All

Holiday Inn Sunspree Montego Bay Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 406 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
3.8
4.1 out of 5
"Perfect for kids. The island and snorkeling around it the best. Love the jerk shack !" – Goodtimes71
360 out of 445 (81%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sailboat Sunset Looking out toward the island. View from the island off of the island! Viiew of the resort beach this is the life! fun on the water beautiful water We chilling in da pool Beautiful sunrise Nice Sun Rise On the beach So pretty in the morning The little island enjoying the hottub Cute little island on the resort! Pic from the resort's island Stunning views the beach Great service Wind sailing! View from the island to the resort Great mini swim to island to relax Sunset Loved it Great views of the pool and beach Holiday Inn jamaica sunset Nice Beaches A pic of the Island from the beach next to the resort. Fun in the Carribean sun view from restaurant Pic Of the island from the beach A pic or the ocean from the Island. Lots of options for sun or shade! Yeah that's really the veiw

All Holiday Inn Sunspree Montego Bay Customer Reviews

1-10 of 406 reviews. Sort by
March 17, 2016
Great Time

All in all we had a great time. The service/staff were awesome. Always friendly, and would say good morning or good afternoon when you walked by them. The security was good to. The rooms are very nice, I didn't like tile on the floor, but that was not to big of an issue. Bathroom is extremely small, but we dealt with that to. Restaurants were really good, Japanese was a fun one to go to. Pools were spotless, grounds were immaculate. I was with my 23 and 21 year old daughters, and they loved it. We basically stayed on the adult side, the kids side looks fun but something always going on the main stage, and we didn't want to hear that all day long, but the kids were having a ball. All the negative reviews I read made me a little leery, But there wasn't anything like some of the bad reviews, most of them are so nit picky it's ridiculous. Nothing wrong with any of the food, rooms were spotless, staff was nothing but friendly and nice. We didn't do an excursion we didn't have enough time, so next time we go back we will. I heard the Luminous lagoon was great. A lot of the resorts are very far from the airport 2 hour drive one way, this one was 10 minuets perfect. Would definitely recommend this resort to anyone!!


21 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 45-54

November 23, 2015
Great value at a price

We travel to the Caribbean 2-3 times per year. Pros: Great value for the money. Great beaches and their island is awesome. Great snorkeling. Friendly staff. Best Italian at any resort. Guest service staff is super nice. Cons: Rude front desk staff. Worst of any resort, we have visited. Cold water. We had to switch rooms and even that one was hit or miss. Staff response to issue was delayed, but when they finally did attend to it, the guest service staff was very attentive. Very late maid service, 2 of the 7 nights not until after 4:30 pm. Had to go hunt for the maid and get towels. Hit or miss waitress service in buffet. Some are on their game. Some are burdened by getting you a cup of coffee. Great resort but some of the base expectations were not met, hot water, clean room and buffet level of service. We did have a great time, the resort is a great place to chill and recharge. Resort needs to update some basic management oversite and water upgrades.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 21, 2016
Never going back

When we arrived at the resort our room wasn't ready and they were going to give us a room with two beds when we specifically reserved a room with a king. They claim they upgraded our room, but we had to slam the door in order to get it to shut, there was not hot water, no refrigerator, and the tv only worked when it wanted to. The room was extremely noisy into the early mornings to add to everything else. The beaches were a huge disappointment as they were rough and dirty. The only positive about the beaches at this resort was the island that you could walk to and relax on. The food was great in the restaurants that reservations were needed for. The other restaurants were decent, but not something that I would enjoy eating for the duration of my trip. I was extremely disappointed with this resort and my whole experience. I am very upset that I spent the amount of money I did to stay at what I thought was going to be a wonderful resort only to be disappointed!


15 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 25-34

March 21, 2016
Delightful and enjoyable experience

This was my first time at an all-inclusive and I have to say I will NEVER go back to making my own arrangements! EVERYONE was exceptionally nice and extremely helpful. The resort was clean and beautiful. They really cared about the place and above all making you feel welcome! The entertainment was amazing. Drink and food was good and plentiful - never went away hungry! Would highly recommend this place to anyone. The staff was outstanding and very knowledgeable. I can't say enough. Best experience ever!!

this is the life!
19 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 17, 2015
One of My Favorite Vacations

I'm writing this review for two reasons. First, because I was hesitant to commit to this vacation after reading some bad reviews on the Cheap Caribbean website. Second, because my trip was amazing. Both my boyfriend and I had very few complaints about anything on our entire trip. After reading reviews online, we worried that the food would be gross, the hotel would be bug-infested and run down, and the pools and beach would be crowded and small. Regardless, this trip was in our budget, so we went for it. The entire time we were pleasantly surprised by virtually everything. In regard to the food, although some restaurants were better than others, we were always satisfied with the food regardless of where we ate. There is a huge selection at the main dining hall, including plenty of fresh fruit. With respect to the hotel room, while it was not the nicest I've stayed in, it was just what we needed for the week. We did not see a single bug or have any issues with hot water in the shower. Finally, in terms of the beach and pool, we were always guaranteed chairs somewhere on the beach, and could often use 3-4 chairs to put our things on or reserve a spot in the shade. It was not crowded at all. Also, while the pools were spacious and gorgeous, we did not use either of them because the adult pool seemed to be near the smoking section of the resort, and the other pool was where most kids were. We didn't mind, though, because the beach was quiet and clean, and offered a nicer view. I also just want to note that our experience may have been so pleasant because of the season. We went during the second week of May, when the temperatures are in the mid to high 80's and many students are not yet out of school. There were a lot of elderly people and couples on this trip, which allowed for maximum relaxation time. Since the website asks me to be honest, I will include the few complaints I do have about the vacation. They are so small that it almost seems ridiculous to include them (but that may really show how happy I was with our vacation!). First, there are some restaurants at the resort that require reservations; one of which also has a dress code. The resort could do a better job of informing customers that these restaurants book up very quickly and are only open certain nights of the week. We missed out on a dinner at one of the restaurants we wanted to go to because we did not realize reservations were required. Further, my boyfriend did not pack a dressier shirt to wear to one of the restaurants because we did not plan on attending any fancy events or dinners while we were in Jamaica. Next, the cleaning service did not clean our room until around 3pm-4pm each day, which is quite late in my experience. This was often when we would come back from the beach to shower and get ready for our evening, so it was inconvenient that we would either have to wait for the staff member to finish cleaning our room, or shower without clean towels. Finally, the screen door to our balcony was incredibly hard to open and close! It seems silly, but we would have sat outside and enjoyed the view from our room had we been able to get onto the balcony more easily. Are there nicer resorts in Montego Bay? Sure...we saw the lobby of a few of them while picking people up for an excursion. But ultimately, if price is one of your concerns, the Holiday Inn will not let you down. I told my parents as soon as we got back that they have to go on our exact vacation! We loved our trip and don't regret a single part of choosing this resort. Although it was the cheapest vacation we could find, nothing about it seemed "cheap."


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 28, 2015
A taste of paradise

My husband and I were so happy with this hotel that we want to go again! If you are looking for a place to regroup and just CHILL this is it. After traveling it's a nice feature to be close to the airport. As soon as we checked into the hotel we changed and got right into the ocean. The layout of the resort is so user friendly and everything so beautiful. If you like omelets in the morning you will see the most impressive preparation of them I have ever seen. Loved the fresh juices ever morning... just a treat! If you are expecting a lot of waves this is not the lace to go. The island that is just a stones throw from the pools and an easy walk was our daily spot along with snorkeling in the gorgeous turquoise water. The restaurants are wonderful but our FAVORITE was the Jerk Chicken Hut...... everyday for lunch we enjoyed the amazing chicken and pork along with a great drink. We loved the family atmosphere and assortment of activities available all day. FUN FUN FUN you won't regret it!


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 55-64

November 25, 2016
LOVED IT!!!

Me and hubby just came back yesterday after our 1 week first time stay in Jamaica for our 3rd wedding anniversary!! This trip was far more than I expected. After reading some of the reviews on here I was a bit scared but it was an amazing vacation!! Let me start with our arrival into Jamaica. We were greeted by amstar cheap Caribbean staff who made us so safe n secure and transferred us onto the bus to our hotel which was less than 10 mins away!! Checked in at 2 pm when check in time is really 3 pm! Haha. The room was so ambiant.. we took a garden view room but it had a partial view of the ocean! Amazing!! Holiday inn has 5 restaurants and we tried each one of them! Make sure y'all book a day in advance for next days dinner! Portside serves breakfast lunch n dinner no need for reservations But kenko, terrace, sorrento and sea breeze u need reservations! Make sure u bring a fancy dress for sorrento! they don't allow casuals! We absolutely loved all restaurants. Kenko and sorrento being our favorite! But u gonna pay 20$ per person to eat at kenko. Not bad. The beaches are sooooooo clean and just soooooo beautiful!!! The bars are amazing!!!! Ohhhh the unlimited food n drinks. Make sure u try the rum cream! Tastes like coffeee!! And the piña colada with rum or vodka!! Stascha smith the amstar rep at the hotel is such a sweetheart!!!! The hotel is very kid friendly. There is also an adult only area With jacuzzi n a swim up bar called big smaddy Very nice bartenders! Live entertainment everyday and night!! Schedules are posted up each day to see what goes on each hour of the day. Free nightly shuttles to Margaritaville at 9:30 10:20 and 11:05 for those who love clubbinnn and dancing. Make sure u go on a Thursday or Saturday that's when it's packkkkked with people and real dancin goes on... reggae and American hip pop R&b n rap mostly We went on a Thursday place was crazy packed but that's a good thing! Then we went on a Monday there were literally 6 ppl in the club. Lol Return shuttle arrives promptly at 1 am or 2 am n u can come at either times of ur choice. I really can't write enough about this place! And for 1,700$ For everything this was the best trip ever . You guys just gonna have to go n see for ur self!!! The weather was amazing while we were there. It was not hot at all. Sunny yes. But due to the breeze from the sea and the trees it was just AMAZINGGGGGG!!!!!!!! So sad to come back lol. Thank you cheap Caribbean!!!!

LOVED IT!!!
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York City!
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 31, 2017
GREAT VACATION

THE ROOMS ARE NICE & CLEAN.. THE STAFF IS THE BEST. THE SNORKELING IS THE BEST.. WE SAW EEL, LION FISH, FISH EVERY COLOR OF THE RAINBOW. LIVE LOBSTER, SPONGES, SEA URCHINS,, STINGRAY,, RIGHT THERE ON OUR BEACH! LOTS OF EATING OPTIONS,, ALL GOOD ALL EASY TO GET INTO.. THE ENTERTAINMENT INCLUDED EVERYONE,, YOUNG AND OLD... THE ONLY PROBLEM WE RAN INTO WAS , WE HAD NO HOT WATER FOR TWO DAYS.. THE FIRST DAY WE LET IT GO THE NEXT DAY SOMEONE CAME RIGHT DOWN,, SAID IT WAS FIXED AND STILL NO HOT WATER.. WE CALLED AGAIN AND SOMEONE CAME AND THEY FINALLY HAD TO MOVE US.. ( THE FIRST ROOM ALSO DID NOT HAVE A FRIG) WE GOT MOVED AND THE SAFE DIDN'T WORK IN THAT ROOM.. SO AGAIN, THEY CAME RIGHT AWAY,, COULDN'T FIX IT,, SO HAD TO GO BACK OT OUR OLD ROOM , TAKE THE DOOR OFF OF THAT SAFE, AND REPLACE IT IN THE NEW ROOM.. THEY WERE VERY QUICK ABOUT SENDING PEOPLE AND FIXING PROBLEMS BUT THAT DOESN'T MAKE UP FOR THE TIME WE LOST ON BEACH TIME WAITING , FIXING, AND MOVING :( ALSO THE DRYER IN THE ROOM WE GOT MOVED TO ONLY HAD ONE SPEED...LOW.. SO DRYING YOUR HAIR IN TIME FOR DINNER WAS'T GREAT . . THE ISLAND IS AWESOME FOR SUNBATHING AND SNORKELING OR SEIMMING OFF OF AND THE GROUNDS ARE BEAUTIFUL AND WELL KEPT.. LOTS OF SECURITY AND TONS OF LIFEGUARDS... AND SOO MANY FREE ACTIVITIES.. WE DID THEM ALL ;) ALL IN ALL WAS A GREAT VACATION PLACE

fun on the water GREAT VACATION
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Branson, Missouri
Age: 55-64

May 19, 2015
Awesome experience

I had an amazing time. There were a few issues with the room (air conditioning and uncomfy mattress), which were taken care of immediately by guest services. Everyone on their staff was amazingly friendly. We made some great friends, had a beautiful wedding on the beach, and took some amazing day trips. The locals were awesome. There's a little shopping village across the street from the hotel that we stopped at every morning to spend time with the locals and get some souvenirs. The resort had a great location with respect to other cool places to go. There amount of places to eat and things to do was overwhelming. 9 days just wasn't enough! And the price was unbeatable! I'd definitely recommend to others.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Milwaukee
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 15, 2016
Absolutely wonderful!

My boyfriend and I stayed here from Jan. 4th-11th and our experience surpassed our expectations! When we arrived we were greeted with drinks and kindly welcomed to the hotel. The room was pretty basic but the balcony added a nice touch! The beach was impeccable, the service was awesome and the food was out of this world! I will be back and I totally recommend this place to anybody looking for an affordable stay in Jamaica! Warning: there are lots of kids but luckily there is an adult beach. If you love a relaxing atmosphere and awesome (unlimited) drinks then this is the place for you!

Absolutely wonderful! Cute little island on the resort!
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Ewing, New Jersey
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year