All

Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 43 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
4.1
Room Comfort
 
3.8
4.1 out of 5
"We've been at this resort twice in 5 yrs.This resort is great for long beach and a lot of restaurants." – Iepuras
39 out of 52 (75%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
The view from the La Rocas pool! Pool area Beach by Riviera Section Pool side view Beach by Colonial Beautiful view on our last morning!

All Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 43 reviews. Sort by
July 13, 2012
Best honeymoon ever!

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon June 18-June 24, 2012 and absolutely loved the resort. The service was wonderful and the accomodations were great. We were impressed by how spacious our suite was (big bedroom, large bath, sitting area and 2 balconies) and the extra treats the Riviera gave us. On our first night, we returned from the beach to find a "Just Married" sign on our door and a fruit basket and bottle of tequila in the room. That extra touch told us they were paying attention and cared about making our honeymoon special. We tried several of the ala carte restaurants during our stay and hardly ever had to wait. The service was impeccable and the food was delicious. The pools were awesome! We didn't have much trouble finding chairs at any time of day and the swimup bars were fun. Unfortunately, we were a little disappointed by the beach. The roped off area was very rocky being so close to the reef and it was shallow. The areas outside the ropes had warning signs about stingrays and when my husband went in and shuffled his feet as they suggested, many moved. I didn't like the idea of being stung so we didn't spend much time at the beach. Plus, there were raccoons at the beach that really creeped me out, while others found them cute and fed them. A great alternative to the beach was the La Rocas saltwater pool overlooking the ocean. It felt like being at the beach, without the threat of stingrays. As a winelover, I was also really disappointed that there were only two house wines (1 white, 1 red). Both were extremely sweet and to me, undrinkable. I wound up buying bottles of wine at dinner instead. The resort is huge and you really do need the map they provide at check-in to get the lay of the land. The shuttles are great, but they stop at 2 a.m., so don't make the mistake we made of missing the last shuttle from the 24 hour bar because it'll be a long walk back to your room. Overall, we really loved the Grand Palladium and would definitely recommend it!!!

Beautiful view on our last morning! The view from the La Rocas pool!
13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Albany, New York
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 6, 2010
Inexpensive Luxury

Grand Palladium was a great resort! It really is affordable luxury for couples, singles and families. I went with two of my friends and we had an all-inclusive plan. The three main pools were excellent, the private beach areas were beautiful, the dining options were numerous and the buffet was expansive. We stayed in a junior suite and the room was excellent. The overall service was good however we did have a slight problem with the hospitality manager. My digital camera was stolen and we were told that the hospitality manager handled the reporting process. Once we told her we wanted to report the incident she became annoyed with us had a bad attitude about the reporting process. The other staff were great and very hospitable. We also had several spa services and the spa was better than most 4 star spas in the US! Other than the drive time it takes to get to the resort, I would highly recommend the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort and Spa.

Pool area Pool side view
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 14, 2011
Grand Palladium Resorts

México is truly a beautiful country. It is rich in culture and natural beauty. Es Paraíso! The Grand Palladium Resort is gorgeous, but it was the people that made it a more memorable experience. The staff, always smiling and upbeat, never missed an opportunity to help out and make recommendations. We were there during the low season and, yes, perhaps they had a little more time to attend to us. However, I can't imagine these people being any different all year round, especially the friends we made from the animation team and water sports activities. We stayed at the White Sand Beach Resort. Our lovely and spacious junior suite room was close to the beach and 24-hour beach bar. There are many beautiful palm trees that provide shade and a natural atmosphere. We were surprised how easy it was to step off the resort for inexpensive sightseeing by taking the local bus to places that were at most 30 minutes away. I highly recommend the Grand Palladium Resorts because of the natural surroundings, beautiful beach, nice staff and convenient location.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 17, 2011
wonderful place

We would recommend this facility. Would have given perfect 5 scores had it not been for the sorry pillows. Beautiful place, great food, excellent service. Great value.


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Amarillo, Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 18, 2016
First Experience

First time at an all inclusive resort! The staff you run into at the pools, restaurants, and lobby is great. Gotta love the bottomless food and alcohol. The swim up bar was great and the beach had a lot of seating and hammocks. They even had a 24 hour snack hut and bar at the beach so you can keep going as late as you want. We will definitely be doing more all inclusive trips in the future. However, I will now have some specific details I will pay more attention to when booking a resort. One negative would be that the room service never brought everything you asked of them. So then you would have to ask them to come back a 2nd time with the rest of what you had requested. Occasionally, there would be a 3rd trip required. This might be a language barrier issue but the people who took room service calls were all fluent in English. It made me question if they only brought what they thought you were MOST interested in and hoped you would not ask about the other stuff again. Money saving tactic? Another negative would be that although the room was decently appointed it was a bit worn. There were a lot of dark spots on the mirrors where they had flaked/chipped. The sliding closet doors would get stuck at a couple spots and fell off track once during our visit. The mini fridge never got cold even though we asked them to check it out 3 different times. The curtains in 1 room had physical holes in them. The main door wouldn't properly latch unless jiggled and played with, which is especially annoying when they have the doors wired so that the air conditioning (AC) stops working while the door is open. Last negative is they had the rooms set up so that everything would turn off if there was no movement in the room after a while. So if we are sitting on the bed chatting and watching TV at night and hadn't stood up in like 5 minutes....we would get a total blackout. All lights turn off, TV turns off, AC stops running, ceiling fans stop spinning, the works. They didn't explain this when we booked or checked in. So it was kinda creepy the first couple times when we are in a place we have never visited and it's midnight so the room becomes pitch black. How could this not be a subject that employees mention when you check in?!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Indianapolis, IN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 12, 2017
Excellent resort for a family

We went to the Grand Palladium as a family of 4 - with a 2.5 year old and a 4-month old. We appreciated the option of having a suite to allow for some separation in the evening once the kids went down. The resort was beautiful - from the pool to the beaches. It's a big place - and we would have tried the Colonial or Kanteneh to be closer to the action if we had known what we know now - but it's nice to walk and the golf carts and mini-train are attractions in themselves for a little boy. The food was excellent - definitely make time to go to Punta Emilia. We enjoyed Las Rivas pool at the far end of the resort, definitely recommend making time to go there. Very friendly and attentive staff who were so nice to our baby and showed patience with us as we usually ended each dinner in a hurry as one of the kids started to cry. Overall, a great choice.


4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 25-34

August 1, 2010
Loved the Natural Beauty

The resort was full of surprises. Every where we turned there were exotic creatures. The kids loved it. The beach was very beautiful. The salt water pool was set in a very beautiful ocean front/view area. The resort is very spread out so prepare for lots of exercise. If you don't care to walk, trams come by very frequently to take you to the pool or to eat or to the bar. There was something for everyone. Our 8 year old loved the kids shows, our teenager loved the teen club, and we loved everything.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Kennesaw, Ga
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 30, 2011
Great property for families.....bedding average

We just returned from Grand Palladium Riviera and we really had a greta vacation. We stayed in the Riviera section (building 60) and loved our location. Food was great and variety was wonderful. The only exception or miss with this facility would be the linens...very outdated bedspreads and cheap sheets...


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Hockessin, De
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 4, 2013
Grand Paladium Riviera Maya

Excellent resort all around. Most importantly, the staff is so nice. They actually like their jobs, unlike the pacific side of Mexico, at least in my experience. Additionally, very safe for children, large security presence day and night.

Grand Paladium Riviera Maya
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 25, 2015
Great time in Mexico

Great time, many options and never ran our of things to do even if the thing to do was just sit on the beach and enjoy the sun The only bummer was the recent rain provided a bumper crop of Mosquitoes.. It was pretty hard to do many of the outdoor activities around the resort without being totally swarmed. Nobody's fault on that just turned out to be bad timing. Great resort overall.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Olympia,WA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year