All

Grotto Bay Beach Resort All-Inclusive Reviews

Caribbean | Bermuda Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 35 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
4.4
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4.6 out of 5
"Great Food, Great Value, Great Service, Great Place! Grotto Bay was everything advertised and more." – Oleander
37 out of 39 (95%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from the hotel grounds Pool, Lunch to Left, Beach Behind Beach area - check out that blue water! Sunset at the beach lunch food Crystal Caves Pool area - not huge but nice

All Grotto Bay Beach Resort All-Inclusive Customer Reviews

1-10 of 35 reviews. Sort by
July 31, 2013
Better than I expected!

Ok so background on my trip: when I was booking all of the reviews were great but as it got closer to my trip, I came across some negative reviews and started to second guess my vacation. However, we forged ahead and figured we were expecting a 3.5 star hotel and were really looking for a long weekend getaway not luxury. We arrived quickly, as the resort is 3 minutes from the hotel. (We borrowed kayaks during our stay and probably could have paddled our way to the runway) Check-in was swift, and by the time we walked to our room, our luggage was already being delivered to the front door! I do agree with reviews that stress the walking! There are a lot of stairs and hills, so if you or someone in your party has ambulatory issues, you may want to look elsewhere. Our room was in "Sandy's Lodge" third floor. It offered a great view of the bay from the patio, which we retired to each evening to digest our dinner and stargazed. The pool was mediocre and needed a swim-up bar, but it was clean and comfortable, with plenty of chairs. I prefer the pool over the beach but spent 90% of my time on the beach because it was so clean and the water was perfect. Not rocky, and lots of fun fish to watch! All of our water activities (non-motorized) were included so I tried snorkeling and kayaking, plus attempted to climb the giant triangle slide...way harder than it looks! The drinks were great, I recommend the Rum Swizzle, but the only other weird thing was that frozen drinks were not part of the All-Inclusive package. No big deal to me, but some people might complain. I found the service was great, and I'm a New Yorker, so I was caught off-guard by how friendly everyone was, and now I say good morning to strangers back home! You can't go wrong with breakfast, omelet stations are always fun, plus there were fresh made waffles, and then the standard breakfast foods. We had dinner in the Hibiscus Room twice and once we had the poolside buffet, which I felt was my least favorite night. We ate at the poolside café everyday and I recommend the chopped salad. The room was clean and comfortable and well-air conditioned. Everything in the room seemed fine just the shower door is weird, it's only a half door, so be careful with the floor getting wet. I would go again and I'm sad to be back home already! Oh and I tried swimming in the cave, that was creepy but I'm happy to be able to say I tried it, and we got the best massage of our lives in the spa located in the second cave, You get over the damp smell quickly!


38 of 38 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Staten Island, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 8, 2013
Beautiful Resort but don't go in Feb

My husband and I booked this resort for our honeymoon, unfortunately we booked in Feb and the weather was lousy. It rained everyday we were there, and it was cold. On another note the resort is beautiful and everyone made us feel at home. We were able to get a lot of sightseeing in even though the weather was bad. Here is a list of the things we did: Crystal Caves & Fantasy Caves--very cool and worth the trip Bermuda Aquarium and Zoo -- the best zoo I have ever seen. Animals are all well cared for and the grounds are very clean. St. George's -- very nice stroll around cobblestones alleyways Dockyard and Hamilton-- may have been better if weather was nicer but Hamiltion being the main city is really bustling and not what we were looking for Botanical Gardens -- not very nice and I am a landscaper. I was not very impressed with them. The Somer's garden in St.George is much nicer Blue Hole Point (across from Grotto Bay) is very nice lots of walking trails and caves to explore. Bermuda is very safe place to leave your resort and walk around. We never had a problem with anyone. All the locals are very friendly. The resort was very clean and beautiful. All I could say is to change their coffee it tasted like cardboard. I would like to go back to Bermuda and would stay at the Grotto Bay resort again but I would definitely go in the summer when it is warm :)

Crystal Caves Beautiful Resort but don't go in Feb
113 of 119 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 31, 2015
Great Trip to Bermuda

Grotto Bay was a beautiful resort with a restful atmosphere! The rooms were nice, clean and had a beautifully updated bathroom. The food was delicious, though not always the kind of cuisine we're used to, but that's part of the charm! We always found something delicious, gained 3 pounds in 5 days!!! The drinks were great too. I really enjoyed the Rum Swizzles and Planters Punch! The bartenders were friendly and attentive. Service overall was good, though sometimes a bit slow (Island Time). Be prepared for lots of steps. The resort is built into the side of a hill, but it's not overwhelming. There were always plenty of available lounge chairs at the beach and plenty of towels as well. Cheap Carribbean did a great job with the arrangements, not one hitch! I do wish I had known how close we were to the airport as taking a cab would have saved me a lot of money rather than booking private transportation. I highly recommend both Grotto Bay and Cheap Carribbean. Make sure to take the all-inclusive package, much cheaper in the long run.


17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Lansdale, Pa
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 30, 2016
Second Honeymoon

We returned to Bermuda to celebrate our 25th anniversary and chose Grotto Bay all inclusive. The resort met all of our expectations - the room had a great view and privacy on our balcony. Pool side bar service was great when Charles was working - other times, the service was very relaxed... definitely on 'Island Time' The beaches were small, but big enough - we appreciated the small crowds after vacationing at much larger resorts. Snorkeling in the grotto was better than Tobacco Bay - there is no need to venture out to other beaches for snorkeling. You must venture into the cave for a swim... its an experience you won't regret! Breakfast buffet was over the top - plenty to choose from and never a long wait. Dinner options were great - the Palm Court is smaller and more intimate, the Hibiscus Room is a little more formal but the food choices in each were very good. Lunch is served at the pool side / beach side grill or you can eat at the bar. We did not use the water sports except to grab snorkel gear for our stay - but there were plenty of guests kayaking and paddle boarding. It looked fun. There is an inflatable slide and trampoline off the beach that we swam out to - it is great for any age - small kids can have swim vests. The only negative aspect of the resort is the layout - there are many steps and hills to reach the beach and/or dining. Be prepared to climb a few times a day! We are nearly 50 and were able to manage without too much effort, but anyone with limited mobility will have a hard time. Only a 5 min cab ride to the airport was also a huge advantage - we were able to get the most time out of the resort. The public bus system is very easy to use and those rides to St. George's are an adventure! We'd definitely return to Grotto Bay - maybe with our kids next time... maybe not!


16 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 15, 2015
Outstanding experience! Loved it!

Our family went to Grotto Bay to celebrate my parent's 60th wedding anniversary. None of us had been to Bermuda before and we wanted an all-inclusive arrangement, so Grotto Bay seemed to be a perfect fit. Overall our experience was outstanding. I can't say enough good things about the staff at Grotto Bay. As they got to know us, we were often greeted by name and always felt we were valued guests. The dining staff was very attentive and pleasant, always making sure you had what you needed. The concierge staff was exceptional at making sure we had good activities and guided us very well in exploring the island. They were always warm and friendly and had lots of great ideas for our group. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We upgraded to a block of rooms closest to the beach which was very nice as it was a very short walk from our rooms to the pool and pool-side dining as well as the beach access. The views from our room were outstanding - nothing but beautiful blue water and Bermuda landscape views. I heard the desk staff mention to another guest that they are going to start updating the rooms starting this fall, so that will be nice for future guests. For now, the rooms felt clean and comfortable - not huge - but you expect that in a place where space is at a premium. We were on the all-inclusive plan which I highly recommend if you are going to eat your meals on site as eating can get to be very expensive in Bermuda if you're not careful. We ate almost all of our meals there and we had very high marks for the quality and selection. The all inclusive plan includes breakfast (large buffet every day), lunch (pool-side bar/restaurant), and dinner (2 restaurants). Each meal includes an appetizer, entrée, and dessert. One of the restaurants states a dress code of slacks/dress shirt for men, but we quickly realized that nice golf shorts/shirts are acceptable. Use good judgment and you will be fine. Wish I had known that when I packed... No one had trouble finding multiple items they enjoyed and you never left hungry. Drinks are also included (basic drinks - top-shelf stuff is extra) so those of us who drank enjoyed margaritas, daiquiris, and the local favorite, the Swizzler. We quickly learned that Bermuda is an incredible country of very warm and friendly people. We always felt safe and comfortable with our kids walking around the city of Hamilton. In all of the places I've been I've never had such a good and safe feeling as we had in Bermuda. Lots of smiles and hellos and everyone was helpful when we asked. I am going to try to attach a few pictures I took of the grounds to give you an idea of what it's like. (The site only allows 2 pictures.) Overall we loved our stay and we all agreed we'd want to come back again soon!

Beach area - check out that blue water! Pool area - not huge but nice
12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dublin, OH
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 18, 2016
Great Value and Excellent Experience

Grotto Bay Beach Resort is a terrific getaway if you enjoy the "all inclusive" style of vacation as we do. The property is beautiful, with a terrific pool, great views, underground caves (in which you can swim) and many other great amenities. We were constantly pleasantly surprised by the variety and quality of the food at every meal. They truly do a wonderful job. The property is very close to the airport, which comes in handy if your return flight is canceled as ours was. There are many things to do locally to the resort, including moped rentals, caves to visit, the Bermuda zoo, and the famous Swizzle Inn. If you're a fan of Hamilton, it's a 30 minutes ride via moped, or 45 on the bus. Bus passes were included with our all inclusive, as was most alcoholic beverages. The rooms are clean and nice, but a tad on the small side. Rooms have balconies which are a great amenity. Overall, I highly recommend this resort. The staff was great, the food was great, the venue is great, and we plan to return next year.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 23, 2016
Nice - but there are better options

GOOD: The resort is on the water. The caves are what make it - you can swim in a cave - so cool. As many drinks as you can drink with the all inclusive. BAD: Bathrooms under construction. The gym was under construction. The hot tub was under construction. However - none were worked on while I was there. Next time - do 1 at a time and finish it quickly. WORST: The resort states all inclusive - it is NOT. I tried to order a soup and salad - CAN'T. I tried to order 2 meals. CAN'T. Tried to order a pizza to take back to the room late at night - CAN'T. Even a meal plan is better than what they have going. I didn't eat on Saturday (sick) - a meal plan gets you 2 meals on Sunday. However - I wasn't able to get 2 meals on Sunday. Overall - it was on the expensive side. I did like the resort location and look. Not happy with the all inclusive


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 3, 2016
Loved it!

This was our first time in Bermuda. The location of this resort is a 5 minute taxi ride . As other reviews said, the resort is built on a hillside, so you must be able to do stairs. We appreciated the walking because the food is excellent and we cleaned our plates at every meal. The service is 5 star. We did the all inclusive, highly recommend, as food, drinks, gratuity, non motorized water sports, bus and ferry passes are all included. they have an option to switch to all inclusive, so you can make that decision after you arrive. You must try the swimming cave on the property, so amazing.My only criticism was our room, although the bathroom had been remodeled, was dated and was painted a dreary mustard brown color. Not what I expected in Bermuda. We didn't spend a lot of time there, so it wasn't a big deal. I will definately go back again someday.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Newtown CT
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 2, 2016
A Honeymoon to Remember

Let me start by saying I have been to several island resorts and cruises, and Grotto Bay in Bermuda has been the best by far. We spent 1 week there in April 2016 for our honeymoon and loved every second. Pros: - It is 5 minutes from the airport - Right by the Swizzle Inn, Fantasy/Crystal Caves, Bailey's Ice Cream, Blue Hole Park, and has bus stops right out front. - 15 minute bus ride to St. George or any of the amazing golf courses. - Our service was phenomenal (shout out to Dawud, James, Esteban & Veronica, not to mention Tim of guest services & both ladies at the front desk, we kept them busy!). They greet you by name, are personable, and NEVER forget about you. - The resort is VERY clean all-around, from the beach to the bathroom, to the caves and all the dining options. No dirty silverware or glasses here. - They offer plenty to do: Snorkeling, Kayaking, Tennis, Couple's Massage, Cave swimming, feeding fish, nightly entertainment, shuffle board, afternoon tea, anniversary/honeymoon champagne,and a 24 hour pool. (Note in the cons the Jacuzzi and Fitness center were not open) - All-Inclusive was totally worth it to us, we would get breakfast, use the bus pass that comes with the package to travel the island, come back for lunch poolside, then do it again before dinner. - Great mixed drink and aperitif selection - The breakfast is a buffet that included an omelet bar and some of the best potatoes I have had. Whatever you want in the morning they have it. - Lunch at the pool had plenty of variety, but we couldn't get enough of the appetizers and salads (specifically the Nachos and Caesar) - There are two restaurants/rooms for dinner: MAKE RESERVATIONS! 1. Palm Court: more casual and affordable, but less 'exotic' of a menu and more western/american in choices 2. Hibiscus: more formal and expensive. If you like higher-end, meat/fish based menu this is the place for you. **MAKE RESERVATIONS with guest services in advance** - Lunch and Dinner always offered a daily soups and specials, and dinner always offers a catch of the day at both rooms. - They have a plethora of desserts to try, and you can get them to go! - The rooms have ESPN, TNT, & Fox Soccer, so you won't miss your sports needs, and the Bermuda weather channel is extremely useful. - Utilize guest services (Tim, specifically), we used them to plan dinner, excursions, and get recommendations on what to do. - Free WiFi pretty much everywhere at the resort Cons: - Our room had ants the first day, but room service took care of it immediately. - The walls in our room were pretty thin, so we could hear neighboring guests easily, but we were glad we brought a noise maker - The Jacuzzi & Fitness center were both closed for renovations - It is not handicap accessible (most of Bermuda isn't) - We heard other guests complain about the food selection, although we did not share their opinion. - The resort is on the east end of the island, which is about a 30 minute bus ride to Hamilton (can take a 10 min ferry to Naval Dockyard), about 40 minutes from the pink beaches on the south side, and about an hour bus ride to the Dockyard. We didn't find this to be a problem, but others may. Overall: We loved it, especially the staff members, the couple's massage, and the food/drinks from the all-inclusive. We have bragged to everyone we know and highly recommend this amazing resort. We WILL DEFINITELY be coming back, it is just a matter of time. On the All-Inclusive: The meals are expensive, so to us the AI was very much worth it, especially because we like fruity drinks, wines, aperitifs and desserts. The AI package also came with a bus pass, which made it a real value, and the AI also allowed us to rent non-motor water sports (kayak/snorkel) at no additional cost. The only downside of the AI, at least how we used it, was the need to return to the resort to eat lunch and dinner to feel like we were making the most of it. Since lunch ran to 3pm, and we could schedule dinner at later hours (up to 8 or 8:30pm), we were able to go out for 4-6 hours at a time then come back, but it is a lot of bus rides.

Pool, Lunch to Left, Beach Behind lunch food
8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Cleveland, Ohio
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 3, 2015
Best Keep Secret in Bermuda

It was a pleasant surprise to find this little gem. Had we been on a cruise we would never have found this place. It's tucked away from the busy & hectic cities of Hamilton, the Dockyard, & St. George. We felt relaxed & relieved to have found this peaceful resort and the tranquility we were looking for. Our room had a nice balcony overlooking a breathtaking view, and the food was excellent. It's walking distance to a couple of caves, and there is even a spa on premises that is a "Must-Do". It's rather simple and less ornate than other resorts, but it doesn't disappoint because of the ambience.

Best Keep Secret in Bermuda Best Keep Secret in Bermuda
9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Westwood, NJ
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year