All

Holiday Inn Sunspree Montego Bay Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 1,532 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
3.7
3.9 out of 5
"fair price for this what you can get, nice destination for family, entertaiment very well prepare...for all day long" – aida61
1,442 out of 1,799 (80%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
on the beach, on our anniversary This is the island, a popular day spot sitting on the island view from my balcony Birthday cake at the jerk hut! View from our balcony, building 6 second floor Dining with new friends Adult Pool View of the Resort from the Private Island Pic Of the island from the beach Stunning views room view Great service Insects in the bathtub View from our room Sailboat Private Beach jamaica sunset sunset view from our room Looking from the pool into the ocean. The man made island is SO cool! water sports area Viiew of the resort beach Violinist by the pool-Holiday Inn SNORKELING FUN! Beautiful double rainbow Yeah Mon' Tropical Paradise my little lizard buddy =) My friends at the fish Gallery Great beach A pic or the ocean from the Island. Lots of options for sun or shade! My beautiful Daughters Holiday Inn Sunspree Montego Bay View from our room Beautiful View of water from island Relaxing... Beautiful sunrise View from the balcony Sunset amazing sunset on the beach @ montego bay The view from my window Sunset on the beach COCUNT CRAZY! The shops across the street Paradise Morning view by the fitness center Barefoot Bar! pool area Beach/Pool Area Sunset from the sea over lookig Rio View from the island to the resort Johns Hall Tour Dinner at one of their many restaurants. walk out to island, no swimming required Ocean View Room View from 4th floor, bldg. 7 the private island at resort Great Family Good Times We chilling in da pool beautiful sunset..... Little Private Island on the Resort A place to relax Sunset the Blue Hills The beautiful ocean views. So pretty in the morning A slice of paradise! Relaxing Great swim up pool bar The beach right in front of our room..... Beach near lobby, island the beach enjoying the hottub Pool and Island A view of the hotel from the island Pool view Sunspree Inn Fun in the Carribean sun Yeah that's really the veiw Cute little island on the resort! Montego Bay Sunset at Holiday Inn Sunspree! A pic of the Island from the beach next to the resort. VIEW FROM OPEN AIR BUFFET Always something fun to do at Holliday Inn Sunspree Resort Ocean front view Girls Getting Wild Looking out toward the island. Beautiful Beach and Island beach area Sunset cruise a look over Mobay This was the view from my room Havinf fun in Main Lobby Our Favorite On the beach. The little island Resort view from restaurant Room for improvement Spent WA Sunset at the Holiday Inn the post card view One of the resort beaches- you can walk out to that island. The Island Beach! jamacia The Island The best bar and food Troydell and Monica Sunset at Holiday Inn Sunspree Manager's Dinner Great views of the pool and beach Great mini swim to island to relax beautiful water Holiday Inn View of pools from Sorrentos Gorgeous Views View from the sidewalk View from our balcony view from my room Sunset Sunset on the beach View from room 3316 The beach in the evening. Room View My Favorite Our view from balcony ocho rios We made new friends everyday Sunset by the beach-Holiday Inn The resort viewed from a boat offshore Our fave spot..by Jerk Hut Paradise A place to enjoy this is the life! Island at the resort Jamaican Sunset Out our balcony :) oceanfront balcony in bldg 4 room view One of my most favorite views at the resort...... Beautiful View from Room View from our balcony Wind sailing! from Twisted Kilt View of a morning rainbow from our room 7234, building 7, second floor oceanfront the resort The beach and island landscaping View of resort from the sea Beautiful Blue Waters children enjoying ocean time Beautiful pools beautiful view from oyur room building 6 So relaxing :) Boardwalk dinner SUNSET AS SEEN FROM OUR ROOM Pic from the resort's island fun on the water taken from my bed Dan & Deb Full moon over Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort Montego Bay On the beach Jamaican sunset Nice Sun Rise Adult only pool montego bay Beautiful Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort Montego Bay The Island Rainbow after a brief storm taken from my balcony. View from the island off of the island! view from beach area sunny day at Sunspree from our room about to go to the beach King Ocean Front Room View Nice Beaches Adult swim up bar Nightly Entertainment White Water Rafting Chef Tyrone with the Family Oceanside of resort Beautiful beach Paradise! Sunset from balcony!!! Loved it Island

All Holiday Inn Sunspree Montego Bay Customer Reviews

1-10 of 1,532 reviews. Sort by
January 1, 2013
Extremely Good Value

The Holiday Inn was an extremely good value for the money we payed. Was it a 5 star place, no, but for the amount it cost it was extremely enjoyable and we clearly were not expecting a five star place (rate it about 3.5 stars). This place also does not like you tipping people (Actually they ask you to not tip) which saved us a lot of money. You really don't have to get local currency unless you want to hit the town (and even then almost all people take the dollar. I give a detailed breakdown below of my experience. First, I compared this hotel to others before booking and also by talking to people in Jamaica who were there on vacation, taxi drivers and locals. I kept hearing from all (especially locals) that the Holiday Inn is the best value for your money. Their are places more expensive (Like RIU), but the quality and service are not up to paying the higher cost according to people who stayed at both. In addition, there are some nicer ones like the Sandles, Hilton, Ritz. However, they have around the same number of guest as the holiday Inn, but on about 1/2 to 2/3 less land which prevents them from having the space to spread people out and prevents them from having more dinning and things to do on site. Taxi to Hotel: Cost $30 (cash) each way. Might be a little more if larger group. Don't get a reserved bus where it is like $20 per person. Check In: Took a while, but we also arrived at a busy time. They did however have people bringing drinks to us right as we arrived. Room: They have seven buildings with rooms, each 4 stories. We had a partial ocean view room. It was a nice room. Nothing fancy about it, but it had what we needed. Also had a very nice TV channel selection and good picture quality. Room was also cleaned very well along with it being done in mid morning which was nice since we could come back after lunch and it would already be clean (really helpful if you choose to just spend the day on the beach). Only issue we had was our room faced the main pool/stage. This made our room noisy till about 10:30-11 each night till the activities stopped, so if you are a early sleeper ask for a room facing another direction (most rooms are not around stage area). Food: Was was adequate for what we paid (never had anything bad). They say you can't bring it in the lobbies or rooms, but that seemed not enforced (plus we got fruits/water delivered to us a few nights by the staff). The water here is drinkable (at least at the hotel), so don't have to worry about raw foods or how to get your H2O. Buffet: had decent stuff mainly, but always had a few really good dishes (mainly the local cuisine). It had a lot of options for each meal which was nice. The desserts were wonderful though. The Christmas meal was wonderful. Restaurants: These were the best meals we had. They are all included still and they allow you to range from a 2-5 course meal if you like (with seconds it seems being no issue). The portions for the appetizers are a little smaller so you don't over-stuff yourself (but you can always get seconds). They have three restaurants and I recommend you eat your dinner meals at these. The Italian place was amazing and was a good meal to relax and enjoy a quite time and was the surprise meal of the trip. The seafood place is good, especially if you are willing to pay a little more the the lobster and specials. The Jamaican one was also extremely good, though the deserts were so-so that night. Best part is, you can still hit up the buffet afterwards if you want. Grill: Basic american grill food. Nothing really that special or good about it. People liked the fried fish, but never had it. Snack hut: Ice cream, hot dogs, nachos, popcorn, etc. Good, but sometimes takes a few times to get what you want since they need to do a better job of making more food before it runs completely out and then making the next batch. Jerk Hut: Chicken and drinks. Was amazing and also unlimited food. Bars: Bars sometimes might take a minute or so to get a order in. They however though are strong on the ethanol, so be warned. We didn't realize to the last night, but they also have a local drink menu, so check it out. The adult bar upstairs is quite and more upscale, so if you are above 18, hit this place up. Also has TV, so if you want to watch something as a group good place to go. Pool/beach: Pool was nice and had lots of seating. It is cleaned every morning (including scrubbing). The beaches were wonderful. It was not that rocky like other places on that coast (*cough* Ritz Carlton/Hilton) and had nice fine white sand. The really advantage of this hotel is that they have low set buildings instead of tall towers. This means they spread over a lot more coast line for the same number of people which allows less crowded beaches unlike the other hotels. If you go to the edges of the complex the beaches there are almost deserted which was amazing (also a lot deeper if you enjoy a swim). They also have non-motorized water activities included and motorized if you want to pay extra. Mini Golf: A very basic course of 9 hole (with two holes to make 18). Nothing special about it. Tennis: Have four courts and rackets can get. Exercise center: Have a outdoor basketball, shuffle board and volleyball. In door A/C weight and fitness room with a good assortment of equipment and number of machines. Service: Staff were efficient and very friendly. At meals it seemed like they had more staff than needed which was very nice and made things run smoothly. This was one thing I was worried about since people had stated on review staff we slow and not enough. The only issues were the main bars, but really a minute or so wait not any different than back here in the US. Side bars had no issues and had same drink selections (if not more). Lifeguards are on duty 9-5 for pool and beach. House cleaning was prompt and very good. Our friends wanted a room change because they wanted to be closer to someone else and it was arranged and done on the day after we arrived with no issues from the staff. WiFi: Free in lobby $15 a night in room (less if you get multiple days). Also have a computer center where you can buy minutes (cheaper more you buy) if you don't want to bring a computer like us and need to stay connected for a reason. Excursions: We did horseback ridding a morning trip around the island. Hotel set it up and they have two desks to do that. We liked them both, little pricy but welcome to a tourist spot, what is not. They also have dolphin and other adventures. Just be warned the falls and a lot of stuff are over a hour away to a few hours away since they are inland. We didn't go into the city because we just found other things to do. We were told if you want Cubans, a store across the street sells them and in addition were told by guests to get a cab outside the hotel since would be cheaper by a little. Check out: took all of like 30 seconds and no surprises or extra charges.


1,307 of 1,322 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: USA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 28, 2013
Much better than expected

First – the preamble. We are a couple in our mid-fifties, and up until about eight years ago, vacationed only at all-inclusive 5* or better resorts. Since then, we’ve branched out into more “tourist” vacations, and cruising. This was our first time back at an all-inclusive since 2006, and we knew we were going into a resort rated as a 3 star. But, the price was extremely attractive compared to other resorts (thank you to cheapcaribbean.com). We were a little apprehensive after reading the reviews here, but our only criteria really was clean rooms, sun and warmth. The resort is a little aged, but every day, we saw examples of where they were continuing to take pride in the appearance of the resort, from patching the curbs outside the front, to painting railings or replacing chairs. We ran into a couple with young children (8 + 10) who have been going every year for the past six years, and they commented as well that every visit has brought upgrades and changes. The people are fantastic. I do not understand the people who say the service was poor – we certainly did not experience that. In every case, I was met with a smile and a warm greeting. The rum punch served by Vanessa while we waited to check-in were a welcome relief. The rooms are small, and the air conditioner in our room (1335) was so noisy you couldn’t have a conversation over it. I have every confidence that if we’d complained to management they would have tried to fix it, but we didn’t bother. We were only in our room to sleep, and we both wear earplugs anyway, so it didn’t bother us much, but it might someone else. The rooms, and the buildings were spotless. The food is resort food. After many years away from AI resorts, eating in fine restaurants while on vacation, and on cruise ships, the first couple of days were difficult to get used to, I’ll admit. Nothing is served hot. I am sure it comes out of the kitchen hot, but it doesn’t stay hot. Breakfast is a blend of North American (omelettes, toast, cereal and fruit) and Jamaican (fish, meat and vegetables.) It took a little getting used to but having fish and vegetables in the morning is actually a good idea! Lunches and dinners could have been great if the food could be kept hot. They did a good job of keeping the food coming out of the kitchen as the buffet dwindled. The entertainment was the best we’ve ever seen on a resort. Again, it’s been a few years since we’ve been in an all-inclusive, but one of the reasons we got away from it was due to the lack of anything to do at night unless you wanted to dance to ear-blasting music. But the Sunspree brings in different entertainment every night, and it was all great. A great surprise to find that calibre of entertainment in an all-inclusive. The a la carte restaurants were okay. Before you book any, find out what night the “Beach Party” is, and don’t book for that night, or you’ll miss a great meal. We ate early in a restaurant that night, but the beach party buffet was so amazing we had to eat some of that too. But, I wish I’d known about it, or that customer service had told us when we booked the restaurant for that night. The Italian restaurant was just okay (but we’re Italian so take that with a grain of salt!), the snapper at the seafood restaurant was amazing, Kenko (Japanese) is definitely worth the $20, and Da Terrace – the Jamaican cuisine restaurant was quite good. Be aware that you need long pants and a collared shirt, and no flipflops, to eat at Sorrento and Kenko. The beach was disappointing for us, but we can see why families love it. It is extremely shallow. Snorkeling is available, and is interesting on the far side of the island, but if you have dreams of running into the surf – it won’t happen here. I had to walk out quite a ways to get the water to my waist, and it never reached my shoulders – I’m 5’4”. Not a sandy bottom either – it’s either rocky – and I mean boulder size, or seaweed. Definitely water shoes are recommended. There are a lot of activities for kids, and the parents we met had no qualms about letting kids as young as six run around the place – there are lifeguards for the pool and the main beach. For those of us who prefer not to partake in the shouting of other peoples kids, there is an adult pool, and an adult beach, both share an adult only bar. At the far east end – there is a better beach, but there is no bar service there, but it is nice and quiet too. There is shopping right across the street, so you can get bottled water, or snacks, cheaper than in the hotel. Souvenirs and other stuff too – but be prepared to bargain hard. They’ll tell you that they’ll take 40% off of the ticketed price – that’s the price where you START negotiating, after they’ve taken off the 40%. Also, it’s cheaper to buy booze – regardless of what it is – at the Duty Free in the airport than it is anyplace in town. Learned that the hard way too. Bottle of rum cream was marked at $30, offered to me for $20, I got it for $18, and it’s $14 in the Duty Free. Bottom line: Excellent value for your dollar at Holiday Inn Sunspree, especially if you have kids, or are just looking to lie in the sun and listen to the waves. But if your Caribbean vacation dream includes running into the water and swimming, or even just playing around, go to Negril. One last thing - if you are worried about dealing with an online company like cheapcaribbean - don't worry. The service I received from them was fantastic, and everything was perfectly in order. No problem mon!


91 of 93 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Toronto Ontario Canada
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 30, 2012 Featured Review
LOTS OF FUN

Just got back from an 8 day trip from the Holiday Inn Sunspree. It was one of the best vacations I have been on. You can't beat the value for the price you pay. The resort is great for families or couples. If you are traveling as a couple, the resort offers an adult only pool and beach. This is where my boyfriend and I spent all of the vacation, and I didn't have to pay the high price for an adult only resort. We made alot of friends while there. Everyone is very friendly. The service was great and the rooms were comfortable. The buffet was good and you will have no problem finding something to eat. We went to the Italian restuarant and it was excellent. The seafood restuarant was ok. My favorite bar was the jerk bar. Everyday they had jerk chicken and pork. It was delicious. Troydell and Antionnette, the bartenders at the jerk bar, were so nice and so much fun. I would definately recommend bringing your own drinking cup. The cups at the resort are small. The only thing that was disappointing was the beach. They are not very wide and the water, even though it is a beautifiul color, has alot of seaweed and there are alot of sea urchins. I would highly recommend you bring water shoes. Other than that, I would definately go back to the Holiday Inn Sunspree. It is absolutely a great value.


44 of 44 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Stockertown, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 17, 2012
Holiday Inn Sunspree Montego Bay No Worries!

Thank you Cheap Caribbean for a great vacation. My wife and I traveled to MoBay on Feb.4 2012 and returned on Feb 10 2012. We were able to book the flights we wanted. The air travel went off without a hitch. Nice and smooth. Upon arrival in Jamaica a bus was at the airport and after a short wait for other travelers we were taken to th HI resort. The only hiccup involving travel was the 1 hour + to clear customs at Sangster Airport Jamaica. We arrived at an extremely busy time. Now to the resort. I was a bit nervous booking the Holiday Inn Sunspree MoBay due to the bargain basement cost and having read some not so great reviews. This was the first trip that I had planned without major oversight from the " boss " (my wife). I did not want to mess it up. Our experience could not have been better. Upon arrival to the resort we were promptly shown to our room.(We had upgraded to a water front room) Our room was in building 1B. It was your standard hotel room with one king bed. Being on the second floor we had sliders that opened onto a small balconey which afforded us the most perfect view you could ask for. The stunning blue Caribbean Sea and the waves breaking on the reef. Were we pleased? Ya Mon! We slept each night with the slider open listening to the ocean and enjoying the beautiful breeze. Our room was cleaned every day and if we needed anything all we had to do was ask one of the housekeepers. No problem mon. The resort stretches about 1/2 mile along the coast. We found the beaches to be wonderful. There is a reef infront of the entire resort. This being the case, the water is never more than waist deep and in most spots not even that. This was not a problem for us and we snorkled every day. We never had a problem getting a chaise, however, I did awake early most days and place towels and a book to keep our spot. The pools looked inviting although we never ventured in as we truly enjoyed the warm Caribbean. The food was good. It was not 5 Star to be sure but it was very tasty none the less. We ate in each of the 3 ala carte resteraunts and enjoyed our meals. We ate at the buffet our first night and each morning for breakfast. The choices were many. The resort had a Super Bowl Party with a barbeque type buffet. Other than a New England loss the night was a hit. The Barefoot Bar (burgers, dogs ,grilled cheese, fries and fish and chips) was good. Served drinks from 10 AM until close and food from 10 AM until 6PM and again from 10PM until 1AM. Nothing like grilled cheese and fries for the hungry horrors at midnight. The Jerk Hut served killer jerk chicken and pork from 10AM until ?. This was our favorite lunch spot. The drinks were generic alcohol brands(no Patron or Grey Goose here) and the beer was Red Stripe on tap. The drinks were served in small plastic cups so do your self a favor and bring along a large insulated cup or mug. The bartenders will gladly fill whatever cup you present to them. They will give you a heavy pour if you ask nicely(a small gratuity every now and then doesn't hurt) This resort for the money proved to be better than I had hoped and we are already talking about returning in the not to distant future. Thanks CheapCaribbean and thanks Holiday Inn Sunspree. I just might be trusted to plan another vacation on my own. No Problem Mon!


162 of 170 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Masachusetts
Age: 45-54

September 19, 2012
No worries Mon, its a good place to visit!

I give this resort high marks for its warm atmosphere, abundance of amenities, convenience to the US & its exceptional value. Flights were uneventful & the bags made it. Entry was a breeze. Remember to bring a pen. Never changed money because US currency is widely used although it doesn't hurt to bring a small calculator or make a conversion cheat sheet. Finding a cab was easy at the airport. Pre-arranging would have saved $5-10 but the convenience made it well worth it. I don't like hunting down an unknown driver with maybe a sign in the chaos of an airport taxis stand in Jamaica! Within 3 minutes of arrival at the resort, I had a cold rum drink in my hand. Within 5 minutes I was checked in, had cards for the beach towels, arm bands for food & drink and a bellman was pushing our bags towards our ocean front room near the adults only pool. The view from the balcony could have been on a post card. Tips were not expected but are appreciated. The service offered was welcoming and solid throughout the week. Give respect, get respect. The room was updated but the buildings have some years on them. Mid 70s as close as I can tell but had a great layout & style. The updates made it modern and the location made it great. Felt safe & rooms secure. The Wi-Fi was a little spotty sometimes but it wasn't bad. I only used it when using my VOIP app on my smart phone to call home (for free). Loved the snorkeling around the little island. Amazing clarity & many tropical fish in 3 feet of water... Watch out for the Lion Fish. Jimmy Buffett wasn't signing about this Holiday Inn! The food quality & choices never disappointed. I was excited to eat whatever local fare was on the menu each day. Many healthy choices and many that were just good!! The alcohol was better than I had read in other reviews. Name brands I know, just not top shelf....so it's as good as what I have at home. Red Stripe on tap at all bars... : ) Remember to bring insulated cup with lid for straw (like coffee mug) to 1) get bigger drinks and 2) keep in cold in the hot climate. They have the mugs in the gift shop but they're expensive. You need one in the tropics. Setting up excursions is easy & many of the cab companies waiting at the resort can help without the hotel taking a piece. I like a small van versus the cattle bus anyway. Remember to bring a soft cooler while travelling so you can save big on drinks while out (get free ice at resort). You gotta be ready to negotiate at the craft markets as they are aggressive. Bring small bills because NO ONE has change. They do business in US currency. Try not to answer their questions because they'll know your name, your kids names & your home town throughout the market....not to mentioned that you were eyeing that cedar wood carving in that other shop. They'll try to be your BFF to make the sale. Be shewed just don't be a jerk. You can't beat the prices, the culture, the good vibes and of course, the beautiful beaches of Jamaica. One concern I had was too many children at the resort because it was 'kid friendly'. I guess because of the time of the year, there were not many at all. The layout of the resort made it accommodating for all, so it worked for families, couples and the singles. It never rained the entire time we were there. I enjoyed the Holiday Inn Sunspree and if it wasn't for work, I could still be there laying out on a chase lounge in the crystal clear Caribbean clear water, watching the scenery, enjoying a cold beverage while trying to decide what, if anything, I should do later.... Why did I even both to pack that paperback novel? Was this resort perfect? No. But it was better than I expected. Try this destination, you will not be disappointed.


51 of 52 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Raleigh, NC
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 20, 2012
A decent value for a nice relaxing getaway.

We stayed 6 nights in the beginning of May and had a pretty nice time. The rooms were typical for a Holiday Inn with plenty of space for the sleeping area but a slightly cramped bathroom. The hotel was pretty well spread out across the resort, but no so spread that any part of it was a journey to get to. The staff was friendly and courteous, at least to us, and made sure to answer our questions completely when possible. Yes there were things that we didn't find so great, but only two or three times during our stay did we have to seek answers elsewhere. The rooms were cleaned daily, although not on a really regular schedule. We tipped our cleaning staff and she would leave us towel animals and what not. After the first day, she made a point to say hi and thanks for the tip when we would pass in the hallways. It wasn't much, but a couple bucks goes really far in Jamaica. The restaurants were decent, but only one was more than really good. Sorrento is a quaint Italian dining experience, with a good wait staff and really good food. Get the Bacon Wrapped Beef ! The other reservation style restaurants were so so and had their quirks... The food at the buffet has a decent variety, we never went hungry and always found something good to eat... even the local fare. Go to the Jerk Hut and as for Troydell (Troy) or Antoinette... They are great and the Jerk Chicken and Pork is really good there too. I want to see if they deliver to the states! The beaches are ocean are framed in by a reef that sits roughly 200 from the sidewalk that runs along the beach. The reef helps and hurts this resort. People that truly love an ocean experience will miss the sounds of crashing waves when sitting on your balcony and having your morning coffee, and body or board surfing is way out of the question. If you have kids, you will love the fact that the water is at most about 3 feet deep, roughly 80-85 degrees F, and since there are no waves, there is no Undertow to drag them away. A perfect beach for lounging in and snorkeling around... especially the small island in walking/wading range. We never had an issue finding a beach chair or two to sit on, but sometimes shade was at a premium... Jamaican sun = HOT. It was most comfortable in late afternoon - after 3 or 4pm. it didn't seem so hot then, but from 10 - 3 wear white house paint if you burn easily! All in all, we enjoyed the resort a lot. It's a Holiday Inn, not the Waldorf Astoria, so don't get your hopes up too high. If you're going to Jamaica to relax and go and do excursions and what not, this resort is the perfect place. If you're looking for butler service and champagne with caviar, go somewhere else. If you absolutely MUST be treated like royalty, this place is not for you. Humble yourself, go check out the country and have fun, the resort is nice to unwind at and will serve your hotel needs very well.


29 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 21, 2013
Great time in Jamaica

I'll list the individual likes and dislikes for future travelers: 1) Prior to the trip I tried to contact the hotel via email, but they never responded. I eventually called to confirm our reservation, and I was able to get a hold of Cheap Caribbean to verify reservations, but I really would have liked a response from the emails I sent to the hotel. Also, calling the hotel only verified the reservation, not the type of room we purchased. They could have better pre-visit service. 2.) We didn't have a "car" waiting at the airport like we thought we had paid for. It was a bus that we had to sit and wait for others to fill the bus. However, after I re-read the agreement for "private" driver from the airport to the hotel and back again, it said they could use a bus, van or car for the transfer. We won't get the "private" transfer next time. 3.) We arrived at the hotel fairly quick from the airport and from that point on, it was fantastic. We checked in very quickly to the type of room we had paid for, ocean front right on the beach. 4.) Room was very clean and the cleaning crew was very good. 5.) Very friendly, very helpful, always smiling and greeting everyone. 6.) They had different parts of the resort that had huts for drinks and different food. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were fine in the buffet. We had a choice of 4 different resturants to go to if we wanted to order from a menu. 7.) Entertainment was fun. They moved the dining to different parts of the resort on certain nights with bands or shows. It was a lot of fun. 8.) We did have some plaster fall from the bathroom ceiling on our last day. The room above looked like they had flooded their room from the bathroom so it had soaked the ceiling in the bathroom corner. They did call and offer to move us to a new room but it was our last night and we had had such a great time there we didn't need to move. It wasn't a big deal, they came and cleaned the plaster up immediately and we were fine. 9.) Overall, it was one of our best vacations we've had because we didn't need to leave the resort to have entertainment, or go to the beach, or find good food. Buses came to pick us up for different excursions and the security was very good around the resort. We plan to go back next year.

View from the balcony Sunset cruise
21 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Iowa
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 17, 2016
Great Time

All in all we had a great time. The service/staff were awesome. Always friendly, and would say good morning or good afternoon when you walked by them. The security was good to. The rooms are very nice, I didn't like tile on the floor, but that was not to big of an issue. Bathroom is extremely small, but we dealt with that to. Restaurants were really good, Japanese was a fun one to go to. Pools were spotless, grounds were immaculate. I was with my 23 and 21 year old daughters, and they loved it. We basically stayed on the adult side, the kids side looks fun but something always going on the main stage, and we didn't want to hear that all day long, but the kids were having a ball. All the negative reviews I read made me a little leery, But there wasn't anything like some of the bad reviews, most of them are so nit picky it's ridiculous. Nothing wrong with any of the food, rooms were spotless, staff was nothing but friendly and nice. We didn't do an excursion we didn't have enough time, so next time we go back we will. I heard the Luminous lagoon was great. A lot of the resorts are very far from the airport 2 hour drive one way, this one was 10 minuets perfect. Would definitely recommend this resort to anyone!!


21 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 45-54

February 3, 2011
3 STAR but perfect for us!!

Remember this is a 3 STAR hotel and you pay a 3 STAR PRICE.....if you want a 5 STAR hotel- that turns down your sheets and a butler -than stay at a 5 STAR AND PAY FOR IT...... We loved this hotel and would recommend it to friends. Rooms were clean and more than sufficient for the limited time we spent in the room. It was newly remodeled and nice . The beds were comfortable the furnishings were great ( a refrigerator in our room), and it was perfect! There is a ton of food, and being all inclusive, you can try new items that you wouldn't normally try. My husband is a picky eater but found something to eat every meal, and grazed all afternoon on the free ice cream and jerk chicken. yum.... The Hotel offers a FREE KIDS CLUB program. They are open from 9am to 6pm for a fun filled day of activities then again from 7:30-9:30 to show a movie to the kids. We did not use this service without us staying and playing with our kids, but many families took advantage of this. Wonderful care givers that are very friendly and professional. The pool was great. The lagoon area was perfect for sunbathing and sand castles. It was great for swimming when you have little kids (8 and under). Our family went out on the sailboats, paddle boats, kayaks, and snorkeled. The girls had their hair braided near the 'island' and they loved the wonderful bartenders that served them strawberry daiquiri's each night. A super family vacation that I would recommend!! We will go back- People speak English so there is no miscommunication.... A perfect place to spend in the cold winter months.......


87 of 95 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 12, 2013
Very Nice Resort

This was a very nice vacation resort. Our stay was in early February 2013 and the weather was magnificent. We stayed ocean front in Bldg. 5 (adjacent to the Jerk Hut (yummy food and drinks) and close to the Adult beach and pool area). Very quiet and comfortable. The rooms are adequate and very clean: comfortable King bed, sofa, desk, 2 night tables, 4 drawer dresser, adequate closet space with ironing board and iron, working safe, flat screen TV, adequate lighting. The bathroom is on the small side, no tub (I never use one anyway), but the shower is very large and the water power is very good. The counter space is good. The service personnel (al levels and all areas) are quite friendly and very accommodating. The TV and TV service could be improved (difficult volume control, fuzzy display and lots of unavailable channels). We do not watch much TV, so it was not a big deal to us. Still, if it is an amenity it should be in excellent working condition. The room could have used another trash can. The air conditioning worked well; however, it was rather loud. It did not prevent us from sleeping well. The balcony was very nice! The food offerings were really wonderful. The main buffet food was always plentiful, with good variety and it all tasted REALLY good! Lots of local foods and cooking styles mixed with other cultural foods. Hot foods were hot and cold foods were cold. Service personnel were excellent. Plenty of seating available, both under cover (but open) and outside. Extensive hours of operating for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Then there are the other food "huts" scattered about the resort. One offered hamburgers, veggieburgers, fries and drinks for adults and kids (all good). One offered hot dogs, popcorn, ice cream and nachos (all good). One offered Jerk Chicken and Pork and drinks for adults and kids (all good). There are 4 additional restaurants (Italian, Seafood, Japanese SteakHouse (cost $20 per person)and the Terrace). We ate at each one of these. I actually preferred the food at the Main Buffet to any of these. To me, the food was just okay at the restaurants. Except for the Japanese SteakHouse, all the restaurants are part of the all inclusive. So, they are good to try. Upgraded dress is required for the Italian and nice casual is okay for the other restaurants. We only frequented the adult pool and ocean areas. The family pool always looked very clean and sparkling, though. Had a cute lazy river, larger section and a jacuzzi area. The main entertainment stage is there and they had events during the day and the into the evening. Always great music playing. Daily events are posted on a board. Lots of water sports are available to participate in. We did not do any of these, so I cannot provide any comments. You are allotted a fresh beach towel every day and they are always available. There are two shops on the resort - clothing and gifts and neccessities are available. Prices are not outrageous, but they are not inexpensive. There is a spa with many services available. I had a full body massage at $65 for 45 minutes. It was very nice. There seem to be plenty of activities for kids (both little and teens). I can't comment on these as we did not use these. The lobby gathering area is very nice with plenty of comfortable sitting areas and a large bar. There is a pub stle bar upstairs in the lobby area that is very nice. All the bar personnel are very friendly, funny and happy. There is also a tourism office to book various outings and a business office with available computers (at a cost). The business office also is the photo area. Someone is usually taking freelance photos throughout the resort and restaurants (or you can book sessions). There is no pressure to purchase these photos, but they are available. This resort is right on the beach from one end to the other (all seven buildings). You just have to walk out of your building to a brick path to the water. It is truly awesome. The beaches are well-maintained and clean and the service personnel are always working to keep it that way. It's funny that even though there were so many personnel working, it was never, ever intrusive. The grounds are also well-maintained and very clean. Always plenty of room at the beaches or poolside. There is an unwritten and strictly adhered to rule that if you put a towel on a chair, noone will claim that chair. It works. I never saw one unpleasant event during our stay. We went on one tour (through a private taxi) to the Rose Hall Great House (White Witch) ($20 per) and the Shoppes at Rose Hall. Both were good. The Great House is a pretty neat place (lots of history and legend there). Very cool pub there with a "Witches Brew" rum cocktail. A few complaints. Only lounge chairs are available poolside and at the beaches. They could definitely use some upright chairs. The adult pool and jacuzzi were not kept clean. This was bothersome to me and I did not go in the pool or jacuzzi, although lots of people did. Cloudy water just is not inviting to me. The swim-up bar (with seating) is awesome, but not when the water quality is questionable. Our husbands sat there every day for long periods of time and did not suffer any ills; however, it just was kind of gross to me. Overall, I loved this resort and would go again. I felt very comfortable at the resort. It is beautiful and uncomplicated and friendly!

Little Private Island on the Resort View of the Resort from the Private Island
84 of 93 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Coastal North Carolina
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year