All

Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Puerto Vallarta Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 49 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.2 out of 5
"Room is a little small. Pools are nice, service is good, ocean a bit dirty in the area. Overall good experience, good location, clean facilities ." – Inesa2014
46 out of 59 (78%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Panoramic photo from our balcony on the 8th floor (partial ocean view). Room We Were Told We Were Getting view from the room Room We Were Put In looking to the hotel from the beach at night

All Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 49 reviews. Sort by
March 14, 2013
Good for single parents vacationing with kids

I spent 5 nights at this resort with my 2 children ages 17 and 11. I would recommend it overall compared to other resorts I have visited in the Caribbean. It is worth a visit. Pros: - Resort is ultra-clean. I mean, you could eat off the floor pretty much everywhere. They are definitely keeping it up to North American standards of cleanliness. We even brushed our teeth with the hotel water and no one got sick. - Safety. There were guards patrolling the edge of the resort near the beach and the trinket/souvenir sellers were respecting the boundaries. I was a little worried traveling alone to Mexico with my kids but we were taken care of every step of the way. - Food. The food was very good for an all inclusive resort, we ended up eating at the Seafire restaurant most of the time because the fresh grilled meats and fish were lovely and they had lots of healthy choices without constraining ourselves to a particular time for meals. -Clientele: There were lots of families as well as young couples and retired folks. About half the clientele were US/Canada and the rest were Mexican or South American (they spoke Spanish and I am not familiar enough to figure out the regional accents) very few Europeans. - Kids club: Lourdes the coordinator is fantastic with kids and my son loved spending time there. They have lots of activities for kids of all ages (2-12). - Resort activities were pretty good, although if you didn't prod them they wouldn't necessarily respect their planned schedule. The staff was ultra-friendly. -Olympus Tours represented CC and the rep did a great job of making sure we got to/from the airport on time and reserving our spot for Aquaventura. Cons: - No spa/hot tubs: I don't know if they haven't built them yet but I was really missing a dip in the hot tub in the evening. Currently they have 1 heated pool and 1 unheated. 90% of the guests swam in the heated pool. - Chairs: Not enough chairs for sunning. Especially on the weekends, you have to get up early to snag one. Weekdays are ok. -Beach: The surf is not safe for younger kids to bathe in. Also the traveling souvenir salespeople get annoying after a while so we stayed in the resort. - Lounge/bar area: The way the building is constructed has created a wind tunnel from the front desk area to the pools, passing by the lounge and bar area. As such it is very uncomfortable to spend time there. - Rooftop pool and bar were closed during our visit. Other: - Service: I found it uneven. Some of the staff absolutely deserved a 10/10, they were awesome and others would pass by you 6-7 times and not give you any service. I also noticed that Spanish-speaking people tended to get way better service than non-speakers, both for poolside service and at the restaurant. Tips were included in the vacation but I tipped the good staff extra anyway. - Aquaventura; We did the dolphin encounter program and had a wonderful time at the park. There are also sea lion and dolphin shows as well as a nice set of water slides. FYI they take pictures during the encounter and will try to sell you a package of pictures for 109$ USD, so bring extra money if you want them. They also had lots of other organized trips but everything was really expensive. - Alaska airlines: Horrible understaffed counter service both in the US and in Mexico. We waited in line for over an hour just to check one bag. I should really move AA to the Cons section of my review as they were a total downer on the vacation experience.


20 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Bay Area, CA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 28, 2016
Won't be returning

We booked this trip over 4 months in advance, not only where we less than pleased with the front desk ,the whole place just wasn't as nice as the photos online. We just got married & this was our honeymoon, when we booked, we chose a room with a king bed. When we arrived at the hotel the front desk last told us we would be getting 2 double beds. My husband is 6ft4.. he can't sleep on a double bed! We asked if there where any other options. Her reply was yes! If we paid 120$ extra per night, we could have a king bed. We won't be returning, we will find another resort that is cleaner and has more customer service!


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Tulsa,oklahoma
Age: 19-24

April 15, 2013
Incredible

I had an excellent time. I was worried after booking because of mixed reviews about Puerto Vallarta by people I have known that have gone in the past. However, I had a fantastic time and would recommend it to others without question. PROS: The Hilton Puerto Vallarta is very new. Constructured in October 2012 I believe. The staff is incredibly kind, professional, and helpful. Be prepared for your waiters to carry your dishes for you from the buffet, to unfold your napkins and place them in your lap, to bring you drinks poolside, etc. The staff really goes out of their way to make sure you get everything that you want. The resort is beautiful and extremely comfortable. The food was excellent too. The exchange rate is favorable 11.5/12 typically and it goes a long way. Things like cabs (60 pesos to just about anywhere) and buses are incredibly cheap. CONS: First and foremost, when you arrive at Puerto Vallarta at the airport, you'll get your baggage and be ushered through an area right before the exit. Someone helpful looking will ask you what hotel you are headed to and then will take you to someone official looking at a desk. They'll give you a map, a bottle of water, shots of tequila if you wish and show you where things are and you will think that this is helpful. However, you will soon notice that you are about to be roped into an attempt to set up an appointment for a visit at another resort for a free massage if you listen to a time share presentation. These guys are crafty and can really wheel and deal so prepare yourself and disregard them alltogether. You won't realize it's a timeshare until they start asking if you have a Visa card on you and start asking if you want a free massage. If you want an easy out, say you aren't 28 (you have to be 28 years old) and have a Visa Credit Card (tell them you only have a debit card although they will still try to make an appointment with you later in the day but will be a lot less willing) or just flat out tell them you are not interested and know your way around. Trust me, you can get a map at your hotel and these people will only delay you in getting to your pickup location. Proceed past them to the area with people holding up signs for people to be picked up. Regarding the hotel: I ordered room service once and it never came and my minibar didn't get restocked one day. I could have made complaints but I didn't feel it necessary. If I had, it would have been fixed promptly and everything else was top notch. The beach vendors can be incredibly frustrating to some. Usually, "No Gracias" works fine to decline but sometimes you have to say it several times. The vendors are not allowed on the property but they can approach you when you are on beach chairs/cabanas on the beach itself or even while they are on the beach and you are on the property next to the beach. I bought a few things myself and did enjoy it a little but it can be distracting from relaxing if you are bothered by that (but is a problem at a lot of beaches/resorts). Personally, I did not care for the French restaurant but not because it was bad maybe I just don't like French food? TIPS: High Season for Puerto Vallarta is Thanksgiving to Easter. Afterwards, everything dies down. Which isn't a bad thing if you travel there because getting around town is easier and resort workers have more time to focus on helping you. Everything, beach/pool/restaurants, etc. are less crowded. Make your reservations for the specialty restaurants on Sunday evening/Monday mornings to ensure you get to eat there. This is not a problem in the low season but when it's peak, you need to do this to ensure a seat! Be sure to haggle as it makes a big difference in price. You can usually get at least 30% off of most items. If you are looking for a glimpse of everyday life in Mexico, take a cab to El Templo at downtown Pitillal. It lacks the makeup but I enjoyed my walk around. I'd have someone at the resort tell you what to expect first though to best prepare if you are interested as it's not for everyone. Downtown Puerto Vallarta is pretty nice too. The Marina is not as exciting/nor worth the long walk there as it might sound but it's not too shabby either. Also, the bus can be intimidating as it won't stop for you without you hailing it most of the time. There is also no indicators of what streets you are near or when you'd like to get off. If you think you are close, then stand up and walk towards the front. Pay when you get on the bus. Also, bring photocopies of your passport with you when you are out and about. It prevents you from losing your actual passport and you need it for things like exchanging currency at a bank.


15 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Madison, WI
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 8, 2016
Ocean View Room Upgrade Didn't Work!

We elected for the Deluxe Ocean View room upgrade on CheapCaribbean.com. We arrived hours before check in and made sure it was exactly a Deluxe Ocean View room. At first, the front desk person said no its not. So I pulled out our paperwork to prove the exact name of the room and the additional $300 we paid to have it. Reluctantly, she said yes, it will be a deluxe ocean view. Hours later when we got to go to the room, (the bellman with us), we walked in and bam, right outside our balcony door was a full view of the back of a building. ZERO ocean view. If you walked to the far right end of the patio and stood on toes to look over, there it was, a small ocean glimps. I, along with the bellman who agreed that this was absolutely NOT an ocean view room at all, talked with the front desk again. They said there was nothing else available and after several visits with the supervisor she offered to put us in a Jr. Suite the FOLLOWING night. We got to see it before we moved, and it almost looked like the one CheapCarribean said we were getting, and was a POOL view. That was our only option. We took it as our first room was unacceptable. Needless to say we were very disappointed and did not get what we paid for. See photo of our Deluxe Ocean View Room, at the end of the balcony you see a white building and its rooftop. Also see photo of the room they said we were purchasing for our family trip.

Room We Were Put In Room We Were Told We Were Getting
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Windsor, CO
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 1, 2013
Beautiful resort.

The hilton is a fantastic resort that is even better than the pictures portray. Everything is brand new and it feels like any 5 star hilton, only it's located on the beach. Overall both my girlfriend and I had a great time, very relaxing, very romantic and I would certainly recommend. (I believe the hotel is approximately 6 months old, so points below are more directed at the hotel management and to give them the benefit of the doubt to resolve in the near future.) The first hitch was the fact that the cocktails and spirits were very watered down. This got very irritating after a while. No one likes to be taken for a fool and we know what our drinks should taste like. Their is massive variety of food on offer however the quality would be a 3/5 at best. They even have a wood stone oven for pizza's on certain nights but the pizza's are awful compared to how they should be. They should get a proper chef to work there. Finally - there is no control over the sun loungers in the morning. Guests come down around 7am, leave a few towels on the best beds and then don't return sometimes until midday. Very irritating and although the hotel says that beds left unattended for more than an hour will have their towels removed - this is not enforced. So you have to take matters in to your own hand, which is stressful when on holidays. Finally - your taxi from the airport should be no more than 100 peso or $10 USD - anymore and you are being conned. We paid 200 peso to the hotel - but only 100 back to the airport after consulting the hotel concierge Pros: Beautiful location - jaw dropping views Fantastic facilities Extremely helpful and friendly staff Luxurious quality of decor, both in rooms and throughout hotel Roof top bar(O'West) with heated infinity pool is a particular delight for sunset. Con's: Weak alcoholic beverages Average tasting food No control over the sun loungers


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 10, 2013
Clean, beautiful, new resort

We had an awesome time at Hilton Puerto Vallarta! The location was perfect, just a short taxi ride from the Malecon (downtown area). The pools and rooms were beautiful and super clean as the resort is new. Most of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Tips are not required, but they are very appreciated when given. The spa was wonderful, clean, and luxurious. The food was a bit of a disappointment. The buffet was pretty good and they changed the food items daily, but we tried the French and Italian dining options. It was too difficult to get a reservation and some of the food was not good. We also discovered if they were 'sending someone up right away' that meant in a couple hours if at all. The resort is fairly new, so they are probably still working out the kinks. Even with the bumps we would not hesitate to stay there again.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: San Jose, CA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 10, 2015
Great Resort

Every single staff member was super friendly and very helpful! The room was spacious. The whole resort was very clean and tidy. We loved that the poolside restaurant (Seafire) was pretty much open from 6am - 11pm. The adult only pool was very relaxing, great service up there at the bar (O'west Lounge) and the sushi up there was really good. One negative is that when our room was cleaned each day housekeeping never gave us enough towels or any towels at all, for example we maybe received two bath towels but no washcloths or hand towels that day. Overall great experience and would definitely recommend this resort for families with kids and for just couples because they have something for each of those groups. Just my husband and I went and we were not bothered at all that there were kids there.

Panoramic photo from our balcony on the 8th floor (partial ocean view).
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Bloomington, MN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 12, 2016
All Incusive for older couple or couples with kids

Room was nice and good view after we paid for additional upgrade of $$$ a night or other option was parking lot view. Bed was very comfortable and pillows were nice. Best for an all inclusive in Mexico and I have done 10 plus. The resort is very small compared to others I have visited and nice if that what you are looking for. If you want a chair at the beech or pool get up early. By 9:30 there was nothing left, we were reserving ours at 7:00am with many other people doing the same. Watched people look all day for chairs and head back into lobby. If you are younger and looking for nightly entertainment plan to go off site. Stayed 5 night and had an acoustic couple play 1 night until around 10:00 other night was Karaoke and the bar was empty. Sushi bar open daily was closed 2 of the 5 days we were there. Other 3 restaurants had only 1-2 open nightly. Overall had a great time but went offsite 3 nights to the downtown area. Compared to Cozumel, Cancun, Cabo and other resort destinations in Mexico I felt very safe and was not harassed by locals trying to sell me one thing or another. The boardwalk and romantic district were nice to walk through and priced very well if you want to eat and have drinks. The locals are putting on shows and have entertainment for all ages. A 10 minute cab ride will cost less than10usd that's with a great tip included.


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Cincinnati, Ohio
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 27, 2015

My husband and I just got back from Puerto Vallarta and we stayed at the Hilton Resort. We had an amazing time!!! The staff and the service were great. Whenever we needed something done, it was handled quickly. The food and the ambiance were great. We had the opportunity to walk the entire coast of the area where we were staying, I would choose that resort again over all the rest. We truly enjoyed our stay.


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 11, 2013
Best All Around Vacation

This took tops to all of the trips I have taken in the past. The hotel was fabulious and we so enjoyed the balcony, even though it was mostly of the hotel next doors roof, but that was o.k., the palm trees were very nice and kept clean. The food was good, we had a variety each day and if it wasn't on the menu, you could just order what you want and they would fix it and bring it to you whether at the restaurant or sitting by the pool. One night, they had buffet around the pool and that was oh so nice. The people employed by this hotel was so friendly and helped with any information we needed, gave us advise on where to go and how to get there, they were always smiling and spoke each time you met them whether in the hall cleaning or behind the bar or desk, they were great. There was Sara and Anabel who worked around the pool as servers and they took such good care of us, they went above and beyond what they were paid to do (I am sure). What great girls. The pools were always clean and the games and exercise was great. I loved the beach and walked it each day. Great activities on the beach. I just can't explain what a great vacation this was, I can't even think of anything negative. I really didn't want to leave. Hope to go back real soon.


6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chula, Missouri
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year