All

Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya - Heaven Section Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 15 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.8
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
4.8
Room Comfort
 
4.6
4.7 out of 5
16 out of 17 (94%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Farniente Breakfast

All Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya - Heaven Section Customer Reviews

1-10 of 15 reviews. Sort by
March 7, 2014
worth the money

The hotel, service and food was excellent. Very friendly staff! Loved all the activities that were planned daily. The only thing that was missing was a night club to end the night dancing! Room had very bad pillows so take your own if you can! Other than that it was a great time and experience! Will definitely be going back!


13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 29, 2016
Great Place to Visit

We really enjoyed visiting this resort. Below are a few key points that may help some people out that are looking to visit. Service & rooms: The service was great while we were here. We never had an employee seem like they expected a tip. If we wanted to tip anyone that helped up we pretty much had to shove the money in their hand. This place also did not have any pushy sales people to deal with which was very nice. We told them we weren't interested in attending the sales-offer breakfast and they didn't try to push the issue on us. The rooms were cleaned daily and the entire staff was super friendly to us. The rooms could have been cleaned a bit better but the room itself was amazing. Everything was built great. We had a room with a private upper floor and hot tub. We didn't end up using the hot tub but we did spend a lot of time on the upper floor area laying in the sun and having drinks. At night there were some little flies that came out but I only saw them by our room (our room was directly next to the wooded area, far end of the resort). At the end of the day we wanted to hang out and watch a bit of TV before bed and there were only a couple English speaking channels. Bars & minibar in room: There were loud bars and quite bars which was great. If we wanted to party we could go to the bar that was more club like. We found a bar in the main lobby area of the Heaven Section that we really liked. Aldo was our bartender and he was awesome! We took the time to make fancy drinks and shots for us and was always cracking jokes. The drinks at this resort were the best drinks that I've had from an all inclusive. They were made with premium liquors and were not watered down in the least bit. I have found myself missing the drinks at this resort when I have visited others. There was also a swim up bar in the main pool and a couple small pop up bars around the other pool. There was a great, covered bar that overlooked the ocean outside. That was my favorite bar because of the beautiful location. IT was huge and they made great drinks too. The mini bar in the room had a 4 liquors (vodka, dark rum, clear rum, and tequila). These were about middle shelf which was fine. The beer in the fridge was light Mexican beer. The only beers that were available at the resort bars were draft regular and amber Dosequis. They kept our mini bar STOCKED! Whenever we needed something they would run us up a 6 pack or new bottle. Best mini bar I've had at a resort as far as alcohol choices. Food: The food was pretty good overall. The French Restaurant and the Brazillian steakhouse were our favorites. I've had better food other places but this was still great. There are so many options here that I never got bored. There is also no reservations for the restaurants which is AWESOME! The longest we waited for an open seat was 15 mins at the French restaurant. I hate planning my day on vacation so not being on a time constraint as to when we had to be to dinner was very nice. I will never go to a resort that requires dinner reservations. I really wished there were some fresher options at the buffet though. We would stop in their for lunch everyday since it was right next to the pool. There were a ton of options (which was great) but I wish they offered more things like fresh salads (like tuna or pasta salads) and some things that were a bit lighter. A lot of the food was warm and quite heavy so I ended up eating a lot of baked fish and fresh fruit. The room service itself was great but the food left something to be desired. It was fairly plain but was great you could get it 24 hours a day. Resort Grounds: Huge and Beautiful. We had a great time exploring and looking at wildlife like the iguanas. There are paths all over. I read some complaints about how big this resort is and I really don't get it. We loved walking to all the different restaurants and all around to check out different areas of the resort. They have cement paths and lights so it's not difficult to get from one area to the other even if it's dark. They also offer golf cart rides from one end of the resort to the other which was fun. The big resort made it feel like there were less people there. There really isn't a true beach here but the pool areas kind of make up for it. The beach had sand brought in and was a very small area. If you are a beach dweller, you may not like this place. Best parts: Great drinks (liquor), no reservations, lots of food choices, great in room mini bar that is restocked often (and included in the price), lots of room to walk and explore, and nice up to date rooms. Could use improvement: Beach area, food quality at some of the restaurants (like the buffet), beer choices, and more TV channels or movie choices are needed. Overall, I would recommend this to anyone that is problem 40s or younger and I we will probably end up going back to this resort. The Heaven side seemed to attract a younger group of people but it was still very nice and not as loud as I expected. I liked it a lot!


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Kalamazoo, MI
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 22, 2014
Very Nice Vacation

My wife and I just finished our vacation a few days ago. We had a great time. Stayed in the Heaven Section, which I highly suggest over the other section if you don't have kids. The other section is only a few minutes away and golf carts run continuously. Upon our arrival we were impressed by the resorts appearance and service. We opted for a room with a Sky View Terrance. The view was great. But all that really means is you have two balconies, one off the room (which comes with all the rooms) and the other up stairs with a hot tub (normal rooms have hot tubs in the rooms, instead of outside and upstairs). Initially, my wife and I thought this "Sky View Terrance" was great, but we never got a chance to really use it. The money we spent on this upgrade would have paid for all our exclusions. Regarding food, the Italian and Brazilian places were the best. Nothing was bad, but the steak house, Toro, I enjoyed the least. We never got a chance to eat at the French place. Compared to Sandals, which is the only other all inclusive we stayed at (Sandals Negril Jamaica), the Hard Rock was nicer in finish and appearance but Sandals was more "beachy." They were both great in terms of service, but be prepared to tip at Hard Rock, where Sandals forbids its employees from accepting gratuity (at least the few we tried to tip during our trip). We would definitely go back -- great vacation.


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Louisiana
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 9, 2015
Hard Rock Riviera Maya

I would rate this average among other resorts I've been to in the area. FIRST time ever to get food poisoning at a resort. Luckily it wasn't very bad. Threw most of it up. Staff for the most part was excellent. the Resort credits were not a factor for me. The certainly pushed the vacation club for a "free" excursion but I'm far too seasoned of a traveller for that nonsense. I go to MX every year and stay at different resorts. There are better than Hard Rock. Security was inefficient also. Only saw them at the gate when I arrived and when I left. Save your money. I really had a hard time swallowing this was Hard Rock franchise. I understand it was managed by another company and is "affiliated" with Hard Rock. Just my 2 cents.


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: LA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 3, 2014
Week trip

Great time. The staff was very friendly. Well kept hotel. For the all inclusive trip they provided top shelf drinks. The room even came with free bottles of rum and whiskey. Tons of options to choose from when it comes to food.


4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Alexandria, va
Age: 25-34

August 11, 2016
Relaxing, Fun, Beautiful

This resort is simply amazing! It's about an hour away from Cancun International Airport (the transfer service we used was a private transport and about $115 for the two of us). Upon arriving, you are greeted by a bell boy to assist you with your bags, followed by someone in the lobby that greets you with a delicious fruit punch and introduces you to someone at the front desk. We were there for my birthday and they asked if there was any special occasion we were there for, so we told them! They ended up upgrading our room to a suite with a private roof deck and hot tub! A lot of people said during check-in, this is where they try to get you with a timeshare breakfast. We were introduced to the timeshare person and he noticed we were antsy to begin our vacation, so he said if we wanted to come back after we settle in then we can! We did not end up going back, but we also did not end up avoiding that area of the hotel to avoid a conversation. They did not bother us not one bit! The room was amazing. With turn down service nightly and 24/hour room service, how can you not relax at this resort? Our room had a liquor dispenser (with full bottles of tequila, whiskey, rum, and vodka all free!), a stocked mini fridge (with beer, juices, water, and sodas), a hammock on the lower level balcony, a roof deck/hot tub on the upper level balcony, a beautiful bathroom, and a comfortable bed! The only complaint I had, and its really not a bad one, is that there were XL grasshoppers on the roof deck everywhere. They do not bite, but they are mostly just annoying. Sometimes we were finding ourselves brushing these dudes off the roof deck just to relax up there, but it almost made it impossible if you are the slightest bit grossed out by bugs. They stayed towards the top of the properties, so they were never a problem on the grounds, pool, or beach...it just wasn't a pleasant experience on the roof deck (which seemed like an amazing option until we found out that it was anything but relaxing). I highly recommend bringing a portable bluetooth speaker of some sort, so you can jam out to some classic rock while there! The water is SAFE here. We drank the water with ice and we were 100% fine. I even asked the waiter at the first restaurant we sat down at if the water was purified and they gave me a very serious "yes". We pretty much ordered room service breakfast every single morning because the breakfast restaurant buffet was on the other side of the property (the hacienda side). The room service menu was quite impressive. From bacon and eggs to a steak sandwich with fries, they had everything. The restaurants we went to were the steak house, Japanese hibachi, Brazilian style bbq, and Mexican. For anyone saying the food was just "okay", let me set the record straight... the food here is amazing. I have been on all-inclusive vacations before and usually the food is god awful. Not the Hard Rock. I had a flank steak for dinner at the steak house, fajita's at the Mexican, every type of meat possible (lamb, chicken, sausage, beef, etc) at the Brazilian bbq, and everyone is served the same dishes at the Japanese Hibachi (soup, sushi, fried rice, steak, shrimp, chicken, and vegetables). I had absolutely no complaints about my food whatsoever! The beach was beautiful, with HUGE tropical fish that were very friendly. The rocks blocking the waves were a huge plus, they kept out all the huge waves to keep it nice and calm in the beach area and also blocked every single piece of seaweed that tried to sneak through. We brought our own snorkels and went snorkeling (highly recommended!) in the beach area to see all these fish. WOW. We paid for an excursion and didn't even see this many tropical fish!! Go under the decks and you will be HIGHLY satisfied!! The pools were great, most of the time there was some sort of activity going on in them...but only in one section (the pool bar section). The pools are relaxing on the Heaven side, unless there's an activity going on. Then it gets loud, but not out of control whatsoever. If you are thinking this isn't relaxing, head down to the beach and you can barely hear it! There is a gym that we used quite a few times while we were there (located on the second floor of the Heaven side lobby). There were no fans, but it was air conditioned in there. The equipment was decent with a large selection of different things. They have a free-weight area, a wide variety of machines, and cardio equipment. They provide a water bottle and a towel upon arriving at the gym. The service was impeccable. We do not speak Spanish by any means and we communicated just fine. Everyone pretty much speaks English (and very good English, if that!) so we didn't have any problems or misunderstandings. Everyone was a pleasure to deal with, I literally have no complaints. We will be returning next year!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 10, 2015
Heaven: aptly named!

My boyf and I are 30-somethings and we have been checking out various Hard Rock locations over the course of the past year. (March 2014 Punta Cana) We stayed at Riviera Maya in September 2014 for my 30th birthday and have not stopped talking about it since. We had a BLAST! Not only were they amazing and upgrade our room, but the whole experience was truly phenomenal. Staff was pleasant, attentive and incredibly helpful. The food was fantastic and the drinks were heavy handed if you ask the bartended to load you up! There was ALWAYS something to do. We utilized the resort credit to the fullest. Sure, you are responsible for 20%, but massages for two every day for a week for 360$ sounds like a win if you ask me! We also tried the Tezmacal. (Something tells me I am spelling that wrong.) It was a sweat ritual and we had a great experience. Rafael led us through the Tezmacal and while we were the only ones who didn't primarily speak Spanish, he was sure to keep us in the loop :-) We recommend this to anyone considering. We have stayed at many different all inclusive resorts and have really enjoyed the Hard Rock Brand. They stand behind what they offer and are always very welcoming! We booked our return trip for September 2015 and can not wait! Everyone really went above and beyond to host a fantastic and unforgettable experience. Our room was decked out for my birthday and it was unexpected and awesome. Saying I can't wait to return is just an understatement. Have travelled to many different resorts but this is hands down my favorite <3


1 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: South jersey
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 29, 2016
Repeat Visitor

I visited Adventura Spa 10 times over the past 15 years. It transitioned to the Hard Rock Riviera Maya - Heaven. The landscaping has been upgraded along with the rooms. The exercise class options are more numerous and the food is outstanding. The spa and beauty treatments that I enjoyed years ago didn't disappoint last week. As in prior years, the employees are extremely accommodating always seeking to please. My only criticism is that they have destroyed the Heaven Lobby. It is gaudy and over the top. There should be a classic way to display rock memorabilia without covering gorgeous light fixtures with metal foil and placing fake clouds/curtains over the main meeting area framed in dark/heavy drapes. I spoke with many return patrons over the past week and all had the same impression of the lobby. This would be an extremely easy fix. However, I will absolutely return within the next year without question. In the overall scheme, the lobby can be overlooked.


1 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Northern VA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 15, 2016
Awesome Resort!

My wife and I went here for our honeymoon and it was amazing! You expect top notch service from a place like this, but the staff here went far above and beyond anything I could expect. Waiters, bartenders, bell boys, maids etc all had amazing customer service. Many remembered what we had to drink or eat days before and remembered our names. My wife has a serious food allergy and they were excellent at making sure her food was prepared seperately, even during buffett breakfasts and lunches. The chefs and management staff would even come to our table to make certain everything was perfect. More than enough to do on the resort to keep you entertained, too much to put into words. We started looking and planning our next trip here the day after we got back.


1 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Maine
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 3, 2015
Best Vacation Ever

The resort was amazing. It exceed our expectations. I don't have one negative comment. The service and friendliness of the staff was over the top. I couldn't have picked a better place to propose to my Fiancée. We will be returning to The HardRock (Heaven) Riviera Maya again next year!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year