All

Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Los Cabos Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 429 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
4.0
4 out of 5
"I loved everything about this resort, we can't wait to go back." – Marla
428 out of 511 (84%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from our room! Lunch Time From the Beach hotel grounds The sister!! ATV Tour View from the room, balcony Beachfront massage tables view from our room Panoramic view of the beach The wonderful entertainment crew View on boat tour in Cabo San Lucas cactus gardens View from Oceanfront Lanai room bird sanctuary room On the beach looking West. Beach off the resort View in the evening on the beach by the hotel boogie boarding Relax and enjoy Relaxing at the pool. Cabo San Lucas (30 minutes from resort) Path between pools. Partial ocean view Full moon Oceanfront masssges Family pool Sunrise over the cabanas main pool bali beds on the beach room with a view Stain on bed when we arrived to the room Adult pool View from our room View from room ocean view sunrise from the patio off our room Hotel Pool area free bicycle tour every morning View from the outside dining Hotel Pics Oh what a night~

All Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos Customer Reviews

1-10 of 429 reviews. Sort by
July 10, 2012
Even Better than Before!

We have stayed here in the past when it was known as the Presidente Intercontinental, and were hoping that the place had remained the same, because we enjoyed it very much. We were surprised to find that it had not only stayed the same, but there were some surprise improvements (upgrades). When you find what you like, there is no reason to change. We love this place! What we like: We want a relaxing vacation at an all-inclusive that is quiet and serine. My wife and I enjoy a place where we can relax by a quiet pool, read our books (nooks) and sip on cool drinks without the loud music and screaming children. That is exactly what you will get at the adult (quiet) pool option at the Holiday Inn Resort. They have two other pools for the loud groups and the family groups, but for us (empty nesters), we love the quiet pool where no one under 18 is allowed (and the only music you hear is what is in your earphones). There is a nice wild bird estuary next to this area, and it is worth a morning walk through the path to see the wildlife. The bartender at the quiet pool 11 months of the year is Alma, and she is wonderful. She has been working at this resort since it opened, and mixes the best drinks in the area. If you have the fortune to have her serve you for your stay, be sure and tip her well at the end. We have found the rest of the staff to also be very friendly and helpful. On our last stay there as low occupancy, so it seemed there was more staff than guests. The food is very good, if not spectacular. Our preference is to get reservations for dinner every night, which rotate between the three main restaurants. 3 or 4 courses later, and you have had a wonderful hour long dinning experience with fantastic service (you wine glass never goes empty). If you like fresh fish, as my wife does, you will be in heaven. The menus offer a good sampling of various cuisines, and if you want more or something else, just ask (it is an all-inclusive after all, so get what you want). I suggest avoid the snack bar if you are attempting to watch your caloric intake! If not, have as much of the tacos, fires, onion rings, burgers and nachos, etc… as you can handle. Upgrades we noticed: This resort now includes free Wi-Fi though out the property. I brought my laptop as well a two BN Nooks, and enjoyed the connectivity in the room as well as at the pool. This is a definite upgrade over the previous daily fee (there are 2 free computers to use in the lobby if you didn’t bring your own device). The rooms had been upgraded somewhat as well, especially the beds. The mattress was very firm (too firm for my tastes)! I requested a softer mattress and they accommodated me by adding a nice eggshell-type pad – this helped. There also now a flat-screen TV in the room. Things to think about: If you are looking for a young adult party place with a rockin’ nightclub, this is probably not the place for you. There are activities scheduled throughout the day like most resorts, but it seems like families and those who want a quiet place to relax will be most content. If you have been to some of the top all-inclusives in the Caribbean or even in other Mexican resorts (five-star types), you might be disappointed. You are not going to find top-shelf liquor or wine lists, and there is no booze in the room (tacky if you ask me). What you will get is great service, good food, and a well maintained (clean) facility. There is much to do and see in Cabo (you need transportation), or San Jose ( you can walk there). If you crave night-life, get a cab and hit the nightclubs in the area. As for us, we will continue to come back to this place, enjoy the quiet of the pool, have a nice relaxed dinner, catch a drink in the lobby bar, and head to bed early (are we getting old or what?).


141 of 145 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Riverside CA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 2, 2016
We CANNOT wait to go back

My husband and I just returned from a week of bliss; relaxation and connection. This was the perfect trip at the perfect time in the perfect place! SPECIFICS and TIPS......... * The resort and grounds are stunning. This beach is one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. The rooms are basic but immaculately clean, as are all of the restrooms throughout the resort. The staff are helpful and friendly. * San Jose del Cabo is the quiet sister of Cabo San Lucas. It is about 30 minutes away by car (a $40 cab ride ) If you want quiet and calm this is the place. If you want to see and be seen and do the "clubbing" seen, this is not the place. * We rented a car for our trip. $3 a day through National, and we booked it through Expedia. This rate includes your liability insurance but not comprehensive and collision. We spent $11 a day, also through Expedia, for the comp and collision insurance. Check with your personal insurance company but MOST do not cover into Mexico. National would not rent the car to anyone without comp and collision and their rate was $30/day. Make sure and bring your printed confirmation of your rental car and the insurance. * Bring small bills for tipping. We brought $100 usd in ones, $100 usd in fives, and $200 in twenties. Everyone took our American dollars, even the street vendors. * Bring a sweater or light jacket and even pants. There was a constant light breeze blowing off of the ocean. It gets very chilly at night. * Pack and then take out half! This is a very casual resort. No need to dress for dinner. I wore shorts and a tank top most of the week (and sweatshirt at night) Leave room in your suitcase to bring items home. * If you are worried about getting your straw hat; cowboy, fedora or panama type squished in your luggage, leave it at home. These hats are sold all over for cheap, including on the beach in front of the hotel. * The "Mega" grocery store is within walking distance of the resort. It is an excellent and inexpensive source for sunscreen, a swim suit, supplemental food and booze. * San Jose del Cabo has a very charming town square and historic church. It is an easy 15 minute walk from the resort. On Thursday evenings the local art district offers food and beverages and keeps the galleries open into the evening. There was also art for sale in the town square with live entertainment. Try and do this on a Thursday evening. * We found the estuary trail was under water and not accessible. I am sure that the hurricane from two years ago changed the topography. * We swam in the ocean, be careful as the waves can be large. We saw other swimmers and waders in front of the Solaris Resort so joined them. During the week we were in the ocean a total of four hours with no issues. * In our opinion the booze is weak and perhaps even watered down. If your goal is to get tipsy it would be very difficult on these drinks. Enjoy other vacationers and the never ending drinks. As a suggestion go to the "Mega" and supplement with an inexpensive bottle from there. (A liter of Jose Cuervo was $7 usd ) * There are people trying to sell you all sorts of goods and services. Learn the term, "No, gracias" and be friendly but firm. I smiled and repeated that often and did not have anyone be overly aggressive. * We spent an afternoon along the boardwalk in Cabo San Lucas. It is a busy and chaotic place full of restaurants, t-shirt shops and people trying to sell you everything. Be prepared. Go all the way to the end of the boardwalk where the fish are being weighed, cleaned and prepared. It is a great scene. The pelicans and sea lions are everywhere waiting for the discarded fish parts. We loved it and stayed and watched for about 30 minutes. It stinks but worth it. * If you want privacy on your balcony, ask for the third floor. There is no privacy on the 1st or 2nd floors. * The food is decent and plentiful. There was always a salad bar and fresh fruit and abundant carb and protein options. Not outstanding but very edible and we had not complaints. * All three pools were open and offered something for everyone. The activity pool had great music playing and always something going on. * If you have a manicure or pedicure spray sun block will ruin the finish. As will the sand from the beach. Bring your polish to do a touch up or in town you can get a pedi for about $20. The resort also has a spa but I did not look at prices. * We were told that over the holidays the resort was 100% full. We traveled 1/21-28 and the resort was very quiet. We will chose this time frame again for the slower pace. * For reference I am including a picture of the view from our room. This was a 3rd floor room in building 5. In summary we will be back and we will, without question, choose this resort again. The grounds, staff and location are fantastic!!

View from our room Beachfront massage tables
30 of 30 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Colorado
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 13, 2012
Poor service, Awful food, VERY Far!!

First off, I traveled with my sister and we are both in our mid to late twenties. We are both not picky eaters, and not overly needy in service. That said, this hotel is cheap for a reason. It is horribly located. Its a 2 mile walk from the closest bus stop and 30 miles from Cabo San Lucas. Its a mile walk into the small town of CAbo San jose. The cab rides to Cabo are $35 USD EACH way. There is a shuttle that is about 10-20 USD per person, but it only runs until 4:30. The bus is a few bucks, but takes about 30 minutes and you still have to either walk the 2 miles or pay a 5 USD cab faire. Next, the food is AWFUL!!! I'm talking cant even eat it awful and this is coming from two girls who will pretty much eat anything. Poor quality, and just gross. The rooms are very dated and the beds are super hard. The towels are rough and old. The service is horrble. WE had no WIFI in our room the entire stay and were pretty much told too bad. We had to request additional towels 3 times before we received them. We were never told about any of the activities, the shuttle etc. You are left to fare on your own. Stay somewhere in Cabo, or at least on the bus route. This hotel is nt worth the cheap price. You will spend more on food and taxis....


31 of 33 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: SAcramento CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 11, 2010
Great value!

I just returned late last night from San Jose del Cabo and the Intercontinental Presidente. I was sad to leave Mexico after a week of walking the beautiful beach and seeing/hearing the waves of the Sea of Cortez crashing onto the shore. In addition to the hotel's location on the beach, it is also situated next to a sea turtle "sanctuary" operated by the Mexican government. It was a great joy to me to be able to see baby sea turtles hatching and to be able to participate in a baby sea turtle release ceremony at the hotel. The food at the Intercontinental Presidente was exceptionally good, especially the entrees at the Patio restaurant and the pescado quesidillas at the Caribeno restaurant. The hotel staff is well trained and service, excellent. My husband, daughter and I are looking forward to a return visit to Los Cabos and to the Intercontinental Presidente.


25 of 27 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Davenport, IA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 21, 2015
nice getaway

we were in holiday inn los cabos the first week of May 2015 the resort is very nice we had a quite room with ocean view,adult pool view and garden view all in one,room new with new beds and new linens white fluffy towels in room and in pools rooms very clean the all resort very clean.food in buffet not much of quantity more quality we found the meats all very tender and well done the same for the rest of the food only one gourmet restaurant open same menu for lunch every day the diner menu changes every nite,two nighs of Mexican fiesta Wednesdays and Saturdays we found it nice "remember you are in mexico so you better off with Mexican food" don't forget to eat American food you should do it in America.the resort as a big beautiful beach we can't swim in it because of strong waives and corrents but we can enjoy walks and see gorgeous sun sets any way the resort have three pools and we never had a problem finding empty chairs on the shade or in the sun.intertainment needs a lot of help the service around the resort was very nice special thanks to Ricardo Portilho that still young always had a very good smile on him and did the impossible to please everybody the same goes to Alma at the adult bar she is the most amazing bartender.I have to say that we found all the people working there very pleasant and helpful with the exception of one or two at the gourmet restaurant at lunch time that were having a bad day. we tried the massage we really enjoy it please don't accept the prices on the brochure go to the desk and bargain for a better price .Nice town about 10 minutes walk ,about 15 minutes by car you have nice beach you can swim and snorkeling we didn't do any trips instead we rented a car and did it ourselves the taxis are expensive to go any where and so are all the stuff that they offer with a car you can drive to cabo san lucas in 20 minutes and go around. The only thing to be carefull is that as soon as you arrive in the airport they will try to trick you into time shares with the excuse that they going to take you to your transfer to the hotel DON'T FAIL FOR IT demand your transfer .... Over all we had a grate time at a very nice price we enjoyed our vacation we fill that for the value was very worthy and we don't have any problem returning to this resort


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 26, 2013
Perfect location

The Holiday Inn Resort in Los Cabos is perfectly located. It is the last resort on the strip, abutting the beautiful estuary, or oasis on one side, and the emerald Sea of Cortez on the other. It felt very secluded and private, but was actually walking distance to the charming town of San Jose del Cabo, and to get to town you walk along a path through the oasis! The Baja California is very safe, and the people are very friendly and open. This resort exceeded all my expectations. The only downside is that the Sea of Cortez, although seemingly very smooth and tranquil, actually has a dangerous riptide that prohibits swimming. There is a gorgeous bay about 10 miles away where swimming is allowed. The resort has several great pools, and the adult pool is located just off the beach next to the estuary/oasis. This estuary is very large and is home to over a hundred species of birds. We saw egrets, herons, mallards, pelicans, and others.


15 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Leesburg,VA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 11, 2012
I Want To Go Back..

Pristine pools, delicious and plentiful food, great entertainment,beautiful,clean room with super air-conditioning..... It was so much better than I anticipated. Great, friendly staff. Interesting to learn about the Turtle program, and the almost extinct nesting tern habitat as well as the beautiful lagoon area.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: So. Ca
Age: 55-64

December 11, 2012
Jawsome

It was a last minute decision which paid off big time. Really good price for the exact vacation we had in mind. We went the 1st week of Dec. It was dead at the hotel so if your looking for crazy entertainment and a lot of bodies in the pool and everywhere else this might have not been for you. We wanted the exact opposite. Hotel was awesome, staff was great, we liked the food but we aren't picky and the drinks were flowing. A bonus for me was the tennis courts and free clinics every weekday morning to combat the vacation weight. We want 80 degree weather and beautiful surroundings to veg out in and that's what we got!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 25-34

July 18, 2011
Great place to stay

This place was very family friendly, clean, and enjoyed all the pools. Like the fact we could walk into town within a matter of 15 minutes. The walk was very nice and the view was nice. We felt very safe walking around and absolutly loved the amotsphere!


12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Grand Rapids MI
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 25, 2010
A Solid Value For A Family Vacation On A Budget

When my wife, my 5-year old son and I arrived at the Intercontinental it was just after luchtime, so the room wasn't ready quite yet. The staff took our luggage into a store room for safekeeping, and we were given our all-inclusive bracelets and a map of the layout of the resort. We were able to get a snack at one of the poolside cantinas and my wife and son found a poolside chaise on which to relax while I enjoyed some libations at the poolside bar. Later, we checked into our room and had a nice nap. The room was about averge size and it was clean and comfortable. The next day we were offered an incentive to take a voluntary "bump" from our room, as the facility was overbooked for that weekend. In exchange for our trouble we would be given a voucher for 3 free nights at any of the Intercontinental properties, good for one year. My wife and I accepted the offer and for one night we were whisked away to the nearby Solaris resort, which appeared to be about one star above the Intercontinental in terms of its amenities. Our family enjoyed a nice dinner and musical/dance review that evening. Upon our return to the Intercontinental we were given a larger room than the one we previously had and we enjoyed the rest of our stay (3 more nights). I would rate the facility itself as 3-1/2 stars, the food as 3 stars, and the service as 4 stars. In terms of overall value, I would rate the vacation package I received from cheapcaribbean.com as 5 stars. My wife, son and I enjoyed a 5 day getaway from the chilly winter of Minnesota for about $615 apiece (taxes and fees included) for an all-inclusive air/hotel/dining/beverages package. You can't beat that!


19 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Woodbury, MN
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations