All

Hard Rock Hotel and Casino Punta Cana Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 114 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.1
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.2 out of 5
"Great Resort ..Bad service at times.. Poor food choices ... But a fantastic facility" – Dougster
110 out of 138 (80%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
HUGE Resort... LUV IT! View from room! Beach view Pool Location #58 on map

All Hard Rock Hotel and Casino Punta Cana Customer Reviews

1-10 of 114 reviews. Sort by
December 9, 2010
The resort is not ready for people

The line of residents in line to complain about their room was very long. The Hotel is not ready for people, wait atleast six months before trying. I arrived Sunday @ 5:15 PM to be told my room was not ready, an hour and 15 minutes later I was finally shown to my room. My wife went into the shower and when she came out the entire bathroom was flooded with brown meerky water. They sent a repair man who said the water was coming from inside the wall and he could not fix it. So after two complaints I was "upgraded" to a concierge room. The room was exactly the same as mine only it was on the first floor and had no view. I was then given a slip to sign for an additional bill to my room of $419 to my weeks stay. I said no and was returned to the front desk to be told that was my only option until the next day. So we waited until the next day and were shown another room Which I accepted, I was again presented with an upgrade charge I refused to sign. So I was told I would be moved for free The women told me the bellman would be in my room within 15 minutes to help us move. Well almost two hours later and after four phone calls I finally got a bell men but missed a whole afternoon I should have been on the beach. The rooms all have liquor dispensers in the room The issue is it is of such poor quality it was not for human consumption so for the first time in my life at an all inclusive resort I went to the gift and paid $80.00 for a basic bottle of rum and vodka so my wife and I could have a drink in the room. Finally it should be noted that of the five elevators I tried to use only one worked and it was not in my building, where we were on the forth floor. As to the lobster dinner on the beach it was never served on the Beach every day I was there I was tokd by someone that it was erved inside the Isla restaurant as the beach was too windy When my turn came on Saturday I was told the same Finally the employees were wonderfull they could not do enough for you and if they did not understand your request (english to spanish ) They would find a fellow employees who spoke better english to make sure you got what you wanted. The food was wonderfull in all but the Brasillan steak house (Several people complained about ther food) In the end they are not ready for guest at this time and I would say they ARE SIX MONTHS TO A YEAR OFF


87 of 97 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Seattle, WA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 29, 2012
Indifferent

Pros and cons. The Hard Rock is a very big and beautiful resort. There are golf carts that will take you around the resort but we decided to walk and take everything in. Well worth the walk. There are 15? pools which was nice, if we were in the mood for quite or entertaining there are numerous choices. Yes some of the food is different so go open minded and try some. Ive read that people say there's a language barrier problem. Okay lets think about this, how much english do they know, little, did I get what I needed everytime I asked, yes! The workers will bend aver backwards to get you whatever you need. If your worried about "the language barrier" take a Spanish class before you go. Our room was the most amazing room I've ever been in(we travel 6-10 times a year). The only thing that I didn't like was there was no entertainment outside at night. We went to the Dreams in Cancun in April and they had something outside everyday and night. I think they do this thou to push people into the casino. We loved the casino!

Indifferent
14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Ohio
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

July 22, 2015
Would never go back

The resort main building is beautiful, but the resort is huge. We were a group of 40 for my sons and daugher in laws wedding. We got scattered all over the resort because we did not book thru them. So I felt we got punished. To be togheter was an ordeal, because we were all over the resort. FOOD: the food at the buffet was always cold, we tried to have breakfast at one of the other revenues, and it took them 1 hour to give my husband 2 fried eggs and me an omelette there were only two couples in the place. That to me is unacceptable. The Mexican restaurant did not like the food. The brazilian restaurant wasnt any better, and the floors in that restaurant are so slippery, im surprise noone got hurt. The Steak restaurant El Toro was very good should have gone there everynight, but wanted to try different restaurant. Used hotel credits (what a rip off) in Beauty Parlor did manicure and pedicure just needed change of nail polish but got talked into having full manicure and pedicure and use GEL nail polish was told to use my hotel credit. I did, only to find out when checking out that GEL nail polish was not covered by the hotel credit, so was charged $30 extra dollars. The store that you can use the credit in, jacks up the price on the items by 70%, the end result is the items costs you more than if u paid full price. That is a rip off....Would never go back to this hotel, main reason the food and the layout of the resort, been in the Dominican Republic many many times, there are better resorts than this. EX: Dreams Palm, ect.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Long Island New York
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 22, 2011
Hard Rock Hotel Stay

We just came back from a stay 4/10/11 - 4/15/11 and everything was wonderful. We stayed in a concierge level room and when we arrived and they opened the door I was amazed. The room had a living room, dining room, one and a half baths, a sitting area in the bedroom by the jacuzzi and a hugh outdoor terrace. The room was clean and the maid service was excellent. The only complaint I have is that we didn't have an ocean view but we had a wonderful pool view of the quiet pool Since the place is so large the concierge level rooms are closer to the lobby area where the restaurants, spa, and casino are located. The service was great. When I called from the room for something they always checked to make sure it was received. The morning I ordered room service for breakfast they said it would be 45 min to one hour and they called at 45 min and said he was on his way. The bartenders at the lobby bar were fun and very attentive. Same for the cocktail waitresses at the casino. They never let you sit for long without asking if you needed a drink. The spa was amazing. I had a hot stone massage and a facial which were wonderful. If you do go make sure you get there 30-40 minutes early to enjoy the sauna, ice room, and all the relaxing pool baths. My advice however is that if they ask you to do a tour and offer you spa credit unless you like high pressure sales or want to buy vacation time there don't do the tour. We had a wonderful trip and Cheap Caribbean did a wonderful job.


23 of 27 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 23, 2012
It wasn't terrible, but I will not be returning

We recently visited the Hard Rock Cafe and Casino in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic. This was our second time visiting Punta Cana and will not be returning. We have stayed at the Iberostar resort previously and have not had great experiences in the Dominican Republic. I have traveled to Hawaii, Jamaica, Bahamas and the Dominican, with Punta Cana being the least impressive. This is partially due to an obvious language burrier (speaking very little Spanish). The first day we arrived at the Hard Rock, we experienced issues with our room smelling of mildew and having to relocate. The hotel/bellhops lost our luggage for several hours so it took about 4 hours to finally get situated in a room. The room we ended up in was located closer to the beach than the main part of the hotel, which is ideal except most of the major restaurants, including the casino and shopping areas are a very far walk. In order to schedule activities or spa time, you must also visit the main lobby. While reading the reviews, I was initially excited for the size of the resort, the many pool and abundance or restaurants. It wasn't until I was there that I realized how overwhelming it was and how long it took to walk around the resort. The Hard Rock does have "trolleys" but these are few and far between and we always found ourselves opting to walk rather than waiting and exceptional amount of time for the trolley. The lack of trolleys may have been due to us going in October, which is considered the off season. The buffets at the Hard Rock are nothing to be excited about. In fact, we found it difficult to find food that was appetizing. The different restaurants, on the other hand are much better. We did the romantic dinner one night and had an amazing steak. Both times that I have visited the Dominican Republic, I have gotten stomach aches. The first time I blamed it on the hotel, but now I realize it must be the food standards in the Dominican in general. I was very careful not to drink the water. During our trip, the hotel changed from not having a towel card policy to implementing it in the middle of the week. We were located right in front of the "exclusive member" pool, which happened to be almost center of the resort, which made it difficult to get towels and go to the beach in convenient spots. We had to walk to the left or right quite a distance to return/ get towels for the pool. By the end of our 6 day trip, we just didn't use towels anymore. Most of the employees spoke at least some English; however we did have trouble getting around/getting what we needed in some instances. The casino is the main attraction of this resort with a lot of table games and machines. We never had to wait for a table and the service in the casino was excellent. The ocean is very rough on the strip of beach that the Hard Rock is located on and I would not recommend this as an off beach swimming resort. They were in the middle of building some sort of wall that is supposed to help with this. On two days, there were red flags, indicating no swimming allowed. This is not the fault of the resort obviously, but important if you are expecting to swim in the ocean a lot. We were unable to do any activities due to weather while staying at Punta Cana, not being the fault of the resort. Overall, I would say the Hard Rock is too big, food mediocre, good rooms, excellent casino. I would not recommend this resort to any of my friends but larger groups may enjoy it more. We are in our 20's and love going out, but this place was just too overwhelming, too disorganized and not very fun. I also caution shoppers, I am a big "name brand" shopper, loving Michael Kors, Tory Burch, Lilly Pulitzer, and am familiar with pricing and seasonal items. The shopping is overpriced, carrying past season items. The Lilly Pulitzer items in particular had the MSRP price ripped off and replaced with higher price tags.


29 of 37 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 19, 2016
Not worth the money

My husband and I were very excited to go and stay at the hard rock. Since we had been to punta Cana befor and had such a wonderful time we were happy to go back. All I have to say is it is not worth the high price tag. Upon our first day at the resort we learned our room that we booked was no longer available, the first bar we went to was out of beer and vodka and then shut down at 5 when it says that it stays open until 6. Dinner was good that night but we headed to one of the bars afterwards which was filled with teenagers, under 18, all drinking very heavily. We decided to head back to the room. The next day we went to breakfast and I left my sunglasses on the table, I know my fault, but came back with in ten minutes oNly to learn that no of the staff had seen them and they were gone for good. Later in the day we went to the pool bar and ordered a Miller lite only to be told they did not carry that beer and you could only get one brand of beer. When we headed back to our room we found that our room had not been touched by the maids and it was already 6pm. Before dinner that night I wanted to make a drink from the mini bar but came to find that the handles to pull for the liquor were broken so I called to get them fixed, which never happened at all. Each time I took a shower the water was either scolding hot or freezing cold no in between. There was also mold in my shower all over the place and not to mention in my ice bucket. I stayed at the hard rock for a total of 6 nights and I received maid service 3 of those days. Never was able to get a Miller lite. Almost got run over by a gulf cart each day by the drunk people they allow to rent them. Was never able to take a nice shower. I will say the food was good at each of the places we tried and the majority of the staff were very nice. But for what you pay to come to this resort you expect more. I am a very laid back person all I need is good weather a cold drink and good atmosphere but when I spend over $3,000 to go some were for 5 nights I do expect at least the bare minimum of what they say you will receive. I will it be going back to this resort again because the price does not coincide with what you get.


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Chicago , il
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 26, 2014
Vacation at Hard Rock PC

Trip on July 19-23 2014 --- SUN ALL.. the time! My review from beginning to end... we had a late arrival -- the hotel was real BIG you have to walk a bit to get every where, but there are trams available at different parts of the hotel. We got to the hotel at about 11pm, we were looking for a room around the 7b area, but those were taken (we were trying to be in the middle) My boyfriend and I were upgraded to a Couple's suite -- NICE! However, the check-in was slow... We were thinking of going to club Oro, but the entrance was $30 pp (the club is not part of the Hard Rock). We had a late dinner at their 24 hrs restaurant, Caffeto , not my favorite but it worked for the time. (Restaurants close at 11:00 pm as well as shops)-- Day 1: We did room service breakfast, it was go. The room air was not good-- did not cool very much at all (that probably was the only problem I had with the hotel. Had dinner at Toro, steak house. It was good and went clubbing at Moon Lounge. WE had a blast at Moon Lounge -- play every music it was a Sunday. Club Oro is closed on Sunday and Monday. At the Moon Lounge ask for a Scooby doo shot ! Day 2: the Beach was nice-- but not so much the water. Coming from Miami I know about beaches. I preferred the pool area. The burgers at the pool area are HUGE. There is music playing is almost all pools. There are 13 pools total. Its a HUGE resort. Watched the theater show -- it was okay. Day 3: Horse back riding excursion (with credit) it was fun! We had dinner at the restaurant next to the lazy river, its called something like Imperiam (not sure, but its a steak restaurant like Texas of Brazil) Day 4: Did a couples spa (with credit) that was good too. Good: --TAKE ADVANTAGE of the RESORT CREDITS!!!! Don't wait til the end to use them on excursions. --Moon Lounge is available for dancing when the club is closed --The Buffet breakfast are really good (Ciao and The Market) --The restaurant food is good is all the ones that I tried I can't complain about that. -- There are employees in the lobby area with carts of drinks, including liquor going by. Club Oro: Ladies Night Wednesday If on a night with a known DJ -- you'll have to pay a high price Regular night: $15-20 Dislikes: -- Room air was not cold enough --saw a few ants by the bathroom sink Note: On the transfer bus I spoke with others staying at different resorts and it seems that Hard Rock seems to be the best fit.


26 of 34 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Miami, FL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 10, 2013
Hard Rock Punta Cana

From the moment we arrived until our van took us to the airport the service was excellent. This is a five star operation. The rooms were as expected. The restaurants offered many different choices. The pools were clean and inviting. We had a wonderful experience and would recommend this resort to our friends.


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 6, 2010
great vacation spot

beautiful views everywhere you look, great service with a very hellpful staff. friendly atmosphere. lots of tours and things to do nearby.


46 of 65 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, Il
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 20, 2011
def worth the money

Worth every penny, everything is free and its all amazing. You realy dont walk around with any money the whole time you are there, People are the nicest people you will ever meet. Great place


13 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: ct
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year