All

Hilton Rose Hall Resort and Spa Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 395 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.3 out of 5
"Great for Family, nightly entertainment for adults lacking from other all inclusives we have frequented." – holdom
426 out of 481 (89%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sunset. At the resort Bar king frog view Fresh dining area Negril kayaking How can you not enjoy this view!! View of main pool from lobby Montego Bay My Room View favorite spot for lunch Deck view Waterslide!! Jamaican BBQ Bob Marley View from our room, 653. View from balcony Pool, view from 2nd fl balcony Beach Scene Beach Sunset from our room Partial ocean view Beside the pool A little bit of paradise! from our balcony eenjoying the evening! Jamaica night @ resort view from our balcony Fish and chips with a view Part of the beach. Clear water!! Room view at dusk Jamaica Sunset Piña colada and bob marley! Yummy Three Palms located on the resort Day at the beach One of the pool the veiw from our room:) Sunrise, view from beach

All Hilton Rose Hall Resort and Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 395 reviews. Sort by
September 14, 2012
Great Vacation

The hotel staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. Check in took less than 5 minutes (stayed 9/1/12-9/8/12 so less crowed than prime time) Our room view was a little bit of a disappointment (our balcony looked out onto dumpsters) We didn't complain because we came to sit on the beach not the balcony. The room was standard nothing plush nice bed (pillows a little too mushy), nice bathroom, clean overall. The food was great!! Lots of choices and different food every night!! Better than most all inclusives I have been too. The website says you have to pay extra at the restaurants to get the steak or lobster options- that is not true we didn't pay anything extra. They also state men must wear dress pants and shirts with sleeves. (my husband did but we saw other guest wearing jeans/shorts and they were not turned away) The pools were great, clean, plenty of inner tubes for lounging in the lazy river, plenty of lounge chairs The ocean was terrific (a little rocky on one side as you entered the water) but once past them smooth sand, plenty of lounge chairs, plenty of clean towels, plenty of kayaks to take out and snorkeling equipment although not much to see. Had a center to rent motorized equipment. There were no peddlers on the beach, the hotel allowed them to set up little huts to sell their wares. No one pressured us to buy anything, they were nice people. Right outside the hotel a short bus trip takes you to designer shopping at Rose Hall Shoppes and The shops at Half Moon Resort. Plenty of non water "things"to do like ping pong, chess, corn toss. A band played at night a variety of music with a Jamaican twist which was nice however if you wanted to go to bed or take a nap on the east side of the hotel forget it. We lucked out as we stayed on the west side. They have a adventure tour desk to help arrange fun activities and I wasn't sure if they would have inflated prices so I booked an adventure through a website before arriving and then compared what I paid to what their prices were and they were maybe $1-5 more expensive than the website. Not bad Recommended trips Dunn's RIver Falls and bobsledding or zip lining and catamaran snorkeling cruise. I have been to a lot of islands and this was my first time to Jamaice. I don't know why it took so long to go and will definitely return soon and the Hilton is a great choice!!


134 of 137 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 50 Contributor
From: New Jersey
Age: 35-44

May 19, 2012
Awesome Time!!

Our family of five stayed here May 4 - 10 - we had two adjoining rooms(608/610) with Ocean View(we were given an upgrade when we checked in). We had a wonderful trip! Our kids, ages 18, 15 and 13 all loved it and we can't wait to come back. The employees at the Hilton are what makes it, we made so many friends there. I wouldn't even look at staying anywhere else when traveling to Jamaica. We left the resort one day for an excursion, otherwise we were happy staying at the pool and beach. Everyday we enjoyed breakfast at Fresh, wonderful omelettes and french toast made to order. Lunch was at either Mangoes by the lazy river or the Seaside Grille - jerk pork was amazing as was the view. We had dinner two nights at Three Palms and two nights at Luna, both were good and the service was excellent. The Seaside was not open for dinner while we were there because the occupancy was low. My husband and sons spent a day playing golf where they had a great time and my daughter and I visited Soothe Spa for massages where we also enjoyed ourselves. We tipped everywhere we went, but no one ever seemed to demand it, they just appreciated it. My only tip would be that if you are spending a day away from the resort, make it Wednesday as that is the day the cruise ships dock in Montego Bay and the passengers come to the Hilton with day passes - was way too busy to even be in the lazy river that day. I wish we had known that, would plan accordingly. Our rooms were cleaned every day and everything at the hotel was in good condition. The wifi is not free, but if you go down to the internet cafe each day and sign on to the wifi there(it is free) it lasts for 24 hours and you can use it in your room - so really the wifi was free with a little effort. I really recommend the Hilton as a wonderful family resort, we can't wait to return!


50 of 53 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 3, 2013
Take The Bad With The Good

We did a lot of research on the all-inclusives in Jamaica and decided this was probably the best value for the money, and we were not disappointed. There are others that are much nicer, but they are also much more expensive. Those that are cheaper did not appear to offer the things we were looking for in terms of both quality and location. If you're looking for a good value with excellent service, you should definitely consider the Hilton Rose Hall. We were a little concerned about the fact that this is considered a "family friendly" resort (which typically means lots of kids), however, I'd say the adults outnumbered the kids by 10 to1, and the kids that were there were very well behaved, and most days you hardly noticed they were around. The Bad - The food at Fresh, Mangoes, and the Seaside was just OK and not much variety. Got very tired of it after a few days. We tried getting reservations at one of the specialty restaurants, but could only get one reservation during our 5 day stay. The other thing I found disappointing was the lack of decent entertainment in the evening. There is plenty to do during the day, but come nightfall, there's not much to do, and the live entertainment leaves something to be desired. If you go to the Bar King Frog in the evening you may even experience the "Battle of the Bands". On some nights there would be "wandering minstrels" playing upstairs, while the band was playing downstairs at the same time. Listening to loud music coming from two different locations at the same time got to be quite annoying. Also, got a little tired of Red Stripe being the only beer selection, but at least it's an OK beer. The Good - The service is incredible. Very helpful and friendly staff. A tip of a dollar or two here and there goes a long long way. For a $5 tip you will have a "personal attendant" for the duration of your stay. If you hang out on the lazy river near the swim up bar, look for Casey. He's a great guy and will go out of his way to make sure you are taken care of. He even brought our lunch down to the pool one day when we couldn't get a table at the Mangos restaurant. They have a really nice, big pool and the lazy river and waterslide are great! The beach was not as bad as some people implied, and there is an "adults only" section where you can go to get a little peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle. Rooms were comfortable for the most part, and are about the size of a standard hotel room. If you're expecting a "mini-suite" like some of the other all-inclusive places have, you will be disappointed. Excellent variety of drinks, and they don't hold back on the alcohol....but make sure if you order a frozen drink to tell them "with rum" (or whatever alcohol you want). In a couple of instances we got "virgin" drinks if we didn't specifically ask. We typically requested "spiced rum", which we really liked in most of the drinks. Again, if you're looking for a decent stay at a resonable price, this is a place worth looking in to.


61 of 66 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Iowa
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 18, 2012
2nd trip to Hilton Rose Hall out of 6 to Jamaica

We just came back from a great get-away to Jamaica. My husband and I stayed at the Hilton 3 years ago and we thought it would be a great place to bring the family and we were right! The Hilton Rose Hall is an older resort that has been given a complete renovation that was well done. The best thing about the resort is the people who work there that go out of their way to ensure that you are having a great vacation. I have to pause to give some shout outs to some of the best: Tricia in the pool area - we meet Tricia 3 years ago and she still remembered us. She is one of the best. She really made sure we had everything that we needed to have the best vacation. Kevin in the Fresh Buffet – in the morning he is rocking the omelet station. He is so upbeat that it is hard not to have a smile after seeing him. Marcia in the Kids Klub – she went out of her way to make sure our skittish 5 year had the best time ever. Our 9 and 10 year old were jealous and went to the club with her after the first day. They often begged us to hurry up and eat so we can get back to the club. A good kids program really makes it a vacation for everyone in the family. Annakay in the Fresh Buffet – She went out of her way to ensure that my husband’s birthday was acknowledged. She saw us dressed up for my husband’s birthday dinner and when I told her that the restaurant staff did not do anything special she had a bottle of champagne and a decorated plate of desserts sent up to our room. There were several others who were really good including the ladies at the Hilton Honors desk (I should of listened to my husband and checked in here because they were far superior to the actual reception area), several of the bartenders, servers (including Craig and Greg in the Italian restaurant) and activity personnel. The biggest area for improvement is the reception desk. While the person who checked us in was not bad per se, but she was not warm and welcoming. After getting up at the crack of dawn and navigating a family through the whole flying process a genuine warm welcome can go a long way. The reception desk has the ability to make a great first impression and failed to do so. Every interaction with the front desk had a lot of room for improvement. The manager seemed to be worse than the employees. She was curt and talked about us while not acknowledging our presence right in front of her. Since I knew the hotel was not booked, I asked for an upgrade. According to her she upgraded our room, but I was unhappy with the room and asked for a room on the other side of the resort where we had stayed before. That room location was even worse, so I just shut-up and took that room fearing that the next room would be in the basement next to the boiler. I told the family that the vacation is not all about the room. Even though I did not like the location, the rooms were clean, comfortable and well appointed. The food is fresh and well prepared with enough choices for everyone in the family. We were disappointed that they discontinued the extra menu at the Three Palms restaurant. We were looking forward to enjoying a special meal for my husband’s birthday. I really did not mind paying the supplement for the extra special menu even with the supplement it was a great deal. I think it was a mistake to change. The meal had all of the pomp but really lacked the substance to make it special. The last time we were here we enjoyed our meal so much that we came back. This time we ended up cancelling our second reservation. The other discordant event was seeing a manager address a staff member in the activities area in condescending and disrespectful manner. She actually interrupted my interaction to do so. The beach is small, but well tended. The pools are clean and well kept. According to our kids the slide is “awesome’ and the lazy river is “way cool” I could definitely see a return trip. We had a great time!


25 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 19, 2013
Perfect vacation for our family

Everything about our vacation in Jamaica, and specifically at the Hilton Rose Hall Resort, was amazing. This vacation was not only for the children but for all of us. It was the first time I felt, as a mom, that I was also on a true vacation without any worries. My husband, children (ages 10 and 12), and I enjoyed everything about the resort. Our favorite part was the water park. We spent most of our days there and did not get bored ever. My husband and I enjoyed the lazy river while my children loved the water slides and swim-up bar. They couldn't get enough of the virgin strawberry daquaris and shirley temples. The employees were fabulous, starting with check-in until the end of our stay. The restaurants were very good, especially Luna which is the Italian restaurant. I gave the beaches and pools only a 4 because the beach was not very big and crowded with chairs while walking in the water was rocky and had a lot of seaweed. The Hilton cleared the beach of the seaweed but the water still had seaweed in it. The water was also very murky. However, you could take a catamaran or kayak out further where the water was clear. I suggest you go to Doctor's Cove beach in Montego bay for a day where you have clear water from the shore and there is good snorkeling. Take your own equipment so you don't have to rent theirs. The beach is not a reason to avoid this resort though. The rest of the resort gave us a vacation that we will never forget. I wish we would have booked a stay for 10-14 days instead of just the 7 days that we did stay.


15 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Warren, OH
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 8, 2013
Hilton Rose Hall Jamaica

The resort was very nice but smaller than many that I have been to. The waterpark was small but still fun. One waterslide for tubes (fun) and one for people (lame, three little slides about 20 feet each). Main pool was fine but nothing special. Beach was small too short for walking, some rocks but the crew did a good job keeping it clean removing the seaweed every day. Food was good and the special restaurants were a nice change from the buffet. Room was a typical hotel room, nothing special. AC went on and off every 4 minutes or so but with enough rum and sun, sleeping was ok! Staff was friendly and prompt with drinks etc. Bar tenders were very good, always willing to serve you ASAP and quick to offer something new to try. Good vacation.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Norway
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 20, 2015
Girls trip with some disappointment

Myself and friend stayed here 10/2-10/6. I thought check in was going to be a long experience with the previous reviews I had read. We were greeted with a cocktail and a cold cloth upon arrival, which was nice and refreshing! Good first impression with the lobby area for sure, very clean and great atmosphere. So check in was a breeze! We got all checked in and headed to our room. Prior to checking in we had some questions, one was confirming we were in a room with two beds...the answer to that was yes...with confidence from the girl at the desk. We had also asked if we can be placed on a high floor but they had stated they were all sold out for the night and that we could change rooms the next day for the higher floor. We head up to our room and to our surprise there was one bed (of course) I love my friend to death, but we certainly didn't pay the money we did to both sleep in the same bed. So we head back down stairs and it took forever just to get some's attention. So finally we catch someone's eye who I'm assuming was the supervisor. We had expressed that we had requested two beds upon booking. He stated in the reservation it called for one. Not sure if it was cheap carribean error or the resort. I do have a unisex name so the hotel may have thought we were a couple and stuck us in a room with 1 bed. I know when I first booked the stay I had spoken with the rep who helped me and I let them know ahead of time that 2 beds were needed and they assured me that my request was all set! Anyway, when we first checked in we were told the hotel was sold out for the night, no other rooms were available. After us complaining for a bit the supervisor went out to the back for what seemed like forever. Magically a room with 2 beds became available. We changed rooms for the second time. We again head up to the room. I open the door and the room looked very dingy. Cracks in the tiles, grout was disgusting looking, very dusty lamp shades, marks on the wall and what looked like feces and maybe make up on the bathroom wall (gross). I’ve worked at a hotel in the past for many years and this was my first time staying at a Hilton property. I’m well aware of what an “Out Of Order” room looks like…and this was most definitely one! I was very shocked at the condition of this room (RM 170 OR 174 I know it was right by the elevator) I just felt the guy at the front desk just put us in this room to shut us up until the next day! I just let it be because I was going to get our room moved again the next day because this was uncalled for, plus we were beyond tired from traveling. Another problem that arise was our shower. Another reason why I feel we were in an “out of order room”. We wanted to freshen up prior to heading out. My friend went to go turn the shower on and was having the hardest time ever turning the hot water on. So I went to see if I could help and I had the same problem. The knob would only turn to cold and not hot! We both decided to call down stairs for someone to come look at it because maybe it was us doing something wrong. The front desk said they would send someone up shortly. Almost an hour later, still no one. We called down again to see what the status was and again they said someone would be right up we waited alittle longer and decided to leave because we were hungry. We get back a couple hours later; the shower is still the same. We call down once more and they stated someone came up and fixed it while we were gone…which wasn’t the case. So they said someone will be up again to take a look at it. So still no shower we head out again just to look at the resort etc. come back hours later the shower is still the same. Finally Frederick (who was excellent) comes up and basically takes the whole shower apart….and finally fixes it! Now why wasn’t’ this resolved on the first try? Or why even say it was fixed when it clearly wasn’t? Now it’s after 11pm and we finally get to shower! We weren’t too happy about that…at all. We got our room changed the next day and I could tell a HUGE difference. This room felt like home. Updated ipod deck, phone actually worked, no dust, just was cleaner and the shower worked! A couple nights into our stay we requested extra towels early evening and they didn’t arrive until after 1AM.! I understand the resort is busy but geesh!!! Overall the property was very nice! Did I think I was going to be the one writing a somewhat negative review? Absolutely not. I had based me staying at this location off the reviews I read (which were all fairly good) and I’m very disappointed. Front desk staff was very rude at times and weren’t very helpful. Forget calling down to the front desk…they will give you the run around and transfer you to everybody but who you need to talk to. Shavell was awesome! So glad I got to meet her. Very sweet and attentive and you can tell she loves her job. You are so lucky to have someone like her. Other than some staff at the front desk everyone was great. Property was beautiful. We loved the lazy river and the swim up bar, main pool was nice to. Food was average...but loved the breakfast…omelets were delicious. Unfortunately with the few encounters and the customer service, I’m not too sure I would stay here again. Really wish we didn’t get the run around like we did and nothing more was offered to us for the inconvenience which was crazy to me.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 20, 2012
Very Satisfied

My wife and I have traveled all over the world. This was our first visit to Jamaica, and the Rose Hall resort. We were completely satisfied with everything. The help were great. The place was very clean. It was chikd friendly, but not so many that it was annoying. The food was top of the line, and beach service was outstanding. This is the first time that my wife did NOT want to leave a resort. We plan on going back there in the near future.

Very Satisfied Very Satisfied
16 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Eastern Iowa
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 2, 2010
Best of the Best

We try to go to Jamaica every year and have booked with Cheap Caribbean the last two times we have vacationed there. Great experience both times. Great value,first class accomodations,and by booking with their all inclusive packages all the worry is removed about traveling and you just relax and enjoy a FANTASTIC VACATION ! Love you Cheap Caribbean and the Hilton Rose Hall Resort !!!! They are both The BEST OF THE BEST !!!!!!!!!!!!!!


13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh, Pa Tri-state Area
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 2, 2013
More than we Expected

February 19 - 26th, 2013. My husband & I had a great time at the Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa. The food was great at the Fresh Buffet, Seaside Grill & the specialy restaurants. We would have liked to eaten at Luna Mire one more time. Their Italian menu is great. The Palms was out of this world and Seaside Grill had great lunches and the dinner we ate there was fabulous. The beverages were "Plentiful" and the choices of liquor were many as well as the blended drinks. Having said that about beverages and food, we must tell you how satisfied we were with all of the employees that were here - from the bartenders, servers, beach patrol right to the groundskeepers. I am sure I have forgotten someone but not intentially. We didn't partake any much more than the beach and did a day of shopping at the markets. We will be more adventurous the next time around. Sorry I can't give you a review on any of the activities. We definitely will be back.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year