All

Grand Velas Riviera Maya Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 20 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.9
Beaches & Pools
 
4.8
Dining Options
 
4.9
Room Comfort
 
5.0
4.9 out of 5
"The dining and spa are spectacular. We would definitely go back." – Thedoctorandthenurse
24 out of 25 (96%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

All Grand Velas Riviera Maya Customer Reviews

1-10 of 20 reviews. Sort by
March 2, 2015
We would visit again

We were celebrating retirement from a stressful job. Wonderful place to relax. High standards for customer experiences. Our suite in the Zen building was quiet, private. Staff greet guests by name. The Zen building includes a couple of the resort restaurants, a bar and pool. The facility is modern and immaculate and is a short shuttle ride from the beach. We are beach people so we used it often. Shuttles run continuously and no wait was more than 1 min. Food quality was better than other all-inclusives (this is our 7th all inclusive experience)-and we were able to get reservations at our choice of restaurants with the assistance of our butler-concierge. He was also very helpful with a couple of special requests during our stay. Unusual for an all-inclusive is that detailed bills were presented for each meal or spa service with prices and a note that tips are included however a "voluntary" tip was optional. We go prepared and have tipped cash at other AI for exceptional service. Their billing could have been explained at check-in to avoid some confusion and awkwardness with waitstaff early in our stay. Beach concierge knew the hotel and the area, very helpful. Beach is better (longer and less seaweed) than others in the area that we have visited. For our return to Grand Velas, being beach people we defintely want to stay at the beachfront Ambassador Bldg. One feature we miss from other AI resorts is the "plaza" to meet other guests and entertainment-there was nothing like that.


12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston MA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 1, 2011
Fantastic resort.

Excellant service and amenities. Perfect resort to wind down, with no maddening crowds. Have to book way in advance for the restuarants. Would recommend booking online prior to your trip. Kids had a lot of fun.


13 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 15, 2012
Great Vacation!

We loved the entire experience, from walking in and having individual pampered registration to our own luxurious sweet! Special service to each guest. What ever we needed to eat or drink we had. We absolutely enjoyed all the water features and pools. We stayed at the resort and did not leave for 4 days. It was enjoyable and relaxing. The dining was 5 star.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 26, 2014
Grand Velas Riviera Maya

Absolutely perfect. We have been to several places in Mexico and love it there. This place is by far our favorite. The accomodations were gorgeous. Service excellent. Top Shelf liquor. And honestly the food was excellent. My husband even ordered a rib eye steak & said it was excellent. Spa is over the top awesome. Very family friendly atmosphere if you have small children. Adults can get away to a different pool. Beach is superb. Will definitely be going back. FYI I had my travel agent price the same trip and CheapCaribbean.com was $3,000 less for our family of 4. Will be using them again soon.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 30, 2015
Best Fun in the Sun Vacation Ever

I am a physician and am middle aged so I've been to conferences and vacations all over the world in 5 star resorts. Grand Velas is by far, the most impressive service, facility and ambiance I have ever seen. The proximity to the parks like Xcaret, Xelha, Xplore etc as well as ruins like Chitchen Itza, Tulum, etc just add to the awesomeness of this location. We were greeted upon arriving by a porter bringing a wooden step to the van as we stepped. Little did we know they do this on every trip around the large property. There was a greeting very pleasant lady waiting for us to go over our booking and explain the property as we sat in the expansive lobby with a fresh chilled towel and a special drink with a flower of some type in it! We were introduced then to our personal Butler and brought to our amazing room. Well, not to go on for too long.... the room, drinks in the room, maid service, restaurants were completely amazing... I have never had such consistent service, whether it be the phone, spa, restaurants, maid, porters, phone, concierge, whatever as I have had their. Literally not a blip the entire time. Not one. Recommend it 100%. Period. We will be going back every year.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Tampa, FL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 6, 2013
Beautiful Resort

We thoroughly enjoyed Grand Velas. It was a trip for my birthday so we wanted it to be special. The resort is luxurious and very clean. One of the big reasons I chose this resort was the dining reviews (as we enjoy dining out.) The restaurants options were great and decor beautiful. We felt Sen Lin and Lucca weren't as good as the other 3 we dined at - Frida, Piaf and Cocina de Autor. Those 3 were absolutely delicious and the Cocina experience was definetly memorable. The staff at Grand Velas is very accomodating and friendly. We tipped on pool service and all our dining outings (even though tips are technically included. It would have been cheaper for us had we not tipped but we felt we should.) We stayed in a Zen room (as it was less expensive than the Ambassador or Grand Class sections) and they were large and okay but lack the ocean view. And frankly felt a little isolating as we didn't see alot of people around during our stay. The room also felt a little damp and had a slight moldy smell (could be that it's in the jungle/swamp area.) The shuttle was very convenient to the main buildings/pool but I would've preferred the Ambassador (but again, it was quite a bit more expensive than our room and the Zen area is still very costly.) Our biggest "complaint" (if you will) was a lack of nightlife. It has a Sky Bar (empty, no one there) and a karaoke bar (few people). We would recommend the resort make a place to listen to live music and someplace to dance. After dinner, we were kind of bored. Even when on vacation and relaxing, it's nice to have things to do (or at least an option) at night. We enjoyed our trip and may return - but there are so many other nice resorts in the area worth checking out so we'll see.


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York City
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 25, 2015
best all inclusive I have been to

Grand Velas all inclusive is definitely worth the money. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food is gourmet. The drinks and wine carts in each restaurant are top shelf. The accommodation was clean and spacious. The spa fantastic. The whole experience was wonderful. I have vacationed at many different islands, countries, cruises. I would definitely return to this resort.


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: new york
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 2, 2013
Wanted to Love it, but....

The resort and rooms are beautiful. You pay a lot to stay here, and it shows. I have never stayed at such a nice place before. We stayed in the Grand Class Suites which were awesome. Beautiful ocean view and a nice terrace with a plunge pool. I thought the all-inclusive was worth it. The food and drinks were all good. We ate at Piaf, Lucca, Frida, Autor, Azul and the Bistro. We enjoyed every restaurant quite a bit. The service was excellent at all the restaurants, by the pool and beach. We were there in the off-season so it was not crowded at all. There were 2 or 3 times as many people working there as there were guests, so it felt like we were waited on hand and foot. The reason I am only giving them 3/5 for service is that on the first day we were there, we accidentally did not lock the safe and had some money stolen. We reported it to the hotel and they responded and said they would investigate. They did not provide any updates or assurances until we asked them, and when they did give us a report, it was basically them trying to cover their butts. Rather than acknowlege that a theft had occurred, they tried to prove to us that it could not have been any of the workers at the hotel. We just wanted an apology and for them to make it up to us, but it took a few days for them to offer us a "free upgrade" to Grand Class next time we stay there. Sorry Grand Velas, that won't be happening. All in all, we did not let the theft spoil our trip and had a great time. It is a lovely resort with a lot of great people working there, just remember to lock up your valuables!


9 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Seattle, WA
Age: 25-34

October 20, 2016
A little too much

I want to love this place. The beach is fantastic, the service excellent, the food top notch. The room was spectacular. So what is the "but"? But: The food is super gourmet...sometimes I just wanted a burger. The service can be a little too much, which sounds weird but sometimes I just wanted to be left alone. And finally the big but is that you are required to sign a check for every drink, every snack, every meal. On the check there is a value of the meal you have eaten and a prominent spot marked for a tip. We felt obliged to leave a 15-20% tip so just add that into your total cost. Normally at an all-inclusive I will tip for special service or at the end of the stay but here you feel a lot of pressure to do it every time you order anything. Similarly, you feel that you need to tip the beach attendants for setting up your chairs, getting towels, etc. Guess at these prices I was expecting that this was included.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

April 6, 2016
Best Service on the Planet

--Zen Building quiet and gorgeous. Heated Zen Pool is literally set in the jungle and beautifully landscaped. Very exclusive feel. --Kids Club in Zen Building had its own little barn of animals and we loved watching the kids ride and play with the tiny ponies. --Food was outstanding. Top shelf liquor. --SERVICE was the best I have experienced. Personal concierge Mariana was fluent in English and extremely knowledgeable and attended to our every need. --Beach was a big disappointment. Too rocky to swim, no waves, sterile water, no snorkeling at all. --Grand Velas is a very upscale family resort especially catering to the younger kids. If you can afford it this is the only way to go with kids.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: San Francisco
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations