All

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Bermuda Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 51 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
4.1
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4.6 out of 5
"Went for 4 days, food was excellent, water beautiful. Great service, great massage, cool caves to swim. Rooms nice but could be a little nicer but not bad at all" – Smitty72
63 out of 64 (98%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View toward pool & beach on the beach Grotto Bay, Bermuda Horse shoe beach The view from our terrace. beach from our balcony In the grotto cave pool, where you can swim. But it's freezing. From room 625 View from our room View from Room 222 Waterfront room top floor awesome Pool down near beach View of a portion of the beach

All Grotto Bay Beach Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 51 reviews. Sort by
July 31, 2010
Grotto Bay very enjoyable

We were looking for a relaxing vacation over spring break, and did not want to head to a 'party island'. We selected Grotto Bay Beach Resort in Bermuda and were very pleased with our decision. The beach and outdoor areas were pristine and beautiful, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and we were especially pleased with the underground caverns which allowed the opportunity for underground swimming. Overall, I enjoyed my experience at Grotto Bay and would consider going back.


53 of 55 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 17, 2012
Exceeded our expectations

We booked at Grotto Bay Beach Resort to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We honeymooned in Bermuda and thought it would be nice to return on our 25th. This is indeed a beautiful resort. From the moment we arrived we felt special and welcomed by the staff. The rooms were spacious and bedding was very comfortable. Dispite there being only one main dining area, the food was perfection every time, and each meal offered a great variety of choices. We highly recommend the all-inclusive package, as food and drink is extremely expensive on the Island. With that you get all your meals and drinks, including alcohol, as well as water sport activities and bus and ferry passes for your entire stay. The resort offers a unique feature in that it was built above underground caves that you are free to explore and even swim in the waters which is fun as well as cold. Great views were to be had by practically every room and most had their own balconies. So I would highly recommend this resort for your next vacation.


29 of 30 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Rhode Island
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 12, 2012
Enjoyed our stay--just too many extra charges

Booked a last minute trip through cheapcarribean.com to the Grotto Bay Beach Resort. It's not warm in early April in Bermuda, so it was fairly inexpensive (and you can't beat the two hour plane ride!!). The resort was 2 minutes from the airport, which was nice. Once there, the staff was incredibly friendly. Everyone said hello and went out of their way to help. We went with the no-food package because we do not drink alcohol. However, once there, we found the food to be SOOO expensive that we ate very little and it probably would have still paid off to get the all-inclusive. For dinner in the non-fancy dining room, for 2 adults and 2 kids eating off the kids menu, it was over $120 (with NO drinks). Yikes. In addition, there were all of these little charges for everything--$30 for 4 days of internet PER DEVICE. That meant that for each of us to use our phone to check our email with wifi, we had to pay twice. No internet access was available in our rooms, so we had to walk up the huge hill to check (not the end of the world, but for my husband who has to check in multiple times a day, especially before bed, it was a pain). Also, lunch is only available for anyone at the bar. That got old FAST. Also, the hotel is big, but the pool is really small. The beach front is nice, but small. And you really cannot walk anywhere off the property, as the sidewalk ends about a quarter mile away. So we felt fairly isolated. On to the good...the room was great. AMAZING view of the water. Very comfortable, nice bathroom. The concierge was very helpful with planning activities. The bus stop is literally out front and you can get anywhere on the island by bus. They also have a moped rental right around the corner for anyone brave enough. We also did a snorkeling trip through the Triangle Dive Shop that is conveniently located on the property (although not part of the property). What a BLAST!!! We had a great time, saw an amazing coral reef and a ship wreck, AND learned soooo much about the history of Bermuda. That was an amazing day. Booking through cheapcarribean.com was so easy--I will definitely do it again. No hassles, everything was taken care of. Would definitely take this trip again.


40 of 43 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 16, 2012
Unique cave feature

Early April was the perfect time to be at the Grotto. The beach is on a bay and tends to be warmer and less windy than the ocean beaches. There is a wreck to snorkel around that had some fish and lots of small fish in smaller Cove. The pool was heated and comfortable even on cool days-towels provided and a whirlpool hot tub. The food was good and there was a popular restaurant bar and ice cream palor, right next door for a change. The buses were frequent and convenient. The caves on site made this resort something special. It was also centrally located and not close to cruise ship docks so we missed all the crowds. The place was clean, bright and well spaced out-comfortable not crowded.


26 of 28 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 7, 2011
Paradise Found!

We have been to other islands and never loved any as much as Bermuda! The Grotto Bay Resort was our first Bermuda impression and we were not dissappointed! The lobby is gorgeous and everyone is so friendly. We were informed that we had been upgraded and come to find out, not only did they upgrade us (without us asking) but to the absolute best room on property. They take the time to review the resort with you which is nice and the concierge is just around the corner. Our 3rd floor corner room in the first building on the beach was huge with a big flat screen TV and modern bathroom. Our King bed was a little squeaky but comfortable. The room was clean and the view is perfect. Our luggage was delivered quickly to our room and any request for towels etc.. was met. The taxi ride to the hotel was $12 with tip and took about 5 minutes. You do not hear noise from the airport at the resort. There are a lot of stairs here, and I could see how it could be difficult to stay here if you are not in decent physical health. We were always out of breath after walking up to the main building. The concrete stairs are steep but it's not really that far to walk. There is also a paved path as an alternate route for some of the climb. The roosters are running around (the whole island) all the time and they do make some noise but unless you are a super light sleeper they shouldn't bother you. They are kind of like the squirrels in the US, they keep to themselves. The stray cats around the resort are SO sweet. We loved them and always hoped to see them walking back to our room. The caves on property are amazing, you just have to see it to believe it and the from the Gazebo on the water you can see all kinds of tropical fish. The whole place is like one Big postcard! The Swizzle Inn is up the street and fun to visit and Bailey's Icecream across from Swizzle was one of our favorite places. It's not a long walk but it's not a stone's throw either. The food is good at the resort but pricey, as is all of Bermuda. Plan a big food budget. My only complaint was the times of service in the resort restaurants. Ex. No lunch until noon. No dinner till 6:30 and at certain short time periods no food at all is available at the resort. I would have like to see longer hours at all the restaurants there. The food itself was worth the wait though. The beach is not huge but not tiny either and the sparkling crystal clear blue water is beautiful. The water is also calmer since it is a bay. There are plenty of chairs, and towels are available near the pool. The hot tub was way too hot! I thought it was plenty big for a private resort beach. They have lots of activities scheduled but my husband and I joked that it is on a Bermuda time schedule (leisurely) so don't expect things to happen exactly on time. The water sports dock is right at the beach and you can also book activities there. A word of caution: if you are a chicken like me, do not take the Boston whaler boat and go into Castle Harbor, it was very choppy and scary to me. Instead ask for the instuctions to go up Ferry Reach to St. George. It's much calmer and a more enjoyable ride. Lesson learned the hard way. The buses are easy transportation and the front desk can get you whatever tokens or passes you need each day. Go anywhere you want, we never felt unsafe or lost anywhere in Bermuda. I highly recommend Tobacco Bay as a day trip. We took a bus to St. George and then a taxi to Tobacco Bay for about $10 because we were tired of walking. The resort gift shop is small-ish but has lots of great choices and we found many gifts there to take home. We also exchanged 2 American Dollars for a $2 Bermuda Bill as a souviner for our little daughter and she loves it. Everything in Bermuda is pretty, even the money! Overall, we had the perfect vacation and would absolutely stay at Grotto Bay again. We planned our itinerary around day trips but next time we will plan more time at the resort. So many quiet and beautiful spots to sit and relax and not enough time in the day. We cannot wait for our next trip here. Bermuda is my new favorite place!

beach from our balcony
19 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 26, 2012
A few kinks but overall very happy with our trip

Overall very happy with our vacation to Grotto Bay in Bermuda. The hotel is a little bit outdated but is clearly in the midst of some updating (new bathrooms in all the rooms etc., rebuilding spa). Unfortunately, we were not informed that many things are closed until April 1 (all across the island, but also at Grotto Bay such as diving and the poolside bar). The service was fantastic, food was generally very good, right on bus route so easy to get to hamilton etc., and very close to airport, though not so much so that it was a bother.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Milton, MA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 23, 2012
Good All-Around Resort

Grotto Bay was a perfect fit for our family of 3. The grounds are lush, varied, and beautiful. The exteriors of the buildings are well-kept and photogenic. The atmosphere and charm are totally Bermudian. This is not a Central American resort trying to win you over with flash. This is Bermudian resort with all the charm and class that goes along with that. The way the buildings are situated on the grounds is gorgeous. The caves and the grottos on the beach are unique and charming and provide plenty of interesting snorkeling, swimming, and relaxation opportunities. We don't tend to spend a lot of time in our room so as long as it is clean, has comfortable beds, ample dresser & closet space, a safe, and good, hot shower we are happy. Our room had all of this and what we thought was an appropriately island/Bermudian-feel decor. Our ground-level patio opened onto a central courtyard with views of the pool, beach, and shuffle board court....a relaxing place to sit and chill-out. We are very familiar with the island and available activities/sights, so we did not need to use the concierge services but we observed many people doing so and heard nothing but good comments about the service. We did not need to contact the staff often, but the few times we did, each person was cheerful, helpful, courteous, and very genuine. We also did not eat on the property because we like to get out and explore (which is why we did not choose the all-inclusive option) but the restaurant choices looked good and comparably priced for Bermuda. We did enjoy the complimentary afternoon tea but we missed out on the Manager's Party and a few other perks just because we had made other plans. If we had to give one negative about this resort, it would be that it is not centrally located on the island and we had rather long drives on our scooters to Dockyard and destinations on the South Shore. This was minor for us since we had scooters, but may be more of an issue if relying on taxi or bus transportation. That being said, there are tons of great sights and historic venues in proximity to the resort so it isn't critical to go to the farther-flung destinations. Bottom line, we were very happy with what we got for the money and we have photographs that are wall-worthy that were taken from the chairs on our patio or just a few steps away!

View toward pool & beach View of a portion of the beach
12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 18, 2011
Grotto Bay...great for families!

The all inclusive option was the best feature of this family friendly resort. Located just minutes from the airport, it features four distinct living accomodations...our walk-out patio beach FRONT rooms were perfect in every way. The convenience of the HAMILITON lodge was a great choice. All wait staff and service people were wonderful to us and our 13 month old baby! Cheers to Alfonso, Cristian, Nikki, and Mr. Jones, and especially to Dwane for his talented bartending skills. Four night stay, was just enough...and traveling thru Bermuda using the efficient bus and ferry system was easy and fun. This resort has the most calm beach, and water activities. There's also the opportunity to swim in the 'Grotto' cave, for a new experience. Rooster awakings, and thin walled units reminded us to not sleep the day away, since the beautiful weather was perfect. Shopping in Hamiliton was available and peaceful. Vacationing at Grotto Bay was peaceful, and perfect!!

on the beach
11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

December 1, 2012
Fantastic Getaway!

Property & service was amazing....having the only caves in Bermuda you are allowed to swim in was quite a treat! Unless you are comfortable taking the buses, I would recommend renting a scooter as soon as you get there, because the cabs are VERY expensive! I would also recommend eating at the Black Horse Tavern....it's a local spot, casual, but the greatest lobster you'll ever taste!


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 2, 2014
Nice hotel

It's an older resort with some up to date features and other features such as older furniture, rusty door knobs and hinges. Plan on walking a lot and climbing a lot of steps. The steps are annoying if you need to go from the main office, dining, bus stops etc and the pool and beach. I didn't take advantage of the all inclusive but think I would in the future as the prices are very high. It will cost you $8 per person for round trip to the city of Hamilton or St George. You can't have a decent lunch for under $50 for 2, and dinner will not be under $100 for 2 people.

From room 625
9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NEPA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year