All

Holiday Inn Sunspree Montego Bay Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 440 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
3.8
4 out of 5
"Perfect for kids. The island and snorkeling around it the best. Love the jerk shack !" – Goodtimes71
385 out of 482 (80%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
The little island Cheese quesadilla view from restaurant Viiew of the resort beach Great mini swim to island to relax We chilling in da pool Loved it Wind sailing! A pic of the Island from the beach next to the resort. Central beach at sunset Looking out toward the island. Sunset Beautiful sunrise View from the island to the resort this is the life! On the beach So pretty in the morning View from the island off of the island! Sunset Fun in the Carribean sun beautiful water Stunning views Pic from the resort's island the beach Great service enjoying the hottub Island Nice Beaches Cute little island on the resort! A pic or the ocean from the Island. Lots of options for sun or shade! jamaica sunset Nice Sun Rise Yeah that's really the veiw Great views of the pool and beach Pic Of the island from the beach Holiday Inn fun on the water Sailboat

All Holiday Inn Sunspree Montego Bay Customer Reviews

1-10 of 440 reviews. Sort by
March 17, 2016
Great Time

All in all we had a great time. The service/staff were awesome. Always friendly, and would say good morning or good afternoon when you walked by them. The security was good to. The rooms are very nice, I didn't like tile on the floor, but that was not to big of an issue. Bathroom is extremely small, but we dealt with that to. Restaurants were really good, Japanese was a fun one to go to. Pools were spotless, grounds were immaculate. I was with my 23 and 21 year old daughters, and they loved it. We basically stayed on the adult side, the kids side looks fun but something always going on the main stage, and we didn't want to hear that all day long, but the kids were having a ball. All the negative reviews I read made me a little leery, But there wasn't anything like some of the bad reviews, most of them are so nit picky it's ridiculous. Nothing wrong with any of the food, rooms were spotless, staff was nothing but friendly and nice. We didn't do an excursion we didn't have enough time, so next time we go back we will. I heard the Luminous lagoon was great. A lot of the resorts are very far from the airport 2 hour drive one way, this one was 10 minuets perfect. Would definitely recommend this resort to anyone!!


21 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 45-54

November 23, 2015
Great value at a price

We travel to the Caribbean 2-3 times per year. Pros: Great value for the money. Great beaches and their island is awesome. Great snorkeling. Friendly staff. Best Italian at any resort. Guest service staff is super nice. Cons: Rude front desk staff. Worst of any resort, we have visited. Cold water. We had to switch rooms and even that one was hit or miss. Staff response to issue was delayed, but when they finally did attend to it, the guest service staff was very attentive. Very late maid service, 2 of the 7 nights not until after 4:30 pm. Had to go hunt for the maid and get towels. Hit or miss waitress service in buffet. Some are on their game. Some are burdened by getting you a cup of coffee. Great resort but some of the base expectations were not met, hot water, clean room and buffet level of service. We did have a great time, the resort is a great place to chill and recharge. Resort needs to update some basic management oversite and water upgrades.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 21, 2016
Never going back

When we arrived at the resort our room wasn't ready and they were going to give us a room with two beds when we specifically reserved a room with a king. They claim they upgraded our room, but we had to slam the door in order to get it to shut, there was not hot water, no refrigerator, and the tv only worked when it wanted to. The room was extremely noisy into the early mornings to add to everything else. The beaches were a huge disappointment as they were rough and dirty. The only positive about the beaches at this resort was the island that you could walk to and relax on. The food was great in the restaurants that reservations were needed for. The other restaurants were decent, but not something that I would enjoy eating for the duration of my trip. I was extremely disappointed with this resort and my whole experience. I am very upset that I spent the amount of money I did to stay at what I thought was going to be a wonderful resort only to be disappointed!


15 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 25-34

March 21, 2016
Delightful and enjoyable experience

This was my first time at an all-inclusive and I have to say I will NEVER go back to making my own arrangements! EVERYONE was exceptionally nice and extremely helpful. The resort was clean and beautiful. They really cared about the place and above all making you feel welcome! The entertainment was amazing. Drink and food was good and plentiful - never went away hungry! Would highly recommend this place to anyone. The staff was outstanding and very knowledgeable. I can't say enough. Best experience ever!!

this is the life!
19 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 28, 2015
A taste of paradise

My husband and I were so happy with this hotel that we want to go again! If you are looking for a place to regroup and just CHILL this is it. After traveling it's a nice feature to be close to the airport. As soon as we checked into the hotel we changed and got right into the ocean. The layout of the resort is so user friendly and everything so beautiful. If you like omelets in the morning you will see the most impressive preparation of them I have ever seen. Loved the fresh juices ever morning... just a treat! If you are expecting a lot of waves this is not the lace to go. The island that is just a stones throw from the pools and an easy walk was our daily spot along with snorkeling in the gorgeous turquoise water. The restaurants are wonderful but our FAVORITE was the Jerk Chicken Hut...... everyday for lunch we enjoyed the amazing chicken and pork along with a great drink. We loved the family atmosphere and assortment of activities available all day. FUN FUN FUN you won't regret it!


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 55-64

January 31, 2017
GREAT VACATION

THE ROOMS ARE NICE & CLEAN.. THE STAFF IS THE BEST. THE SNORKELING IS THE BEST.. WE SAW EEL, LION FISH, FISH EVERY COLOR OF THE RAINBOW. LIVE LOBSTER, SPONGES, SEA URCHINS,, STINGRAY,, RIGHT THERE ON OUR BEACH! LOTS OF EATING OPTIONS,, ALL GOOD ALL EASY TO GET INTO.. THE ENTERTAINMENT INCLUDED EVERYONE,, YOUNG AND OLD... THE ONLY PROBLEM WE RAN INTO WAS , WE HAD NO HOT WATER FOR TWO DAYS.. THE FIRST DAY WE LET IT GO THE NEXT DAY SOMEONE CAME RIGHT DOWN,, SAID IT WAS FIXED AND STILL NO HOT WATER.. WE CALLED AGAIN AND SOMEONE CAME AND THEY FINALLY HAD TO MOVE US.. ( THE FIRST ROOM ALSO DID NOT HAVE A FRIG) WE GOT MOVED AND THE SAFE DIDN'T WORK IN THAT ROOM.. SO AGAIN, THEY CAME RIGHT AWAY,, COULDN'T FIX IT,, SO HAD TO GO BACK OT OUR OLD ROOM , TAKE THE DOOR OFF OF THAT SAFE, AND REPLACE IT IN THE NEW ROOM.. THEY WERE VERY QUICK ABOUT SENDING PEOPLE AND FIXING PROBLEMS BUT THAT DOESN'T MAKE UP FOR THE TIME WE LOST ON BEACH TIME WAITING , FIXING, AND MOVING :( ALSO THE DRYER IN THE ROOM WE GOT MOVED TO ONLY HAD ONE SPEED...LOW.. SO DRYING YOUR HAIR IN TIME FOR DINNER WAS'T GREAT . . THE ISLAND IS AWESOME FOR SUNBATHING AND SNORKELING OR SEIMMING OFF OF AND THE GROUNDS ARE BEAUTIFUL AND WELL KEPT.. LOTS OF SECURITY AND TONS OF LIFEGUARDS... AND SOO MANY FREE ACTIVITIES.. WE DID THEM ALL ;) ALL IN ALL WAS A GREAT VACATION PLACE

fun on the water GREAT VACATION
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Branson, Missouri
Age: 55-64

May 19, 2015
Awesome experience

I had an amazing time. There were a few issues with the room (air conditioning and uncomfy mattress), which were taken care of immediately by guest services. Everyone on their staff was amazingly friendly. We made some great friends, had a beautiful wedding on the beach, and took some amazing day trips. The locals were awesome. There's a little shopping village across the street from the hotel that we stopped at every morning to spend time with the locals and get some souvenirs. The resort had a great location with respect to other cool places to go. There amount of places to eat and things to do was overwhelming. 9 days just wasn't enough! And the price was unbeatable! I'd definitely recommend to others.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Milwaukee
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 15, 2016
Absolutely wonderful!

My boyfriend and I stayed here from Jan. 4th-11th and our experience surpassed our expectations! When we arrived we were greeted with drinks and kindly welcomed to the hotel. The room was pretty basic but the balcony added a nice touch! The beach was impeccable, the service was awesome and the food was out of this world! I will be back and I totally recommend this place to anybody looking for an affordable stay in Jamaica! Warning: there are lots of kids but luckily there is an adult beach. If you love a relaxing atmosphere and awesome (unlimited) drinks then this is the place for you!

Absolutely wonderful! Cute little island on the resort!
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Ewing, New Jersey
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 24, 2016
Casual Family Trip

I had been to Jamaica before many years ago while single and really enjoyed it at an adult only resort. Now I have a family and wanted them to get to experience laid back Jamaica too. We chose Holiday Inn because it was well priced, convenient to the airport, family friendly and included water activities. When we arrived check in did take a few minutes in line and they did require a $75 deposit but they upgraded us to a junior suite without even having to ask. The suite included a sleeper sofa, looked recently remodeled and had vaulted ceilings since it was on the 4th floor. The beds were comfortable but the bathroom was very small. The only major issue with the room was that the air conditioner could never really keep up with the body heat of 4 people and the outside temperature with those vaulted ceilings. It ran 24/7 just to keep the room about 76 degrees. The beaches and ocean were very nice with crystal clear water until the kids playing in it stir up the sand. The water at the main kids beach with the little island was only about thigh deep. Kayaks were available to play with but you were restricted to a shallow long channel. They did take you out on catamaran rides further into the ocean with a guide when the water was not too choppy and that was a lot of fun, you just had to sign up and wait your turn. They also had paddle boats but they said the tide was too low the whole time we were there. Our favorite water activity was the included snorkeling around the little island. We saw lots of colorful fish and sea life. The water activities are only available 10 Am- 5 Pm so plan accordingly. Even the pool closed at 6 PM. The food at the buffet was ok and we were always able to find something there to eat. We also tried the Seabreeze and Jamaican restaurants. I didn't really care for the Jamaican food selection so stuck to their jerk chicken. It was good but not as good as at the jerk hut. That's the place to go for good jerk chicken and pork! They put the spicy sauce on the side so you can apply to your taste. The Seabreeze restaurant was good so we ate there twice. The kids loved the snack hut for ice cream cones and the bars for virgin daiquiris and pina-coladas. The quality of the adult drinks at the bars really varied epending on who your bartender was. Some of them were really watered down. If you are a beer drinker I would recommend bringing your own Yetti cold cup for their Red Stripe beer for bigger portions and to keep it colder. Guest Services was friendly and helpful if you needed anything. There were no harassing vendors on the beach. It is a non-smoking hotel but a couple of our neighboring rooms were ignoring that and smoking on their balconies and the smoke can seep into your room through the balcony door cracks so be aware in case you are sensitive to smoke. I would take the family back if they update their air conditioners in the rooms.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 13, 2015
The Best Vacation for your $$$

The Holiday Inn Sunspree Montego Bay was a great choice that will leave you with unforgettable memories, great food, friendly staff, clean resort and plenty to do for adults/kids. The best part is that this resort is affordable so you leave with money still in your pocket!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year