All

Henry Morgan Hotel & Beach Resort Reviews

Central America | Roatan Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 11 Reviews
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.7
Beaches & Pools
 
3.8
Dining Options
 
2.2
Room Comfort
 
2.9
2.8 out of 5
"I am already going back ! TGI diving great job ! Staff at henry Morgan A+++ thanks for a great job" – Heeter
8 out of 13 (62%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

All Henry Morgan Hotel & Beach Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 11 reviews. Sort by
August 25, 2012

My son and I had a great vacation in Roatan. the hotel room was nice. It is not luxury but we knew that going there. It was clean and neat. The bathtub could have been replaced but not a big deal. The beaches are beautiful. There is lots to do in this beach area and lots of great places to eat close by. The food at the Henry Morgan was good. It was not amazing but it was not bad. My only complaint was that the dinner hours there were only from 7-9 pm and after spending a day in the hot sun and doing things we wanted to eat and relax long before that so we ended up eating at Bananrama and that was great and not expensive. A few things i would say is never asked the front desk for a taxi the fee is way too much. Never let the hotel schedule an outing as you can do it yourself much cheaper. walk up the beach and back the alley and get your own cab. The zip lining is wonderful. you can find all kinds of people on the beach for inexpensive fishing trips. I would recommend it.


45 of 46 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Harrisonburg, VA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 27, 2014
Roatan oasis

In order to accurately review the Henry Morgan resort in Roatan, Honduras I would have to piece it together. That way you can decide what is important to you. To condemn a place because the food is not to my standards doesn't help you if you are a vegetarian etc. We heard all the usual grumbles, before our trip, about first floor rooms hearing noise from footsteps on the second floor. This was the case on site as well. We were fortunate to be upgraded to a Villa which was incredible. A 4 room house for the price of a room! The bath had two sinks, a bidet, walk in shower and was 12x12'. You want be so fortunate so I will skip the rest about the villas The principal language here Is Spanish and then French with English a distant third place. This was consistently problematic in finding out what something was or asking for something etc. they would want to help but language was a barrier. FOOD. The food is buffet style with one option for dinner at an a la carte beach bar restaurant. We tried it one night and it soured us on the place. Upon getting our pre orders in for one chicken dish and one fish. We received our appetizers, The fish comes preset with cerveche and the chicken with toasted garlic bread. We'll the garlic bread was cold. My complaint upset the chef and he proceeded to attack the waitress verbally over my complaint. This was awkward at best. Poor taste and not acceptable. I approached the chef who was standing at the counter in full view of us motioning and waving his hands and ranting in Spanish and he was unrelenting. We rushed through our meals (sans appetizer) and split. We were the only people in the restraint so I don't know what his problem was. There was five attendants and the two of us? I told him to just put it in the oven and he refused. In the general at a buffet you can find something that you like. The beef was consistently bad, tough and unedible. The chicken was ok but sometimes under cooked. The fish was catch of the day and usually good but sometimes hit or miss. I stuck to pasta with a little chicken thrown in. Just remember that you are in a third world country and act accordingly. At a luncheon buffet I was using tongs to put some spaghetti on my thin plastic plate and it folded in half and started to pour back into the tray. A server noticed and grabbed the spilling pasta with his bare hands and put it back on my plate. Omg! No sense getting mad or complaining because they don't understand. We spent so much time trying to get our Red Wine served at room temperature that we finally got through to one of the many servants what it was we wanted and we had to ask for her every time. So on the food side I would rate HMR low. Breakfasts weren't bad, how can you screw up an omelette, but the bacon was routinely undercooked or burnt, potatoes on the cold side etc. STAFF. Very friendly and wanting to be helpful but language is a barrier and often times you would walk away without an answer. I would definitely learn some Spanish before returning to HMR. If you find the right person you can accomplish a lot but you shouldn't have to search out one. BEACH. The best there is! The snorkeling is why you go to roatan. It is a premier Reef. Turtles, squid, all the assorted fish etc. just fantastic. And underwater coral reef beyond compare. Chasm and canyons everywhere. It doesn't get much better! Shade trees abound just in the HMR area. Other places were sparse and full on sun We did not use the pool because we went there for sun and sand. Clientele. Mostly French Canadian. Which translates into a close knit group of French only conversations but inn large enough numbers that they get a lot of special attention and English gets a back burner. This is unique to the Henry Morgan on Roatan which has English as it's highest tourist number. They had special tables at the restraint and monopolized the after hours going on. BUILDINGS. There is a lot of deferred maintenance on the grounds of HMR. Toilets will run. Breakers routinely cause power outages but not for long. All tolerable. Eye on the prize..... The Snorkelling! SHOWS. Do not go there for the shows. It is not geared to sophisticated tastes and is somewhat crude. The young men running it cater to the older ladies and that's fine but not really a show? All in all the HMR is passable if you fall in love with the magnificent reef out front! If you want to be courted to and wowed it is going to fall short.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Boston MA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 19, 2012
Paradise!

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 17 day stay at Henry Morgan. The staff is amazing. The food was good. The beaches are breathtakingly beautiful. We will definitely return to Roatan, and we will stay at Henry Morgan! ***Remember to take bug spray. There are plenty of mosquitos and sand fleas on the island.


16 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: San Diego, CA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

January 6, 2014
Lousy room accommodations but great location,

If you're equating all inclusive to a marvelous room with tile and marble, then this is not your location. I was, at first, taken aback by the stark austerity and basic or below acceptable level room. Like a camp cabin. Two white towels and the room had a paint smell with paint drippings on the floor and very dimly lit. Broken window screens and kinda cruddy. Basic bathroom more like a really cheap roadside hotel. We at first wanted to back out but decided we were in this for the full 7 days. The place grew on you. The beach and dive center were awesome. It had the best beach on the strip and the local dive center was fabulous.Julia and Onen went out of their way to make excursions happen. Take the Caos and Cochinos Island tour and the Catamaran snorkel ride. Gus Tabo was the captain of the Catamaran and he was fantastic as well.The Dolphins, with the encounter also great. The pool was old style with no swim up anything and always cloudy but we weren't there for the pool. We were there for the sun and fun and and had both in abundance so the room became secondary. Drinks on the beach and the beach luncheon was a perfect selection for beach fair Dinner we thought was ok but nothing exceptional. Not a lot of great tasting scrumptious food. Good bargain for the money if you can get past the really cruddy lodging and towel part. Location, like I said, was awesome. Would return with the realization that this is a cheap place but great offerings for diving and snorkeling and beach hanging.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Syracuse, NY
Age: 55-64

March 19, 2014
A "Good Get Away"

This was my first trip with "Cheap Caribbean" and I was leery as we first booked the vacation, but is was simple and everything was as promised on the website. As for the Henry Morgan, we are a dating couple and were promised a King size bed. This never happened, we asked for a move, but no such luck. The two full size beds, were very comfortable, the room was very clean, and air conditioner blew cold. The shower was another story. The week started off fine, by by the end of our 5 days, the water pressure dropped to a Trickle, and Im not kidding by that term. There were a few days after the sun set that there was NO Hot water to be had. I saw Solar H2O heater, but also saw maintenance repairing a hot water tank. As for the food, Breakfast and Lunch are the exact same meal every day. There was NO variance. I headed the other comments about dinner being stale, and we went to other restaurants every night just to get out. Restaurants ran about $60.00 dinner and drinks for two. Beach and Pool are First Class! One thing, the pool towel policy of one towel per person is really chincy. Bartenders were great, and always cheerful pouring vivations all day long. We really were impressed with the staff, security, and cleanliness of Henry Morgan.


5 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Houston
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 15, 2013
Great value, if you can appreciate the culture

If you are a person who will respect the trip you just purchased, your vacation like ours, will be fantastic. We had a great trip! If you are expecting the Ritz, this is not the place for you. The beach and pool were great, and we could not have expected the perfect service! Freddy was amazing at every meal. If you vacation here you will eat the local cuisine, if you can not appreciate that don't stay here. The rooms are modest, but beautiful. Just request the top floor, because the hotel is made of wood. The veiws from the beach were more than we ever expected. All in all, The Henry Morgan on Roatan will be a perfect getaway!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Baton Rouge, LA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 11, 2013
average

The pool was big and the resort was right on a nice beach. Hotel service was average. There was only one restaurant on the whole resort and it was buffet style. The food was average at best but the variety got old after only a few days, had to leave resort to find better food options.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: cleveland ohio
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 15, 2015
Pleasantly relaxing.

The resort at least the 2 rooms I stayed in were nice, the bathroom is a little out dated, however everything works. A). The TV service worked the first night we were there, but for the next 3 days there was no signal. B) AC worked fined the first night in our room and the next day after returning from the beach we had left it on, on auto low cool to keep the room cool, upon returning to the room it was muggy hot AC had stop working they said it was the condenser, they changed the room to a double bed (we had a King size bed before), one hammock was missing from the balcony, when they replaced it my husband sat in it and it broke with him good thing he did not break or hurt himself. C) Night life was okay closed at 11pm for young folks wanting to party it was boring unless one wanted to pace the beach looking for fun at the other resorts and hotels nearby. D) security was great, always visible. The food was good more than enough bacon for Bacon lovers. the variety of food overall were great. E) Jorge, in charge of the Dining room was very nice and accommodating., Kevin the young bar tender so great with the drink mixing great job Guys, the staff at the reception desk was also very nice . On the last day, our room telephone worked. Pool is nice and big enough. The beach is beautiful powder sand. and the awesome blue water love it. I would recommend this resort just do not expect that you are in a 5 star resort. If you are a drinker the limit you will be able to drink is at 11 pm (after 11pm everything shuts down at the resort )if they think you have had too much, they have a right to restrict you. Glad I am not a drinker rather go swimming.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NEW YORK
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 16, 2016
Choose anothe hotel

Beach: Pro - fantastic, beautiful sand Con - they rent their space to the cruise ship - it was packed with non-hotel guests Room: Pro - clean Con - air conditioner leaked on floor, patio door wouldn't lock, shower cold Service: Pro - restaurant & bartenders friendly Con - front desk staff very unfriendly Drinks: Con - no alcohol served before 11:00am, no blender - what's a Caribbean trip without fruity blender drinks Food: Con - the lunch and dinner buffets were just about identical everyday, and everyday was the same as the day before. We had to go out to get a change of pace.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 15, 2013
Awesome

I am already going back ! TGI diving great job ! Staff at henry Morgan A+++ thanks for a great job


2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year