All

Hard Rock Hotel Cancun Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 48 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.1 out of 5
"Is the best resort I've ever been.i love the service and food. Excellent staffs , waitress,waiter and bartender." – Sugarplum19
43 out of 54 (80%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Some of us with the Bride & Groom View from my bed! Foam Party at the Pool Part of the crew View from our room! One of the breakfast buffets

All Hard Rock Hotel Cancun Customer Reviews

1-10 of 48 reviews. Sort by
August 10, 2011
Great value and FUN!

The Palace exceeded our expectations. We were very pleased with the service,staff (especially Martin V. in the lobby) and the number of available bars. Everything was perfect- the resort credit was a MUST have. I hope they continue the credit so we can keep coming back. The resort was overall perfect and we will 100% be back. We truly can not think of a single complaint other than a lack of options on the lunch buffets. Overall- Excellent!


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Belleville, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 25, 2014
Hard Rock TOTALLY ROCKS Cancun!

My friend and I wanted to take a trip that would be both relaxing and fun for 2 single women in their 30s, and the Hard Rock delivered! I have been to Mexico 4 times within this past calendar year, of which 1 of those trips was to Cancun in April 2014 at a resort right down the beach from Hard Rock, so I feel like I have the ability to give a pretty accurate take on expectations. CONS: While I hate to start with the con, there are so few that I figured I’d get them out of the way! My only complaints are that they were doing construction, which was RIGHT next to us during breakfast at The Market each morning, which was a little unfortunate (but the food was great so it was worth listening to a little bit of sawing!). Also, it would be nice if there was more signage in the hallways encouraging guests to be quiet and not slam the doors because the halls echo like crazy. Apart from that, it was LOVELY!! PROS: Hard Rock is focused on the experience and the customer…COMPLETELY. I can’t say enough how much they “rocked” the customer service while we were there. As soon as we stepped out of our transportation van, we were greeted by friendly bellhops and immediately escorted to the check-in desk where they explained the resort in detail, which was great so that we didn’t miss anything! From the 24-hour room service to the in-room hot tub to the swim-up bars to the music selection and vibe in onsite club at Ipanema, I really just can’t say enough about how well they cover every detail. Oh, and if you have the money for it, be SURE to get an ocean view room; it was totally worth it. We already can't wait to go back!!

View from our room!
9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Houston, Texas
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 23, 2013
Don't be fooled by the $1500.00 CREDIT. BAD HOTEL

I have been to Cancun 3 times now and up to now have had 2 wonderful experiences. This was not a wonderful experience by far. Let me start by stating that upon arrival the front desk person was horrible to deal with and could care less. It took him a half an hour to find our reservation and when he did it was wrong. I booked a King room and was given 2 less than full size beds. I was there with my fiancé on a romantic trip and we had to sleep in separate beds for our entire stay since no kings or upgrades were ever available. Also the beds slide all over the room and do not stay in place. Horrible. As far as the $1500 dollars credit. The only good thing was $300 towards the spa. I tried booking a romantic dinner for 2 on the beach and it was not available until after we left and we were there for 6 days. I was told on the last night after having no more credits that we could have used our credits in the Italian restaurant towards a lobster dinner. The prices in the shops are different between cash price and using your credit. An example if I paid cash for this one ring it was $180 where credit was $320. You can only use $50 towards a watch, $75 towards sunglasses and there are only 4 excursions you can use your credits towards. Silver you can use up to 50% and stainless steel you can use all of your credits. So in the end we used $300 towards the spa, $100 towards cigars, $100 towards a tequila sample box and $1200 on over priced stainless steel and don’t forget that 11% service charge, about $165. So it sound like we like to complain and this is not the case at all. This is the first negative review I have ever written. So let me continue on a few other issues and then I will move on to the positives. You cannot make reservations for dinner so there is always a wait. The pool closes at 8pm which is truly uncalled for. The hot tubs are cold. They ran out of light beer, chardonnay wine and even straws for frozen drinks at the pool. The night club did not open until 11pm and when it did it was dead. Also the hotel rooms were air conditioned but the Hotel itself was not air conditioned and there was only 1 bar. Why no bars outside in the evening? Some other points now. The pool and beach were wonderful along with the great weather. The wait staff was awesome. The Italian restaurant was the best. Not only was the food awesome but there service was amazing. The Chinese restaurant was not air conditioned and was about 90 degrees. The waiter was sweating and so were we. The appetizers were awesome but the entrée was not good at all. The staff was great though. The Mexican restaurant was just not even edible, hate to say that for being in Mexico. I thought it would be the best not the worst. We did not care for one thing. The buffet was only good if you had something made fresh at the grill. The food on the actual buffet was either cold or not good. The pool food was amazing. Anything from burgers to clubs, chicken tenders, pizzas, nachos. All awesome. The drinks by the pool and were great too along with the staff. The entertainment was wonderful and the entertainment staff was friendly and very good. If it weren’t 85 degrees every day and we didn’t have a nice pool we would have had a horrible time here. So overall I have been on many cruises and have done all inclusive many times as well and this hotel ranks at the bottom. I paid extra for the HARD ROCK name and the fact that we had a $1500 credit and that was a huge mistake. There are so many other great Hotels. My favorite for a little bit more money is Moon Palace. Nothing but Awesome. Cheap Caribbean was great to deal with along with the transportation to and from the Hotel. I will be recommending them highly and using them again.


21 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Schenectady, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 30, 2011
Great

Cheap Caribbean was amazing to use.......it was our first time using them and would definitely do it again.........they stepped up with our room. We had no view except for a wall and construction going on, we moved to a beautiul room with a view of the ocean and pool. We didn't have to worry about our trip at all, Cheap Caribbean made traveling easy.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 11, 2015
Good hotel, fun environment

1. Overall: Hotel is clean, music is loud at times. Staff is very friendly. 2. Check in: We got there early, like hours early. Was told to provide our email so if the room is ready earlier they would let us know. This didn't happen. Wasn't able to check in until 3pm. No acknowledgement of our special occasion, which wasn't a big deal, but we like that sort of stuff. 3. Entertainment: the pure dance shows were great. The ones that were aimed to please kids and adults little cheesy. The latin and dance parties were a ton of fun. Great entertainment staff. 4. Food, buffet lacks, not a lot of menu variety change. Only ate there once for breakfast. Rest of the time we ate at the restaurants. Zen (Asian): decent food, large portions. Highlights: specialty drink , Sashimi, yellow curry. Ipanema Grill (Brazillian): meats were perfect! The sides were lacking in flavor. Only highlight for sides were the spicy vegetables. Pizzeto (Pizza Grill): Very good! Like that you can personalize your pizzas! Taco Bar (Next to Pizza Grill) By far the star of the show! Perfect tacos! Ciao (Italian): Honestly, this was pretty bad. The food was not tasty at all. Frida (Mexican): really good Mexican food. Good margaritas. Highlights: Ceviche, Flank Steak Room Service: Takes about 30 minutes. Food wasn't bad, stuck to the more Mexican stuff. Lemon custard was good. Overall desserts were really lacking at the resort. The one thing I loved was the ice cream. So I was definitely sad because I love dessert. I thought they could have used a coffee bar too. 5. Room: comfortable, and like the turn down service. The desserts left behind were terrible, but cute idea. Bed could have been more comfy. Loved the idea of ordering pillows and aromatherapy though! We took advantage of that.


10 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: sf, ca
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year

July 28, 2014
Will never stay at another Hard Rock

I travel a couple times a year and for the most part, All Inclusives are the way to go for me. I booked this Hotel because I was expecting Rock Start treatment for the money. This hotel was more expensive than other All Inclusive Hotels. Here is a list of my concerns and hopefully it will help others - The room I reserved is NOT the room they checked me into - After arriving at the hotel at 11:30 pm, I was promptly called at 8 am to set up a meeting to activate my resort credits. This cannot be done at check in and you'll see why - After breakfast, I met with the customer service person who quickly offered to show us a "presentation" of the hotel and earn an additional $300 in resort credits, which is what you get for each night stay. I already had $1500 from my booking. What they don't tell you is that the the resort credits can only be used for spa treatments, only 1 spa product, only to purchase one brand of tequila in the store (no other products) and up to $75 off at the sunglass/watch store. Oh, by the way, for every dollar you use in resort credit, you pay an additional 20% in TAXES. Tips for spa services is optional. - The only time my daughter and I could book the spa treatments was the day before we left because they were full. Basically half of our resort credits were useless, but they wanted to give us more to listen to their "presentation" without the fee. - After activating our resort credits, we went out to the pool area. There are two very nice swim up bars, however NO TOWELS were available for at least the next hour. Finding a lounge chair near the the pool, not happening. You have to get to the pool by 7:00 am to pick your chair and put your towel on it. Then people leave for half the day. - Rooms are cleaned daily, however they didn't leave towels two days. We had to call housekeeping to bring towels. - We saw a few black bugs on the bed and after talking to other guests, the hotel seems to have a bed bug problem....even in the Presidential Suite, where they also had no hot water for a shower. - After talking to some folks that went through the presentation, I cancelled my appt for the next morning......so at 8 AM, they called my room to ask why I wanted to cancel and if they can reschedule. This is supposed to be my vacation. I do not want ANYONE calling to wake me up. - The remaining three days were mediocre. Pool was way too crowded and the bartenders serving under aged minors. Hard Rock is not a hotel chain that I will visit again.


12 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Upland, CA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 2, 2016
2nd time to Hard Rock Cancun...and I'll go again!

As a "regular" with Cheap Caribbean (went on 4 trips through them just last year!), I feel like I have some level of expertise on "what's what" when it comes to travel/resorts...and Hard Rock is TOTALLY amazing. My 35th birthday fell on the Saturday of Memorial Day Weekend, so I convinced 14 friends to come celebrate with me...and what a FANTASTIC idea it was!! I went to the Hard Rock in Cancun 2 years ago with a girlfriend and had a great time, which is why I chose the resort again. The service at Hard Rock is the best I've ever received at an all-inclusive resort. Every time we ordered room service, we received a follow up call to ensure that we got everything we needed and asked whether we needed anything else. The food is really good...and even with limited space, the managers at the Zen restaurant made accommodations for our group of 15 to "squeeze" around a hibachi table for my birthday dinner. Special shout out to Gus/Christian at the bar near Fridas who makes amazing ritas, and kudos to Pedro at the Dive Bar for consistently serving with a smile...even with all of the swim-up "borrachos" hollering at him all day. Love the staff!! Also, if you enjoy being active, the resort has a number of activities to keep you moving. My friends and I all play sand volleyball, and they have a solid area RIGHT on the beach...we played at least 5 matches every day that we were there. Oh, and the "dance club" that opens late night at Ipanema is so fun!!

View from my bed! Part of the crew
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 28, 2016
Tourist

Is the best resort I've ever been.i love the service and food. Excellent staffs , waitress,waiter and bartender.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 6, 2010
The Best trip

my husband and i travel a lot, and by far Cancun palace , was the best place we have ever stayed. When we went to Punta cana we made couple of friends from Columbia. they recommended this hotel. next trip it was decided to go there. We were not disspapointed at all. the service was exellent, the food is exguisite. the room was clean and had the best jacuzzi. the best thing about Cancun Palace was that the hotel offered a free shuttle to isla mujeras island where they had another hotel where we spent the whole day and had a wonderful time. the whole expirence with Cancun palace was great! we always recommend this hotel no matter where we traval and share the experience we had with people!


5 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 29, 2016
No.

I was not impressed with Hard Rock Cancun. My wife and I stayed there for 6 days in February. Like all Cancun resorts they push you to join their version of a time share or membership. However, their tactics are a little over the top. After telling them we weren't interested they continued to call us once a day usually early in the morning. Our room was comfortable but the view was atrocious (see picture). I asked to change rooms 3 times but they said they had none available. This may be true but they were still showing they had rooms available online.I finally gave up. The service was slow at their restaurants. Sometimes my wife and I would have finished our buffet meal before we ever saw a waiter. The food was on par for an all-inclusive resort. The beach was gorgeous and the pool was very nice. They also have a live entertainment auditorium that had entertaining shows on a nightly basis. Overall though we were disappointed. The poor service, the pushy sales tactics, and terrible view from our room killed it. We will not be returning.

No.
10 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year