All

Holiday Inn Grand Cayman Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Cayman Islands Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 13 Reviews
Value
 
3.8
Service
 
3.9
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.8
Room Comfort
 
4.2
3.9 out of 5
10 out of 13 (77%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
sunrise from Grand Caymanian Walk this pier & see the stafish

All Holiday Inn Grand Cayman Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 13 reviews. Sort by
March 14, 2011
Cheap but far out

This resort was cheap in price was very clean but is far away from the resturants , beaches, or anything else the Cayman islands have to offer. You can not swim at the beach, however is very good views. You will need to rent a car to get around, the shuttle bus is very limited. Be prepared to pay high prices for food we paid 40.00 for two hamburgers. Rum Point Beach is by far the best place to visit as far as beach and water sports . If I come back would stay on Seven Mile Beach instead of the Ramada.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Lynchburg Virginia
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 29, 2011
Spring Break

My overall visit was very nice. The staff was friendly and took care of our concerns in a reasonable amount of time. The unit was clean and very comfortable. If staying here I would recommend renting a car to get around the island - from the main road to the hotel entrance was a distance in itself. Very quiet hotel - good for relaxing after a long day of activities. Even though the restaurant played music one night - we couldn't hear it through closed balcony doors. Lots of iguanas around the property! We enjoyed ourselves and would return.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 35-44

February 19, 2014
Rooms nice..beach aweful

I just got back from the Cayman Islands and my stay at the Holiday Inn. Lets start with some good. The rooms are renovated and very nice. We were upgraded to a king suite which had a living/dining area, nice kitchen, and a large bathroom. I did have an ocean view along with a trailer view outside my balcony. The staff was nice and friendly. We had snacks and a Valentine's dinner there which was very good. It would have been a very quiet resort at night except for the roosters---yes roosters!!!! They were waking us up faithfully at 3:30 in the morning and continued well into the night. I had to keep the AC on and even use a pillow to cover my head so I could try to get some sleep. It seems the chickens are everywhere. The resort is off the beaten path. As for the beach-WHAT BEACH-I was very disappointed. I love the blue water and white sands along with calm water. However, don't go here if you want that. You can't even go in the water unless you have on shoes. The water was clear but out on the pier. The pool was ok, a little buggy at times due to the rain that we had almost everyday. As for beach towels, good luck in getting one. They are never stocked by the bar. You have to ask at the front desk and even then didn't have any. It was very clean on the resort. A car is a must if you stay here. We drove around the whole island. It is a little tricky driving there but once you get the hang of it, it is no big deal. We went to Calico Jacks for the beach and rented chairs and an umbrella there for $20. The beach was rough and rocky as you tried to get in and out of the water. A guy said it was because of the rain the nights before. There isn't much beach access if you don't stay on a resort on 7 mile beach. Plus the beach isnt that wide or flat. Shopping was ok downtown in Georgetown but parking spaces are limited. We drove around to find one for awhile. A nice place to go and walk around is the Camana. It is a newer shopping/dining area. Shopping closes by 5 each day. Our money (US) is worth only $.80 to their dollar. So it ended up costing more everywhere you would go. Overall the hotel would get a C from me. As for coming back to this island, I would not. If you want night life, stay away, the only entertainment is a movie theatre.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Loved this vacation

Woke up every morning & walked the reef. Saw starfish, rays & fish. The Grand Caymanian is on the reef side. It is a 15 min walk to 7 mile beach, cab ride was about $10 or the hotel has a shuttle (however it only runs certain days 7 times). 7 mile beach is beautiful. The hotel was very clean, staff was very helpful, restuarant had a limited menu, however the food was good. Other restuants were near 7 mile beach. Also there were grills available if you wished to purchase & grill your own food. There is a shuttle to the grocery store. Pool was nice, always clean.

Walk this pier & see the stafish
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 18, 2013

Overall the hotel is very new and nicely spacious. It has all usa specific amenities available to you. The 2 complaints are: that the mattresses were incredibly hard for my taste. Even though they were new, they were overly firm. Lastly, the free shuttle to the 7 mile beach is great however it should be extended to at least 6 pm as 4pm is far too early.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 25-34

October 7, 2013
First Cayman Island Trip

The Cayman Islands themselves were amazing. This hotel was not what we expected it to be. The hotel is very far from anything and you have to take a taxi to get there and back from town. It can get expensive. Other than the distance the hotel was amazing. The staff is very friendly, food is amazing, and the drinks are delicious. I would not recommend children at this hotel because the beach is non swimmable and is very rocky.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Greeley,CO
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 1, 2012
Weekend in Cayman

While I lived in Grand Cayman for a number of years, this was my first time getting a hotel on-island. I forgot how off the beaten path it was, but overall it was perfect for what we needed. If I could give any advice if you are booking and aren't familiar with the island.....get a map and know how to get to/from the resort prior. There are very few signs directing you and I'm not sure I would've figured it out, had I not lived on the island and visited it prior. Otherwise the rooms were nice, the pool is ideal, they have hammocks and beach chairs for the "beach" and it was a great place (for the price) to relax after a long day of diving/exploring Cayman!


2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 3, 2011
Clean, economical but inconvenient

Grand Caymanian is not on the 7 mile beach. They charge you a daily resort fee but they do not provide sampoo or conditioner or coffee in the rooms! I think all rooms have a water view and the sun rise was awesome in the morning. There is a shuttle from the hotel to 7 mile beach, at 10.30am and 1.00pm from the hotel. It costs US$5/person. Taxi cost from hotel to 7 mile beach is ~US$18. The restaurant at site "Blue Iguana" was really good and reasonably priced.

sunrise from Grand Caymanian
1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 25, 2011

This resort is WAY off the beaten path and is a time share so if you like solitude, this place is it. There is no way you can get around or over to seven mile beach without transportation. We rented the old rusty bikes from the hotel but it was a haul. The two hot tubs on site were never working during our stay and no one was trying to fix them. The restaurant is ok, but usually empty. The beach, and that is generous, is muddy and rocky. We rode over to seven mile beach every day which was a real hassle. There are much better options in Grand Cayman for lodging. My recommendation is to stay away from this place.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 21, 2011
relaxing

The Ramada Grand Cayman Resort is excellant. It is very quiet and secluded. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was nice, clean and the bed was very comfortable. The pool is beautiful and clean and the beach area is right off the pool with coconut trees with hammicks, and a dock. The beach is rocky and the water is a little choppy (only problem is not as enjoyable for swimming), but great for jet skiing. If you like a more private beach and resort the Ramada Grand Cayman is perfect.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: East Peoria, IL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year