new car and truck ferry pier has just been built south of the hotel and that could change the ambiance over time. Three weddings took place at the hotel the week of June 19 while we were there. No one was displaced or put out for any of the proceedings. Would we go there again? Yes. Wait, no. We would never go there again. If we recommend it you might book my room. Wink-Wink!


12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: menasha, wi
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 16, 2016
Great Vacation!

This was different from any of our previous vacations - no white sand beaches sloping into the water. Instead, we were surrounded by reefs. We snorkeled and saw fish and baby octopi and a homemade Mayan ruin! I would definitely recommend this experience to anyone loving the water. The beach was a short walk from the hotel, using a passage under the street. Very easy to do or you could cross at street level. The food was good, again, different from the large resorts, and we didn't leave hungry. We liked the homeyness of this smaller resort - only 180 rooms. The nightly performance outside by the pool was very entertaining and we won the volleyball match (thanks to Julio being on our team)!. Everyday they have something going on. I can highly recommend their Miami Vice drink! All the wait staff, hotel staff, front desk, bell desk, everyone, were very friendly and accommodating. Probably the best service we've had by far. Always polite and although Spanish is their native language, we had no problems communicating. Again a very different experience, but, well worth it! #CheapCarribean


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: St Louis MO
Age: 55-64

March 4, 2013
9th Stay at Hotel Cozumel

We have been a fan of Hotel Cozumel since first staying there with our 3 teen-aged kids in 2000 when they received their open water certification from Dive Paradise (who has a shop on the hotel's beach front). At that time it was called Costa Club. (I am a diver and my wife is not and we both love Hotel Cozumel.) Last year it seemed that some things were a bit neglected. Tubs were appearing old and a bit battered, faucets had the same appearance, over the years some of the paint jobs were not as neat as could be and paint had been slopped on door trims etc. Not big deals I know but, things I notice. This year, the rooms had been freshly painted and all the paint that had previously been splashed on the doors and trim had been freshly painted. The rooms had a fresh and clean feel to them. New tub liners made the bathrooms look much nicer too! Breakfast and lunch are always very good, but the dinners haven't always lived up to our expectations -- plus the fact that therr are so many good options to sample the local restaurants that we typically eat dinner at an off site restaurant. This year was different however -- the food served for dinner was very good as were the desserts served at all meals. Hotel Cozumel really stepped up their game when it comes to dinners this year! What can I say about service? Outstanding! From the moment the van dropped us off and we were "welcomed home" to the front desk staff and manager, the food staff, the bartenders, the house keeping staff (who leave a very creative towel sculpture on our bed for us to enjoy each day), to the activities staff. They all work very hard to meet your needs and treat us like royalty but yet friends. We'll be back as soon as we can make it happen!

Pool View From Room 1126
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Iowa
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 26, 2016
Kids,kids,kids

Went by myself for my 60th birthday for a nice quiet relaxing vacation in paradise. Cozumel is definitely paradise but hotel Cozumel Is not.i was completely surrounded by by loud kids everywhere. The restaurants, the beach area, the hallways, and totally took over the entire pool.i know this is not the hotels fault, I just wish l had known this place is strictly for families with kids.at least at the time l went in mid August. Will definitely return to Cozumel but will stay somewhere else.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Memphis, tn
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 5, 2017
Easygoing Resort

The resort was nice; they greeted me and my friend with a refreshing drink as we checked-in. We had to switch rooms due to our air conditioner not working; they tried to fix it first but then offered us a new room- we had no problems in the new room. The waitstaff in the dining room were very attentive and nice; the bartender inside was nice as well. The food is available, but there is not much variety and not that good- if you want authentic food, you'll have to leave the resort. The pool was refreshing; my only qualm is that it isn't handicap friendly- there are steps leading into the pool and the jacuzzi has no railing to hold onto; so, I'm not sure how people with a disability would be able to enjoy these areas. The beach area across the road was nice and relaxing. I wish the time limit on the snorkel equipment was longer than 2 hours. I was disappointed with some waitstaff/bartender who assumed I didn't speak Spanish and made derogatory comments about me and my friend- but I want to make it clear, that this was only 2-3 individuals; on the whole, the people were friendly. I would use this resort again and that's all I really need to say.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Shenandoah, VA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 2, 2012
Good Hotel for Divers with Excellent service.

This was our first trip staying @ Hotel Cozumel and resorts. This is a nice hotel, with excellent service. The staff is always very helpful and goes out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The view is ok, as it's not on the beach, but most rooms provide a nice view of the large pool and lounge area. If you have kids, the pool is a nice feature. However, if it's just adults traveling with you, there can be so many kids running around that it's hard to relax and enjoy yourself. Also the Jacuzzi is not exclusively available for adults and is hard to find time where it's not being overrun. They also close the whole pool @ 9pm, which makes it hard to find some alone-time without being trampled. Weekends are worse for being They do offer 3 locations to eat from. The pool area, Hotel dining room, and the ocean-side cafeteria. Although service was great throughout our stay, the food leaves a lot to be desired. There is not a restaurant in the traditional manner of speaking, but a buffet for all 3 meals and the menu is fairly repetitive and bland. Entertainment was a little disappointing as well. I understand that we didn't pay huge bucks for this hotel, but I expected a bit more than a lip-sync'd Broadway music with 5 dancers. For the cost, it's a nice deal. If you travel with kids, it works well. If you're a diver who just wants a bed to sleep on and all-inclusive, it would be great. (BTW, the dive-shop is very helpful even for beginners.) All in all, I would take a vacation there again if I had my kids and needed low-price rooms. But I would look elsewhere if it's just an adult vacation. -Ryan


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Salem, OH
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 29, 2014
We'll go back for sure!

Cozumel was one of the best vacations we've had, and staying at the Hotel Cozumel and Resort greatly contributed to the fun. Everyone who works there is very friendly and helpful. The entire hotel is very clean and well decorated. The two main dining venues are both very spacious and have a large variety in food options. Twice during our week there, they served the evening meal at poolside, which was a lot of fun. There is also a snack bar near the pool. There is nightly entertainment outdoors near the pool, and there is an indoor full service bar which is open only at night. The other bars are open all day. And to complete the package, there is complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel and the grounds. While our room was on the small side, it had all we needed, including two double beds and a small balcony with a table and two chairs.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Saint Cloud, MN
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations