All

Henry Morgan Hotel & Beach Resort Reviews

Central America | Roatan Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 12 Reviews
Value
 
2.9
Service
 
3.5
Beaches & Pools
 
3.9
Dining Options
 
2.1
Room Comfort
 
2.9
2.8 out of 5
"I am already going back ! TGI diving great job ! Staff at henry Morgan A+++ thanks for a great job" – Heeter
8 out of 14 (57%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

All Henry Morgan Hotel & Beach Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 12 reviews. Sort by
August 25, 2012

My son and I had a great vacation in Roatan. the hotel room was nice. It is not luxury but we knew that going there. It was clean and neat. The bathtub could have been replaced but not a big deal. The beaches are beautiful. There is lots to do in this beach area and lots of great places to eat close by. The food at the Henry Morgan was good. It was not amazing but it was not bad. My only complaint was that the dinner hours there were only from 7-9 pm and after spending a day in the hot sun and doing things we wanted to eat and relax long before that so we ended up eating at Bananrama and that was great and not expensive. A few things i would say is never asked the front desk for a taxi the fee is way too much. Never let the hotel schedule an outing as you can do it yourself much cheaper. walk up the beach and back the alley and get your own cab. The zip lining is wonderful. you can find all kinds of people on the beach for inexpensive fishing trips. I would recommend it.


45 of 46 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Harrisonburg, VA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 27, 2014
Roatan oasis

In order to accurately review the Henry Morgan resort in Roatan, Honduras I would have to piece it together. That way you can decide what is important to you. To condemn a place because the food is not to my standards doesn't help you if you are a vegetarian etc. We heard all the usual grumbles, before our trip, about first floor rooms hearing noise from footsteps on the second floor. This was the case on site as well. We were fortunate to be upgraded to a Villa which was incredible. A 4 room house for the price of a room! The bath had two sinks, a bidet, walk in shower and was 12x12'. You want be so fortunate so I will skip the rest about the villas The principal language here Is Spanish and then French with English a distant third place. This was consistently problematic in finding out what something was or asking for something etc. they would want to help but language was a barrier. FOOD. The food is buffet style with one option for dinner at an a la carte beach bar restaurant. We tried it one night and it soured us on the place. Upon getting our pre orders in for one chicken dish and one fish. We received our appetizers, The fish comes preset with cerveche and the chicken with toasted garlic bread. We'll the garlic bread was cold. My complaint upset the chef and he proceeded to attack the waitress verbally over my complaint. This was awkward at best. Poor taste and not acceptable. I approached the chef who was standing at the counter in full view of us motioning and waving his hands and ranting in Spanish and he was unrelenting. We rushed through our meals (sans appetizer) and split. We were the only people in the restraint so I don't know what his problem was. There was five attendants and the two of us? I told him to just put it in the oven and he refused. In the general at a buffet you can find something that you like. The beef was consistently bad, tough and unedible. The chicken was ok but sometimes under cooked. The fish was catch of the day and usually good but sometimes hit or miss. I stuck to pasta with a little chicken thrown in. Just remember that you are in a third world country and act accordingly. At a luncheon buffet I was using tongs to put some spaghetti on my thin plastic plate and it folded in half and started to pour back into the tray. A server noticed and grabbed the spilling pasta with his bare hands and put it back on my plate. Omg! No sense getting mad or complaining because they don't understand. We spent so much time trying to get our Red Wine served at room temperature that we finally got through to one of the many servants what it was we wanted and we had to ask for her every time. So on the food side I would rate HMR low. Breakfasts weren't bad, how can you screw up an omelette, but the bacon was routinely undercooked or burnt, potatoes on the cold side etc. STAFF. Very friendly and wanting to be helpful but language is a barrier and often times you would walk away without an answer. I would definitely learn some Spanish before returning to HMR. If you find the right person you can accomplish a lot but you shouldn't have to search out one. BEACH. The best there is! The snorkeling is why you go to roatan. It is a premier Reef. Turtles, squid, all the assorted fish etc. just fantastic. And underwater coral reef beyond compare. Chasm and canyons everywhere. It doesn't get much better! Shade trees abound just in the HMR area. Other places were sparse and full on sun We did not use the pool because we went there for sun and sand. Clientele. Mostly French Canadian. Which translates into a close knit group of French only conversations but inn large enough numbers that they get a lot of special attention and English gets a back burner. This is unique to the Henry Morgan on Roatan which has English as it's highest tourist number. They had special tables at the restraint and monopolized the after hours going on. BUILDINGS. There is a lot of deferred maintenance on the grounds of HMR. Toilets will run. Breakers routinely cause power outages but not for long. All tolerable. Eye on the prize..... The Snorkelling! SHOWS. Do not go there for the shows. It is not geared to sophisticated tastes and is somewhat crude. The young men running it cater to the older ladies and that's fine but not really a show? All in all the HMR is passable if you fall in love with the magnificent reef out front! If you want to be courted to and wowed it is going to fall short.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Boston MA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 19, 2012
Paradise!

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 17 day stay at Henry Morgan. The staff is amazing. The food was good. The beaches are breathtakingly beautiful. We will definitely return to Roatan, and we will stay at Henry Morgan! ***Remember to take bug spray. There are plenty of mosquitos and sand fleas on the island.


16 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: San Diego, CA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

March 16, 2016
Choose anothe hotel

Beach: Pro - fantastic, beautiful sand Con - they rent their space to the cruise ship - it was packed with non-hotel guests Room: Pro - clean Con - air conditioner leaked on floor, patio door wouldn't lock, shower cold Service: Pro - restaurant & bartenders friendly Con - front desk staff very unfriendly Drinks: Con - no alcohol served before 11:00am, no blender - what's a Caribbean trip without fruity blender drinks Food: Con - the lunch and dinner buffets were just about identical everyday, and everyday was the same as the day before. We had to go out to get a change of pace.


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 6, 2014
Lousy room accommodations but great location,

If you're equating all inclusive to a marvelous room with tile and marble, then this is not your location. I was, at first, taken aback by the stark austerity and basic or below acceptable level room. Like a camp cabin. Two white towels and the room had a paint smell with paint drippings on the floor and very dimly lit. Broken window screens and kinda cruddy. Basic bathroom more like a really cheap roadside hotel. We at first wanted to back out but decided we were in this for the full 7 days. The place grew on you. The beach and dive center were awesome. It had the best beach on the strip and the local dive center was fabulous.Julia and Onen went out of their way to make excursions happen. Take the Caos and Cochinos Island tour and the Catamaran snorkel ride. Gus Tabo was the captain of the Catamaran and he was fantastic as well.The Dolphins, with the encounter also great. The pool was old style with no swim up anything and always cloudy but we weren't there for the pool. We were there for the sun and fun and and had both in abundance so the room became secondary. Drinks on the beach and the beach luncheon was a perfect selection for beach fair Dinner we thought was ok but nothing exceptional. Not a lot of great tasting scrumptious food. Good bargain for the money if you can get past the really cruddy lodging and towel part. Location, like I said, was awesome. Would return with the realization that this is a cheap place but great offerings for diving and snorkeling and beach hanging.


6 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Syracuse, NY
Age: 55-64

December 11, 2014
Why this place is reviewed so highly? Terrible.

My husband and I just returned from Henry Morgan in Roatan and were HIGHLY disappointed. (Keep in mind that we have traveled to Mexico/Cozumel about 10 times in the last 3 years and this was our first time at a resort outside of Cozumel. I don't think that we have extremely high expectations of all inclusive resorts but Henry Morgan missed the mark. The Ugly: The food/drinks/service really killed it for us. Food: We paid good money for an "all inclusive hotel" and breakfast, lunch and dinner were only at specified times and drinks or food off of the "all inclusive menu" was extra $$. So for people that do activities (like diving), when we get back in the afternoon (lunch is from 12:30-2:00) that sometimes when we got back we had to wait until dinner to eat. On top of that, the food was really low quality. There was always a pasta bar (pasta with red sauce, sans meat) that was edible BUT it was generally cold. There was a big table that had salad foods that were room temperature (again not chilled) and including items like leafed lettuce, tomatoes and beets. Ok but again the salad dressing and all of the items were left at room temperature. The fruit (generally papaya, pineapple and watermelon) was always a staple food that we could count on eating. The biggest issue was the meat selection it was just weird combinations (sliced hot dog pizza or onion only pizza). There was always a pork or chicken selection but it was generally with a weird sweet sauce. The food was just gross and we ended up eating out a lot. Bananarama down the beach had great pizzas. Why would we pay for an all inclusive for such bad food and service? Commonly among other resorts we would at least verify the room number upon arrival at the buffet and at least get drinks like coffee or soda served at our table (for which we tip for). But at HM we walked in, plopped down at a table and served ourselves. Sometimes someone would ask if we wanted drinks but not very often (and I think they were really asking to serve drinks off the all inclusive menu). Sadly we saved a lot of tip money. The soda machine was broken most of the week and I don't think Pepsi Light (diet soda) ever worked. There was another restaurant on the resort (and we asked a server but you had to pay for it). The snack bar was open sometimes and one day we did get some empanadas and tostadas that were awesome (but that was only once and their hours were not the same as on the pamphlet from the front desk and we could never figure out when they were open). The bartender and the cook there didn't speak good English so we never figured out the schedule. When we went back the next days at the same time they were not there. Too bad because we tipped good and loved the food. We had the same experience at breakfast, lunch and dinner. All terrible and I don't think we ever had a good meal there except at the snack bar. Drinks: There is a specific "menu" for alcoholic drinks. The house beer? Stroh's. We really only had a few drinks there but at other resorts that we have stayed at, most drinks are served under the all inclusive menu. HM had less than 10. Service/Shuttle: The shuttle was 2 hours late after my husband had emailed before to confirm the appointment for HM to pick us up from the Roatan airport. Upon arrival and leaving we asked for a refund and the girl at front desk was rude and said "you have to pay because you rode the shuttle". The shuttle service was $16 for 2 people vs a $30 taxi at the airport. The front desk employees were RARELY nice and they acted like it was an inconvenience to help. See review about the towels ... Towels: We had to BEG for our beach towels EVERYDAY. A few times they were not ready in the morning. We only had 2 towels in our bathroom and you were given a towel card for a towel at the beach. We could only exchange them 1 per day. So we would get our towel the night before, go diving and exchange them in the afternoon and the people at the front desk would fight with us saying that we could only get one per day and we had to explain several times that we were exchanging them in the afternoon because we were diving and needed something to use after we got back. Ridiculous! On top of that there are no washcloths. Not sure how people wash off typically but washcloths are apparently a commodity. Twice in 8 days the maid only left 1 bath towel and we had to call to get another bath towel to have 2 towels so we could both have one for the shower. Electricity: I know this is an island problem in Roatan, but the electricity went off at least 4-5 times a day. So at night when you are sleeping with the air condition on the electricity will turn off and you will wake up in a hot room and will need to turn the air condition on. Gym: Gross. There were 0 cardio machines besides 2 rusty stationary bikes, no air condition and the equipment was rusty. The weird thing was that there were 2 rooms behind the mirrors and one day when I was working out there was a guy staying in the room and I could see him in the reflection. WEIRD. A workout room that also houses employees? Just plain CREEPY. Rooms: Studio type rooms but the bathroom was old, water stained and out of date. I could overlook if the food/drinks/service but it wasn't. I seen some reviews complaining about the walk from the front desk/beach and it is long (we were in room 245) and it was about a 5-10 minute walk to the front desk. It rained all week and there was standing water everywhere. I also had to ask for a blow dryer and they came to INSTALL it when we were gone (they plugged it in). So bring your own blow dryer because it smelled like it was going to break down at any minute. Small things like handles were missing from the drawers and just everything was low rent for the amount of money that we paid. The Good: The beach was beautiful outside and the resort was just a brief walk from our room. The cable TV was good inside of our room and had multiple channels in English or English subtitles. The water was always hot for the showers and the air conditioners in the rooms were cool. We dove with West Bay Divers (awesome) and it was just a short walk from the beach. Will we stay at Henry Morgan again? NO. We toured the Infinity resort down the street and it looked awesome and had a great review from a fellow diver. Henry Morgan ... NEVER AGAIN.

Why this place is reviewed so highly? Terrible. Why this place is reviewed so highly? Terrible.
6 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Kansas City
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 11, 2013
average

The pool was big and the resort was right on a nice beach. Hotel service was average. There was only one restaurant on the whole resort and it was buffet style. The food was average at best but the variety got old after only a few days, had to leave resort to find better food options.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: cleveland ohio
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 19, 2014
A "Good Get Away"

This was my first trip with "Cheap Caribbean" and I was leery as we first booked the vacation, but is was simple and everything was as promised on the website. As for the Henry Morgan, we are a dating couple and were promised a King size bed. This never happened, we asked for a move, but no such luck. The two full size beds, were very comfortable, the room was very clean, and air conditioner blew cold. The shower was another story. The week started off fine, by by the end of our 5 days, the water pressure dropped to a Trickle, and Im not kidding by that term. There were a few days after the sun set that there was NO Hot water to be had. I saw Solar H2O heater, but also saw maintenance repairing a hot water tank. As for the food, Breakfast and Lunch are the exact same meal every day. There was NO variance. I headed the other comments about dinner being stale, and we went to other restaurants every night just to get out. Restaurants ran about $60.00 dinner and drinks for two. Beach and Pool are First Class! One thing, the pool towel policy of one towel per person is really chincy. Bartenders were great, and always cheerful pouring vivations all day long. We really were impressed with the staff, security, and cleanliness of Henry Morgan.


7 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Houston
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 15, 2015
Pleasantly relaxing.

The resort at least the 2 rooms I stayed in were nice, the bathroom is a little out dated, however everything works. A). The TV service worked the first night we were there, but for the next 3 days there was no signal. B) AC worked fined the first night in our room and the next day after returning from the beach we had left it on, on auto low cool to keep the room cool, upon returning to the room it was muggy hot AC had stop working they said it was the condenser, they changed the room to a double bed (we had a King size bed before), one hammock was missing from the balcony, when they replaced it my husband sat in it and it broke with him good thing he did not break or hurt himself. C) Night life was okay closed at 11pm for young folks wanting to party it was boring unless one wanted to pace the beach looking for fun at the other resorts and hotels nearby. D) security was great, always visible. The food was good more than enough bacon for Bacon lovers. the variety of food overall were great. E) Jorge, in charge of the Dining room was very nice and accommodating., Kevin the young bar tender so great with the drink mixing great job Guys, the staff at the reception desk was also very nice . On the last day, our room telephone worked. Pool is nice and big enough. The beach is beautiful powder sand. and the awesome blue water love it. I would recommend this resort just do not expect that you are in a 5 star resort. If you are a drinker the limit you will be able to drink is at 11 pm (after 11pm everything shuts down at the resort )if they think you have had too much, they have a right to restrict you. Glad I am not a drinker rather go swimming.


3 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NEW YORK
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 15, 2013
Awesome

I am already going back ! TGI diving great job ! Staff at henry Morgan A+++ thanks for a great job


2 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year