All

Holiday Inn Sunspree Montego Bay Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 506 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
3.8
4 out of 5
"This was our 2nd year going to this resort, very clean, resort staff is excellent, beach is nice, food is very good, but not a lot of activity's which is fine with us, may be going back next January." – PJC57
443 out of 557 (80%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Stunning views Pic from the resort's island Sunset beautiful water Holiday Inn jamaica sunset Great views of the pool and beach enjoying the hottub the beach Great mini swim to island to relax Cheese quesadilla So pretty in the morning Lovin' the island! A Beautiful day Enjoying the Jerk Hut chicken On the beach Wind sailing! Island beach at sunset Beautiful sunrise We chilling in da pool Island Great service Central beach at sunset The little island Cute little island on the resort! fun on the water Balcony view! Sailboat Nice Sun Rise A pic of the Island from the beach next to the resort. this is the life! Looking out toward the island. Loved it Viiew of the resort beach Sunset View from the island off of the island! View from the island to the resort Fun in the Carribean sun A pic or the ocean from the Island. Lots of options for sun or shade! view from restaurant Pic Of the island from the beach Yeah that's really the veiw Nice Beaches

All Holiday Inn Sunspree Montego Bay Customer Reviews

1-10 of 506 reviews. Sort by
January 31, 2017
GREAT VACATION

THE ROOMS ARE NICE & CLEAN.. THE STAFF IS THE BEST. THE SNORKELING IS THE BEST.. WE SAW EEL, LION FISH, FISH EVERY COLOR OF THE RAINBOW. LIVE LOBSTER, SPONGES, SEA URCHINS,, STINGRAY,, RIGHT THERE ON OUR BEACH! LOTS OF EATING OPTIONS,, ALL GOOD ALL EASY TO GET INTO.. THE ENTERTAINMENT INCLUDED EVERYONE,, YOUNG AND OLD... THE ONLY PROBLEM WE RAN INTO WAS , WE HAD NO HOT WATER FOR TWO DAYS.. THE FIRST DAY WE LET IT GO THE NEXT DAY SOMEONE CAME RIGHT DOWN,, SAID IT WAS FIXED AND STILL NO HOT WATER.. WE CALLED AGAIN AND SOMEONE CAME AND THEY FINALLY HAD TO MOVE US.. ( THE FIRST ROOM ALSO DID NOT HAVE A FRIG) WE GOT MOVED AND THE SAFE DIDN'T WORK IN THAT ROOM.. SO AGAIN, THEY CAME RIGHT AWAY,, COULDN'T FIX IT,, SO HAD TO GO BACK OT OUR OLD ROOM , TAKE THE DOOR OFF OF THAT SAFE, AND REPLACE IT IN THE NEW ROOM.. THEY WERE VERY QUICK ABOUT SENDING PEOPLE AND FIXING PROBLEMS BUT THAT DOESN'T MAKE UP FOR THE TIME WE LOST ON BEACH TIME WAITING , FIXING, AND MOVING :( ALSO THE DRYER IN THE ROOM WE GOT MOVED TO ONLY HAD ONE SPEED...LOW.. SO DRYING YOUR HAIR IN TIME FOR DINNER WAS'T GREAT . . THE ISLAND IS AWESOME FOR SUNBATHING AND SNORKELING OR SEIMMING OFF OF AND THE GROUNDS ARE BEAUTIFUL AND WELL KEPT.. LOTS OF SECURITY AND TONS OF LIFEGUARDS... AND SOO MANY FREE ACTIVITIES.. WE DID THEM ALL ;) ALL IN ALL WAS A GREAT VACATION PLACE

fun on the water GREAT VACATION
10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Branson, Missouri
Age: 55-64

May 28, 2015
A taste of paradise

My husband and I were so happy with this hotel that we want to go again! If you are looking for a place to regroup and just CHILL this is it. After traveling it's a nice feature to be close to the airport. As soon as we checked into the hotel we changed and got right into the ocean. The layout of the resort is so user friendly and everything so beautiful. If you like omelets in the morning you will see the most impressive preparation of them I have ever seen. Loved the fresh juices ever morning... just a treat! If you are expecting a lot of waves this is not the lace to go. The island that is just a stones throw from the pools and an easy walk was our daily spot along with snorkeling in the gorgeous turquoise water. The restaurants are wonderful but our FAVORITE was the Jerk Chicken Hut...... everyday for lunch we enjoyed the amazing chicken and pork along with a great drink. We loved the family atmosphere and assortment of activities available all day. FUN FUN FUN you won't regret it!


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 55-64

March 17, 2016
Great Time

All in all we had a great time. The service/staff were awesome. Always friendly, and would say good morning or good afternoon when you walked by them. The security was good to. The rooms are very nice, I didn't like tile on the floor, but that was not to big of an issue. Bathroom is extremely small, but we dealt with that to. Restaurants were really good, Japanese was a fun one to go to. Pools were spotless, grounds were immaculate. I was with my 23 and 21 year old daughters, and they loved it. We basically stayed on the adult side, the kids side looks fun but something always going on the main stage, and we didn't want to hear that all day long, but the kids were having a ball. All the negative reviews I read made me a little leery, But there wasn't anything like some of the bad reviews, most of them are so nit picky it's ridiculous. Nothing wrong with any of the food, rooms were spotless, staff was nothing but friendly and nice. We didn't do an excursion we didn't have enough time, so next time we go back we will. I heard the Luminous lagoon was great. A lot of the resorts are very far from the airport 2 hour drive one way, this one was 10 minuets perfect. Would definitely recommend this resort to anyone!!


21 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 45-54

October 17, 2016
Disappointed

The front desk staff was extremely rude upon check in. In fact I would say 70% of the staff is rude and just don't care. The power kept going out at the resort. No power means no air. So you had no where at all to cool off. The day before we were to leave the power was off all day. They ran out of food. I have been to Jamaica before and understand how poor the country is. But that is no excuse to be rude to the guests. We paid for an upgrade with a balcony facing the ocean. The lady at the front desk said it was upon availability so if you paid extra you may not get it anyway. So she gave us a room right in front of the kids play area. As we were unpacking we noticed the toilet leaking from the bottom. It was now time to go check in with the Amex rep so we told her about the room being right in front of the kids play area and explained we were there for our 21st anniversary then told her about the toilet. She jumped right up and got us in a different room with a beautiful view. But from that moment on the lady at the front desk was just horrible to deal with. My husband ordered me some flowers for me for our anniversary. That seemed to make the front desk lady mad again. The flowers were suppose to be delivered to the room but instead she called my husband and told him if he wanted them he better come get them. I will come back to Jamaica to see friends that live here but I will never return to this resort. I am looking forward to going home tomorrow.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Phoenix Arizona
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 17, 2017
Interesting

Where do I begin...arrived at this resort about 4-430p...to be told our room wasn't ready yet. From there we were asked to fill out paperwork by this time the room still wasn't ready. So we were told that they had another room for us available. I'm thinking great!! Then we found out that they down graded our room from what we originally had. No, I need the room I requested during booking. No problem, we have a nice room available. I wouldn't use the word nice to describe the room we were given. The beds are HARD, bathroom miniature (no lie), no amenities added to the room at all, besides a safe that didn't work. Did I mention the phone never worked the 7 days we were there. They came and fixed the safe but couldn't fix the phone. So when I needed anything we had to walk to the main lobby. The food was the same almost everyday and only average. They did offer a grill and jerk hut on the resort that was pretty good! The resort itself outside of the rom was ok...There were a lot of families (kid friendly resort) which was great. The staff was friendly, including lifeguards. Live entertainment, a kid center, and an adult only section is available (believe all close at 6p). We weee a little disgusted with some of the issues listed but made the best of the vacation. Several power outages throughout the vacation also, short time however still occurred. I would definitely visit Montego Bay again but wouldn't return back to the Holiday Inn. I never take the time to make a review but I find reviews are useful when booking a trip. I hope this will help someone else.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Chicago, Illinois
Age: 35-44

June 30, 2017
June 2017

The short story: This is a great place for families. It is our second visit and it did not disappoint. We are glad we came back and we would highly recommend it, all seven of us that went. The longer story: Hotel - the resort is clean, safe, and as advertised. It is great for families, so if you are a party-seeker, this is not for you. The rooms are clean and bug free. We always had hot water and strong water pressure. Can't comment on TV because we didn't use it. Staff - almost everyone is friendly and helpful. Even the lawn maintenance guy stopped us and asked how our trip was going. Yes, you have some grumps, but compare this to any hotel in the USA! The bartenders were very fun if you got personal and actually talked to them as opposed to some patrons who assumed they should just be served. My advice, talk to the staff like humans and have fun and your visit will be 100x better. Dining - the restaurants are as advertised. All good, although we didn't have Japanese since we are not huge fans of it. Yes, you have to wear dress pants to the Italian and yes, you can't wear swim suits to the other formal places. If this is a hang up, I suggest never leaving home because you will probably never be happy anywhere. Dressing up a little really adds a nice formal touch to the meals and you will be glad you did. All the food we had, even at the buffet, was great. Beach and Ocean - again, great for all ages. My Dad can't walk too good so this worked out perfect since there was almost no waves. He easily enjoyed the ocean. So did wae since we could throw football or snorkel. And yes, the snorkeling is fantastic. My advice - bring your own snorkeling gear so you don't have to pray there are any to borrow from the hotel. Overall - Just go. This is a great hotel at a great price. Will you be pampered like a princess and have drinks constantly shoved into your hand or waited on hand and foot? No, but then again, look at the price of what you are paying and the value is incredible.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Mertzotnw, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 21, 2016
Delightful and enjoyable experience

This was my first time at an all-inclusive and I have to say I will NEVER go back to making my own arrangements! EVERYONE was exceptionally nice and extremely helpful. The resort was clean and beautiful. They really cared about the place and above all making you feel welcome! The entertainment was amazing. Drink and food was good and plentiful - never went away hungry! Would highly recommend this place to anyone. The staff was outstanding and very knowledgeable. I can't say enough. Best experience ever!!

this is the life!
19 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 21, 2016
Never going back

When we arrived at the resort our room wasn't ready and they were going to give us a room with two beds when we specifically reserved a room with a king. They claim they upgraded our room, but we had to slam the door in order to get it to shut, there was not hot water, no refrigerator, and the tv only worked when it wanted to. The room was extremely noisy into the early mornings to add to everything else. The beaches were a huge disappointment as they were rough and dirty. The only positive about the beaches at this resort was the island that you could walk to and relax on. The food was great in the restaurants that reservations were needed for. The other restaurants were decent, but not something that I would enjoy eating for the duration of my trip. I was extremely disappointed with this resort and my whole experience. I am very upset that I spent the amount of money I did to stay at what I thought was going to be a wonderful resort only to be disappointed!


16 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 25-34

January 15, 2016
Absolutely wonderful!

My boyfriend and I stayed here from Jan. 4th-11th and our experience surpassed our expectations! When we arrived we were greeted with drinks and kindly welcomed to the hotel. The room was pretty basic but the balcony added a nice touch! The beach was impeccable, the service was awesome and the food was out of this world! I will be back and I totally recommend this place to anybody looking for an affordable stay in Jamaica! Warning: there are lots of kids but luckily there is an adult beach. If you love a relaxing atmosphere and awesome (unlimited) drinks then this is the place for you!

Absolutely wonderful! Cute little island on the resort!
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Ewing, New Jersey
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 23, 2015
Great value at a price

We travel to the Caribbean 2-3 times per year. Pros: Great value for the money. Great beaches and their island is awesome. Great snorkeling. Friendly staff. Best Italian at any resort. Guest service staff is super nice. Cons: Rude front desk staff. Worst of any resort, we have visited. Cold water. We had to switch rooms and even that one was hit or miss. Staff response to issue was delayed, but when they finally did attend to it, the guest service staff was very attentive. Very late maid service, 2 of the 7 nights not until after 4:30 pm. Had to go hunt for the maid and get towels. Hit or miss waitress service in buffet. Some are on their game. Some are burdened by getting you a cup of coffee. Great resort but some of the base expectations were not met, hot water, clean room and buffet level of service. We did have a great time, the resort is a great place to chill and recharge. Resort needs to update some basic management oversite and water upgrades.


12 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations