All

Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, Antigua Reviews

Caribbean | Antigua Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 14 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
3.4
4.1 out of 5
14 out of 15 (93%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Honeymoon Cove & Beach Club Cottages View from Beach Club Cottage #131 Hawkbill from the helicopter

All Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, Antigua Customer Reviews

1-10 of 14 reviews. Sort by
November 27, 2011
Overall good experience, just a few issues

This was our 1st experience at an all inclusive, and for the price we paid it was a good value. Beautiful setting, good food, mostly nice staff. The resort is aging though, and needs some investment. That said we were comfortable, (except for hot water problem that had to be repaired twice). One night the bar closed and several die hards (us included) kept socializing, and the barkeep came back out and re-opened the bar. Very nice and surprising gesture, though I'm sure one couple wished they had not done that, the next am. The high rating for "beaches and pool" is exclusively aimed at the beaches. I jumped in the small pool one time (real small) and got some strange looks. Never saw anyone else in it. but i survived to right this review. Guess if they put in an infinity pool they'd have to charge more. Quite a few people return regularly to this place so there is a draw working here, my guess is the beaches beauty and value, not so much the accommodations. Hey, just being honest.


38 of 38 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Virginia,USA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Relax

Relax......let the magnificent landscape, miles of beautiful beaches, turquoise waters,and friendly staff sweep you off your feet at this off- the- path perfect paradise. Hawksbill Antigua is jammed packed with activities for those who want to explore or quiet places for those who want to take in the ambiance and charm of this resort. The food was incredible; the options numerous. Overall, this was one of the best vacations my husband I and have been on for such a reasonable price. It was a beautiful experience that I have kept with me to this very day and will treasure until I can get there again.

Relax Relax
29 of 32 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 7, 2015
Nice Place

Great location in Antigua. The resort has 4 beaches and one is clothing optional. The beaches and water were great and snorkeling was good right from the beach. The food was good with a lot of options. I don't understand any of the previous complaints about the food. The wine and drinks were also very good and varied. The staff was very experienced and very friendly, always wanting to help. The clientele were older, but had lots of great stories and experiences. We arranged massages, cruises, diving, and a helicopter ride right from the hotel and had no problems booking. One downside is the taxi fares are expensive traveling around the island, but they do wait around or will rerun to pick you up, we never had to wait on a taxi. Diving and snorkeling were fun and we saw sharks, rays, and many types of fish. The resort is dated and could use a renovation, which is scheduled for this Summer. If you can get over some of the worn feel of this place, you will have a wonderful time and meet a lot of great folks. The mosquitos do get to be a problem in the rooms atet the rain. I would go back and miss it already.

Hawkbill from the helicopter
14 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: MD
Age: 55-64

August 4, 2014
Good Value - GREAT STAFF

From the time we arrived, we knew this would be a great place to spend our vacation. After the trip we arrived dead tired, hungry, and irritable. Ornella at the front desk was so sweet and professional that we immediately felt welcomed and at ease. Alvin took our bags to our room and his great attitude set the tone for our stay. The view was stunning from nearly every area of the resort. Despite the facilities being older and possibly in need of some more contemporary upgrades, I really felt the resort had character. Every area was meticulously landscaped to perfection and always free of litter and obstructions. Since the layout of the resort is actually quite long, it does take some time to walk from one area to another. Despite that fact, it was like a walk through paradise each time we went to breakfast, lunch, dinner, or even back to our room. The beaches... fabulous. Only a few dozen yards off shore are some of the best coral reefs for snorkeling. They have several different types of small boats and water equipment easily available to the guests, so if you want to snorkel, kayak, paddleboat, or sail, it's all there. If you'd rather just lay in the sun, there are ample beach chairs available. The breakfast was always delicious with plenty of choices within a traditional English type breakfast. Lunch was always delicious with grilled fresh local catch available or even hamburgers. I have to recommend the fish cakes. Dinner was a wonderful surprise each night. Most nights it was a buffet style dinner with plenty of choices. We took advantage of the massage services and highly, highly recommend that you do as well. Fantastic. Housekeeping kept our rooms clean and never intruded on our privacy. After a week, it seemed as if we knew the entire staff and each and every one made it their business to see that we enjoyed our stay there. All were very proud of their beautiful country and were great ambassadors for Antigua. As nice as the facilities were, it was the staff that made our stay excellent instead of just good. We can't wait to see them next year. We will without a doubt be back to Hawksbill next year. We found during our stay that many of the guests had been there before. We had an opportunity to visit some of the other resorts on the island, but the people staying there were quite envious when we told them about Hawksbill. If you want to spend a romantic time with your significant other or truly enjoy being with your family, this is the place to go. I read several reviews before booking our trip and I hope this one helps you make your decision. I don't think you can go wrong with Hawksbill. We didn't want to leave.

Good Value - GREAT STAFF Good Value - GREAT STAFF
8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Columbus, Ohio
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 30, 2013
Great beach , Great staff, 1980's Facility

Lets do the Good then Bad..........just spent the week of 5/18-25/2013 here, and I booked the best room in the house, so I thought. As the description reads, beautiful grounds, beautiful beach, and the friendliest staff you can find. Very quiet place, very safe, plenty of beach chairs spread across the four beaches. The food was good, breakfast had an omelet station everyday plus other options, lunch and dinner options were limited but the food was good. Not great, so dont expect 4star dinning.Portions are small, especially salads, but just ask for another and they would bring it. Drinks were small and not very strong, just order a shot of rum to go with your drink... Wine by the glass only, but the waiters at dinner keep your glass full.. If you can even drink the red, god! ..... Beachfront Club Room "the picture is a total misrepresentation of the room" The picture they use is only opened if you rent two or more rooms....do not spend the extra money. The room they leave you with is smaller than the sea view bungalows... Get the room with a/c, and looking at the resort from the ocean, one of the rooms to the right of the main lobby. Rooms to the left, have the worst of the 4 beaches, no bar, and on Sunday's locals spend the day on that beach also making in very loud.. Entertainment is a joke, there is none, and there is really no where close to go, bring a deck of cards. Prices on everything are high, bring all your toiletries , suntan lotion was $18 a tube. Bring a can of OFF for the Mosquitos at dinner, the flys and the birds keep them away at breakfast and lunch.. Bring a couple of empty water bottles from your flight, water is $3 a bottle. But they have water coolers at the beach restaurant so you can refill. They have sail boats and kayaks available, but beware they charge you $40 u.s. for them to make sure you know how to sail.. Snorkeling off the beach is bad, there are two decent spots one right in front of the house I stayed in on the point, and just to the right of the Hawksbill rock "start at the beginning of the nude beach" easy swim. If your going to go snorkeling make sure you look up Lion Fish and know what they look like, saw a few in this location. Scuba Divers beware diving is horrible on this island, no protection of the reef at all. I have been diving since the 70s and I'm from NewEngland conditions have never made me do less the 6 dives on a vacation. I did a 1 day trip and refused to pay money for such lousy diving.. So bottom line.... Go for the quiet and beautiful location, go for the beach, expect ok food, and drinks, and remember the lower price. You will have a good time. Expect more you will be disappointed..... The Thur. Trip to Montserrat is really interesting if you can handle the ferry ride, but be prepared to pay cash, they can never seem to get the credit card to work.. To the owners and managers of the resort, Dining areas needs some more fans and some netting, keep the pest away. Hire a local band more than one night "the 3 old guys are great though" ... And really men have to wear long pants and a collared shirt to dinner, to give it a sense of class. Which is fine, but you feel its ok to have a heard of the ugliest cats I ever seen climbing under my table every night begging for food. Have the kitchen feed the cats scraps out back, keep them out of the dinning area. And even though you have not for years nor are doing any upgrades to the facility, your place would get much better ratings.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Boston, ma. USA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 7, 2015
Hidden Treasure

Wow! Hawksbill Resort is a hidden treasure. Spectacular 4 beaches and extremely private. It was like having our own slice of the Caribbean. The resort needs some upgrades. However the views and grounds are wonderful! We stayed in the water front Beach Club cottage facing Sea Grape Beach. It was basic shabby chic, but very comfortable and the view from the king bed; no words can capture the paradice. This resort is not for the party night life, it's for the escape to serenity people! Staff and accommodation were nice. It's rumored the resort is closing for 6 mos for upgrades. We plan to return and recommend Hawksbill for those who seek peace and serenity in Antigua!

Honeymoon Cove & Beach Club Cottages View from Beach Club Cottage #131
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Maryland, USA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 22, 2013
In Need of Maintenance

Let me first say that the property is exquisite. This resort is set on a beautiful piece of secluded property, away from the hustle and bustle of other tourist areas. The staff were friendly, accommodating, and genuinely nice folks. They went out of their way to try and make our stay comfortable. Sean, the activities guy is fabulous! He did a superb job of accommodating our need for sailing, snorkeling, and other recreation. It is a shame, therefore, that the resort itself is in such extremely poor condition. My fiancée and I were disturbed by the poor maintenance of the buildings and guest accommodations. It appeared as if Rex Resorts had not invested in this property in quite some time: the guest rooms were uncomfortable, furnished with old furniture and older mattresses; the bathrooms had cracked tiles, leaking faucets, and running toilets; and there were bugs everywhere! I realize that this is the tropics, but in all our travels through the Caribbean, we had yet to see a hotel that did not actively addresses bug problems. This resort’s answer to our bug concerns? They gave us a can of “Bop” bug spray and told us to spray the room with poison ourselves – day after day. If you didn’t book the higher level Beachfront villa, the other rooms don’t even have air conditioning – in the Caribbean! Walking the grounds, one sees building foundations crumbling, cracked roofs, and a tennis court that needed resurfacing years ago. The one and only pool at the resort was one 20’ by 20’ square; the pool furniture was old and covered in bird droppings – as was all the beach chairs. The “Wellness House”, where we received mediocre massages, had a door that wouldn’t close properly, no air conditioning, and the catwalk just outside the room had crumbling concrete above one’s head with exposed rebar. As an all-inclusive resort, there are no dining options; there is only one dining room at this resort. The fair was healthy, but very pedestrian. Nothing very interesting or enticing. Overall, we had a fairly nice stay, blinding ourselves to the state of the resort itself. This resort is in need of major renovation. We would not return, nor recommend this resort to anyone, until such time as significant investment is made by Rex Resorts in updating and repairing the facility in line with other resorts on the island. In its present state it is just not competitive.


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 3, 2014
Hawksbill Antigua

The Hawksbill is a very relaxing resort catering to retired British couples. Not to say that there wasn't young couples from around the world. But the majority of the people are British. This was the most relaxing vacation that I have ever had. If you want to relax on uncrowded beaches with good service this is the place. If your looking for all night partying. Try another location.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: East Freetown MA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 16, 2013
Great place to relax

Hawksbill has a beautiful property with 4 beaches. Eden beach was the best beach of all, very beautiful, quiet, totally relaxing away from everything. It is a nude beach so don't go to that beach if that bothers you, but you will be missing the greatest beach of all the property. All the staff were very pleasant and I would definely recommend for a totally relaxing vacation!


2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Peoria Illinois
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 28, 2016

Friendliest staff who provided excellent service. The beach is beautiful and if you want to just be on the beach, this is the perfect location. The rooms are very simple and leave somewhat to be desired. Additionally, the mattresses are very thin and uncomfortable. A 3 star hotel, a good bang for your buck based on the beach alone.


2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: new york, ny
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year